Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Polk Audio Reserve R100 Bookshelf speakers (Brown)

MFR # 300028-14-00-005

5.0 out of 5 stars
24 reviews
View this product
Polk Audio Reserve R100

David from Osceola, WI on 12/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am completely satisfied with the product and Crutchfield. Free fast ship and efficient overall. I haven't bought speakers for over 30 years and shouldn't have waited so long!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Robert from Seven Hills, OH on 12/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound fantastic..appreciate the guidance of a Crutchfield advisor to narrow my selection to these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

My Speaker.

Luis from SANTA ANA, CA on 11/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

At first, I thought they sounded extremely muffled. But either the sound changed with YPAO calibration or maybe the speaker simply broke in. Who knows, but I'm happy. I'm a Previous owner of Focal Chora 806 bookshelf speakers, and those were fatiguing at high volumes, which was always because those had to be turned up due to their extremely laid back/distant sound signature. The hissing on the focals when artists pronounced an "S" was extremely piercing sharp to my ears and instruments like symbols were not pleasant. The Polks have a nice sound, I mainly listen to Spanish music. Symbols sound clean, I can't describe it. Vocals are good too, not too laid back or too forward. Half or more of my listening habits are older recordings, I'm talking 90's early 2000's and these don't expose lower quality recordings, they sound good. Presumably newer recordings sound just as good or better. Great company from my experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

John from Sarasota, FL on 10/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Polk Audio Reserve R100 were the perfect choice for our needs. Compact yet full range of sound and quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

LANDENBERG

Michael from LANDENBERG PA on 8/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have had these speakers for awhile. Bought them scratch and dent during the Polk Sub woofer promotion. It was a super purchase. The speakers are the rear speakers in a home theater setup. Has turned out they are being used mainly for music. Wow is all I can say. I have Polk S 6s and S8 speakers in a 5.1 setup. I thought they sounded great. The R 100s bump it up several steps. I have owned some pretty good bookshelf speakers. These compete and exceed. At this price point I don't think you can find a better value. I may consider the R200s if I can catch them on sale or a scratch and dent. Anyway they are incredible for the small package. Plus my spouse thinks they sound great and is pleased that I purchased them. That is in marked contrast to some of my purchases.

Pros: Great sound. Great value. Despite being small book shelve speakers you can blast them.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the purchase when it came with the PSW100

Darren from Valley Center, KS on 6/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall, these speakers are wonderful. The tweeter has some of the best reproduction of highs that I have heard. The mid-bass is good, but not very deep or punchy as I would expect from a ported enclosure. Having said that, the speakers are not broken-in yet, so I'll have to update this later, when I have more hours on them. I have the speakers paired to the new Dayton Audio HTA200 Hybrid tube amp. I bought the Polk R100's during a deal where they came with a PSW100 subwoofer. The sub complements and fills in the low end nicely. The sound stage can be amazing, but it all depends on the type of music you listen to and how well the music is recorded. The Eagles' Hotel California sounds crisp, clean, and highly detailed. Vocals are in your face, as if you were there in person.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Peter from Cave Creek, AZ on 6/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid sound for the size and price. Still breaking them in, but so far I am very satisfied. I use them in a 5.1.2 setup as my fronts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soooo Nice

Bryan from NEW PORT RICHEY, FL on 6/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are awesome. They have a perfect amount of soundstage, treble, bass, detail and beauty. Yes, you could buy the R200 and they would be wonderful. They have a little warmer sound but not quite the detail that the 100's have. You could get the L's but then your just paying more money for the R's. The R200's replaced my Polk ES20's. Those are great speakers also and sound wonderful but the R100's are just that much better. The ES20's will be going in my summer home. R100's. Nirvana!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

So far so good!

Brendon from Durham, NC on 4/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far I really like what I'm hearing. I debated between a number of bookshelf speakers before finally settling on these--I probably would have gone with the R200s but space was an issue. These fit my listening rooms perfectly and seem to work very well with my setup: Technics SL-1200GR, AT-OC9XML Cartridge, Cambridge AXR85 and a ProJect DS2 Phono Box. For digital I run a Raspberry Pi/Schitt Modius DAC combination. I'm also one of the few people who do not have a Sub Woofer (again, space and having a toddler holding that back at the moment) but I don't feel like these are lacking in the bass department at all.

Pros: Sleek and pack a nice punch for their size.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very impressed with 'the little guy'

Mack from Elizabethtown, KY on 3/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bottom line up front, these are great little speakers that are capable of putting out a lot of high-quality sound. I'm building out a Polk Legend/Reserve Home Theater and needed some good height speakers to handle a lot of output. I tried the R900's and they just couldn't keep up with my surrounds. Unfortunately the R900's are the only Reserve speakers that can be wall mounted natively, so I started looking for bookshelf mounts that you don't need to drill into the speakers housing. The only decent one I could find had a depth limit that only the R100 would fit. I was a little nervous getting the smallest Reserve speaker to compete with the rest of the system, but my doubts turned out to be completely un-founded. The R100's sound great, and can easily keep up in the output department. I'm feeding them 120 watts to all four, and they keep up just fine. I can hear back to front / front to back / side to side transitions and the tone and output is perfect. The R900s felt like they were dropping out at high output, but the little R100s are pulling their own weight no problem.

Pros: small / powerful / clear

Cons: No native wall mounting features

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Highly recommended bookshelf speakers

Andrew from PALMETTO, FL on 3/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought a pair of white ones as surrounds for downstairs and loved this line of Polk products to get an additional pair of black ones for upstairs in the bedroom 2 channel set up. They have not disappointed. I love these speakers, these really are perfect "do it all" speakers as far as listening to different genres (which I'm everywhere. Sinatra, Eminem, Tool, DMB, Zeppelin, etc etc) as well as movie/TV.

Pros: Excellent mids and highs, great soundstage, bass is no slouch either (wouldn't quite say exceptional but it certainly holds its own, room + placement may be holding them back some in my bedroom set up. The wife doesn't want them far from the wall). The tweeter is ridiculously crisp without being fatiguing.

Cons: Sensitivity isn't fantastic, these need some solid juice to get them going. Kudos to Crutchfield for being EXTREMELY transparent with this and mentioning it in the description of every product in this line. I drive 85w/channel in a 2 channel set up and have no issues, but I don't typically try and listen above 80-85db maximum.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Arthur from Wallingford, CT on 1/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so far so good,only had a few days.Still getting used to them,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Walter from Ennis, TX on 1/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Build system with Onkyo TX-NR696 receiver ,Polk R300 center, Polk R500 front, R100 rear channel. Wow! Building a media room around the system. Everything sounds clean and crisp, from Mozart to Tool. Couldn't be happier with the system and the service from Cruchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Crutchfield customer from Grasonville, MD on 1/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clean, crisp, detailed sound. Fills the room well, very punchy bass-not boomy.

Pros: Detailed instrumentation

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Exceptional speakers!

Thomas from Norfolk, VA on 1/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with these speakers! Thank you Crutchfield for suggesting them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

nice quality

Jason from Cincinnati, OH on 12/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very solid build, neutral sound with a touch of sparkle, very clear but not bright

Pros: neutral but clear

Cons: slightly less pleasing as my older and smaller PSB Imagine Minis

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Christopher from Lebanon, IN on 12/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers, great service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Andrew from SAINT PAUL, MN on 12/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers are everything Polk is noted for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Gary from Helmetta, NJ on 7/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Spent money a couple of years back on Bowers and Wilkins 683s2 floor standing speakers the clarity and separation of these Polk audio reserve 100 bookshelves blow the bower and Wilkins away very good speakers for price and crutchfield is awesome to deal with I'm listening to Hd music and powering the speakers with a Parasound 2250 v2 amp

Pros: Great speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent

Cary from Dahlgren, VA on 7/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm very impressed with these speakers. Polk is doing some innovative things that improve sound quality. The pinnacle ring radiator tweeter is one of those innovative features. The small pointed guide in the center (it looks like a small Hershey's kiss) disperses the sound. The turbine cone woofer has small protrusions that stiffen the woofer without increasing weight. I like that the speakers have a really thick cabinet. It reminds me of some high end Kirksaeter speakers that I had. The thick cabinet eliminates vibration that could occur with thin cabinets.

Pros: Excellent bass, midrange, and high frequency. Thick cabinet is very solid.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

R 100 or R 200

Doug from Newark, NY on 4/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I first had a pair of R200s, hooked to an 803N. They gave me what the DBR6.2s couldn't. Very detailed yet relaxed with just the right sizzle. I then moved the R200s to an PM8006. It was then I heard what the R200s are capable of. Spectacular on every level. Just 2 channel and no need for a sub except for the most critical of listening. I then received the R100s, tried them with the PM8006 first. The R100s mimicked the R200s in every way, except you need a sub and not nearly as loud. The R200s can do floorstander sound with the right power. Then the magic happened with the 803N and a Cambridge Audio Minx 301 sub. The R100s give that 5 inch driver intimate sound that you only know when you hear it. Very detailed yet so warm and soothing with the Minx. The 2.1 setup with the R100s also give excellent sound for my tv use. Voices are so crisp and clear, detailed and explosive with the sub. I would not pair the R100s with the PM 8006, the R200s really show of the PMs abilities. Yet when listening to the 803N with the R100s there is no desire to change rooms. The R100s really improved my tv experience to the point if I was building a surround system the Polk R series would be it.

Pros: Excellent for two channel music and movies.

Cons: Need a sub.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Brett from Monument, CO on 3/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers arrived very fast and in excellent packaging with no defects or damage. The Sound is Excellent, crisp with a great range. I use them in my surround sound with a Denon AVR, 105W max. The registration process is not straight forward, but the speakers and Crutchfield are both A+.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R100

Guest from San Francisco, CA on 10/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Polk sullies their own name with all of the garbage they put out in their lower end offerings. The L100 are not part of that. These are clear, detailed, and a very good value at their price point. Highly recommended for nearfield or small rooms.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Big sound out of a smaller sized speaker

Crutchfield customer from Edinburg, VA on 6/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these to replace the front speakers & I placed my old ones in the rear to be my surround sound speakers. I could immediately tell the difference in sound quality. They are louder, clearer, and stronger yet not very large and cumbersome. A lot of speaker in a smaller component. I'm happy with them. They're not the least expensive but you get what you pay for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 18 found this helpful

Compare the sound