Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Audio-Technica AT-LP5X

Audio-Technica AT-LP5X Manual direct-drive turntable with USB output and built-in phono preamp

MFR # AT-LP5X

5.0 out of 5 stars
18 reviews
View this product
Audio-Technica AT-LP5X

William from Greer, SC on 4/11/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The record player is terrific! The needle is unexpectedly great considering it is standard for the AT-LP5X model. The instructions for setup were adequate. But the online site did not show the AT-LP5X. I used one of the other models to find what I thought would be more detailed instructions. However, the only information available was a poorly illustrated version of the one that came with the record player. I think that aspect of the product is out of your hands to improve. On a positive note, I feel your company is a "go to" for quality products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Turntable

Guest from Long Island, NY on 2/11/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got an AT-LP5 in the fall of 2018. With the factory AT95EX cartridge replaced with a VM540 ML/H and a Cambridge Audio Alva Duo Phono Preamp added, it is a remarkable turntable.

Pros: Fantastic sound, easy setup

Cons: None at this price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP5X

Anthony from PINE BEACH, NJ on 1/26/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had a couple of issues out of the box. Distortion while playing records and tone arm lift did not lift high enough to get tone arm above record, which after reading reviews seems to be a chronic issue with AT tables. The tech at Crutchfield was great. Was going to replace the cartridge but was on BO with no expected time to be in stock. Opted to replace the stylus since I had done this with past tables I owned. The new one is better but I get a low frequency rumble when playing any record. I guess it was more of a cartridge issue. Contacted Crutchfield this morning and was told a turntable specialist would get back to me. Still waiting!

Pros: First tech I talked with was great!

Cons: QC at audiotechnica seems to be slacking.

Crutchfield response on 1/30/2024
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Etch, reached out to Anthony to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

AT-LP5X is my forever turntable

Joanne from Redondo Beach, CA on 1/5/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy Setup. I watched YouTube videos beforehand and called Crutchfield briefly with a couple questions; their tech support is super, their number was on the packing box. It took me 4 hours, as I took my time setting up & testing the new speakers first. The sound is excellent and the anti skip works great. My last turntable was for DJ's. The provided USB-B to USB-A cable for connecting to a computer won't work with my laptop, as I only have USB-C connections. I can either try a USB-B to USB-C cable or my USB-C to USB-A block. My priority is to play my LP's and may follow up later.

Pros: Reliable & Good Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP5X

Nathan from Moline, IL on 12/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Shipping was fast, good that they doubled the box because the shipping carrier tore a hole in the outer box just punched in the main box but foam from the factory saved it.

Pros: Easy to set up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Enthralled

Darryl from Atlanta on 12/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Received and set up yesterday. I immediately grew in love with this table. It replaced an oldie but goodie vintage Technics. I played a Bob Marley album, Rastaman Vibration, first then Cannonball Adderley's Somethin' Else. For the price I paid I couldn't be more delighted with this table.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

As-advertised

Daniel from Kersey, PA on 12/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AT-LP5X

John from Manassas, VA on 12/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent turntable. Every album I have played on this turntable has sounded great! Take your time in setting it up properly and you will be rewarded. Also love the ability to record sonds on my computer.

Pros: Produces excellent sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audio TechnicaAT-LP5X

Jeffrey from Indianapolis, IN on 10/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had a lot of turntables and currently have 4 this is second to my Technics but this sounds really good. Super easy to put together had it playing in under 15 minutes. Very good direct drive turntable.

Pros: Easy to set up and looks and sounds great.

Cons: Has to be said that it is plastic but solid.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice basic turntable.

Sam from Jackson, NJ on 8/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice basic turntable Just plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP5X

Michael from East Longmeadow, MA on 5/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a good quality low-end direct drive turntable. It is easy to assemble, but I would recommend that you watch the AT you-tube video to do all of the steps correctly (the quick start guide is vague on a couple of items relative to tone arm balancing and tracking force setup. The cartridge is base level and doesn't match the rest of my system, but I knew that when I bought the turntable. A cartridge upgrade is definitely recommended to expand the frequency response (AT-VM95ML/H or possibly the AT-VM540ML/H would be 2 to consider). One surprise is the lack of an on/off switch. The "STOP" position does not turn off the power to the turntable.

Pros: Low cost, high quality, can easily add an upgraded cartridge, direct drive, dust cover included, safety latch for tone arm, slide on/off stylus protector included

Cons: No on/off switch

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP5X

Richard from Ware, MA on 1/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup,very straightforward, great sound, easy to digitize music

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP5X

Cale from Greenwood, IN on 12/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Simple and Good.

James from Menomonee Falls, WI on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the money this table is tough to beat. It's simple. Other than the built-in phono preamp and a USB port there are no extras. At this price point, that's the way it should be. A buyer wants the manufacturer putting their money into what matters. As a matter of personal preference, I prefer a direct drive table, which this is, as a belt can be a pain, especially if one has to manually move the belt to change speeds. In addition, I do not care for the trend of having the belt exposed which to me is asking for trouble. This table gets up to speed almost instantly and there is no noticeable wow/flutter at all. Properly set up, this table delivers great sound. It will benefit from a cartridge upgrade. I replaced the stock cartridge which was OK w/an audio-Technica AT-VM540ML and it made a big difference. The tone arm seems decent, but again, simple and no extras. A person really can't go wrong w/this table.

Pros: Simple, well built, easy to set up, good sound.

Cons: Dust cover is a tad flimsy, but at this price that's small beer.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Product and Excellent Sound!

Joshua from Charlotte, NC on 11/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic product and excellent sound. Warm, crisp, and clear audio when paired with powered speakers. Great build quality, though there's more plastic than I'd like to see. Packaging was really efficient, but be careful because many of the smaller parts are embedded into the styrofoam and if you don't know they're there, they may end up getting tossed into recycling. Do a thorough scan of the contents of the box :)

Pros: Great Sound Great Build Quality

Cons: Setup Instructions are Poor

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Quality products

David from Old Bridge, NJ on 6/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Truly love the sound that this turntable produces easy to setup . Had an older techniques direct drive recently stopped working Great replacement high quality recommend buy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP5X

Crutchfield customer from Vernon, AZ on 11/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am enjoying this turntable. Great fidelity. Easy to set up. Haven't tried copying LPs to computer yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audio-Technica AT-LP5X

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 10/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Such an upgrade from my previous table and an amazing bargain. Direct drive and USB out with a solid phono preamp. What more could you ask for.

Pros: Direct Drive USB Phono Preamp

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound