Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha CD-C603

Yamaha CD-C603 5-disc CD changer with front-panel USB input

MFR # CD-C603BL

4.5 out of 5 stars
12 reviews
View this product
CD C603

Dave from Port St Lucie, FL on 2/27/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceptional sound quality but lacking in functionality. Cannot load the last two cd's without having to slide them under a portion of the unit. Most importantly the unit does not randomize the play function of all five cd's, random function only applies to one cd at a time negating the value of the cd unit. Highly disappointed in Yamaha, having waited years for them to reintroduce a multi disc cd changer

Pros: Excellent sound quality

Cons: Random function only works with one disc at a time. High price point

Crutchfield response on 2/28/2024
Dave contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-C603

Royal from Richmond, VA on 2/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The CD player itself works very well. Sounds great , mechanically sound and looks good. I'm disappointed that it didn't come with a HDMI connector instead of RCA connectors. My biggest complaint is the remote control. The problem is the visibility of the lettering on the remote. The remote is light gray and the letters are very small and not much contrast with the color of the remote. I find myself holding the remote under a lamp to be able to read the letters.

Pros: Sounds good.

Cons: Poorly designed remote control. No HDMI connection.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-C603

Billy from Ponce, PR on 2/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Me esta funcionando muy bien, muchas Gracias.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Snap it up!

Paul from New York, NY on 2/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The unit looks simple and elegant, and it is! No extraneous buttons or geegaws on either the unit or its remote. The opening, closing, and disk rotation are remarkably smooth and silent. It comes with a real old-fashioned paper installation/operation guide which I thought I'd never experience again. The packaging contained no extra materials, so clean up was easy. Simple installation: just the RCA connector cable (included) to my receiver, and plug it in. My only quibble (besides the price) is that it takes a bit longer to read a cd than it should. As this is currently (early 2024) the only 5-disk player on the market, snap it up if you need one. I doubt anyone would be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Band New 2023 5 CD Changer fromYamaha

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Land, TX on 2/13/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great replacement for my old Sony 5 CD changer which has since failed by failing to read and advance tracks. To replace my old unit I would need to get a refurbished unit. This Yamaha unit is brand new as of December 2023 and I expect it to last many more years. I like everything about the unit especially the way 4 disks are visible at once when the drawer is open. The sound is great. My old Sony was SACD/CD. This one is not but I only have a couple SACD recordings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-C603

Charles from Greenwich, CT on 2/5/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does everything it is supposed to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-C603

Kathy from Indianola, IA on 2/3/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to hook up. Works great, looks great, sounds great!!! Love that I can load 5 CD's and just sit back and listen.

Pros: Like everything about it.

Cons: No dislikes.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-C603

Charlie from Clark, NJ on 2/1/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great. Works great. Sounds great. I'm very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Top quality multi disc player.

Kevin from Yakima, WA on 1/30/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been waiting for quite awhile for some manufacturer to offer a QUALITY multi disc changer. The wait is finally over. I owned the earlier CD600 that I flat wore out from use. This unit has some nice upgrades, like the front USB port. Many of us have spent countless dollars over the years to build our CD libraries. Now there is a quality player we can use that we don't have to change the disc often. Very pleased with this player. I have already logged many hours of use without any issues. Great quality playback, unlike the lesser quality multi disc player this unit is replacing. Hopefully other manufacturers will take notice and market more choices for a quality multi disc player. Thumbs up to Yamaha. I highly recommend.

Pros: Five disc capacity with play exchange. Quality DA converter great play back quality.

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Possible Issues

Marcus from Marysville, WA on 1/26/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This CD player seems fine, but I have noticed a couple of things about it that don't seem quite right. 1: You can't advance the tray when you are putting CDs in. You have to slide the 4th and 5th CD in under the cover because the tray doesn't come all the way out or advance so that those two CDs and be easily placed in the tray. 2: The tray seems to catch when it closes. It seems to momentarily hang up on the side and then it slides in smoothly. I don't know if either of these issues are normal or if there is something wrong with my new CD player. If anyone has any information regarding these two possible issues, I would appreciate some feedback.

Pros: Good sound quality.

Cons: See review above.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

It's not as random as its predecessor.

Jay from Mathews, VA on 1/21/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the CD player as it matches my other Yamaha components - a dual cassette tape deck and receiver - and it plays fine. However, unlike its predecessor (a Yamaha CD-C600 which finally died on me), when using the random function, it only plays one CD at a time random; the older model played random selections across all 5 discs. I thought this one would do the same thing, and I am VERY disappointed that it does not. You would think a newer model would keep the same functionality,rather than take it away, which is a step back. Had I known this at the time of purchase, I might have made an altogether decision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/5/2024
According to the manual pressing the MODE button will switch this from single disc to all disc random mode.

11 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-C603

Lawrence from CHICAGO, IL on 1/20/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick impressions: the CD-C600 and 603 look and spec out as almost identical. In fact the CD-C600 fits perfectly in the 603 box. Remotes are identical, so I made sure I labeled them. As expected the 603 does not support IPOD any longer which is no big deal. I have no files to test on the USB so no comment there. The unit comes with a detailed printed manual!!!!! So refreshing. I've been playing classical and jazz on Pure Direct Mode all afternoon. Unit sits on Herbie's soft fat dots in a rack isolated with Herbie's Fat Gliders. I also have a Herbie's Supersonic Stabilizer on the unit. Set-up is CD-C 603 to Rotel RSX 1562 Receiver to Rotel RB1582 Amp to B&WCM10. Interconnects are Evergreen. The physical operation is smooth and quiet. Detail, dynamic range and soundstage are excellent. I have not yet done an A/B with my Marantz 6007 but the Yamaha's presentation is very musical. I did buy the extended warranty from Crutchfield but if my experience with the 600 is any indication, this will also be a reliable unit. My current CD-C 600 will migrate to my man cave system. Overall I'm very pleased. Buy with confidence.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

Compare the sound