Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
357 094 238 4
Connect ID #
357 094 238 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Polk Audio Monitor XT20 Bookshelf speakers

MFR # 300151-01-00-005

4.5 out of 5 stars
29 reviews
View this product
First Time Buyer, Great Choice of Speakers

Patrick from Anaheim, CA on 3/23/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First time ever buying any speakers for home/music entertainment so please forgive me on being a beginner. I did some heavy research on what I wanted, since I am limited to living in an apartment with limited space. I read about these speakers from other audio forums and saw they were within my budget. Looked at other users saying that it has more of a V curve shape to warmer tone with a punchy bass(which is what I was looking for). Decided to buy these speakers and pair them up with a Schiit Modi Multibit 2 and an Aiyama A07 pro with a beefier power supply (Meanwell 36V 360W) and switched out the Op-Amps (LM4562). With all that connected together, and then testing out music from my PC and movies from TV, I was really blown away. Again, want to iterate that this is my first time buying speakers, dacs, and amps for a music/home speaker system, so everything is maybe a placebo affect and I don't have anything to compare with. However, I truly enjoy these speakers of how it brought out the music(EDM, Indie rock, Jazz/Classical, etc.) to a fuller and warm tone, and movies just brought out a more immersive experience, from clarity of voice to boominess of bomb's exploding. If anyone is looking for warmer tone of sound for music,and great audio for movies, I would recommend these speakers.

Pros: - Handles greater power - More of a V Curve Sound - Decent Sound stage and Imaging

Cons: - None as first time buyer and have nothing to compare to.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Franklin from Randleman, NC on 2/19/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Running a Onkyo TX-101 on these speakers for my "garage jam" with a pair of Klipsch R20's I believe along with a Yamaha 10" sub and it is amazing sound quality. I am a 70's 80's product and I have extremely high expectations. Expectations Met!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sounding Small Bookshelf Speaker

Vincent from New Port Richey, FL on 2/13/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Over All Sound Nice & Balanced. Handles low end very nice for a system this size. They do need a bit more on the volume control because of the 87db sensitivity, but their sound is excellent. Woofer Cone Diameter runs a bit smaller than other 6-1/2s I own; but again, the low end is very good with a bit of EQ.

Pros: Sound Larger Than Their Size. Solid Build.

Cons: 87db Sesitivity

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Rayfield from Elizabeth City, NC on 1/2/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I would highly recommend these to anyone looking for a nice Book shelf speaker. I use the XT 20 as my Front channel speakers , with the Polk XT 35 as a center channel, with the XT 15 as my surround back speakers , and The XT 90 as my Atmos with 2 Polk T1 satellites as my Front back surround, with a Klipsch subwoofer and I think the sound it grate for the investment

Pros: Great size for my space, grate price

Cons: Can't really say any thing bad about the speaker

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk for the win

Marc from Lexington, VA on 12/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clarity and imaging. Wide range of sound. Great price.

Pros: Amazing sound over a wide range of music.

Cons: None I could find.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

VERMILLION

Frank from VERMILLION on 12/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After 2 months of reviewing $500 or less bookshelf speakers for my den I chose these. And I'm NOT disappointed. Have them hooked up to a vintage McIntosh amp, equalizer, and vintage Pioneer tuner. I listen to classic rock FM during the day and jazz FM at night. They truly sparkle. Hats off to Rachel also, she's a gem.

Pros: Well balanced, amazing frequency response for bookshelf speaker, I don't think you can find a better value.

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

David from Oxford, MS on 12/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased these to replace an older pair of Bose. Amazing sound from these speakers even a good bit of bass. Heavy speakers with quality cabinets. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Stephen from Creston, NC on 12/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Tracey from Middletown, OH on 8/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear sound, nice highs, hollow midrange and thin lows

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Juan A from San Juan, PR on 6/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was impressed by the bass . No need to use the subwoofer. It was a waste of money to buy it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Jeremy from Waynesboro, VA on 5/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Adding these to my home theater really helped bring out a full and spacious surround sound. For the price this are an amazing addition to my living room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

John from Brookhaven, GA on 3/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was very pleased with the XT 20. It has very good sound and build quality for the price. At times, the sound surprises me with its heft and impact. Detail and musical ability are extremely good. In the right system you could listen to these speakers all day.

Pros: Good Bass. Good detail. Very listenable. For the price it is continually surprising.

Cons: It's not a perfect speaker. If you listen critically you can occasionally point out shortcomings, but what can you expect at this great price. I would sum this up by saying they had to make compromises, but they didn't cut corners.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Amazing sound

George from Staten Island, NY on 2/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers are amazing ! The sound and frequency response is perfect. They sound much bigger than they are. High quality and a great price. I use them as 2 main speakers on a Kenwood amp at 100 watts a channel, with the loudness button on the bass is so powerful it moves my pictures on my walls !!! I have had a lot of other high end speakers at triple the price and they couldn't handle the bass like these do. Buy them you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Handles RMS and frequency ranges, sound is crystal clear. Quality set of speakers

Cons: Grills, covers are very delicate but not a big deal if your careful

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Christopher from Burgess, VA on 2/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very happy with purchase used in a small room

Pros: size and sound clarity

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers

Jay from Nashville, TN on 1/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Phenominal sound in a decent-sized package. I absolutely love the speakers! You can't beat the quality for the price. The support from Crutchfield has been great. I'll be purchasing more of these soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value for the sound quality.

Crutchfield customer from WV on 1/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We are loving our new Polk Monitor XT20 speakers. They are set up in a 5.1 arrangement as surround speakers with Polk ES50s on the left and right front and Polk S35 in the center. They sound crisp and clear and provide good bass as well. We listen to a lot of music, so when setting the receiver to Multi-channel stereo, these speakers add a lot of detail and richness to the music. Got them on sale, which makes them a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Monitor XT20

Curtis from Marietta on 12/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After 35 years (!) our old receiver/amp (Pioneer) and small bookshelf speakers (Altec Lansing) were failing. We replaced the receiver (Yamaha R-S202) and the bookshelf speakers with the above-mentioned Polk Monitor XT20s. Everything works great and the sound is kick-ass! Ella Fitzgerald's Wishes You a Swinging Christmas (Verve) never sounded so good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Ronald from ACWORTH, GA on 11/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Package was received earlier today. Upon picking up one of the speakers, loose item is heard moving inside.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/6/2022
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, MaKenna, reached out to Ronald to follow up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

10 of 15 found this helpful

Great Service

Crutchfield customer from Deland, FL on 11/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers arrived quickly and packed well. They are as advertised, and I am enjoying them as I write this. All good things to say about Crutchfield, their service and support across all departments I have encountered! I will definitely be shopping with them again!

Pros: Speakers are performing perfectly.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best book shelf speakers I have ever heard and owned

Ernest from Aurora, CO on 10/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow! The first thing I noticed right away is I did not even have to turn the volume up on the 45 watt amp more than 12 out of 100!!! Amazing how efficient these speakers are. I have them hooked up to my Creative Sound blaster X7 external amp with DAC. it hooks up to my Windows 10 Pro PC with micro USB, and I set the software to flat, which is generally recommended, as it is easier and stress free. These are the best book shelf speakers I have ever owned and heard by far, and best speakers two times its price from my experience, including my Elac speakers I had at the same price range. The sound was effortless: great clarity and quality of highs, mids, midbass and bass. You do not even need a subwoofer in a small apartment with these, as this would be too loud with neighbors under or on the side of you. But I am sure you could have them in a room three times my size, and turn them up, and you would be pleasantly surprised and happy. Trust me, no matter what is said, at 8 ohms with even a 45 watt amp, you will be in great shape. I listed to some demos on YouTube, and the demos were made to test your speakers. Even with just 2 channel on Dolby Atmos demos, you could still hear amazing separated directional and crystal clear sound. Voice, guitars, drums, at all spectrums were WONDERFUL. I did not even listen to them very long, and I was impressed and blown away how a pair of speakers at this price can be this good, but they are. Matthew Polk is a genius.

Pros: Very efficient, even with under 50 watts at 8 ohms. Crystal clear highs, midrange, midbass and bass. Voices, drums, guitars, horns, and all spectrums come through effortlessly. You will not be disappointed. I have always loved soft domes for their good sound without being bright or out of control. This has to be the best soft dome in a speaker I have experienced. The crossover to the 6 1/2" bilaminate paper cone is smooth. Both drivers and the way these speakers are made is amazing!

Cons: None that I can think of or hear.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Jerry from Concord, NC on 10/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought these speakers to use on a camping trip. Used as a two cnannel set up with a basic 100 watt sony stereo. Sounded good at low volume. I couldn"t turn volume up over 30 % without the sound getting distorted. I was camping at 40 degree weather and using 18 gauge speaker wire so not shure if this was a factor or not. May be best suited for apartment living where low volume is needed.

Pros: very good sound at lower volume. good compact size. good looking speaker. good deal for the price i paid.

Cons: some loss of music clarity at higher volumes.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 13 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Louis from New York, NY on 9/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very clean sound and at high volume also .I'm very happy with them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Todd from Mint Hill, NC on 9/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are great bookshelf speakers for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Harry from Riverside, NJ on 6/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely incredible speakers have great range and sound incredible

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great upgrade from my Polk TSi100's

Will from Alamogordo, NM on 5/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound great for my front speakers of my 5.1 Yamaha Amp. I am replacing a set of TSi100's and the sound quality is great. Excellent quality for the price and I am happy I purchased them.

Pros: The Bass is really nice for a small speaker. Clear highs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk XT20's Will Amaze For The Size

JC from Austin TX on 4/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These Polk speakers are the real deal. I am an older music enthusiast and remember when speakers had to be large to fill the room with sound. This of course is no longer true. I have these babies paired with a new Cambridge AXR100 receiver. These speakers come alive with their 6 1/2" woofers and sharp tweeters. The broad frequency response and high watt capacity are all I would have asked for without breaking the bank. In addition, Polk gives you a 5 year warranty. I ordered speaker stands and my upstairs game room is my new favorite place. Thanks Polk

Pros: Great bass from the 6 1/2" woofers Broad frequency response Compact size with big, clear sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Julian from Lawrenceville, GA on 2/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good bookshelf speakers if you catch them on sale. Great for two channel stereo systems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Polk XT 20

Bill from Euclid, OH on 2/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers because of the size and the frequency response. Do not judge the speakers on the first day. I used them for a couple of hours and was not impressed. Then the next day I listened to them again and realized the sound was much more impressive. Just my guess but I think there is a break in period because there new. I listen to the Watercolors station on satellite radio and the XT 20 speakers perform beautifully. Good bass and treble. Forgot to mention I am using the XT 20 as main channel speakers.

Pros: Great sound for a small speaker.

Cons: Grill cloth should have been black.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Polk Audio Monitor XT20

Crutchfield customer from Lilburn, GA on 12/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was going to be one word Awesome but have to say, I was one of those old JBL big speakers guy. Now my second pair of Polk speakers I'm hooked. So again awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Compare the sound