Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
246 469 441 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
246 469 441 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

KEF LS50 Wireless

High-performance powered speakers with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Gloss White/Copper)

MFR # LS50AWH

KEF LS50 Wireless

KEF LS50 Wireless

High-performance powered speakers with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Gloss White/Copper)

MFR # LS50AWH

63 reviews
View this product

Detail, tonally neutral and revealing

Crutchfield customer from Burr Ridge, IL on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers were purchased in exchange for another pair of similar speakers with which I had connectivity issues, thanks Crutchfield for the great customer service! Be advised, break in the speakers before you make any serious decisions about them, I found right out of the box, speakers didn't sound too good, after about 7hrs, much better. Overall I'd characterize the speakers as detailed, tonally neutral but slightly laidback. The speakers are very reaping and the errors in your source material are very evident, so if you plan on listening only to Bluetooth with its limited bandwidth, you may want to choose other speakers. WiFI high Rez streaming is awesome sounding! The soundstage presented is wide, but not overly excess and truly believable. Nearfield listening allow you to pinpoint instrument placement and sound is coherent both horizontally and vertically. The bass is authoritative and full and given the appropriate DSP settings, to me there is no need for a sub. I found free standing on good stands and away from wall the best to fill my vaulted ceiling and large room. The speakers sound best played mod to loud vol, so if you like softer music, you may want to look elsewhere. Midrange is probably the best attribute and female vocals are wonderful. Only downside is the streaming app, I could not get it to work reliably. Enjoy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incredible sound

Guest from Atascadero, CA on 11/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Spectacular sound. Great soundstage... can hear individual instruments. It's true the apps are fussy... but easy to set up and never have to use them again. I strongly recommend using another device for input (I use the good ole' fashioned squeezebox, which works flawlessly still and allows for streaming my own music, Spotify and airplay.

Pros: A great deal, as I purchased this on sale/deep discount.

Cons: Janky software, but not a deal killer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound and look of these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Crutchfield customer from Locust Grove , VA on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have been audiophile for many years. Have my own music room, and have spent more on cables than the KEF system cost. That being said my wife wanted music in her room, she did not want wall to wall equipment. So I started showing her pictures of equipment and when she saw the KEF setup with nothing but Two speakers must be white and uncomplicated. I was skeptical and started reading reviews, and decided to buy. As others have said software a little quirky, patience prevails. Phenomenal Sound, manages to present music in an honest focused way, fills the room with two story ceiling, and a nearly all glass wall way beyond the size of the speakers. I have Magnepan speakers in my room which squeeze every detail out of the music... the KEF's will not do that, but should satisfy most who just love to listen to music. They look great especially on the white KEF stands, (I filled with buckshot) Very highly recommended, KEF has captured the future of listening to music...

Pros: As mentioned , great sound, unobtrusive, solid tight low end, plays loudly but is great with low level piano background music.

Cons: Had to replace all the black cables with white ones. Once you get use to the software.... works perfectly

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome!

Gary from Schenectady, NY on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound! I upgraded from a great Bose system to this. What a difference in clarity & full spectrum sound. I definitely recommend these. I'm using the USB Type B connection to my DAC. I truly don't feel there is a need for the subwoofer. These sound great on their own.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are marvels of engineering, packing so much into a clean, stylish package. The sound is excellent, if perhaps a little polite and reserved -- they don't smack you like some speakers do, but they have smooth, detailed, and airy presentation. Cymbals and acoustic guitars shimmer with realism. Voices are clear and natural. Imaging is terrific, and rarely do I long for a subwoofer. They work great for movies and TV as well as music. If you want loud slamming rock or metal, these are probably not the best choice, being best suited for mellow flavors of music. The apps are OK, but I've used better. They could use a revision or two. Also, demerits for Crutchfield's hassling me for not having a phone number that could be found in directory assistance. Really now, come on. Overall, a solid bet. I didn't hear the competing ELAC or Dynaudio models, but I'm happy with the purchase.

Pros: Classy, detailed sound. Multiple inputs ready to go. Easy setup; can be up and playing music in a few minutes. Very nice design.

Cons: Sound isn't as hard-hitting as some. Apps are just OK.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sound

Kurt from Rochester, NY on 5/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quite impressive audio performance. Excellent imaging and soundstage depth. Plays loud and clean within reason as long as your room isn't too huge or highly reflective. They clearly bring out little things in the mix you may never have noticed before. Fit & finish is top notch. They're absolutely gorgeous and look like you spent a pretty penny on them. I wish they would put out a powered floorstander with a couple 8 inch woofers added in!

Pros: The sound is very revealing and surprisingly dynamic for the size. Great imaging and particularly sweet vocal reproduction. They work best in a well damped room.

Cons: I wish it had the ability to set distances for the speakers and on the SUB OUT for proper integration. The ability to decode surround and to set up as a multi-channel system would also be a big plus as would a GUI for video set up. I know that's a lot to be expecting at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal sound. The base is satisfying but controlled and not boomy. The soundstage is clear and precise. Vocals are transparent. Highs are crystal clear without being fatiguing. The design is elegant and minimalistic. Fewer boxes, plugs and cables so wife acceptance factor is high. No fuss. Exactly what I was looking for.

Pros: Sound quality Minimalistic design All-in-one audiophile in-a-box

Cons: The controller could have been nicer The simplicity of the hardware does not translate to the app since it takes a while getting used to

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 4/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds much better than I thought it would. It actually brings *pleasure* to listen to music coming from these speakers. Keep in mind that room acoustics plays a big role: in my carpeted small bedroom they sound stellar, in relatively empty main room with laminate and plenty of echo it sounds much less articulated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing speakers, mediocre app.

