Skip Navigation

Nyne Aqua review

A waterproof Bluetooth® speaker that floats

“It’s some binoculars, daddy,” my three-year-old said as she pulled the Nyne Aqua speaker out of the box. It’s certainly a similar size and shape, but this rubber-coated portable speaker is for listening — not for looking. It plays music wirelessly from your phone or tablet via Bluetooth. Not only is it waterproof, it even floats!

A sample arrived on my desk with strict instructions—go have fun.

Opening it up

First thing I noticed on the lightweight speaker was a soft rubber flap in the back to protect the charging port and minijack aux input. When completely snapped in and sealed, the speaker is waterproof to depths of 3 feet for up to 30 minutes.

I flipped the speaker around and found some large rubber buttons. They let you turn the speaker on and off, control the volume, or take a call using the Aqua as a speakerphone. I made a call and was told my voice was “loud and clear,” thanks to the built-in mic.

Nyne Aqua with golf ball

The Nyne Aqua features front-panel control buttons for when you’re in the water and your phone is safely poolside (golf ball shown for scale).

Listening on dry land

I spent some time listening at home to check out the sound, particularly the EQ settings. There are four choices, which you toggle between using a button on the speaker: "Flat,” “Pop,” “Rock,” and “Jazz.” “Pop” worked well for Jamie XX’s album In Colour, with a slight boost to the midrange that let the synth brass do its thing. Crosby, Stills, and Nash sounded good through the “Rock” setting that put vocals and guitar up front. “Jazz” sounded best for Mary J. Blige and other R&B acts, giving percussion a bit more punch.

Taking it outdoors

There’s a ton of cool outdoor stuff to do here in Central Virginia, and I had a pretty busy summer weekend planned. I decided to take the Nyne Aqua along with me.

Since the speaker is flat and sturdy, it’s easy to stash in a gym or beach bag. It weighs just over a pound and doesn’t take up much more room than a couple bottles of sunscreen.  Plus it can handle bumping around with sneakers and sports equipment.

On the River

We took the kids down to the nearby South River’s bank to feed ducks and skip rocks, and plopped the Nyne Aqua right in the water.  It didn’t miss a beat as it kept pumping through our kid-friendly playlist, even when the kids would kick it over — accidentally or otherwise.

Nyne Aqua in the river

The Nyne Aqua portable speaker provided a riverside soundtrack while sitting in the river.

Catching a game

The next day, I played some pickup hoops to relive the good ol’ days with a few buddies. I set the speaker up courtside with old school hip-hop blaring. We heard our music just fine, even over the constant trash-talking. The Aqua's 10 hour battery life easily outlasted our winded team.

Our passing game didn’t exactly have the accuracy of the Golden State Warriors, so some wildly errant passes knocked over the speaker. We just dusted it off, and it kept on playing, living by the old street hoops code: no harm, no foul.

In the shower

If you wanted to listen to music in the shower, a portable speaker right outside the shower will work fine. But I have to get ready in the morning before the rest of my family. If I play my morning podcasts loud enough to hear over the running water, it would be sure to wake them. Using the supplied rubber strap, I placed the Aqua on the shower head, right by my ear. With the “Flat” EQ, speech came through really clearly.  I was able to listen at more moderate levels and not wake up the whole house.

Nyne Aqua hanging from the shower

A heavy-duty rubber strap is included for hanging the waterproof Aqua speaker in the shower.

But does it really float?

I needed to do one final test with the Aqua. That Monday, I left work early and took my family to Sherando Lake, a scenic recreation park with a beach area for swimming and boating. The Nyne Aqua delivered some tunes as we set up our camp. With my wife’s iPhone® paired up and safely on shore, I sealed the speaker and took it into the water. I left the rubber strap on so I could more easily grab it (just in case). With “Take me to the River” playing (hey, it was close enough), I tossed it in the lake, and...

SUCCESS!

Nyne Aqua floating in the lake

The Nyne Aqua played “Take Me to the River” as it floated around the lake.

The bottom line

There may be portable speakers with more power and more refined sound, but you'll be hard pressed to find one that can travel more places. Indoors or out, on dirt or in water, the Nyne Aqua waterproof speaker can keep the music going.

  • Emery from Somerset,pa

    Posted on 6/30/2015

    Perfect to rock the beach with

  • J Medina from Helotes, TX

    Posted on 6/30/2015

    Legit waterproof speaker. Will be perfect for camping, fishing, etc..

  • Roger Bowers

    Posted on 6/30/2015

    classy

  • Kim Avery

    Posted on 6/30/2015

    This would be great for all of our outdoors activities!

  • bob dougherty from United States

    Posted on 6/30/2015

    there is no better product!

  • Jeannette Allred from Fremont

    Posted on 6/30/2015

    looks good

  • rita daniel from saint louis MO

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    this is great!

  • Linda from MS

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    awesome awesome awesome - the fun never has to stop

  • Lynn torrance from ar.

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    I have bose headphones. wouid love to have this speaker.

  • Larry Prosper from United States

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    Great for Price

  • Mike Poulin

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    For the beach

  • katherine voinchet from United States

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    Looks like fun

  • Jill

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    Cool!

  • Nathan from Texas

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    This looks like a great outdoors speaker that you don't have to worry about wher ever you may be playing!

  • Cynthia Doughty from Mesa, AZ

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    Let's rock and roll!!!

  • Reginald

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    Looks Cool!

  • Anthony Cek from Lebanon, PA

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    Sweet!

  • Linda Dahl from United States

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    Could use this in the boat when fishing

  • Karyl Holden

    Posted on 7/1/2015

    How I would love to share this while enjoying my daughter's pool.

  • Mathew Breinlinger from Arnold, MD

    Posted on 7/2/2015

    Are there any issues once submerged in water? This speaker looks awesome!

  • Robert Milosevic from Bristol. ct.

    Posted on 7/2/2015

    Awesome! !

  • Scott Bornhoft from United States

    Posted on 7/2/2015

    Would be awesome for camping or just hanging in the backyard on a sunny day!

  • Hollie Graham from La

    Posted on 7/2/2015

    Love this. Line always gets damaged from rain.

  • Melissa from collins, ms

    Posted on 7/3/2015

    I would never be without my music!!!

  • Timothy O'Connor from United States

    Posted on 7/3/2015

    Looks like a great speaker for around the pool and water

  • Matthew Murphy from Raleigh, NC

    Posted on 7/3/2015

    The lake could use some more tunes.

  • Peggy Ann Brooks from Louisville KY

    Posted on 7/4/2015

    Compact and easy to take with me anywhere.

  • Wilma Moody from Oklahoma

    Posted on 7/4/2015

    I want this for the pool and boat.

  • J.R. Stewart from United States

    Posted on 7/5/2015

    Hmmm, Tubing would be a possibility, eh?

  • Gabe Molina from United States

    Posted on 7/6/2015

    Finally a realistic bluetooth speaker!!

  • Isaiah McClain from 78006

    Posted on 7/7/2015

    As a frequent lake goer and a water sports activist, I would love to have this speaker included in my many daily routines.

  • Steven from Portland Oregon

    Posted on 7/8/2015

    This would be awesome for our summer time river floats

  • Bryan Adams from IL

    Posted on 7/8/2015

    This looks like an amazing product that I would use daily especially while taking a shower and while grilling!

  • Dave Gulyas from Ohjo

    Posted on 7/8/2015

    Need one for the pool.

  • Shawn Stephen from Queens, NY

    Posted on 7/9/2015

    Love crutch field my entire home and car is wired with crutch field equipment we travel all the time especially now during the summer I would love to win these speakers I think what you guys did here legendary and phenomenal me and my family would really enjoy these taking trips to the beach the lake or simply taking a bath please!!!! ?????? consider us we would greatly appreciate it.

  • michael from Palm harbor fl

    Posted on 7/9/2015

    It would be great for pool party's and a review on YouTube

  • Curtis Hanzlik from Surprise AZ

    Posted on 7/9/2015

    I admire the unique design and versatility. To be able to take it in the water is purely genius. I wouldn't expect anything less from Crutchfield.

  • Robert Franklin from Central virginia

    Posted on 7/9/2015

    Can't wait to pick one of these up!

  • David

    Posted on 7/9/2015

    Finally a speaker that is harder to destroy

  • Ryan from Madison

    Posted on 7/9/2015

    How cool would it be to take this kayaking and snorkeling!?! All my friends would want one.

  • James Yakita from florida

    Posted on 7/9/2015

    Oh, I so need this for my pool.

  • Joyce Yancey from Crozet va

    Posted on 7/9/2015

    I love the perspective of the article. It was like reading a story. Not a bunch of technical words. Simce i am clumsy I need something like this.

  • Diane Sargent

    Posted on 7/9/2015

    Too Cool

  • Vincent Lim from Malaysia

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Nice blutooth speaker!!!!!!1

  • Bobby Baker

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Perfect for floating on the river with. Fun and music what more could you want

  • Ivan mcKinnon from Salem, NH

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    We spend a lot of time on the road with our RV. This product would go great with out lifestyle.

  • Tracey Buxton from United States

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    This looks awesome

  • jennifer bultema from michigan

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    would love this for tubing trips

  • Elizabeth Wesley from United States

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Love this!!

  • Lisa from Fayetteville, AR

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    <3 This is amazing

  • Adam Smith from clanton alabama

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Best product ever

  • Chris from Texas

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Would be great to since most of Texas is underwater.

  • Linda Sullivan from London,KY

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    LOVE,lOVE,lOVE this.

  • Donna YeeSanchez from United States

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    How cool is this product!

  • Phyllis from Charlotte

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Wonderful

  • susie woods from ohio

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    This product would be awesome to have!

  • carolyn sellers from bristol, fl

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Would love to have this product for our pool

  • christol mosley from Arizona

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    This will keep me from leaving the pool all summer :)

  • Leon Shelkoff from Statesboro

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Looks GREAT!

  • Don Lafond from Jacksonville, FL 32221 (USA)

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Sounds fantastic, would love to bring one of these home.

  • Stephanie dittemore from Walnut creek, ca

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Great for the beach

  • Donny from Yellowstone National Park

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Perfect for Yellowstone!

  • laurie russell from United States

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    looks awesome would really love this .

  • Traci Moye

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Awesome addition to a summer adventure

  • bill cherin from woburn, ma

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    would be great speaker to use around the pool and not worry about it getting wet.

  • Joanne Davis-Hall from United States

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    Awesome looking speaker!

  • Phillip Thompson from Orlando

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    This speaker would be great for my skiff.

  • Candace stroud from Elgin,S.C

    Posted on 7/10/2015

    This would be awesome to take on road trips with the kids:)

  • Lauren Willshire from United States

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    This product is amazing!!! My 1yr old and husband listen to music for bath and shower time and this would be awesome! Would also be amazing at alder lake!! :)

  • Andrew Johnston from Sayre, Pa

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Fantastic product that I'm sure will impress many people on my outings.

  • Jacqueline Swygart from Oakland, ca

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    With three "three years old grandson " do u know how this can help going to the park

  • Ashley Nolan from New York

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    This would be awesome to use in the shower or when I go on vacation with the family to keep us entertained.

  • josh coon from montour fslls ny

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    I work in a dish station at a hotel and wpuld like to try one of these

  • Patricia Singleton from United States

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    My son works as a life guard for his first summer of work.. This would b great!

  • Clorissa Mckinzie from Arkansas

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Would love to have this I listen to music in the shower, while fishing, and boating this would be great!

  • Elizabeth Purcell from United States

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    What an awesome product~!

  • David Gutierrez from San angelo texas

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    This is so cool

  • John Kelly from Moyie springs id

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    We take the kids to the river every day in the summer, this would make not only myself, but momma would be so happy with new lol. PLEASE

  • Ron Sipek from United States

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Beautiful looking and unique!

  • Cory Berens from Dorr, Michigan

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Would love to win this product. It would work great in the pool or for camping.

  • Jerel Griffin from Monroe, NC

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    I want one for the pool, lake and the beach.

  • Justin pickrell from Olympia wa

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    I'll take the black one

  • Jodi from Bloomington, IN

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Be perfect for being out on the boat when we swim and take the rafts out too!

  • Kenneth Oge from Fort Worth TEXAS

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Love Music

  • Jeffrey cole from Akron ohio

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Awesome. I'm always afraid of losing my phone to the water while on the boat or ice fishing . Because I'm always listening to music. I have lost 3 phones while listening to music

  • katie from stoneham

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Love this!!! My boyfriend and i will love this

  • antonio moore from nc

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    cool pool product

  • Jessica from Fayetteville, AR.

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Would love to use this for my kayaking adventures!

  • Clay Brogdon from Florida

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    I live in Florida and would love to try this at the beach

  • Eric nutting from Charlestown new hampshire 03603

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    How long did it take to come up like tht i would defenently would use them nyne speakrs

  • Mark from Portland, OR

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Would make a great addition to outdoor adventures.

  • Marshall

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Looks like a great addition to camping equipment!

  • Gloria Winbush from United States

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Awesome!

  • Linda Rosen from Creedmoor, NC

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    I think this is so cool! Would love to try myself.

  • Rani

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Cool

  • Michele Amos from United States

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    What a cool idea!

  • Wade Batchelot from Alabama

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Would make a great addition when going to the river!

  • Stacy Foresman from Annapolis md

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    This is on my wish list. Would be great for my kayaking adventures.

  • Brian B from Easley, SC

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    I could use these speakers on my fishing boat or my sailboat. Sounds like a great product.

  • Pete from Omaha,NE

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Just what I've been waiting for functional protected and loos like a boss!!

  • Irene Poole from Orlando FL

    Posted on 7/11/2015

    Love it...So many uses!

  • Jo Tixier from Denver

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    Need one for camping!

  • Pedro Yanez from Crown Point, IN

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    This would be an awesome addition to some lakeside entertainment!

  • Pedro Yanez from Crown Point, IN

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    This would be an awesome addition to some lakeside entertainment!

  • Alisa Conty from Orlando Florida

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    Perfect for kayaking!

  • Ian from NE Georgia

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    I suggest adding solar panels to the top for all day charging on the river ;)

  • Ryan Gill from Texas

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    As an avid outdoorsman- this speaker would be very valuable to me and made sure to be put to good use!

  • Aaron from Los Angeles

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    This would be perfect for beach trips, hikes, pool parties!!

  • Martin from PA

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    Looks like a very handy speaker to have.

  • Chris tomerlin from Pulaski Tennessee

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    Would love to have a set for camping and floating the creeks

  • marc myers from charleston sc

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    I live on the coast and go to the beach all the time and to really use a pair of speakers like these

  • Jules in Central TX from Kyle, TX

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    Ready to take this one down river tubing in central Texas! If I win one it will definitely be put through it's paces. Anyone who's been down the Guadalupe or San Marcos rivers knows adventures out here are only a few miles apart and last from sign up to sundown.

  • Stephanie Bushman from Lebanon, IN 46052

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    Can't wait to hear how they sound!

  • Paula Rivers from Arkansas

    Posted on 7/12/2015

    This would be amazing for our floats on the Spring River here in Arkansas!

  • LaBrenda from United States

    Posted on 7/13/2015

    The sound of music!

  • VP from United States

    Posted on 7/13/2015

    So versatile and tough, I would have several great uses for this speaker.

  • Shirley Davenport from Arizona

    Posted on 7/13/2015

    I would love this for my pool.

  • david foster from United States

    Posted on 7/13/2015

    just what i have been looking for

  • Kim Hulse from Oregon

    Posted on 7/13/2015

    W O W !!

  • J. Mullinix from Lou., KY

    Posted on 7/13/2015

    Terrific looking speakers!

  • Ashley Hill from Arkansas

    Posted on 7/13/2015

    Perfect for floating the river!

  • Sueann Jenkins from 1601south main apt C Goshen IN 46526

    Posted on 7/13/2015

    Wow they look really nice I would love one for my shower

  • Beverly Jahnke from United States

    Posted on 7/13/2015

    Great idea, a floating binocular!

  • dominic uzzo from United States

    Posted on 7/14/2015

    love to play the tunes in my '76 firebird built with crutchfield...

  • PATRICIA from dallas

    Posted on 7/14/2015

    I COULD USE THIS IN MY POOL

  • Ang Kripplebauer from Locustdale

    Posted on 7/14/2015

    How Awesome to take it with us while we are floating on the tubes in the river:)

  • Susan from Kansas City

    Posted on 7/14/2015

    perfect for a picnic

  • George Clark from Olive Branch

    Posted on 7/14/2015

    Just right for me

  • Andrew Botticelli from United States

    Posted on 7/14/2015

    Would love this for our shower

  • Patricia Allen from United States

    Posted on 7/14/2015

    would love to take is to the sandbar

  • barbara brown from lake elsinore

    Posted on 7/15/2015

    We got to the lake all year long and this would be perfect, because we are always in the water.

  • Janelle Inlow from Springfield

    Posted on 7/15/2015

    This is perfect! @ kids who love water sports and music!

  • Emily Tesch from United States

    Posted on 7/15/2015

    very cool!

  • gary quintard from United States

    Posted on 7/16/2015

    wish my cell phone did, long story, thanks for the chance, it looks like a great product, beach or pool!

  • patricia delgado from tamarac

    Posted on 7/16/2015

    Perfect for lazy days in the pool

  • darrell allen julius from new hope

    Posted on 7/16/2015

    This sounds very cool!

  • Mike Pionek from Stevens Point wi

    Posted on 7/16/2015

    let it rain

  • Luther sanders from Plant

    Posted on 7/17/2015

    It would be awesome to have something to listen to my music

  • Jane peterson from washington

    Posted on 7/18/2015

    sounds great for the pool

  • lacey demaire from United States

    Posted on 7/18/2015

    This would be great for relaxing in the pool

  • Alana Martin from vista

    Posted on 7/18/2015

    Perfect for a beach party!

  • Carla Williams from United States

    Posted on 7/19/2015

    This would e perfect for the pool or the beach.

  • kelcee from United States

    Posted on 7/20/2015

    this would top the cake with the camping trip that we love to take every summer

  • Jerome Brownell from Shakopee

    Posted on 7/21/2015

    Looks like an awesome product. Love to hear them.

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 7/21/2015

    Useful everywhere!

  • tammy

    Posted on 7/22/2015

    love listening to music in shower

  • byron cowart from san diego

    Posted on 7/23/2015

    nice speaker

  • Dawn Miller from Frederick

    Posted on 7/23/2015

    Love these speakers

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 7/24/2015

    Always dependable.

  • kim

    Posted on 7/25/2015

    Perfect for the lake

  • jamie delgado from United States

    Posted on 7/25/2015

    i would take this too the beach where many people would enjoy it .

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 7/27/2015

    Dependable products.

  • gary quintard from United States

    Posted on 7/28/2015

    very nice, great for the pool!

  • Julie Rosier from United States

    Posted on 7/29/2015

    this would be sooo awesome!!

  • Wendi Mattson from United States

    Posted on 7/29/2015

    would be perfect for float trips!

  • Carla Williams from United States

    Posted on 7/29/2015

    This would be awesome for so many different things & activities.

  • jeremy jorgensen from United States

    Posted on 7/30/2015

    Looks great!

  • Adrian Grenier from Los Angeles

    Posted on 7/30/2015

    kewl

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 7/30/2015

    Always dependable.

  • Carla Williams from United States

    Posted on 8/1/2015

    Music is so soothing to me!

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 8/2/2015

    Great product!

  • Donald Johnson from Island

    Posted on 8/6/2015

    "Let's Dance"

  • Karen VanOlinda from Columbia

    Posted on 8/8/2015

    Talk about the perfect "small" speakers. You can literally take them to the pool and the beach with out ruining the speaker inside. You can leave outside for your outdoor sound system. Very affordable.

  • Tim Jackson from Pinson, AL

    Posted on 8/10/2015

    Cool

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 8/11/2015

    Dependable product!

  • Melissa Myers from United States

    Posted on 8/12/2015

    Perfect for camping an fishing

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 8/12/2015

    Dependable.

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 8/16/2015

    Great Product.

  • Carla Williams from Gastonia

    Posted on 8/16/2015

    This is awesome for so many different things.

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 8/17/2015

    Sophisticated products.

  • Allen Rodney from Bloomfield Hills

    Posted on 8/23/2015

    Great product!

  • Jeanne Turman from Finksburg

    Posted on 8/26/2015

    Would love this for my husband!

  • byron cowart from san diego

    Posted on 9/1/2015

    nice

  • Charlie from Little Rock, AR

    Posted on 1/17/2016

    Learn to listen nature's music. The best and purest of all sounds. Leave this thing at home. BTW, I love music and listen to my home and car stereo daily.

  • Suzanne Sholer from Fauquier -Strickland

    Posted on 6/25/2016

    A great review! Love your choice of tune for the float test. These speakers are perfect for our area - City of Kawartha Lakes on Ontario Canada cottage country. With four provincial parks, rivers streams, lakes and trails.The outdoor enthusiasts who live here as well as our visitors would love to hear about the Nyne Waterproof Aqua Speaker! Which I will definitely blog if our family wins.

  • Gordon from Cedar City Ut.

    Posted on 3/10/2018

    Is there an off button or does it turn off by it's self

Ask an expert advisor

No pressure, no commission — just lots of good advice from our highly trained staff.

Find what fits your vehicle

 
 
 
 

Can't find your exact vehicle?