Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
706 304 525 4
Connect ID #
706 304 525 4

Sorry, chat is currently unavailable

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon AVR-X1700H

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRX1700H

Denon AVR-X1700H

Denon AVR-X1700H

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRX1700H

5.0 out of 5 stars
50 reviews
View this product

Denon AVR-X1700H

John from Birdsboro, PA on 9/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great and easy to set up.

Pros: Easy set up and sounds great.

Cons: None that I've found so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Christopher from Suffolk, VA on 9/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, fantastic product. Easy to install, an any confusion was mine as a result of this being my first 7.1 system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Reciever

Michael from Harrisburg, PA on 8/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. Great sound easy set-up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incomplete firmware.

Keith from METAIRIE, LA on 7/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incomplete firmware. There are no options to adjust tone settings for 2nd zone. Count on zone 2 sounding like elevator music. Worthless. If you hide an input then change the setting to allow showing it, it's bugged. You can't select any actual input port for that input. It stays disabled with no input signal possible but selectable from the front knob. Web control doesn't work on Win10 Edge, Win10 IE, Win11 Chrome, or MacOS Safari. Some buttons work some of the time, but some never work. It feels like the whole interface was built by a knock-off or counterfeit company and not actually Denon. If I wasn't past the return window, I'd ask for a refund.

Pros: Sounds great.

Cons: Basic functions do not work.

Crutchfield response on 7/18/2023
Keith, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or give you information on the 3-year warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Aaron from Eugene, OR on 7/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for, Denon quality with Crutchfield service. This unit drives all of my speakers perfectly, I am impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Transformed my existing speaker performance

Brian from Roseville, CA on 7/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow, can't believe the difference this made to my family room / TV area. I had existing 5 ceiling speakers (SpeakerCraft AIM8 One) paired with a 30 year old Kenwood surround sound stereo tuner. Nothing jumped about that. With the Denon (and a new Klipsch 10" wifi subwoofer)... it was magic. I alway thought I'd need a separate EQ device, but this tuner/receiver had it all included. Audio for movies, TV, sports is super crisp and powerful. I could hear dialogue even at low volumes. And music was fully bodied. I did the manual set up through the on-screen menu using the provided setup mic. Placed it in 8 different spots (as directed) and it effortlessly stepped through sending test signal audio from each speaker. It literally learned my speakers and the room acoustics! Just amazing. Process took about 30 minutes when it was all said and done. Pairing with my WiFi was a snap. It had a connect-to-network option via mobile device (on the same network) or an enter password option on the menu. I used the ARC system to HDMI connect my TV, BluRay Player and Apple TV. Then, on Apple TV remote, I had it "learn" the Denon remote so I can adjust the volume on the tuner while watching TV by just using the Apple TV remote. So much this thing can do, and the Apps are great too. I chose the 7.2 set up because I use the assignable extra speaker outputs to control my Zone 2 (patio speakers). Love that I can send same or different source to those speakers and control via app or the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent choice

Thomas from Knoxville, TN on 6/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After my 20 year old Yamaha started to shut down. Purchased this unit based on reviews wasn't disappointed. The only additional item needed to get the sound I wanted was a 10 inch sub.

Pros: Crisp sound quality

Cons: 1. Don't do auto setup it will take away what this unit can do. 2. The duel zone has to be turned on separately and control for zone 2 is limited and changed by alot of what you tune in zone 1. Kind of a pain to manually dial in to your liking. But once done omg love it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Solid choice

Gregory from Leawood, KS on 6/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup and great sound! My theater room is medium sized and even using a 7.1.2 configuration the unit provides more than enough power. Love the Airplay 2 and Wifi features. DolbyAtmos adds another layer to movies.

Pros: Setup Clean crisp sound Adequate power USB AIRPLAY 2

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

David from Lititz, PA on 5/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great out of the box. Driving Klipsch ceiling speakers without problem, but not very demanding. Instructions are good. Set up was fine.

Pros: Streaming internal is key Audessey at a good price point App works but is 'old' in app years.

Cons: Probably a bit underpowered for the price, but has other redeeming features.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Mid-Level AV Receiver

Jeff from Plano, TX on 5/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased the AVR-X1700H after a good amount of research. I've been running a sound bar and wanted to hook up my surround speakers that had not been hooked up in about 5 years. Initially went with a sound bar because I was told the eArc setup was easy and worked well with the TV controlling the sound bar and receivers didn't work as well with CEC over an eArc connection. Recently was told that the receivers are as seamless with the eArc connection as sound ads and, knowing how great Crutchfield is with returns, decided to give it a go. The second I hooked up the hdmi cable, the connection was recognized on both ends and it worked perfectly. When I turn on the tv, it turns on the demon receiver, controls volume perfectly, and turns off the receiver when tv is turned off. Completely satisfied. The on-screen setup IG the receiver to connect to WiFi was super simple. Still dialing in all the features but for a really quality recover that will do 5.1 and a 2nd zone, or 7.1, this is a great receiver that produces great sound. Both the Denon app and HEOS apps are easy to use to adjustments and music streaming respectively. And of course the great Crutchfield service with 2 day shipping!

Pros: Easy Setup eArc functionality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wonderful Service and Support

Joseph from Thonotosassa, FL on 5/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Curchfield was great in determining my needs and awesome in providing tech support during my install. Product meets my needs and works as stated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love this AVR

John from Keizer, OR on 5/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love this unit. Great connectivity, easy to use menus. Sound is wonderful. I love all the updates I'd been missing out on with my 10 year old Onkyo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Craig from Charlotte, NC on 4/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade! Easy to setup and has enough bells and whistles for my needs.

Pros: Easy setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Robert from Bethlehem, PA on 4/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the AVR-X1700H. Sound quality is outstanding. Menus are easy to use. I am a big user of iTunes, so I love the AirPlay feature. I am still learning about this unit. It does so much that I keep discovering new things that I love about it. Crutchfield is awesome. Every time I have a question and I call technical support, I get knowledgeable people who know the unit and can direct me accordingly. The unit is handsomely made, solid, and functions well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Brent from Fayette, ME on 3/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a joy working with Crutchfield. They turned my project of getting a new stereo a blast. It took some effort on the tech side but they were so so supportive as were the sales team. I was blown away by all the help I received and by the results of the new receiver and speakers. I can't thank you enough.

Pros: Certainly the tech team and so happy with the quality

Cons: My age being 73 made this more of a challenge.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Roger from Orlando, FL on 3/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome receiver for the price! Easy setup too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Michael from Kaneohe, HI on 3/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This item was competitively priced among all other retailers and they included fast professional packaging and shipping. The entire Crutchfield experience from web navigation, online tech support, post purchase follow up and communication was all first class! If anyone is looking to create an exceptional online customer facing experience then buy something on Crutchfield.com to learn how they do it. As for my Denon, it was easy to set up compared to my 20 year old Pioneer and the sound quality and latest greatest features have created a level up to my home theater and music environment!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Herbert from Roanoke, VA on 3/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Feature loaded! Great sound. Easy physical set up. For programming set up I needed Crutchfield's great tech support (an important consideration in purchasing).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent value and very pleased

Crutchfield customer from Sterling, VA on 3/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up and plenty of power to drive a pair of Klipsch RP-160M speakers and a Polk center speaker. I purchased this for the phono input. This is a 7.1 receiver, expansion can be made gradually. The Audyssey microphone is a valuable tool to calibrate your speakers for optimum listening. I ran the test twice to get the best sound in a room with 30 ft ceiling. Works perfect. Customer Service is outstanding.

Pros: Easy set up, Audyssey calibration is accurate. Receiver has phono input. Outstanding Customer service & Shipping.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Jonathan from KENTFIELD, CA on 3/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver. We have a 5.1 setup. Replaced a 10 year old Sony STR-DA 2800ES. Denon superior in every way: Better sound, much easier and better receiver and sound set-up, better controls, vastly better app, easy remote. Very happy with it.