Crutchfield customer from Ridgewood, NJ on 3/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Truly amazing sounding speakers. Very transparent, and surprisingly deep and well controlled low end for a smaller speaker. The imaging is nearly holographic. The streaming integration could be a bit better, and the KEF control and stream apps are just OK. If they spent more time on app design, this would be a five star product.

Pros: Incredible sound Dead simple setup

Cons: the apps to control the speaker are not that great.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

LS50w great for everything, but tv set up.

Bickle from Overland Park, KS on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality in these is beyond amazing. The only downside is that they don't work well with optical audio from the television in some circumstances. The Direct TV Genie remote syncs for the volume. Simply choose KEF model unknown. The problem is when you change channels the signal goes out and the sound mutes. Some KEF LS50w forums seem to confirm this. A work around is using L/R stereo cables in AUX mode. Ultimately, they're not convienent for tv 2.1 use. As computers speakers they are unbelievable. At 3ft away 10% volume they're too loud for most listening. You'll feel like you're in the studio with the musicians. Wired Subwoofer for 2.1 was a problem. Whenever you powerone there's a loud burst of sound for 5-10 seconds via subwoofer. This was not a problem with the wireless Martin Logan subwoofer. Using the Roku box for Netflix etc. there were no sound issues via optical. Bottom line the LS50w is amazing for music and inconvenient for TV usage. Crutchfield has amazing customer service and the return process was painless. The sound is so good the LS50 passives paired with a compact amp (or Sonos AMP) might be a better alternative for tv room use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from Fairlawn, OH on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are my first foray into 'real hifi'. I've owned other setups before that have had entry level 'audiophile' components, but was wanting to simplify my home office stereo ( I listen all day everyday, and the mess of DAC,Preamp, Amp and Speaker along with the wires was getting to be too much), and have a true 'hifi' setup.I first tried the LSX and was disappointed, even with a subwoofer. Simply put, you had to crank the volume on the LSX to get them to fill the room, and I have a small office. I have no regrets on the LS50w's though, other than it's a lot of money by the time you add in the subwoofer, which I think is a must (KEF kube8). Overall, the sound quality is better than what I had previously and much more detailed. I am using the PC hookup and have been streaming mostly from Tidal, which is noticeable increase in resolution over iTunes. Setup is easy and the App's although a bit clunky have allowed me to dial in the sound in the room, and make minor adjustments that have netted an overall better soundstage. Bottom line, if you have the cash and want a great bookshelf without all the wires, this is definitely worth a serious audition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding!!

Bob from Boyne City, MI on 2/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would echo what most reviews here already have expressed: these are simply outstanding speakers in terms of performance, aesthetics, and value. I use them in a smaller room in a second home (12 x 12) where they sit on a console on either side of a Sony X900F TV at about ear level. I auditioned several other bookshelf speakers, but nothing came even close in terms of the beauty and accuracy of the music these produce. I have on older McIntosh system in our primary home, and was hoping I could find a system that would fit in a smaller space but approach the quality I have from that system. These do just that. My primary source of music is Tidal being streamed wirelessly, but also I have an optical cable to the TV where I can use these on Sony's Tidal app or for sound for the TV. The only concern I had before purchasing the KEF's were some of the very bad reviews (Apple's App Store for example) regarding the associated app from KEF. Other than some minor hiccups during installation (instructions are not completely clear) the app has worked very well. Crutchfield's support was very helpful in the installation, so the minor issues were not a problem. In summary, at least in my experience, these speakers (or specifically speakers/amps/DACs) are a bargain for the quality of sound that they offer and the look they present.

Pros: Accuracy of sound Soundstage Appearance Range of sound for small speaker Value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing sound the fills the whole house

Mohamad from Franklin, TN on 2/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a sound bar for our family room to keep the look as clean as possible. But after listening to all the options available on the market at BestBuy (the expensive and the cheap) nothing really stood out form me. Once the salesperson saw that I wasn't happy with any of the options he presented they he told he thinks he got the I'm looking for, so he showed me the KEF LS 50 W, and WOW I was blown away with the sound quality and how high it can go. I purchased them from Crutchfield around Chrismas time when they were on sale. Get them if you are looking for great sound and look.

Pros: - Amazing sound - Very good bass - Great if you are looking for a clean setup with no extra components - They look as good as they sound - Great connectivity options - Great for music and movies entertainment

Cons: - Expensive - I wish it had HDMI I/O

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent

Aravindan from San Jose, CA on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers, highly customizable and excellent sound. Excellent support by Crutchfield, I am still testing but so far this is the winner by far.

Pros: Best sound you can get for the price, it will be very tough or nearly impossible to get all the features and similar sound for this price. I tried.

Cons: All in one, so no incremental updates. You would hardly need an upgrade.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great detail

David from Beaverton, OR on 1/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The KEF LS50 Wireless offer fantastic detail in a convenient package. I combined my speakers with the KEF Performance stands and mainly listen to 320 kbs or lossless file-based audio over USB from my PC or Spotify Connect in a medium sized, lively room. Both audio formats offer an exceptional amount of detail, soundstage, and frequency balance. The KEF Control app made Wi-Fi setup easy. In a month of use I've had one Wi-Fi connectivity problem, which was quickly resolved with the KEF FAQ and KEF Control app. I have experienced issues with playlist order, removing songs from the song queue, and considerable problems with volume control with Spotify Connect. Overall, Spotify Connect works as expected most of the time.

Pros: Detail, balance, small package, integration with popular apps (Roon, Spotify, Tidal)

Cons: Flexibility, dependence on Wi-Fi, dependence on paid 3rd party apps (Roon, Spotify, Tidal)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Greatest Set of Speakers you can Buy at any price

Robert from Danville, CA on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair of these awesome speakers for myself (in black). I loved them so much that I also bought a pair of these speakers for my daughter and her fiance (in white). Simply stated, you cannot get a better sounding, better looking pair of speakers than these at this price point. I even seen some professional reviewers say that have reviewed some $10,000 and $50,000 systems that don't sound this good. I love them!

Pros: Sound Look Price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, impressive WiFi streaming capability

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good sound that is detailed but not aggressive or strident, very good dynamics, and expansive soundstage, especially after a week or so of break-in. I used to have ultra-high-end Mark Levinson components with B&W 800 speakers a few years ago and I can honestly say that the LS50 Wireless is close to that system in the highs and mids, with excellent rendition of voices and brass. It is lacking in the bottom end compared to my previous system, but since the sound is so fast and "bouncy," I don't seem to miss that aspect of the bigger system. The app is much better than you would expect given many of the previous reviews--I am streaming TIDAL audio from my Apple IPhone X over my WiFi network with very few issues (has only frozen two times over the past week, requiring the control speaker to be unplugged to force a complete reboot). I updated to the latest firmware before I began listening, so that has probably played a big part in functionality and stability. I would suspect that, just like my Samsung smart TV a few years ago, a few more app/firmware updates will fix all remaining stability issues. The key to obtaining good operation over WiFi is to make sure that you are getting good signal levels and data throughput at the speaker location. I would recommend that you use your laptop at the same location as the control speaker and run a speed test to verify that this is indeed the case. If not, consider upgrading your WiFi network and/or internet service pla

Pros: Fantastic sound, great connectivity especially streaming over WiFi.

Cons: Had to reboot the speakers a few times after the WiFi streaming froze.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 11/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are my desktop speakers, amazing sound, all in one. I particularly think that these speakers are to be placed close to the listener to appreciate their great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Believe the hype

Crutchfield customer from indiana on 11/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The KEF LS50 wireless offer terrific sound and are beautifully crafted. I wish the app and remote were executed to the same high standard as the speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good at first

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, GA on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was very impressed at first indeed, but returned them after a 45 day trial. I did everything I could to love them - including reorganizing my entire living room to improve Sonics, buying high end RCA and Ethernet cable to spread them 10 feet apart, buying KEF stands with their inert filler, and then setting up 10 or so equalizer settings for different music types - but in the end, they just didn't sound very natural. Though they are very clear, and separate instruments well, because they are bookshelf speakers, the soundstage to my ears was too focused and did not disperse music throughout the room. There was some imaging between the speakers, but overall, I was distinctly aware that the sound was coming directly from small speakers. EQ settings are very finicky, music doesn't sound right unless you dial it in precisely. My only source was a Marantz SA-14S reference SACD player, with high quality gold CDs or SACDs. Maybe their niche is if you prefer the convenience of Bluetooth or wireless, but with a high quality source they are underwhelming. From 8 feet away, I had to point very precisely to get the remote to work. My smartphone often became disconnected from the speakers, forcing you to stop the music and try to reset it if you wanted to change an EQ setting. Sorry, but while the future may be in active speakers, I can still easily match amp, source, and passive speakers in a way that fully trounces these little guys. Recommend only for small apartments.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Music has come ALIVE at our house

Rich from Philadelphia PA on 10/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a longtime musician and music lover, I can't tell you just how fantastic this KEF active speakers are and how much sheer joy they've brought to our house. The soundstage is huge, detail is simply awesome with no fatigue at all, speed and power are impressive and all of it just draws you so deep into a wide range of recordings and music. I am no stranger to high end audio and these are just on a whole new level from anything I've experienced. While the simplicity of an all in one system was appealing to me, I also initially worried about obsolescence or how to address any failure that might occur in the future. After living with them for a month, an especially after burn-in (which is very real with these- they just keep getting better and better), I just don't care about those concerns at all any more. First, firmware updates will keep these up to date for the foreseeable future in audio. And, I'll take this level of sound quality for as long as it is with me. It's just worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Keng from San Francisco, CA on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE IT! I have this hooked up to a bluesound node 2 as a 3rd zone in my home. The sound is amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

William from San Diego, Ca on 9/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Most excellent speakers/amplifier combination. Audiophile amplifier, DAC and speakers in a combined unit. I thought my audiophile days were behind me as I simply have not wanted to add a huge and expensive collection of separates to my Man Cave over the past few years. However, after reading the reviews first on the LS50 and then on the LS50 wireless, I decided it was time to treat my new 4k TV to something besides my soundbar and subwoofer. What a good decision that has been. Very easy to set up and I now use these both for my TV and as a speaker source for serious music from my PC. And my day has gone from watching TV or spending time on the PC to listening to different music sources generally from the PC. It is amazing what YouTube has in terms of audiophile level music. I sometimes dabbled in listening with my relatively expensive speaker/subwoofer PC speakers but now I spend a fair bit of time listening to different types of music from different sources. The speakers are so good, it is like I have rediscovered music as a pastime.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from The Woodlands, TX on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound quality, as expcted. I'm not giving it 4 stars just because the control app and the remote are not at the level they could be. Fortunately I'm using Roon to stream music, which makes the experience much more enjoyable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

David from Long Beach, CA on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sound I have ever had from speakers. The paired amps, dacs and crossovers make the difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Lawrence from Chicago, IL on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to upgrade my studio monitor game and was a bit skeptical in choosing the LS50W, a speaker designed for normal "audiophile" listening, over Focal Shape, Solo6 Be, or other higher end bookshelf-size dedicated studio monitors. Wow, out of the box, these make fantastic near-field studio monitors! I immediately returned the Focal Shape 65 and Adam A7X that I've been auditioning. For anyone wondering if these would be appropriate for analytical listening and home studio mixing and music production, I'm happy to say that yes, they are perfect for that. Although they already sounded great out of the box, placed on a desk, and near the wall, the DSP settings to dial-in their placement was just icing on the cake. Fantastic imaging, very balanced overall dynamics, detailed yet impressive bass extension, and overall non-fatiguing sound even after listening for hours nearfield from approximately 3 feet away. The best part is that I can also step back from these speakers and leisurely listen to music streamed from Spotify or whatever other source from them as any other normal set of speakers and enjoy them just the same. These are truly the jack-of-all-trades among all high end small bookshelf speakers. Except, they certainly don't sound like small bookshelf speakers. Dare I say that they sound even better than my regular music-listening speakers (Monitor Audio Gold). Simply amazing.

