Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Connect ID #
658 704 038 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20 Bookshelf speakers (White)

MFR # 300364-03-00-005

5.0 out of 5 stars
66 reviews
View this product
Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Rob from Kent, WA on 3/27/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound good at lower levels. Paired up with the Marantz the can't seem to fill the air when turned up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Matthew from Fishers, IN on 3/11/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Huge upgrade from an old set of MTX bookshelf speakers. Very happy with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Gill from Bronx, NY on 3/8/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the sound awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

James from Dade City, FL on 2/29/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound from this relatively small pair of bookcase speakers is full and robust. Just what I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

dont seem the same as years back

Brian from Singers Glen, VA on 1/27/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

decent speakers but dont seem to be the same quality as years back. look kinda cheaply made cabinets and the logo is even cheap looking, but they sound decent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great speaker for the price!

Nancy from Camden, ME on 1/23/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love these speakers. They have a beautiful, warm sound with a nice presence. Good bass for the size of the speaker. This was the 3rd set of speakers that I tried and finally settled on these - well worth the wait. I can't say enough positive things about the support from Crutchfield in landing the right speaker for me!

Pros: Good presence, warm sound, adequate bass. Great value for the price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Thomas from Channahon, IL on 12/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. Sound stage and imagining great. Bass is a bit over powering in my small listening room. Trying several things to lighten it up. In a bigger room these are fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Glenn from Washington, DC on 12/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I upgraded my front speakers in my surround setup to the ES20 as I'm interested in adding the new height speakers to my setup and the height speakers weren't designed to fit on the ES15 models I had. I was using a pair of ES15 for my front left and right, an ES30 for my center, and a pair of ES10 for left and right surrounds. I wasn't unhappy with the sound from the ES15, but the ES20 sounds so much better! Despite similar frequency responses (48Hz-40kHz for the ES15 vs. 44Hz-40kHz for the ES20), I feel like they have a lot more bass and they sound much clearer. I knew they were going to be bigger and was a little surprised at how a few inches make them appear much larger, and was a little concerned about how much more room they took up when compared to the ES15 as my living room is only about 12'x15'. I had the ES15 speakers' front positioned even with the front of the speaker stands' pedestals and they only extended off the back by a few inches, while I had to center the ES20 speakers on the pedestal and they extend much further forward and backward. I didn't want to switch back to the ES15 models after hearing these but after tweaking my layout slightly to better position the ES20 speakers they fit much better.

Pros: Great sound!!

Cons: A bit larger than I expected; if you're putting them in a small room they may be visually overpowering.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Robert from Hollister, MO on 11/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound great and look great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Wilfred from Allison Park, PA on 11/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Like them so much I bought another pair and have them hooked up to a Yamaha R-N303 receiver. Great sound! Very satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

If you have the space, they are great

Clancey from SAINT PAUL, MN on 9/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these speakers to pair with vintage gear. Pioneer SA 6700 amp to be exact 40 watts per channel. Most bookshelf speakers reviews state over and over (these sound great with a subwoofer). Most vintage gear doesn't have a subwoofer out (at least not the stuff I can afford). Also, these have a minimum power requirement of 20 wpc. Perfect for my application. Also they came in brown, so they look great with my wooden cabinet. I almost went with the Elac 6.2 which review better on most on line sites, but I don't know why. They all say they need lots of power and take hours to break in. The Polks sounded great right out of the box and even better now. Great bass for bookshelf speakers. Crutchfield as always was great. These speakers are large and heavy for bookshelves. They sound warm and smooth with plenty of bass. However, I like the Polk sound my HT main speakers are Monitor 70 ll's, surrounds F/Xi A6, center C/Si A6. All great speakers. For the cost I don't think you can really do better than Polk. But I will probably never really know, for my budget they kind of own the space. The bottom line is the Polks es20 is well built, attractive, has magnetic grills, great sound and enough bass you can get by without a sub. If you have the space for them, buy them. You won't be sorry. Hope this helps someone. Some reviewers complained about the sticker and removing it damaged the vinyl. This sticker is on the bottom, if you're not OCD it shouldn't be a problem.

Pros: Great bass, easy to drive, magnetic grills, look nice, well built, comes in various colors, sound great with vinyl, they make me smile

Cons: Large, heavy, not front ported (not a problem for me, but it restricts placement somewhat), measure carefully. You will need good stands, you are not hanging these babies on a wall

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Simple Stereo System with expansion capabilities.

Michael from Mesa, AZ on 9/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We wanted a simple stereo system to replace our antiquated Sony Hi-Fi System, yes it was old in excess of 24 years. It had a dual tape deck system!!!!!!. The Crutchfield representative asked us a few questions regarding music we listen to and what we were looking for in a system, he recommended the Polk ES20 speakers, the Yamaha Receiver R-N303, and the Yamaha CD-S303. The receiver was able to accommodate a turntable, did I say we were antiquated!!!! Got lots of vinyl in our collection. The system is unbelievable in sound and is simple to operate. In fact, we can upgrade to wireless speakers down the road, and it offers so much more that we may or may not utilize. The Crutchfield representative new their systems and recommended a system that met our needs with no over selling. Kudos to the representative. This is the second system purchase from Crutchfield, we will be back................for the wireless speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Robert from Asheville, NC on 9/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers for our surround sound system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice sound

Robert from Huger, SC on 9/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good BOOKSHELF speakers

Pros: I got my. Money's worth

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Marc from NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV on 8/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome sound! Detailed and crisp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Polk Audio speakers

Ronald from Summerville, SC on 6/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers were packs great with a double box, not just in their original box they came flawless. They match my new hardwood floors perfectly and they sound great. Also found out that the left side of my amplifier is not working properly, but I was able to hook on speaker to the right on side A and B and they sound great, very impressed with the sound, now I need what I need to do is get my amplifier fixed. Thank you Sam they are great!!!!

Pros: They are what I needed for my old system!!

Cons: No complaints !!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Super Value

Norman from Fort Howard, MD on 6/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought these because I used to sell Polk Audio Years ago and knew that they are quality and value focused. These did not disappoint at all. The expansive sound quality is quite frankly remarkable. There is only one small complaint which was fixed with speaker placement. The power port creates "tubby" bass when placed too close to a wall. Move them away from the wall by even 6 inches and the bass remains strong without the "tubbiness" and moving them up to a foot away improves even more. These definitely need stands as opposed to placing them inside of a book case. All things considered the performance for the price is excellent.

Pros: Best value vs performance in a very affordable high end speaker

Cons: Caused me to retire my very old JBL L15 speakers!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Greg from Golden, CO on 5/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds amazing! I have these speakers connected to our new retro life turntable. We love to old school crackle from the re odds, and the speakers are crystal clear. Plenty of base and treble!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The best

Brendan from Rockford, IL on 5/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Totally love them no regrets they look and sound amazing

Pros: It sounds amazing no regrets Love the mids and highs on these and pretty decent bass for them there is no need for a sub if you are looking to get these in a small room or medium room if you have those these speakers would sound amazing and beautiful

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Neil from Tunbridge, VT on 5/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just received. They look great and sound great too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Eugene from San Marcos, CA on 5/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For a "bookshelf" 2-way speaker the PA ES20 are a pretty good speaker. Very good mid-range & highs. Not quite as thumping as I'd like on the bass, but not disappointing at all. They fill my mid size living room with a clear & crisp sound. The neighborhood knows when I'm a rocking.

Pros: Clear highs & mid-range response. For a bookshelf speaker they put out a very good sound.

Cons: Bass is not quite what I was looking for, but not disappointing. It is solid and responsive, just doesn't cut ya like a knife when turned up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers

Chris from Albuquerque, NM on 5/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've purchased a few sets of bookshelf speakers from crutchfield over the years, and each time returning them because they didn't sound well. With these, I can not say that. They are full of sound, from top to bottom. I'm driving them with a NAD 7175pe, a Tidal HiFi subscription and Topping D10s DAC. The Elac's I had lacked any type of musicality, plus they have a thick metal cover over the tweeter, blocking half the sound from it, who does that? I also had a pair of Definitive Technology bookshelfs that sounded nothing like these. The ES20's are beautifully crafted in my opinion and look great in my living room, I really dig the design.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pleased

Robert from Mchenry, IL on 5/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced some older Klipsch bookshelf speakers! Very pleased! Wanted to match center channel sonics! Terrific build quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Zach S.

Zachary from Longmeadow, MA on 5/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love my new speakers. They have clean sound and the rear bass port adds the perfect amount of enough kick for my living space. Great value for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Laurence from ESCONDIDO, CA on 4/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are the best bookshelf speakers I have owned! With that out of the way, I will qualify my remark by saying that I have owned several other bookshelf speaker systems by other brands over the years and these outdid them all. I recently purchased a restored vintage 1977 Pioneer SX-450 receiver to set up a separate music system. After some research of these and others, I called Crutchfield and spoke to Nemo who was very helpful in pointing out some things I had not thought about. In the end, these Polk Audio speakers were the logical choice. They are big and beefy and sound great with the grilles off and sitting on speaker stands. The Pioneer receiver (with "only" 15W per channel) has no problem driving them. I am getting good clean sound mostly. Some CDs and vinyl that are not well mastered are really noticeable, while many others in different genres sound fantastic. For this music setup, I don't really need a subwoofer like I use on my main TV and movie setup. Jazz and vocals really shine on these speakers and some of my favorite classic rock tracks sound great; Pink Floyd's "Comfortably Numb"; several by AC/DC, Led Zeppelin, and Black Sabbath among them. Remastered CDs like Jimmy Page's Led Zeppelin I-IV and the 50th anniversary Beatles CDs, most notably "Revolver", sound amazing. Kudos again to Crutchfield's advisors and tech support people. They are the best in the business! I highly recommend the Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20 sp

Pros: Good bass response, excellent soundstage in a medium size room when seated between the speakers, and they look great!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Simplified Excellence

Abraham from Saratoga Spgs, UT on 4/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First of all, I love the way these speakers look and feel. Heavy, rounded corners, rich wood grain, and magnetic grills give a premium feel to these, even if they're a relatively lower-tier product. Secondly, they're incredibly simple and straightforward to setup. They sound excellent even before you experiment with the placement and angle. These have been praised for the deep bass, and you can feel the low tones moving your body even without a subwoofer. I feel that the sound quality is excellent for the price point when you wait for it drop back to its low point (if you're not aware, these regularly oscillates between $399 and $319). I found that these speakers were particularly excellent for electronic dance music and watching movies, providing plenty of size and bass for anything I threw at them. If there was any area that they were somewhat lacking I would say it was with human vocals. Some of the crisp clarity and atmospheric detail you would get from a flatter speaker are subdued, though I probably won't have even noticed if I wasn't A-B testing against a more expensive speaker.

Pros: Bass Ease of setup Value Build quality

Cons: Vocals

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

amazing

Philip from Proctor, VT on 4/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the third time I have gone to Polk Audio speakers and I am not disappointed. These speakers sound incredible. I could not afford monitor speakers for my home studio so I got these. I am blown away by how well they work for mixing sound. By far the best sound and quality for the money. Wow.

Pros: sound quality, exceptional bass for speaker size, value

Cons: speakers are deeper than most, be sure to check your shelf dimensions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Jordan from Glen Mills, PA on 4/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent tone and great price: the Polk ES20's are the perfect choice for an affordable setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Anthony from East Peoria, IL on 3/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really like these speakers. Great sound with no distortion. Driving them with a Marantz receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk ES20 Bookshelf Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Church Hill, TN on 3/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These bookshelf speakers build quality is impressive and are even better than I expected , given the competitive price range they occupy. After a break-in period of about 60 hours they sound very good. The midrange is outstanding, including vocals and instruments. Bass notes of electric and acoustic guitar are also very good. Drums are what impress me, depending on recording quality of vinyl or cd formats. Of course those who want the lowest bass range might prefer adding a sub. Overall the sound is very good for a small to medium size room. This is my first purchase of any Polk product. Thanks to Crutchfield for prompt delivery and packaging.

Pros: Build quality of cabinets and drivers with resulting great 2 channel high fidelity.

Cons: Nothing major to complain about.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Antonio from Sumterville, FL on 3/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am really enjoying my new polk speakers. They are a real upgrade from my old polk rti 6's. The fit and finish is outstanding and they are much cleaner sounding than my old polks. The base is very good for such a small speaker.

Pros: Build quality and overall performance

Cons: no cons to be found

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

James from Cincinnati, OH on 2/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice sound for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

ES20 Speakers

Ellewishes from SC on 2/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid construction. Well packaged. Sound is very good for the price. I rarely use an E.Q. and these are only in a stereo set up. I use mine in a 12'x15' bedroom paired with a decent Yamaha reciever. Realistically, it's more sound/power than necessary for a room that size and they can be clearly heard outside with the volume up. If you're using for a home theatre set up, you'll need a sub. The bass is good, but doesn't go that low. That being said... I don't live in an area where I can do a proper A/B speaker comparison so my opinion is very subjective. I run Polk tower speakers in my man cave with a Rotel pre-amp and Adcom power amp. Little more punch than the book shelf speakers but they could use also use a sub to fill out the low end. For the price, Klipsch, Elac, Jamo and Sony also have decent equivalent speakers. Mine match up cosmetically with reciever, which was a bonus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Daniel from PHILADELPHIA, PA on 1/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These bookshelf speakers kick grass. Using them as surround speakers in a 5.1 setup with es50, es35, and a klipsch r121sw sub. Be it music or movies, these speakers put out . Have some surprising low end too to go with Crystal clear highs and a clear clean midrange. A great value at that price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great deal. Big, clean sound.

Roger from Richmond, VA on 1/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I already had a pair of S20s when I bought these. I knew I would be happy with them, and I am. They sound much larger than they are. I have always been surprised at the bass response I hear from a single 6.5in driver. On sale for just $319, I can't imagine a better value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Alain from Sacramento, CA on 1/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

N o expert here so I can only share what I can hear by comparing it to my old speakers. Seems like the E20 polished the rough edges off which is the reason why the sound is very pleasant (if that makes sense :-) ).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Brian from Glen Allen, VA on 1/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very rich filling sound. great option for front speakers if space is an issue

Pros: strong sound, clear and precise

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome for the size and price

Jean Francoi from Marietta, GA on 12/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a small office in my home that needed a sound system and I tried 4 different type of speakers as well as receivers. After months of trial and error, I found the ES20, combined with the TA4 BasX from Emotiva, to be a great combo for my office. The bass is tight and the rest of the frequencies are expressive but never too harsh.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Amanda Almei from Orlando, FL on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Polk ES20's sound is very bright. For watching movies this quality is excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great for the money

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, FL on 11/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These were ordered to replace my high end speakers from the mid 80s, which still work ok, but had grown long in the teeth in the high freqs. I'm listening thru a Yamaha RX-V365 with a Polk center, Kenwood sub, and 2 Sony 3 way speakers for the rear. The remarkable thing about these is how real the drums sound (ex. King Crimson Indiscipline in Mexico City on YT). And the sound stage is very real, shifting believably back and forth across the room. The only thing that fails a bit is the cymbals, but I've never heard anything in this price range that can make those seem real, you need a horn tweeter for that. The highs are, however, nicely detailed and balanced, and if you turn the volume up the bass has real punch, even with the sub turned off. For the money these are excellent. I doubt you will be disappointed, but if you are, you should start looking to spend a lot more money (think Klipsch Heresy). And those Design Acoustic PS-10s cost me $500 from the Navy exchange in 1984, which given the inflation factor is $1400 today! Mi gusta Polk!

Pros: Great sound

Cons: No real cons

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 10/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really impressed with these Polk bookshelf speakers, matched them with a Sony receiver and they have great bass and treble for a smaller speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Robert from Opelika, AL on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good solid speakers, just was too big for my setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Speakers I have ever owned !!!!!

Juan from Humacao, PR on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super Happy with these speakers. The sound and quality are amazing !!!! The best speakers Owned. Just these pair of speakers give a total audio experience

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Michael from Brookville, PA on 9/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice little pair of speakers . Decent bass and nice treble. I am using a classic Harman Kardon 730 receiver.

Pros: nice looking , pleasant bass , nice highs

Cons: all good

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Richard from Saint Matthews, SC on 9/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced Polk ES15 with these Polk ES20 in a surround sound system. The highs or treble seem the same, but the base or mid-range was noticeable better. Using a Denon receiver and Polk signature elite speakers. I am using Polk S55 for front speakers, Polk es35 for center and polk es20 for rear surround. Watch 4k movies/tv cable and use apple airplay with this set up. Going to use the polk es15 for top rear/front doby atmos speakers. I would recommend these speakers. Note: there was or is nothing wrong with the Polk ES15, they also sound great.

