Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
499 168 438 4
Connect ID #
499 168 438 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC DB+ Series shallow-mount 8" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # AA9843-A

4.5 out of 5 stars
83 reviews
View this product
Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

William from Fall River, MA on 4/17/2024

2007 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sub was a perfect OEM like replacement. Great sound. Sure works for me. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2006 Solara JBL subwoofer replacement

Gerry from Myrtle Beach, SC on 4/3/2024

2006 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked well as a replacement subwoofer in 2006 Solara with JBL system. Had to redrill holes to adapt to enclosure and use wire adapters to connect to existing wires. Overall very good sound. Improvement over stock JBL woofer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Ram rumbles

Shawn from SCHERTZ, TX on 3/24/2024

2016 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great update to my 2016 Ram 2500. It was a straight forward install. I put sound deadening mats inside the plastic container instead of poly fill. Bass now fills the cab of the truck and works well with the upgrade door speakers. I was second guessing myself going with a 4 ohm instead of a 2 ohm, but I think does well for me. because the sound is for me. I would definitely recommend this speaker and the connectors Crutchfield recommends. Makes install so much easier.

Pros: Easy install Tight bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent little sub

Jason from Warner Robins, GA on 3/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was used to replace the stock subwoofer in a 2014 Honda Odyssey. This was wired for 2ohm impedence. The stock sub box was used, it was stuffed with batting material. The screw holes didn't line up perfectly. Ended up sealing the old screw holes, adding a foam separator on the surface of the stock box and tossing some screws in it. Worked out pretty well. The stock 60 watt amp provides this sub just enough power to add depth to music that the aftermarket door and panel speakers were missing. For the money, this did exactly what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replaced 4Runner factory sub

Chuck from Huntington, WV on 3/8/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly to replace factory JBL sub in 4th Gen 4Runner. Minor mounting mod, just pre drilling 6 holes in factory

Pros: 2ohm options

Cons: Don't see any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thomas Debrowsky

Thomas from Surprise, AZ on 2/29/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a complete replacement of the OEM subwoofer for my 2004 Toyota Solara convertible sounds amazing easy to install and the people over at Crutchfield were so helpful. Thank you.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great base sound

Harold from Cottrellville, MI on 11/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the 2nd Polk Audio DB 842 DVC I have purchased, different applications, and it did not disappoint. As always, the price was right and shipped the same day. Thanks to Dillon in tech support for helping me make the right choice!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Tomas from Bellwood, IL on 6/21/2023

2005 Lexus LS430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Maybe it can be a great fit for other vehicles in factory replace sub but for Lexus you have to do a lot of modifications to just make it fit and set it In the search for Lexus ls sub replacements this came 1st but is not is hard to set it like I say it might fit other cars but is a big no for Lexus ls vehicles Plus had a hard time determining witch is positive and witch is negative can't really tell Sound wise I don't know I end up leaving the factory sub in the ls unfortunately

Pros: Looks solid we'll build

Cons: Is hard to see which is negative terminal and witch is positive

Crutchfield response on 6/26/2023
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Tomas to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Edward from Raleigh, NC on 6/5/2023

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Too large for factory sub box. Was not an easy install. Crutchfield should note in description or instructions: Modifications need to be made for install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Yixi from Cary, NC on 3/21/2023

2018 Honda Civic Type R

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A great step up from my 2019 Civic Type R's factory subwoofer. Mounting does require a custom fitting ring. I modeled one and 3D printed it using PETG.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Save your money

Travis from Tuttle on 2/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Actual piece of garbage, will not be buying from polkaudio ever again in my life, wasnt even running it hard and it blew. Save your money and buy something else, you should be ashamed of your product.

Pros: None

Cons: All of them

Crutchfield response on 2/26/2023
Travis, we're sorry you had issues with your sub. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can set up a return or exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 12 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Tabatha from Loveland, CO on 12/5/2022

2007 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It fit perfect in the back of my 2007 Dodge Charger. Very simple and sounds amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Chris from AUSTIN, TX on 12/1/2022

2018 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded the Alpine sub that came with my 2018 Ram Rebel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Robert from Avondale, AZ on 11/22/2022

2002 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice speaker and very well constructed. Used to replace an old stock sub, and this one sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk audio 8 inch subwoofer

Michael from Oklahoma City, OK on 11/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a 2021 Nissan Kicks. It's a small SUV/crossover It came with factory components speakers up front and 6 1/2 doors speakers in the back it was just missing bass so I saw this Polk audio 8 inch subwoofer and it's perfect for me added plenty of bass for being an 8 inch subwoofer it hits lows pretty good I went with a sealed box and it left me enough room for groceries and other stuff I highly recommend this Polk subwoofer for the price

Pros: Perfect size great bass response and does not drown out the factory door spears

Cons: None great subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Bill from Caryville, TN on 11/15/2022

2005 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super fast shipping and well packed and great quality!! Will use them again!

Pros: Fast shipping Well packed Great quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beat Expectations

Jason from SENOIA, GA on 10/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For how small it is this sub works surprisingly well. Just need to make sure you feed it enough power.

Pros: Many configurations to choose from

Cons: Depth for an 8" sub

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Ron from WILLISTON, VT on 8/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For a sub of this size, I'm very happy with the sound it puts out. My Roadster is very tight on space and this Polk sub fits almost perfectly in the existing enclosure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extremely satisfied for price

Jacob from Midway, GA on 7/28/2022

2020 Ford F-150 King Ranch

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've got a '20 f150 with a factory sub in it. I swapped it out for this because the DVC and specs matched the factory amp. I wasn't expecting much of an upgrade for under $100 but it is extremely impressive! It is quite a bit louder and the clarity/lower frequency response was better than I could have hoped for. The only downside was that I had to build a small 3/4" extension ring out of wood to allow the sub to clear the back of the factory box but no big deal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Robert from Brookpark, OH on 4/4/2022

2003 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

does not fit 2003 element

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/5/2022
Robert contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Steve from Winthrop, MA on 3/22/2022

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best sub in this price range! Great Polk quality!

Pros: Great price and deep Bass that you can feel.

Cons: None in this price range!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

banging eclipse...

Crutchfield customer from Bourbonnais, IL on 11/15/2021

2007 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very easy install. sounds way better then stock for sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good solid bass.

Crutchfield customer from Burnet, TX on 10/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clean sound. Full bass immersion throughout my Yukon. Much better than the old factory sub. Not too bad to install. Just made a 1" ring to shim it out. Less than an hour. Removing and re installing the interior panels took longer. Well worth the effort.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sound

Crutchfield customer from Las Cruces, NM on 9/30/2021

2001 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product, makes vehicle sound system perform like high end audio equipment.

Pros: Fits specified vehicle Enhances factory audio sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Powder Springs, GA on 9/7/2021

2000 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speaker. Sounds great with my factory head unit I had to make a lot of modifications to make it fit 2000 Tahoe speaker box. I used a dremel to make the housing larger to accommodate this new speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Speaker, but not a high performing speaker

Crutchfield customer from Seymour, IN on 8/26/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very disappointed.... To be honest, it may be more of a disappointment with the "Tech" Customer support person who convinced me this was a good option. The speaker is nice and may perform as designed..... Here is my issue. I wanted something that performed BETTER than my Alpine system in my Wrangler. THIS DID NOT!!!!! Incredibly disappointed. In fact, IT IS NOT AN CORRECT FIT WITHOUT CUTTING (that may have been in the description) but i was okay with that because it was supposed to be an "UPGRADE" to what I already had.... Bottom line is I can't and won't return for a couple reasons. I ordered a 12" powered Rockford Fosgate from my local audio store and installing for free. Don't get me wrong, I am happy with how the transaction was handled and I GOT EXACTLY what i ordered. I just expected BETTER BASS THAN MY STOCK SYSTEM with this UPGRADE and IT WAS NOT!!!!!! I am mainly disappointed in the help I got when I questioned the capacity of this speaker from the expert. OVERALL the speaker is well constructed, and probably is great in a different application. NOT FOR AN OPEN AIR WRANGLER..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/30/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your sub. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 14 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Hagerstown, MD on 6/20/2021

2002 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does not fit. Says it's a low profile slim -

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/5/2021
We're sorry you're having trouble installing your sub. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Sheboygan, WI on 4/28/2021

2008 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wasn't exactly plug and play because I had to drill holes but besides that, sound quality is superb and couldn't have made a better purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Lenoir City, TN on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound from a well established company. Excellent value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Washington, MO on 3/18/2021

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked in my stock Alpine enclosure in my 2014 Jeep Wrangler

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect Replacement

Crutchfield customer from Pawleys Island, SC on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the perfect replacement for my old 25 y/o sub. It sounds much better than the original. Using the original enclosure and amp worked best.

Pros: Superior construction & materials used.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Nevada City, CA on 2/22/2021

2001 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My factory subwoofer was rotted out and needed replacement. I added this to the OEM sub box. I had to add a 1/2" spacer as the box was not deep enough. The sub fulls the cabin with lows. It's somewhat limited due to the low power of the factory amp. Great for replacing factory equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Prescott Valley, AZ on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was at the outlets. Fit my JK with slight mods. Makes a difference in the sound.. thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 12/30/2020

2000 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

havent heard have to modify box but they are beautiful, heavy and waterproof

Pros: all good

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Packs a punch

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 12/25/2020

2010 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replace my weak oem and I'm loving it. Even with factory sub it had nice deep bass

Pros: Small Compact Poweful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, OH on 12/15/2020

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great sub for my 2002 Tahoe. The stock one was deteriorated. After a little modification of the sub box with a dremel tool the sub fit great and works great too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Buy

Terrence from Washington, NC on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced factory sub with this and had to Dremel away some of the plastic enclosure for my 2013 Veloster for it to fit. It thumps cleaner but still no louder bass. Had it for almost a year and satisfied.

Pros: Sounds good Can be wired two ways

Cons: Had to do some modifying to make it fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great little sub!

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, NJ on 12/6/2020

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sub sounds great and is a great factory replacement sound wise but I purchased it based off the fact it was recommended as a direct replacement. I did have to modify the factory sub box in my 01 Tahoe to get it to fit. But sounded great once I did!

Pros: Well made, sounds great even for an underpowered 8 inch sub.

Cons: Had to widen the opening of the factory sub box to get it to fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Haverhill, MA on 12/4/2020

2000 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Brandon from Paoli, IN on 12/2/2020

2017 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this to replace the factory sub on our 2017 toyota sequoia with jbl. It will fit in the box but non of the holes line up. Even though Crutchfield said it would fit. Yes, it fit fine, but you need to drill 8 new holes on the box to be able to have it mounted. I have bypass the jbl amp and now running a pioneer gm d9705. Does it thump? Yes, it does. Yes, it does. Factory plastic box is ok for the time being. But to run this to it full potential, you would need a dedicated enclosure.

Pros: good thump Quality

Cons: required 8 new holes to mount on factory box.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Parkville, MD on 10/13/2020

2019 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A little old-school, smooth flavor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 Ram 1500 w/ Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 9/18/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in my 2014 Ram w/Alpine to upgrade the stock sub. About a quarter of an inch to tall and had to drill new holes in the stock enclosure but I made it work. Sounds way better than the stock paper sub and I consider it money well spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Johnsburg, IL on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade from the factory sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 7/25/2020

1998 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Terrific speaker. I actually used this speaker to repair an old Polk home stereo sub woofer. I know the impedance doesn't match but it works great. Lots of punch!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Surprising power

Crutchfield customer from Easton, PA on 6/8/2020

2014 Honda Odyssey Touring Elite

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used these subs to rebuild two outdoor subwoofers and am amazed at how hard these hit for 8" subs. I get powerful, clean bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highlander subwoofer.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/2/2020

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic value. Priced less than half of an original factory replacement speaker.

Pros: Price, value sound, fit.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Little 8" thumper

Crutchfield customer from Central Point, OR on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Yes, there are "better" subwoofers on the market. But for my purposes (an OEM swap) it was ideal and the price was right. For my application I already new I was going to have to fabricate a 1/2" spacer ring, but once that was done it was a perfect fit. -This subwoofer thumps! The response it amazing and tone reproduction is great. And that's utilizing the stock amp! Next project will be to swap the amp out. Thanks Crutchfield for always providing great products and great prices.

Pros: Dual voice coil, power handling, price

Cons: Only con is the 4" really isn't "shallow mount"

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Port Huron, MI on 5/23/2020

1989 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great and looks well built hopefully it lasts for years to come

Pros: Sounds great for a smaller sub its not gonna rattle your teeth out but with 2 of these they are plenty loud and sound great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound, no real documentation.

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 5/11/2020

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm pleased with the overall sound that is coming from this sub woofer. It was a very good upgrade from the factory subwoofer in my Lexus SC430. The dual voice coil made it feasible to get a higher impedance speaker that was closer to the factory specs since I keep the factory amplifier. My only wish is that there was some sort of installation sheet to assist. A paper template for the cutout and screw holes would have been very helpful. It took me <5 minutes to do the electrical work, but ~2 hours to get a mechanical fit to the existing hole in the car, and a very accurate paper template would have been helpful for the screw placements.

Pros: Sounds good, fit into the tight space where the factory sub was. The two primary concerns for my fitment were the dimensions and trying to get close to the factory 16 ohm impedance. I settled for DVC in series to make 8 ohms.

Cons: No installation instructions, no cutout templates.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

2016 Ram 1500 Laramie sub upgrade.

Ady from Columbia, MD on 4/26/2020

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Way better than the factory sub and well made. The Metra 72-6514 Speaker Wiring Harness connectors are too small. Had remove and solder the ends to the sub terminals.

Pros: Great sub and well made.

Cons: Holes do not line up and the included speaker wiring harness terminal ends are too small for the sub.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

jeff from SPOUT SPRING, VA on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great bass in a compact speaker

Pros: easy install. great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk audio 8" shallow mount subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Theodore, AL on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, good construction Overall good product

Pros: Perfect fit for my application

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 1/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent replacement for my stock sub. Sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Needed Upgrade 2002 Tahoe

Crutchfield customer from Winter Haven, FL on 11/10/2019

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The DB 842 has excellent sound and has completed my sound equipment replacement in my 2002 Tahoe. I did build a 1/2" spacer that fit the stock sub woofer box. It allowed for a great fit in the box and behind the panel. Wiring was easy to set for 2 ohms. Very pleased with the final results.

Pros: Excellent sound, wiring flexibility, easy to fit stock location

Cons: Had to build an adapter

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Adds a nice kick!

Frank from Heyburn, ID on 10/6/2019

1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sub was exactly what I was looking for. I was just wanting to add a kick to my music and it gets the job done, and then some. Very impressive for an 8 inch, good price too. Thumps

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Didn't hold up long

Crutchfield customer from Lawson, MO on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had the for about 3 days and it burnt up may have just been bad luck but it didn't take a 150 watt rms amp but a few days to kill this thing so I don't plan to try again

Pros:

Cons: Poor quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

mixed sound system

Crutchfield customer from Vinton, VA on 9/16/2019

2005 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

nice sub, Polk speakers are my favorites both home and auto!

Pros: really nice lows from this 8" shallow sub in a pioneer shallow enclosure, hv always had 10",12",15" bfore, highly impressed!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Schenectady, NY on 9/8/2019

2004 Mitsubishi Endeavor

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Don't let the size of this little baby fool you ! It really delivers great big bass and sounds awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Greenbelt, MD on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works. Still in the break in process. It's a sub. not much more to say about it.

Pros: It works. Still breaking it in.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Good little sub

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 5/31/2019

2002 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a decent sounding sub for its size! In a well-made & tuned enclosure it will serve you well! As others have mentioned-it will not fit in the stock box of a 2002 GMC Yukon without a 0.75" spacer ring. You will likely have to modify the ring as well. So bear that in mind.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Fantastic bass

Alex from Ft Worth, TX on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my factory subwoofer in my 2012 Toyota Sequoia. It fit the factory opening but the screw holes didn't line up. No big deal as a template and screws are provided to drill new holes. The factory harness doesn't fit but Crutchfield included a free set of adapters. This subwoofer combined with an aftermarket amp makes the bass really come alive. It pounds hard now. Hard to believe it's just an 8 inch subwoofer. It sounds fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great option for stock replacement

Crutchfield customer from York, SC on 4/25/2019

2001 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding sub for my 2001 Yukon! Clean, tight, bass. Not overpowering, but perfect for stock replacement. Does require 1/2" spacer due to mounting height difference vs. OEM sub, but fits in the stocknenclosure perfectly.

Pros: dual voice coils are perfect choice for stock amp. Bass is clean and tight.

Cons: mounting height requires 1/2" spacer in stock enclosure of Yukon. I wasnt' prepared for that, but it was easily accomplished in my shop. I would buy this speaker again, and I highly recommend it for stock replacement.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Jason from Beaverton, OR on 3/29/2019

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

One of the better 8" subs I have had over the years. Fits great in my low profile box and adds just enough bass to my system. Wasn't looking for something to crazy. Just upgrading my 20 year old Jeep with new speakers and this fit the bill perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Deep, boomy bass!

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 3/11/2019

1999 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sub works fine on it's own but really works wonders after hooking it up to a monoblock amp. I strongly recommend this sub to anyone looking for boomy bass.

Pros: Shakes my car.

Cons: Shakes the enclosure sometimes but i think that's mostly the fault of enclosure (it's plastic)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Boalsburg, PA on 2/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unbelievable amount of bass from a small speaker. Installed in a friend's 93 AM General Humvee (these vehicles are extraordinarily loud at idle with almost no sound insulation), and used a very small shallow mount box. Laughed because the bass shakes almost as hard as both of my Kicker Comp 10s. Bass is also super tight and accurate, definitely the cleanest sub I have installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Winston, OR on 2/4/2019

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Received it quickly! i haven't had a chance to install this as of yet I will soon when the weather clears!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 12 found this helpful

2002 Chevy Tahoe

Daamon from Wilmington, DE on 9/21/2018

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little sub Installed in factory location and it sounds great

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great value

damein from Chattanooga, TN on 9/9/2018

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sub for the money. Replaced factory sub in an 02 explorer sounds great.

Pros: Really good sound for great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Glenn from Springfield, MO on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For am 8" yes they do very well

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't want a box, don't need a box

mike from Miami, FL on 6/26/2018

2017 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice bass for my rear shelf. Really helps my 6.5s

Pros: Fits my 8"hole in the rear shelf

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, OK on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Work perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

DC from Denver, CO on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy fit and great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

LS430 Mark Levinson replacement

Clipz from Pearl City, HI on 4/17/2018

2001 Lexus LS430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Great quality. Sounds awesome!

Pros: DVC configurable to 8ohms

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound over factory

Roger from NM on 2/22/2018

2013 Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hands down better sound than factory sub in New ram truck. Easy install no surprises, 15 min install.

Pros: Quality ,price,ease of installation

Cons: Made in China, we have to conquer this

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

Polk DB 842 DVC

Joshua from Goodyear, AZ on 1/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have it in a sealed box .1 cubic feet smaller than recommended in a 300 rms kicker amp. Gets warm when I have the bass knob all the way up and subwoofer level set to level 3 on my Kenwood stereo, but stays cool when set to level 1. It's very loud for a sealed 8. The sub is in the very back of my van, but I can clearly hear and feel it in the front seats.

Pros: Loud Well Built Great in a sealed enclosure

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Hellertown, PA on 1/2/2018

2002 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not quite a direct replacement for 2002 Nissan Frontier cc.. it needed a spacer to fit in the factory shallow sub box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, GA on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple design, versatile wiring options, great sound quality for an 8" unit. Don't let it fool you; in a small sealed enclosure powered by a sound ordnance M350-1 this sub can get down!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound good value ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Brownsville, TX on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product for a low price, easy to install and compact design.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sub!

Neil from Lathrop, CA on 12/1/2017

2014 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Sub! Put it in a ported box, gets the lows really good. First amp I bought it felt like it wouldn't "push" the sub much so ended up doing 350 watts bridged and it's handling well. Had some bass adjustment (Brought it lower) so I'm not pushing the sub but after hits very clean, tight bass. If you are looking for a sub that just needs to replace factory sub or want just clean bass that doesn't rattle every nut and bolt then this is a great sub!

Pros: Small, hard hitting sub doesn't take up space

Cons: Have to have the right power so it's not over powered by distorting.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clean Bass reproduction an a very compact package

David from Cranbury, NJ on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sub provides clean punchy bass. Installed three behind the seat of my regular cab pickup and could not be happier with the results. I listen to a lot of different types of music. 8" subs are my go to since they are very versatile. These great performers really do complement everything from Rock to Classical to Rap to Opera and everything in between.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Build, Sound , & Great Price

Jose from San Jose CA on 7/28/2017

2010 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Build Quality @ Great Price. This is my 1st Polk Audio purchase and I am more than pleased. I used it to replace my Stock 8 Inch Sub in my 2010 Challenger. I left the stock AMP since Has the sound package 2 with an amp that is a little over 360 Watts and it is enough to drive it. It sounds nice and deep once the Volume and Bass is adjusted. I recommend pairing it with an After-market Amp to make sure it reaches its full potential. That is next on my list. The sub looks like it is build to last and it comes in a Low Profile form which was a must for the install in the challengers rear deck.

Pros: Awesome Build, Sound , & Great Price

Cons: Could Use an after market AMP to give it more kick

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Compare the sound