Skip Navigation

Polk/MOMO MMC460

4"x6" 2-way plate speakers

14 Reviews

Find what fits your vehicle

 
 
 
 

Can't find your exact vehicle?

Item # 107MMC460

This item is no longer available.

Shop all 4"x6" Speakers

Overview

Our take on the Polk/MOMO MMC460

Polk Audio engineers the MMC Series speakers for championship performance — legendary Italian design firm MOMO makes them look great! These upper-echelon coaxial speakers deliver component speaker sound quality in an easy-to-install, stylish package.

Polk Audio engineers the MMC Series speakers for championship performance — legendary Italian design firm MOMO makes them look great! These upper-echelon coaxial speakers deliver component speaker sound quality in an easy-to-install, stylish package.

The Polk/MOMO MMC460 4"x6" plate speaker features a 4" polypropylene woofer (with a carbon fiber dust cap for extra rigidity), mounted alongside a 3/4" synth-silk/polymer dome tweeter on a tough, non-resonant ABS plastic plate. The woofer's Kapton voice coil former and flat Nomex spider contribute to high power handling capability. An airtight rubber surround stands up to humidity and heat for long-term reliability.

A high-quality, built-in 2-way crossover ensures that each driver sees only the frequencies it was designed to reproduce. The speaker's low profile and shallow depth allow it to fit in most vehicles. Grilles are not included — factory grilles are appropriate for most installations.

Priced per pair

Product Highlights:

  • 2-way 4"x6" plate speaker
  • 4" polypropylene woofer with Santoprene rubber surround
  • 3/4" synth-silk/polymer dome tweeter
  • 2-way crossover
  • non-resonant ABS plate
  • recommended power range: 10-50 watts RMS
  • peak power handling: 100 watts
  • frequency response: 73-25,000 Hz
  • sensitivity: 88 dB
  • top mount depth: 1-3/4"
  • warranty: 3 years
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee

I installed these in the dash of my 06 Wrangler, and they sound great!!!!! Amazing highs, a great upgrade. Would buy again!

Patrick, VA

What's in the Box:

  • Two 2-way speakers
  • 8 Allen head self-tapping screws
  • 8 Speed clips
  • Owner's Manual
  • Online registration sheet
Reviews

Polk/MOMO MMC460 Reviews

Average Customer Review(s):

(14 Reviews)

Great speakers

Joshua from Provo, UT on 8/28/2008

1989 Jeep Wrangler
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

These speakers do their job well. I put them in my 89 jeep wrangler, running them with a 60x2 amp. They've gotten wet several times and it hasn't bothered them at all. They can get really loud without distorting, which is just what I was looking for, because I rarely have the top on my jeep and all the sound goes right out, without any resonance. However, when the volume goes up, the bass will distort. If you're going to set these speakers up for volume you absolutely need a high pass filter or bass blockers.

Pros:

Cons:

incredible quality in such small speakers

jdw from Youngstown, OH on 8/26/2008

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I'm much more of a home audiophile, but when I drive I love to be comfortable and one of the first modifications was a stereo upgrade. I have an '03 malibu and finding perfect fit audio components (to my taste) is incredibly difficult to say the least. I have a pair of Polk dB 690's in the rear deck (which are AMAZING!) and decided to match the front door speakers with the momo 460's. I'm so glad I did too! I did a lot of research to try and find the best performing speaker per dollar value, so when I saw these discontinued and on clearance to make way for the new model I couldn't pass it up. I highly recommend purchasing PAC BB-150A2 when installing tweeter/midrange speakers. This will prolong speaker life and maximize performance. At first I didn't notice much difference between factory speakers and the 460's, but after vigorous testing the 460's passed with flying colors! The highs are crystal clear, and the PAC BB-150A2 permits just enough bass to really activate the mid-range. I feel like I'm at the symphony every time I turn on my stereo. Kudos to the Polk Audio momo 460's! and remember to respect others on the road while enjoying your new speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

2006 Wrangler Rubicon

Patrick from VA on 4/27/2008

2006 Jeep Wrangler
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I installed these in the dash of my 06 Wrangler, and they sound great!!!!! Amazing highs, a great upgrade. Would buy again!

Pros:

Cons:

Amazing

yaumno from Atlanta, GA on 1/3/2008

I bought these speakers from Crutchfield as an upgrade to my factory speakers. All I can say is that they are absolutely amazing. I paired them with another set of 5 1/4'' Polk speakers in the front kick panel of my BMW 328i and an Alpine receiver. Even with the stereo (18 watt RMS, much lower than the speakers rating) turned up only to 30/50 these speakers make my ears bleed. There is no noticeable distortion and they can go much louder than that. Polk has done an excellent job with these so if you are looking for extra midrange and highs in your system do not hesitate, pick these up!

Pros:

Cons:

Polk/MOMO MMC460

Matthew from Ames, IA on 9/6/2007

1986 Pontiac Fiero
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Bought these for an '86 fiero rear speaker locations, although the large magnet would not fit I worked it out. I powered this speakers with a Us acoustics amp 85W per channel. They did not get the full wattage though. They sounds great, very clear mids and highs. At very high volumes they do not distort and still sound remarkably clear and accurate. They do need to be paired with a nice subwoofer to get good balanced sound.

Pros:

Cons:

POLK AUDIO: Speaker Specialist INDEED!

Djones from B'ham, AL on 1/7/2007

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Polk Audio really made a home run with these speakers! I've got these jewels in my CAMARO RS it's NOT recommended by this website since the the magnet is off center for the dash install... but since I had professionals install them &amp; my entire system along with the Polk db690's KICKER CVR10 and 2 JL AUDIO amps...they could augment the dash as needed. I'm very happy with the results..my music is Summer and Winter from those ol DELCO speakers that I had oringinally connected to my Pioneer 6800!?!? I enjoy music so much and it only made sense to go with the BEST for my mid bass and vocal detailing. I love to look at the midbass speaker while it's working it's like a mini-sub (LOL) I've got a 60x4 channel amp for these and the db690's. Set my Pioneer 6800mp's High pass filter at 50hz so they can keep up with the db690's (fantastic 6x9's by the way) and this makes for a very enjoyable musical experience...the vocals are life-like, the piano, guitars, saxophones and other instruments have a great sound stage since the MMC-460's and db690's both have built in 2-way crossovers! Live albums sound just that LIVE! <BR><BR>Purchase these and enjoy a sonic experience you'll brag about and actually make your daily commute more enjoyable. The MMC460's are a testament to why POLK AUDIO is known for &quot;SOUND INNOVATION&quot; and the Speaker Specialists

Pros:

Cons:

Amazing

tpeck07 from Rochester, MN on 9/16/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I put these in the doors of my 95 grand am, I have a small amp hooked up to them also. I can say nothing but great things about these speakers, dont let the size fool you. These suckers are loud, and my ears start to hurt from the loudness before there is any distortion. If your looking for a professional quality set of speakers dont look anywhere else!

Pros:

Cons:

90 Wrangler

Wrangler90 from Los Altos, California on 6/25/2006

With these speakers, you really have to consider what you are buying. The cone is pretty small hence its lack of bass response/distortion but what can you expect from something that small. <BR><BR>I installed these in the dash of my Wrangler and I can distincly hear them in my setup (Polk MMC 450's in the Dash, A 6 speaker sound bar, Polk MMC650s 50 watts in the rear) although they are not too loud. With my recently purchased Pioneer 4800 MP headunit, I set the highpass filter to 80Hz and now I can turn the system up to max with no distortion at all coming from these speakers...I'm amazed. <BR><BR>I think that for what you are buying, these speakers are worth it. I do think that the price is a little high, so if you dont need the "weather resistant" speakers like any guy with a Wrangler needs, then go with something else. But five stars from this Crutchfield consumer.

Pros:

Cons:

BMW E28 Install

Nbot from Colorado on 6/10/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Well, I too bought these b/c they were the ONLY speakers I could find that fit my 535is (should be same on all E28 5's), perhaps there are others out there, but you'd think Crutchfield would know about them. Anyways, after talking w/ a rep, and reading the "It Fits" I didn't think there would be a problem...When the rep said there was plenty of space behind the oem speaker for these to fit, he didn't know that BMW used that space to route the wiring for the door electronics....and they don't fit very well anymore (the wiring is a thick bundle almost 3/4" round, which doesn't leave space for the magnet on back of the speakers)!<BR><BR>But, by flipping the speakers upside down, and wrestling w/ the thick wire package, you can make it fit. However, you have to re-install the oem speaker grill differently. You'll be putting the carpet and the grill OVER the speaker, its the only way it will fit. So, I had to trim the carpet slightly to not be touching the speaker's movement, and then screw the grill over the carpet into the speaker/car. Also, I could only get 3 screws to fit, since the speaker has to rest at a slight angle.<BR><BR>Nonetheless, the speakers sound good, and w/ the mods, you couldn't tell it wasn't oem unless I told you (just don't trim the carpet back too much!). Make sure you buy a pair of "bass blockers" so you don't blow the speakers out.

Pros:

Cons:

Polk/MOMO MMC460

Collin from Wamego, KS on 5/12/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

The reason I bought these speakers is simple... they were the only ones that fit my car. Even though they have built-in crossovers, the sales rep suggested I get some bass blockers. I'm glad I did because the bass still breaks up and distorts a little when they are turned up much past half way even with the bass blockers on. For the price, I expected more. One thing that really puzzled me was I installed the first one to get a side-by-side comparison against the factory originals and even though the original speaker distorted like crazy and sounded terrible, it was noticably louder than the Polk. These Polks must not be very efficient. But, since these were my only option to fit my car and they were on sale with free shipping, I am overall pleased with them. Had to make a very slight modification to my Grand Am to make them fit. Crutchfield's install documents are a great help.

Pros:

Cons:

99 Silverado Extra Cab

waitingintn from Nashville, TN on 4/15/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Despite the fact that the speakers are shown as a direct replacement fit with no mods required that is not true. the crossover components didn't allow for clearance...had to use a saw. Speakers sound good but they distort on bass without all that much power on a 50+ RMS per channel...disappointing...hardware provided was not very good quality...hex head mounting screws are very soft material...heads strip out very easily when trying to tighten down snug...overall I expected POLK/MOMO's to be top of the line...they aren't bad, but they are not top of the line and installation compllications are very frustrating!

Pros:

Cons:

Finally some tunes

Jim from Mays landing NJ on 10/7/2005

1989 Jeep Wrangler
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

If you have a YJ and your installing these speakers your best bet is what one of the previous reviews stated. Fold down the winshield. take all the bolts and screws out of the top and sides. pull the dash out. This was easiest for me because i had to replace my leaking winshield gasket, kill two birds with one stone. the holes in the speakers don't match up but you can easily drill out new ones. carefull with the torx bolts on the rollbar tubes they definitely strip out easy. Make sure you have a decent 3/8" drive torx bit set. SPEAKERS SOUND GREAT!

Pros:

Cons:

sounds great in Jeep Wrangler

Robert from Frederick MD on 9/3/2005

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Installing in a 1995 Jeep Wrangler was moderately difficult; I recommend folding down the windshield and removing the screws and torx bolts that hold the dash on. You can then pry the dash out enough to install the speakers from above. One thing to check, though...compare the mounting holes on the Polk speakers with those on the factory speakers. I found it necessary to drill new mounting holes in the new speaker plates. <BR><BR>I also used this opportunity to replace the easily stripped torx bolts on the side bars with grade 8 bolts.

Pros:

Cons:

Great speakers for the money

David from Salisbury, MD on 3/12/2005

These speakers are the most amazing things I have heard in a long time. The quality of the sound coming from such small speakers, even in the midrange and bass are exquisite. I have these mounted in the dash of a 1994 S10 Blazer(last year for the old style) and these fit with basically no modification. All you had to do was get a small piece of tubing for the upper vent on the drivers side, passanger side one slide right in. Polk/Momo are the best speakers for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Details

Hands-on research

Features and Specs

General
Speaker Size
Design 2-way
Tweeter Design 3/4" Dome
Impedance (Ohms) 4
Tweeter Composition Synth-Silk/Polymer
Woofer Composition Polypropylene
Woofer Surround Santoprene rubber
Parts Warranty 3 Years
Labor Warranty 3 Years
Specifications
Sensitivity (1W at 1 meter) 88
Sensitivity at 2.83 volts N/A
Frequency Response 73 - 25k Hz
Minimum RMS Wattage 10
Maximum RMS Wattage 50
Peak Power Handling (Watts) 100
Top-mount Depth (Inches) 1 3/4
Bottom-mount Depth (Inches) 2
Cutout Diameter or Length (inches) 0

Product Research

Features

Marine Certified: Polk/MOMO Series speakers are built to withstand exposure to moisture and UV rays, so they work well in boats and cars.

Polypropylene Woofers: Each speaker features a stiff polypropylene cone with carbon-fiber dustcap for tight, punchy bass and clean mids.

Santoprene Rubber Surrounds: The airtight santoprene rubber surrounds stand up to moisture, sunlight and extreme temperatures while allowing long excursion linear motion and years of reliable use.

3/4" Synth-Silk/Polymer Composite Tweeters: The 3/4" liquid-cooled, synth-silk/polymer composite tweeters provide clear, detailed highs.

ABS Plate and Driver Basket: Each speaker has a tough, non-resonant ABS plate and driver basket.

1" Kapton Voice Coils and Formers: Laser-based, Klippel-optimized, channel-vented 2-Layer 1" Kapton voice coils and formers offer high heat dissipation and extreme power handling.

2-way Crossover Network: The built-in 2-way crossover network sends the appropriate frequencies to each driver for cleaner sound and better imaging.

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team. They verify what’s in the box, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Accessories
Articles