Pros: very nice clean sound

Cons: big speakers for surround

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Jeffrey from Kirtland, NM on 9/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound great. I have always been a fan of three-way speakers, but these ES20 speakers are excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Justin from Edmond, OK on 8/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Steven from Lake Hiawatha, NJ on 8/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have the entire elite series. Great powerful and clear sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good things in small packages

T from Becket, MA on 8/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased these Polk speakers to replace a set of 50 year old EPI 202s. Those 2 sided, 50 pounds a piece EPIs have been hauled across country multiple times- despite the weight and bulk they were always worthwhile. I was concerned if these "little" things could match up. They are pretty darn good. Proof that you can teach an old dog new tricks. Great service from Crutchfield. I purchased my first car stereo from Crutchfield in 1979 and they are still providing great customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers!

Monte from San Juan, PR on 7/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The turntable sounds AMAZING with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers

Robert B from CROFTON, MD on 6/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had someone knock one of my side surround speakers off the wall and it started making vibration sounds it shouldn't and voice had hissing on it. So, speaker busted. I couldn't find a replacement Polk RTi-A3 in good shape and price. So, time for a new pair. Worked with Sonny on finding another Polk spear to match my system which is all Polk speakers. We got it down to two Polks, but the ES20 was the closest match. The 6.5" woofer and 1" tweeter sound great. After running Audyssey on my Denon receiver again, it adjusted for the new speakers and everything sounds great. As a surround speaker it does a fantastic job. They sound full and everything is reproduced well. Since I have subs, they don't have to go low, just to the crossover. They are the side speakers in a 7.3.4 setup. I use the setup mostly for games and movies, music is secondary. But, even with music tones are good. I expect them to get better once they've been used a bit. They do not have a keyhole in the back to hang, so I found some mounts. They are deep for a bookshelf speaker, but not to heavy. The finish looked great, close to the speakers they replaced. As usual, Polk has great bang for the buck. Love the fact the speaker grilles are magnetic, easy to take on and off as needed.

Pros: Sound great 6.5" Woofer Can handle a higher input wattage than similar speakers Magnetic speaker grilles

Cons: The bottom didn't really seem completely flat.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Totally Unlistenable Speakers

Barbara from Cerrillos, NM on 5/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound muddy, noisy, and like they're in "mono" mode. I should have bought three-way speakers because the midrange is horrible and gives listening fatigue right off the bat. My old Yamaha speakers from 1989 were better! Listened to Steely Dan, jazz, classical, rock, recordings known for their engineering...etc...no clarity--no space between sounds--just a muddy white noise wall of sound you don't want. I'm shocked that this is what passes for speakers these days. And don't call them "walnut"--they're cheap plastic throughout.

Pros: Arrived quickly.

Cons: No clarity, just a dull, undifferentiated cheap-sounding speaker.

Crutchfield response on 5/17/2022
Barbara, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 12 found this helpful

Thanks Crutchfield

William from Peoria, AZ on 4/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice sound good for both music and movies . Bought two pair for front and rear on 5.1 surround. Thanks to Crutchfield for guiding me thru process of figuring out what I was looking for .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

William from Fort Collins, CO on 4/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only had these speakers a few days, really love the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Gregor from Greensburg, PA on 4/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really enjoy the solid sound that these speakers push out. It's clean and clear. Great for a small to medium size room and perfect for home theater sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Tomasz from Rumford, RI on 3/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice speakers. Very happy with them over the outgoing 30 year old floor speakers I was using. Surprisingly good bass and nice detail in the mid range and upper registers. I now have a subwoofer on the way to augment the bottom end a bit more. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Jeff from Silex, MO on 2/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with these speakers. Used in a classic stereo system for movies and various music genres. Was looking for something with deep bass response to avoid getting a subwoofer - these do not disappoint. Driving them with a 100W/ch NAD amp; replaced a Jamo 2.1 speaker system w/unpowered subwoofer; definitely a step up.

Pros:

Cons: Pretty deep - if you want to put them on a bookshelf, measure carefully.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Michael J from Vermillion, MN on 2/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, just a little large for a rear surround. If you have the room, definitely worth the investment. Love Crutchfields return policy. I switched them out for the Polk OWM3"s

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Kevin from Graettinger, IA on 2/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid and great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Andrew from Mount Vernon, WA on 1/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound great and look sharp. You would need very deep shelves to really call these a "bookshelf" speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Mom's Christmas Gift

Crutchfield customer from Reynoldsburg, OH on 1/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these speakers for my 78yr old mom and she loves them. Her vinyl collection sounds great through these speakers.

Pros: Nice crisp treble and bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great option!

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 1/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just have to say that these speakers really check a lot of the boxes when it comes to the listening experience. I recently purchased these as a gift for my son, and he is running them with a mid priced older Sony AV receiver and the Polk ES20 speakers sound great. He inserted them in place of a vintage Polk Model 4.5, which remarkably sounds quite good, but the ES20s are way more balanced top to bottom, and just a pleasure to listen to. We were listening with them primarily in a 2.1 listening mode with movies as the source material, and the clarity of these are incredible. I have had, and still own a LOT of speakers, Vandersteen2ci, Chapman T7, Harmonic Precision Echelon, Tannoy, ElectroVoice, PSB, Polk Monitors, SDAs, RTAs, Pioneer HPM100, BS22-LR and more, and these Polk Signature Elite ES20 speakers would favorably compare with what I have, and that cost MANY times more. A great value, a forgiving. accurate speaker... they check all the boxes, you won't be dissapointed, and the better the amp, preamp and front end, the better they will do, but again I must emphasize, they do well with a good receiver as well. Many good speakers are out there at, or close to the ES20 price point, but if you know your system, these should fit right in and not break the bank.

Pros: Very satisfying lows, mids and highs. Well built, really solid. Nice magnetic grills. A great speaker at a great price.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Best Speakers I've ever owned

Crutchfield customer from Wixom, MI on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound is incredible. Effortless bass is right! Upgraded from 4" (woofer) Klipsch book shelf speakers. Debated on going Klipsch but knew Crutchfield has easy returns, but i'm keeping these. Totally worth the upgrade. I have a polk CS-10 center channel and 10" sub woofer with Onkyo SR504 (to be upgraded), and Music Hall Classic. I normally listen at 60-80 decibels and these have plenty more room to handle more power than my ears can handle dbs. My room size is about 400 square feet and these fill the room with sound. I listen to CD and Vinyl and the sound is incredibly smooth and clear. They ARE large (and deeper than you'd think) and I have them on 4' high shelves that can handle the weight. My only complaint is aesthetic, i bought the black finish and the woofer blends into the surround. Cerwin Vega had the red foam on my old AT-12s, which gives a nice visual like the Klipsch copper woofers, but that's quibbling.

Pros: Sound quality, effortless bass for real, tweeter is not harsh

Cons: They are large and deep so plan ahead.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Satisfied Owner

Crutchfield customer from Wichita Falls, TX on 12/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Polk has created a dynamic sounding speaker in the ES20, they are a large bookshelf speaker, but well worth the purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 16 found this helpful

Blown away by these speakers

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 11/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are absolutely phenomenal, I can't recommend them enough. I upgraded a much older pair of Polk speakers to the ES20 and my god was it worth the price of admission and more. I listen to primarily electronic music (house, techno, dnb) and am basking in the enjoyment of going through and rediscovering old tunes. Everything sounds extremely crisp, and my god do these things pack a massive punch (in a good way). I swear if I turn my amp past 60% volume I'm going to get a noise complaint. These speakers are basically making my separate subwoofer redundant at this point! Definitely be aware of their size - they are some of the biggest bookshelf speakers I've seen. For me personally this isn't an issue as I bought them knowing the dimensions beforehand. I'm no expert on the matter, but I would imagine that the size is very much related to how loud and powerful they can be. Don't let me mislead you though, the loudness / bass is not "covering up" for any other lacking aspect - the his and mids sound very, very clean. Furthermore I've gone through and tested listening to all kinds of genres - electronic, rock, classical, jazz, heavy metal, even stuff like podcasts - and everything sounds amazing. Build quality is very solid as well, you can tell that no expense was spared in constructing them. And yes, they are heavy as a result but that's a good thing from where I stand. Couldn't be happier with them. Props to Crutchfield for recommending them to me!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20

Christopher from Douglasville, GA on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

OMG... I have these speakers paired with TS15 in the rear, TS CS10 center channel and HTS10 Subwoofer and my house is BOOOMMMING... Movies and music sounds amazing... it brings out the rear speakers so good... I have to turn down my sub... Sound is extremely clear and vocals jump out at you... I watched Total Recall and it doesn't miss a thing with sound... I'm 100% committed to POLK... Thanks Crutchfield... I bought the Scratch and Dent and I have no clue what is damaged. The only CON... I didn't realize how big the speakers are, this is my fault for not looking at the measurments.... these are not your normal bookshelf speakers...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Compare the sound