Pros: Wonderful sound Easy set-up Easy to control speaker balance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Vitaliy from Sunnyside, NY on 2/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For full transparency, this is my first receiver that I picked up with guidance from Crutchfield! (That's for all your help!!!) Setting it up was super easy - I connected my AppleTV, PS5, and a Turn-Table along with bookshelf speakers and everything works seamlessly. Very fast delivery too!

Pros:

Cons: Denon's settings menu is very outdated, an update would be appreciated.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Jordan from Glen Mills, PA on 2/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent receiver for the price, plenty of power and inputs galore. Denon's various menus and navigation are both efficient and easy to use as well; I was able to hook into my music server and play music within 20 minutes of applying power to the receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Norberto from Mayaguez, PR on 1/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excelente producto. Muy fácil de conectar tanto el tv como la música desde mi celular. Sonido impecable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiver for the price!

Crutchfield customer from West Virginia on 1/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We are really enjoying this receiver. It's working great with 5 Polk Audio speakers and a Sub in a 5.1 setup. The setup was easy with the microphone. Still learning all the features as this is our first new receiver in over 40 years. The sound is great, and it has plenty of power for our setup.

Pros: Excellent Sound, Easy Setup, Crutchfield Tech Support has been great getting me up to speed.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Dipal from Mentor, OH on 12/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This replaced a 9 yr old Denon AVR-X1000. I wanted an upgrade due to 4K, and Dolby Atmos. Also this would drive my new 5.1.2 Focal Chora system. 80W is plenty enough for the Focal 826-D, Center, and Surrounds. GUI is still the old school low res, but it functions. Same form factor so placement was non issue. This is hooked up to a Roku Ultra and a Sony UBP-X800M2 using the same existing HDMI 2.0b. In the first power up and testing, ran into some Atmos decoding issues (has happened only twice so far; has not happened anymore). Easy fix though; pressing the Direct sound button, and going back to the Movie sound button again will show you Atmos. Pressing the Info button will confirm it is correctly decoding incoming Dolby Atmos signal instead of just Dolby Digital.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Kenneth from Parrish, FL on 12/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy setup and enough power to drive my Polk XT70 speakers.

Pros: Easy setup, great surround sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Roger from Harrison,TN on 11/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver and a good value from Denon. Most receivers in this price range have not had the price increases like the mid to upper end models. I have always had a good experience with Denon products. Replacing a 2014 Denon AVR-S900w to update to Dolby Atmos. and other features. Though I wish the X1700 had the new 1080 GUI or upgradable to it. Also: a great experience with Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Eric from Alpharetta, GA on 10/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Many high end features in a lower end receiver. Arrived well packaged, undamaged and very fast!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Robert from Richmond , TX on 9/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does everything I expected it to do. Drives my new Klipsch speakers with no trouble.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Bob from Silver Creek, NY on 9/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Versitale

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Kurt from Peach Bottom, PA on 9/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice receiver for the price, easy and quick set up and suits my needs well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Glenn from New River, AZ on 9/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Setting: Family/Great Room w/5 ceiling speakers, 3 front 2 rear. Very pleased with the Denon AVR-X1700H Receiver. Setup went well, in fact it was fun. The surround sound speakers adjustment feature was interesting made me smile. More important agree with adjusted speaker levels. Placed Klipsch Subwoofer at rear of room as it backs to kitchen island open area. Best review I can give "WIFE " likes the sound!!! I do have a couple of operational procedures I want to work through but minor and it will happen. It supports sound to office/den, master bedroom and patio. I did a lot of research for us this was a good choice.

Pros: Setup instructions simple easy to follow for 80 year old retire. Sales staff know their products. Shipping and delivery right on target.

Cons: None after 2 weeks.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Mark from Fayetteville, GA on 9/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good. I believe it will be the best one yet! Very easy set up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

David from Ellisville, MO on 8/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and easy setup with the microphone stand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

EXTREME UPGRADE OVER YAMAHA RX-V6A

Theodore from Walnutport, PA on 8/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I WAS EXTRMELY DISAPPOINTED AND FRUSTRATED WITH THE YAMAHA RX-V6A, CONSTANTLY INOP AND HAVING TO HARD REBOOT THE THING, THIS IS AFTER IT BEING EXCHANGED FOR ANOTHER UNOIT BECAUSE THAT FAILED COMPLETELY AFTER 5 MONTHS. THE DENON UNIT HAS WORKED FLAWLESSLY AND ROCKS MY NEW KLIPSCH SYSTEM. SHOULD HAVE JUST STAYED WITH DENON AND NOT WASTED THE MONEY ON YAMAHA...

Pros: USER FRINEDLY AND ACTUALLY KEEPS WORKING

Cons: NONE ROCKS MY NEW KLIPSCH SYSTEM FROM CRUTCHFIELD ALSO

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Andrew from Waltham, MA on 8/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Technically great, robust, and suits my needs perfectly. Not sure what all is needed to review this. Is this more than I need? Probably. Is this worth the money? To me, yes. I have this setup for my home theater and am thrilled with the performance. It is a great central hub for my electronic needs and provides excelled audio services.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Robert from Shreveport, LA on 7/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality home theater...easy setup!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-x1700

Joseph from Twain Harte, CA on 6/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product as well as knowledgeable technicians and customer service. This Denon rcvr is perfect for our uses and more. We will be purchasing everything we need in the future from CRUTCHFIELD without hesitation. Thank you and all the staff and all our best to you and our families. Best regards Joseph College

Pros: All positive.

Cons: Not one negative.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Bruce from Farmingtn Hls, MI on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Satisfied my needs as expected! Crutchfield was fantastic to work with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice receiver

David from Palatine, IL on 2/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm not an audiophile. I do like this receiver. I have a 7.1 speaker setup with bookshelf front, center and side speakers, two rear ceiling speakers and a (new) subwoofer in a large room. I finally got everything set up (I used the HDMI ARC connection between my receiver and TV) and so far, everything sounds great with one caveat that I don't think is a receiver issue - voices sound a little muddy when I'm streaming something on Netflix or Amazon Prime. I've read that that is a streaming issue but am continuing my research into trying to rectify this issue. Speech sounds great for regular TV on my center speaker. I had muddy voices on my center speaker for a year with my old receiver (but that's not the reason that I replaced it). My subwoofer had died and I never replaced it (my wife hated the deep bass). I later found out that without a subwoofer, bass tones are sent to your other speakers which was the cause of muddy speech on my center speaker. I like that this Denon AVR-X1700H receiver has wifi and includes an Audyssey mic and setup process. I did have an Audyssey issue though. On the third pass of the setup process, I received a center speaker error and couldn't go further. I called Crutchfield and the rep said that my room size was causing an issue. So I ran Audyssey on all speakers except the center speaker then came back to manually set the center speaker. At this point, everything sounds fine (while I'm still looking into Netflix/Amazon sound issue).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

24 of 24 found this helpful

Feature rich / Budget Friendly

Joseph from Pflugerville, TX on 1/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had my eye on this for a little while and finally made the jump. Upgraded from an older Onkyo TX-SR705 which suddenly found itself outdated once I upgraded my TV. This receiver checked all the boxes: 4K/8K, eARC, 7.2, Atmos, supports 4 Ohm speakers, Airplay and it was budget friendly (I'd say mid-range). This thing definitely brought me up to speed on the current available technology and seems to be future ready for any changes I might make down the road. Two gripes which keep me from 5 stars: 1. The volume up/down has an annoying delay and find myself frustrated with it not changing in real-time resulting in volume going higher than I want and then overcompensating trying to turn it down after it reaches its peak. 2. With all the tech upgrades why is this remote not bluetooth/wifi capable? Very small IR field which seems outdated for sure, but I guess I can't have it all when getting so much packed into a budget friendly receiver.

Pros: Atmos 7.2 Budget 4k/8k eARC Airplay

Cons: Remote not bluetooth volume delay when using remote

Crutchfield response on

21 of 21 found this helpful

Stellar sound

Crutchfield customer from Waldoboro, ME on 1/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The audio setup and amplifier section of this receiver result in providing a sound with a stellar audio presence. We have a large room, and as I walk thru the 7.1 sound field, I am always right in the music. As others have stated, the lack of a paper manual is frustrating... And finally...Most of my music selection is done from the office computer. My Mac sends playlists or streams via iTunes and AirPlay along Ethernet to the receiver. That's mostly how we listen to music. I wish there were a way to 'pull' music from the Mac to the Denon. There doesn't appear to be. My Yamaha had that capability...

Pros: Audio setup well worth the effort; great sound as a result. Clean and powerful amplifier section.

Cons: Somewhat overwhelming array of setup options to navigate. Lacks a way to switch to an'AirPlay' input the way my previous receiver, a Yamaha, did.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, MN on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

seems to work very well connected to Sony TV and Polk speakers. I have not yet downloaded the apps to use blue tooth features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Crutchfield customer from Mansfield Ctr, CT on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and a multitude of adjustments to fine tune to your liking. Great, great tech support to assist you with your entire entertainment system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Highly Recommended Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Corona, NY on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The AVR -X1700H is a very good receiver. I was able to connect the equipment I had and recently bought very easily. For the cassette deck player, I contacted Denon but later realized the reason why it would not play was because it was super old and had "died". Power came on but nothing happened when tape inserted in deck. I would recommend this receiver to anyone looking to purchase a new one.

Pros: Easy to set up. Has a lot of HDMI slots.

Cons: Lacks component slots.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 13 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Chris from Anderson, SC on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Haven't had a chance to hook it up. Can't wait to see what this will do for my movie watching.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 45 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Michael from Kingsport, TN on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver as expected. This is my third Denon receiver and the new features of this AVR are awesome! As expected, the set up was easy to follow and the improvements in sound and functionality are a great improvement over a 12 year old AVR.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

My New Tool Shed Receiver

Crutchfield customer from La Porte, TX on 1/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a very good unit into the "X" series. I purchased this for my tool shed and paired it with a new 43" LG NANO. My main AVR in my house is the Denon AVR-X3500H which inspired me to purchase the Denon for the tool shed. I use the home unit in a 5.2 configuration in the main Family Room and Zone 2 to the master suite. I set up the AVR-X1700H as a 5.1 configuration and Zone 2 to the back yard for outdoor music on my deck. I thoroughly enjoy HEOS and can now sit on my deck and control my music with my iPhone. My only complaint is that the HEOS app almost always will not initially recognize the new receiver. I have to unplug it and plug it back in and power down my iPhone and turn it back on. This is a pain in the a$$. I never had problems with the app until I added a second receiver. I have not contacted Crutchfield or Denon about this yet. I just set this up 2 days ago but I will be contacting them soon about this issue.

Pros: Sounds great for my application. Reasonably priced.

Cons: HEOS app will not recognize this unit unless I unplug it and plug it back in. Defeats the purpose of relaxing on my Deck and grabbing my iPhone to control my music.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 15 found this helpful

Just what I need

Crutchfield customer from Parkville, MD on 1/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup. Great price point. I was not looking to spend a huge amount of money. This has just amount right features. Set up is pretty easy, and thanks to Crutchfield Tech Support I was able to resolve a couple niggling issues

Pros: Price. Easy setup. Long warranty.

Cons: I know we want to save trees but I wish they would provide the entire manual to flip through. It's much easier than looking at a PDF.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1700H

Crutchfield customer from Chugiak, AK on 12/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great, ver happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Compare the sound