Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Focal Aria 948

Focal Aria 948 Floor-standing speaker (High-Gloss Black)

MFR # JMLARIA948-BPL

5.0 out of 5 stars
14 reviews
View this product
Focal Aria 948

Douglas from South Bend, IN on 7/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are very good. I have tried quite a few over the past few years, and these are by far, the best. You will need power. Placement is something I'm still working on, but normal toe in isn't what these speakers need. The detail is there. I've had for 2 weeks and they're still opening up in tweeter area. Mids are fantastic, bass is firm and plentiful. If you're like me, you'll find yourself adjusting the "color" of your music, more with these speakers than what you're used to. They are quite neutral. Overall it's a very very good speaker. You won't be disappointed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing Speakers

Gary from Albuquerque, NM on 7/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these as my forever speakers & had waited years for the price to drop. First of all, the craftmanship and materials are gorgeous and the real leather on front gives it a classy look. I'm running these off of an Emotiva pre-amp and the Emotiva XPA-2 Gen 3 amplifier (300 wpc) and they are absolutely stunning. Not only can you hear minute details in your music, the sound is so balanced and the imaging dispersal so good that even with your eyes open your brain can't say "the sound is coming from there." Truly an amazing set of speakers that sounds great with everything from classical to metal. I've rediscovered a love for live recordings. As my wife said, "it's better than actually being at the concert" when we listened to Halestorm's "Live in Philly" album, and we've seen Halestorm live 3 times.

Pros: clear, full, detailed sound with luxury level craftmanship

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Aria 948

William from PLOVER, WI on 6/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I absolutely love these speakers. I paired them with Cambridge Audio Edge W and NQ components. Smooth vocals, highs that are clear not bright and great well defined bass. I mostly listen to Progressive rock and metal and the soundstage is so wide I can close my eyes and be transported to directly to the source. Could not be happier with these speakers.

Pros: Silky vocals, clear highs, strong defined bass and a wide soundstage

Cons: Heavy and large - but no surprise there

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very happy with my purchase,

Jonathan from Indianapolis, IN on 3/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Some descriptive comments that come to mind are handsome and well-made, very efficient, great to look at, very clear, accurate and powerful. I looked at the Focal line for several months along with Klipsch, Wharfedale and B&W. Then I narrowed my focus to Focal and the Aria line. I had to decide whether to focus primarily on music or AV. Thus, the 936, 936K2 and the 948. I decided to aim toward music as I have an AV system. I read every article and watched every YouTube video I could find to gather information and make a selection. I even emailed Focal with a couple questions. Then, what's this? ... a sale? OK, time to pull the trigger. I made a good choice. I barely have to turn the volume up for loads of crystal clear, neutral sound. And wow? Do these speakers look great. My first product from France. For the money and what you get, I think more expensive speakers would result in quickly diminishing returns for the end user. Yes, the LaScala's could blow the paint off the walls, but I don't really need that. I'm very happy with these 948s. Right now I'm powering these with a pristine amp and pre-amp from Carver, both refurbished from an authorized repair service with all new caps, etc. Should be putting out over 400 watts per channel into 4 ohms. Now I need to set my sights on a new amp and pre-amp that will bring out the best in these beauties.

Pros: Looks/visual impact. Clear, neutral sound. Very efficient ... just a little power equals great performance.

Cons: Packaging-I'm surprised the cardboard was only single-wall. One carton had a big "push in" in the side. The delivery guy left the second speaker under the back of the truck where the truck roof was draining water on the carton. I opened the cartons immediately. All seemed OK. That these speaker made it here from France intact is amazing. Low impedance dips-Doesn't seem to be a problem unless you are really planning on cranking these up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 10 found this helpful

Focal Aria 948

Alex from DES MOINES, WA on 12/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dope speakers that not only looks great, but sounds fantastic. Deep lows and perfectly crisp highs blend together to bring music alive. I have them powered by an Emotiva XPA Gen3 amp, and the sound fills my house and puts a smile on my face everytime. I know these bad boys can handle more power, but they're perfect for what I want..for now....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Continuing to impress

Peter from Midlothian, VA on 9/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been searching for speakers for over 20 years. I was originally a fan of Dahlquist and was trying to find something that sounded so true and alive. I listen to a wide range of music as well as watch movies. I like subtle details, crisp highs and natural voices. Tight bass just adds icing on the cake. I'm done looking for speakers. The Aria 948 has satisfied me. I've had them for a year now and have not tired of them. They continue to impress me. I keep searching for different music to explore their abilities with. Currently driving them with a Hafler 9505 fed from a Marantz AV7704. I have the matching center and they do great for movies too. I don't use a sub for music but I do for movies.

Pros: Solid bass. Crisp details. Natural voices.

Cons: Price?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Philip Glass and Bruckner approve

STEVEN from Zephyrhills, FL on 8/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, Handles everything I throw at them- loud Philip Glass and Anton Bruckner, along with techno music as well. Yet sounds great with more introspective music such as string quartets. Paired with two Hsu Research subs in a 2.1 system. Great with movies as well! Excellent build quality and looks. Made in France (drivers and cabinet) at Focal's own facilities.

Pros: Sound quality on intense, loud music and introspective music such as string quartets. Build quality and looks. Drivers and cabinet made in Focal's facilities and not farmed out.

Cons: Wish it had two midrange drivers per speaker for even better performance (not that it is lacking, don't get me wrong). You have to spend $75K per speaker to get a Focal with two midrange drivers per speaker.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent sound

Rod from Alpharetta, GA on 8/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sounds great, good bass, no distortion even at a very loud volume, perfect power for my living room size, 320 sq ft

Pros: Sounds great Looks very nice

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Fantastic Speakers

Roger from Mckinney, TX on 1/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these together with the KEF R11 and tried in home using Crutchfield's 60 in home. (Fantastic service no hassle, I did have to pay $70 to ship speakers back) I tested these speakers with a Parasound JC5 and a Anthem STR Preamp, Oppo BDP-105 and a Technics 1200 TT. KEF R11: There were slimmer, taller and heavier than the Aria 948. These are slightly less sensitive and sounded a little on the dry side(With my equipment) The finnish on these are fantastic and beautiful. Great speakers and I would have kept them is the Aria were not in the room. Aria 948: I was blown away with the sound immediately, a little more expensive, sounded much more open, forward less compressed and restrained, also these got louder (More sensitive) There are light, shorter and less heavy than the R 11 but wider because of bigger woofers. The sound great for everything I listen to Rock mainly and they are a perfect match. I love bass (punchy) I like my music loud (Concert levels) and I love great clarity and the ARIA 948's check all of those category. Oh the top of the speakers are a black glass and the leather on front and back I'm told are genuine leather (meh who knows) These are beautiful speakers and have just a fantastic, punchy, powerful clean and clear sound. I kept these when compared to the R11 and decided to do that within a week. Hope this helps! The front grille's are magnetic on both, but I prefer the traditional grille of the Aria compare to the velvet type.

Pros: Lots of bass Excellent Tweeter and Midrange Fit and finish is fantastic Leather front and back is awesome Great looking stand/ Speaker Base

Cons: Prime walnut finish is not for everyone

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

possibly the best of its kind

Frank from New York, NY on 1/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I hadn't heard of Focal until it was time to upgrade my system from 2 B&W monitors that required more bass. I ordered the Focal Aria 948s after hearing a demo. They were professinally installed owing to their size and weight. I recommend you do the same. I never get tired of listening to these speakers; meanwhile, the B&W monitors sit atop a bookcase and all 4 are in operation for an amazing sound experience So amazing, in fact, that my neighbors are quite aware of them!

Pros: incredible bass and imaging

Cons: cost, but they're imported

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Aria 948

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, OH on 10/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are beautiful looking speakers. Fantastic craftsman ship that really screams "hi-end". Though the speakers are not all the way burned in they are transparent and have adequate bass for most genres of music. Highs are crisp and mids are forward and clear. The more hours I they play the more cohesive the sound becomes. I expect these speakers to really shine with another 25hrs or so.

Pros: Great appearance, crisp highs, solid bass, forward clear mids.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Just Wow!

Jeffrey from Parkton, MD on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had heard numerous reviews and opinions on these speakers. The more I heard the more I wanted to try them out. They did not disappoint. I listen mostly to rock and roll of all types and descriptions, with a little jazz and classical mixed in. Regardless of genre, they just keep getting better. From quieter passages from Joni Mitchell, Cat Stevens and Jeff Buckley singing "Hallelujah" and John Coletrane's "Stairway To The Stars", the performers sound as if they are sitting right in front of you. Prog rock, early Genesis, Yes, Gentle Giant, King Crimson, never sounded so thick, with all of the rich textures building an inpenetrable wall of sound. Electronic based music, Air and The Flaming Lips really shine. The more time you log on them the better they sound. I told my wife I was looking for my forever speakers, I found them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Wilton, CT on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers. The high range is fabulous, the bass is round and booming. My only slight issue is the mid range, which I think will open up as I play the speakers more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Focal Aria 948

Crutchfield customer from Los Gatos, CA on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. Vocals are forwarding and crisp, and very good mids and bass. Soundstage is well perceived. It's not a warm speaker, so you will get a good SQ pairing with warm sounding amps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 16 found this helpful

Compare the sound