Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

KEF R3

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # R3WA

KEF R3

KEF R3

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # R3WA

13 reviews
View this product

Scintillating

Elwood from Chadds Ford, PA on 8/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You can shave with the sound that these speakers produce. I like precise, articulate, and sometimes stark musical represenations. These speakers are like top-end planar magnetic headphones with their clarity and precision but they will your room with the same beautiful sound. They might be too, "bright", from some but if you enjoy hearing everything in the recording then you will love these speakers. They are limited on the bass side but I simply fill in with my sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful looks and sound

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 8/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After researching this purchase for about a year, I got it right. These speakers are beautiful (my wife loves them) and the sound is well balanced and neutral at any volume. Remarkable sound stage and spatial separation that is minimally affected by speaker positioning. They sing with a great DAC and amplifier with 150+ watts/channel. Ultra HD streams are amazing! Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

St Augustine Beach

Wayne from St Augustine Beach on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Our KEF R3's were delivered Saturday and we've done pretty much nothing the last three days but listen to music. All genres from rock to pop to jazz to classical to funk sound live. We have them paired with an SVS PC-2000 to round out the bottom end, although these speakers produce clear, solid bass. Crisp and clear highs and mids. Exceptional soundstage, music fills the room. They came well packaged and right out of the box we knew they were special. The piano black finish is flawless and goes well with the PC-2000. They look and sound as thought they belong together. We are extremely satisfied.

Pros: Amazing soundstage, very musical, great looking

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Music as it should sound......

Crutchfield customer from Milpitas, CA on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audio Sublime! Any solid audio system deserves a spectacular pair of bookshelf speakers this good. From the moment you are drawn into its spatial presence to the details in each instrument- you are pulled into the music. Needs a good amp with power to earn its marks. Great speakers! A keeper for years ahead.

Pros: -Spatial soundstage -Mid/treble clarity -Sheer power in lows

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Bridge to High End Audio

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 7/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a performing musician and teacher, I find the R3's superb! Response is flat and smooth. Listening to familiar recordings (some in SACD format), new musical details and nuances become audible, across a range of genres from rock, folk, jazz, chamber music, symphonic, lieder, and opera. They're exactly as much speaker as will fit a Manhattan co-op (and my budget).

Pros: Highly musical!

Cons: Might try backing off treble by a few db's.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF R3 - BEST BOOKSHELF 2021

Mark from Haverhill, MA on 7/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't get any better. Clarity & transparency flawless. The treble rolls off to provide a neutrality sound then it seamlessly blends with the uni-Q driver midrange. The bass is tight , clean deep has authority. Recommend 80 watt amp or higher, I would spend 1200 or more or amp or reciever for these speakers. I am using a DENON AVR 3700. These speaker sing. A steps ?? from the KEF LS 50 meta's in my other sound room. Crutchfield customer service ?? unbeatable don't buy from anyone else. Audiophile 30 years , Massachusetts. Ps/ Buy kef speaker stands - mine are on they way.

Pros: Clarity, Transparency, defined sound, neutral treble easy on the ears. Bass is tight,resonsive,deep with authority, NO SUBWOOFER NEEDED!

Cons: KEF has zero cons

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Among the BEST

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extraordinary clarity, extremely wide sound stage, and a presence that makes everything sound live. Sound seems to extend sound stage into adjoining rooms and stairway. Had no idea music could sound this good from effectively book shelf speakers and at this cost!

Pros: All the best

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear, "transparent", and "Revealing"

Crutchfield customer from Gordonsville, VA on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Running this speaker on a Nad C298 with a Gustard X16 as the source/pre. This was an upgrade from Elac Uni-Fi and it's better in every way. Sounds amazing on great recording but speaker will steer you away from bad mastering.

Pros: Clear, sharp, good bass for a stand mount speaker.

Cons: Can be overly revealing and sharp on poor recordings.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF R3

Crutchfield customer from Basye, VA on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had these for a month now, and I'm impressed. These speakers have space, they fill the room with sound. Not to mention they are the best looking speaker out there. Worth the money, don't hesitate to purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Overall excellence in audio

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very detailed. Surprisingly easy to drive. Excellent fit and finish. Transparency in music reproduction. Overall excellence in audio reproduction.

Pros: Exceptional sound quality. Easy to drive.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KEF R3

Crutchfield customer from Providence, RI on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speaker. Bass digs down pretty low and had to put in the port plugs due to how close I had to put them to the wall. Given a good source these sound fantastic. Given a mediocre source these speakers will expose the inferior quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

KEF R3

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing soundstage and dynamics. Bass response can use a little help from a sub. Build quality is first rate, but there are issues with quality control. One speaker is flawless, the other has issues with the gloss paint (milky/cloudy appearance in certain spots under LED illumination), and some glue residue near the shadow flare.

Pros: Soundstage, center image, build quality.

Cons: Quality control.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Relistic beauty

Jason from Newark, DE on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these with the Arcam SA10. Even from the first power on, I knew this was a good match. I have a set of Dynaudio's Evoke 20. The sound of the Kef is quite different. The bass is authoritative without being punchy. These speakers do disappear despite what some reviews say. Maybe it is the amp or my room. But you never want to look for them they are just there. The mids are amazing, almost articulate. Play Nora Jones and the brass is right up to your face but not in a bad way. Play Sarah Mclachlan and the sound stage opens up. These are not cheap. but technically it's a three way system and when played with a good recording you can tell. Play a bad recording and the sound is compressed and reveling. Not much coloration. You will hear what you're playing. I tried these on a older Anthem and yes a bit different from the Arcam. The one thing that did remain is the vocals and mids. You will really hear the singer. Playing John Mayer and you can here his quite tones with grace and presents. Beck's Morning Phase becomes powerful and vocal. I prefer the Arcam but with anything you have to use what you have or get what you like. For the Money I made the right choose, I would suggest these speakers. The looks are top notch. The white are gorgeous in both visual and sound.

Pros: Sound, Looks Present of the stage. Crutchfield delivery is awesome.

Cons: The stand are pricey. But maybe a necessary evil.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP