Skip Navigation

Marantz TT42

Fully automatic belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Turntable without phono preamp)

27 Reviews | 9 questions - 22 answers

Item # 642TT42

In Stock

Ships Today

Calculating shipping cut-off...

Add to Cart

Ask an expert

Our VA-based experts can help.

1.888.955.6000

ChatEmail

Overview

Our take on the Marantz TT42

Marantz's TT42 turntable makes it easy to breathe new life into your record collection. It offers both 33-1/3 or 45 rpm playback speeds with the flick of a switch so you can enjoy your LPs and 45s for years to come. Marantz even includes a 45 rpm adapter for added convenience. This 'table's sturdy base and belt-drive design minimize the vibrations that can compromise sound quality. The included moving magnet cartridge delivers smooth, detailed sound, and comes pre-mounted for quick and easy setup.

Marantz's TT42 turntable makes it easy to breathe new life into your record collection. It offers both 33-1/3 or 45 rpm playback speeds with the flick of a switch so you can enjoy your LPs and 45s for years to come. Marantz even includes a 45 rpm adapter for added convenience. This 'table's sturdy base and belt-drive design minimize the vibrations that can compromise sound quality. The included moving magnet cartridge delivers smooth, detailed sound, and comes pre-mounted for quick and easy setup.

Automatic playback with manual control

The TT42 gives you convenient fully automatic operation, with auto-return and shut-off. A cueing lift lever also lets you manually raise the tonearm and place it precisely on any track you wish without the risk of scratching your records. The included detachable dust cover helps keep your 'table clean between uses.

it is working really well,I'm very pleased with it.

Lee, Chambersburg, PA

What's in the Box:

  • Turntable chassis
  • AC power adapter (with attached 6.5' DC cord)
  • Platter
  • Felt pad
  • Dust cover
  • 2 Hinges
  • 45 Adapter
  • User Guide

Product Highlights:

  • aluminum platter
  • belt-drive system with DC servo motor ensures accurate speed and rumble-free sound reproduction
  • low-coloration tonearm with universal cartridge mount
  • fully automatic operation
  • manual lifter mechanism
  • moving magnet cartridge included
  • removable dust cover
  • attached RCA audio cable
  • heavy base construction
  • speed selector: 33-1/3 rpm & 45 rpm
  • frequency range (with included cartridge): 20-18,000 Hz
  • signal-to-noise ratio: 65 dB
  • 16-9/16"W x 5-3/16"H x 14-1/4"D
  • weight: 11.9 lbs.
  • warranty: 3 years (60 days on cartridge and stylus)
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee
Reviews

Marantz TT42 Reviews

Average Customer Review(s):

(27 Reviews)
rewards card

Submit a review and enter to win a $350 rewards card

Review this product

Thanks for submitting your review

Most reviews are processed and published within 5 business days. You will receive a confirmation email once your review has been published.

Your Review

Use the stars below to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
1500
Upload your photos

Not visible. Email associated with order.
(e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

Additional Fields (optional)

500
500

By submitting this review, you agree to our terms and review guidelines.

Filter by rating

Customer photos


<< >>
Details

Hands-on research

Features and Specs

Features
Operation Fully Automatic
Speeds 33-1/3, 45
Cartridge Type MM
Phono Preamp No
USB Output No
Pitch Control No
45 RPM Adapter Yes
Specs
Signal to Noise Ratio 65
Wow and Flutter 0.07
Weight 11.9 lbs.

Product Research

Features
Specifications

Features

Overview: The Marantz TT-42 is a fully automatic, high quality turntable with DC servo belt-drive, low-coloration tone arm, & transparent dust cover. The TT-42 is the ideal answer to your need for a high performance source component for analog records.

Fully Automatic: The Marantz TT-42 turntable features full automatic operation for easy & comfortable operation that protects the stylus from damage. The turntable offers automatic start, plus automatic tone-arm return & stop.

Low Noise DC Servo Motor: The Marantz TT-42 full automatic turntable employs a DC Servo motor belt-drive system (with rubber belt & metal bearings) to ensure accurate speed & rumble-free sound reproduction.

33-1/3 & 45 RPM: The TT-42 offers two speed selection playback in both 33 1/3 & 45 rpm (adapter included).

MM Cartridge: The Marantz turntable's MM cartridge is compatible with a vast majority of the amplifiers & receivers.

Attached Stereo RCA/Ground Cables: The Marantz TT-42 is fitted with an attached 44" stereo RCA cable & 35" ground wire.

Specifications

Turntable Section:

  • Platter: 11.968"
  • RPM: 33-1/3 rpm, 45 rpm
  • Signal-to-Noise Ratio: 65 dB
  • Wow & Flutter: +/- 0, 10; 0.07%
  • Overall Weight: 11.9 lb

Tone Arm Section:

  • Effective Length: 8.307"
  • Overhang: 0.767"
  • Offset Angle: 26°
  • Tangential Tracking Error: 0.15°/cm Radius
  • Tracking Force: 25mN (22.5-27.5 mN)

Cartridge:

  • Frequency Response: 20 Hz to 18 kHz
  • Output Voltage: 4mV
  • Cartridge Weight: 0.158 oz

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team. They verify what’s in the box, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Accessories
Q & A

Customer Q&A

Crutchfield asked  
Why did you buy this?

has phono pre amp good name in electronics [ Thomas  Apr 14, 2017 ]
Price, and reviews of customers. [ Howard  Apr 02, 2017 ]
Wanted a fully auto unit and did not want DJ or USB features. Did not want complex adjustment features. Did some research, looked at the specs, found out that this table is made by Dual. I have been very satisfied with the purchase. [ Jack  Mar 03, 2017 ]
Requested gift [ Charles  Dec 17, 2016 ]
Best for the money [ Adele  Dec 12, 2016 ]
Have a Marantz 2238B just got it refurbished and works great, wife's old SANYO quit so the TT42 will be a good match up, besides it looks better. [ valdemar  Sep 28, 2016 ]
The brand and reviews [ NATHAN  Sep 07, 2016 ]
quiet operation. Lowers the stylus gently onto the record groove. The only drawback is it does not have a detachable RCA cord, it's hard-wired into the turntable. [ Lyle  Jun 25, 2016 ]
I chose this turntable for because of their reputation for quality and reliability. [ Fred  Apr 07, 2016 ]
looks handsome and ( from reviews) like it is the best quality in that mid price range -- I wanted automatic but with the ability to raise and lower the lever more manual than a push button. also important to me that you back up your items with customer satisfaction as a priority! [ Audrey  Mar 26, 2016 ]
Can't beat the Marantz sound. [ Lawrence  Feb 19, 2016 ]
Good performing Turntable from reviews. Great help from Dylan Dylan's Bio: http://www.crutchfield.com/Support/Bio.aspx?bio=174 [ Rick  Jan 26, 2016 ]
Marantz has an excellent reputatation. Friends have had and recommended Marantz products. This was exactly what I was looking for at a reasonable price. [ William  Jan 21, 2016 ]
recommended by Aaron Aaron's Bio: http://www.crutchfield.com/Support/Bio.aspx?bio=152 [ TOMMY L  Jan 17, 2016 ]

9 questions already asked

The owner's manual indicates that it includes a "diamond stylus" though it's unclear if that's the material of the needle or the manufacturer/model name of the stylus. If you would like to discuss further, feel free to contact an Advisor directly by phone (1-800-324-9695) or online chat. You can also try reaching out to Marantz' support at 201-762-6666. I hope that helps! [ Larry  Dec 18, 2016 ]  Staff
We have not received any answers from other customers on your question. I would recommend reaching out to an Advisor by phone (1-800-324-9695) or online chat. They should be able to help answer your question. [ Kenny  Dec 16, 2016 ]  Staff
If you purchased the product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can walk you through the configuration of the product and see if there may be a fix. Our toll-free Tech Support number is printed on your invoice, and is also available under the "My Orders" tab in the "My Account" section of our website. If you did not purchase the unit from Crutchfield, then you may want to contact the manufacturer. You can also post your question in our forums: http://community.crutchfield.com. Or try our online support center: http://crutchfield.custhelp.com/app/answers/list/kw/. [ Kenny  Jul 22, 2016 ]  Staff
plastic [ Steven  Apr 25, 2016 ]
What switches are you talking about ? [ MANFRED  Apr 25, 2016 ]
They feel like metal to me. [ Alexander  Apr 25, 2016 ]
The dimensions listed on our website are with the dust cover (16-9/16"W x 5-3/16"H x 14-1/4"D); without the dust cover the turntable is 16-9/16" W x 4-5/8" H x 14-1/4" D My Bio: http://www.crutchfield.com/Support/Bio.aspx?bio=159 [ Larry  Feb 02, 2016 ]  Staff
I was always told never to up grade to a different cartridge for two reasons it voids the warranty on the turn table, and you should only use the cartridge made by the manufacturer for your turn table as other off brand cartridges may not be manufactured to fit your turn table arm to a tee so to speak. The prongs may be a bit thicker etc,., and then you have the problem that you are now having balancing the weight of the arm and getting the tracking to line up correctly. Unless you are playing damaged records and heavly scratched records you should only be replacing the cartridge every (2) years or so. How long have you had this turn table ? [ Frank S.  Dec 29, 2015 ]
I have no idea how you set the tracking force and anti-skating. However, the user guide implies that you only need to replace the cartridge providing the replacement is one of "the stylus types recommended in the technical data of the (old) cartridge". I'm also not very knowledgeable as to where one locates such technical data. Sorry I couldn't be more helpful. [ CHRESTON  Dec 28, 2015 ]
yes in deed it will [ RAYMOND C  Apr 09, 2015 ]
Hi Jo, I do not know enough about the Marantz tuners to say yes or no. Our Marantz turntable is powered by an 8-10 year old Yamaha receiver w/ 7x140w & a phono input. The turntable works great! [ JULIA  Apr 06, 2015 ]
Jo, most if not all iterations of your 2500 and 3300 have phono preamps. As long as yours have phono settings and inputs, the TT42 should work with it. I should say, though, that I'm very underwhelmed by the build quality of the TT42 I purchased for a friend, and think your money would be better spent on a Pro-Ject model, or possibly an Audio Technica AT-LP120, which has received good reviews and is quite a bargain at its price. Hope this helps. -- Jim [ Joel B.  Apr 06, 2015 ]
The Marantz 3300 Preamp has 2 Phono inputs. Also the Marantz 2500 receiver has 2 Phono inputs. As long as the input is labeled "PHONO" you will be fine with a turntable that does not have a built in preamp, such as the TT42. *Note : Check out your gear to see if it is in working order, capacitors dry out over time, your receiver and preamp could be due for an audiophile/professional tune-up. [ David  Apr 06, 2015 ]
I do not know because I have a Kenwood am/fm stereo tuner, which works well with the turntable and a Marantz CD player [ BERT  Apr 06, 2015 ]
I really can't say. I've never come across this problem before. So Sorry... [ E. L.  Jul 02, 2014 ]
Hi Kyle. The reason could be the receiver you are powering the TT42 with is not equipped with a phono input. Such was the case with the Sony amp I own. So therefore I purchased a Pro-ject Phono Box pre-amp which is compatible with both moving magnet and moving coil phono cartideges. Then I was able to enjoy that wonderful warm sound of vinyl!!! I don't believe the issue to be with the ground wire. Good Luck. Let me know how you come out. Jeffj [ JEFFREY M  Jul 02, 2014 ]
You will need a phono (magnetic) pre-amp between the TT and the KRK speakers. The RCA jacks on the KRK system are driven at 'line level' which is far higher than the phono cartridge will deliver. You will also need to attach the "earth cable" to a chassis ground - it makes no difference whether you are using a receiver or not - or you will get massive hum from the speakers. [ MARK  Jul 01, 2014 ]
This turntable requires a receiver with a "Magnetic Cartridge Phono" input. It may look the same as a Line Level input, like AUX or CD, but it is not the same. If you want to use this turntable with your powered speakers you will need to buy a "phono preamp", separately. That is why, in the description of this turntable, it clearly states "without phono preamp". Back in the day, all receivers had a Phono Level Input labeled "PHONO". And only a turntable such as this one could be connected to that SPECIAL jack. [ David  Jul 01, 2014 ]
You will need a Phonio Pre Amp or a receiver set up for a turntable. [ RICHARD S  Jul 01, 2014 ]
This turntable doesn't have a pre-amp. You need a phono preamp to get sound out of it. [ Kile Anderson  Jul 01, 2014 ]
I'm trying to plug this turntable into two KRK powered studio speakers (with RCA jacks) but I am not getting any sound. I didn't plug the "earth cable" in because I am not using a receiver with a ground. What am I missing? [ Kyle  Jun 30, 2014 ]
Thanks for your question. It does not look like the TT42 includes any software. It is designed for connection directly to a stereo or home receiver. [ Jeff  Jan 08, 2014 ]  Staff
Articles