Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
816 398 673 4
Connect ID #
816 398 673 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal Dôme Flax

Ultra-compact satellite speaker (Black)

MFR # DOME10FB

Focal Dôme Flax

Focal Dôme Flax

Ultra-compact satellite speaker (Black)

MFR # DOME10FB

8 reviews
View this product

Ultra-small Bookshelf for 2.1 Stereo

Todd from North Hampton, NH on 8/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are much better than I expected, fuller sounding than many others, not quite warm but more frequency range there than expected. Clean, detailed with a fuller sound is how I'd best describe them . Low- to mid-level volume listening they're perfect for my use, but they do well too at higher levels and they do not compress or lose composure, they just keep going. Yes, for mid- to high-level volumes they need a sub to fill out the bottom 2+ octaves, that's a good bit of music that is missing otherwise, but is less noticeable at low levels. By themselves there you can hear the beat of the music, and some bass is present. Size mattered to me, my room is roughly 10x12 and nothing ideal about the room characteristics. I've sampled ultra-small bookshelf speakers from Monitor Audio Radius 90, Totem Kin Mini (2016, 1st gen if you'd call it that), Anthony Gallo A'Diva Ti & SE, an older Linn Tukan (which is too big), and several similar very small speakers. Most small bookshelf speakers are just too big for where they are located. The Focal Dôme Flax has sounded the most neutral, full (not rolled off in any way, and not veiled), and connected in my room. I am running these in a 2.1 stereo setup using a Bluesound POWERNODE, and with a sub (bouncing between PSB and SVS subs - still testing here - but both immediately connect with the Dôme). My system sounds connected and sounds great with all music types - two parents and two college students all loving the setup.

Pros: Sound - clean, detailed, fullness Size - an ultra-small bookshelf Style - high acceptance factor

Cons: Is this a really "con" based on the speaker's design goals? A sub is needed to cover the full audible range of music or movies. I'd expect to need a sub with any ultra-small bookshelf, you can only fool the bass so much with tricks, which usually muddy the sound in some way, these don't muddy the sound.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Dme Flax

Crutchfield customer from Merrimac, MA on 12/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very good i use them for my back surround

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Option for Quality Atmos Heights

Crutchfield customer from Jenkintown, PA on 8/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are really fabulous speakers-I mounted them to the ceiling and used them to enable Atmos on my system, augmenting some Focal towers (Aria 926), a center (CC 900) and bookshelf rears (Aria 906). Opened up a whole new world that I was admittedly a bit skeptical about prior-it has been a great solution.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Dme Flax

Robert from Corinth, TX on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We use the Focal Dome Flax as rear speakers in a 5.1 system. They do a very good job at that position. I'd also say they would do good in a smaller room as stereo speakers. The sound is good relative the small size and of course bass is not so much and should be completed with a separate low end speaker in a srereo system, if the target is full range. Mounting it on a wall or ceiling is easy with the positioning options available. Rotate the wall bracket in different screw holes to change direction sideways and tilt the dome up or down forward. The side adjustment is about 40 degrees left or right in two positions each way. Forward tilt is 90 degrees, down or forward, with some force. There are several ways to get the cable through to the connection point, hidden or not. It is a little bit tight with larger cables.

Pros: Good sound in a small and versatile package.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing sound in a gorgeous package!

Crutchfield customer from Falls Church, VA on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love these speakers. They're really really capable for their size. Friends and guests I've demoed them to are always impressed that such big sound comes out of such speakers. I'm using them for my home theater (I have limited room space) as a 5.1 setup with a separate sub, and they rival my larger JBLs I previously had. They're easy to mount and angle and sound just as good for movies as they do for music. Treble is bright without being harsh, and mids for dialogue are clear and not muddled at all. The wife acceptance factor of them mounted (I got the white ones) is high, and they look really art-deco and cool, unlike black bookshelves or tower speakers. I'm going to buy a black pair for the bedroom as well, I love these things!

Pros: Sound quality Design and build quality Mounting options

Cons: Price is a bit steep, but well worth it.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Fôcal Flax Speakers

Macon from Sumter, SC on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Why 5 stars. For their size, shape & footprint they are really nice little speakers.

Pros: Sound quality & looks, size , overall quality

Cons: Price is somewhat high.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great sound and look

Craig from Butler, NJ on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers for surround and rears! Certainly not cheap but great sound for such a small footprint! Easy to install on the wall, brackets were great and sturdy. All around great purchase!!

Pros: Size and sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Good purchase experience

Brad from Hilton Head Island, SC on 8/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a good product from a respected manufacturer and my purchase experience was good.

Pros: Service was good. Delivery was on time and as promised. Speakers are as advertised--attractive with flexible mounting options.

Cons: These are not full range floor standing speakers with big woofers and magnets. They work for wall or desktop mounting and incorporating into the room's decor. They have a clean sound if you can supplement or do without the low end. Focal is a well known and respected company.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 24 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound