Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
498 980 222 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
498 980 222 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Current Crutchfield time is 1:46 AM ET.

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

KEF Q150

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # Q150WN

KEF Q150

KEF Q150

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # Q150WN

68 reviews
View this product

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Roseburg, OR on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fine match as rear channels for an all KEF speaker system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound better than I thought very happy

Pros: Great size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from La Crosse, WI on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound amazing at my workstation. I replaced some studio monitors and will not look back.

Pros: Sound. Price (I got them 50%off).

Cons: A little big.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are really good speakers, and I like the minimalist look. Unfortunately, my set came with a small ding located on the top rear corner of one of the speaker cabinets. When comparing these speakers to its predecessor, the KEF Q100, I immediately noticed that this new offering had a smoother but "dialed down" sound, but the sound was still enough to be engaging. The KEF Q100 had a more energetic and "forward" sound. Both KEF models are good, and in the end, I think it comes down to the listener's preference. When I compared the KEF Q150 to the Martin Logan Motion LX 16, there was no comparison. The Q150 just sounded much more natural and musical. If there is a weakness to the KEF Q150, I would think that it is somewhere in the midrange. I just can't put my finger on it, but it is noticeable on some tracks. Otherwise, the bass and treble are absolutely beautiful. When properly set up, I truly believe most people will love these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Bel Tiburon, CA on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic little speakers, I still can't believe the sound quality they deliver and they are starting to really open up after a few days of burn-in. Different people, different tastes, but pairing these with a Cambridge Audio CXA80 worked best for me. Clear treble, great mids render vocals very, very well, and powerful lows. Everything comes through with good separation, but in a controlled and coherent manner. Especially the lows surprised me quite a bit: these punch well above their size and while bass lacked a bit of attack and timing in the beginning, this seems to be improving quite a bit as the hours I have put on them increase. Sound stage is also great if you put them (in my experience, your room acoustics can vary) at least 8-10 feet apart. Build quality is about in line with this price point. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had the KEF Q150s just over a week now and played a variety of music (analog and digital), loud and quiet. These were an upgrade from 30 year old Wharfedale Super Diamonds. Great sound range and clarity at all volumes. I'm very happy with these.

Pros: Bass will purr.

Cons: No grille.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big, crisp sound, small package

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Completely surprised. These little speakers put out great sound. Replaced older floor speakers with 12" woofer. There was a gap in bass after adjust crossover to these so they would not clip out. Purchased the 12" 400w paper red subwoofer and fixed the issue

Pros: On sale great price great sound

Cons: Definitely need subwoofer if using for front main speakers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Denver, NC on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've enjoyed KEF speakers since buying 203's in the 80's. The Q150's exhibit detail and clarity that rivals speakers costing twice as much. Crutchfield delivered promptly and provided excellent service and pricing,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive

Crutchfield customer from Apex, NC on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't sure about KEF's UNi-Q design, but was looking for something different in bookshelf speakers for my home office. Not much risk with Crutchfield's return policy, but glad I took the chance. They sound better every time I listen, great detail and punch no matter what type of music. Some vocals are just astounding. Driving them with the Onkyo TX-8220 receiver and paired with an Audisource sub. Very pleased with this setup. Not enough for removing a star, but it's just silly that they don't include speaker grills. I mean...really? Crutchfield rep did not mention, and I ended up ordering them after.

Pros: Vocals, detail, impressive for their size

Cons: Speakers are extra $$

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I was hoping for.

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really happy with the warm sound that fills my room. Setup was a breeze and the ability to lay the speakers on their side worked perfectly for my space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MD on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent clarity and surprising bass. Love these speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, IL on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are fantastic speakers for desk usage, close range listening. They are absolutely clear (read KEF bright) as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent addition to my HT set up

Crutchfield customer from Cupertino, CA on 4/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had KEF speakers for the last 20 years and these bookshelf speakers do not disappoint .

Pros: Pleasing sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing sound from such small speakers

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with these speakers - I paired them with a new Denon DRA-800H and the sound is great. Very detailed highs, tight and solid bass, especially from such small speakers. Originally I was thinking a subwoofer would be needed, but these speakers hold their own quite admirably on notes from upright bass and bass guitar. Very impressed with KEF's design.

Pros: Sound bigger than their size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, stunning looks, and a price that can't be beat!

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very impressed with these little speakers. I have a set of B&W 686 in my other room that have I always loved. The KEF Q150 really surprised me, the sound is rich and full, with better bass output then the B&W's that cost twice as much.

Pros: Great sound for the money Nice looking speaker Bought from Crutchfield :-)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing clarity and separation. I was initially running them off a cheap chip amp while I did some research. I finally settled on an amp and it makes a huge difference to the dynamics and overall sound quality. Really loving these as my desk speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers, but not for me

Zachary from Southern Indiana on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for speakers for use at my desk to replace the Elac B6's (originals) that I had moved to my home theater. I normally prefer warmer sound like the Elac but after I heard that the Kef Q150's were warmer than the Q100's I could not resist giving them a shot. I hooked them up to an Onkyo A9050. First thing I noticed was how good the imaging is on these speakers. When I got them placed properly, sounds moved around the room almost as good as headphones. Treble is also very clear with a sparkling quality. Bass is very tight and clean. Extension is not as good as the Elac B6's (which is to be expected with the smaller drivers). The reason they were not for me was the midrange. Often the midrange was pretty good. Other times, orchestral/acoustic music sometimes felt lifeless, like a portion of midrange was missing. A-B testing speakers with Elac's brought back the midrange I was missing on these tracks. With all the positives on these speakers, I completely understand the love for them. Sadly, they weren't for me and I ended up returning these.

Pros: Imaging is precise--almost headphone quality. Treble is sparkling clear. Bass is crisp and tight.

Cons: Midrange is missing at time. Bass does not extend as much as a larger driver.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Thank you

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing service for a Birthday in a rough time to ship . Thank y'all - kids needed good music to listen too in the Quarenteen

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Too much bass

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found these speakers to have good mids and highs, but too bassy for me. Soundstage was also quite good. I placed them initially in my bedroom and then in the living room. They simply had too much bass for my liking. Will likely return.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Happy I caught these on sale!

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb! Beautiful. Great imagining. Near field is spectacular! Haven't tried in a large room yet.

Pros: Immersive sound! Beautiful.

Cons: Sharp corners

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Land, TX on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speaker for the price. Very quick free shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent speakers.

Robert from MANSFIELD, MA on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean and punchy sound with accurate reproduction of the music. Highs are not overly bright, mids are clean and precise. Drums kick well, and the bass is tight, although the sub handles most of that. Interesting design with the tweeter combined into the woofer.

Pros: Good value for the money. I think you could pay more get a lower quality sound.

Cons: No white grills available, but they have a nice high tech look without the grills.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speakers ever

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

White looks great

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, GA on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers. Caught them on sale, the white goes nice with a white Sonos. I have them on a shelf in a garage gym. They sound great. Size size they are pretty deep.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bought it for the sound, not the styling

Crutchfield customer from Succasunna, NJ on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker produces good sound and I consider it an excellent buy for the price I paid (half price, Holiday savings). Glad I didn't buy it fpr the looks, it's a rather unattractive design, maybe the vinyl walnut improves the look? I did knock a star off for the lack of grills, which I bought separately.

Pros: Full sound, easy to listen to. Good buy at half off.

Cons: Grills are extra

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CT on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is sweet at all levels. They also look terrific.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with these. They create a crisp, detailed, full sound in my small apartment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sounding pair of speakers. Clean and sleek design that look great on a decent pair of speaker stands.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Lake, IL on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a small speaker with great sound, Kef Q150 delivered at good price. Crutchfield delivered them very quickly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Mount Laurel, NJ on 12/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound amazing so far, great value for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Paris, TN on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the speakers quite a bit. When turned to higher volumes you can hear that have a great range of sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Walt from Highland, IN on 11/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers. Treble a little high, but not too bad. Very good bass. I will probably buy stands for them. Very good clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Woodside, NY on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love KEF's. I have the Q100's, and now have added these puppies. For bookshelf speakers, they're full, clear, and strong. They're worth the full price, but at half price it's a no-brainer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Perris, CA on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent little speakers, very nice, clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Maplewood, MO on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great.

Pros: Good bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

nice speaker, great price

Crutchfield customer from Chambersburg, PA on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replace a pair of Polk bookshelf speakers that underwent some trauma and couldn't be repaired (long story). I'm really pleased with the Q150. Small footprint works well in my listening room and they really sound great. Nice tight bass, high end sparkles, very precise stereo image. Amazing bass from a small box, had to lower the low pass and level on subwoofer to balance. I have them set on shelves about 24 inches off the floor, 12 inches from back wall, foam port plugs in. Great sound, great value.

Pros: sound quality, price, size,

Cons: Grilles should be included

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, MA on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these. Mainly classical listener. Lovely, lively balance throughout the range. Warm, with clear high end. Piano music, for example, beautifully rendered. Port plugs with center punched out helped, as recommended by KEF and various reviewers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Quick and helpful review

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, WI on 7/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have decent sound for their small size, and look truly elegant. The main reasons I chose these speakers would be the sale price and my wanting something different than what my friends all have. Be sure to get a sub for bass needs, as the speakers shouldn't be expected to be a subwoofer replacement. Other than that, I feel the speaker grilles should be included for what they normally charge, though I know this won't annoy everyone. It bothered me however, because as far as I'm concerned, if one speaker has a grille, they all should to match and hep protect them as well. Hope this helps!

Pros: Sound Build quality

Cons: Grilles not included with higher end price point.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Mediocre

Crutchfield customer from Waller, TX on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you have never had any other speakers, these will be ok. However, I have the mated to def tech 9020's and they can't keep up. They require more volume than other speakers and sound muffled. They also just don't sound right at times, so I am not that impressed with them. So far with bookshelf speakers, listening to them in person is better as they all sound very different. I am going with def tech speakers next. if you are not that picky and will only be using these two speakers you will be fine but don't expect the best sound. Stay clear in my opinion and get less expensive sony's But listen to them first before buying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 19 found this helpful

Good upgrade.

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 6/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had worn out my old speakers after ten years of hard duty in my leather shop. Chose the KEFs as a modest upgrade to my PSBs. The clarity was an immediate improvement. Very happy with the purchase, I feel like this is a very good value for the price. (Powered by a NAD integrated amp, with a Paradigm sub. The fun continues.)

Pros: Good clear sound, good value.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Impressive sound!!

Marc from West Virginia on 5/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first pair of speakers was the budget Pioneer BS22s. Had them for about 5 years and really had few complaints. For that price, they provide great value! Had the urge to upgrade though and picked the Q150 speakers over some from Klipsch and Wharfedale just based on forum discussions. Finally, I had a nice chat with Hunter from Crutchfield who provided me with good information about the Kef speakers. That really made my decision easier and fortunately, the speakers were on sale. I ordered and received them in a day!! I immediately heard a dramatic difference between these speakers and my Pioneer set. More detail. Crisper sound. I even hooked up 1 of each brand to compare the sound and the with the Kef, it was like lifting a blanket that was blocking the sound. Great imaging and full sound!! Listening to jazz is like sitting in a club in front of a band. The sound seemed to get more impressive after a few months. I hear notes on songs I never noticed before. The only knock might be the bass. If you need thick pounding bass the you'll probably want a sub woofer. It's not bad though. Very tight and clean. I listen to a lot of jazz and bass heavy 70's funk and I don't feel I'm missing much. Very pleased with the Kef Q150 speakers. First time ordering through Crutchfield and would give them the highest recommendation.

Pros: Crisp detailed sound. Imaging is excellent! Breathed new life in many of my old cds. Handles all genres of music well.

Cons: The bass isn't exactly thick or pounding but it's not bad. I'm happy with it and I love bass!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

The Littlest KEF Q-series speaker is a real winner

Mazama from Spokane, WA on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm assembling a smaller scale audio system for a condominium using the Denon D-M41 for the receiver/amplifier (excellent choice for this situation) and wanted to upgrade the speakers. I wanted scale speakers that would not only excel for listening sessions in the "sweet spot" but which would sound good throughout the condo's 650 sq ft main living/dining/kitchen space. And I did not want speakers so large as to dominate the decor like large KEF speakers I once owned. The claimed characteristics of KEF's Uni-Q technology - "concentric design (that) allows sounds to originate from a single point source, making the "sweet spot" (ideal listening position) much larger" - sounded like something that would meet my needs so I ordered the Q150s from Crutchfield two months ago. The result: KEF Q150s exceeded my expectations. The sound reproduced from a wide range of CD and radio broadcast sourced classical /mid-century jazz instrumentals/vocal music is incredible to this non-audiophile's ears in my sweet spot arm chair. And the music still sounds extremely good from anywhere in the nooks and crannies of the condo's principal living area. There's plenty of power for any volume level that wont's generate complaints to the condo owners' association. Highly recommended. Buying them 1) with Sanus speaker stands and 2) a subsequent upgrade to Audioquest Rocket 33 14 8 speaker cables each produced noticeable improvements in already excellent sound.

Pros: Sound quality and dispersion Look sharp on their stands but small enough not to dominate the room Fit/finish/appearance (black) Big sound from small speakers that produce qualilt sound in a relatively small space

Cons: None to date

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Outstanding Speakers!

Victor from Saint Louis, MO on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are ridiculously good speakers and an outstanding bargain at their sale price. There isn't anything that I don't like about these speakers. They image very well, they present a strong center image with excellent detail and separation. They are tonally accurate as well and that goes a long way toward their realistic reproduction of music and voices. Now, these aren't going to reproduce the lowest registers of the frequency range on their own so you should pair them with a good subwoofer (or two) to get the most out of them. You can also move up the line to the Q350 but, I'd think, you'll still need a decent to sub to get the full frequency range. These speakers sound wonderful in my listening environment when paired with the electronics I own. I would suggest that you take advantage of Crutchfield's generous in-home trial period to see if they will work for you as they do for me. I paired these with a NAD C 316 BEE integrated amp to fill a 740 sq ft listening room with sound and the NAD isn't turned up very loud. I also have these paired with a 12" SVS sub and they work very well together. Using a microphone to measure your listening room, along with room correction software and room treatments, will yield the best results overall. If you aren't that into perfection, and not everyone is, these are still a brilliant choice. I would not hesitate to recommend these to anyone looking for accurate, enjoyable, music reproduction.

Pros: Accurate Detailed without being harsh or sibilant Easy to listen to for extended periods A balanced sound from top to bottom Great soundstage Fun UniQ Concentric Driver Array 5-way binding posts Fast Small size, Big sound Not as bright as the Q100's they are replacing

Cons: Not a lot of bass response but it's only a 5.25" driver Not a fan of the covering on the cabinets No speaker grills are included Cabinets could be more solid/less resonant at this price point

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent engineering and quality sound

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very well engineered speaker of quality and sound perfect highs without being too harsh very good mid-range this is the speaker I have been looking for my main left and right speakers for home theater a subwoofer is also recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great sounding small speaker

Crutchfield customer from Landrum, SC on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very impressed with these speakers. I think the bad reviews are people expecting too much from a small bookshelf speaker. These speakers are very small so yes the bass is going to suffer...But...I bought these for my son. I think they sound great. the bass wasn't that bad. are they going to thump your house..no..but the sound is clear and impressive. bass is good mids and highs are accurate. Its all good to me. There is a lot of variance in stereo equip and ears. maybe that's where the no good reviews come from. My sons happy. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros: great sound

Cons: decent bass for their size

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitely wow!

Jason from San Diego, CA on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing for the money. Will fill a 25 x 15' room when I turn my Rega Brio a bit above 1/3 volume. Seriously great for vocals, with a wide soundstage and enough bass for anything as long as you're not looking to feel the house shaking. In lower volumes (with my amp) they are very clear and articulate and balanced. Give them a bit more oomph and the sense of presence and dynamics is amazing while maintaining details with great clarity. In my room (obviously your acoustics may vary) they even work well with the back less than a foot in front of the wall. Sweet spot is very wide horizontally, less so vertically, so place them at ear height and don't turn them sideways.

Pros: Balance, clarity, sweet spot and soundstage are both big.

Cons: These won't fill a large hall but they will fill a medium sized room.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IN on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound and look great. Much-needed upgrade to my small stereo system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Ben from Denton, TX on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first pair of speakers and I love them! They have me wanting to buy a sub though.

Pros: Aesthetics, great sounding

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Jon from Bristol, CT on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 1/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kef Q150's offers tremendous value and sonic performance that rivals the company's highly regarded LS50's. I own both and the Q150 is 90% of LS50 at a fraction of the LS50's price. The Q150's are relatively easy speakers to drive but can be sensitive to amplification. When paired with my NAD integrated amp, the speaker lacked warmth and sounded a bit dry. After 10+ hours of listening and breaking in, I decided to pair the Q150 with my main system to see how they would perform with tube amplification. The sound completely transformed with greater low end control and more natural highs. In contrast, my NAD integrated offered better sound when paired with my other bookshelf speakers. Overall, I am more than satisfied with the Q150 and would highly recommend them for anyone looking for a well-rounded bookshelf speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really surprised to see a bad review of these speakers. Maybe a bad pair or hooked up out of phase? I love mine. The bass is great for the size, still not running a sub and may never. Probably best for near field but I've got them hooked up in a large room and I think they are doing great. As far as the sound goes, it's warm and very accurate, like others have said. They made me want to listen to my entire collection of music again because I can hear so much more detail and everything sounds better, it's been a lot of fun.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super crisp and clear sound. Perfect value for someone looking to get a really good pair of speakers but isn't necessarily an audiophile.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Over priced bookshelf

Bill from SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers without hearing them and based only on reviews (no stereo shops in my area), and I was wanted to love them, but. With all the 5 star reviews, I thought that I could not go wrong. The speakers have a nice treble and decent mid but that is where it ends, I know it's a small bookshelf, but I expected more bass. In fairness to them, I have a larger living room and really needed a larger speaker. I couldn't get bass without driving them to intolerable levels. In conclusion, just not for me and a little overpriced. The Q350.s would probably be better but too expensive IMO.

Pros: Nice looking, nice cabinet

Cons: lacking bass

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

These speakers can bring back the dead!

George from Thornwood, NY on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dammmm. The tables alittle messy but the music is tight tight tight. These speakers sound 3 times the sound that they are. No equalization need if your rig is on the money. But the speakers are bright with tight bass great mids. For the money best bang for the buck you cant go wrong. I'm using pro ject yamaha amp loki and mani. But these speakers sing but most of all my records that are older that were recorded back in the day sound great. That's the litmus test. If your speakers can bring out the ommmmff in older records you have a high quality speaker. Solid buy for me and for you if you purchase them. They are packed in a quality carton like gold. Fast ship great company ...bye I'm back to my kefs sorry...

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great little speakers

Phillip Lammers from Spartanburg, SC on 1/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best sounding small speakers I've ever heard. Excellent bass treble and midrange. I still haven't used a subwoofer with them. I was disappointed to find that the grills have to be purchased separately but I'll get over it.

Pros: Strong and deep bass clear midrange and excellent treble.

Cons: No grills.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A very good value!

David from Santa Rosa, CA on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with the sense of presence provided by my new KEF Q150's. The ability to use one as a center speaker due to the uniform radiation pattern is a plus also. That the speakers do not come with a grille is a minus. A very good fit for a smaller home theater like mine. I suspect the Q350's would be a better choice for larger rooms.

Pros: Good dispersion, very accurate. The sale price made these irresistible.

Cons: Didn't come with a grille, I have had to order those seperately.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Woodland Park, CO on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Extremely Overrated

Kirk from Marion, OH on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I pride myself on being very honest, and I really wanted to like these speakers. I am sorry to say these just did not live up to the hype for me at all. They do offer some impressive low end for a small speaker, and the mids did sound ok. That's where it stops for me. I am running these with a NAD T747 receiver that has plenty of horsepower to drive these guys. To my ears, along with the 4 other people in my family, there is really something missing. It sounds like there is something covering the tweeter, I really struggled to hear any clean voices. They actually caused my ears some grief to the point I had to shut them off. It was like there was fluid in my ears. For $300 I think you could possibly find a use for them, but at this price they are extremely overrated. Even at $300 I have heard many many other speakers in that price range that are significantly better. I am disappointed in these speakers, and truly wanted to like them. They are very nice looking speakers, and seem to be built like little tanks. After that though, there isn't much I can say complimentary about them. Back to the drawing board for me.

Pros: Bass/Low End Build quality Looks

Cons: Mids Highs Voices Sound quality

Crutchfield response on 1/8/2019
Kirk contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 5 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Martin from Kahului, HI on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers,I have them in my bedroom, perfect fit great sound.

Pros: In bedroom,perfect sounds,don't need subwoofer

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent execution by KEF

Shane from Clay, MI on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are excellent. After a Christmas shoot out with another pair of speakers that we're getting rave reviews, these beat them out immediately. They're going in my office with my Elac Unifi UB5's. That's who they compete with. Bass great. Treble is a little crisper than the Elacs which is nice. It's not overwhelming though. Soundstage is apparent right out of the box. Digital Trends got the analogy correct. If the Elac Unifi UB5 is a Chardonnay, then the KEF q150 is a smoky Pinot Noir. Right on. The Elac mids stand out a little more. The KEF's are the more laid back Brit sound. I absolutely love them. Highly recommended. Powered by an old Onkyo 809 receiver and Oppo bdp 93

Pros: Great bass. Crisp highs but not etchy at all..just enough. Great soundstage

Cons: Not as much attack as say a horn speaker but it's really not a con. It's preference. I could listen to these for hours without fatigue.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice sound with a surprising amount of bottom end!

Matt from Mill Valley, CA on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprising amount of bass. The overall smooth sound quality is comparable to the larger and / or more refined siblings. I own the r300s and also had the q350 for a while. The size fits nicely where I needed them without much loss in overall sound quality compared to the larger other lines within the KEF family.

Pros: Small size, big sound, fits budget.

Cons: None at this price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Warm!

Keith from Atlanta, GA on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the warm and accurate sound especially good on female vocals and acoustic music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buy them

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buy these. Using them in a 16 x 10 feet room. Amp is NAD C316 which I consider to be one of the best buys in audio. These speakers are balanced, detailed never harsh and have a fast woofer. Excellent at regular price. A no brainer at sale price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Crystal clear and precise

David from Kensington, MD on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got LS 50s for the living and was so impressed by the UniQ driver and speaker design that I went for the Q150s for my office. Not quite the LS50s but still remarkably clear and accurate. Excellent small speaker.

Pros: Sound great.

Cons: None I have discovered.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Magical

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They made me want to re-listen to the whole music collection. And to throw away my old headphones.

Pros: Crystal clear, detailed, great lows

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Incredible speakers

Thomas from Bethlehem, PA on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't even know where to begin with these speakers. The clarity. The dynamics. The sound stage. The bass. This speaker has it all. Everything from Jazz, to Alt rock, to rap - these speakers pack a wallop. Everything is tight and punchy. Although I would consider a sub for movie viewing. Got these on sale from Crutchfield and couldn't be happier.

Pros: Crystal clear highs, tight and punchy bass, incredible sound stage and dynamics.

Cons: None really. Maybe add a sub for movies.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome

Sabby from Wilkes Barre, PA on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got it setup today. I have a small room but am really impressed with the speakers the bass is clean and it's not harsh at all. I would recommend these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

KEF Q150

Crutchfield customer from Belgrade, MT on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the first high end speakers I've owned and I couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP