Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Anthem STR Preamplifier

Stereo preamplifier with built-in DAC and Anthem Room Correction (Black)

MFR # 1412000007

Anthem STR Preamplifier

Anthem STR Preamplifier

Stereo preamplifier with built-in DAC and Anthem Room Correction (Black)

MFR # 1412000007

8 reviews
View this product

Bass Management, in a 2-channel preamp?

Eugene from LONGMONT, CO on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I mainly bought this unit for its bass management because for some reason, a lot of integrated amps and two-channel preamps offer no options when it comes to high-passing the speakers. That being said, it was quite the upgrade from my Audio-gd DAC and LH Labs Infinity Pulse. One thing that was immediately noticeable was just the greater control over the bass when I had my speakers playing full range. The bass was tigher/quicker. The feature set of this unit allows me great flexibility when it comes to integrating my two subs. While I don't do MQA, I was a little disappointed that it didn't offer something like this at this pricepoint. Overall, I am satisfied with it but like I said, I was trying to find a pre-amp that offered bass management features (high-passing the speakers) and there aren't a lot of options

Pros: Dual subwoofer outs Measures really well according to Audioholics Big digital display Bass management Multiple profiles support and you can assign a specific profile to a specific input.

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Pre Amp

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I compared it to two other Pre Amps, by Ayre and PS Audio BHK....Anthem was not quite at that level. However, the features are excellent. Having separate Bass management, Phone input, and ARC are nice options. Solid performer. I felt it just came up a bit shy on the warmth and overall soundstage. Very quiet black background that is very appealing. It's just shy of 5 stars.

Pros: Nice Features Bass control Phono Stage Great input selection Great display Quality build As quiet a Pre Amp as I have ever heard

Cons: Not as natural sounding as other top Pre Amps ARC is a positive and negative, takes away some bass and midrange but balances other frequencies out. Not a big fan. Anthem Support was a total disappointment. Thank God for Cructhfield, they are first rate.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great stereo preamp

Crutchfield customer from Hancock, NH on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dead silent, extremely transparent and highly articulate preamp. This applies to both analog and digital sources. The high quality internal DAC provides a nice upgrade in sound quality over the DAC and analog output of my 23 year old high end CD player. I also have an old BAT tube preamp and recently purchased A/V pre-processor so HT bypass is an essential feature for me. Just started experimenting with ARC Genesis. My initial impression based on one set of measurements is favorable. Better integration of bass and a fuller more cohesive sound stage.

Pros: Extremely low noise floor High quality analog signal path High quality DACs and digital processing and room correction Home theater bypass

Cons: Limited XLR inputs (minor con)

Crutchfield response on

9 of 16 found this helpful

Anthem STR Preamplifier

Trent from CORDOVA, TN on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, when I took mine out of the box, the feet were so uneven the unit rocked on the diagonal a good 8th of an inch. Then I hooked it up and found the left channel was dead as a hammer using the xlr outs. I plugged the cables into the opposite terminals to verify the problem wasn't my left cable or (powered) speaker. It wasn't. I checked the balance control, and it was set to centered. So, less than an hour after I signed for it, I had to pack it up and send it back. Mine was sold as an "open box" item, which I went with because it was the only silver one Crutchfield had (other than a dent-and-scratch). Maybe it was fine when it left the Anthem factory. I don't know.

Pros: Features

Cons: Quality control

Crutchfield response on

10 of 18 found this helpful

Impressive

Mike from Portland, OR on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using the STR for about a week now. It is a fine preamplifier, and it has the bass management features and ARC2 room correction that set it apart from the pack. I've used other room-correction approaches (both automated and manual) and think ARC2 is better than the others I've tried. It may help that all the comuptation is done at 192 kHz. In my music system, this replaced a more expensive preamp with manual equalization features. ARC2 was able to tame some glare that I couldn't get rid of with the old preamp, and I really like ARC's simplicity and multi-point measurement approach. It integrates my two subs perfectly. The STR's tone controls are transparent and useful for badly done recordings. I would recommend that anyone looking for a 2-channel preamp with bass management and room correction give the STR a listen. It's hard to beat.

Pros: Great sound Nice looks Anthem Room Correction

Cons: No streaming input

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Anthem STR Preamplifier

Alejandro Saurez from Doral, FL on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All great reviews of this unit were as I expected. Besides the great sound performance and intuitive user interface this unit provides great bass management through the Anthem ARC room Correction System. One of the coolest features of this preamp is that you can share the front L/R and subwoofers with your AV receiver through the HT Bypass function so you can watch movies even if the Preamp is turned off. ARC software is very intuitive and did a great job in my 2,500 cu ft room. Would like to thanks Crutchfield International Sales team for their great support!

Pros: Bass Management through Anthem ARC software HT Bypass User Interface Build Quality High Resolution DAC

Cons: None found yet

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

Product has potential but did not work as advertised

Jorge from Independence, OH on 2/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like ARC room correction so I was looking forward to using this preamp with my existing AVM-60 prepro. Unfortunately, the HT bypass did not work via RCA, only via XLR. I contacted Anthem and they sent me a new firmware but that did not fix the problem. I did think the preamp sounded very good with ARC enabled. Also, it is very easy to run ARC if you have an ios device as they include a microphone to connect to an iPhone or iPad. I tried the phono stage and didn't like it much. Also, the preamp must be off to use the HT bypass so if you plan to turn on your amp with a trigger from this preamp, that won't work when using HT bypass. Ultimately, I sent this back as it was very disappointing that all features did not work out of the box, especially for this kind of money.

Pros: Good sound with ARC

Cons: Home Theater bypass did not work via RCA Phono stage doesn't sound very good with MC cartridge Preamp must be off to use HT bypass so amp trigger will turn off amp

Crutchfield response on

34 of 37 found this helpful

First Impressions

Ryan from ca on 1/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just received this unit in the mail today. I have to admit, I am underwhelmed. First off, I had a loose screw rattling around inside the unit (had to pull the top off and found a circuit board missing a screw). Crazy, for the price I paid. Tried the ARC room optimization and actually preferred it off when I did an A/B test through my Mcintosh MC452 and my Tekton Double Impacts. I have found that speaker placement wall treatments are much more effective than any kind of DSP Ive ever heard. Call me crazy, but I actually prefer the DAC in my Node 2 vs the output this unit was providing, even when sounding a little thinner. Sorry Anthem, I will be sending this back and giving the NAD m12 a shot.

Pros: Looks nice decent eq with mains and subs

Cons: ARC not as impressive as i initially expected. No MQA Questionable quality control.

Crutchfield response on 4/2/2018
We reached out to Anthem regarding this review, and got the following response from the CEO:
Dear Ryan, I apologize for the poor experience you had with the STR Pre. There is no excuse for a loose screw. We strive very hard in our Canadian factory to provide the best made product. We do extensive bench testing & competitive testing to design and mfg. products with superior performance and reliability. We obviously failed with your unit.
I agree that speaker placement and room acoustic treatments are essential for optimal listening, dsp is another tool but even the best can't fix everything. ARC has built in tools (Quick Measure) to help check speaker placement & the effect of room treatments. ARC in automatic mode can resolve most room acoustic issues by boosting some frequencies & suppressing others to provide a unique EQ curve individually calculated & specific to each room which is preferred by most listeners. "Most" isn't "all", so ARC has extensive manual adjustments that can be used to tailor the freq response for specific room acoustic issues / individual tastes. The user dials in exactly the freq response desired. The STR Pre also can store up to 4 ARC dsp curves so that multiple factors can be addressed, like window treatments which might be open / closed, thereby impacting room acoustics.
Again, I am sorry that we let you down & hope that sometime you'll give Anthem another opportunity to earn your trust.
Chris L, CEO Anthem

37 of 42 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound