Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Denon AVR-X1800H

Denon AVR-X1800H 7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRX1800HBKE3

4.5 out of 5 stars
12 reviews
View this product
Denon AVR-X1800H

Brian from Rogers, AR on 2/7/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great reciever.... Crutchfield cant be beat!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1800H

Walter from Hendersonville, NC on 2/4/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver does everything I needed...and does it really well. My "theater" is actually a custom built, high end, tri-amped stereo listening room onto which I added the trappings of the video theater a lot of years ago with a pair of floor standing surround speakers a projector and a Lexicon MC-1. A couple months ago I repllace the projector with a 77" 4K wall mounted TV. Of course with the jump in video resolution came lots of way more advanced sound capability than I had with the MC-1. I decided it was time to replace the Lexicon and began looking around. I have had had a few encounters with Denon over the last 40 years from a DL103 phono cartridge to a great little car head unit and I had listened to a lot of their audio gear over the years as I was building my stereo so I felt the brand could make me happy sound-wise for the sound accompaniment to the video if I could find an AVR with the features I needed and not much of what I didnt. I have outboard amps for the front speakers and subwoofers already, and the demand for the surrounds in my experience doesnt call for anything more than 80-100W in my theater. I did require pre-outs for the fronts and subs, ability to distribute at least 4.1.2 channels, a few 4K HDMI inputs and a HDMI eARC output, plus an array of the latest Dolby and DTS that are available with streaming and Blu-Ray. The AVR-X1800H fits the bill perfectly. I am delighted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent, minor flaw

William from Denali Park, AK on 1/24/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first receiver, so I have nothing with which to compare. However, so far, it provides plenty of power for my Denton 85s (4 ohm), though I don't listen super loud (up to around 65 out of 100), it has a lot of capability (much more than we put to it). We use it for TV, Nintendo Switch, Apple TV, turntable, bluetooth, and Airplay 2. The phono stage has minor background noise up close (i.e., immediately next to) and record is between tracks, but to me the phono stage is perfectly good. I love having the ability to listen to one source, while viewing another for playing video games while listening to vinyl or streaming or watching a game while listening to the radio broadcast. Lost star for volume nuisance. Single depressions of volume make such small steps that progress takes more depressions than you'd think just to raise/lower just a bit. However, when holding the volume button down or pressing in rapid succession, the volume suddenly jumps several levels instead of just moving rapidly through. Sort of like deleting words in a text in iOS. Kind of frustrating since it seems like every source is wildly out of calibration from the next and volume changes seem ever constant. Volume on unit and through Denon app work much better. Wish it had a backlit remote.

Pros: Ability to select preferred audio with preferred video, solidly built, intuitive set-up w/ on screen directions, versatile, powerful amp.

Cons: Volume on remote is finicky and a nuisance, non-backlit remote.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Performs fine, but cost-cutting readily evident

Collin from Waterford, MI on 1/23/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Working well so far. This unit cost about the same as the last Denon I purchased 20 years ago, and does more. But cost-cutting measures definitely jump out - the remote is minimal and is so light it feels cheap, the source knob feels "gooey" as you rotate, with barely perceptible detents, and fewer controls on the unit. There seems to be fewer pre-set surround algorithms and fewer ways to tailor "on the fly". The wireless connectivity is great. Also like having the TV audio feed (HDMI ARC) capability, auto-on with TV, and on-screen set-up.

Pros: 5.2.1 channels with Atmos WiFi and Bluetooth connectivity HDMI eARC

Cons: Cheap remote Not enough controls on unit Could use more surround simulation options

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great receiver for price

Brian from Metamora, IL on 1/23/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hooking up the cables was for the most part common sense where they would go. My only issue was hooking up the CD player. Of course the owners manual is not printed out and you can only find it online, and I eventually found out that you do not hook the CD player to the phono inputs, but rather either the cable satellite or Media player, RCA jacks. The speaker set up was easy and I did not need to download nor pay for any additional apps. It sounds great and it is fairly easy to change sources with the remote. It seems like a very good quality receiver for the price, and it sounds great with my new speakers. I'm only giving it four stars because apparently you can only assign the media player or cable satellite RCA jacks, and I had already hooked up a media player to the HDMI port.

Pros: More than enough HDMI ports for a general set up for most people. Speaker set up was simple and understandable. The microphone and stand included with the receiver easily set up the speaker system once everything was in place. Input set up was great for almost everything and the remote has everything clearly labeled for your various inputs.

Cons: Hooking up our CD player ended up being more trouble than I thought it needed to be. Because the HDMI ports have a designated media player and another cable/satellite, I initially hooked up the CD player to the phono, thinking it would be just fine. However, it turned out not to be just fine and had horrible sound. I then hooked it up to the cable satellite inputs for the RCA jacks and everything is working fine now.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A very versatile AVR

PAUL from Rochester NY on 1/21/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just finished setting up this AVR. I was amazed by the capability the ease of setup, and high quality sound. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is partly due to my lack of fully understanding the apparently conflicting settings for audio playback. Example: the subwoofer crossover frequency settings on page 213 states that the output of the main front speakers will be cut off above that frequency. It seems that it would be better to let these speakers roll off instead. Then there is the adjustment of the subwoofer output, page 214, addressing the LPF of the subwoofer. What's the difference between that and the crossover setting? The same page talks about "LFE", with no explanation of that term. And then it brings up "Bass extraction LPF", yikes, what does this mean? And so on, with "Dolby Atmos". How do I know if a speaker is "Dolby Atmos", and should I care? Before this, I was using a NAD T-748 AVR which had much simpler settings. Also I kept seeing "restore defaults"; does that wipe out all my settings, or only the ones on that particular page?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1800H

John from Newton Falls, OH on 1/3/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great system but challanging to to set up with Bose sourround system and a not smart TV. But the customer support has been Awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1800H

Michael from Rockwell, NC on 12/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very pleased with the sound, hookup was easy. The volume is very weak until 40 or 50 range . I had seen another review like this , called Crutchfield and the tech was very helpful and new right away what I was concerned about. said this was normal for new Denon stuff. Still plenty load, just not use to turning one up that high. Very happy with the purchase and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1800H

David Ben from ASHEBORO, NC on 12/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like that this Denon has the 5 way connectors placed horizontally. I feel that this is a better placement than stacked. If you have music on a thumb drive it will play via the front USB port. There doesn't seem to be a shuffle the songs on the USB drive. The quick set up guide and the acoustic room analysis by Audyssey worked well for me. I haven't had enough time to mess with all the features. I like the remote. Feels substantial. I connected the TV via the eARC HDMI , the blu-ray player to 4K #3 Bluray HDMI, and the CD player via an optical cable to #2 Media Player. Wireless works well. First off I am loving this system. The components are listed below. In the picture the 55" TV is 48in wide and the Jamo 803 and S8 are on the left and right of the TV. The Jamo 807 are behind me and not in the picture. I chose to put them behind me because I didn't have speaker stands and the Jamo 803 fit nicely on the entertainment center. I love the sound that comes out of these speakers whether it is just stereo music or surround sound Dolby ATMOS via the Denon AVR. The price was good and I love the looks of these speakers. I'd buy them again with no hesitation. Crutchfield is awesome. I wish all sellers were as great to work with. Denon AVR-X1800H Panasonic 4K Blu Ray Player DP-UB420-K LG B3 Series 55-Inch Class OLED Smart TV OLED55B3PUA Onkyo DX-C390 6-CD changer with MP3 CD playback Jamo 803 x2 / Jamo 807 x2, Jamo S 8 ATM x2, Jamo S

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-X1800H

Eric from HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO on 12/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems to be an ok product. I am a bit disappointed with the bass output of this unit. Even with the equalizer max's out in the lowest frequency, not much output noticed. I have it connected to Bang & Olufsen 4 ohm speakers, whic sound fantastic in mid and high frequency ranges, but bass output is quite low as compared to my Yamaha receiver. Also,, when listening to the tuner, randomly the unit just shuts off. I haven't figured that one out yet. Lastly, when adjusting the volume, it will jump 20 db's making it difficult to zero in on the level desired. If knowing these things ahead of time, I would have purchased another Yamaha.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Nice receiver

Robert from Falling Waters, WV on 12/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a nice receiver when you have everything hooked up including a TV introduction is easy and walk you through the whole receiver this receiver replaced a pioneer I got about 25 years ago had less wattage but had more power than the Denton 1800 if you have the money go for the bigger model

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: Needs more power

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent A/V receiver, ample power!

Peter from Fargo, ND on 12/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, easy set up, tons of flexibility!! The power output is crisp and strong!! Excellent A/V receiver!!

Pros: Power output, flexibility, number of HDMI hook ups, 8k compatibility.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Compare the sound