Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio DB 1242 SVC

Polk Audio DB 1242 SVC DB+ Series shallow-mount 12" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # AA9242-A

4.0 out of 5 stars
7 reviews
View this product
Mid-bass at Best

Rocco from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/17/2024

2019 Ford F-350 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed 2 in a ported prefabricated (42 htz) box and wired them for 2 Ohms. Supplied with 500w RMS off a new Fosgate amp, we listened to a variety of genres. I really wasn't too impressed from a "deep bass" perspective except at low volumes. They hit more like MTX 8's or 10's despite the ported tuning. During the break-in period I was pretty easy on them mostly because of an electrical smell emanating from the box. About a month later I listened loudly within the parameters of the amp and one day they both blew simultaneously. Unfortunately I'm past the warranty period. I wouldn't recommend these for daily listening. The power rating seems highly exaggerated.

Pros: Shallow mount, easy install, water proof

Cons: Thin voice coil, small magnet, lightweight

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 1242 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Laredo, TX on 10/20/2021

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds awesome in a sealed box. Nice, clean bass hooked to a OEM radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 1242 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Christiansburg, VA on 7/16/2021

2016 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good quality for the price range. Really help bring my 2016 ram sound system to life. Only pushing it with 200 watts. And plenty of thump in the cab

Pros: Quality and great sounds

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 1242 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Mililani, HI on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Whoever said these was good LIED!!! Terrible speakers. Do not I say again do not waste your money!!!

Pros: None

Cons: Sound like crap

Crutchfield response on 1/4/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your sub. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 1242 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Dover Plains, NY on 9/5/2020

2009 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Loud and clear sound plus space saver some how I installed in the first aid kit location in the tailgate of my off-road Xterra to save the trunk space I'm very happy with it. Thanks Crutchfield for you service and fast shipping, very good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk audio DB 1242 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Gresham, OR on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Normally I'm into 15" woofers in my SUV. No smaller. Then I bought a truck for hauling stuff and immediately hated not having subs or any speaker upgrades. So I had to find two 12"shallow mount subs and I saw these Polk Audio's for a great deal. Ordered them, installed them in my new box, plugged them in and these things sound insane. Totally did not expect the amount of low and high bass these put out in a sealed box. They're mean, and super clean lookin and handle lots of power. Would definitely put these in my next truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 1242 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow, hit hard and sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Compare the sound