Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Powered stereo speakers with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple AirPlay® 2 (Carbon Black)

MFR # LS50ABL2

KEF LS50 Wireless II

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Powered stereo speakers with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple AirPlay® 2 (Carbon Black)

MFR # LS50ABL2

38 reviews
View this product

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Sander from PITTSBURGH, PA on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these for myself and my father afterward as well. Hands down one of the best 360 degree comprehensive solution to Hifi. We run one set with one KC62 sub and the other with dual 12b's in stereo. The speakers are awesome you can't read about in the other reviews. But the key thing for us is the app works flawless for easy set up, high and low pass filers, driving the subs. this is plug and play. The only thing you need to experiment is speaker and sub location . Make sure you can hardwire the two speakers together so that you can get the full benefit of the high res and MQA streaming if you're using the embedded title app. For sound quality if this is 9 of 10, then it's 12 out of 10 for ease of use, and 12 out of 10 for value. You'll need to spend double the money and take up twice the space to get something that sounds 2-5% better. If possible try to hardwire them directly to you router/modem. The wifi connection is very reliable but wire is even better/faster. I recommend the IsoAccoustic GIAI III's for the stands and order 2x 25 pounds of let should fill each stand, it'll will anchor them better.

Pros: A comprehensive solution that does 10 thing perfectly 100% of the time vs 100 things well 50% of the time.

Cons: I would recommend KC62 of KF92 the subwoofer, good cables and power source if you can spend the extra cash.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 9/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are really sweet. Great sound and I was able to get the amp out of the living room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy so far

Crutchfield customer from Livonia, NY on 8/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a ton of research before springing for the KEF LS50 wireless 2. I considered all of the options that would work for our downsized lifestyle and this wireless speaker system checked all of the boxes. I consider myself a Midfi Hifi kind of guy who has in the past 50 years of owning audio gear has always gone for the best sound for the buck. I sold almost all my gear (kept the speaker stands and Sub) and wanted something that was wireless, updatable, played well with my phone, my Mac and all of my other stuff. I also wanted gear that I didn't need a 12 yr.old to explain to me. I bought the open box units and unpacked them to find them flawless, the box that held the accessories was crinkled. No big deal. It took a slight learning curve (because I'm not a 12 yr old) to get them to connect to the network through the KEF connect app, but once I did, I was very impressed by how good they sounded. I used the app to connect to some of the radio stations that KEF offers and I like the variety. Right now I am using Spotify and my Mac to stream files but will most likely go to a higher quality music format to match the capabilities of this system. Cannot wait until they voice after a week or so to really hear what they are capable of. I do not have any other experience with powered speakers, but I know what I like and I like these. So far...really good. I might use these instead of my Top of the line Sony Soundbar for TV and movies and pair them with my Yamaha Sub. Happy so far!

Pros: Excellent sound, Reasonable interface, fairly easy to set up, Overall quality. Sharp looking but my daughter said they were ugly?

Cons: Pricey and there are alternatives out there but non seem to be as universally well regarded by critics and users as these.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Active Speakers with High Resolution Quality

Crutchfield customer from Attleboro, MA on 7/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect and complete Hi-Res ROON READY Audiophile setup

Pros: SUPER POWER and Simplicity, quality DAC, TIDAL MQA decoding, ROON Ready, Room / Table positioning compensation /adjustment using pre-delivered sound profiles, variety of Digital Inputs, Intuitive and User-Friendly Application, Easy setup.

Cons: No PRE-AMP or HEADPHONE output

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great!!

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound, easy to use, and beautiful design! Super impressed with this sound equipment!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good ess

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Valley, CA on 7/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simply a steal

Edgar from Wausau on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These is by a significant spread the best and most musical "stereo in a box" in the market. Its the music system I use in our second home. My home setup is a 50k reference level ensemble of Mcintosh and B&W. The fact that the LS50W2 can play a a not bad facsimile of a system that costs almost 20 times as much is astounding. BTW, don't pass up on the matching stands, fill them with lead shot. It does wonders for the lower register clarity.

Pros: Fabulous sound, extraordinary connectivity. They bat way above their price point. Great app!

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good all in a box wireless speaker for music

Albert from WALNUT CREEK, CA on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it works really good for all in a box wireless solution. Good sound stage and image. I don't need a subwoofer for my bedroom music listening. Setup was easy, 30 seconds and it is up and running. I connect to the speakers via Apple play 2. Loss connections here and there but I think it is due to my crowded WiFi network. The left speaker lost connection a few times and I needed to reboot the main speaker. All is all us it a very good sounding speakers for hi fi listening.

Pros: All in one box wireless solution Audiophile speakers for smaller room Easy to setup EQ is very effective from the KEF app

Cons: Lost connection a few times

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Versatile and great sounding

Shannon from CLINCHCO, VA on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound angelic! Really great sound, and very versatile. Gave them a good run with Orchestra, Queen, Hard Rock, Country, Talk.. These Kef's delivered in a big way. Not too boomy, but great accurate bass, and even the finest triangle ringing can be heard amongst the whole band from low to high volumes, with ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

These are good.

Thomas from Portland, OR on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The man-cave / listening room had also become my office, and needing space I had the bright idea that I could replace my separates, tower speakers, audiophile speaker cables, etc., etc. with a one-box solution. I already had the media server, media services, a robust network and no vinyl, having committed to hi-rez digital long ago. I tried the iFi Aurora, McIntosh RS200, and Naim Muso 2. All were... fine (I've reviewed each of these separately). I may have kept one of them if I hadn't been able to A-B with my "big rig". I'd given those three options an impossible task, and they were not up to it. Giving up on the one-boxes, I got a set of these. OMG. They don't quite have that very bottom octave, but can deliver the goods with jazz, rock, pop, and a lot of classical. Imaging is fantastic. Great midrange clarity, an easy to listen to top end, and textured, muscular bass down to about 45Hz (after which it drops off a cliff). That bottom octave was easily solved with a sub - but these definitely don't need one unless those deepest notes from a pipe organ or a computer (electronica) are important. They're absolutely spectacular for jazz (much of my listening), but also don't get confused or muddy with big orchestral or electronica pieces. Now, with stands & sub, I'll argue the LS50W2s sound better than my carefully assembled audiophile rig with spendy separates, interconnects, speaker cables and towers. At 1/3 the cost and 1/2 the footprint. Wow.

Pros: Sound is clear, fun and non-fatiguing. Good bass down to 45Hz or so. Imaging Style (these really do look terrific in person) KEF app is best of breed (though not excellent), with handy sub integration Chromecast (which is bit perfect to 96/24 - perfect for me) Size / Footprint Flexibility - "Desk" and "Wall" DSP modes Ethernet or WiFi Wireless (except for power cables) up to 96/24 Natively plays Spotify, Tidal, Qobuz, Deezer, and Amazon Music. UPnP Enough power

Cons: Bluetooth is only aac, not aptX or LDAC. Trouble natively playing DSD files.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Read a review from someone more knowledgeable.

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, IL on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the look and sound of these speakers. I bought this sort of on impulse, so I am not the best person to listen to when discussing the value. If you are considering these for your setup, find some nice speaker stands, and work on placement. My neighbors hate me, so loudness is not an issue, though my apartment isn't the best metric for that. I literally have a note posted on my door for an email I created just to address noise complaints, and also requests. Anyways, I am not picky enough to know what is good and bad with these speakers, so I default to my gut. Overall 8.5/10.

Pros: Looks. Physical and Mobile Interface are decent. Good I/O. Plug and play with many popular music streaming services*.

Cons: Better options in this price category for wireless audio solitions. Setup process is simple, but not thorough enough for my liking, and if you don't have a smartphone this may present some issues. Wireless delay, it is noticeable if using Bluetooth to stream. I like rotary encoders and potentiometers for adjusting EQ and volume, so the touch interface is lacking for me. *Issues with setting up Rune, was promised a code from the manufacturer, but I haven't received it yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Liking these guys

Crutchfield customer from Apex, NC on 5/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. A bit pricy, but for the power, that's what happens. I have them in a large room, so they needed a subwoofer to fill out the bottom, but the KEF app made it easy to pair them and get the cross-over just right. They are clean at low and high volumes. I love how 'powerful' they sound at low volumes.

Pros: great sound

Cons: heavy! Needs a sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just buy them!

Andy from Los Altos Hills, CA on 5/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound really amazing! Wow! Open and clean and clear and great imaging. Solid bass. Not harsh at all. I absolutely love the fact that the amplifiers are built in! So clean and simple. I would never go back to separate amp and all that gear and messy dusty wires etc. These really sound spectacular and totally good enough sound for me and they look cool and modern. I bought white power cables and white ethernet cable to match the white speakers and stands I'm using. The downside is that the software is very buggy. For example, when using with Tidal (on iPhone 12 pro), you often cannot start the song playing after you connect the speakers. You press the play button and nothing happens. You have to change the song to something different and then go back to the one you want and then it still only works about half the time. Also the speakers do not always respond to the remote control. Sometimes you press a button and nothing happens. Sometimes you cant stop the music playing even if you close the Tidal app on your phone. Another issue is that occasionally the speakers just suddenly stop playing all together. Despite the software issues, I would absolutely recommend these speakers. Personally, I'm able to live with the buggy software. It's a small price to pay for the sound quality, convenience, and aesthetics of these incredible speakers. Hoping KEF resolves the software issues in future releases (to be fair, could also be Tidal app...

Pros: Sound quality, Cool aesthetics

Cons: Buggy software

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Crutchfield customer from Bonita Springs, FL on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Add a KEF Kube Subwoofer for exceptional sound that rivals quality floor standing speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fun Little Speaker System

Crutchfield customer from Folsom, CA on 4/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is just an initial impression. I'm still in the process of breaking in these LS50w-2s and have mostly used them in wireless mode, (without the cable between the 2 speakers). The only source I have used so far is Tidal (which was the intention). So far it's been mostly trouble free, with the occasional drops, and brief delays in connection to Tidal, for no obvious reasons. But, the sound has been very good to amazing on some Tidal Masters tracks, even with a wireless connection only. Vocals are accurate and clear, imaging is excellent on the right material, and sound stage is pretty wide and deep. I'm not using a sub with them, yet. Bass is a little light on some music, but pretty good for the speaker size. For reference, my main system is Paradigm Persona 3F and dual Hsu ULS Mk2, driven by Parasound A21 and P7, using Oppo UDP205, BlueSound Vault2, and a Music Hall TT as sources. I'm hoping to try more sources and with the cable in between to see if I can get even better sound. Will report back, if not too busy listening to music:)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Crutchfield customer from Escondido, CA on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little audiophile speakers. I have two sets on opposing sides of a large room. After a mandatory 15 minute firmware update and fuzzing with adequate placement, I have to say they are an enjoyment to the ears. I paired each of them up with an SVS SB-1000 pro. Highly recommended.

Pros: Size, no wires, quality of sound.

Cons: Firmware update finnicky.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS-50 Wireless II

Crutchfield customer from Danielson, CT on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound and value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice sounds

Crutchfield customer from Judsonia, AR on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm no audiophile, but I like the sound these produce. Only reason I don't rate these speakers as 5 Star is because they won't connect by bluetooth to my Samsung TV and the range of the remote is insufficient for my room setup - I have to get up and approach the speakers to make the remote work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, NC on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect so far. The best of 2 worlds, hifi and monitoring.

Pros:

Cons: Needs subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding sound quality. Average control app.

peter from PITTSBURGH, PA on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound of the LS50Wireless II is of outstanding quality. They provide clear, precise, and smooth mids/highs and surprisingly good bass. I'm not used to such high resolution speakers and am enjoying them greatly. They expose the flaws of some recordings, but take the bad with the great sound overall. The Kef connect app is adequate, but is still a work in progress. The look of the app screens is great but functionality is incomplete. Streaming Amazon HD or Tidal through the app has excellent sound quality and attractive look and feel, but the functionality isn't great. Search is very rudimentary and control of playback is minimal. I have been using Tidal Connect rather than the app, so it's not a big issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Crutchfield customer from Hilliard, OH on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using these as a pair of desktop speakers paired to a Rythmik L12 subwoofer. The KEF app made setup, source switching and dialing in EQ really simple. Overall I think these are a great investment.

Pros:

Cons: I had reservations about having speakers+amp+DAC sealed within the same unit, but the ease of setup and the sound quality have me not worrying about the future too much.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Crutchfield customer from Pls Vrds Pnsl, CA on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've read about issues with the app but mine shipped with the lastest firmware and has been flawless. It took less than a minute to set up. You can play music and control volume directly from Spotify or Amazon Music app. The sound is very impressive for such a small form factor. Waiting for the stands to get it to the right listening height and spacing. Sounds as good as my Beolab Pentas

Pros: all in one and seamless WIFI streaming with beutiful design and small footprint. What more do you need.

Cons: pricey but looks and feels quality. you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sweet as a Tangerine

Stephen from Philadelphia, PA on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was in total awe of the sound quality I was hearing via Tidal Connect Masters songs via WiFi via the KEF LS50 Wireless II Speakers. All the streaming, all the digital I/O, all the watts, and all the smiles. Get your own USB to 3.5mm DAC to mate up with these KEFs and you are set. The cherry on top has to be the dual sub outs with digital bass management. A perfect entry system to HiFi or a perfect second system. In fact, and given the size, these are the best PC speakers ever made. Get the KEF LS50 Wireless II speakers while you save up for that end game audio system, then relocate the KEFs to another location such as a bedroom TV. Add dual powered subs for movies, music could go with or without subs depending on your tastes. Use the Meta baffle to solve the maze in WestWorld.

Pros: Tidal, sound, value, size, power, and looks.

Cons: I haven't found a way to stream WiFi audio to speakers while streaming WiFi video to a TV at the same time. No USB in. And sadly, they also don't make ham sandwiches.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing - lived up to the hype

Pete from Mesa, AZ on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I've had these a few weeks now. I've read some of the other reviews complaining about bugs... I will say this. I unboxed them and immediately ran the firmware update. It stalled on the last step... I called KEF support and they answered right away and simply advised I unplug both speakers, wait 15 minutes and retry. 2nd attempted worked fine... since then these things things have been bug free and headache free and are working as you'd expect them to. Note... if you hook up to a TV via HDMI you may have to go into your TVs advanced audio settings and change the sound output format to PCM. Mine was set to Dolby which the speakers do not support.... So if you plug these into your TV and don't hear anything this is likely why. Ok onto sound quality...The detail is simply remarkable. It sounds like they are in the room with you. You can hear artists lips smack in the vocals. The vocals feel 3 dimensional, like they are sitting in front of the speakers. The bass is satisfying for most but I still will probably pair with a REL sub. I just smile every time I turn them on and play old tracks just to hear what they sound like through these. Bottom line is you get what you pay for. Yes they are expensive but the convienence of an all in one package, small size and a huge, detailed sound stage makes them worth every penny and a bargain if you were going to buy the passive METAs, amp and DAC. I love these so much I haven't once lamented what I paid for them.

Pros: App worked as expected and you can make minor audio adjustments in it. I can't say enough about the sound quality. No wifi or connection issues of any kind. Big sound from small package. No need for amps or DAC, all in one solution. Love the look of the titanium gray.

Cons: Bass is quality but doesn't dig deep. It's a smaller speaker so. O surprise there. Depending on preference you may want a sub. Note these have a sub output on each speaker so you could run stereo subs if you're into that.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All-in-one Entertainment System

Jack from Boise, ID on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speaker system for the money if you're looking for next level music reproduction that sounds completely natural - as long as the source is top quality. My turntable has never sounded better, so audio purists looking for affordable top shelf audio should still give it a shot. Tried several streaming sources, including MQA through Tidal Connect and very happy with the result, although low quality recordings receive no help. I tried the speakers in "wireless" mode with only power connections and it suffered from drop outs both to my router and between speakers, so I recommend going wired. They also double as home theater speakers through the HDMI eARC connection but are missing some important features, such as dynamic compression/night mode and can't access the best audio without a digital decoder (PCM only). Software is still incomplete so I'm hoping some of my wish list (night mode, Atmos 2-channel, room correction, stable wireless) get addressed in some way. Compared to Sonos ARC and Sennheiser Ambeo, the music is so incredibly good that I've accepted the imperfections. Did modify attractive, much less expensive stands to take advantage of the new threaded mounts and happy with results. I had the original LS50s powered by Parasound A21 and I'd say these are equally articulate but with better separation and extension. Sound has gone from slightly bright of neutral to warm of neutral, which is a very welcome change. Great down to mid-bass but looking at subs with room DSP.

Pros: Clear highs Great streamer HDMI eARC Realistic voice and instrumentation Punchy mid-bass Great value Features increasing over time

Cons: App/features still under development Lacking home theater features (night mode, voice amplification) Lowest bass absent Limited to PCM audio (Dolby and DTS tracks higher quality) so home theater can sound poor compared to much worse speakers with Dolby Atmos Wireless mode works but be prepared for occasional signal dropout

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Ruined by the setup and interface

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 1/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are beautiful. And hefty. But boy if they aren't a pain in the butt to setup and use. The KEF app is buggy. After 3 days of combing the forums, configuring ports on the wifi router, disabling this and that on the firewall, testing cords, installing firmware, and screaming at nonsensical error messages in the KEF app, we finally gave up and returned the speakers. When they'd work, they sounded great, but after a half-dozen factory resets we knew the tech wasn't ready for prime time. Mind you, I'm a technology professional with an aptitude and tolerance for a complex setup. This product is not ready for the average consumer. I blame the KEF app, not the speaker.

Pros: beautiful. excellent sound

Cons: buggy interface. difficult setup. frustrating KEF app.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The best speakers i've ever had!

Crutchfield customer from Coralville, IA on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautifully stylish speakers with truly amazing sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good so far. Better be for this money

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All good soldiers far. Beautiful sound. Surprisingly strong bass. But for this money it better be. I like the KEF app. A number of app features yet to be rolled out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Am I an audiophile? I don't have the burning urge to upgrade my equipment from where I'm at now, so it makes me believe perhaps not. But I've spent a considerable amount on hi-fi equipment this year, so perhaps maybe. I know i like to hear music reproduced in the manner the artist that recorded it imagined it would be heard. I think these speakers come really close to that. I've sat in rooms with systems that cost more than my house and you could "feel" the amount of money spent on them. you could hide these away in a room and get that same feeling minus the fancy listening room, luxury car in driveway and liquor in fine glassware. I'm saying these are working man's audiophile speakers. I had the chance to get a great deal on a Klipsch sub that I have playing with these, but I can turn it off and enjoy these just the same, I turn the sub on for the neighbors ;-)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Guest from New Milford, CT on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nightmare with customer support to get the app connected to my speakers. The app is really slow even when not randomly disconnecting from the speakers. I don't really know why there is an app. I don't need one for other wireless speakers. The sound is great, when it works, and they can fill up a decent sized room with sound. Also, they do look pretty cool. The optional stands are junk. I received two sets. In both pairs one could be assembled, the other couldn't because of poor manufacturing resulting in misaligned bolt holes in the base. After two returns, KEF basically told me oh well, too bad. They refused to issue another replacement pair. Now one of the speakers sit on top of a dog crate and the other shares an end table with a lamp. Thanks KEF

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Terrible software/customer service

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not ready Yet...

Paul from WASHINGTON DC on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great sound but buggy with no Roon Ready support yet. My pair do not wake from standby properly when using the coax input. They also wake on their own when hooked up to my 2020 Sony TV using the eARC/HDMI input even with the TV turned off. Contact with KEF support has been very unrewarding.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Software input functionality is buggy and Roon Ready advertising is misleading.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound - a few bugs to be workled on the wireless

Crutchfield customer from Arden, NC on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a small box. Wireless connection tends to be somewhat unstable and firmware stopped half way through - a few bugs that need to be worked out - hopefully the next firmware update will resolve.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing imaging, clear, yet smooth sound, great package

Jon from Torrance, CA on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoyed the original Wireless with pristine /clear sound, with excellent width of imaging and bass that I extended through an SVS SB3000 subwoofer through the KEF app, using their digital crossover. It took some time to tame the high frequencies, less toe-in doing the job. I received my KEF LS50 Wireless ii's 11 days ago and they have exceeded my good but realistic expectations. 1) The app has not caused me any problems yet....crossing my fingers but the original app was so unstable 2) The high frequencies are sooo smooth that the speaker sounds different, and better. Gone is the edge. The speakers are still clear but with a different smoothness than the sharp clarity of the original. I like clear highs but dislike the edge, so this is quite a relief. The smoothness of frequency, on-axis, off-axis is so good. 3) The extra power just gives the speakers more life and less compression, just sounds more like real instruments and voices 4) The imaging of the original was great but these are even better! There is more depth and instead of the images being as pointed, they seem to be more round with space. Even listening off-axis, the imaging is definitely better. 5) Being a Tidal user, I like the MQA compatibility. These speakers are great to listen to and if you like bass, I can't recommend high enough the SVS SB3000, I cross them over at 75hz. Highest recommendation for rooms of a moderate size.

Pros: * Imaging depth and width * App is stable (original was not) and very useful for the powered subwoofer, tone control and moderate room positioning control *Highs are smooth and clear, original wireless would bite and feel sharp at times * The extra power allows the sound to breathe and feel more real * MQA capability * Good bass and loudness for a speaker its size * Good value considering the amp and digital crossovers and connectivity * Looks beautiful (I have white with go

Cons: * Good for small to medium sized room but may not be enough for large rooms * Pricey (though comparable speakers and electronics would be more) * May need good stands

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing speakers, great customer support

Taylor from San Diego, CA on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't normally write reviews for the stuff I buy. I was hesitant about purchasing these at first considering the price and the apparent technical issues that plagued the first generation of these speakers (LS50 Wireless). However, after setting these up and listening to them fill my living room with amazing sounds I can safely say they were worth the price. Everything sounds fantastic through them. I want to mention that I did have some trouble connecting these to my WiFi with my iPhone 12 and the current version of the KEF Connect app (at this time of writing: version 1.3.1). Apparently there is a bug with iOS 14.2 that interferes with the onboarding process, so you have to set up airplay manually via the iOS Settings (check out the KEF Connect description in the App Store). I also needed to update the speakers to firmware version 1.2 as well in order for the app to communicate properly with them. Prior to figuring that out, Bluetooth and all of the input ports on the back worked fine. After updating the speakers, everything has been working smoothly and as expected. All that being said, I think the setup issues I went through are temporary and will be fixed in the near future as bugs are sorted out. These speakers only came out a month ago. KEF customer/tech support gets a gold star from me. I sent them an email after hours describing my issue and they sent me an email the next day and gave me a call to see if I was still dealing with the connectivity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Legendary Sound Quality with Well-Designed Wireless Implementation

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers live up to their reputation for superb sound quality. If you're in the market for speakers in this price range, you've undoubtedly done your research and you know these use the same driver technology as the outstanding KEF LS50 Metas. So I will use focus on the wireless features and characteristics. The first generation LS50 Wireless had a clumsy pair of smartphone apps and wireless connectivity issues (according to reviews; I didn't own them). These second generation wireless speakers have turned that around. Setup and connections went seamlessly, and the iPhone app is a joy to use. I have four sets of audio devices that connect through apps (BluOS, Devialet, Elan), and the KEF Connect app finds its devices the most quickly, and is the easiest to navigate. The app offers a rich array of audio customization settings, including sound profiling for room placement compensation. The same app provides access to an extensive list of streaming cloud music, radio and podcast sources, as well as local music on your network. So theoretically, it could serve as your main music hub. Overall, KEF has done an excellent job with the software implementation, and I'd give it five stars.

Pros: Outstanding sound quality. Allows custom sound profiling for room acoustics and placement compensation. Excellent wireless implementation. Fast, stable wireless connectivity. Supports Apple AirPlay 2. Well-designed smartphone app.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

KEF LS50 Wireless II

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding audiophile standmount speaker with extended frequency response belying its relatively small size. Excellent soundstage definition. Super-easy to set up and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

This is great

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the speaker, Crutchfield did the job with easy ordering and straight forward shipping with great tracking.

Pros: Easy to purchase Simple shipping amazing speaker

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP