Skip Navigation

JVC KD-G720

CD receiver with MP3/WMA playback

16 Reviews

Find what fits your vehicle

Can't find your exact vehicle?

Item # 257KDG720

This item is no longer available.

Shop all Car Stereos

Overview

Our take on the JVC KD-G720

Lay the foundation for your mobile audio system with JVC's powerful, versatile KD-G720 CD player. It brings a variety of playback features to your entertainment array, with enough connection options for just about any system.

Lay the foundation for your mobile audio system with JVC's powerful, versatile KD-G720 CD player. It brings a variety of playback features to your entertainment array, with enough connection options for just about any system.

Have a portable player? Connect it to the KD-G720's USB input and charge your compatible player while you listen. If you have an iPod, add JVC's optional iPod interface and control playback right from the stereo's faceplate. MP3 and WMA compatibility means you can load up to 10 hours worth of music onto a CD-R/RW disc and hit the road — no more swapping discs while you drive.

You get a strong on-board amp to power your speakers, plus an audiophile-quality digital-to-analog converter that makes your CDs sound their best. JVC's cEQ controls offer six preset tone curves and two tone controls for adjusting the sound.

Radio fans will love the powerful HS-IV AM/FM tuner. It can pull in far-off stations with ease, grabbing hold of your favorites for clear, pop-free reception, even in busy urban areas. If you like your radio out of this world, add a JVC satellite radio for 120-plus channels of music, news, sports, and entertainment.

Three sets of preamp outputs make it easy to connect your external amps and subs.

Great radio, I bought it specifically for the USB input, which I think will be the wave of the future on all car radios. It works flawlessly. The only drawback would be the flash drive sticking out, but now drives are available that are so small you hardly notice them

Roy Mottola, Westchester, NY

What's in the Box:

  • AM/FM/CD/Changer controller receiver with 15-amp fuse inserted into chassis
  • Sleeve
  • Face
  • Hard plastic face case
  • Trim ring
  • Wiring harness
  • RM-RK50 Wireless remote control
  • 1 CR2025 Lithium battery
  • 1 Face security screw
  • 1 Clear plastic tab (for securing faceplate)
  • 2 Radio removal tools
  • 1 Rear support stud
  • 1 Flat washer
  • 1 Hex nut
  • 1 Rubber bushing
  • Instructions (English/Spanish/French)
  • Installation/Connection Manual (English/Spanish/French)
  • "Before Electrical Connections" instruction sheet (English/Spanish/French)
  • US warranty sheet
  • Canadian warranty card
  • Product Registration Card/Questionnaire
  • Face security screw note
  • "Caution" note (attached to wiring harness)

Product Highlights:

  • CD player with built-in MOSFET amplifier (20 watts RMS/50 peak x 4 channels)
  • plays CDs, CD-Rs, and CD-RWs (including discs loaded with MP3 and WMA files)
  • Custom Equalizer (cEQ) — offers six preset tone settings (each setting can be adjusted to your taste) and a 2-band EQ
  • USB input
  • loudness
  • detachable face
  • three sets of preamp outputs
  • subwoofer level and frequency control
  • CEA-2006 compliant
  • 24-bit Burr-Brown digital-to-analog converter
  • controls for an optional JVC iPod adapter
  • satellite radio-ready
  • HS-IV AM/FM tuner
  • 18 FM/6 AM presets
  • seek tuning
  • clock
  • remote
  • CD frequency response: 5-20,000 Hz
  • CD signal-to-noise ratio: 98 dB
  • FM sensitivity: 11.3 dBf
  • warranty: 1 year
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee
Reviews

JVC KD-G720 Reviews

Average Customer Review(s):

(16 Reviews)

JVC KD-G720

StybaJ from Idaho on 11/29/2006

1999 Toyota Corolla
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Great product - it works just like the specifications say. I love the USB feature - it's only going to be more and more popular as people try it out. Easy installation in my Corolla. This JVC player is much easier to read the display than my old Alpine deck. It has much more volume than I need in my car (I turned it down to the low power option to not accidently blow my speakers). I agree with the last review. No complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Great unit, great price

Jenny from East, TN on 11/8/2006

I have some counter arguments to some comments in the previous reviews: Folks, please read the manual before you say something doesn't work. The USB feature is great and when you turn your car off, as long as you do not remove the flash drive, it will pick up exactly where it left off. This is a setting that has to be changed from the factory setting. Read the manual and learn how to change those settings. Also the clock will display constantly if you want it to. This is just another setting that must be changed.<BR><BR>The most annoying problem is the unit ignoring the track # id3 tags on USB playback. It will play all tracks in alphabetical order. For those albums that it is necessary to play in order, you must rename the track titles with their track numbers in front, then they will play in the right order. (I swear this is not a setting that can be changed, I thoroughly looked) Second most annoying feature is the folder names are not displayed, they are just two digit numbers. I have my folders organized by artist so therefore, I do not see an artist name while switching folders. I'm sure these issues will be fixed on models in the near future.<BR><BR>Also, it should be noted that the USB has a 4gb read capacity so it will not recognize any media over 4gb.<BR><BR>I also bought the aux adapter that plugs into the CD changer port for my DVD player. That is a great function I was missing from my last unit and I really like that, when switching sources, the aux is not displayed unless it is receiving a signal.<BR><BR>Overall, an excellent unit for the new technology and the price. I would say more but I keep running out of room.

Pros:

Cons:

Great value, good sound, though USB is somewhat limited

srd515 from Burbank CA on 10/12/2006

2000 Honda CRV
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I am overall quite satisfied with this model, though there are a few disappointing aspects: If you want a model in which you can "plug in" an mp3 player or flash drive, I'd recommend getting an mini jack input rather than a USB. When using a flash drive, the unit does not remember where you left off on the song. It reboots and starts at the very beginning. It does not seem to be able to read and accept larger players, such as my 5G Creative Zen Micro. It keeps flashing "check" and will not play. I should have tested the unit at store. As it is, I found out these limitations after installing. <BR>Sometimes the unit does not accept input commands, such as when you wish to change settings.

Pros:

Cons:

JVC KD-G720

Steve from Durango, CO on 10/7/2006

2003 Ford F-350
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This is a great unit! It replaces the in-dash 6 CD changer that came in my F350 (it started rejecting all CDs and would have cost over $300 to fix!).<BR><BR>I bought the KD-G720 for its USB interface so I can listen to my music on the bumpy dirt road that leads to our house without worrying about damaging the CD mechanism. I'm very pleased with how the USB input works. I had a bit of trouble at first -- the HP memory stick I had on hand was not compatible, then I had some trouble with the extra Apple Double resource fork files Mac OS X copied to the memory stick. Crutchfield's excellent tech support crew helped me figure out the solution.<BR><BR>

Pros:

Cons:

98 Civic EX sedan with keyless entry

Kent from Pittsburgh, PA on 10/1/2006

1998 Honda Civic
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This is a really nice unit that replaced the Honda OEM radio. The quality of the sound is far superior to the OEM radio and my wife enjoys using the front mounted USB memory input with her Creative MP3 player. The unit has plenty of power to drive Polk speakers in the doors and the rear shelf. The only downside is that this unit does not remember the position on the USB device like it does for the CD player, but I knew that before I purchased it. If the unit could remember the position of the USB device I would have give it 5 stars.<BR><BR>This was a somewhat complicated install because the OEM radio must be kept attached to the factory harness in order for the Honda keyless entry system to work. I found that I had to remove the OEM faceplate (as described in the Crutchfield instructions) as well as the top cover. But it all works well thanks to the Crutchfield wiring harness.

Pros:

Cons:

USB, Sound are excellent. Do not plan to use it with XM Radio

marcos from Dallas, TX on 9/26/2006

2006 Pontiac Vibe
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Let me start by saying that I have returned this unit, but now without some sorrow.<BR><BR>I decided for this unit mainly beacause of the USB connection, and boy is it a great feature!<BR>You dont have to burn anything on CD. Just copy your files to your flash drive and presto! <BR>I bought a set of 3 x 1 Gb mini thumb drives and they are a great way to move you music collection around. <BR><BR>As to the sound, it was very good (but not excellent) on the Monsoon speakers of my Pontiac Vibe. I dont know if this is a problem with the Monsoon amplifier, but the minimum volume setting was still too loud.<BR><BR><BR>Now, the big issue:<BR>My plan was to use this with XM Radio. I bought the Universal adapter and JVC Smart Adapter and installed. So far so good. <BR>The problem is that the radio would not keep the station presets. Every time you start the car XM starts in the preview channel.<BR><BR>Since my favorite channels are spread wide in the 80/150 range, this was a major problem.<BR><BR>Searching the net, I found that A LOT of people have the same problem, and that Terk really does not know what the problem is.<BR><BR>You may get lucky and get a working one, but odds are that the unit will not work.<BR><BR>That was a deal-killer for me.<BR><BR>Another minor annoyance with the unit is that in XM mode, it does not scroll ALL the info. You can see the channel or the category or the time or the artist or the song, but not have them scroll.<BR>You need to click buttons around. <BR><BR>In summary:<BR>* Very Good sound<BR>* Good sound-shaping options<BR>* Great appeareance (fit particularly well with the Vibes light color scheme)<BR>* Bad accesories for XM radio (I k

Pros:

Cons:

JVC KD-G720

Lisa from columbia staion, OH on 9/26/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

i have to agree with everyone about the usb being slow i put my friends mp3 player on it and it first went pretty fast then we unplugged it to find a song and then plugged it back in a it was very slow and didnt come back on. i went home and plugged in my mp3 player and it was soo slow i just unplugged it. so i dont know what is wrong with that.... but the sound is awesome and it is deffinatly louder. if i get the usb port thing fixed i will deffinatly be more happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Great product

Teresa from Louisville, KY on 9/20/2006

2000 Nissan Frontier
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

The JVC KD-G720 is an excellent product for the money.<BR>I bought this unit, for several reasons, good sound, the USB, the price was excellent. It basically had everything I wanted. And I was quite surprised to find so much in a reasonably priced package.<BR>I am not an audiophile, and only shop for equipment when I intend to buy something. This is the first car stereo I have bought in almost 9 years. That unit was an Alpine, and this JVC unit makes the Alpines I looked at in the sub 200 range sound like junk.<BR>The USB is fantastic, and I have no idea what the complaints about it being slow are for. It works fine for me.<BR>I also added the Rockford Fosgate P162C 6-1/2" 2-way Speakers, and the combo is excellent. Thse speaker sounded better than any other 6 1/2 in the store.<BR>Cruchfields price was also 50.00 less than anybody else<BR>The install was easy, and relatively quick, as were the instructions. If you can read, you can install using Crutchfields instructions.<BR>I had to call customer service, and get a little help setting up the external inputs for my MP3 player, and a gent named Cecil was beyond helpful, and talked me right through it. He knew immediately how to program the JVC. This level of support is why I buy from Crutchfield.<BR>I am seriously considering putting a JVC 720 on my motorcycle also. The USB would be perfect for that.<BR>Jerry and Teresa P <BR>

Pros:

Cons:

It does everything it claims

scott from Minnesota on 9/14/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Crutchfield's detailed, specific instructions and free adapter and wiring harness made this deck incredibly easy to install.<BR><BR>The major unique feature of this deck is, of course, the USB port. What a timesaver this is! Instead of rounding up original CD's or burning new compilation CD's, I just drag and drop MP3's into folders on my flash drive and plug the drive into the JVC deck.<BR><BR>The quality of this deck is just fine, the sound is great and the user interface is reasonably understandable. My one gripe is that this deck (along with most after-market decks) does not offer an easy way to set the clock. Every spring and fall I invariably have to dig out the users manual to figure out how to add or subtract that daylight saving's hour! My Chrysler factory decks have dedicated "h" and "m" buttons to accomplish this.<BR><BR>This deck only has 2-band EQ - bass and treble - and a switchable loudness contour. If you want more control over the equalization, you either need to spend more for the next higher JVC model or else buy a similarly-priced deck which does not have the USB feature. With good speakers, I find the 2-band EQ is not a limitation. The FM reception is better than I expected. If anything, it is even a little better than the high-end factory Infinity system it replaced.<BR><BR>The USB port is the best thing that's happened to car stereo this century! I can add and remove files from my flash drive every day without having to burn new CD's (or MP3 CD's). What could be better?

Pros:

Cons:

Great for the Features and Price

Tom from Philadelphia on 9/12/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

The Pros: The display is really nice. The USB port is... well, it works just fine. It leaves a bookmark where you left off providing you don't remove the thumbdrive from the receiver and I haven't come across any incompatibilies yet. The Remote is well thought out and easy to use. It has just the features you use most on it and is small enough to hold in your palm as you drive. I have another receiver in another car with a remote that is larger and no where near as intuitive.The sound and power is sufficient, altho I can't lay much claim to this statement because all I am using is the Honda OEM speakers in a CRV.<BR><BR>Negatives: Oddly, my biggest negative is the radio's clock. When the radio is off, the clock is not displayed. You can push the "display" button to get a few seconds of the clock on screen, but then it goes away again. Why? I have no idea. Very annoying.<BR><BR>Not a whole lot in the way of sound shaping controls in this unit. If you have a subwoofer and good speakers, you may be disappointed. This receiver is not for the person who wants to tweak. There is a 3-band EQ and EQ presets, but the presets are far too exaggerated to be useful. I have a Pioneer in my other car and the sound controls are superior. I've been tweaking that Pioneer for a month now and I still haven't quite "perfected" the sound with a sub/satalite system. But with the JVC, there just weren't enough controls for my taste - which is fine because it is for my wife's car anyway.<BR><BR>Sum up: Great features for casual use. Annoying clock issues. Not for the tweaker. But, best deal going for a USB port receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

JVC KD-G720

MDesigner from Naperville, IL on 8/31/2006

1999 Toyota Camry LE
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I second all the positive reviews below, this is a great unit, the USB functionality is really awesome, but there are a few issues people should be aware of:<BR><BR>1) I think there might be problems with VBR (variable bitrate) mp3s. I put some podcasts on my flash drive this morning, and one of them uses VBR. The JVC unit is unable to seek, and when you try to rewind/fastforward, it just skips to the next track. And if you turn off the unit and turn it back on, it also cannot seek so it skips to the next track. I'm not 100% sure VBR is the cause, but I believe it is.<BR><BR>2) JVC didn't do their homework on MP3 ID tag format. The "Track #" field is completely ignored. That's unfortunate, because some people have albums organized with ID tags that indicate the track number, and the JVC unit could've played the tracks in that order. Instead, assuming random is off, it plays in filename alphabetical order.<BR><BR>3) You can't turn on random folder & repeat folder at the same time. I realize that with a single CD, having repeat and random on at the same time makes no sense, but when you have a USB drive that has folders on it, it makes sense that you'd want to #1, randomize/shuffle the tracks in a folder, and #2, repeat the folder (don't skip to the next folder when this one's done). Unfortunately this is not possible.<BR><BR>4) Some tracks rewind/fastforward more quickly than others. I don't know why this is.<BR><BR>Other than that, it's a very solid unit for being such a new technology. I'm sure as time goes on, issues like the above will be addressed in future units.

Pros:

Cons:

Great sound, USB connection is super-convenient for busy people!

Ben from Union City, NJ on 8/24/2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I have had this unit in my 2005 Chrysler Town & Country for almost a week (I have the cheap 4-speaker system, not the Infinity system) and as soon as I powered it on, I could tell the difference in sound quality (not that the factory paper cones are great to begin with, but the built in JVC amps knew how to push them better than the factory radio). The sound was clearer all throughout the ranges. I drive alot, I have to be in alot of places all of the time, I can't tell you how convenient it is not to have to fumble for scratched and skippy CDs anymore, possibly causing an accident, and at about $25 bucks for 1GB of flash memory, would you go back to CDs? There is a noticeable difference when you play from a the USB source, obviously the CD audio quality is better than MP3/WMA, but still very decent. FM sensitivity is awesome, almost like satellite with 0% noticeable static. By numbering folders 01, 02, 03 etc. you can have direct folder access with the folder name as well, which is good when your concentration has to be on the road ahead instead of your radio. Navigation is made easy, the left/right keys scroll through the songs, the up/down keys toggle the folders, so far all mp3s have been read with no problems. I would have given 5 stars except that the display could move a bit faster (you have to be patient to read the song name while it scrolls) and the cheap JVC carry case for the faceplate scrapes your fingers when you try to pry it open, they could've come up with a better case. Installation was super-easy, the MasterSheet was well drawn, and as a person that is very hard to be satisfied, I AM SATISFIED!

Pros:

Cons:

JVC KD-G720

Roy Mottola from Westchester, NY on 6/10/2006

2006 Dodge Sprinter
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Great radio, I bought it specifically for the USB input, which I think will be the wave of the future on all car radios. It works flawlessly. The only drawback would be the flash drive sticking out, but now drives are available that are so small you hardly notice them

Pros:

Cons:

High Hopes

Jewduh from Seattle, WA on 4/21/2006

I should have known better than to purchase the first run model of any new technology... but basically this unit works wonderful as a typical MP3 CD reading unit would. The sound quality is great as are the pre-amp outs. But the main reason I purchased this unit over other models, was for the USB feature. If you're like me you see a lot of potential here, a la having your music collection on one USB hard drive instead of various mp3 CDs. <BR><BR>First problem is the power output of the USB port on this head unit is not quite up to the 5v USB standard, so I had to figure out a way around this...no big deal. But the real problem lies in the usability of a USB drive with hundreds of songs. The head unit does not remember where it left off(contrary to what the manual states), so every time you start the unit/car it starts in the same folder/song...and you have to navigate from there, also the random mode seems to not be very random, it always loops through the same songs. I'm not sure why these features work so much better with the mp3 cds than they do through the USB port, chalk it up to being a early adopter I guess.

Pros:

Cons:

Perfect

Todd from Iowa on 4/20/2006

2000 Plymouth Neon
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

The USB port on this works great. I was hessitant to purchase this due to the USB option being fairly new to car stereo but JVC did it right. The tuner and CD/MP3 player also work very well.<BR><BR>My only wish is that the USB port was in the rear. My flash drives stick staight out putting them at risk.<BR><BR>All in all, a great unit.

Pros:

Cons:

JVC KD-G720

Angelo from Metro-Boston, MA on 4/3/2006

I love the onboard USB port. FM reception is exceptional.

Pros:

Cons:

Details

Hands-on research

Features and Specs

Expandability
AUX Input Optional
Audio/video Input ---
USB Input ---
CarPlay No
Android Auto No
Siri Control No
Android Control No
Memory Card Slot No
Bluetooth Compatible ---
Satellite Radio Ready Both
HD Radio ---
Navigation ---
iPod Compatibility
Full size ---
Nano ---
Touch ---
iPhone ---
General
CEA-2006 Compliant Yes
RMS Power Output 20 watts
Peak Output 50 watts
RMS Power Bandwidth 40-20kHz
Preamp Outputs 6-channel
Sub Preamp Outputs Yes
Switchable Rear Preamp Outputs No
Video Screen No
Preamp Voltage 2.5/2 volts
Display Color White/Blue
Key Button Color Red
EQ Bands None
Wireless Remote Yes
Steering Wheel Control Compatible ---
Parts Warranty 1 Year
Labor Warranty 1 Year
Tuner
FM Sensitivity 11.3 dBf
European Tuning Yes
Seek/Scan Seek
Radio Data System No

Product Research

Features
Changer Controls

Features

USB Port: The front-panel USB port allows you to play USB flash drives loaded with MP3 and WMA files. MP3 files with a bit rate from 8-320 kbps and WMA files with a bit rate from 5-320 kbps are supported.

MP3/WMA Playback: The KD-G720 can play MP3/WMA files that have been recorded on CD-R and CD-RW discs. The disc must be recorded in one of the following formats: ISO 9660 Level 1/Level 2, Joliet or Romeo. You can directly access folders numbered 01-12 (they must be assigned two-digit numbers when recorded). Each disc can have a maximum of 8 folder hierarchies, 200 folders, and no more than a total of 512 files and/or folders on each disc.

Satellite Radio Ready: You can connect a satellite radio tuner to the KD-G720 in a couple of ways. The unit is directly compatible with the SIRIUS SIR-JVC1 Satellite Tuner for JVC (item # 607SIRJVC1). The Terk XMDirect universal XM Satellite Radio tuner (209XMD1000) can be connected to and controlled by the head unit when used with the XMDirect Smart Adapter for JVC (209XMDJVC1).

Note: In addition to the optional satellite tuner, you will also need the proper antenna and a subscription to SIRIUS or XM Satellite Radio.

Custom Equalizer (cEQ): In addition to manual bass and treble settings (-6dB to +6dB @ 100Hz and 10kHz), this unit also has six selectable preset tone control and loudness setting combinations. Each of the sound modes may be adjusted to your preference and stored in memory. The preset Custom Equalizer modes are:

  • Rock: Bass = +3, Treble = +1, Loudness = On
  • Classic: Bass = +1, Treble = -2, Loudness = Off
  • Pops: Bass = +4, Treble = +1, Loudness = Off
  • Hip Hop: Bass = +2, Treble = 0, Loudness = On
  • Jazz: Bass = +2, Treble = +3, Loudness = Off
  • User: Bass = 0, Treble = 0, Loudness = Off

Amplifier Gain Control: When you are using the KD-G720 with factory speakers (or those rated to less than 50 watts peak), the Amplifier Gain Control can limit the amount of power being sent to those speakers. When the Amp Gain Control is set to "low," the volume control ranges from 0 (minimum) to 30 (maximum). When using speakers rated higher than 50 watts peak, you can set the Amp Gain Control to "high," and the volume control will range from 0 to 50.

Source Naming: The KD-G720 allows you to assign names of up to 8 characters for AM and FM stations (30 station maximum). You can also assign names of up to 32 characters for CDs (including a connected CD changer, but not MP3/WMA/USB or CD Text discs--30 disc maximum).

Subwoofer Output: In addition to the 2.5V front and rear preamp outputs, this unit has a set of 2V subwoofer preamp outputs. The subwoofer output has independent level control, adjustable from 01 to 08, and a selectable low-pass crossover. You can select a cutoff frequency of 90, 135, or 180Hz.

Optional Interface Adapter for iPod: The optional KS-PD100 adapter allows an iPod digital music player with a dock connector to be hooked up to and controlled by the KD-G720. You'll be able to scroll through all your playlists, albums, artists, genres, and composers directly from the head unit. Song titles and other file information show up right on the head unit display. The iPod is also charged while it is connected to the KD-G720.

Compatibility with Optional Input Adapter: An optional JVC Line Input Adapter (item # 105KSU57) or Aux Input Adapter (item # 105KSU58) may be used to provide an additional auxiliary input on this unit. This feature allows you to connect a portable audio player, such as a portable MP3 player, to this unit as an additional audio source. The adapter connects to the CD changer input on this unit. When the adapter is connected to this unit, a CD changer cannot be connected.

Clock Display: When you press the Display button during power off, the unit will turn on, display the clock for 5 seconds, then shut off. This can be done with the ignition on or off.

Dimmer: This unit is equipped with a wire that JVC calls an illumination lead, however, it acts as a dimmer lead. The dimmer can be set to Off (normal brightness at all times), Auto (display window automatically dims when your car head lights are turned on), or On (display is always dimmed).

Note: The amount of dimming is fixed, it cannot be adjusted, and the illumination wire must be connected for Auto operation.

Changer Controls

Compatibility: This unit is equipped with JVC's "J-Link" CD changer control system. It is fully compatible with JVC's CD/MP3 changer (257CHX1500). Other JVC CH-X series CD changers (except CH-X99 and CH-X100) can be controlled directly by this head unit, however, they are not compatible with MP3 discs. You cannot use the KD-MK series CD changers with this unit, even with an adapter.

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team. They verify what’s in the box, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Accessories
Articles
;