Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

KEF LS50 Meta

Bookshelf speakers (Royal Blue)

MFR # LS50METABLUE

KEF LS50 Meta

KEF LS50 Meta

Bookshelf speakers (Royal Blue)

MFR # LS50METABLUE

60 reviews
View this product

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, IL on 11/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent imaging and balanced sound! Considering a second pair for our living room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with an SVS 3000 Micro subwoofer, in my relatively small but acoustically treated listening room (it has corner bass traps and first reflection wall traps) the LS50 Metas make a first rate impression. These small stand mounted speakers disappear sonically and are excellent at spatial imaging of the recorded sources. Definitely the best recreation of recorded piano sound (for me an acid test of speaker quality) I've heard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound From A Small Package

Crutchfield customer from State College, PA on 10/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a small package for small to medium sized rooms. I looked at bigger more expensive options but am happy I choose the Kef LS50 Meta. The BlueSound POWERNODE 2021 drives it well and you have the option to add a subwoofer if you want 20Hz to 20kHz.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 9/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy on the eyes and luxuriously engaging for the ears. Incredible sound and detail for such a small package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A large step up

Crutchfield customer from Oak Park, IL on 9/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My previous speakers were $2000, Monitor Audio Silver 8's. Great sounding, floor standing, 3 way speakers. Well, the KEF LS50 Meta are a substantial sonic improvement. They have revealed previously unheard instruments buried in the mix, vocals sound more realistic and the sound stage has enlarged. I am now like a kid in a candy store, listening to songs I have heard hundreds of times and having them sound new. Okay, maybe not new, but greatly improved. As has been stated in other reviews if you have a large room or like to play music VERY loud then you will need a sub woofer to help the bottom end. I purchased the KEF KC62 sub woofer and they blend together seamlessly. I don't know how much one has to spend to get better sound then this but it has to be a lot.

Pros: Good looking, great sounding

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF fan

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 9/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent soundstage, imaging, detail, and smooth cohesive mid to lower bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Dennis from San Jose, CA on 9/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding speakers . I had the original LS50's and while great they were a bit bright sometimes . Sold those and got the new metas . I originally had the metas in a bigger than average room and while good I wasn't impressed . I moved them to a normal living room and wow . These are great sounding speakers. If your looking for party music with thunderous bass don't get these. If you plan to crank up pantera , get some klipsch . If you plan to listen at moderate volumes and have decent amplification definitely consider these. Minus one star because they don't have a grill .

Pros: Great imaging

Cons: No grills

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

bravissimo, great value

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 9/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Owned the prior version of passive LS50 speakers in black. I was interested in trying the meta and secondarily preferred the white for aesthetics. I was nervous selling the previous ones for fear any improvement in the new model would be minuscule, but the step up in quality of the meta is immediately apparent. Surprises: - lived up to the hype in clarity of the mid and high frequency range - bass somehow much more present than prior LS50, and not at all muddled. I do still have a sub (SVS SB-3000), but if you don't need ground rumbling sub-80 Hz you could easily skip it Other thoughts: The meta is technically more massive by about 2 lbs, but they do not feel heavy at all. The aesthetics and build quality is very good; I personally appreciate the matte finish Also, if you want to secure the speakers to a stand for additional stability, there are threaded holes to bolt them in place. Crutchfield's open box option was a great deal for good-as-new option for these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Optimal sound, form and function.

Crutchfield customer from Missoula, MT on 9/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am into beautiful design as well as quality sound. These speakers provide both. I have ordered the KEF subwoofer to complete the package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Loren from OSHKOSH, WI on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fine speaker, but not equal in resolution and scale to a Martin Logan electrostat--not even close. Good, then, for a small room. The speaker begins to distort below 100Hz, especially when the volume is raised to fill a larger room (see the test results from SoundStage and Stereophile, and listen carefully for yourself). Best used with a high-pass filter to remove lower bass. But, unfortunately, most subs have only low-pass filters. So a Parasound P 6 preamp, for example, which has high-quality bass management for both mains and sub, works perfectly. At lower volumes (easy-listening levels), the LS50/Meta is a champ. But a more robust speaker would give you undistorted bass at higher volumes. Of course, it would also cost a whole lot more. (The best sound I ever got from the LS50 was with a PrimaLuna amp. But tubes present an unavoidable distortion level.) Buy from Crutchfield with confidence, though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great "Bookshelf" Speaker

Brad from Bellingham, WA on 7/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I live out in the stick and finding places to demo speakers isn't easy. Thanks to Crutchfield's return policy I was able to give these a trial in my own environment. I had them setup using a Denon receiver and an SVS sub with the crossover point set to 80hz. These speakers are amazing. The staging and separation are really good. If you close your eyes, you would not know that you are listening to such a small speaker. The only real criticism is that they are a bit bright (KEF is well known for this). I listened to them with a sub, so I can't really comment on their low-end, but with a sub the sound was really full and crisp across the dynamic range. I also had a pair of Q750's that I was comparing them against. In the end, I went with the Q750's because the Q750's were just a little bit warmer and had a slightly fuller sound. The Q750's are also bright, but the LS50 Metas are a bit in-your-face bright and the Q750's are a tad more subdued. It was still a very difficult decision because the LS50 Metas are very pleasing to look at. They are beautifully designed and would improve most people's décor. The looks alone made it a very difficult decision. I hate to call them bookshelf speakers because of how amazing they sound, and you would do them a disservice if you put them in a bookshelf. Put them on a stand and let them breathe. If you are looking for a smaller speaker, you definitely want to give these a listen to.

Pros: Well designed Beautiful appearance Incredible sound Small and compact

Cons: A little in-your-face bright Not quite as full sounding as floor standing speakers.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Simply Fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Burlingame, CA on 7/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using these KEF speakers as part of my computer workstation as desktop speakers. Running a USB Type B cable from my Mac into an NAD 3045 amplifier (60watts per channel output). Also using Apple Music's lossless (ALAC 24bit 192khz) output through SoundSource for Mac so that I can apply my preferred EQ settings. I wanted a wired connection to my Mac as I got super frustrated with streaming over Airplay2 to an Apple HomePod or other bluetooth solutions. There is too much delay or just dropped connections and having to reconnect etc. I also do some video editing and a wired connection or wired headphones is a must. I love that with the NAD amp sitting vertically I can just reach over and adjust the volume with the dial old school way. The only time I can listen to music is while working so this is the ultimate setup for me. I also ordered the KC62 subwoofer which is backordered. The speakers -- absolutely amazing! Best I've ever heard. These replaced Paradigm Millenia CT's which were awesome but these are even better. I can't see any human on earth being disappointed with the KEF's. So worth the price. They also look incredible with the black and copper color scheme. I absolutely could not be happier with this purchase. Buy them now!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 7/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and looks even better. These speakers are exceptional at low level and near field listening. I really enjoy leaving my sub off and just listening to the Metas by themselves. For larger rooms sufficient power and a sub may be desirable given the size of the 5-inch main driver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Nashua, NH on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great. Sound is very clear and real. Built is excellent. I am thinking of buying the KEF subwoofer but it is not urgent. These speakers have good bass. These will be my main speakers for years to come.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from San Luis Obispo, CA on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the original LS50 and loved it, so when the Meta came out I didn't immediately feel any need to change. But reviews suggested that the Meta improved slightly on the old model in terms of fine detail and transparency, which were the only areas where I felt the original was not state of the art for its size. I also thought that the minor cosmetic changes were quite welcome, making the Meta an outstanding piece of industrial design (even though from the front they are essentially identical to the original). My expectations were fully met when the Metas arrived-they seem to offer a bit more detail without losing anything of the original's balanced, focused sound. I use them as desktop speakers and the Uni-Q driver means that the sound is coherent at all distances. The imaging and soundstaging are exceptional. Finally, since I'm sitting so close to the speakers their appearance is especially important, and the blue cabinet and champagne-colored driver make a lovely combination. I've had many speakers in the house, ranging from Quad ESL-63s to Wilson Benesch Arcs to KEF Reference 203/2s. Among this group, the LS50s and LS50 Metas are among the least expensive, but I think the new Metas will be my long-term speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Transcending

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 6/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best speakers at this price point ever!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love these!

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Heights, CA on 5/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these to replace the KEF LS50 wireless because of continued problems with the electronics. The LS50W speakers have fabulous sound and I loved the idea of having powered speakers for my desk, both to save room from not have a separate integrated amp, and to have the amp tuned to the speakers. But one of the LS50W speakers would shut off after a few minutes, and so I decided to get these instead along with Cambridge CXA81 integrated amp. The Metas do very well with the Cambridge, and are MUCH more crisp than the wireless, but they do miss a bit on the bottom end. While the wireless ones had decent sound in the lower frequencies, the Metas are really lacking there. But I bought a Jamo S 808 Subwoofer (made by Klipsch) and the results have been amazing. This set up sounds better than my Anthem Amps with Polk columns in my living room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Big sound small footprint

Crutchfield customer from West Winfield, NY on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprising sound for a small speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect for Me

Crutchfield customer from Menomonee Falls, WI on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hype is deserved for these speakers. Words like smooth, real, detailed, full, rich and powerful come to mind. The look may not be for everyone, but I sure think they look great in my room. I've been chasing great bookshelf speakers for a year or so and I feel like I can finally take a breath. Also, I got these for a discount through "Scratch and Dent." I was unsure at first, but Crutchfield does have the great return policy if you aren't satisfied. My concerns were unfounded as they showed up in great shape and I couldn't even tell where the S&D was. Great program!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Needs a bit of time to open up

Crutchfield customer from Acton, MA on 5/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these based on all the stellar reviews of the original and the purported upgrade of the Meta technology. At first, i thought hmmm, they sound ok but not what i had expected from the hype. I am driving them with a NAD C368 in a 2.1 configuration. After about 100 hours, they have opened up to sound amazing. Great sound stage from the uniQ architecture coupled with a nice neutral sound across the frequency spectrum. I play a variety of genres and they all sound lively, quick and strong, even on the low end. I also do not sense the brightness that others have mentioned. I have these in an office environment and smile every time i play them, which also encourages me shorten my zoom calls!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Impressive and super fun.

Crutchfield customer from Los Alamos, NM on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shouldn't be a surprise from the many review sources, but these speakers are really amazing. Super dynamic and responsive. Really wide and deep soundstage, and more forgiving with distances from the wall than I expected. Also very easy to drive with my 60 wpc Cambridge Audio CXA61. Using them to replace my other formidable speakers Elac Adantes which are great but much more difficult to drive and sensitive to placement. And great service from Crutchfield as usual.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wow

Guest from Boone, IA on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound and build quality

Pros: build quality vocal reproduction detail

Cons: benefits heavily from subwoofer in my opinion

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

My audio journey has begun.

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 4/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I invested in these to go with my Rogue Audio Sphinx V3. This is my first attempt at a true setup in what I hope will be a lifelong hobby. With that said, Im no expert, but there is something magical happening in my room every time I give them a listen. They disappear completely with a crystal clear clarity, the bass is fuller than I expected, and the sound stage is smooth and beautiful. I can't stop exploring music. I love them and hope you will to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Sunriver, OR on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. Easy to set up and sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lives up to hype

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers. Own more expensive speakers but none sound, better especially if you add a sub....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent speaker

Crutchfield customer from Valley Stream , NY on 4/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm impressed with these speakers. Along with the matching sub, they seem to be terrific. They are replacing a lovely set of Soliloquy 6.2 towers that I've used and loved for many years, but this KEF set-up is a clear, if small improvement. Highly recommended.

Pros: Clear, musical sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speaker of the year 2020 -2021

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Holographic sound, best speaker I've heard @ this price point @ any price ... outstanding value for the money. Easily stands toe to toe with any bookshelf speaker costing 10 times or more, of what KEF charges for these speakers. Pair with McIntosh, Technics, Parasound or Hegel amplifier etc. Note: I do run a JL subwoofer to help the lower end.

Pros: Outstanding imaging, detail without being fatiguing

Cons: 75 - 90 dB sweet spot ... Not a party P.A. speaker of 100db +

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing sound from such a small footprint.

Crutchfield customer from Oak Park, CA on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wouldn't consider myself an audiofile but I did start off my career as an assistant engineer in some great recording studios and have kept up dabbling in recording for fun so I think I have some experience with high end audio reproduction. For me I love a speaker that has great imaging and punchy dynamics and the Metas deliver on both counts. The sound is very dimensional and center panned sources seems to float in front of you while other content wraps around you. The definition is great on these little guys too. You will hear things you've never heard before that were hidden by lesser speakers. The Metas have impressive low end as well but they really shine with the addition of a sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love these speakers!!

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, CO on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these new speakers. Paired them with the Parasound HINT6 and the KEF KUBE10 and the sound is sublime. I highly recommend these bookshelves if you are looking for a solid pair of speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional sound. Very directional so it has a sweet spot but could not be happier. It was an outlet model but I can't find any issues / blemishes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super quick delivery, excellent product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kef LS50 meta

Crutchfield customer from Watervliet, NY on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Previous speakers were Mirage M5si which I love. They are old but sound very full and detailed. The LS 50 meta betters than by a surprising margin. The soundstage and detail are surprising. Huge sweet spot and separation of instruments. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: All pros

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

beautiful sounding and beautiful looking speaker. particularly strong in filling a room despite smaller size and in midranges.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Teleport yourself to a new sonic landscape with the KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NY on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seeking the best possible audio quality, I explored the Kef Q Series and the B&W 600 Anniversary Series. Space in my living room was an issue, so bookshelf speakers were necessary. I spent serious time reading the reviews of the aforementioned speakers. I was aware of the KEF LS50 Meta. Despite the world-wide, life-changing reviews of the LS50 Meta's, I felt they were beyond my budget for this project. I purchased the KEF Q150's & the KEF Q350's and sent them back. They didn't move me sonically. Same goes for the B&W 606 Anniversary speakers. I then found the intestinal fortitude to purchase the LS50 Meta's. I'm glad I did and I am beyond amazed by what I'm hearing AND feeling. Set up on either side of a fireplace, these LS50's offer an amazing sound stage. True 3D sound with staggering clarity and tonal definition. Powered by a Cambridge AXR 100 with streaming through a Cambridge CXN (V2), I have found my perfect audio set up. Using Amazon Music HD, I first played "Deutschland" by Rammstein. The wall of guitars arrived and my jaw dropped. I then streamed in HD various songs from CSN and Joni Mitchell. I'm hearing new parts to songs I've been listening to for 40 years. It's astonishing. Maria Callas in Hi-Res has been the greatest reward thus far. These speaker should be considered an investment. Bite the bullet and buy them. Try them out. Tune your room with them. Sit back and be amazed.

Pros: Superb Audio Quality Perfect size for some applications Mesmerizing sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Summerland Key, FL on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Balanced, bright, and transparent. Especially gratifying for operatic vocal and vocals of any type. I was surprised at the amount of punch in the base. Sub not needed. Lastly A BARGIN at $1500 a pair. Much more than I imagined posible at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Hooksett, NH on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing little speakers. Purchased as a replacement for the Klipsch RP600M. The KEF's have clarity and detail I have not previously heard. For their size the bass is there, however augmenting with a subwoofer is an improvement. I find myself just wanting to listen to one more record every time I sit down for a session. I feel it would be hard to imagine needing something else.

Pros: Detail and Clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Happy customer!

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The clarity and the rich tonal quality of its sound is what won me over.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Transparent, lush and powerful.

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sweet Bookshelf Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Tremonton, UT on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great small speakers that offer excellent detail and tone. I am using as computer speakers with a First Watt J2 amp and a Dragonfly Cobalt DAC, and the sound is superb. It's the best computer speaker setup I have ever heard.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Wilton, IA on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker. Wonderful soundstage and tight punchy bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, IN on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear and clean. Wow is the word when I played them for the first time. They have bass!

Pros: Clarity, bass and full sound

Cons: Have to play at med loud to less. Not able to play loud like Klipsch

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Randolph, NJ on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In a less than 2000 cu. ft. room ,hi and lo passed @ 60 hz. to a decent subwoofer you can have, with the proper ancillaries, for musical purposes, a $200,000 system! Improper setup might get you good sound but if you get it right the sound will be phenomenal. Good luck. I don't want a prize for these observations. PS I used one or two Benchmark amps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great value for the price vs performance ratio!

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried the original LS50 for for a couple of months and they distorted on a specific track I use for testing so they were returned. I upgraded to the Metas which passed my tests with flying colors. The highs and mids are as good as any high-end monitors or floor standers I have ever owned from audiophile brands like Audio Physics, Merlin, Sonus Faber, etc. Below mid-bass definitely benefits from a good subwoofer but the wide soundstage of the LS50 (both original and Meta) is unmatched. They are a wonderful pair of monitors to experience the sensation of live music at home with multiple listeners throughout an open living area.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

They sound great with a really wide range of music

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1st off I was looking for a 2K to 3K $ speaker After much research I landed on these why because I realize that like my previous speakers I would need a couple of sobwoofers to really dig into the low end texture of the bass, In my opinion the high's are definitely rolled off not extremely rolled off but there's no sense of real harshness like some actual sounds do have in real life, however there is texture on the high end sounds which is really nice And if you experienced some harshness it's probably because of your cables yes I said cables and obviously the quality of the recording, The mids are nice and full with rich dynamics not exaggerated,( Definitely not the most dynamic speaker I've heard), The lows are surprisingly good for such a small speaker at least of my small Room of course, But for the nuance of the bottom of the base you really need some subs but that's just about any speaker even bigger speakers really, With music at least wiht my set up they sound clean opened almost unboxed pretty much, most of the time they disappear, also they're really great on reproducing the rooms within the recording which I love, that actually something that most speakers can't seem to do right you can hear the Room but you really need to focus on it but these Kef Ls 50 meta you just hear the Room. It sounds more like the actual recording would sound I guess I would say. I'm really enjoying my music I love them ( I Mostly listen to or orchestral and instrumental music )

Pros: Good entry level 4 Hi fi they truly reflect the Equipment that you pair them with, Nice and sturdy built, Great at reproducing the Room sounds of the recording( If you haven't experienced this you will not understand what I'm talking about but once you experience it you're not gonna wanna go back )

Cons: This is my own personal opinion of course but I do not like how they look( I am a sucker for vintage looks But this is me just nit picking I usually just listen in the dark), And even though they're good at reproducing the sounds of the rooms themselves once you ad those subs, 2 of them hopefully..... it just benefits them even more at reproduction the room in the recordings, In my opinion they are a bargain there's no real cons at this price for what they can do.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

High expectations, but these delivered.

Crutchfield customer from Greenwich, CT on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own the KEF LSX and original LS50 and like them so much I pre-ordered the new Meta as soon as they were announced. I would say they definitely live up to my expectations and the positive reviews out there. I have these in my home office where I stream hi-res files via Roon through a DSD/MQA enabled DAC. As others note, quality amplification is important if you want to get the most out of these speakers (I have them paired with a bel canto REF150s). I also heard a jump in SQ when I added a tube pre-amp to warm things up a bit. KEF set a really high bar with the other speakers I own (especially the LSX, which is an absolute steal at their current price), but the LS50 Meta definitely delivered. The navy blue looks spectacular as well. Another excellent monitor from KEF.

Pros: Look spectacular Peerless imaging/mid-range Worthy successor to the KEF LS50

Cons: Not a con, but these do need quality electronics to reach their potential.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Matthew from St. Louis on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had heard great things about these speakers, so I was somewhat disappointed after listening to them. I paired them with my Peachtree nova 300 and listened to them for nearly 30 days. They just were not that crisp or detailed in my opinion. I played around with placement in my listening room, and even tried them in other rooms in my house, but couldn't really find a scenario in which they sounded great. Maybe my expectations were too high, but for this price I have heard better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds fantastic!

Mike from Hurst, TX on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great and imaging is wonderful. This is the first pair of speakers I haven't run Dirac Live (full range) on and don't feel the need to. Bass is rather anemic - they drop fast below 80 and definitely need a sub. Not unexpected for the size, though. They let my NAD M10 shine for desktop use.

Pros: Imaging clean from 80 up

Cons: Weak bass below 80 Price

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 1/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge upgrade from old ls50. Excellent match with my Hegel h390. These speakers will stay here for a long time. Highly recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Chantilly, VA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are amazing speakers, very detailed with excellent soundstage once positioned properly. I highly recommend these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Monee, IL on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unreal sound abilities from such a compact speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Kihei, HI on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very much enjoying the clarity and detail of these speakers. I don't have a reference point to the pre-meta version, but the reviews have not let me down.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found them too sharp and fatiguing, could be my hearing though, they are very detailed. Some may love them, my ears are easily fatigued so I probably need something warmer and smoother, your experience may be different.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

im no expert but i know exceptional quality when i hear it, this is the second pair of KEF speakers I've bought and they just got better. Don Draper was not wrong.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from La Mesa, CA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these are excellent speakers! They have tremendous clarity.

Pros: easy to set up, plug and play.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Distinct improvement over KEF LS50

Arthur from ENGLEWOOD, NJ on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very good speakers. I had the LS50's and this meta version is a distinct improvement. They have better clarity and soundstage. They seem to need a high power amp. I use the Parasound Halo A21+. I would also recommend they be used with a subwoofer. I use dual REL t/7i subwoofers.

Pros: Great Sound!

Cons: Need high power amp and subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

State of the Art Mini Monitor

Crutchfield customer from BURKE, VA on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned systems that include mini monitors (a/k/a "satellites") for many years, beginning with the legendary Rogers LS3/5As. While speakers in this format can be sonically excellent, dynamic limitations are the typical weak link in performance. I thought the first-gen LS50s, which I have owned for six years, finessed dynamics pretty well within their limitations. But now the METAs, in addition to significant sonic improvements and a wide-open, "unboxed" soundstage, have removed dynamic constraints at any reasonable volume. (I don't listen to music *really* loud.) Kudos to KEF for premiering their new META tech in the LS50, which sets a new standard for the format. Powered by AVM A30 integrated amp, complemented by KEF's R400b subwoofer (recently replaced by the KF92).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, WA on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are AMAZING!!! Sounded pitch perfect right out of the box. Very open and transparent. Depth of sound is outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Meta

Crutchfield customer from Veazie, ME on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having owned 2 pair of the original LS 50's the new Meta has improved in clarity, larger sound stage and tighter bass. I plan on keeping them all as they are fun speakers, easy to place and look wonderful. I own amps from Rega, Schiit Aegir and Bryston 3B3 and all sound great with the Meta. Pick your flavor a good 50 watts does them well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 23 found this helpful

Improved in all the right places

Crutchfield customer from Port Orchard, WA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Owned the original LS50's and enjoyed them. The new Meta's are improved in all the right places. Gone is any top end harshness and the bottom is also stronger and cleaner. Of course the lovely midrange of the LS50 remains in the Meta model. These just sound smoother without any detail loss. I am augmenting these with stereo subs, and my floor standers are up for sale.....

Pros: Smooth detail-

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

These are wonderful

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received my new Kef LS50 Meta's and I must say, I am very impressed! I had the original ls50's and these are much more articulate as if the kef have moved up to the next level for the same price. They sound beefier, cleaner and wider soundstage. I have only been listening for 1 hour. Don't know how a piece a plastic on the back of the driver could make so much difference. I am driven the kef's with a Pass Lab int60. LIke others have mentioned the treble is cleaner but there is no brightness whatsoever. Sam Mclain's voice sound more organic then before and It was good with the old kefs. Even though the bass seems to be beefier, the meta's still sound better with a quality fast sub. I use a B&W db3 which is an excellent sub. I'm sorry I am not as good as some of you at describing sound. I hope this helps someone wondering how these sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

35 of 36 found this helpful

TOP