Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

KEF Q550

Floor-standing speaker (Satin Black)

MFR # Q550B

KEF Q550

KEF Q550

Floor-standing speaker (Satin Black)

MFR # Q550B

9 reviews
View this product

great with details

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, OR on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great model to appreciate fine details in the music. I have a 15 x 15 ft room and they fill it with great sound. I use them to listen Classical music and Jazz vinyls mostly. Please keep in mind that you will need a decent amplifier. I use them with an Outlaw MKII. I am very happy with the KEF speakers. It is all what I need to enjoy music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Game changer

Crutchfield customer from Oak Park, IL on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely loving these speakers. I previously had bookshelves (ELAC Uni-Fi UB5s) and they never filled the room in a satisfying way (plus the ELAC's 4 ohm impedance meant the amp had to work hard to get results). The KEFs on the other hand effortlessly create a wave of sound that is detailed, crisp and rich. I would highly recommend theses speakers and they have brought me renewed enjoyment listening to my music collection. The only negative I can think of is that KEF don't provide grills in the box which seems a little cheap considering the cost of a pair. The Service from Crutchfield was fantastic as usual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

KEF Q550

Robert from CARLSBAD, CA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible speakers. Best I have ever bought. And a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q550

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, CA on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, true high, middle and bass. Top quality speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF Q550

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic speakers that work well in our tight space with challenging acoustic reflection surfaces throughout the room

Pros: Great response, large sweet spot despite challenges presented by the room/placement they are in, very smooth, well articulated sound

Cons: Bass response does not extend super far, speakers could benefit from being paired with a subwoofer, or purchasing the q750 or q950's, if space allows

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

KEF Q550

Crutchfield customer from Hackettstown, NJ on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers without a in-store preview based only on looks, reviews online and the KEF name and I lucked out big time. These speakers look great and perform very well. I am not an audiophile so can't speak to all the tech specs - but to my ears they sound great, can handle the power my amp throws off and best of all, my wife doesn't hate them. I debated going with the 750s or 950s, but these are plenty for the space I have. On the weekends, I crank them up so my 5 and 2 year old can have "dance parties" to get their energy out. The entire house is filled with sound. Couldn't be happier. Crutchfield delivered these bad boys faster than the items I ordered from the big online retailer the same day. Great customer service as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF Q550

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the best speakers that I have heard for the money. Great sound and excellent imagining.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Well worth the price, great entry-level KEF floor-standing model!

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, IA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are awesome! I really debated on the Q550 vs. the Q750, but I'm glad I went with the 550's. They pack plenty of punch and fill my entire house with pure sound. As the description explains, they really do sound great from any angle. I paired mine with a Yamaha A-S501 which has a loudness reduction and pure direct signal. Beyond sound... I installed the carpet spikes, but put them on a wood floor, so I can see how they might scratch if you're not careful moving them. I bought the walnut finish and my 13 yr old daughter said "these things look sick, dad". I did good. I would definitely purchase these again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Outstanding speakers for the money

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a KEF fan since the first time I heard them at a friend's house in the early 1980's. For years I had owned a pair of 104/2s which inevitably I gave away due to their capacitors fading, their cones needing to be replaced and their tweeters fluid solidifying. I needed a suitable, updated pair of towers that weren't as huge but approached their performance. The Q550s have blown me away in every regard. Although they don't have the massive bass depth of the 104/2s, they make up for it in sustain, and clarity. Listening to Pink Floyd, Miles Davis, and Bach through the Q550s put a huge smile on my face. These speakers have tremendous midrange where each instrument is rightfully distinct and sonically accurate. The vocals on these speakers is warm and rich. I simply can't imagine a better pair of speakers for the money. These sounds bettter than speakers over twice their price. I prefer the look of the cones so I did not purchase the grills. The build quality on these is excellent with a very neutral, clean finish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 20 found this helpful

TOP