Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

ELAC VELA BS 403

Bookshelf speakers (High-Gloss Walnut)

MFR # VBS403-GN

ELAC VELA BS 403

ELAC VELA BS 403

Bookshelf speakers (High-Gloss Walnut)

MFR # VBS403-GN

9 reviews
View this product

Nice looking. Nice sounding.

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For such small boxes these have big, deep, and detailed sound. I ended up returning these because the product photos show these as blonde wood. In reality, it is a moderately dark wood color under a thick coating. Esthetics aside, the sound is great.

Pros: Sound is deep, detailed, and well imaged.

Cons: Make sure you check product photos on the web in natural light.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great monitor

PJ from Boston , MA on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have auditioned many very good monitors to $5k and looking at the build quality And go to You tube several awards , Elacs been in Business almost 90 years they build their own drivers this new Jet 5 AMT tweeter is very special and smooth ,far better then the old ones the tweeter is actually 4 inches if you stretch out the hand folded accordion like pleats and string neodymium magnets . The woofer just look on You tube is so linesr and rugged Even with 150 watts just going to the mid-woofer ,the driver is rock stable ,and thus smaller speaker has a down firing port,part of the speaker stand ,the Bass is tight down into the mid 40 hz region the tweeter to greyhound 50 kHz with excellent soundstaging and depth For this price it's a steal and beautifully finished.

Pros: Very well balanced

Cons: Needs a bit of power to make them sing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Picky but awesome speaker

BAO from Chandler on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little disappointed at first. But when I added an Audioquest Sydney (1m) interconnect for my ipod to amp (my 2-channel system is about 5K, but I have 3 sets (about 2.5 - 3K each) of speakers: Elac Vela, Dynaudio Special 40 and BW 705 that I swap around for music fun). The sound is now day and night. That means this Vela guy is picky (lol) and luxurious. I'm getting there to match its demand by saving for a 3K Yamaha or equivalent integrated amp.

Pros: Sound awesome with good amp and interconnects

Cons: Can be picky with low quality amp and cable/interconnects.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC VELA BS 403

Moses from FRANKLIN SQUARE, NY on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its has been two months and I can say with certainty that these speakers are amazing. The clarity and vocals are what really pulled me in. The sound is so smooth and enjoyable for me. I also have a three sets of Klipsch speakers but this pair of Elac works for me for the type of music that I like, mostly jazz, folk, and classical. Lastly, the construction is well built and elegant.

Pros: Classy look

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome little speakers.

Diego from Lincoln, De on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had them for a little over a month now. I'm using them in a dedicated 2.1 channel set up. I've always owned klipsch and I wanted to try something different. I'd have to admit these sound so much smoother and no fatigue at all, unlike the klipsch. My Rf 7 ii's are on HT duty now where they excel. You definitely need a good subwoofer and power or integrated to get the best out of these bad boys. I highly recommend a subwoofer with high level inputs hooked to a power amp. That way there's no delay between subs and speakers. There's so many options in this area(bookshelf's) and it was a hard choice. I'm happy I went with these. Now I'm thinking about the 409 towers. I highly recommend these speakers. Also the matching stands are high quality(purchased them on here), don't skimp on them.

Pros: Smooth, non fatiguing sound. Big sound stage.

Cons: They don't come with grills. At that price you'd think they would be included. A must if you have kids.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC VELA BS 403

Guest from Bedford, NY on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are pretty amazing at any price. Great details and great sense of soundstage for such small speakers. Smooth and silky treble that is not fatiguing yet detailed. I run these speakers with $20,000 worth of front end and have no urge to upgrade at all. Female vocals and violins have never sounded better even vs my Wilson Audio Sasha 2 reference system. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Amazing Bookshelf Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What more can you say when you mention the Elac Vela line. These speakers are amazing in every aspect from design all the way to sound stage quality. Andrew Jones did an excellent job on this speaker. I'm very impressed and wondering how the Elac Vela Floorstanding speakers would sound in my listening area. Special thanks to Cam for recommending such a great speaker. I couldn't be anymore satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Clarity is awesome.

Guest from Lompoc, CA on 2/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Imaging is amazing but I would definitely go with a high quality sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

I like what is going in my ears

Perry from Denver, CO on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just wrote a long review but how phenomenal these speakers are but the screen refreshed and is gone. Best purchase I've made in long time. Selling my dynaudio Xeos for sure. Unfortunately I don't have the audio acumen to describe why these are so fantastic. If black Comes back in stock, I would get those as they're sexy. I'm a critical person and enjoy leaving negative reviews but these so money, they doing even know how money they are.

Pros: Looks and sound.

Cons: Nothing. The speaker stands are too low but the speakers are perfect.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 21 found this helpful

TOP