Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
575 984 113 3
Connect ID #
575 984 113 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Anthem STR Integrated Amplifier

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Anthem Room Correction (Black)

MFR # 1412000009

Anthem STR Integrated Amplifier

Anthem STR Integrated Amplifier

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC and Anthem Room Correction (Black)

MFR # 1412000009

13 reviews
View this product

Anthem STR -- a good choice.

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with this amplifier. It sounds great, and I expect it to sound better as it breaks in. Lots of inputs and easy to label them. Tone controls provide sufficient range to slightly modify the speakers' sound. I haven't used the DSP yet; it comes with everything needed to use it.

Pros: excellent amplifier and DAC; tone controls; easy to use remote; has everything except Roon-ready.

Cons: It is very large.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

You Can't Go Wrong With This Amp! Expensive, But Worth Every Penny!

Aaron from Bismarck on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amplifier shortly after it was released. I previously owned a NAD Silver Series S200 amplifier, which I used with a Denon PRA-S10 Preamp. I moved into an apartment shortly thereafter and sold them. I figured that I didn't need all of the power anymore. I then started using my old Sony ES Integrated amplifier from the mid 1980's, but wasn't ever as satisfied. The old Sony ES integrated started having a buzzing issue in the right channel (which I fixed, because it's still a great sounding old amp). While I was waiting for parts to repair my amp, I figured that it was time to start shopping for something newer that had a high res DAC and decent phono stage built in. After auditioning several other amplifiers, including McIntosh, Mark Levinson, NAD, and Rotel, I decided to take the Anthem STR home. All I can say is "WOW!" Before I even had a chance to use the ARC room correction, it was like a veil was lifted from my PSB Synchrony One speakers! The clarity was unlike anything I've ever used in my system. The imaging is so spot on and three dimensional. The phono stage is so much better than I could've imagined, especially for one that is built-in to the the amp. You would have to spend over $1K for either a stand alone phono preamp and over $1K for a stand-alone DAC to do better than the ones built in to the STR! The overall sound is super-detailed and open while still being warm and lush. The power seems limitless! Once I used ARC, I was even more impressed.

Pros: Great clear sound and imaging, while retaining a warm and lush tonal character. Top notch DAC and phono stage. Enough power to easily drive even the most demanding speakers. Anthem's Room Correction software truly works amazingly well. Great high end look and build quality. A sturdy remote that is actually made from aluminum. Better than I expected, even for this price!

Cons: I wish it had a headphone output.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Superb Int Amp

Crutchfield customer from N Richlnd Hls, TX on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Read the reviews and was somewhat skeptical. Decided to upgrade from my Parasound Halo Int. Received the Anthem STR Int Amp setup and played without running room correction. Was very good. Ran room correction the next day and was blown away. I was using Roon Nucleus as a source through a PSAudio DSJr DAC and loved the sound. Based on reviews which mentioned a great DAC decided to give it a try. Used a Bluesound Node 2i as a Roon endpoint with coax cable to Anthem and was shocked at the difference. At first I noticed bigger sound stage and just different sound from DSJr. A little less bright. But with my Focal speakers, I found myself listening to the Anthem DAC more and more. Began listening to all my favorites (mostly classical) and just couldn't be happier. Getting such a capable DAC on top of a great integrated amp was a pleasant surprise. I bought the Anthem because I use as a home theater bypass which the Anthem supports well. Only odd thing is that I couldn't program my Logitech Harmony Elite to directly engage the home theater bypass when I turn on my Apple TV/Marantz AV. I came up with a workaround though by programming a sequence for the remote that will do the correct keystrokes to get the Anthem to the home theater bypass.

Pros: Room correction is amazing. DAC is amazing. Power to spare.

Cons: Can't directly select home theater bypass mode from remote (Anthem remote or Logitech Harmony Elite). Home theater remotes like Crestron can send RS232 codes to the Anthem and would be able to directly select home theater bypass mode. Only a minor annoyance.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Anthem STR Integrated Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Seaford, VA on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the Anthem -STR Amplifier. It has all the connections that anyone could want and is very easy to use but you can really dive in to change the sound to your liking. The ARC correction does make my Focal Aria 936 speakers sound so much better.I'm using a older Oppo BDP-105 with balanced out XLR cables and sounds very good to stream Tidal and listen to CD disks.I do think that if you Stream all your music you might want a dedicated streamer since the amp can not do it. I bought this amp to listen to stereo music while sharing my speakers in a dedicated home theater with a Denon 6500h receiver with my Focal Dolby Atmos speaker system. I'm giving it four stars because I wish it had HDMI pass through.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Best integrated for the money, sound is as good as separates!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great integrated amp! Anthem has really stepped up the game to next level, giving separates a run for their money! Also the Crutchfield customer service was awesome, as always!

Pros: The mid range on this is simple superb, the vocals sounded really big! The bass is tight. I tried the ARC, it kinda tightens up the bass even more, however I feel that it degrades the vocals sightly. It's like you get extra definition in the bass and lose that extra big in the mid range sparkle, so it's kind of a trade off. This controls my Revel F208 with ease. Also, F208s are very electronic dependent, it's kinda like garbage in and garbage out. This amp make my F208 sing like nothing else!

Cons: It doesn't have wireless capabilities if you plan to use ARC without USB cable. However you can use ethernet cable which is provided in the box. No headphone out. The remote is aluminum, which feels good, but it is prone to scratches.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Anthem STR Integrated Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 2/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very, very happy with my new Anthem integrated amp. It is replacing Classe and I was worried I couldn't improve upon my stereo. I did!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Anthem STR Integrated Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Easley, SC on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first new gear I have bought in a long time. Easy purchase from Crutchfield. Unit came double boxed in thick cardboard. Easy set up but needed to connect to the internet to update firmware. Ran the ARC software which makes a Hugh improvement. I was very skeptical about this but it really makes the speakers work in my small room. Unit has worked flawlessly as I was concerned after observing it running some form of embedded windows OS. MC stage has enough gain for my ART9 cartridge. I would buy this again the build quality is very good and the remote is a quality piece.

Pros: Ease of use for a non tinkerer. Sound quality and versatility

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Anthem STR Integrated Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Clearfield, UT on 6/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful, transparent sound -- worth the price. Still working to find the best results using ARC. I don't have access to a Windows PC, so had to use the included 3.5mm equipped mic, and an iPhone. I believe there's a bug which prevents the ARC iOS application from being able to access the microphone input for the entire calibration process. As a result, I often received the error about "signal too low". Nevertheless, even if I never get ARC to work, the results are beyond my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Awesome beyond words

Barre from Amarillo, TX on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Crutchfield service. Amp was on backorder so I didn't expect delivery for 2 weeks and it arrived 4 days later. I was debating between a Mcintosh ma5300, Luxman L-505uXII and the Anthem STR integrated. I decided upon the Anthem because of the power 200w/channel and the ARC feature. After the initial unpack and hook up I noticed a very clear midrange and tighter bass that was not present with my previous system. Overall I thought it is a very nice amp. I used it for a few days before trying the ARC feature. I wasn't exactly sure what to expect. The ARC feature takes this amp from a "very nice amp" to "the most amazing integrated amp I have ever heard". I am hearing bass notes I never heard before in music I've been listening too for 30 years. Everything top to bottom seems more concise and defined. The sound stage is wide and has a nice depth. In some ways it's like hearing my old music for the first time. I just sit and smile. Stringed instruments and horns are truly amazing. I know I made the right decision because neither Luxman nor Mcintosh have anything like ARC. Best audio purchase I have ever made. Amazing doesn't describe well the sound my speakers now produce. Am I a happy customer Oh Yeah!!!!

Pros: sound quality, ARC feature, ease of use, flexibility

Cons: display could show more things like wattage and a freq graph instead of just showing the volume level. More of a wish list than a true con.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Anthem STR-Integrated Amplifier

Larry from New York, NY on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I must say that Crutchfield's service was great as I got the amp very quickly after placing the order. This is used in a room where I do music production off a Mac so I crucially needed a sound equipment that tightens and heightens but doesn't artificially color the sound. The device itself was just as advertised. I knew going in and had been a bit disappointed that the device had no headphone jack nor switched AC outlet, both of which are severely missed. But that didn't affect my overall appreciation of the amp itself. The Anthem has a tight and crystal clear sound and it's 200 watt are very well matched my old (read ancient) Sonus Faber Conceertino speakers and REL Sub Woofer. It doesn't have those unrealistic highs and lows that some products do. I monitor in a near field so the ARC part isn't at all useful to me, but from what I've read if someone does use this amp in a larger room that would be very, very handy. Overall though I'm very happy with the amp.

Pros:

Cons: no headphone jack and no switched AC

Crutchfield response on

15 of 20 found this helpful

My dream amplifier! ARC is amazing!

Johnny from Wendell, NC on 7/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful amplifier! When I connected my Heresy III speakers, it sounded like a thick blanket had been lifted off of them. They sounded much better in every way. Two weeks after I got the amp, I got could not pass on a deal that gives you all that you need to install head unit. The instructions on how to connect the steering wheel control adapter were kind of tricky but after going over them a couple of times I got it installed and it works great. I got my speakers used, about a year old, so they were well broken in. I brought my wife and adult daughter in for a listen (her oldest is 19). Those speakers with this amp is nothing short of amazing! My daughter picked out the first song she wanted to hear. When it finished, she stated "I feel like I just heard it for the first time." Nothing much else was said that night. The next evening she texted me: "After listening to music through your speakers everything else is terrible. It's like I don't hear real music... it's depressing." Additional comments in our conversation: "It was like hearing music for the first time. I felt it." "It's like ohh this is what music sounds like." That was before I ran ARC (Anthem Room Correction) on the amp. That took it up to completely another level. Sounded to me like everything improved tremendously. Absolute clarity, tighter, deeper bass, better imaging. But I didn't trust my ears. I wanted a second opinion. I got the ladies in the next evening, and my observations were unanimously confirmed. I know I am not using very many of the capabilities of this amp, but I am extremely happy with it.

Pros: -Clean, brilliant sound. -ARC makes everything better, ARC is everything they say it is.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Listening to Live Music at Home

Paule from Kapolei, HI on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think there are not enough reviews of this product out there. I have had receivers, integrated amplifiers, and multi-channel separates. I always wanted to try to love the 2 channel sources with them, but I never could be satisfied with them. They sounded sterile and too much like "files." Caveat- I listen to music way more than I do movies. My audio set-up is the Anthem STR Integrated Amplifier, Spatial Audio M3's Turbo S, Anti-Cables Level 2.1 speaker wire, and a Elac 2050 subwoofer. My Spatials are very sensitive at 94 dB. They need a very quiet, clean watt(not all watt qualities are created the same) amplifier to power them, and the STR is it. I hear guitar strums and a deep black background. It is a feat in itself after all of my listening to many electronics. The strums just linger in the air. It's amazing. You truly get what you pay for, and an amazing quiet, clean watt integrated with room correction is really worth that 4.5 K. The Spatials sounded great with all of the other electronics, but with the STR, they sound so lovely, controlled, and ALIVE as if the Artist and his instrument was in your living room. If you wanna do anything; do it right.

Pros: Life Gigantic Headroom and Soundstage I can hear a true "voice" Powerful Built like a Tank in Canada Anthem/Paradigm has a very reputable audiophile reputation

Cons: I wish that the display would have the watt output meter like their STR Power Amplifier separate.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

What an Integrated Amplifer should be,... Awsome.

Paul from Brownfield, TX on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Anthem did not hold back, It engineered produced an awesome integrated amplifier which delivers an excellent sound, control, and will be the beating hear of any 2 channels setup. From the excellent packaging, included accessories, to setup, all is top notch. Talking about power, this baby delivers, and in spades, it would drive any speakers, at any load, w/o any hiccups with lots of headroom to spare The quality of the construction is amazing, the sound is so sweet and pure, and yet detailed and articulate with lots of strength. This amp will drive any speakers with the all the strength, control and finesse they deserve,... In short it is an amazing product, easily updated via Network connection. The awesome ARC is a splendid addition, and the included professional level microphone takes the ARC to the highest level possible. This amp has really made my set up shine, driving a pair of Klipsch La Scala II's and an R-115SW subwoofer, the ARC just made everything work together beautifully. I only wished it has a way of streaming Spotify or Tidal. but hopefully in a future update? Buying from Crutchfield, as always, is a world class experience with their knowledgeable representatives and quality of service and delivery. No regrets, This one is a keeper.

Pros: ARC, Phenomenal sound and room correction software. Professional level. Enormous power, lots of reserves, and head room, makes every small musical detail stand out, very revealing and articulate. Sound: detailed, sweet, clear, musical and engaging. +++++++ IOS app, can be used for ARC control, and remote app as well very handy.. Update software via Internet connection, easy. Beautiful display, large and clear, can be see from across the room Handy, high quality remote, not too

Cons: Continue Pro: Amazing DAC and phono features. Multiple inputs , beats separate components Sub integration, flawless.!! 2.1 Setup: You can't do better for the price, period. Powers a pair of Klipsch La Scala's II's and R-115SW Sub. Excellent quality construction, packaging and delivery. Only one caveat, no streaming online musical included, shame, b/c it already has an internet connection. Tidal or Spotify connect would have been excellent addition, maybe in a future s

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

TOP