Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A 7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-A2ABL

4.5 out of 5 stars
126 reviews
View this product
Happy with RXA2A

Craig from Overland Park, KS on 4/12/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After having Denon receivers for 30 years I went with the advice of Crutchfield staff and am very happy with the Yamaha RX-A2A. It was easy to set up and use, sounds great, and has good power to drive my home theater. Rock on Crutchfield! - Thanks for the good experience!

Pros: Sounds great with minimal setup, Nice look, Network capabilities

Cons: Display is okay but not inspiring

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Never guessed this could happen

Jarret from Plainwell, MI on 4/2/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After I got everything hooked up, I plugged in the power cord and it fell right back off. I had to hold it in place to even do a test but little I ran it. It sounded good but I had to return don't want to chance of fire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Michael from Murrysville, PA on 3/27/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceeded my expectations. Great sound and easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Gary from Homosassa, FL on 3/26/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up but under powered.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Livin' on the Edge

James Curtis from N Myrtle Bch, SC on 3/26/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Setup got a little challenging, but very satisfied with this Reciever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Carlos from Humacao, PR on 3/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it. I always had problem with my marantz room correction software. Know my speakers sound the way they where meant for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best device

Pedro from Boston, MA on 3/25/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The best product out there, I will recommend to all my friends and family

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Look no further

Branden from Indianapolis, IN on 3/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing quality , love all the features , lots of control and flexibility for install or configuration , is 4 ohm stable and makes loud noisezls bettet than my last rig. Love it. As a car audio Enthusiast rarely do I find equipment that offers flexibility as car equipment

Pros: Sounds great tons of Power Forum stable tons of features crossovers Dolby Atmos tons of plugs

Cons: Does not have a DVD player a toaster or coffee maker

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Charles from Williamsburg, VA on 3/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sirius XM you can not stream directly from the receiver you have to use a phone or Ipad to stream

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

Great sound, poor U/I

Jonathan from Redondo Beach, CA on 3/18/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not a great user interface. The last version of the Aventage receivers and the Denon have much easier setup, control and display for your need. However, the sound is excellent.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: User Interface for setup, etc.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Christopher from Cameron Park, CA on 3/15/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to set up and it made all the calibrations for the room easily. Plenty of power and just upgraded from a Denon 5.2 to this 7.2 system. MusicCast app seems to work great for me on Android and my wife on iOS.

Pros: Easy setup Clear sound great price for 7.2

Cons: little tight using speaker wires without them touching. Banana plugs went in easy

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 3/4/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and excellent features. Functioning as the centerpiece of my home audio and home theater system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Versatile and great sounding

Lorelei from Live Oak, FL on 3/1/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver is very versatile, supporting a wide array of technologies and inputs/outputs. The sound quality is fantastic! I always buy my sound system components from Crutchfield, due to their reliable tech and customer support.

Pros: Good value

Cons: Not discovered yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Claire from Fort Myers, FL on 2/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just got my receiver set up yesterday. So, leaning and getting used to the sound and flexibility and features. So far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

First impressions after replacing RX-A770

STEVEN from Kihei, HI on 1/16/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First of all, Crutchfield advertises this as 3 day delivery to Hawaii. Tracking through USPS said it would be 7 days. However, the unit got here in the 3 days as advertised! Kudos to Crutchfield! They've done this same thing with speaker and other orders I've placed. As for the Yamaha RX-A2A, I've only had it for a few days so far and am working on getting things set up. This is to replace a failed Yamaha RX-A770 and it's taking awhile to figure out as several of the other reviews have pointed out. Not having a printed manual means several trips back and forth to the desktop to look for more info. The quick start guide talks about hooking up some peripherals such as a DVD player. The instructions in the Quick Start guide are not the same as the online manual but I'll fudge my way through this. Have not done the YPAO setup as of yet due to too much extraneous noise in this neighborhood but the defaults have been ok for some settings, although I think having a baseline set by YPAO will help. One of my concerns was how some reviews talked about how small the settings display is on the A2A itself. I was concerned about this because the display on the A770 was nice and readable. Yes, this display is smaller but I haven't found it to be a problem even though my wife said "boy, that's small". Overall, the setup has been flawless but it WILL take some time to get everything "just exactly perfect" (as Bob Weir would say).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Jeff from MILTON, KY on 1/5/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Main reason for low score is purchase at time included a $100 Crutchfield gift card. It has been a month and a half a no card. The receiver has a very clean sound with plenty of power to drive large speakers. After all the hookups and setup with surround sound directed to my recliner I got goose bumps after cranking it up, best sound I've had. Replaced a Harmon Kardon. Agree with all on the owner's manual. It is challenging to find what you are looking for and seems like it was written by AI and not a human. Struggled with figuring out how to set surround to achieve Dolby and Dolby atmos. Word of caution: I had a 7:1 setup with current speakers. Thought you used rear surrounds as Atmos. Not really the case. Technically you use 9 speakers and Atmos alternates between rear surround and overhead or wall speakers. Added two Klipsch overheads and sounds is great. Also, to get ATMOs streaming, Roku won't work. Had to upgrade to Apple TV which is capable of decoding and sending signal to amp. So, bought the amp, then had to buy speakers (w/o above stated gift card), wiring pulls, and then an Apple TV box. Still worth it in the long run. Not sure I will ever fully understand how to run this thing but have it setup well enough for my needs. I have been a Crutchfield customer for decades. Bummed on the gift card deal, bit of a letdown from a great company.

Pros: Crisp, clean sound plenty of power Clean design Great bang for the buck

Cons: Surround sound selection confusing Owner's manual is a 300 page nightmare No backlit remote control

Crutchfield response on 1/24/2024
Hi Jeff! I'm glad to hear that the Yamaha is working out for you. Sorry again about the confusion with the gift card. We provided instructions for the gift card via email initially, but I know that can be easy to miss. We've applied the gift card retroactively to your other order as discussed. The refund should already be processed. If you need anything else at all, don't hesitate to reach back out.

10 of 13 found this helpful

Becoming a favorite

Jeffrey from Lakeville, MN on 1/2/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am using this receiver primarily for a living room surround sound for TV and music. I moved from a Marantz 7 channel receiver with similar power to this Yamaha. I have Bose speakers in a 7.1 configuration. I noticed better separation of sound through the Yamaha. More distinctive if you will. The upper end doesn't seem as loud but is still clear. The setup was relatively easy. Similar microphone setup procedure as Denon/Marantz. I did find that the balance of sound from front to back was better with the Yamaha. This aids in the separation of sound and detail that I'm experiencing with the Yamaha. The Yamaha doesn't run as hot as the Marantz which is nice. I liked the menus and on-screen selections better with the Marantz. It felt more extensive in the sound options, apps, and ease of use. The remote control is disappointing. Lacks input buttons and requires you to toggle through various inputs. Lastly. I like that my Directv remote can tune in the receiver. Marantz, that did not happen. Although the RF effect of the remote worked with the Marantz and volume. It does not with the Yamaha. Overall, I'm happy. I plan to purchase another when the basement is ready because of the sound quality.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Menus and remote

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Eliot from Forest Hill, MD on 12/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice receiver and appears well made. At first I wasn't sure the extra money was worth it, but after listening to the difference in sound separation and amplification, I knew I made the right choice. It was a nice upgrade from my old Onkyo in that it has Bluetooth and Wi-Fi. I also like that it takes over some key function's of the other equipment, requiring less jumping from one remote to another. Hook up was very straightforward, except for the speaker wires. Suggesting or even including banana clips would be a huge plus. One challenge was that I couldn't find anything in the Yamaha literature that went over basic operation - in laymen's terms. Because I am not very knowledgeable in home theater receivers, I searched YouTube to learn basic operation. Overall, very pleased with the purchase and learning more about what it can do most every time I use it.

Pros: Very clear on how to hook up Great sound separation Wi Fi set up was super easy Controls other equipment seamlessly

Cons: Needs some literature on basic features and operation Throw in some banana clips to ease speaker wire hook up

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Bruce from IA on 12/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great so far

Pros: Sounds great Pictures is awesome

Cons: No manual

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Matthew from Oakland, MD on 12/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome receiver. Lots of power , easy to use controller and good directions on hooking it up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great receiver

Guy Edward from Spring Hill, FL on 12/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A860 back in 2016 and have loved this receiver. It is still working perfectly so I decided to stay with Yamaha for my Florida home and purchased the RX-A2A and it does not disappoint. The music and sound from movies is so crisp and clear it gives you chills. Crutchfield is my all-time favorite company for this type of purchases as they are always ready to help with any and all issues with the equipment no matter how old. The systems can be challenging to setup at times as the manuals do not come with the unit as most new products do not the manuals are usually online nowadays.

Pros: Great sound, good price, nice app

Cons: No hard copy manual

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Charlie from BRIGHTON, MI on 12/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds amazing, very easy setup, highly recommend!

Pros: Easy setup, more than enough power, looks great

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

very disappointed so far

Gregory from Shelby, MI on 12/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

avoid. the owner's manual doesn't explain any of the features - so you have read message boards to try to figure anything out. voice dialogue suddenly dropped. I'll be calling Crutchfield tech support to see if we can figure out how to adjust the settings; I'll give this thing another day and then I'll return it.

Pros: looks cool

Cons: horrible owners manual (doesn't come with one) YPAO is terrible - I ran this tool and now I have no voice dialogue The settings are super complicated to figure out.

Crutchfield response on 12/12/2023
Gregory contacted our Tech Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 6 found this helpful

Disappointed

Myron from Tipton, IN on 12/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I don't no why my RX-A2A quit working was fine for two days then the 3 rd nothing worked got a return authorization to Crutchfield and they're sending me another unit. It's extremely puzzling but at least I'm getting another one hats off to Crutchfield I hope the second one proves to be the one I get to keep. That's the only reason why I gave it one star when it was operating it was fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Scooter263

Wilbur from Fort Mill, SC on 12/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This replaced my Onkyo SR494, I am extremely satisfied with sound, quality, and it's capabilities.

Pros: Wouldn't change a thing

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound!

Ryan from Waseca, MN on 11/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After running Sony AV receivers my whole life I decide to upgrade my 12 year old receiver. I was only running Dolby TrueHD but wanted to get something that had 4K pass through and Dolby Atmos. I watch a lot of movies and listen to Music so I wanted something with added power and dynamic sound fields. I looked at many different brands including Marantz and Denon. The Yamaha had exactly what I wanted. It was the right price point and had everything I wanted to complete my 5.2.2 Atmos system. I have this connected to Klipsch Reference Premier speakers and the sound is outstanding! The sound is rich, immersive and the sound fields are great. I love the Scene settings for simple switching between inputs and sound fields. If your looking for an incredible sounding receiver and want to stay under $1000 than the Yamaha Aventage RX A2A is perfect.

Pros: Rich Sound and simple to use!

Cons: No backlit remote.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Jeffrey from Peachtree City, GA on 11/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my fifth Yamaha receiver/amp. I really like the sound and functionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Ron from Mint Hill, NC on 10/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good; Audio performs well.....clear, tight sound from surround speakers, and Sub Woofer. NOT so good: Do not like how Yamaha established "sign on" protocol. I use cable box for TV. Recv. has to be manually instructed to search for "Set Top Box" for TV viewing. RC

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Zach from Reynolds, IL on 10/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Still working through this brand new product and the "party mode" really tripped me up when paired with MusicCast but figuring it out and very excited.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Steve from Philpot, KY on 10/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Im really enjoying this new Yamaha receiver. My old polk speakers have come alive.

Pros: Plenty of power for me and I like the zone2 switch on the remote. Great purchase.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Mike from Lewis Center, OH on 10/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit & Finish exceeded expectations. Spoke with Customer Service to assist with initial set up and was able to watch our first movie within 5 minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Elevate Your Home Entertainment

Michael from CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA on 8/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Get ready to turn your living room into a blockbuster haven with the Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A 7.2-channel home theater receiver. This sleek and sophisticated powerhouse is your golden ticket to a world of immersive entertainment. Equipped with cutting-edge HDMI 2.1 technology, the RX-A2A boasts seven HDMI 2.1 inputs and one output, delivering a visual feast of 4K and 8K Ultra-HD content with vibrant colors and stunning clarity. HDR support, including HDR10, Dolby Vision, and HDR10+, adds depth and realism to every frame, while its ability to handle 4K @ 120 frames per second and 8K @ 60 frames per second ensures smooth motion that's a treat for cinephiles and gamers alike. The audio experience is equally mesmerizing, thanks to the 7-channel amplifier pumping out 100 watts per channel. Dolby Atmos and DTS:X processing take you on an auditory adventure, surrounding you with captivating soundscapes that elevate your home theater to new heights. For the tech-savvy, the RX-A2A offers a host of features tailored to modern entertainment. Auto Low Latency Mode (ALLM), Variable Refresh Rate (VRR), and Quick Frame Transport (QFT) ensure seamless gaming sessions, free from lag and interruptions. Streaming your favorite tunes is a breeze, with built-in Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and Apple AirPlay 2, while vinyl enthusiasts will appreciate the MM phono input. In a nutshell, the Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A is your passport to a world of captivating entertainment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Sandy, UT on 8/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sweet receiver. Once set up, controls my tv, Apple TV, Xbox, and phono. Major upgrade from my old Bose.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I like to stay updated in tech.

Gary from Makanda, IL on 7/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have always had good luck with Yamaha receivers. I upgraded to 120 hz from my 60 hz 1070. I would have bought the A4A except it is too deep for my entertainment center and would hang off the front. My tv is 120 hz and I didn't realize I was getting downgraded on hz by running it through my 1070. I have already noticed the difference in a smoother picture and can't wait to get a new lg g3 to upgrade my tv.

Pros: It's a Yamaha, you can't go wrong.

Cons: The ports for the speakers and the hdmi are on the opposite side of my old 1070. It took a little while longer to transfer the speaker wires from the 1070 to the A2A.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

James H. from GALLATIN, TN on 7/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Received Yamaha RX-A2A receiver on April 21,2023 , unit seemed to work fine for about three hours, after which unit shut off, and would not power up again. Next day, the RX-A2A receiver powered up, for approximately 30 minutes and shut off again, for no reason known to me?? Now unit will not power up at all. I have contacted Yamaha support.

Pros: Yamaha brand

Cons: Lemon

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Arnold from Kerrville, TX on 6/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Defective unit, it is now being replaced

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Disappointed and Broken

Justin from Spokane, WA on 4/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was an early adopter. It shipped with missing AV features for HDMI 2.1 which it later added. It would not work properly with HDR. Yamaha issues a board swap. I sent it in and it was returned in a timely manner. However, after many Hardware bio updates, it cannot switch back and forth between my PC watching youtube content and my PS5 without me resetting the input from the 8k setting and back again to get a picture. It simply sits on a black screen, and no input from my controller on the PS5 or my mouse and keyboard can wake it up. It's very frustrating. I suggest you buy a different brand or model. My experience with Yamaha is tarnished. I cannot reccomend, sad to say.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/24/2023
Justin, we're sorry you're having issues with your DAC. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or give you information on the 2-year warranty on this item. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

11 of 12 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Lawrence from Carmel, IN on 4/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this receiver, and its reasonable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

The best i heard

Peter from ENSENADA, PR on 4/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome sound big power operating at low volume it blew my Mind with the correct speakers setup the hall echo for Stereo music is amassing

Pros: Awesome Sound and 2 zone music function

Cons: Plastic grill in my opinion it should be metal so it can last longer

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Skip this one and try the A4A

Aldric from Dora, AL on 3/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit sounded ok, but sometimes the sound would change on its own and become a little muted, muffled. I think my unit was buggy. I could power off the unit for a few mins to restore the sound back to normal. I swapped this for a Marantz SR5015 and I think I prefer the Yamaha's sound mated to Focal Chora 826 towers. The Marantz was smoother, had more defined bass. The Yamaha had better midrange and separation of instruments and vocals. I think I'll try the A4A version since it has a different dac, internals, and a uses a different version of YPAO room correction than the R2A.

Pros: Good neutral presentation of my music. Everything sounded natural (when it worked).

Cons: Sound became muffled on several jam sessions. I would have to power off the receiver for a few mins to get the sound restored. Music cast functionality was a little flaky on my Android phone.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Scott from San Diego, CA on 2/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's fantastic!! I used the bi-amp feature and the sound is amazing

Pros: Sound

Cons: Advanced technical software. Very technical

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

A Great Receiver

Bill from Golden, CO on 2/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound and wide range of streaming and component input capability. SiriusXM is organically available without extra junk. Chromecast is especially well done for cellphone control, unfortunately not available on Windows (what's with that Yamaha?). Consumes 52 watts for whole house stereo. Included remote and eArc TV connection allows component level tweaking for odd situations, but also a friendly way to install without getting into the weeds. It fits my house perfectly.

Pros: Flawless sound Versatile configurations Chromecast Superb Crutchfield Tech Support (thanks Norman)

Cons: No windows version of Chromecast

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent!

Crutchfield customer from SANTA ROSA, CA on 10/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I waited about 7 months to review. Wanted to see how this all worked before I made comments. Great amp for my surround or just listening to music. With an extra channel for additional room. Incredibly easy app on my phone controls the sound and location. Love the easy integration with other music apps. Can turn on speakers, select room, volume and adjust sound quality all from your phone. But don't let the ease of use fool you. You can adjust just about every aspect of sound as well. After setting this up for my living room I haven't used the included remote since. I also have this set up with my Samsung Frame TV and it all works flawlessly together. The only negative.It's so easy to use I want to place speakers throughout the house now amd can only do two rooms without expanding. Very impressed with this product for this price point. Highly recommended.

Pros: Easy set up. Great smart home integration. Sound quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Good but with two big flaws

Thomas from Charlotte, NC on 10/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great and can do almost anything. The downloaded manual is pretty good.

Pros: Quality audio, updates automatically (if set to do so).

Cons: Two big flaws: 1. Although it has a zone 2 function, the tv there can't be run through the stereo, although my previous receiver had that capability. Had to buy a sound bar for the zone 2 tv. 2. My previous unit had something I loved: I could run my sonos through a "direct" setting that still allowed me to adjust tone and speaker volume AND run the sub. In that setting, the sound was not treated with "sound hall" effects. I REALLY want that option.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

James from Portsmouth, RI on 9/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound reproduction . It has flexibility to customize it your way but you must take the time to learn how it all works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Brian Thomas from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy Setup. Crisp Sound. Loud. The knob to change to different inputs is too small and not well made. Needed the same knob as volume knob. The names of some inputs on the inputs screen, (for example TV) do not match the names of the inputs on the back of the unit.

Pros: Large Well Made Volume Knob. Strong Sound. 100 Watts of Power.

Cons: The knob to change to different inputs is too small and not well made. Needed the same knob as volume knob. The names of some inputs on the inputs screen, (for example TV) do not match the names of the inputs on the back of the unit.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Bruce from Lancaster, MA on 8/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this to replace an 11 year old Yamaha receiver which was similar. That one worked fine until it was just damaged when there were electrical problems at my house. This new one is quite similar, with some updates. It no longer has analog video inputs, but I am getting a converter for one analog device I have, to plug into an HDMI input.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

"Yamaha you are dead to me as a company"

Joel from BOCA RATON, FL on 8/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I m so angry at Yamaha that I can never buy another product. I have had 3 Aventage receivers. First one HDMI went bad. Had to repair. Second one HDMI went bad - ok, it happens. Third one, refused to do HDR or see Apple 4k at higher Hz. Yamaha knows this. Firmware did not work. Yamaha proposed to repair its HDMI ports for free on all these models . They recommend 3 Yamaha service centers. One near me says "Oh yeah, we heard about that, haven't done one yet". I am buying a Denon today. Done with Yamaha. My experience is not alone.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: What is the point of this receiver if the company repeatedly does not stand by its products.

Crutchfield response on

25 of 28 found this helpful

Garbage

Jason Giraud from WINTHROP, MA on 8/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing just flat out does not work. I have never purchased a receiver as terrible as this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/24/2022
Jason Giraud contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

9 of 22 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Brent from Stockbridge, MI on 7/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic receiver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Nice 7.2 8k receiver.

Jerry from Wapakoneta, OH on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice sound, easy setup, great 7.2 sound controls.

Pros: Great control over sound stage.

Cons: Runs hot but easily controlled with Aircon T9.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Keith from New Lenox, IL on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First my complaints, the Musiccast app is meant only for mobile devices, I do not use my mobiles to play music or videos, so it's a pointless app for me, plus it took me accidentally pushing a button to find the apps associated with Musiccast. The USB feature has a 500 item limit, and it could not find my 64GB thumb drive, and when I put my 128GB thumb drive in it only recognized my folders, it did not recognize the videos I had even though some of them were WMV, as far as the music folders (which hold about 1500 items) it recognized and played the few FLAC files I played. Those aren't really big complaints since there are workarounds for them. The sound is great, I can now hear my rear surrounds. The YPAO system is great for me as its default is for 1 central listening position, instead of forcing me to use other positions, and I am more that satisfied with the results. It took less than 60 seconds for the entire test, though I suggest you use the test tones first to make sure you have your speakers connected correctly. The remote is heavy, I think the Zenith remote we had in the 70s was as heavy, but it has a centrally placed side to side, up or down ring with the center enter button, also the volume / channel buttons are raised for up and concave for down, a nice feature. I took me a while to find out what pure direct and straight meant. I can't speak of the video, my peripherals are hooked to the TV and I just connect the eARC to the AVR. I would recommend this.

Pros: The YPAO system, the sound, the unobtrusive display

Cons: The Musiccast app, the USB limit

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Seriously good sound for the price point.

Tracey from Shalimar, FL on 7/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Smart upgrade over an aging Onkyo TX-SR606 receiver. There is nothing wrong with the Onkyo's performance, but as I get older and my music tastes evolve and expand, I needed something with more audiophile performance without breaking my bank account. This Yamaha does the trick. Set-up is a bit finicky, you must have an HDMI connection to make use of the remote control and menu options. Sound processing and output is everything I hoped it would be. It also has enough power to run a pair of vintage Bose 4001 mid-towers, a pair of Klipsch RB-61's, and a pair of Martin Logan Motion 4i's. I also have the subwoofer pre-outs connected to a vintage Yamaha SW160 and a SVS PB-2000 Pro for a soundstage that can and will rattle the apartment complex. My audio source is a media PC through an optical connection. All source music files are high resolution ripped from original CD's.

Pros: Full rich sound output. More than enough power to fill a large room with beautiful music.

Cons: Slightly finicky set-up using remote control and HDMI connection to a TV/monitor.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not Impressed

Doug from Melbourne Beach on 6/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not impressed. I was expecting much more. My primary use is for movies and the receiver's performance is inferior to my 7-yr old Onkyo receiver that it replaced. The biggest issues are weaker bass and far fewer listening modes. But what is really eating at me is Yamaha's decision to not make volume adjustments visible on the TV screen. Nothing. No up or down arrows or numerical values. It's a crap shoot when adjusting volume. Yes, you can see the volume on the receiver, but unless you're directly in front of the receiver you can't see it. I called customer service on this and they reached out to Yamaha and Yamaha said they wanted a more streamlined experience so they chose not to have volume visible on the TV screen. Lastly, the receiver automatically turns on when I turn on the TV, but doesn't turn off when turning off the TV. Customer Service confirmed this feature isn't available on this receiver - something about standby mode. Again, something my Onkyo did that the newer technology Yamaha receiver doesn't.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/20/2022
Doug, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

17 of 22 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Bob from Sicklerville, NJ on 6/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Its easy to use and the app makes it easier. Had a little trouble setting it up but a quick call to Crutchfield and the excellent tech support walked thru it.

Pros: Easy to operate

Cons: I still like getting manuals with the item

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic Reciever

Keith from East Setauket, NY on 6/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent unit. Intuitive and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Kyle from Fairbanks, AK on 5/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good. So much to learn how do do with this receiver.

Pros:

Cons: No physical manual. Hove to view online. Guess I'm just old school

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Nice Reciever

Donovan from Nampa, ID on 5/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding receiver, it is a good choice. I would like it if some application where installed via android interface with on screen setup for the android app.

Pros: Nice Sound

Cons: Better online music play setup. does not allow for the application to installed on the receiver. Have to send the sound via Bluetooth or cable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

David from Estes Park, CO on 5/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am exceptionally pleased with the Aventage receiver. The receiver setup was remarkably easy and communication between my LG OLED television and the receiver was instant. Crutchfield provided superb buying guidance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice receiver

Roland from St Augustine, FL on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice receiver, a little hard to figure out how to switch to Zone 2 without using the main zone. I believe they could make this a little easier to figure out. The crutchfield representative was very informative during my purchased process, he answered all my questions and even recommended a different model than the one I originally wanted to purchase, explaining the differences between the two models. Very helpful and highly recommend purchasing from crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice

Paul from VERNON, FL on 4/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this because I was happy with the sound of my old Aventage RX-A840. That unit has no eARC or Atmos so I decided to upgrade. No issues with the setup or firmware upgrade. I have a 14' x16' area with Klipsch RP-260F mains, RP-250C center and RP-160M surrounds with Polk RTi-A1 as my Atmos speakers. The amp can drive these speakers much louder than I will ever need. I was curious if I could tell a difference by running a power amp on the mains since I don't ever try to reach reference level. I have a Yamaha R-S700 receiver that can be configured as a power amp (100W x 2) so I tried it. It made a very noticeable difference in the dynamic range even at the moderate volume levels I listen at.

Pros: Easy set-up Good sound Can add a power amp to the mains for better dynamics

Cons: Needs more pre-outs for more power amp options

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Paul Anthony from Bozeman, MT on 4/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was an upgrade from an 11 year receiver. Sound is crisp and clear with my bose surround sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great upgrade

William from Salisbury, MD on 4/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works so far. Unit is a newer model replacing the older one that no longer worked properly.

Pros:

Cons: No owners manual or quick setup guide. Found manual on Yamaha site but would not download.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

A fine AVR

Ed from Bridgeport, TX on 3/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've purchased numerous Yamaha AVRs (3010, 3030, 3070, 685 all RX). I've enjoyed them all. My only problem with the RX-A2A is the GEQ with no way to input YPAO information. You can not see what effects YPAO had on EQ. Which is concerning - in the past you could see the EQ results and trim down a plus 6db frequency (clipping concern). Now I'm flying blind - I have no way to see what YPAO did on EQ. This is 1 of 2 AVRs I use in my living room and it's the every day little guy. Hopefully it'll be alright.

Pros: Yamaha quality and sound

Cons: Lack of reviewing YPAO EQ

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Mostly Happy

Harry from Verona, NJ on 3/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am a Yamaha receiver fan - I have had two previous models - over 15 years old and they are still going strong. I gave one to a friend upon buying the RX-A2A. It sounds every bit as good as I expected. It is clean and has plenty of power. I'm driving Epos M22's in front and rear with the Epos M8 center channel. My sub is the SVS PB1000 Pro. It is a 7.2 receiver - I currently have a 5.1 setup which will change as I continue to upgrade. The remote is big and clunky. They need to redesign it. My biggest complaint is how long it takes to change inputs from the cable box to the eARC from apps that I run off the TV such as Netflix or Amazon Prime. Not only is it quite long but sometimes the "electronic handshake" between the TV and the receiver goes awry and when I switch from an app back to the cable box input, the video is all green. I have found that switching to another input on the Yamaha and then back again forces it to resync properly. I am using, per Crutchfield's recommendation, the Audioquest Cinnamon 18gb cable. Also, there is an occasional glitch or audio dropout that is random and lasts about a second or so only when watching apps off the TV - never with live TV or the cable set top box. Is this an eARC problem? I called Crutchfield tech support and there isn't much of an answer except that the electronic handshake between the TV and the receiver just isn't perfect technology-wise. I could try switching out the cable - but it's an 85" screen - not an easy task.

Pros: Power Overall build quality Features

Cons: Yamaha still has very large clunky remotes Very basic on-screen setup software Very slow input switching - sometimes with glitches

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Prescott Valley, AZ on 3/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product. I was very impressed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

David from Maryville, IL on 3/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The receiver is working as advertised as I now can use my speakers while watching TV and streaming devices instead of my TV speakers. The setup wasn't too bad and Crutchfield helped me out where I needed it. The receiver gives me more than I need at this time but I plan on expanding the number of speakers. Very happy with the receiver and Crutchfield.

Pros: works with my 4 ohm speakers from the 90s.

Cons: not made in USA

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Do not hesitate to get this AVR

Michael J from Vermillion, MN on 2/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So glad Cheyenne suggested this AVR.It works so well with the surround system and regular 2 channel stereo. Plenty of power and easy to set up!

Pros: All the power needed for a medium sized system

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Kevin from Elkhart, IN on 2/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It does what it's supposed to do. Switching seems a bit slow, but that could be the older projector that is in use.

Pros: It's available.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

James from Allentown, PA on 2/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced an Integra receiver that was 10 years old. Setup was straight forward. The surround setup was easy to do. Did make some minor tweaks afterward to enhance dialog sound on the center speaker. Much improved from my old system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-A2A

Mark from Troy, OH on 2/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice looking unit and it was time consuming for me to get set up as the manual is only available online, which made the searching for settings time consuming. Once all set, the unit performs very well. Setting up my Harmony master remote to control the unit was very easy and it controls the unit nicely.

Pros: Great sound, excellent looks

Cons: Time consuming setup

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Very Nice Receiver

Gerald from Baltimore, MD on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A AV is a very nice receiver and it is easy to setup. I decided to purchase this receiver because I wanted to take advantage of listening to Dolby Atmos and was I amazed. I purchased an additional two surround speakers so I can listen to 5.1.2. If you purchase this receiver and you own a Samsung TV you may have to turn of your EARC in order to get your sound to work. But if you are interested I promise you will are going to enjoy the sound this receiver produces.

Pros: Great sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Marvin from Trussville, AL on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install. Works as advertised. I am enjoying it.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: Display is quite small.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Dennis from Hatillo, PR on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect sound, better than previous Pioneer. The Zone 2 works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Justin from Overland Park, KS on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far this receiver has been great! As others have stated, it's a little complex setting up and getting everything working correctly but once done, it works amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Barry from Chalfont, PA on 2/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Amazing quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Brian from Salem, MA on 2/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

All is fine so far, but boring and very limited selection of compatible MusicCast speakers that are very expressive for the specs!!

Pros: Looking good

Cons: Set up can be tricky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Richard from Kannapolis, NC on 2/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My old 10 year old Yamaha RXV-673 quite decoding the input signals from the TV and my Firestick. I tired all kinds of fixes, nothing worked. I thought about going with another brand but I have always loved Yamaha for their sound quality and that's the most important thing for me. This unit immediately recognized everything and started working perfectly. Streaming music is great and wasn't to difficult to get it up and running. I have a 5.1 system as follows. Front speakers Polk RTi A3. Center Polk CSi A6. Rear speakers Polk FXi Ar and the sub is a Klipsch Reference R-120SW. This unit took the sound to a new level in voice clarity and over all sound quality it can shake the house without a problem. Action movies are awesome. Very happy with my purchase and as always Crutchfield service and selection even with Covid is awesome. I would never consider buying from anyone else but them.

Pros: Easy to set up the basics. Sound quality for movies and music is outstanding. Remote is simplified and has a nice quality feel and weight to it. Power is more than adequate for my speakers.

Cons: 300 plus page manual a little difficult to read through all this unit can do.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

James from Henrico, VA on 2/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have enjoyed having this receiver in my sound system. It does exactly what you expect it to do. Overall, I am happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

John from Ledyard, CT on 2/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love this receiver so far! Super easy to set up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Larry from Danielsville, GA on 2/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

5 stars on this receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Donald from Bethel, OH on 1/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound, lots of features, easy setup. Works well with Samsung TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Casey Dale from Krum, TX on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds muted. Muddy low frequencies.

Harry from Gansevoort, NY on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am still working with tech support. Hopefully I have something set wrong. I will update.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Just starting to set up

Steven from Groton, MA on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just received the unit this past week. Unit looks awesome. Slowly taking apart my existing system and looking forward to having this receiver set up. I was very surprised the receiver came in so quickly due to the chip shortage. I only waited a couple of weeks. Very excited!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Andre from Chicago, IL on 1/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only had it for about a month now it's a big upgrade from my old Onkyo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Durham

Emmanuel from Durham on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the yamaha aventage as an upgrade to my Onkyo and I must say it checks all the boxes of my expectations. Dolby atmos is on point with great sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 12/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Yamaha receivers are well made and sound really good. They will last almost forever and that's good because this one is ready for the future, and forever is about how long it will take you to figure out the remote. Almost 60 buttons, many smaller than a grain of uncooked rice and the same color as the remote case. No way you can use this in the dark. The good news is after you get it set up hopefully your tv remote can be used. If you are a videophile maybe you can use all the features but if you're a set it once person expect to spend some time with Crutchfield's super tech service. I love the sound so I'd buy again, just be ready for the learning curve.

Pros: great sound, lots of features, maybe too many

Cons: terribly thought out remote, 412 page owners manual too complicated, too many features you'll probably never use.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 19 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 12/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything I read about it, it sounds good, although I haven't received it yet... Currently in backorder

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 85 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Belgrade, MT on 12/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Major upgrade in quality and options for me! Awesome sound, lots of options and ease of set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Quebradillas, PR on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Receiver on the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 11/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and set up. Sounds great. Easy to use MusicCast app to link two surround MusicCast 20 speakers too.

Pros: Great look, sound, and remote.

Cons: Not much of detailed manual/instructions in box, so had to search around in onscreen settings and review full manual from Yamaha. But with manual, all much easier.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Lockport, NY on 11/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, does everything I need it to do. I'm very pleased with this unit. Looks great too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound. Good power. Good price. Primitive display, both on the unit and on screen. But generally a good value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Margaretville, NY on 11/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, easy set-up.As always Crutchfield has helped with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RX-A2A, Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Woodlyn, PA on 10/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-A2A is as advertised, an extremely competent AV receiver for today's world of network sources. It has many capabilities, from multiple surround sound setups to dual zone listening areas. And it's set up to receive future upgrades. Lack of a full owners manual and minor difficulty in setting up prevent me from giving five stars, but that's probably me ( it's been a long time since my last audio purchase). Sound quality is superb and what I've come to expect from Yamaha. Chuck, my advisor from Crutchfield, was very helpful.

Pros: Lots of features, plenty of power, future up grades, Yamaha sound

Cons: Lack of owner's manual, sparse set up instructions

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Outstanding AV Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Doylestown, PA on 10/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I run siriusxm, spotify and Apple music through this AV with 4 Klipsch R-51M bookshelf speakers and a Klipsch RX125sw subwolfer. The sound is absolutely amazing. I play a lot of Jazz and the sound is like sitting on the front row of a jazz club. I love everything about this AV receiver. It was a little challenging getting it set up, but with the help of Carl at Crutchfield, we got it working beautifully.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great AV tech at reasonable price point

Crutchfield customer from Morristown, NJ on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great piece, stability of Musiccast is second to none!

Pros: Musiccast

Cons: Multi room is a bit confusing to hook up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Get Yours

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The wait was worth it! I've been a long time Yamaha including Aventage series fan and this one does not disappoint. The sound characteristics are exceptional out of the box. I'm yet to set the room with the YPAO conditioning as I'm letting my unit 'burn in". Considering that, I only expect the room to sound much better. My set up is simple compared to many in other reviews as I only have Directv receiver, a desk computer and Firestick (no longer necessary) attached all of which play and feedback flawlessly. The features of the new series are several steps above the previous Aventage series and while they are numerous, none of them are above and beyond. I have found them all to function as intended. The only down arrow, if at all, would be I would like to have much more functionality via the app to control more sub features of the setup menu. Time is on our side with this one.

Pros: Funtional features that work

Cons: Need more App interface

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

WINTERVILLE

Mike from WINTERVILLE on 8/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver. Little tricky setting up but has great sound.

Pros: Settings

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Broadway, VA on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an outstanding addition to my home theater setup. Terrific sound, 5.2.2 capability, and hdmi 2.1. The only reason I've docked a star is that many of the hdmi 2.1 features aren't available yet- they will be implemented in future firmware updates.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

The best HT receiver option at this pricepoint!

Crutchfield customer from Lehi, UT on 4/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, love the YPAO feature, clean looks and the onscreen menu's are easy enough to use once you figure them out. The remote could be better but at this price point - it does the job. Be sure to use 60-Hz cables (luckily my 15-year old Samsung 65" could handle the signal). Crutchfield support is second to none. Been shaking our walls for almost four months now...

Pros: Sound (clean all the way through)... YPAO calibration - easy... Looks (happy wife)... Bluetooth easy to use... HDMI pass through actually improves my picture quality versus the straight connection to my Sony Bluray player (?)

Cons: More of a heads up - if you have to put this in tight quarters where you can't stand the antennae up - you'll most likely need a hard wire connection for the updates. Just haven't terminated my inwall CAT 5/6 cable yet so I periodically plug in...

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Quinton, VA on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a little buggy

Pros: Great power

Cons: HDMI is a little buggy

Crutchfield response on

5 of 37 found this helpful

A2A Rocks

Michael from West Salem, WI on 4/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had a 10 year old Sony die on my other TV and decided to swap my A780 to the other TV and get a new A2A for my main home theater. I got the A2A because I really like the A780, and thankfully they are very similar. It may just be in my head, but the extra 5 watts of power seems significant. Don't use wireless Yamaha speakers and not a gamer, but wanted to be ready for when I get an 8k TV. I've always thought very highly of the A2A and the A780's video processing. It's top quality and often goes unnoticed as you focus on the sound (sound is also top notch as well), but video processing is as good as it gets. I am usually good with setup, but this was a beast. I had problems with the receiver turning on an off at wrong times no matter what combination of HDMI control. Eventually I stumbled on a combination that worked, but there were 4 days where I was fuming while I was fiddling with it. I've seen a lot of hate for the app, and it's not great but if you use it in combination with AirPlay it's pretty good. I use it to control on/off, changing inputs, some setting features, and net radio. I have both the A780 and the A2A connected and can control both easily from the app. Go in with low expectations for the app. I like the finish on the front which is reflective, but isn't an issue for me. I have had 2 firmware updates so far, not sure what they did. Overall and in spite of any setup challenges, I absolutely love this receiver. It's top quality without the price tag!

Pros: Video processing, AirPlay, Combination of power and smooth sound, 2.1 HDMI, 4K/120 or 8K/60

Cons: Setup was a four day headache (for me), for this amount of money they should have put at least one component video input

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Superb Theater Surround

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, PA on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-A2A is great at movie surround separation, packing plenty of punch & bringing my Polks to new levels. While perhaps not as detailed or warm at music as Marantz AVRs in the 100 wpc range, it's pretty close & 100's less from your wallet. Use the savings to finally get a quality subwoofer. .

Pros: Arrived in 48 hours. Gage from tech was helpful & patient.

Cons: MusicCast. You might skip this step initially & connect via WPS to your router - you'll have more hair & lower blood pressure in the end.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Good receiver, plenty of power, tons of HDMI inputs, looks good.

Crutchfield customer from Woodbury, MN on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been waiting for a company to make a receiver like this that gets rid of all the old legacy connectors that nobody uses anymore. Do we really need Component and Composite Video connections in 2021? Every device I own uses HDMI and my old receiver only had 4 inputs, so the 7 inputs on this one were just what I needed. It is nice to have the phono and a couple audio RCA's if I ever needed to connect something like that, though. If I have one criticism it's that on the remote there isn't a dedicated button for each HDMI input, you have to cycle through them with arrow buttons. There's a lot of useless buttons on the remote (which is HUGE) that I'd prefer weren't there (put those options in the on-screen menu) and put dedicated input buttons in their place instead. I just made sure to put my two most used devices (Tivo and Apple TV) were inputs 1 and 2. There is a mobile app that does show a button for each connection, so there is that.

Pros: Good on-screen menu, tons of options to configure

Cons: No dedicated buttons on the remote for each HDMI Input

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was great dealing with CRUTCHFIELD, and knew that I had bought a GREAT receiver. After I bought the correct HDMI 2.1 cables put it all together, and I tried to get the tech at CRUTCFIELD to walk me trough the setup and programing of all the components, the tech was very capable and extremely patient, but I knew that I was in way over my head, so my good wife Carol was kind enough to bail me out, and hire AVN ELECTRONICS LLC owned by MIKE LOEFFEL. Mike and his right hand man AUSTIN, were great , they supplied and installed two additional ceiling speakers, which sure livened things up in our great room, (much to my relief) they also managed to incorporate our outside lanai speakers, which used to be connected to my old BOSE LIVESTYLE HOME ENTERTAINMENT SYSTEM. The AVN guys sure know their stuff, they did their magic effortlessly, installed an APP on my IPHONE so I can control the receiver remotely. All for a price which is FAR less then I expected

Pros: It is a great unit, and I'm sure that in time Carol and I will figure out how to work all the functions

Cons: Not anything serious, and I may have missed it in the instructions. But it would have been helpful if they had supplied the HDMI 2.1 cables with the unit, I would have been very happy to pay for the cables.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cannon Falls, MN on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Could not be happier the best I've ever owned! Powerful and incredible sounding.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Natural Sounding Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit replaces an old Sony unit. This receiver is easy to setup. It recognizes the audio source such as Blu Ray player and the cable box. The scenes act as an equalizer for movie, music and radio listening. The unit connects easily via Blue Tooth from phone or my tablet. My Polk speakers enjoy the higher wattage. The sound is natural. The speaker calibration with the supplied microphone gives me a very balanced sound to the key listening area. The Blu Ray and cable box are using HDMI inputs. I am using the optical input for my CD player. Sadly, I have failed to successfully link my two music cast speakers for surround sound.

Pros: HDMI connection is easy. Natural sound in music, movie and tuner inputs

Cons: The Music Cast application is not user friendly.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Glen Ellyn, IL on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Ease of use could be better however and the manual is lacking as others have stated. Once you get a grip on the learning curve it's great and I buy it again.

Pros: Sound quality Features and versatility YPAO works well

Cons: Ease of use Lack of detail in manual although the online version accessed. through the app is more user friendly.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

David from Perkasie, PA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good. I recently upgraded a projector that supported 4K video. This is replacing a Yamaha RX-v675 that did not fully support 4K. Setup was easy. Sound and video are great too. Very easy to update firmware to the latest. I also connected to Spotify through cell and was as easy as expected. The only issue so far is switching between different HDMI ports, the video is lagging and takes some time to the picture to show up. I did not have that issue with my last receiver. This is a minor issue.

Pros: Setup Sound and video Easy to update firmware Connect to Spotify through cell

Cons: Lag in video when switching between HDMI inputs

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first Yamaha Receiver. My past experiences with Receivers have been with the Denon, Sony, and Onkyo brands. Being honest at first it was a bit frustrating until I was able to familiarize myself with the Receiver, especially adjusting the bass sounds for the subwoofer. Once the sound is calibrated, read I can say that the Receiver is excellent in terms of quality. The sounds are loud and clear, this Receiver has many adjustments to regulate and optimize the sound. Highly recommended!

Pros: Very clear and strong audio!

Cons: Some clicking noise just only when using TV apps through eARC.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Keaau, HI on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good unit just can't figure out how to power it on manually.. it goes on automatic when turning the tv on.. still a mystery ...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/17/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

14 of 23 found this helpful

Yamaha. Says it all.

Crutchfield customer from Mount Clemens, MI on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid build. Great sound. Some people cry, but on screen setup is easy to navigate. May not look super amazing, but I'm fine with better build quality and sound than cute fancy look for on screen settings. Hope feet don't drag on getting update out for 4k/120, 8k/60 as others already have issue resolved.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Power plant

Orange from Delray Beach, FL on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just bought this an upgrade to the Yamaha RX-481. I'd like to give you a comparison between the two, but there is none. This A2A is in a different class. It's very powerful , sound is crystal clear and it delivers silky smooth bass. The set up was pretty easy too. This is one sweet receiver at the price point and highly recommended. Thank you both Crutchfield and Yamaha for outstanding work!

Pros: Great sound, easy to set up, Blue Ray DVD performance is next level.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Aventage RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm just now diving in to all that this AVR has to offer. So far I love it!! I purchased this to replace an Onkyo TX-SR505 that I purchased from Crutchfield in 2008. Wow, things have changed a lot since then... Sound quality is fantastic. Features, adjustability, and flexibility are fantastic. I'm really enjoying the ability to play music from my network and via Air Play 2, as well as all of the features and control offered via the Musiccast App. This receiver is truly everything I was hoping for and more! I've owned AVR's from Denon, Onkyo, and Marantz throughout the years. Until now, the Onkyo was my favorite, with my first Denon from the early 2000's being a close second. This is my first Yamaha, and I am really impressed. I'm so glad I purchased this unit; would highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Yamaha Agent age RX-A2A is a bang for your buck AV receiver at this price point. The picture, and sound quality are top notch, but setup was a change.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice product and the sound quality is perfect and clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cloverly, MD on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver is the best!!! Full features. Easy to configure. I am in love!!!!!

Pros: Easy to configure. Great sound!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Not what I needed

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Arrived on time and set up was easy. Called Crutchfield with one connection issue that they solved quickly. After a week I decided the unit really wasn't what I needed and called Crutchfield to help me narrow down the right piece of gear. Ended up sending this back which was very easy to do. Ordered a 2 channel receiver instead of Home Theater receiver. Originally I was thinking of running the A2A as 2 channel and adding a TV later to move into Home Theater. But you really need a TV hooked up to this to dial in the specifics for good 2 channel stereo sound. The front display doesn't show enough to do that, and I don't have a TV, so this wasn't a good fit. The features I did use worked flawlessly, tuner, streaming, CD etc, but I think good old 2 channel is the way to go for me. Crutchfield did a great job identifying my real needs and matching me up with a piece of gear to match. Customer service is top notch and I'm happy I used Crutchfield. Now I just have to wait till it is in stock.

Pros: Easy to set up. Everything I tried worked. Customer support is great if you have issues getting it set up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 17 found this helpful

What an incredible clear sound

Crutchfield customer from Cheshire, CT on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredible clear sound. So happy for your suggestion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Mount Laurel, NJ on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall this receiver seems great now. Setup was maddening; I could not get this synced with my cable box. Pass through would not work correctly, sometimes I would get sound but no video, sometimes no signal. Literally took a week of turning the tv on each day and trying to figure out how to get sound and video. I would always get it working but once powered off had to start over the next day. Finally unplugging power to the STB and letting it reboot while plugged in to the receiver seemed to do the trick and it's been good for 3 days now. Also not really happy with the manual. Seems to just list everything I'm already seeing on the onscreen menu without actually explaining any of the options or features. But now that it's all working and I'm learning the receiver I will say it's great. There are tons of great features and this does everything I need for music and home theater. I'm sure as I am able to use more of the features I will appreciate it more.

Pros: Great sound, tons of useful features

Cons: Difficult setup. Manual not very helpful

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I only gave it 4 stars bc I am waiting for the updates but I love it so far!! This was my first order from Crutchfield n they are definitely in my future for my next purchase ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing Receiver! (Waiting for Updates)

Landpet from Los Angeles, CA on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Build quality is amazing. Sound quality is amazing. Has plenty of features. The only negatives are that it needs firmware updates for a few features like the 4K120, the Dolby Atmos with Height Virtualization. I'm currently running a 5.1 setup, so I haven't tested Atmos with it. Looking forward to get two more speakers to make that possible or waiting for the Dolby Atmos with Height Virtualization which allows a 5.1 system to simulate Atmos. I will do another review once I get more familiar with it on YouTube.

Pros: Build Quality Sound Quality Features

Cons: Need those updates soon for 4K120/8K60 and Dolby Atmos with Height Virtualization.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Subwoofer signal very weak

Ted from Duxbury, MA on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield is out of stock on this item so I bought one that was available from a big box retailer. I wired up all the speakers and the sound was good. However, the signal to the subwoofer was very weak. I used a known-good sub and known-good cables but still the volume was low. I went into the setup and kicked the sub up to the max +10dB and it became almost adequate but still too attenuated for my liking. I tried to do a firmware upgrade just for giggles but that can only be done with a USB drive. I went to Yamaha for support but it is email-only and they still have not responded! No 800 number. If you get this receiver, please be aware of this issue. The store's customer support? "You can return it". I did. I ordered a Marantz SR5015 from Crutchfield and hoping it will not be delayed. My take away is: buy this stuff from Crutchfield. Even if you get a bad unit (or need any sort of help) you will at least have Crutchfield support and they will answer the phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 24 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Cliff from Indianapolis, IN on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Since I upgraded my TV to a 50" 4K set, and have had a Sony UBP-X800, it was time to upgrade my previous RX-A700. Initially I ordered the 780 as a replacement, which is now discontinued. After a phone call from Wes, I was able to get this 780. The looks can be bit polarizing for some, but when I saw this in person, it quickly grew on me. The screen, while small, isn't too distracting or bright. A feature I like is when switching the HDMI inputs, the names of the device in use appear on screen automatically. Just make sure it is able to fit your cabinet or shelf as it is fairly bigger than the models it replaced. The remote has a nice heft, not overly heavy and a textured back. The buttons are easy to read and use, my only suggestion would be to have some backlit, but it's to be expected at this price. Set up is easy and intuitive with a nice on screen menu and a number of settings, to tweak it to your liking(I wrote down my previous settings from the 700 and used them). Sound quality and output is nice, and the settings allow for multiple amp configurations, including a 5.1.2 Atmos set up. To address the HDMI 2.1 issue some have, I use a PS4 for gaming, and noticed using one of the first three inputs, the screen would sometimes go black with the audio playing, then appear seconds later. A fix I found was using HDMI input four and had no issues. Could be a temporary solution for some. Overall, I really like the this new unit from Yamaha.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Compare the sound