Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
596 354 818 4
Connect ID #
596 354 818 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio 90-RT

Polk Audio 90-RT in-ceiling speaker

MFR # AW1190-A

4.5 out of 5 stars
36 reviews
View this product
Polk Customer service sucks

steve from Apex, NC on 2/1/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought 2 of these to start my ceiling installs. About 5 more rooms. I also have 2 Atrium 8SD's and 4 RC80. I have russound whole home audio with a rack system in my basement and speaker wire(and Cat6) run throughout my house. I did the installs-wire pull myself during construction. So I am a mechanically inclined and a competent installer for background. My issue with the 90-RT's is the dog ear clamp screws. The holes in the plastic dog ears on the clamps is so tight that you will strip the heads trying to 'cut' into the new plastic. After trying two screws I was afraid I I would strip them before they fully seated. So I pulled the speakers out removed the dog ears and hand tightened the screws to 'precut' the threads. This way I could get better grip on the srcewdriver, screws and clamps. This worked a little better but most of them still stripped to a small extent. Afraid when I go to pull them out(might adding insulation around them) I won't get them back in. Torx heads would be better. I emailed Polk for 8 new screws, $1.50 for them, they told me to exchange them with Crutchfield. That would get me 2 new speakers with the same issue. So I won't be buying more Polks. Oh, and regarding performance, I'm not very impressed. I'm not an audiophile by any stretch but I have to fool with the EQ on the Wiim Pro to get it to sound decent. And switching music genres just drastically changes the sound quality. The 8SD's are good. These I don't think are.

Pros: 1-Has a hanging eyebolt to secure to the ceiling. 2-Has 4 dog ear clamps due to weight 3-Bass seems pretty decent due to construction type. no Sub needed.

Cons: 1-CHEAP POT METAL SCREWS!! They strip easily. 2-Plastic in the clamp is very tight and tough to cut threads. 3-The electronics board is not centered over speaker so you may hit a joist turning them to the proper orientation like me.

Crutchfield response on 2/5/2024
Steve, we're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing!

Chuck from EARP, CA on 7/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I added two 90-RT as Mid Overhead speakers in a new home. I couldn't be happier! Absolutely amazing sound complimenting an already amazing Polk RT system. My Crutchfield Advisor was very helpful in assisting me to choose a speaker that perfectly matched my other speakers. If your undecided between the 70-RT and 90-RT spend a little more and get the bigger speaker. The Base response is just amazing. Installation was also very easy.

Pros: Amazing sound, easy installation

Cons: Higher cost but well worth the investment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for Height Channels!

Tricia from Pensacola, FL on 3/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent speaker for the money. It has a great frequency range and perfect for an Atmos setup. You actually save money buying this compared to other in ceiling speakers as it is a sealed design so no need to buy an enclosure. I painted the magnetic grills to match ceiling color and they came out looking amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Full Specteum Speakers

Aaron from Plano, TX on 11/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced some entry level Klipsch speakers with these and what an amazing difference, especially when listening to music or movies with great sound tracks! They have a great warm, full spectrum sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really Nice Speakers

Steve from Scottsdale, AZ on 7/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers. We installed (4) on our back patio and love them. Clear, precise with just enough bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

90-RTs are the perfect addition

Shawn from Collegeville, PA on 3/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are fantastic and really shine for atmos speakers. They are relatively heavy and feature a 6x9" woofer with separate mid range drivers and an RT voice matched tweeter. Once installed they basically disappear. They are tall and heavy so make sure you have the space above clear and that you reinforce your ceiling tile if you put them in a drop ceiling.

Pros: Sound and basically invisible

Cons: Just make sure these fit in your space as they are tall

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Smooth

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 9/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We really like them very smooth sound. Not too bright they don't yell at you

Pros: Nice Grills

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, FL on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed a pair of the 90-RT's in my home office space, as I had grown tired of wearing ear-phones and have nowhere to sit bookshelf speakers. Delivery was surprisingly fast and installation was straightforward. I did spend a lot of time planning the position of the speakers as I had to rearrange some wiring in the attic, but the biggest problem was cleaning-up of all the dust after cutting the holes in the ceiling. Two weeks after installing them, I am enjoying the background sounds of music while working and even use them during video conferencing sessions via a bluetooth connection to my amplifier from my computer. The speakers sound good, but did not blow me away (hence 4 instead of 5 stars). The bass tones diminish quickly upon lowering the volume, so I have turned up the bass on my amplifier as I do plan to listen mostly at low volumes. I can not be sure if this is the speakers, the room, or another problem though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 4/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect for my application! Thanks Crutchfield

Pros: Good quality at a good price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound, good bass

Peter from Mount Pleasant, SC on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I put these in the ceiling of my screened in porch. They are superb. Better than expected and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Redmond, OR on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought these for a first time in wall speaker installation, with a Denon 5.2 receiver. These speakers sound amazing paired together with the rest of the RT series. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a overall better surround system.

Pros: easy to install if you have some background in A/V equipment.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Tipp City, OH on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ok

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Boone, IA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install. Templates were spot on. Just make sure not to over tighten and adjust direction of speaker before final tightening. Also take your time as you turn the screws. The screws are a bit tough to turn but don't be tempted to go use a drill. Just take the extra 30 seconds and do it right.

Pros: Easy install. Speaker wire connection is a simple press button.

Cons: To make it easy to connect the wire have a second person push the connection button as you insert the speaker wire if you don't have a lot of extra wire. Makes the process even easier!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers are exactly what I was looking for some bass and highs. Highly recommend!

Pros: Sounds amazing

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Muncie, IN on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound and a very nice look on the ceiling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Elliott from Newport Beach, CA on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are exceptional speakers for the money. I'm giving it only 3 stars because the plastic rotating cam-clamps are quite small for the heft of this speaker and several have broken during installation which is unacceptable. I called Polk Customer Service and waited for 50 minutes. Another 45 minutes speaking to a friendly gentleman, however, unfortunately they do not have any of these small plastic replacement parts which is wrong since they claim a lifetime parts warranty. I've purchased and installed dozens of these and many many more of the 620RT's which are considerably smaller and much more lightweight and oddly have bulkier families-clamps. I'm going to write them a letter and send the small part back to them since there's absolutely no way I'm going to try to MacGyver some half baked solution since these babies are very heavy and I don't want them falling out and hitting me or worse, any of the kids in the head in my kitchen-Yikes! Now that I think of it, needing to purchase more for a spec home I'm building I'm going to contact Crutchfield and find another brand that sounds as good as Polk but has higher quality cam-clamps. Sorry about the verbosity of this review, but it needs mentioning that ceiling speaker clamps should be of high quality and relatively easy to install.

Pros: Great Sound, Good price

Cons: Poor quality small plastic cam-clamps which can break easily during installation.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 16 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Stevensville, MT on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good tech assistance, quick shipping. The speaker is substantial, flat grill. easy install, good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Waukesha, WI on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced my old kitchen speaker (polk audio rc60i) with this one. Was a night and day difference with the sound quality. It is a little top heavy so the hook feature to secure to a roof truss is nice but with 3/4" drywall isn't necessary if you aren't able to get access to the speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Madison, NJ on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice full sound for in-ceiling speakers and very good price point. Two points to consider, they are big in depth so make sure you have the room; also tweeter cannot be aimed (not so important if not being used in LCR positions). Glad I didn't pay for other options as I find most in-ceilings and in wall speakers just are not up to the sound quality of free standing speakers.

Pros: Full sound, nice bass for in ceiling speakers Nice price point

Cons: Large in depth, make sure you have room Tweeter cannot be moved or aimed

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Strongsville, OH on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

WOW sums it up best! These work great for the rear channel of our system!

Pros: Sound quality with both music and television

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 7/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, great price, and very easy installation. I need one more and will be buying the same model.

Pros: Nice wide sound range

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great worth it

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, CA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful sound live them

Pros: Sound

Cons: Too small of clips for install

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros: Easy install, clear

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great, but...

Crutchfield customer from Clifton, VA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These ceiling speakers do a great job and seem to match fairly well with my Martin Logan speakers. Speaker quality is the main thing of course. However, the installation could have been easier if the template was a bit smaller for the hole in the ceiling and the grabbers were longer. Since these speakers were installed in an acoustical tile ceiling I had to back up the tile with plywood and secure the speakers with wire to the above woodwork. Make no mistake, these speakers are heavy and large. Great speaker, but you need to be aware of what you are getting into.

Pros: great sound, great specs, appears well built

Cons: Installation in a ceiling can be tricky and buyer needs to be fully aware of potential pitfalls.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 2/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are well built speakers. I purchased them for Dolby atoms ceiling speakers. I have not installed them yet but I hooked a set up as front left and right mains. The sound was almost as good as my Polk bookshelf RTI speakers. At the sale price I got them at they were a steel

Pros:

Cons: Almost to deep to fit in my ceiling. I have 2x10 joist which are only 9 1/4 tall. Add the drywall at 1/2 inch it only gives a 1/4 inch clearance.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound

Jim from Palos Park, IL on 12/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They are larger than I thought but fit Perfectly in the ceiling Easy install. Took about 2 hours to put up 4 Sounds great. Did buy a sub woofer to help out as I'm using them for music Great compliments from anybody that listens as they play pool!

Pros: Great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Mark from El Dorado Hls , CA on 12/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers were easy to install being that I had pre-wire 3RT-90s Are for the front speakers in my surround and 4-RT70s side and rear

Pros: They were very easy to install saved me hundreds from paying someone else to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Jen from Burlington, KY on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers installed in minutes. They are flush to the ceiling. The sound fills the room and sounds full. Less intrusive than the four speaker plus floor base.

Pros: The Sound! Easy installation.

Cons: The size.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good speaker

Roberto from Roswell, GA on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Relatively good for the price. Wanted B&W but could not afford them. The finished installation is a minimal look. I think there are better speakers out there but for a lot more money so for me this is a good fit. Will probably buy two more for another zone; this is cheaper than buying two Sonos to get stereo : ) Did not give them a 5 'cause the installation instructions are not very good, but this was my first ceiling installation. Had to guess on the best orientation in relation to the listening location. I may have to adjust them....

Pros: Relatively good sound for ceiling speakers. They are now my rear channel; fronts are Polk TRi 12's. They combine well together. Look very nice (my ceilings are white) great for a modern look...

Cons: Installation instructions not good. No specification on best orientation of speakers. Locking cams were extremely hard to screw on one of the speakers. Had to search online for the best way to insert wires into connectors. Had to call support for explanation on the use of the eyebolt (not required for sheetrock ceilings)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Spencer from West Orange, NJ on 6/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice speaker with rich sound and impressive bass. Looking to purchase more for the rest of the house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, OH on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have not had long enough to rate the sonics of this speaker, however, it was very easy to install. I installed it in the drop ceiling of my dedicated home theatre as part of the new Atmos upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound...hidden speakers!

Joe from Germantown, MD on 3/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was a little skeptical of using in-ceiling speakers. After numerous calls to the fabulous Crutchfield team, I landed on 3 of these for the L-C-R i used the 70-RT's for the rear. I haven't had too long to enjoy them for movies. But, for music, they do a really nice job. And they aren't taking up valuable floor space where my wife can put stuff...lol Haven't added the sub yet. Probably in the next few weeks. I'll copy this review into the 70-RT field as well. Thanks Team Crutchfield! great advice as always!!

Pros: Really nice sound without giving up any floor space.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent sound and quality

Pete from Herriman, UT on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed these speakers to set-up Dolby atmos/DTS. Easy to install and have excellent sound quality. The three way design for these speakers makes a big difference.

Pros: Easy to install. Excellent sound quality and three way design.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-rt

JP from Chula Vista, CA on 12/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this speaker as my center channel. Very easy to install when using the template, just got to get thru cutting the hole in the ceiling. Speaker sounds great! Very clear sounding, loud and I have not heard any distortion when cranking it up.

Pros: Price, easy to install, sounds great and works well as a center channel.

Cons: I installed this speaker as an in ceiling speaker. If I were going to get very technical, I would have installed in the wall to have the audio coming right at me. Either way, it sounds great!

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Compare the sound