Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

KEF LSX

Powered speakers with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # LSXBL

KEF LSX

KEF LSX

Powered speakers with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # LSXBL

39 reviews
View this product

KEF LSX

Eric from YUBA CITY, CA on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Remote is a pile of garbage, and with no volume control on the speakers, you're stuck. Other than that, they look and sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LSX

Crutchfield customer from Norcross, GA on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working wonderfully within a home theater system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Hot Mess for Set-up and Wi-Fi Connectivity

Brad from Morristown, TN on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a company that makes beautiful and wonderful sounding speakers, they should be embarrassed by their App and wireless quality. One reviewer gave up and connected this speaker to an amp. I don't see the point in buying powered speakers to do that. After one hour with them, I had to throw in the towel. The only reason for the extra star is they sounded good, well before their break in period. I am still a KEF fan. They simply need to scrap their App and start over and stabilize the Wi-Fi.

Pros: Great Sound Good Price

Cons: Everything related to set-up including the Apps Wi-Fi is unstable causing music to stop

Crutchfield response on 2/11/2021
Brad contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good with the right inputs

William from Lafayette, CA on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unlike some of the others I found these to be very easy to set up and play. I control everything with my Android phone and it is a piece of cake. I am using both Apple Play 2 and Tidal to play music. I find the sound using Apple Play 2 and Bluetooth, in general, to be lacking. With Tidal, however, these things come alive. I played "My Funny Valentine" by Miles Davis and the sound just jumped out of these speakers (Tidal has playback issues, but I think that is the service not the speakers). I think the music inputs for these are very important to get the best sound. The sound is not huge, but for me that's good. I can hear everything very well at low decibels.

Pros: Clear sound. Easy to set up. Everything in one package.

Cons: Does not broadcast a big sound. Some may think it sounds thin. It is very clean. Not for people who like loud music.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

DO NOT BUY

Guest from Los Angeles, CA on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great, but over all very finicky networking and streaming. Due to issues updating firmware the speakers are totally bricked. Factor Reset, Firmware Repair, router settings.. nothing helps. Issue occured 4 months after expiration of 1 year warrenty. DO NOT BUY THESE.

Pros: good sound

Cons: streaming tech is finicky, unreliable. speakers totally bricked after failed firmware update

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect speakers, but...

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bad: They're small the setup is MISERABLE. The good: They're small. Once setup, you have no reason to not use them. Airplay2 makes streaming music so unbelievably easy. With a sub, these things fill a room. No sweet spot. All the connections you could need. They sound outstanding.

Pros: Airplay, sound quality, size

Cons: Setup

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Speaker

Crutchfield customer from El Granada, CA on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speaker, specially considering it's size. Placed in a small room will sure to amaze.

Pros: Size

Cons: Size

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Hardware, Horrible Software

Crutchfield customer from Orange County, CA on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would rate the sound as 5 of 5 and the mandatory apps (KEF Control and KEF Streaming) as 1 of 5. The overall user experience is 3 of 5. The two biggest issues are 1) sometimes the speakers don't connect to the app so you cannot turn them on and use them at all (even with the hardwired aux input); and 2) the music can mysteriously stop playing randomly. My experience is consistent with others: the LSX get terrific professional reviews on the web, but if you look at the Apple App Store both apps average 1 star. Even the remote is pretty bad; it seems to turn the speaker on but the app says it's off. Even when things are "working" the remote will adjust volume but not advance the tracks. I'm not being picky - I just want to turn them ON. I have the LSXs on mini stands on my desk, usually using WiFi connection with my iPad streaming Tidal lossless HiFi. If the WiFi connection doesn't work (frustrating) then I use Bluetooth. My internet speed is 1 GB (usually 400-700 MBS real time) so I don't think that's the issue. When things are miraculously connected and working (it might take 15 minutes of fiddling around, closing/opening apps, unplugging/plugging in power, etc), the sound is amazing. I never appreciated true 3D soundstage imaging until I listened to these (the app allows you to customize the DSP to use the speakers like a studio monitor).

Pros: Soundstage is amazing. I'm re-listening to old music to appreciate new details.

Cons: The mandatory apps are awful and make the user experience so frustrating to simply turn on the speakers.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LSX

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo, PR on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The truth is that Crutchfield's service is second to none, both the service staff and the prices and delivery.

Pros: all positive

Cons: nothing negative

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LSX

Crutchfield customer from Verona, NJ on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are terrific. The soundstage is just right for our smallish room, the detail is excellent, and the bass is shockingly good. The setup was only mildly bewildering, and the two apps approach Kef uses is really not that big a deal. Tidal, Amazon HD and Spotify apps work great, as does Airplay. You should buy these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

They provide a great listening experience for their cost

mike from Spokane Valley on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

IMO the LSX's live up to their many good reviews and worth their asking price (not to mention the discounted price). To my ears they provide an exceptionally good, true to the music listening experience and are the perfect size for my recently downsized apartment that has a 13' x 13' living room, and because of its small space, and that I only stream music these days, I didn't want to clutter the shelves with a separate integrated amp., CD or Turntable. In addition, I like KEF's "Sound Optimization EQ Settings", which really helps in dealing with room acoustic issues (one can have a great/ expensive system, but if the speakers are in a bad room/ not properly placed, you will not be hearing all they can do). In closing, I want to thank Colby at Crutchfield (good guy/ knowledgeable)

Pros: Very listenable, no fatigue Sound good at both low and moderately high listening levels For their cost and technology, they provide a very good listening experience, and I cant really ask for more!

Cons: None at their asking price and for what they are. (BTW, IMO one could/ can put together a better sounding system than the LSX's by using properly chosen separate components, but if you want simplicity these are tough to beat)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love the sound, love the look

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, CA on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hearing subtle instrumental passages in decades-old recordings for the first time, and the stereo image is distinct and visceral. The sound is surprisingly big and deep for a speaker enclosure this small. Connectivity options are great, switching back and forth between AirPlay and Bluetooth depending on the sound source, and nice to have AUX input if needed. Tuning based on room characteristics is simple and likely delivers a better sound than I might obtain by tweaking a traditional multi-band EQ. They look awesome. These replaced large studio monitors at my workstation. Purchased as scratch and dent, shipped in manufacturer box with manufacturer accessories, and the speakers have only the slightest cosmetic blemishes. I'm extremely happy with the purchase.

Pros: Exceptional stereo image Big and deep sound Connectivity options App tuning Great looks

Cons: Required factory reset (a button on the speaker back) to connect to the router, though this was likely because the speaker had previously connected to another router (purchased as scratch and dent), a one-time-only issue

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Didn't go wrong with this Purchase!!!

Biswajit from DUBLIN, OH on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm fan of KEF sound. These little speakers did not disappoint me. These speakers punch WAY above their weight class. Let me tell you, these things image well, nice tight bass that's not exaggerated. Realistic midrange, and they are versatile in how and where you mount them. $800 for a pair, best deal .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing sound

Crutchfield customer from Sandusky, OH on 7/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound! My family loves this. I should have bought it earlier.

Pros: Amazing sound. Easy to connect many source.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Huntington Beach

James from Huntington Beach on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow - these are amazing speakers. I spent a fair amount of time researching high end wireless speakers and saw these receive a glowing cover review on Stereophile magazine. I wanted to listen to them in person but was only able to find the LS50 wireless in a high end audio store. The LS50 had great imaging but disappointing bass. The audio store had them in a huge room on stands far from the wall. I decided that perhaps the smaller LSX with a small sub woofer would be a better deal. I saw the recent sale at my old friend Crutchfield (I've been buying from them since the late 70's). I ordered both the LS50's and LSX to compare with a decent pair of old B&W's. The first to try were the LSF's which blew me away. I had them in a large bedroom and near a corner. This made the bass deep, well defined and extremely well blended with the mids and highs - something difficult with subwoofers... It blew away the old B&W's. The imaging on these is literally stunning. I set up the LS50's and found they were actually not as good as the LSX + need an annoying LAN cable between the two speakers to work. The LS50's did not have the same airy imaging that the LSX excels at. They also had a bit of muddyness in the low midrange - not really noticeable unless comparing with LSX. Wow, I didn't know the state of the art improved so much. It also cleans up the rack of equipment, wires and huge speakers. Where else can you compare in your house? Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Replaces a lot of wires, amplifiers and complexity Easy to connect via my main music source - iphone. Stunning imaging Great bass - not sure how this comes out of such a small box.

Cons: Needs to be near a wall for the bass port to do it's magic.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound.

Crutchfield customer from Troy, MI on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Hooked up to my home WiFi in about 5 tries. Fantastic sound. Clear at low and moderate volumes. No distortion at higher volumes. Great bass feel. Really happy with these speakers. Superior customer assistance and quick ship. I'll always shop at Crutchfield.

Pros: Small profile. Big sound. Once I hooked up to my WiFi, been flawless.

Cons: Took a few tries to find WiFi. However, easier than others I've tried.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, nice look, but wired connection required

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a candidate for use in a new house we were moving to. But the quarantine intervened and we hunkered down in some good friends' home. Meanwhile I had time to order a pair and test these out in our friends' living room. Pros: nice clean look, comes in multiple colors, compact size, doesn't require a separate receiver or amplifier. Once running (more on that later) they sounded great streaming Tidal- clean and detailed, solid bass, easy to pick out the various instruments playing. They were a clear improvement on my friends' larger Audioengine powered speakers. so far so good. Cons: they wouldn't pair wirelessly with the WiFi network. So the Control app couldn't complete the setup process. After multiple chats with Crutchfield tech support (good folks!) I was finally able to connect and play music by hard wiring an Ethernet cable to the router, and from master to slave. It was the need to hard wire to the router that was a deal breaker for me, because it wasn't going to be possible in the next house. So, back they went. I'd still recommend them to someone who could hard wire them , and who likes the form factor. The look and sound were excellent, but couldn't fit my needs. I'm going another direction.

Pros: Nice clean look, comes in multiple colors, compact size, doesn't require a separate receiver or amplifier. Once running (more on that later) they sounded great streaming Tidal- clean and detailed, solid bass, easy to pick out the various instruments playing. They were a clear improvement on my friends' larger Audioengine powered speakers.

Cons: wouldn't pair wirelessly with the WiFi network. So the Control app couldn't complete the setup process. After multiple chats with Crutchfield tech support (good folks!) I was finally able to connect and play music by hard wiring an Ethernet cable to the router, and from master to slave. It was the need to hard wire to the router that was a deal breaker for me, because it wasn't going to be possible in the next house. So, back they went.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The sound of these small speakers just blew me away!

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 4/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a pair of these speakers to simplify my TV setup. I had a receiver powering older non-powered speakers and decided to eliminate the receiver/amp and use the TV output to powered speakers. One requirement was that they could power a subwoofer as well. Since they are a lot smaller speakers, I was hoping it would at least come close to the sound quality of my existing system, but I was amazed at how much better they sounded and how much easier it was to understand the TV dialog! Really great speakers! I did want the TV to control the volume so I used the analog connection, and that worked great.

Pros: Small, excellent sound.

Cons: While these speakers talk to each other wirelessly, when you first install them it may need to do a firmware update and that requires an Ethernet cable connection between the two speakers to work. The Ethernet cable is included, but I am not sure why this can't also be done wirelessly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF LSX

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything you read about the KEF LSX is true. Amazing sound from a small package. Frustrating setup. Control and streaming apps pretty much worthless. Thankfully they are apple airplay compatible and that is what makes these worth keeping. Without airplay I would have returned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LSX

CHRISTA from New Haven, CT on 1/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are beautiful and sound great but the app is awful and they constantly disconnect from WiFi. I have a really strong network connection throughout my house but these speakers make it through one song and disconnect. They are also really slow to power on. For the price I expected more. I bought two sets and they both had the same issues so I returned.

Pros: Looks

Cons: App Don't stay connected wirelessly Long power up time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

They Sound Far Better Than They Have Any Right To

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Depending on your situation, these could be the perfect speakers for you. After moving into a new, (space limited) home, I needed to update our setup to fit the new space. My vinyl collection and larger speakers did not make the move with me. Now with only a CD collection and years of iTunes downloads, my new reality is not an audiophile's dream, but that doesn't mean I don't still enjoy hearing the nuances found in a well recorded piece of music. The first and most important requirement was the speakers had to be small in order to fit within the space we had available on our console. To be specific the speakers would have to be bookshelf with a maximum width of less than 7.5 inches and depth of less than 10.5 inches. They needed to sound good near a wall. We also needed our setup to have a DAC, Digital input and be Apple friendly. The KEF LSX were one of the few options that checked all of those boxes, plus it would allow me to skip adding a high quality Integrated Amp, but I was honestly concerned about the sound quality because they are so very small. When I first set them up, I thought they sounded pretty good, but after 3 or so weeks of regular use I began to smile wide as I realized the burn in time had a brought about a lovely improvement in both the transparency and the open or airy quality of the sound. Bottom line: these speakers punch way above their weight and make my mediocre source material sound way better than it has any right to. Well played KEF!

Pros: Great for people with limited space. Are their better sounding setups available? Yes. Are their cheaper but equal sounding setups? Maybe. But when you factor in size, convenience, and cost I am not sure you could do any better.

Cons: I know many people complain about the streaming App. and that may be true, but if you are a Apple centric household like ours you don't need to use the streaming app, and the Airplay 2 streaming works flawlessly with Apple devices and sounds light years better than bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

KEF LSX

Timothy from Ponte Vedra, FL on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound from small package. Not gonna rule a large room, but can energize a smaller room, and provide background music in larger room.

Pros: All-in-one simplicity; Roon endpoint.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF LSX

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, but prefer LS50!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear, Full, Detailed & Accurate... best $1000 powered speakers

William from San Carlos, CA on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are set up in my office. I have them wired so perhaps to many my review is already invalid but... for true audiophile quality sound you won't get it wireless. Wireless is nice but I prefer quality over convenience. but even wireless they punch above their weight class. In a small to medium sized room the sound is detailed, full, crisp and accurate / bass, mids and highs are clear & full.I have them set up with a REL T9 sub to fill in the gaps that lack with speakers this size. It's KEF, not much more to say... they don't make crap

Pros: Full, powerful, clear, wide sound stage... prefect for small to medium sized rooms.

Cons: For me none... others may have wireless connection issues but these shine when wired. Well, compared to other wireless speakers they shine and excel beyond expectations.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 5 found this helpful

KEF LSX

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MI on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been lusting after the LS50's for years, but needed something smaller for desktop use. The build quality is great, they sound amazing, and the multiple inputs are solid. I have these setup in an office studio and the wifi here is on lockdown, so setup was challenging. You really need wifi to use the KEF app on your phone to fully configure the speakers and adjust settings. Bass response could use some support from a subwoofer, but only if you like to boom the bass.

Pros: smaller size the LS50's /almost the same sound

Cons: Setup is challenging without proper wifi access.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF LSX

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok sound

Pros: Good sound for the size

Cons: Could not connect to wi- fi

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound

Russ from San Jose, CA on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like KEF speakers and have a pair of LS50 in Black/Blue and very happy with them and find the LSX sound a little on the warmer side which is fine. But I have problems with the over setup, function, and multiple apps I have to use to make these speakers work. I was planning on replacing my Genelec 8020D Studio Monitor and with a Questyle CMA-600i DAC via Roon on my DESK. And it just did not work for me and not too mention KEF want's another $175 for desktop stands. So these will be going back to CF for a refund. PROS: Great Detailed sound Decent bass for the size Wide Sound stage Small compact Looks really good on my desk setup CONS: Not the best connectivity (not ROON compatible) Have to use Multiple Apps KEF Stream & Control (when using Music Server) Slow response when turning up or down volume Price of LSX new vs LS50 used people will love the LS50 way more

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

KEF LSX

Peter from Copperopolis, CA on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a fan and owner of KEF speakers for many years, so when I found this pair I immediately ordered them! They are fantastic! The designer inspired color and styling complement our home's decor but the performance is what has impressed me even more. The sound quality and bass response rival my KEF 104s which I purchased in 1984 for $1800/pair (and are still rockin'). Thanks for another premium product!

Pros: Sound quality, styling

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Little speakers, big sound

Edward from Stafford, VA on 7/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We wanted small speakers for our living room and for background music for the dining room across the hall. We looked at and listened to many "all in one" desktop systems - single box, multiple drivers, wireless. For good sound we needed to take up an entire side table... not even room for a lamp. Few worked with Roon. Saw rave reviews of these by audio writers so, we ordered. Took five minutes to set up and begin streaming via bluetooth. (Download BOTH apps and follow the instructions, which are VERY good.) They're not Roon Ready (which implies certification) but they accept Roon audio streams. That took 10 minutes, mostly because of glitches in Roon. HUGE wow. High def files sound amazing! Very precise, nice imaging, musical, though we have them closer together than ideal. We expected them to be bass shy but they're not. Rock, folk, jazz, country, string quartets, classical... all had plenty of bass, beautiful midrange, crystal highs. Only pipe organ concertos seemed bass shy. We're not setting up a sub. For big symphony stuff - Wagner, Beethoven's 9th - you won't have the whole philharmonic in the room. Hey, they're smaller than ONE cello. At casual listening levels, even that type of music is very enjoyable, you can hear deep into the orchestra. If we were in a small apartment, we could happily live with just these, streaming high res files from a computer. In a 12x12 room, you can hit full boogie volume - no audible stress. What a BUY!

Pros: precise, revealing, musical, sufficient bass for almost any music, take up no space at all for the size of the sound, easy to set up, Roon compatible, high res sounds high res

Cons: Open fronts lure toddler interest (practice NO), they will make you begin to scheme about getting LS50s

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Plenty good

Crutchfield customer from Ambler, PA on 7/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific sound. Pain to set up. Get with a matched subwoofer and you're set. The LS50s should sound better, in large rooms, because they're twice the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Don't let the size fool you

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 6/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound from speakers with a small footprint. Perfect for apartments and smaller room. Clear tones for mid and higher ranges. Set-up took a little of time. Instructions could have been better. The KEF app is pretty lousy. But once set up all good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Hit or Miss

Michael from Salt Lake City UT on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi usually don't submit reviews and these are the first pair of expensive speakers I've purchased. First I'd say, if you get a "good" pair they are incredible. I have them hooked up to a computer through a USB to SPDIF convertor and they are great for near field listening. I'm using Tidal to test them. The best computer speakers I've ever owned (and they should be at a price that is easily three times what I spent on my last ones). The sound is rich and full with pleasant base. I've also hooked them up to an Apple Airport Express using the optical output. They sound actually pretty good and work well with good sync between audio and video. They are forgiving of less than great source material, so even iTunes still sounds good, as well as audio from YouTube. My problems though are several. First this isn't like buying a speaker from Sonos or a Homepod. There is a fair amount of variability in the speakers. The first pair I bought had an awful buzz that I never could eliminate. The second pair the same story. My biggest problem though is with the app....it is absolutely horrible. Think Windows Vista....you need two apps on your phone when one should do. Some of these problems may go away if they ever release Air Play 2 compatibility. My testing with the Airport Express makes me believe it could be pretty good. Still I wonder how many people are willing to pay this kind of premium MAYBE to get better sound at the expense of a horrible user experienc

Pros: Great Sound

Cons: Horrible App and Setup Inconsistent

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Stunned by the KEF LSX

Crutchfield customer from Stafford, VA on 5/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was searching for computer speakers, but once I opened the box and set up the KEF LSX speakers in my living room, I was hooked. I was thoroughly impressed with the musicality of these small unassuming speakers. After setting the speakers up with the KEF control app and the KEF Streaming app and tried a couple of songs. After I positioned the speakers on the KEF stands 3' from the wall and a 5' separation, slightly angled in, I started listening to my amazon music list and streamed the songs in using bluetooth. Now I am not the most computer literate guy, but this all worked flawlessly to my utter amazement. I started with Doug MacLeod, album "Whose Truth, Whose Lies" and listened to "Norfolk County Line" This is a Blues song that sounded fantastic and gave my stereo system a run for the money. As the speakers preformed so well on vocals, I turned to see about more rock type music. I chose Jeff Beck Live album and the song "Morning Dew". In a word awesome, the instruments had air around them and the sound stage was bigger than expected, next I tried Aron Neville album "Bring it on Home", "Stand by Me" and "My Girl" and found I couldn't stop trying other songs. These speakers will not fatigue the listener and anyone purchasing these will not be disappointed. Have to stop writing as the song is over and I need to try something from Eric Clapton or Jimi Hendrix.

Pros: Does not require Receiver or Amps, just streaming or cd player/record player to listen. Very large sound stage from small speakers. Have decent bass. Stands at ear level on a chair is recommended.

Cons: Kef Streaming App a little confusing. Should just have one thing to set up not 2 separate APPs.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing

Gary from Schenectady, NY on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sounding speakers. Crisp, clear. Enough bass for my taste. Using these for my computer, replacing Bose Companion 2. The Bose were great, but nothing like the KEF. Only thing that kept me giving a 5 star was the wireless between speakers had issues. Using the interconnected cable provided solved that & they are awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Nearfield Listening

David from Santa Cruz, CA on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these connected to my office computer as I work from home. I can honestly they are the best thing that I have heard in this size. I have had them on the desk and on nice stands, they are detailed in both situations once you configure the DSP in the app. I spent a lot of time making this decision to purchase. I reviewed a lot of other speakers that were cheaper in price, but bigger in size. I am 100 percent please with my decision. I am using them for quiet nearfield listening and there is so much detail that I am starting to go through the whole music collection again. If size is a problem, you will not be disappointed with these.

Pros: The small form factor. The outstanding sound and bass control for a speaker this size. The digital signal processing you can achieve with the app.

Cons: No USB connection. No volume control at the speaker. I had to purchase a DAC to connect direction to my PC.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Nice, yet annoying speakers.

Andres del Pino from Baltimore, MD on 1/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very good speakers, extremely compact and well constructed. They deliver a consistent sound, tonally-even and clear. Mids are full of details, while the bass is tight and impressively deep for this size. The LSX are not above laws of physics for small speakers, though. In my opinion they lack a bit of dynamism and upbright scale, although they may still be among the best I have tested at this budget. Two apps are required in order to fully control the speakers. The first one, "KEF Control", allows you to control the DSP of the amplifiers. This includes many sound tweaks that allow you to tune the speakers to adapt to almost any kind of room, placement, etc. The LSX don't have controls in the boxes, so you will need to have your phone or the remote always at hand. A bit annoying in my opinion. The second app is "KEF Stream", and allows you to cast music from TIDAL, Spotify or using DLNA to the speakers wirelessly and in high resolution. While the app manages to find and play songs, it seems unable to play them consecutively. It goes without saying that this renders listening an entire album as the most frustrating experience... So terrible that I always end using Bluetooth if I really want the connection to be wireless. In short: very good speakers, but annoying controls.

Pros: -Super detailed sound. -Tight powerful bass. -Design, compactness and convenience. -Connectivity.

Cons: -A bit short of dynamism. -Annoying controls.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good

Aravindan from San Jose, CA on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers for the price.

Pros: Small form factor is helpful in using them in close range.

Cons: LS50 Wireless is way better. Dont read reviews test it yourself, you will know.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome all in one HiFi bookshelf speaker

Jayson Neo from Avondale, AZ on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't judge a book by it's cover. Although this set of bookshelf speaker looks compact, it does products hifi quality sound. All I can say is, it is worth the bucks. Nevertheless it is also packed with awesome features. What I love most is the Wi-Fi built-in. So far I believe this is the only bookshelf that has Wi-Fi built-in that you can find in the market.

Pros: Packed with awesome features. Whatever you can think of, it probably has it.

Cons: Nil.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound, annoying controls.

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 12/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, let me say that I thought the speakers sounded pretty great for this type of speaker. The sound is bigger and better than you might expect from speakers of this size. Vocals are clear and the bass seems to hit pretty low. Still, with all that, I did end up returning them. I found the necessity of using my phone and the KEF apps to control the speakers to be kind of clumsy and inconvenient. I didn't like reaching for my phone to adjust the volume, turn it on and off, or to switch inputs. It does come with a remote, though I didn't find that to be any better. Yes, it's easier to switch inputs, volume was still an issue. There is no volume indicator on the speakers, so I had to go back to the app. In short, if you can deal with using the app or the remote, these speakers are gold.

Pros: Sound, Size, easy set up.

Cons: Using apps to control.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

TOP