Pros: Amazing near-field performance. DSP. Full complement of digital and analog inputs. Works equally as well for studio and normal home listening.

Cons: High price (but it's worth it), wonky initial setup via smartphone app. I wish setup and advanced DSP settings could be done entirely without a smartphone or at least have an option to do it via USB-to-mac or PC or home network web app instead.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small speakers with a lot of punch

Lee from San Francisco, CA on 8/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I wanted in a small, powered speaker. I also purchased a small Klipsch subwoofer, which I recommend to get the most out of your music with the KEF speakers. The KEF apps work very well in fine tuning the speakers and sub to my listening preferences. It took a little experimentation, but if you follow KEF's advice, you'll get good results. Some negative comments I've read sound like they could be solved by a little patience on the part of the user, and probably an upgraded WiFi setup.

Pros: KEF apps work just as well as SONOS. Speakers are really well built. Wireless configuration is easy and reliable.

Cons: A little learning curve on learning the apps. LS50's are pricey-but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Daniel from Marion, IA on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, great customer service with Crutchfield. Love the speakers. Exceptional sound quality.

Pros: High quality sound, all in one, little clutter. Performance top notch, and look great.

Cons: Remote quality is poor and not user friendly, not easy to navigate thru the speaker input options with remote. Unable to see what you are doing sitting on couch using remote. You need to push buttons and guess that you are selecting the correct input on the speakers. Big Pain :(

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing Sound!

Rob from Bristol, CT on 6/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this system! My music has never sounded so good. Had trouble with Tidal over the WiFi connection, would work fine for a time and then wouldn't play any selection, giving an "incompatible file" error. I suspect the kef app may be the issue. No issues at all with Spotify over the WiFi connection. My ears can't hear the difference between 320 and lossless anyway, so no big. The sound is so clear and amazing it has literally brought tears to my eyes a couple times. Oh, and they can CRANK!!

Pros: Amazing sound, punching well above their weight class. Ample bass. Look nice and are compact. No distortion even cranked to full volume.

Cons: Flaky Tidal integration was disappointing.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Don't wait... buy these!

Al from Mt. Horeb, WI on 6/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a more permanent wireless speaker solution to enjoy streaming music to in my living room/great room. Although I don't think I'm really an "audiophile" per say, sound quality was my number one criteria. With Apple's recent release of AirPlay 2, I went ahead and purchased two HomePods to set up as a stereo pair for this purpose after reading all of the great HomePod reviews (regarding their awesome sound quality). I wanted to compare them to the DiamondBoxx Model M bluetooth speaker that I am already using which itself has really amazing sound and is at a similar price point. Perhaps being spoiled by the DiamondBoxx, I was underwhelmed with the volume and sound from the HomePods. Sure the Siri integration with iTunes and Apple Music was great but the quality of the sound just wasn't good enough to justify the price tag (imho)... so the search continued. After learning about the KEF LS50 wireless speakers from a YouTube video, I scoured the internet for more information and reviews. Everything I found praised the LS50's as the most incredible speakers for the money. At this price I thought, these things better be amazing as that's quite a step up from the HomePod pair that I already purchased. Well let me tell you that after setting up the LS50's and listening for several hours these things are absolutely incredible. They were not overhyped and are truly the real deal. If you are considering the LS50's don't wait, buy t

Pros: This was my first purchase from Crutchfield. I bought them here instead of Amazon because they did not collect sales tax and they would ship them without someone needing to be home to sign for them (which were two things that were important to me). Crutchfield delivered for free in 3 days! The follow up and email communication regarding my (expensive) order was great. Great job Crutchfield I am very happy with my purchase!

Cons: The KEF app and the quality of the remote control could both be improved. But by no means should they be a deal breaker...if you want incredible sound buy these speakers!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audiophile approved

Joe from Cincinnati, OH on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always been an audiophile, and cannot stand deficient speakers. I have to say that these relatively small speakers put out exceptional sound and can fill large rooms with ease. A great set of speakers! The wifi app by KEF is the only drawback. But not negative enough to reduce from 5 stars!

Pros: Excellent sound from relatively small speakers

Cons: KEF wifi ap

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Ed from Burtonsville, MD on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm an old silverback gorilla recording engineer specializing in classical music. I got my start in the early 1970's and my loudspeaker for monitoring was the Rodgers LS3/5A powered by a Crown D75. Funny I switched amplifiers (Quad and Sony 3120) but I stayed loyal to the speakers. Setting up the amp and speakers time consuming. Powered monitors were a radical idea in the early 1980's, but I switched to the Klein and Hummel OY and then the 096. These were larger and could be used at a greater distance. They also offered enviromental adjustments. Overtime the circuitry failed from stresses of speaker cabinet vibrations. I replaced the K&H with another amplified self calibrating system by Genelec. Funny, set up was once again time consuming, and to be honest, a large portion of my best work was creates using the LS3/5A. Recently, KEF developed an advance coaxial desgned driver with extraordinary capability, complimented by serious cabinet, crossover and port design. Very tempting I thought. It took a long time to sell the focal monitors, which was fortunate because KEF developed their wireless LS50. Such an absolutely complete and totally excellent system. I actually prefer them to my large studio monitoring system. The KEF stands allow me to to do mid and nearfield monitoring both on location, and in my production studio. Just faboulous! I'm looking forward to wonderful creating and joyful listen.

Pros: excellent complete monitor system. Usually speaker designers aren't great amplifier designers, and vice versa. Not true with the LS50Wireless. Excellent crossover and power design.

Cons: I have a lot of alternative equipment that will go unused.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from Pls Vrds Pnsl, CA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! Came with the ls50w stands as well. Looks great and sounds amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent but finicky

Srinivas from Tampa, FL on 4/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Holographic sound with a very wide sound stage. However, all of this disappears once you swap right speaker to left (re-programming) to connect to my sub-woofer. Also, these speakers are unforgiving if the source is not correct.

Pros: Huge soundstage with good tonal balance.

Cons: Sound quality is very sensitive to the speaker position and the app/wireless is terrible. It is a nightmare to integrate the subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Paul from North Port, FL on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent audio, crisp, tight, quick, and balanced across the tonal range. Highs that sparkle and more base Then I expected from a speaker of this size, and they're easy on the eyes. The app needs a lot of work, the remote is not illuminated and not easy to use without any indexing to help identify the keys. There are no indicators on the front on the speaker to show status(on/off, mode), you can only see them from directly above the speaker. I bought the wireless version for the simplicity and convenience, KEF's got a ways to go to meet my requirement for convenience. As a speaker they are a 5+ for user convenience they're low, very low.

Pros: Great sound and tonal quality, easy on the eyes.

Cons: Not as convenient to use as I had hoped.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Highly Recommend!

Luke from Maggie Valley, NC on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Speakers! Worth the price! Sound great! Look Great! Simple... all-in-one... did it all... no fuss! Highly Recommend!

Pros: Build Quality, Cosmetics, Sound Quality, Compact, Value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Best speakers for the money

Andy from Columbus, IN on 2/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing clarity, detail and soundstage. They live up to the hype. Almost no need for a subwoofer.

Pros: Small, beautiful, powerful and clear.

Cons: Remote and app are junk. Luckily I'm not using either one after initial setup.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic Sound... truly unbelievable

Adam from Grantsville, MD on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Whether you need a compact system or not, these speakers deserve a look. I was skeptical that they could deliver on the hype and thought it may be a case of "for the size" or "for the money." I am happy to report that they deliver in spades. I have several other references including high end JBL studio monitors and B&W floor standers. The beauty of these speakers is that the amplification is perfectly matched to the speaker. Other systems are capable of this sound quality but you'll need to spend a lot more and do a lot more experimenting with preamps, amps, etc.. I can't recommend them highly enough.

Pros: Out of the box brilliance

Cons: would like grille covers for when kids are around.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unbeatable for Price and Form Factor

Tim from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL on 2/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, these are no-question a 5-star product. I may still find myself wanting "more" in my biggest listening room, but that "more" will likely carry a price tag of 5-7 times my all-in cost on the LS50Ws. A couple weeks into my testing, I did purchase upgraded power cables. Prior to this upgrade, the KEFs were punchy, vibrant, and detailed, but perhaps at times too much so for my tastes. Post upgrade, I feel like nothing has been lost but a great deal of relaxed vibe has been gained. Everything seems more effortless now, mellower, less brash. The KEFs do indeed respond to their own DSP settings (stand/desk, wall/freespace), and I have also made additional tweaks in Roon. The KEFs are fed by a Roon core laptop, using AudioQuest Cinnamon USB cable and a couple AudioQuest JitterBugs. KEFs are sitting on matching KEF stands.

Pros: Full, energetic, balanced, detailed sound. No fiddling required. Better bass than you'd expect. Probably the perfect smaller room solution, but does a great job in my "larger" 18'x15'x10'(ceilings) den.

Cons: Just for funsies, wish I could bypass amps and DACs and use passive. Would "future-proof" them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Greg from Boulder, CO on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy Bluetooth setup, very nice sound quality. Very happy with the purchase. Easily recommend the speakers.

Pros: Easy Bluetooth setup, easy iPhone use NIce sound quality

Cons: The App is worthless and seemed to add no value. Deleted it off my phone first day.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A little effort, but jaw dropping detail.

Donald from Buford, GA on 1/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Okay to start off I was frustrated for the first couple of days. It takes a little bit of effort to get these things up and running correctly. On day 4 I have the ls50 w attached to my media server. I performed the firmware update with very little issue. I now have Spotify and Tidal. The app from my Android phone is functioning well. After being a mid-grade audiophile for 42 years, I can say I got chills once the ls50 ws we're up and running. The detail you get from these little things is incredible. Highly recommended

Pros: Some of the best sounding speakers you will ever hear. No need for a sub. Just listen to the detail and the tight bass.

Cons: Setup is a bit difficult. Nothing major, but you must download the new firmware to the speakers to get the maximum benefit. The old firmware does not cut it

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good but pricey compact system

Crutchfield customer from Antioch, CA on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good as compact system but poor firmware / app (e.g bad volume control in app and slow volume response , unable to connect to 5Ghz channel on dual band router when the wireless router set to "auto" in 5Ghz radio channel ). Remote control works about 15 feet away from front of main speaker. Overrated sound quality for this price. My old Infinity Beta40 , Onkyo TX-NR709 and Oppo 205 sound better in bass .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

Outstanding active speakers!

Peter from Gleneden Beach, OR on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The five stars are purely for the outstanding sound and design of these amazing active speakers. I never thought it would be possible to acquire a system with this level of sonic quality for this price point much less half of that! My set is fully broken in and I am constantly blown away at the performance and nuances I was missing from completely familiar music with previous set ups. If you are even remotely considering getting these gems do not hesitate: You will be thrilled in the amazing, detailed, spacious traits of these outstandingly well engineered pieces of art! If you are looking to purchase these based on the wireless capabilities, specifically using the LS50 wireless app beware! The app is incredibly horrible. It is by far the worst performing app I have ever used. I am actually amazed that KEF would even consider releasing this app.

Pros: Accurate, detailed and incredibly musical with unbelievable lower end extension given the form factor and driver size: pure wizzardry! Unparalleled soundstage presentation. Exceptional value! You would be hard pressed to put together a system that comes remotely close to this set for this price point

Cons: App is horrible: Less than 1 star for app.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing speakers

Jason from Cypress, CA on 11/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers. Love the convenience of dsp and dedicated amps integrated inside. Sound is holographic with a wide sound stage.

Pros: Clear, holographic, and stunning sound from an award winning speakers

Cons: The app is a bit laggy and can use a bit more refinement.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from Corona Del Mar, CA on 11/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome speaker convenience of multiple input sources some complexity in fine tuning but worth the effort app needs work 3 stars for that but the music is heavenly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

James from Cumming, GA on 11/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No doubt about it, as all the other reviews state the app control is terrible. After a few days with it crashing, losing connection, etc I noticed that when I first turned on the speakers ( I have a sub attached) everything was fine but as soon as I would adjust the volume control (up OR down) the sub output would decrease about 50%. If I power cycled the speakers, they would come on and work fine but the second I touched the volume control the sub level would drop dramatically. I was about to call to arrange a return when I decided to simply delete the app from my phone and just use the speakers without it. After that they perform flawlessly and have ever since. The app is simply terrible. Note- I use the USB input and have a Mac mini connected running Tidal, JRiver, etc. Also have a turntable, CD player etc, so I do not use any of the wireless or blue tooth functions. Just based on the sound alone I could give these a 5 start rating. But the ridiculously bad app prevents that. These sound better than any speakers I have even owned. My humble system before the LS50W addition consists of about $12,000 in speakers, amp etc. The LS50 W simply blow all that stuff away. I am seriously thinking about just making these the heart of my system and retiring the rest. If someone asks me what's a good introduction to audiophile world I would recommend these as long as the wireless/app portion is not important to you.

Pros: Sounds amazing.

Cons: Bad app!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Future Fi NOW

Robert from Mcmurray, PA on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Currently auditioning both the older passive model LS50 and this newer powered model LS50 Wireless. Both speakers are really quite excellent especially for a desktop system. However, there are many great benefits to this new wireless model over its predecessor in that it has four perfectly matched amplifiers and DACs, one for each of its drivers. In addition, it also has several built-in DSP type controls that allows it to be customized specifically to one's needs and taste whether that be on a desktop or in a conventional two-channel stereo setup. To assemble this same level of power (230 watts per speaker!), goodness and adaptability would be crazy expensive. You can also forget the need and expense of buying interconnects and speaker cables. Just plug and play with minimal fuss. In addition, this model also now has the music streaming services of Spotify, Tidal and Roon onboard and can be controlled by app on your tablet or phone. So, how does it sound? Absolutely phenomenal! In fact, it sounds way better than the passive model LS50 driven by a Marantz amp. Whether this would be the case with a more expensive amp I can't be sure. But then we are talking about significantly more money with no guarantee of better results. Such is the agony of amp to speaker matching, a crazy game played by audiophiles with way deeper pockets than mine! Save the drama and give these a listen.

Pros: All-in-one simplicity with incredible sound. No need to match amp and speakers. No speaker or interconnects to worry about.

Cons: Daily prayers for the very best in electronic reliability otherwise you'll end up with some mighty fine paperweights!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Dope

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 11/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had a few sub $4k hifi configurations over the last 15+ years and these KEFs sound better than all of them. If you're shopping for excellent sound, lossless streaming and want to avoid the price and aesthetic of a multi-component system, this is, to my mind, the way forward. Note: The five star rating does not really take into account KEF's app, which sucks (as noted many times around the web) and is arguably worth docking a star. I've found the app just functional enough but will likely invest in Roon soon.

Pros: Sound, value, ease and look.

Cons: That app...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from Miami Beach, FL on 10/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Comprehensive functionality in a beautiful, elegant, simple design. And most important, very good sound. Clear, accurate, but not harsh, and truly surprising bass. I've heard the DSP increases the bass response over the passive version. I haven't heard the passives, so I can't verify that, but I was impressed by the quality of the bass from such a small cabinet. For me, though, there still wasn't quite enough bass. I compared them to the ELAC FS U5 floorstanders powered by the Peachtree nova150 (a more expensive combination, even considering the cost of stands for the LS50W), and chose the ELAC/Peachtree pair instead. Crutchfield service was excellent throughout, from recommendations before to arranging the return.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Couldn't be much more different from base ls50

Roger from Verona, WI on 8/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these on open box after selling my "wired" ls50s and they were in like new condition. I gave up and on the base model because they were forward and bright and a little fatiguing to listen to....even though I loved the detail and space and ability to hear deep into the music. This was with a smooth musical fidelity integrated and multiple sources. Because I liked the positive qualities and the reviews describing the differences I decided to give the "wireless" version a try. Figured the freq EQ DSP and use of digital crossover could address the issues I had with the original. Wow...what a difference. These are strong, punchy, much warmer while retaining at least as much detail. They just sound like music... smooth, detailed and no listening fatigue. Probably not even broken in yet either. I'm currently feeding them from my Sonos connect digital out through toslink glass cable and want to listen for hours... to all types of music... jazz, classical, rock... After selling off my amp, DAC, and speaker cables I'll probably come out ahead.... these are the best of many stereo rigs I've owned and a great bargain... I have the gray and deep red and they look and sound stunning.... Get em.

Pros: Smoother than ls50 At least as detailed Way better quality bass No listening fatigue No amp or DAC expense

Cons: If u wanna change you'll need to rebuy all your components.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome speakers, Crappy app

Vikram from New York, NY on 7/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first real piece of audiophile grade equipment after doing tons of research. I loved the fact that I didn't have to actually buy separate DAC, pre-amp etc, and think about how each may be compatible or how the sound quality might vary depending on what you pair with. This was something I really didn't have to think about with this system and the best part is that it fits great even on my computer table. May not be the best place to put this speakers but I will be slowly adding stands and acoustic panels to get better sound. The speakers sound great to my ears. The sound stage and accuracy are excellent, but definitely needs a sub woofer if you are listening to EDM, deep house or rock, none the less even these genres these speakers sound wonderful. Can hear a lot more details now, that brings new life to every song. One thing I found is that these speakers sound better at higher volumes and if you have a small room I would think about that because they can easily fill a room. The only reason I gave this a 4 stars rating is because of the crappy app that is needed to control all the equalizer settings. Its TERRIBLE and I hardly use it. It only runs using wifi which makes no sense. I can't change any settings when I am streaming on bluetooth or have it connected to my computer ( my primary ways to listen) I really hope KEF addresses these issues. Still no support for listening to spotify or pandora or anything except for Tidal on WIFI. I would recommend.

Pros: * Sound quality * Portability

Cons: * App lacking features

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple set-up, Great Sound

Joe from Jersey City, NJ on 6/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for my living room. I wanted something simple so everyone in the house could listen. I've got them on the KEF stands with a JL E112 sub which sits on a custom Isoacoustics sub stand (Highly Recommended!). So, I use these for both TV and music. With movies, this 2-channel rig completely dominates a $25K+ HT rig in my other house. These speakers absolutely scale up. For TV/movies, I go toslink out of the TV to a W4S Remedy and then toslink to the speaker. For music, the chain is as follows: sonicTransporter i5 (powered by Uptone Audio JS-2 psu) with external 1TB Samsung ssd to Fios Router via Audioquest Cinnamon Ethernet and then the signal goes to a MicroRendo (powered by Uptone Audio LPS-1) via Audioquest Cinnamon Ethernet. I've got as much money into the digital feed as the speakers plus stands, but IMHO it's totally justified. The stands are aesthetically pleasing but are certainly the weak link in this picture. As you can tell from the rig, I'm an unrepentant audiophile and tweaker. I think I've got about $7,500 tied up in this system. In the right room, you'll be hard-pressed to beat the sound at any price. And the convenience is off the charts. I'm a former horn/SET guy and value a meaty, energized sound. This has it in spades! I'm listening to more more music than ever now. That's the whole point!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Practical High End Computer Speaker Choice!

Aaron from Boca Raton, FL on 5/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a pair of Focal CMS 50 fed by Auralic Vega DAC with this Kef LS50 Wireless. They are without a doubt a practical choice for those who want among the very best in Computer Audio. They would also be a great choice for those who wish to upgrade their TV sound with stereo speakers of much higher quality. To make use of these speaker capabilities you would need ISOACOUSTICS stands. I have used both the 155 and 200 on these. The manufacturer recommends the 155. I have also had the older version and the new APERTA series. The APERTA series are well worth the extra moeny as they sound better reducing resonances beyond the original. They also look much better. I have also tried different USB cables from the Audioquest Pearl to their Carbon. In the Audioquest line I found the FOREST to sound and overall perform best. It sounds significantly better and cleaner than the Belkin Gold and more musical than the more expensive Audioquest CARBON. I have also tried more exotic designs where they separate power and the signal line. I also calibrate the computer set up using DIRAC LIVE calibration software.

Pros: Great sound potential at relatively low cost Easier than usual set up.

Cons: Software quirks and remote with no sense of volume level. 30 min auto turn off

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Unbelievable - I am so happy

Misha from San Diego, CA on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing. KEF has matched the awesome LS50 speakers with built-in amplifiers, DSP, and DAC that are perfectly suited for the driver. The result is a heavenly sound. With the built-in components, KEF engineers have taken the LS50's and made them sound as good as freaking possible. I wanted to treat myself to a sweet stereo system, and I spent a long time looking for speakers that I loved. This was the 6th pair of speakers that I tried. I am glad I waited. Every time I listen to these, they make me smile. My friends are super impressed, and look forward coming to my place to pump some music. I have somewhat sensitive ears, and I get listener's fatigue pretty easily. That doesn't happen with these. I paired these with a Paradigm subwoofer, but it's not strictly necessary as these have pretty great bass extension by themselves (for bookshelf speakers). Crutchfield is a great company btw - I've really enjoyed their customer service and I'll be buying from them again.

Pros: Amazing sweet sweet sound. If you're looking for a set of bookshelf speakers for music, these are an excellent choice.

Cons: Expensive, but for me it was worth it

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Amazing Sound for the Price

BigBeard from Yonkers, NY on 4/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very impressed by these speakers...I was worried I would be let down, considering the rave reviews found everywhere - I believed, at that time, the speakers were going to be overhyped. The precision and soundstage is amazing - its as if I am listening from multiple speakers. In certain songs, you can hear the singer's lips part. Highly, highly, detailed sound. On their own, the bass is the best you can get from anything this size...but I am a bass head. If you don't listen to any music with very low bass notes, you will be absolutely fine. Unless you have a nice set of floor standers, you will always need a subwoofer if you really want those low frequencies. I am a basshead, so I paired these speakers with a PSA 3000i sealed sub - the pairing is magical. I think I would have to spend 10 grand more to get better sound than this. The app is really not an app - just a way to manage DSP settings. I really do hope they can improve the app. DSP settings are very nice, and correct issues of placement. Don't expect to stream music...the only way you can is if you can songs downloaded onto your phone/tablet. The speakers must also be in wifi mod to make any DSP changes. These thing must be fixed. A desktop app would be great too. I do not want to take stars off for the app - The speakers deserve 5 stars. For the days before the speakers arrived, I had some remorse because I thought I might regret it. Now, I cannot find enough time to keep.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas ,NV on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More than happy !! Amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Regular LS50 owner. Great package in a very reasonable size.

David from Manassas, VA on 3/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own the original LS50s and still have them set up in my living room. Just to compare: No Comparison! Reason? Just my opinion: all the guess work for the upstream is taken out of the equation. I can tell you right now the wireless units sound so much better right out of the box compare to my old LS50s driven by a Benchmark DAC USB and the Yamaha AS2000. The Yamaha + the DAC + the LS50 were pretty expensive new. These wireless ones beat that set up hands down with minimum fuzz in setting up and component picking at 50% of the cost of my existing system and sound better! I'm not saying my existing LS50 sounded bad, it's just that these wireless units sounded that much better. Totally beat my expectations! Now I'm thinking about selling the regular LS50s and getting another pair of these haha. It doesn't get much better than these, regardless how much you would spend! Also another big thumbs up to Crutchfield. Great shopping experience: placed the order on Wed and got it on Fri!

Pros: No fuzz set up, no need to shop for component synergy. All internals are matched and engineered for the speakers, making this relatively small system really hard to beat for the price!

Cons: I wish the iOS app can change the source and volume of the speakers as well. Right now it is kinda clunky to use. Hope future firmware/app update will address these issues. Supplied power cables should be longer to aid easier wire hiding.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Great sounding, versatile speakers.

Ryan from Chicago on 3/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers that ended a long search. The fact that you can adjust the sound of these speakers to fit your environment is huge! The speakers are not on stands but on media console and they still sound great. Excellent bass - I could easily go without a subwoofer. Something these speakers can do that in my experience is very rare with more expensive gear, is make even not so good recordings, sound pretty good. The app, however, is pretty much terrible. I am used to using an app with my denon receiver which is always connected and pretty much controls all the features the receiver has. This app is only connected when the wireless source is selected. If you want to adjust settings while listening to another source, you need to first connect in wireless mode, then switch to the other source. If the app times out for any reason, you will have to, along with killing and re-starting the app, repeat the procedure. You cannot control volume or switch sources with the app, nor can you wake the speakers. You have to use the included remote. I don't use the app to stream music because I use Sonos, so I can't comment on that.

Pros: They sound great anywhere you put them. They sound great will all music.

Cons: The App/network features

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

amazing sound and versatility

Craig from Mount Kisco, NY on 3/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful smallish powered speakers that produce incredibly detailed sound. Great recordings sound incredible and less good ones sound less good -- what I mean is they are "transparent." Love the frequency response -- the bass, though not overwhelming, is quite decent. Bass lovers might want to add a powered sub-woofer. I also love their versatility with wifi (app is available), bluetooth, analog, toslink/optical, and pc connectivity. Amazing speakers.

Pros: incredible sounding speakers in a small package able to take wired or wireless signals. Just plug or wirelessly connect your music source and you're there.

Cons: none that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Not Wireless but Still Exceptional

douglas from Los Angeles, CA on 3/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Remove the word Wireless from the product name and it would've been 5stars. You'll read this in every review, so I'll make it brief. The streaming functionality via WiFi is horrible. In a world where software products and firmware can be updated daily, there is promise that this functionality will get better. For me, my LS50w's are situated right in between my computer desk and are directly wired into my laptop via USB. I am running Roon playing local flac's and other high res files, as well as Tidal streaming material. So far its working perfectly. I can control my Roon via my phone most of the time, although it can even be a bit touchy. I also have a Rega P2 running through a Bellari Preamp into the LS50's. Regardless, the sound is amazing. I'm stepping up from a pair of KEF Q100's hooked up to an HK stereo integrated with a subwoofer. The LS50's have taken me to that next point in listening that I've been waiting for. Not only do i get imaging and staging several times over my previous setup, but i am also able to ditch the amp and subwoofer! The bass this thing is capable of is tremendous. No need for an additional sub unless you want to shake your fillings loose. I'm not a terribly well experienced audiofile. This is my first step into any product breaking the $600 mark. I think the combo of being able to reduce my clutter of equipment while taking a substantial step up in sound quality makes this product a winner.

Pros: Sound quality, convenience, all in one

Cons: Poor app and streaming experience (for now)

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

The Furure Is Now

Daniel from Philadelphia, PA on 2/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking for the best sound per dollar you can abhieve for a budget of approximately $2500.00 then look no further. This is it. You'll need to use a wired source to achieve the best sound since as most people know, Bluetooth is lossy. I wasn't sure at the time I bought these that I would keep them, but I quickly decided to sell my old setup. I literally pocketed $10,000 when I sold off the old gear, so after deducting the the money for this, I was left with a whole bunch of money to buy music! Haha Buy a pair!

Pros: Perfect synergy- custom matched amplifiers, DACs and speakers. Looks. Reference sound for the money

Cons: If there is one I haven't found it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pure joy!

Bob from Westfield, MA on 1/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pre-ordered these last October and just set them up a few days ago. Out of the box, I wasn't impressed with the sound quality. The unit is shipped in a flat configuration sound-wise which makes sense. Once I downloaded the app and played with the room settings, the speakers eventually came to life - in a big way. Deep, tight bass, clear mids and accurate, but not harsh highs. I am able to hear instruments on my favorite tracks that I hadn't heard before! The soundstage is breathtaking. The build quality is superb. I can see attention to detail throughout. I have the gloss black/blue combo and I love it. KEF hit it out of the park with this product. These speakers will only get better as they break in. Just be aware that you'll need to fiddle with the app to get the right sonic performance out of these gems. Be patient, it's worth the effort.

Pros: Superb build quality Produces a very accurate and breathtaking sound stage USB mode produces the best results Hardware setup is very straightforward

Cons: Takes time to dial these into the listening area Wrestling with configuring wifi to work with devices (using USB for the moment) Expensive, but worth it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

TOP