Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Clarion M508

Clarion M508 Marine digital media receiver with Bluetooth® (does not play CDs)

MFR # 92701

4.5 out of 5 stars
100 reviews
View this product
Clarion M508

Edward from De Soto, MO on 2/16/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No problem buying a open box unit Tina was a big help selecting a new auto radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Randy from Nitro, WV on 1/16/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value for s marine tuner

Robert C from El Dorado Hls, CA on 7/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this marine tuner just installed on my SeaRay. Preset station and search and easy blu tooth sync.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Andrew from Denver, NC on 7/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The units is great, you can't beat the value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A good replacement

Richard from Minneola, FL on 7/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We bought this unit to replace a defective 302 model in our travel trailer. It was easy to connect with the existing wires and plays beautifully. While it does not have a CD player as the original model did, this was not an issue (the defective CD player is what caused us to change for this newer model).

Pros: Easy to install, fit exactly where the previous model did, sounds nice.

Cons: Wires were not labeled, had to download a connection diagram from the internet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Mike from Lake City, FL on 6/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Order arrived quickly, unit is easy to function.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Scott from Madison, OH on 6/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great customer support and always a pleasure dealing with the company

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great stereo for boat

Jack from Ventura, CA on 4/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation and operation. Bluetooth works great! Tuner works great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2012 FLTRX Replacement

Steven from Claremore, OK on 4/17/2023

2012 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great replacement for the Harley Davidson OEM system, it fits great into the OEM carrier with the mounting kit. My reason for rating this at 4 stars and not 5 is the USB/Flash Drive function. I needed to reformat all of my music to get the system to recognize the Flash Drive, which I did not need to do with any of my other vehicles ... wasn't a real big issue, just time consuming and should not need to be done. The USB/Flash Drive feature was the driving force in my purchase of this system.

Pros: Great appearance, sound quality, and fitment

Cons: USB/Flash Drive unnecessary formatting

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good Unit

Thomas from Wallkill, NY on 4/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to replace a non-functioning Clarion CMD5 in my boat. With this unit the existing wired remotes will still work (with 6 to 8 pin adapters). The unit is very good, feels solid, looks great, not all cluttered with insipid neon flashing displays. Installation went easy. I rated 4 stars for two reasons, I feel this unit could be a bit less expensive, and when on Bluetooth the volume isn't controlled by the cell phone which to me is important. I can control volume on the phone when I plug a Bluetooth adapter in the front plug (which is better as the internal BT is only version 3, so I can use a version 5 BT adapter) but I would rather have it functional on the internal BT. I am happy with my purchase. It works great. looks good, and my two remotes still work. Also, Crutchfield is the best site for researching audio, thank you

Pros: Existing Clarion wired remotes work. (older ones with an adapter)

Cons: No device - controlled volume when on Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Wesley from Olathe, KS on 2/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product and delivered just as described.

Pros: Easy installation. Quality product.

Cons: No real install instruction in box. It wasn't hard to figure out though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A good Marine radio

Johan Paramo from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 11/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Joe from Minocqua, WI on 10/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good reception, sound quality is good, blue tooth works well, menus aren't to hard to figure out. The display is a little too bright for me when driving in the dark but can easily be turned off by pressing and holding the volume knob in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Unit - No Zone 2 Volumne control

Mark from Wylie, TX on 10/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great overall features. Simple to install and good value for money. Previous reviewer said there is no sub or balance / fade controls. Not sure what he's on about, but htis has all those features and they work great. Maybe he wired his sub directly to the L/R speaker outputs - who knows. But anyway, the only reason its 4 and not 5 stars is no zone 2 volume control. I wish I would have read the otehr review that mentioned that before I bought and installed, but there are ways around that challange. If I didn't need zone 2 volume control this would be 5 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Better than Expected

Jennifer from Dayton, OH on 8/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product was better than expected. It came packaged well, was easy to install and has incredible sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound

Jeffrey from Paragould, AR on 8/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Michael from Davisburg, MI on 7/4/2022

2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds a lot better than the stock radio, love it so far easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Blake from North Liberty, IA on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade from the older model M303

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good unit with limitations

Gregory from Bradenton, FL on 6/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm mostly happy with this unit. It is good quality and working very well, but there are some issue that I have with it. The installation instructions are limited. I had to go online and search for a useful schematic. I also had to call a tech to help me with hooking it up to my mb quart 5 channel amp. I would have not been able to do so without their help. There is no balance/fade capability, or a way of adjusting the sub-woofer. I had to set my sub loudness/level at a compromise level. No matter what volume I play music the sub volume remains the same.

Pros: Works well Good quality

Cons: Limited or no ability to fade main speakers or adjust volume of sub woofer

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Thomas from Leesburg, IN on 6/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound easy to operate . and it works with my MR2 remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Brad from Brandon, MS on 6/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds Great. I replaced a Clarion M303 due to a short in the removable faceplate and the M508 plugged in to the old wiring harness. I'm running it with same amp I was using with the 303 and the sound is so much louder and clear. Haven't had the boat out yet but just the sound difference while parked is amazing. Not being able to control the zone 2 volume is a negative but not a deal breaker. I ordered the separate RCA volume control but not using it at the moment as I like to control the volume with the remote while in the water behind the boat. My old Clarion MF1 remote plugged in and works with the 508 fine. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase. 4 starts instead of 5 due to no zone 2 volume control.

Pros: Sound Ease of installation using old harness

Cons: No zone 2 volume control

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No volume control with iphone

Kenneth from HERRIMAN, UT on 5/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can not control volume with iPhone when using Bluetooth or usb. Otherwise it's a good head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Ryan from Carrollton, GA on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely helpful over the phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good looking for my application

Vernon from Sun City West, AZ on 4/26/2022

2008 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the head unit but it is having so issues the bass/mid/treb has to be reset every time you turn it on and it's not the memory lead because you don't lose presets and the bass goes to 7 and the mid goes to 3 and the treble goes to 0 also the QEB goes to flat but when I get back from vacation it will have to be replaced if they have any in stock.

Pros: Fits and look good sounds good

Cons: Has problems with memory issues

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

The best

Gregory from Sebastian, FL on 4/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My thanks to Noel for a great package deal. I'd also like to thank Eli for the tech support! Unfortunately, I fell from a step stool last night and fractured my wrist. So most of my remaining completion will be on hold.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Ottsville, PA on 10/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice radio at a decent price. Fit nicely in the original space, no modifications necessary, easy setup with wiring harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, TX on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio, works well with my two wired remotes

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product so far sounds and works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Dyersburg, TN on 9/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The controls are easy to use and setup was a breeze. The sound is so much better than the Kenwood I had previously.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Haslet, TX on 8/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After getting my used new boat the owner put in a cheap stereo so i replaced it with the Clarion M508 and no everything in my boat works including the remote controls, this stereo is so easy to use and control all the settings.

Pros: Easy installation, direct fit. Looks good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Coeur D Alene, ID on 6/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't beat this head unit for the price. Easy install, sounds good out of the box. Display is easily readable in all conditions including bright sunlight. Volume/multi-function know is easy to use even the boat is at cruising speed. The eight (8) pre-outs (front, rear, subwoofer, line level) allow for installation of zone controls; the set of line level preouts allows installation of a two zone level/volume switch (separate product); so I can have 3 separate zones for volume control (main cabin, front/open bow, and back/transom and have separate subwoofer control too, all easily controlled.

Pros: Display visibility, extra preouts for zone control, easy to use controls, front aux connections

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellet Reciever

Crutchfield customer from Waltham, MA on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head-unit. Everything I wanted in a marine 1-din receiver. Only complaint is Clarion changed the wiring harness from my 2000 head unit to this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee Msn, KS on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Slid in perfectly and works great

Pros: Good price good sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works in a Grand Wagoneer

Timothy from SALT LAKE CITY, UT on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install into a 1987 Jeep Grand Wagoneer. Be sure to save the OEM stereo bracket and use it on this unit to reinstall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, WA on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Second attempt at this head unit. First one lasted 2yrs and died. Also the 2nd zone is not selectable and set at max volume always. You have to buy a separate volume knob if you don't want max volume.

Pros: Bluetooth and RCA outs.

Cons: No zone 2 adjustments

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great service, nice sound and display

Chad from Jupiter, FL on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield sent me this unit with free two day shipping while I hadn't even returned another product I wasn't happy with, which was returned later with a free shipping label. I was very impressed with the quick and helpful customer service as we were troubleshooting the other product I returned. I love the simplicity of the Bluetooth connection on this, and it has no problem pushing the two 6.5" Kicker marine speakers on my boat, loud and clear enough to enjoy while cruising with an outboard engine. The display is nice and visible even during the day, looks better than the photos online.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 4/12/2021

2011 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding unit. Simple to use and very inexpensive. Used in my offroad vehicle and am looking forward to see how this marine grade radio stands up to the elements.

Pros: good looking inexpensive

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great head unit, needs zone 2 volume control

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 3/18/2021

2001 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this head unit to replace the original Clarion CMD6 in my Nautique in an effort to get updated features such as bluetooth capabilities. Although the original CMD6 looks like a 2 din receiver, it is actually a 1 din so the cutout in the glove box was a direct fit for the M508. One of the main reasons I wanted to stick with Clarion is to get a modern head unit that is compatible with the existing Clarion MW1 remote on the dash. I was also interested in the two zone capability to put the tower speakers on the second zone. This is where the m508 lost a star. While it is true, the m508 has outputs for a second zone, the issue is that the m508 does not have volume control for the zone2 outputs. If you hook up speakers to the zone 2 output, you basically get full volume with no way to control it. The owners manual is silent on its zone2 capabilities so I had to figure it out the hard way. Actually, I called Crutchfield Tech Support, and they helped me figure out the issue. For now, I am powering the 6 cockpit speakers through 1 set of preamp outputs and the tower speaker through the 2nd set of preamp outputs. I ordered a . Roswell Dual Zone Volume Control so I can control the volume of the tower speakers independently of the cockpit speakers. The m508 delivers very clear sound. The bluetooth works great. The interface is very straigh forward. Overall, I am happy with this purchase although I wish it had built-in zone 2 volume control.

Pros: Clear sound, simple interface, bluetooth, compatible with Clarion wired remotes

Cons: No Zone 2 volume control

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great stereo for a multi-component system.

John from ABINGDON, VA on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well built for marine duty and sounds great. Mine is connected to a 6 channel amplifier and a powered subwoofer. It interfaces very well in this configuration and seems to be designed to correctly handle this application.

Pros: Great stereo for multi-component system. I would buy it again.

Cons: Like all single DIN units, the display is small and navigation has a learning curve.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Grosse Pointe, MI on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This has been an easy swap with my older Clarion M5475.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Stereo.

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 3/14/2021

1979 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love this head unit. Simple, yet intuitive and equipped with everything I want. I put this in an '82 Jeep Cherokee and it goes well with it's simple, pseudo-vintage feel. Blutooth works well for playing music and answering calls. I have yet to figure out how to activate siri like it claims, but I'm sure I could call JL and they would walk me through it. Great customer service.

Pros: intuitive, no colors or wacky display - everything is white and sleek & straight-forward.

Cons: No CD player

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

M508

Crutchfield customer from Owasso, OK on 3/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was a major upgrade from the M303. The sound quality coming through is way more clear and the Bluetooth is great.

Pros: I was able to unplug the old Clarion M303 and plug the new M508 in with the same connector. Didnt have to rewire the new stereo adapter in.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Annoying beeping when adjusting volume?

Alistair from columbia, sc on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo but limited settings. Unless I am missing something, I cannot figure out how to turn the beep off when adjusting the volume. Can anyone help me with that?

Pros: Great power. Easy to use. Saves all settings and resumes music no matter what source. Great look and quality.

Cons: cannot disable volume beep

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Scott from JEFFERSONVLLE, IN on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Much easier to use and operate than the M303. Very nice piece that works with remote like my stock Baja setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great deal

Crutchfield customer from Chico, TX on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just what I was looking for for a boat install it came with everything I want it and the wiring was easy to connect to the old system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Replaced a 2008

Crutchfield customer from Lake Leelanau, MI on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit perfect to replace a 2008 model.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax Station, VA on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect for my boat stereo. All the features I need at an affordable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Loogootee, IN on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very happy with this unit. I purchased it for my boat in replacement of an older Clarion unit. My older Clarion remotes connect to this unit as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Thornton, CO on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Happy with the radio just wish I could control the volume off my phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good product but cannot control the volume from the iPhone

Carlos from Oakville, ON on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced a Clarion M5675 with a Clarion 5M08 on a 2003 Catalina sailboat. The connectors of the M5675 fir perfectly on the M508 that made the installation a breeze, and Bluetooth works very well, easily connecting to both the iPhone and an Insignia TV. The sound quality is great but it was deceiving to find out that I cannot control the volume from my iPhone although it works from the Insignia TV remote control. I hope there is a software upgrade to address this issue.

Pros: The connectors make the installation a breeze Bluetooth works very well The sound quality is great

Cons: Cannot control the volume from the iPhone

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Grand Haven, MI on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very happy with the new Clarion radio I was looking for something with Bluetooth to replace my older Clarion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

quality in glove box.

Garrett from STOCKTON, CA on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great in my 2005 Chaparral. Connects to the MW3 wired remote, which is made to fit in my console.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, CT on 6/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect for small 22 ft boat. If you want more bass consider amp. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Top notch at a value price point!

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was worried I would "get what I paid for," but my fears were unwarranted. This unit replaced a Wet Sounds unit that crapped out at 5x the cost. Let's see how it holds up to the beatings of LOTO over time. Only complaint visit didn't come with a wiring diagram, but found it on Crutchfield's site.

Pros: 2 zone, 6 channel

Cons: Nada

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Albany, GA on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product and very easy to install. I replaced my old Clarion in my boat with the M508 and was very pleased with the installation. The cables all matched up except for the remote panel. I'm going to order a new remote panel. The customer service I received from Crutchfield was excellent. I highly recommended the product and I will definitely buy from Crutchfield again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New Technology with Amazing Sound!

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We easily installed our new Clarion radio from Crutchfield. It took just minutes and sounds amazing.

Pros: New Technology. Easy Installation. Richer Sound. Better Display.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

Crutchfield customer from Stevens Point, WI on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only in a week but sounds goo

Pros: Easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm so disappointed about the inability to control the volume from my iPhone! I had a Clarion unit before this and added a Bluetooth receiver to the Auxiliary so I could control the below deck unit. Problem was that I had to keep the volume at the head unit cranked up to what maximum sound would be when running at speed. It would inevitably overheat my amps on occasion and I wasn't wanting another summer of that stress on the equipment. Now, I'm right back where I started. Such a disappointment and there's virtually nothing from Clarion on this. Also, I called Crutchfield and told them exactly what I was looking for. This M508 was the answer. Truly frustrated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/27/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect upgrade.

Crutchfield customer from Lenoir, NC on 5/17/2020

1998 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this as a replacement to an old Clarion AM/FM CD receiver. Awesome receiver, it seems very solid and sealed for a wet environment. I am running it in a 2000 MasterCraft with the stock Clarion speakers. It seems to match pretty well power and volume. I'm not running an amp of any kind. The Bluetooth connected seamlessly. I used a 8 pin to 6 pin conversion cord to connect to the wired remote that came in the boat and it seems to work perfectly. For the record, this a boat that we have always stored in doors for the winter and on a covered boat lift while in use. So the existing speakers and remote are still in very good shape.

Pros: Bluetooth connection USB and Aux on the front face Wire color matched up with existing

Cons: This is a personal thing, the wires coming Friday m the wire harness were very thin. I'm not sure how well the will hold up in the wet and rough environment. We shall see.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Southington, CT on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Mount Juliet, TN on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nautique Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Clarkston, MI on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick shipping, easy to install and set up with the existing marine remote. One of the best upgrades for the boat!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Pennsburg, PA on 4/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in an 1989 Ford F350. Solid unit. Bluetooth works fantastically with Android. My old iPhone 5 is actually having some issues with controls. Normally it's the complete opposite. Sounds good, some really nice control features; not the most intuitive, but also not a steep learning curve. You will need to read the manual. USB turns off with radio, I was looking for a single DIN replacement for my truck. Not looking to set the world on fire. My requirements were: bluetooth, fixed face, not Jensen. I think there's about 3 units across all categories that meet that description, this was the least expensive.

Pros: First bluetooth that has ever worked for controlling my androids. Super quick and easy mute function. Pairing is extremely easy. Bright enough to read display in daylight Controls feel solid because it's a fixed face.

Cons: At night the display is brighter than the sun even when dimmed. It's a LOT of cables on the back to stuff into a dashboard.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome unit and great support staff

Crutchfield customer from Califon, NJ on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Completely satisfied with this product and support to install I highly recommend this Clarion product and Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value and looks

Crutchfield customer from La Habra, CA on 4/9/2020

1995 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I absolutely love this head unit. BT reception is strong, looks great In the car (even though it's meant for marine). It looks stock with a hint of aftermarket. Exactly the look I wanted. It's easy to use and the sound quality is good given the built in amp. More than enough for my podcasts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Framingham, MA on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the receiver. Decent price. Replaced my 18 YO Clarion in my boat with this and was happy that the cutout and main power/audio plug didn't change which made installation a breeze. Took a star off because the wired remote control was not compatible and required a new complete cable rerun and a remote control that was almost the cost of the radio. I was able to find an simple adapter online I took a chance on that worked fine. Would have been nice if Crutchfield offered this. I was able to connect it to the new Amazon Echo Auto through bluetooth. No more fumbling with the phone to stream music. Mounted below decks, the FM reception was better than my old one but not great. I ran an longer antenna above and it works a lot better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Apple Valley, MN on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The M508 is awesome! easy to work and sounds amazing!

Pros: bluetooth

Cons: can't control volume from your phone when using bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super easy to install. Looks great, adds a ton of features to my old boat. Cant wait to turn on the XM subscription and jam on the lake!

Pros: Simple intuitive layout. No face-plate to fall off or lose

Cons: No remote is included, no wiring diagrams included.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Cle Elum, WA on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice head that is easy to program and adjust

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Fleming Isle, FL on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice radio and easy to install. Comes with many options. The display is excellent.

Pros: Simple appearance not flashy. Clear sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 8/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been using Clarion marine radios for the pass 20 years, I like the flexibility of the features, like multiple pre amp outputs and and front mounted USB on some models like the M508.

Pros: Multiple preamp outputs Front mounted USB and Aux ports

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded my unit in my Searay. Installed it myself. Great product. Love the new technology. Highly recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Radio easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy a Sony

Crutchfield customer from Kasson, MN on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound was awesome but it did not stand up to the rain at all. Even with a rain cover on it, it failed

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Doesn't stand up to the weather

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio. Easy to install and use. Replaced a 10 year old clarion radio, quite an upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Shreveport, LA on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio, fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit. Nice power and clear sound

Crutchfield customer from Arden, NC on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit. Easy to install and operate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a good buy for the money. The sound is good Bluetooth connection is very clear. Mine is mounted inside the cabin of my cruiser. When I'm topside, I only get about 10' of range on the Bluetooth. The signal has to travel through a cabinet and the exterior wall of the cabin. If the unit was mounted topside with no instructions, I'm guessing the range would be better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Lilburn, GA on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. Good to see Clarion back with a product line that hold the quality the name held for so many years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Burnsville, MN on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Feature packed radio installed and performed exactly as stated when I purchased this unit from you. I've had a great experience with everyone I've talked to at Crutchfield, very well done

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Lenexa, KS on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit, easy operation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

boat

Crutchfield customer from Waukegan, IL on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sounds great great support

Pros: all

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No zone control

Robert from Craig, CO on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Says it has zone control does not have zone control requires other knobs to make it zone control misleading by clarion!!Not an issue with Crutchfield they worked with me on it and we figured out that it requires additional parts to operate as zone control.

Pros:

Cons: Will not even operate the volume from your preouts only the solid speaker wore coming out the back

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Ridgeway, SC on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced the head unit on my boat. This unit works well and plugged directly into the harness on the boat. I did have to use an adapter cable for the remotes to work

Pros: Has Bluetooth and usb for the iPod along with three sets of rca outs so I can ad an amp easily

Cons: New connections for the remotes and Sirius require different cable ends that are very hard to find

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Grey Eagle, MN on 6/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The services from Crutchield were awesome. I was not as impressed with the product which is not their fault. No manuals or instruction in the box. Yes I can look them all up online- but that is just more of my time to mess around to find the info.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This is the head unit you are looking for.

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great and well designed head unit. We like it so much we ordered two of them. This one was exchanged for another highly rated head. It sounds so nice we might not even need to install the sub we ordered. The RF remote is the icing on the cake. The range is wonderful.

Pros: Easy to use RF or wired remote Sounds great with plenty of power.

Cons: C

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Read up on the 2 zone control!!!!!

Peter from Raleigh on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clarion and Fusion are currently the ONLY 2 brands that truly make a MARINE rated head unit that will not internally corrode out with normal use and care even in fresh water. I went with this unit due to the # of outputs and a direct USB plug in on the faceplate. The audio output from this unit is fantastic, bluetooth works like a champ and it is a very good radio. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars and what you need to be aware of if you fall into the same situation is that this is clearly labeled/advertised and spec'd as a "2 zone operation" radio...... yes it has a designated zone 2 output with ONE rca preout but there is NO details in the specification/owners manual or menu's of the radio for this feature. You HAVE to get a SEPERATE volume control knob such as the roswell dual zone volume control knob to control zone 2 volume, the preout is at full volume and CANNOT be controlled by the head unit, I am running wake tower speakers so I needed this and was why I bought this head unit, if I had known this I would have gone with a Fusion radio with this built in. Otherwise it's a great radio and has all features that you need on a boat. Clarion and JL audio are merging in marine audio is where this lapse in technical specification and clarity is coming from.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Clarkston, MI on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit... worked perfectly for my boat. Used wired remote to drivers dashboard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

M508

Crutchfield customer from Boerne, TX on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clarion M508 has to be one of the most bomb proof head units available. Easily the quickest Bluetooth connection. Clarion / JL should bring back the MW2 into production. That small remote is well needed.

Pros: works like it should

Cons: not exactly splash proof but, does do well on exposed freshwater boats that are covered or dry kept while not in use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MidMO Boater

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson City, MO on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio sounds good, has a clean layout, buttons are easily accessible, and has a rotary volume knob instead of push-buttons. There is also an optional wired and wireless remote available.

Pros: Great sound Easy install Lots of pre-amp outputs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product!

Derrick from Washington, DC on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love this receiver! It is a very elegant product. I like how it blends in. It does everything that a modern stereo should (Bluetooth, SiriusXM, FM, Pandora, Aux in, USB) but it is not flashy. It will even connect to the NMEA 2000 network and has an option for iOS app based remote. The installation instructions were easy enough to follow and it has been performing very well for the last month. I use the built in amp for the cabin speakers (JL Audio6.5 in) and the pre-amp outputs for the fly bridge speakers and a sub.

Pros: Simple and elegant looks, pre-amp and amp speaker output, supports pretty much every music source available

Cons: The screen is simple and small so it might be difficult to read text (but why do I need to read the screen when I'm streaming from my phone?)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Satellite Beach, FL on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Easy to use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Nice and simple

Crutchfield customer from Alpine, UT on 8/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install was a BREEZE!! (although previous deck was also an older Clarion). Connected to speakers, remotes, amp with little trouble. Easy to use, clear display. Not the least expensive one out there but after a month, no complaints, probs or difficulties.

Pros: Simple to operate, connectivity was great.

Cons: A little expensive.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Scott from Skaneateles, ny on 7/17/2018

2011 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install was a breeze and the unit sounds great. Bluetooth range is awesome...I walked 40 ft away in my driveway and it didn't drop. Very happy so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, MA on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not bad. The settings and controls are confusing. Cannot use my andriod phone via USB, but Apple works. Inuse Bluetooth. Does not come with an xmradio antenna. Overall good purchase.

Pros: Easy swap from my old Clarion. They still use the same harness plug.

Cons: No usb with andriod. Menu clunky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Simple to use

Pete from Wichita, KS on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, just spliced the wires to the matching colors since I didn't have an adapter. This device is simply to use and easy controls to follow. It connects directly to Pandora so I can rate the song from the device. The menu is very clear and easy to navigate through. The mute is the volume button, which is awesome! The Bluetooth is the easiest I have seen for a head unit and it displays what is connected so you are not trying to figure out who's device it is.

Pros: Mute button is the volume knob, easy to connect Bluetooth and displays what is connected

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great stereo for boating

Laura from Bay Village, OH on 6/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio for a reasonable price. I had the m303 on my other boat. I purchased this one as an upgrade to my new boat. Easy to use and comparable with my iPod.

Pros: Easy to use. Bluetooth.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect for everyday

Brandon from Burlington, NC on 6/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Money well spent

Pros: Don't have to use aux cord for music but you can if need be

Cons: You must buy a microphone for you to be able to talk on the phone and hear it from speakers so it kinda forces you to talk on speakerphone

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Sw Ranches, FL on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound