Skip Navigation

Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46

CD receiver with MP3 playback

18 Reviews

Find what fits your vehicle

 
 
 
 

Can't find your exact vehicle?

Item # 023BAHAMAS

This item is no longer available.

Shop all Car Stereos

Overview

Our take on the Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46

Blaupunkt's Bahamas MP46 CD/MP3 player brings a touch of style to your dash, thanks to its full-graphic "Variocolor" display. Not only will your song titles and system information show up crisp and easy to read, you'll also be able to choose from more than 4,000 colors for the background. The graphic display offers three lines of text for your CDs and digital music files, plus a bright, readable backlight that will show up in any light.

Blaupunkt's Bahamas MP46 CD/MP3 player brings a touch of style to your dash, thanks to its full-graphic "Variocolor" display. Not only will your song titles and system information show up crisp and easy to read, you'll also be able to choose from more than 4,000 colors for the background. The graphic display offers three lines of text for your CDs and digital music files, plus a bright, readable backlight that will show up in any light.

Fold down the detachable faceplate and slide in a CD, CD-R, or CD-RW disc. The Bahamas can play them all, including discs loaded with your MP3 and WMA music files. You can easily add a Blaupunkt optional auxiliary input if you want to add a different external source.

You'll find three preset tone curves for adjusting the audio, plus highly-adjustable bass, midrange, and treble controls for customizing the mix. Two sets of preamp outputs are available for your amps and subs, and you can add an optional subwoofer output. Grab hold of the wireless remote for convenient control from anywhere in the car.

Product Highlights:

  • CD player with built-in amplifier (18 watts RMS/50 peak x 4 channels)
  • plays CDs, CD-Rs, and CD-RWs (including discs loaded with MP3 or WMA files)
  • fold-down detachable face
  • three-line display with 4,096 variable background colors
  • two sets of preamp outputs (optional adapter adds a third set of outputs)
  • 3 equalizer presets ("Rock," "Pop," and "Classic")
  • 3-band parametric equalizer (Bass, Middle, Treble with selectable center frequencies)
  • remote control
  • shock-proof memory
  • 18 FM/6 AM presets
  • seek and scan tuning
  • station scan
  • optional auxiliary input (023AUXIN1R adapter required)
  • compatible with Blaupunkt CD changer
  • clock
  • CD frequency response: 20-20,000 Hz
  • CD signal-to-noise ratio: 98 dB
  • FM sensitivity: 17 dBf
  • warranty: 1 year
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee

What's in the Box:

  • AM/FM/CD/MP3 receiver with 10A fuse inserted in chassis
  • Sleeve
  • Face
  • Trim ring
  • Hard plastic face case
  • Wireless remote control (RC-12H) with installed CR2025 battery
  • Power wiring harness
  • Speaker wiring harness
  • Preamp output harness (4-channel)
  • 2 Radio removal tools
  • Rubber bushing
  • 2 Face locking screws
  • Operating and Installation Instructions (English + 5 other languages)
  • "Let's Connect" accessory brochure
  • "Important Notice" sheet

Purchased this radio and I am extremely satisfied with the product. The installation was a breeze with the dirstions that Crutchfield gave you.

I had no issues adjusting the dimmer switch and using the remote is a breeze. I definitely recommend this ptoduct.

James, Highlands Ranch, CO

Reviews

Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46 Reviews

Average Customer Review(s):

(18 Reviews)

Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46

James from Highlands Ranch, CO on 3/18/2007

1999 Jeep Wrangler
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Purchased this radio and I am extremely satisfied with the product. The installation was a breeze with the dirstions that Crutchfield gave you.<BR><BR>I had no issues adjusting the dimmer switch and using the remote is a breeze. I definitely recommend this ptoduct.

Pros:

Cons:

Impressive, especially at its price.

keith from Glendale, WI on 2/11/2007

I just installed a Bahamas in a customer's '90 Mercedes 300SE and am very impressed by its appearance and ergonomics, as well as its very satisfying sound quality. <BR><BR>Could Blaupunkt finally be back on track?<BR>After several years of making head units that appeared to be targeted at kids with tricked-out Hondas, the simplicity of this design is a refreshing change for the better. That's right, Blaupunkt, nobody over 22 wants a silver-painted faceplate full of fussy little buttons and bright, jumping displays.<BR><BR>In my experience as a professional Mercedes mechanic, this is the nicest CD/radio I've encountered. I will definitely recommend it to others in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Great value

Dan from Sumner, IA on 2/7/2007

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace the factory deck in my mid 80's 5 series BMW. I really like the way it looks in the dash, blends in nicely without all the gizmo's and flash to make it look out of place. The display color options was one of the main selling points for me and it did not disappoint, it matches my dash at night really nice!<BR><BR>I am impressed with the level of sound adjustment you can make with a deck in this price range, not just a simple bass / treble adjustment. <BR>Playing MP3's from cd's works great, I love the cusomizable optoins for the 3 line display, very cool feature. <BR><BR>All in all, great unit. Read the manual to get the most out of all the features! More than meets the eye on this one. I knocked it down from a 5 to a 4 just because I thought the volume knob was a little weak feeling, I have had no problems with it and don't expect to, but just doesn't have a real solid feel to it.

Pros:

Cons:

Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46

Matthew from Maryland on 1/31/2007

1988 BMW M5
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Other comments are spot-on, so I'm not going to duplicate them.<BR><BR>One thing I want to add though... The display comes on as soon as the unit receives power (i.e. ignition is on). At night the display is distractingly bright when it isn't doing anything other than displaying the time.<BR><BR>There is a setting to reverse the display (bright letters on a dark background), but it only affects the center of the display and there is still a bright rectangle around the outside.<BR><BR>I have an older car without a lead for the lighting level, so it is possible a properly wired newer car won't exhibit this problem but it is something to keep in mind.

Pros:

Cons:

Great Head, not so great instructions

Todd from Dark Star, Colorado on 1/23/2007

2004 Dodge Ram 1500
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Very nice unit with good features for the price. However, the manual is frustratingly obtuse about the optional items. A "not used" wire is the hook up for the speed sensor, not an optional item and should be clearly labled. The blue tooth option isn't even discussed in the manual.<BR><BR>However, impressive, clean soud and very easy to setup and adjust. Easy to read displays. I'd recommend the unit if you've done a few installs.

Pros:

Cons:

Great unit for the price!

Jared from Lake George, NY on 1/22/2007

1998 Dodge Neon
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This is an excellent unit for the price! Performance and quality are something that would be expected from a German product. Also, being a German brand, it will plug directly into many German vehicles. <BR><BR>I had originally put one in a friends car, I selected the unit for them based on price and simplicity. I soon realized that its a quality unit with features normally found on more expensive units. I liked the unit so much, I just picked up another for my own vehicle. The simplistic faceplate blends nicely with most vehicle interiors, and almost looks OEM, a BIG plus for me! On top of that, its easy to use once you get used to the track/scan button cluster on the right hand side. Menus are very simple and control all the extra functions.<BR><BR>Definitely consider this unit!

Pros:

Cons:

.

Anonymous from wooster,oh on 12/27/2006

2000 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

if youre not into satellite, but like mp3,for the money this is one great unit. a few installation problems but tech support solved in 30 seconds. great sound,great price,great service,thx alot. takes about 30 minutes to install,direct replacement in mercedes and sounds better than original.

Pros:

Cons:

Excellent performance

Stephen from Collierville, Tn on 12/26/2006

2001 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Replaced my faulty Mercedes (2001 E320) label stereo. I was somewhat concerned about replacing with a non Mercedes unit but needed to do something as I was playing MP3 audio books through the cassette--ugly set-up--and sound was very poor for a Bose sound system. I was also concerned about the hook up as my system has amplified speakers and more wires that you can imagine coming from the stock head unit. Crutchfield sent me all tools etc I needed for job for free. Anyway, this no frills appearance unit looks great. It sounds 10 times better than the stock unit--no kidding. Small problem with modified harness was corrected with a quick phone call to tech support and that was that. Now I have a my XM reciever and MP3 player connected directly via split AUX in cables and it looks as clean an install as a stock system.<BR>Unbelievable value. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Great Buy - Looks Great!

Andromeda16 from Chardon, OH on 12/21/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

If your first impression on this receiver is that it looks great, than you are absolutely right. This receiver blends right in with a car with a black dash and red illuminated dash components.<BR><BR>I have a 2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLS which originally had the single DIN radio with the CD player/CD changer on top of that. They both came out with ease and once all the soldering was complete (took about 1/2 hour), the Blaupunkt MP46 was in. You can also use wire nuts or something of the sort, but I HIGHLY recommend soldering; in the long run, it will last longer and work better. <BR><BR>Overall, this thing is AMAZING. As soon as I powered up the radio, even with the EQ settings at the default, the sound quality between stock and aftermarket stereos was extremely noticeable. For the price, it is well worth the buy, even if you have never heard of the company; you wont regret it.<BR><BR>Two final thoughts:<BR> &#8226; To those MkIV VW owners with a single-DIN radio: You will want to fill the second radio &quot;bay&quot; with the OEM pocket. This part should run you about $30 if you find the right place.<BR> &#8226; When you get the reciever, you will notice on the wiring coming from the back of the stereo there is a RCA plug thats with all the other wires for the power, speakers, etc. Don't be confused as to what it is; it is only the Subwoofer output. Most subs run on Mono sound so you only need 1 RCA plug unless absolutley necessary.<BR><BR><BR>

Pros:

Cons:

Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46

Steve from Lancaster, PA on 11/16/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Just got my MP46 and it is outstanding. Looks and sounds great. Fits perfectly with the interior look of my 2002 VW Jetta GLX. My car has VW's factory "Monsoon" stereo system and the MP46 plugs directly into the factory harness. NO ADDITIONAL HARNESS NEEDED!!. With the keys supplied by Crutchfield to pull the factory head unit the entire installation took 15 MINUTES!!!. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

SWEET! Very nice OEM replacement for '93 BMW 525i.

Fred from Dallas, TX on 10/2/2006

1993 BMW 525I
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This thing is awesome. It looks great, and fits perfectly with the rest of the interior. This deck sounds great, and the AUX input works well with an iPod. There is an iPod specific adapter, but it's about $70, or you could just spend $10 and get the AUX adapter. Previous reviewers have mentioned that it only says "AUX Input" and that is true, but it's not that big of a deal. I love the customizable color, and there are a TON of sound options. It's a good way to spend $179.00, and as a side note, the free drill is really cool, and actually helped me with the install. Crutchfield, and Blaupunkt both have well deserved reputations. Thanks Guys!

Pros:

Cons:

Good sound & value, No frills customizable "factory" look

Craig from North Carolina on 9/5/2006

I bought this unit to replace a dying factory head unit in my 1995 BMW. What I like most about this CD player is the pseudo-factory look, and minimal flash. The basic black color of the unit matches my interior perfectly, and the customizable display color can be well matched to BMW's dashboard orange. From the range of colors available I am guessing you could match to any vehicle. The blue dot on the volume control is lit, but very dimly, and the red backlight on the outer buttons is faint, so neither interferes with the overall color match.<BR><BR>The sound I am getting seems to be much better than the old head unit could produce, in my case hooked straight into the factory wiring harness, to use the existing factory amp and speakers for an easy no-fuss install. [I did not use the PAC-OEM2 suggested by Crutchfield for my car, as this actually seemed to degrade the sound. Kudos to Crutchfeld tech support for helping me with this issue and refunding the cost of that item.] <BR><BR>The AUX input was easy to set up nicely, and although the head unit's display says nothing other than "AUX input" on it when you connect it to an MP3 player or iPod, I have things set up so I can see that information on the player's own display.<BR><BR>A minor negative: the central display has a glass-like surface, so it reflects some light during the daytime. They would have been better to use a matte finish. <BR><BR>I didn't care about this, but there is only one input for AUX or a CD changer, so without some creative wiring, you have to choose which one you'll use. <BR><BR>Overall I consider this unit good value for money, with decent sound, and a relatively clean "factory" look.

Pros:

Cons:

Hard Times

harkdog from Warrnsburg, Mo on 9/3/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

At first when i got the cd player i thought it was a great cd player but i hadn't got use to it yet. But when i dug deeper into it i got confused about the bluetooth, speech output, and automatic sound funtions. Thats the only thing i didnt like about it. Since it is a pretty new cd player on the market they dont have the attachments for it. Other then that, it is cooler then any cd player on the market. The 4096 colors adjustments you can make, will give you a headache and more sweet stuff.

Pros:

Cons:

My stock head unit sounds better

Eric from Houston, TX on 8/11/2006

2004 Ford Ranger
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Ford Ranger with 4 polk db 570's, no amp, no subwoofer.<BR>I installed my new speakers and this stereo at the same time and it made a HUGE difference. However, soon after I started to notice how difficult it was to use the controls. The small round control on the right side essentially has four functions (or buttons with arrows). At least 25% of the time I would press one button (arrow) and a different function would take place. I would have to be very careful that I pressed it absolutely perfectly (difficult when driving) yet this would not work 100% of the time either. This became such a hassle that I decided to swap back to my stock system to see just how much quality I would lose. To my surprise, my stock system sounded MUCH better! My speakers sounded less strained at even louder volumes. The bass was more full and rich and I no longer had to constantly adjust the audio settings for each type of music. On top of this, my stock system holds 6 CDs/MP3s. Of course I am returning this stereo ASAP.<BR>This is no knock on Crutchfield, which has been FANTASTIC throughout this transaction. I will buy through them from now on.

Pros:

Cons:

Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46

Larry from New Jersey on 7/24/2006

2005 Dodge Dakota
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I purchased this unit because it is the most stock looking unit with aux-in i could find, and im quite pleased with the way it looks in my 05 dodge dakota. This is a VERY clean design that is very easy to use and has a very impressive feature list, some though, i am not sure how to take advantage of with my vehicle. The two of these are the speed/volume relation, i dont know how that gets hooked up, and the brightness/dimmer. Chrysler vehicles use a different wire for it, and i chose not to risk trying it and frying something. Looks great, no "bling". no animations, VU meters, munti-colored flashing lights. The display is adjustable through just about every color you could imagine, and you can definitly match your cars dash. The power button is a backlit blue, and the other buttons are lit a dim red which you can only see at night. I wish i could match these to my dash too, but im not complaining. After using it, i found that it was much easier to use MP3 cds and navigate them via the player than to use my mp3 player through the aux input. This plays each folder on the cd as a seperate album, you can play a folder in random order, or "mix" the entire disk (hold the mix button down) The menus are a little complex, but well organized and offer a myriad of options, such as an aux in pre-amp, day/night brightness, a 3 band equilizer with adjustable cut-off points (choose, for example the "bass" range cut-off anywhere between 60 and 200hz), and an adjustable "turn on" volume (resume last or preset volume). This unit sounds great, the X-bass feature makes people start looking for subs. Complaint - Aux -in mode display just shows "aux", no clock option there

Pros:

Cons:

Great head unit (but not for an IPOD!)

Aeolian1000 from Big Bear Lake, CA on 7/11/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

IPOD buyers beware, see my review under the Blaupunkt iPod Control Interface.<BR><BR>The MP46 is a great looking and sounding (using my stock 6-speaker system) head unit. I wanted a seamless blend with my 06 Nissan Xterra factory dash (appearance and lighting) and this unit is it, even if it does have a little chrome flash. Stylish black/grey face with simple multi-purpose controls. Not only does it avoid the night-vision-destroying blinding blue lighting common on most products, I can match the orange glow of my dash lighting almost perfectly. Plus it has a HUUUGE dimming range. <BR><BR>Displays MP3 info when playing appropriate CDs, and when listening to the radio it will show the station as well as the clock and other info. One PROBLEM is there is no information displayed (other than "AUX") when using an auxilliary input (which I needed to use to play my IPOD, since the Blaupunkt interface is a joke)!<BR><BR>With respect to the IPOD control features, on the rare occasion it actually connected with my IPOD, it does not display any playlist/artist/song info, and in fact, does not "control" the IPOD at all!!! <BR><BR>I give it just 3 stars because the main reason I bought it (and one of its sales features) is that it is "IPOD-ready", and it simply is NOT, and that's what I really wanted. If that worked it would have rated 4 or more stars. <BR><BR>Blaupunkt should learn functionality from Alpine and Alpine should learn style from Blaupunkt! Too bad they don't merge!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Great Design and Value

Scott A. from King of Prussia, PA on 6/25/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Just out, this new unit from Blaupunkt "raises the bar" to create a custom automotive sound, look and configuration. Blaupunkt continues to maintain a high standard for ergonomics and aesthetics. <BR><BR>Tradition:<BR>Blaupunkt, unlike others, uses a traditional push-actuated knob (typical of traditional shaft units) to control ON/OFF power, muting, and volume. It just works ... simple, intuitive, functional & effective. <BR><BR>Innovation with class & style:<BR>The MP46 has one of the most well-designed faces in a CD receiver under $200. The style integrates easily into any cars interior without a myriad of off-color backlit micro-buttons, knobs and LED/LCD segments that were so much the norm on competitors units. More typical of european styling, the MP46s ~4100 color choices, embedded menus, and a razor-sharp matrix display enables you to easily tailor almost every facet of the sound and visual details of the units display. <BR><BR>Buy it for what it lacks:<BR>The absence of distracting animation (like moving sound-level gauges, ocean scenes or palm trees) IS ONE OF THE MOST DESIREABLE ATTRIBUTES of the MP46. In my experience, some of the "bling" can grow old and tired in just months, but a great design satisfies for a much longer time. <BR><BR>Great sound:<BR>Nothing new here. Seamless volume control scales the sound so smoothly. Complementing typical fader & balance adjustments, you can adjust the bass, mid, and trebles center freqs to provide a "sound" tailored for your car and speakers. <BR><BR>1 negative: <BR>* CD slot and CD-eject button are not illuminated at night making loading a bit challenging.<BR><BR>Solid value and performance!

Pros:

Cons:

HardCore!!

Harold from Cumberland, MD on 6/11/2006

Awesome Sound, a lot of boom for the buck. It looks beautiful in my 30th Anniversary Mercury Cougar. Controls are easy to use, easy to find songs with the directory. The unit is sleek and clean looking, although the buttons on the unit are red and the dash cluster is green, the unit doesnt look "out of place" as many aftermarket stereos tend to do. <BR><BR>Setup includes 4 Channel Visonik amp and speakers of various brands previously purchased for my old car from Crutchfield by me and premium aftermarket speakers purchased by the previous owner of my vehicle.<BR><BR>4 of 5x7's (factory replacements), <BR><BR>Trunk of Vehicle:<BR>2 of 6x9 3-way (sealed boxes), one 12' Subwoofer (sealed box)

Pros:

Cons:

Details

Hands-on research

Features and Specs

Expandability
AUX Input Optional
Audio/video Input ---
USB Input Optional
CarPlay No
Android Auto No
Siri Control No
Android Control No
Memory Card Slot No
Bluetooth Compatible Optional
Satellite Radio Ready No
HD Radio No
Navigation ---
iPod Compatibility
Full size ---
Nano ---
Touch ---
iPhone ---
General
RMS Power (CTA-2006) N/A
RMS Power (Manufacturer) ---
Peak Output 50 watts
RMS Power Bandwidth N/A
Preamp Outputs 4-channel
Sub Preamp Outputs No
Switchable Rear Preamp Outputs No
Video Screen No
Preamp Voltage 2 volts
Screen Size ---
Display Color Vario-colour
Key Button Color Red
EQ Bands 3
Wireless Remote Yes
Steering Wheel Control Compatible ---
Parts Warranty 1 Year
Labor Warranty 1 Year
Tuner
FM Sensitivity 17 dBf
European Tuning Yes
Seek/Scan Seek/Scan
Radio Data System No
High-res Playback ---

Product Research

Features
Changer Controls

Features

Vario Colour Display: Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46 features a Vario Colour display. You can select one of 16 values of Red, Green, and Blue, giving you a possibility of 4096 colors. The Colour Scan feature cycles through all the possible display colors in approximately 40 seconds, allowing you to choose the one you prefer.

Full Graphic Display: The full graphic display can be adjusted for best visibility. In addition to the color, the display can be set as positive or negative, and a viewing angle can be set between -6 and +6. You can independently set the display brightness for day and night. When the orange illumination wire is connected to your vehicle's headlight circuit, the brightness of the display changes to the night brightness setting. You can also set the unit to Auto Dim.

3-Band EQ: The unit features preset EQ sound effects for specific types of music. You can select the Rock, Pop, or Classic preset EQ setting. In addition, separate bass, middle, and treble adjustments can be made from -7 to +7, each with selectable center frequencies (Bass: 60Hz, 80Hz, 100Hz, 200Hz; Middle: 500Hz, 1kHz, 2kHz, 3kHz; Treble: 10kHz, 12kHz, 15kHz, 17kHz).  Note: You can set separate bass, middle, and treble levels for each source, but the EQ effect is applied to all audio sources.

X-Bass: The X-Bass feature can be used to boost the bass at low volume levels. You can set the X-Bass boost to one of three levels. The X-Bass feature, when activated,  is applied to all sources.

Automatic Sound: The Automatic Sound feature automatically adjusts the volume of the sound system to suit the speed at which the vehicle is traveling. The volume setting is adjustable in the Volume Menu. The optimum setting depends upon how noise levels develop in your particular vehicle. Note: In order for this feature to work, the receiver must be connected to the VSS (Vehicle Speed Sensor) via the white wire in the main power harness.

Power-On Volume: You can choose the volume setting at which the receiver plays when it is turned on. In the menu, you can choose "Last Volume" and the unit will be set to the same volume level as when it was last turned off. The maximum "Last Volume" setting is 38. If you turned off the unit with the volume setting higher than 38, the unit will default to a turn-on volume of 38. You can also choose a default volume setting between minimum and maximum (0-66). Note: If the power-on volume is set to a high level, you can possibly damage your hearing or your audio equipment.

Ignition Off Turn-On: The unit can be turned on manually even if the ignition is turned off. The receiver will stay on in this mode for approximately one hour and will automatically shut itself off to avoid running down the battery.

Off Timer: After opening the control panel, the unit will switch off after a pre-selected time between 0 and 30 seconds.

Travel Store: You can automatically store the strongest 6 AM and 6 FM station using the Travel Store function. These presets are stored in bands FMT and AMT.

Adjustable Scan Tuning: The scan feature briefly plays all the receivable stations. You can set the scanning time between 5 and 30 seconds. Note: When the radio scan time is changed, it also resets the CD intro scan time for the in-dash player and the connected CD changer.

Shock Proof Memory: The CD player has a memory buffer of 10 seconds for CDs and 100 seconds for MP3 discs to virtually eliminate skipping and drop outs, even on the roughest roads.

MP3/WMA Playback: The Bahamas MP46 can play MP3/WMA files recorded onto CD-Rs and CD-RWs. The format of the CD-R or CD-RW must be ISO9660 Level 1/Level 2 or Joliet. Each disc can have a maximum of 252 directories and 999 files, with up to 255 files in one directory. During MP3/WMA playback, you have 5 display options:

  • Track/File Number and Play Time
  • Track/File Number and Clock
  • Directory Number and Track/File Number
  • Directory Number and Clock
  • Directory Number and Play Time

ID3 Tags: The unit will display MP3 ID3 tags. You can select to display the directory name, file name, artist name, song name, or album name when available.

Telephone Mute: If the receiver is connected to a mobile telephone with an external mute circuit, the receiver's volume is muted whenever the mobile telephone is "picked up." The power wiring harness contains a telephone mute wire that must be connected to the phone's mute circuit in order for this feature to function.

Power On Message: You can enter a personalized message of up to 9 characters which appears on the display when the unit is powered on.

Optional Subwoofer Output: The receiver comes with a separate 4-channel preamp output harness. An optional 6-channel preamp output harness is available from the manufacturer (Blaupunkt part # 7 607 001 512). The optional harness contains a mono (single channel) non-fading subwoofer output. When used with the optional harness, you can control the subwoofer output level control and the frequency of the low-pass filter. The level can be set between 0 and 7, and the cutoff frequency of the low-pass filter can be set to 80Hz, 120Hz, 160Hz, or Off (no filtering).

iPod Aux Cable: This unit is compatible with the optional iPod Auxiliary Cable (023iPODCBL) which allows you to listen to music from your iPod through your sound system. In addition to the audio connection, the cable also charges your iPod while the head unit is powered on. The iPod Auxiliary Cable does not transfer any control of the iPod to the head unit--you will still need to control the iPod manually. The iPod's display is not changed when the cable is connected. Note: You will not be able to connect a CD changer to this head unit if the iPod Auxiliary Cable is used.

Auxiliary Input Ready: You can connect an auxiliary input source, such as a portable MiniDisc/DVD/MP3 player instead of a CD changer. The external audio source will require an adapter cable (023AUXIN1R).

Bluetooth/USB Adapter Ready: With the optional Bluetooth/USB interface (023BLAUBLU), you can place and accept "hands free" cellular phone calls through this head unit. You can also play MP3 files stored on your Bluetooth cell phone. Up to 5 Bluetooth-capable phones can be registered to the adapter. In addition, the adapter has a USB input for plugging in portable digital audio players with USB outputs or USB storage devices.

Telephone/Navigation Speech Ready: When connected to an optional interface cable (Blaupunkt part number 7 607 001 503, not presently sold by Crutchfield), you can connect this receiver to a mobile phone or navigation system for telephone calls and navigation announcements. The interface will mute the receiver's audio, allowing the speech from the telephone caller or the navigation unit to be heard over the vehicle's sound system speakers.

RC-12H Remote Control: The Bahamas MP46 comes with the RC-12H credit card-sized remote control. In addition, this unit is compatible with the following optional remotes: RC 08 and RC 10. The RC-12H remote has the following functions: Source Select, Mute, Volume Up/Dn, Select Up/Dn/Left/Right. The unit cannot be turned on or off with the remote.

Clock Display Note: In the menu, you can select the unit for "Clock On" or "Clock Off" operation. When set to "Clock On", the clock will continue to display and the buttons remain illuminated after the unit is turned off as long as the ignition is in the "On" or "Accessory" position. When set to "Clock Off", the display and button illumination is turned off when the unit is turned off. The clock will display the time for approximately 8 seconds when the "Display" button is pushed, even if the unit and the ignition are in "Off" position.

Clock Mode: You can set the clock display to 12-hour or 24-hour mode.

Changer Controls

Compatibility: This head unit can directly control the following Blaupunkt changers: CDC A 03, CDC A 08, and IDC A 09.

Display Options: During CD changer operation, you have 5 display options:

  • Track Number and Play Time
  • Track Number and Clock
  • CD Number and Track Number
  • CD Number and Clock
  • CD Number and Play Time

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team. They verify what’s in the box, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Accessories
Articles