Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Polk Audio Reserve R200 Bookshelf speakers (Brown)

MFR # 300029-14-00-005

5.0 out of 5 stars
80 reviews
View this product
Exceptional Value

Alexander from Mesa, AZ on 4/15/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I already own an Onkyo NR7100 AVR (I do use Dirac calibration). I wanted a serious upgrade to my existing 5.1 setup (Jamo S803). Polk R700 (L/R) + R400 (Center) + R200 (Surrounds) + 1 RSL Speedwoofer 12S. Room is about 22ft long x 14ft wide x 8ft tall. I thought about going R200's for the front, but I'm not a fan of the cost (or aesthetics) of needing stands in the front. A lot of forum members also said skip the R400 and go straight to the L400 because of the acoustic design choices, but that's about triple the price and I'm not sure if my ears would notice the difference. This was a huge upgrade and I couldn't be happier. 90% of my listening is 4k UHD Bluray or streaming shows, but Qobuz streamed through the PlayFi app sounds fantastic as well. I expect I'll need to upgrade to external amplification (and a new AVR) before I ever need to move beyond these speakers. The wood finish is beautiful (and obviously not real) and although heavy, I was able to set these up on my own without assistance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

William from Lakeland, FL on 1/23/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and awesome price

Pros: Great look of these speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

R.I.P. LXI

Mike from TX on 12/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These R200s are incredible! I have them powered by a Denon 900H in a 2ch setup in a small office. The trio replaced a 38-year-old LXI system that included a pair of 12" loudspeakers and a pair of 3-way boomers also with 12" woofers. I'm a PinkFloyd fanatic, and these R200s surpassed every expectation I had playing Floyd.knowing that I need a sub (or two) to replace all the 12s. The clarity is beyond comparison to anything I've heard. The sound is more cerebral than just blowing me away, but they do blow me away. It's amazing they can produce such detailed tone without an EQ. Of course, I must give Denon some credit for that along with Polk. RIP LXI.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Christopher from Albany, NY on 12/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with these speakers. Typical crisp Polk sound. Very balanced for their size. While the exterior finish is not wood veneer like my R Series speakers, these fit the bill for my application on a shelf. Looking forward to see how they do after some time. Expect an even warmer sound. Much better sound than the older Klipsch they replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Wilbur from Fort Mill, SC on 11/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These replaced Martin Logan Motion 15, and I am very pleased with their sound and performance.

Pros: Look great

Cons: Had to re-adjust the shelves of my built in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Kendall from Jamaica, NY on 10/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A year ago, I bought a pair of these speakers as part of an upgrade to my meager listening space. Along with two R500 towers, a R300 center and four R900 heights they create my 5.1.4ch Dolby Atmos system; replacing an Onkyo 7.1ch home theater-in-a-box system I've used for over 10 years. The R200s are behind my head as Surrounds. At the core of my setup is an Onkyo TX-RZ50 with Dirac Live Room EQ and all speakers are being driven with an external power amplifier. Even though I'm using the R200s as Surrounds, the increase in aural quality is like night and day. The sound has some weight to it now, as if I have a second subwoofer behind me and I like that! I was originally considering Monitor Audio and Klipsch (since they have affordable speaker lines with Atmos modules without having to mix/match) but I didn't care much for the sound from either, but when I heard the Polk Reserves that's all she wrote. I also considered the smaller R100s but the R900s were too big to sit on top of them. Either way I'm happy with my Polks! Currently, I'm upgrading again to a 7.1.6ch Dolby Atmos system and just bought another pair of these for L/R Surrounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

R200 for the win

Kevin from Wilmington, DE on 8/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The hype that these speakers have received is well - grounded in listening to them. After extensive reviews for the best bookshelf speakers less than $1000 I settled on these and the ELAC DBR62 to compare. The ELAC DBR62 were wonderful sounding speakers that also backed up the favorable reviews, yet for my ears, listening room, and paired electronics the Polk R200 made me happy and smile even more than the ELACs. The R200 are well made, although subdued styling they still look quite nice in the room, and the tone (highs / mid / lows), soundstage and imaging, and clarity excelled.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Fantastic sound

Raaj from ALPHARETTA, GA on 8/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are fantastic. I just connect to the AVR via bluetooth and play music in stereo mode and enjoy. I have never listened to music like this. It has always been with headphones. These are my first pair of speakers. I have had a Soundbar for around 8 years and these are a great upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear & Precise

Douglas from Tucson, AZ on 7/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Recently purchased a Polk Home Theater speaker system - (2) R200's (1) R400 center speaker (2) R900's height speakers (1) PSW10 sub-woofer (Free) and a Yamaha RX-V6A Receiver (Reviewed on that page). I realize these speakers are considered Budget speakers but, they certainly don't sound like it! At low or high volumes, the R200's are incredibly clear & precise. I mainly bought the Polk Audio system for Movies (Blu-Ray,4K) & they sound great. If anyone is interested i give my Yamaha RX-V6A Settings in that review. In some reviews i read the R200's were bass heavy, that is not the case in my set up - My speakers are right up against the wall - I have no issues with excessive bass. I review the other speakers on their product pages.

Pros: Great for Blu-Ray & 4K Disc content

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Zack from Bronx, NY on 7/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely detailed, great separation midbass not bad at all. Highs, smooth, and sweet things on my CDs never heard before, but I do now ! to be honest I'm quite pleased. For this price not bad at all Polk

Pros: Love the separation and detail

Cons: At times, I like to play my music loud, not extremely loud I do notice distortion in the highs, but may be the type of receiver that I have or the recordings

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Crutchfield customer from Grasonville, MD on 6/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The first words out of my mouth were "wow, holy s*%& these are incredible speakers. When you add power to these, the sound stage opens up, the clarity separates the instruments and places them where they are supposed to be. Simply, the instruments sound the way they are supposed to sound. exactly and are where they are supposed to be. Technically they cleaned up the crossover separation, there is no phase shift like the B&W's have, the stiffer bass driver makes it so there is no roll off of the sound wave through the cone, therefore less color. Yes, sound has color. The rear XPort, is what is called an Eigenhorn (learned in physics class), it organizes and sizes the sound waves, so you get a great bass response without the "chuffing", distance from the wall matters. You can go down the tech rabbit hole if you like, I did. I am lucky, I have seen hundreds of Artists, from Pink Floyd, Santana, Tower of Power, Feat, to garage bands (Beaver Brown lived the next town over), their sound is in these speakers. Simply BUY THESE and give them POWER, you won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing bookshelf speaker

Jon from Mililani, HI on 5/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I needed a compact speaker system for music listening in the family room and the Polk R200s fit the bill perfectly. The R200 is extremely compact, only about 7.5x14x14 inches in size. It uses the same drivers as the more expensive Polk Legend series. Polk was able to reduce the price of the speakers by using vinyl wrap instead of real wood veneer. The cabinet is solidly built, rapping the speakers reveals little unwanted resonances. The pinnacle ring tweeter is vastly improved over the LSi15. It is just as smooth but has more detail and a flatter high end. The R200's 6-1/2" woofer produces amazing bass for it's size. The driver is ribbed to prevent distortion from driver flexing. It doesn't go really low but at a tight 50Hz it's the best bass I have heard for a small bookshelf. It's due to the newly designed X-Port which eliminates port chuffing. The soundstage is amazing. the R200s sound as if you had bigger floorstanding speakers installed. The sound is big and wide. Depth is pretty good, you don't get a flat sound as if everything is in one plane. Frequency response is very flat with no pronounced areas. You do need a decent amplifier to drive these speakers, I am using a high-current 25-watt Willsenton R8 tube amplifier which can drive the speakers really loud with ease. High current is more important that high wattage. I can see why the R200s are rated so highly on YouTube and audio magazines. My only regret is that I wish I I bought

Pros: Amazing soundstage, good imaging. Sound is clear, clean and crisp and yet not harsh at all. Surprisingly good bass considering the size of the woofer. Unlike a lot of other speakers, the Polks won't fatigue you when used for an extended period. I did not like the sound from Klipsch's RP600M II as it had a slight nasally sound like most horned-type speakers do. The speakers has beefy connectors in the back.

Cons: Wish it had real wood veneer instead vinyl walnut wrap but at the price you can't complain. Would be nice if it has the option to bi-amp the speaker.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Believe the hype

James from Fair Play, MO on 5/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am running these from a vintage Sansui G-7000 receiver, no sub needed. Subjectively I've heard nothing this good in this price range. Recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding Line of Speakers

Cheikh from NEWARK, NJ on 5/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers. The entire Reserve line is just unreal. Great purchasing experience and Customer Service with Crutchfield for my R700 Mains (replaced my B&W 802 series 3 vintage speakers purchased new over 20 years ago with the R700s), my R200 Surrounds, and my R400 Center. Plan to complete my Polk Reserve system and replace my current Atmos units with the R900. Great speakers, big sound. Hard to beat or even match at the price. Outstanding!

Pros: All of it

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Mark from HOPEWELL JCT, NY on 4/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly as YouTube reviews describe. Great treble, great bass, great all-around package. Very enjoyable speaker to listen to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Jermaine from Poland, IN on 4/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful addition to my home theater using them as rear surrounds where the clarity is uncanny. I will purchase again very very please.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceeded expectations!

Kuljit from San Antonio, TX on 3/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I received these speakers last week. Great job by Crutchfield with delivery ahead of schedule. Great packaging with no damage. I had great expectations from these speakers based on the reviews, and they exceeded all expectations. They are dedicated for listening to music in my large family room. I connected these to my Sony receiver (STR-DH790). I dare say that I am enjoying this pair even better than my Polk RTi A7 floor standing speaker. Don't get me wrong the A7's are wonderful but I have now moved them in the media room with 7.1 setup and R200 are great alternative. I was worried that they will not be able to fill the large family room (25x25) with 22 feet ceiling but sound from these speakers is excellent. I am loving the Mid, high and lows that I did not know existed before in songs that I have heard before. Also, was surprised to hear substantial bass and therefore decided to not buy a subwoofer. Very happy with the purchase and highly recommend this pair and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent

Carlos from Valrico, FL on 2/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Still playing the game of best location, but we are really happy with the sound that we get f4om these speaker. Highly recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

A great pair of room speakers

Angelo La from Miller Place, NY on 2/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

awesome pair of speakers for a small size they have great bass and punch to them. I am a BIG BOSE speaker guy, but these speakers are state of the art. Great job Angelo

Pros: Exceptional sound

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow

Joseph from GREER, SC on 1/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are meant to be my rear surrounds but they have become my front L/R as I wait for the R700s (on backorder). These speakers paired with the SVS SB3000 are an unbeatable pair. This is an upgrade from an older HTIB setup I had from from Onkyo. There is no comparison. Separation and sound stage is excellent and the bass is great, though a sub is still needed. I highly recommend these speakers.

Pros: Sound stage Separation Clarity Value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Steven Eric from North Andover, MA on 1/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First speaker purchases in a long time so no modern A-B comparisions here. But I love the way they sound and can contrast them to my ancient Bose 10.2 floor speakers (back when Bose was a speaker company. Sigh). Music seems to be delivered with more precision, if not quite the room-filling sound. Sort of to be expected with bookshelf speakers. Very easy to listen to at moderate volume. Thrilled with the open-box purchase, honestly could not see **anything** amiss. Might someday go for a sub. But maybe not too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Robert from Meredith, NH on 1/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers. Very nice soundstage, great power handling, nice tight bass, no fatigue. After reading the reviews I had to try these and I'm glad I did. I also have Wharfedale Evo 4.2's and I think the R200 handles rock a little better, Pink Floyd, Allman Brothers..stuff from that era sound more alive but the Evo 4.2 ,when dialed in, is just stellar and a little fuller/warmer. Evo 4.2 mids can sometimes be a little much depending on the recording but other times those same mids just take the song to the next level. A few songs on the R200s can be a little too clinical for me but more due to the recording quality than the speaker. No speaker is perfect and both of these are damn good depending on your needs. The R200 is more forgiving of placement with the exception of the rear firing port which cannot be placed to close to the wall. I keep A/B ing these two pairs and don't want to send either back! I'm currently using a Yamaha AS801 and it drives both of these very well. I also have an REL sub, while neither speaker really screams for a sub, both seem to benefit from it but the R200 more so in my environment. (I much prefer a good bookshelf with sub to floor standers).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Josh from Poway, CA on 11/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best bookshelf speakers I'ver heard in a long while. Powerful bass, mid-bass, and the tweeters are clear but not harsh.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice set

David from Sheboygan, WI on 11/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Brilliant sound from the R200 speakers. In fact I would say whimsical!

Pros: On top of sounding great, they also look stylish.

Cons: First set arrived damaged. Hassle free return and second set is awesome.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A Bargain

Steve from Plano, TX on 11/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A bargain for the quality of sound you get. I hear notes I never knew were there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Break them in to unleash the beast!

Crutchfield customer from Mystic, CT on 11/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had them for almost 2 weeks, man I was a bit dissappointed at first because the treble was a bit lacking. I let these babies run for a week and WOW!!!! The sheer amount of details and sound stage produced is breath taking. FYI, I came from the polk s15 which I thought were great, but they don't even compare to these! Got these at 600 from the discount, no buyer's remorse at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Fantastic bookshelf speakers

Douglas from POTTSTOWN, PA on 10/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow, I'm just blown away by how wonderful these sound. Powered by a Schiit Vidar amp, these speakers provide plenty of bass, gorgeous midrange and a sparkling treble. Price was great, shipping was easy and they arrived in perfect condition. Can't recommend these highly enough!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing speakers from Polk

Rikky from Yulee, FL on 10/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just wonderful sound coming out of these speakers. I have them hooked up to my Willsenton R8 tube amp at the 4 ohm range paired with a pair of Cambridge audio subs at the 8 ohm range and it's a beautiful pairing. The R200s deliver very crisp highs and mids with a smooth bass line, no overpowering at all.

Pros:

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Decent low end

Matthew from Mechanicsville, VA on 10/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers will surprise you with how much low end they produce. The highs sound great as well. I've been listening to them for almost a week now. very happy with them!

Pros: Can't go wrong with buying from Crutchfield!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Michael from WAILUKU, HI on 10/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good all around sound in my 12' x 13' office. Great speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worth it

Speakerman from Right behind you on 9/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good pleasing, clean sound. The pro reviews say the frequency response on these is very clean, smooth and flat, and my amateur but good ears agree. I can't find fault with these in any way, subject to the usual caveats (if you want a different sound you may need an EQ, or if you need more bass you may need a sub). I'm driving these directly with a Yamaha A-S801, which has plenty of power for this combo used in a 15x20' room or so, around 3/8 volume is "quite loud" for sustained listening.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk R200

William from Wilmington, NC on 9/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. I use them as my front speakers for music and in my home theatre setup which is 9.2 all our polks over 30 years. The price was excellent. I have always been very satisfied with Crutchfield service and reliability.

Pros: Sound is excellent. Price the best.

Cons: Shipping box had alot of wear and tear. One small hole but because the speakers were so well packaged by polk the speakers were fine. The package was left on my front porch with no knock or door bell ring and could be seen from the street. That was a concern.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Love the R200

James from Sparta, TN on 9/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound signature that I was looking for,after going down the speaker rabbit hole! These Rock!!

Pros: Great sounding to my ears

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Worthwhile upgrade

Thomas from Indianapolis, IN on 9/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are replacing 20 year old Polk RTi38 bookshelf speakers that sound very good, but the R200s are much better. Almost don't need as sub. Highs are much more detailed and still aren't tiring. Midrange is great, but the old Polks did well in that category too. I thought about buying towers, but after listening to these I have no regrets. VERY happy with my purchase. I'm using them with a Denon AVR-S960H at 95w/channel set to 4 ohms. Amp runs cool and has plenty reserve power for my room setup. The purchase and delivery process went very smoothly. I'm very impressed with Crutchfield and will shop there again.

Pros: Amazing sound quality in a small size.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

These things smack!

Taylor from Franklin, TN on 8/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a super large living room. It's a terrible room for sound. It has an open floorplan that goes into the kitchen and a separate entry room and is 2 stories tall. It takes a lot to fill that room. For the past few years, I've had a 3.0 system made up of KEF Q100s for my L/R and a Q150 for my center. Those were powered by a Pioneer Elite VSX-LX103. A friend of mine at work bought a new TV and wanted to upgrade from her soundbar. So I sold her my speakers and receiver and purchased these R200s and a Yamaha TSR-700. Whoa. These R200s are massive compared to my Q100s. They're not way bigger in size, but they are way bigger in sound. Maybe the Yamaha has something to do with that, but these R200s sound amazing. We listen to music, watch TV and movies and I play my Series X and PS5. I was a bit worried going from a 3.0 system to a 2.0 system but honestly, the voices are much clearer and so far I haven't missed having a center channel. When we move to a new house in the next couple years, I plan to build a proper home theater room. Will I keep the R200s on front duty or pick up some R700s? I don't know. But I do know I don't plan on getting rid of these Polk speakers any time soon. I bought these without hearing them. I didn't really have any concerns since I bought through Crutchfield and they have awesome customer service. The videos and reviews are true. These speakers sound great, even in terrible rooms. I can only imagine what they'll sound like in a proper room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great for music and HT

Crutchfield customer from Pierre, SD on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easily the best bookshelf speakers I have ever owned. I am driving them with a Marantz NR 1508 HT receiver and have an R400 in the center. Although it has only 50 watts/channel, it is more than adequate in my 13' by 18' HT. The only negative I can think of is that they are so good, you can easily differentiate great from poorly recorded/mixed music and thus some recordings you thought were good may now be "meh". Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Douglas from Charlotte, NC on 7/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just what I wanted! Big sound, great package! Delivery was on time and fast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Money well spent

Crutchfield customer from Hodgenville, KY on 7/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First, the most potent low end we've heard (and felt) from a bookshelf speaker, bar none. Our media room is a small 11'x13' and the high tech rear ports need to be at least 16" from the back wall, otherwise the bass output makes like a cannon and our innards shake, rattle, & roll. In this room, I've measured significant output between 40-50Hz. The mid-range gets very high marks for accuracy, clarity, timbre, & pure musicality. My Tater Tot, a veteran classical & jazz musician, says they sound "right," which is musician talk for saying they're unusually flat and true from 200Hz-1.5kHz. The interesting tweeter. Everything above 2.5kHz has yet to make our eye sockets go all squinty, no matter how hard they've been pushed. Usually, "budget-friendly" speakers have harsh/glassy/painfully bright little high frequency transducers requiring a lot of EQ to even out the sawtooth pattern hurt. Polk has set a new standard with this redesigned tweeter. The soundstage is fairly deep and very wide. We sit in a loveseat centered 9' from the speakers, the mid-woofer centers of which are 77" apart, and have no complaints about sweet spot width & breadth. 15-degrees of toe-in covers us both with expansive stereo separation, and no audible nulls or dead spots. Channeling Pontius Pilate, we can't find fault with this large and lower lumbar-straining bookshelf speaker. No way, no how, did we expect anywhere near this quality of performance for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome in a box!

Jonathan from Cedar Park, TX on 7/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just got them hooked up, so not close to being broken in yet. Right off the bat - great full sound. I'm replacing two giant Cerwin-Vega towers with these and was hesitant going to a bookshelf speaker, but so glad I did! They will work so much better with my new A-V set up. Anxious to try them with vinyl. Seth was helpful in confirming these would work with my Onkyo receiver - thanks for that! If you are on the fence about these - don't be!

Pros: Full, clean sound.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good but not for me

Jeff from Portland, OR on 7/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade from my Klipsch RP-600M and have had my eyes on these since they were released. Tried a few speakers recently, these being 1 of them. They sounded good, fairly neutral throughout the frequency range. No real complaints on the sound, it was enjoyable yet it felt more of a lateral move from the Klipsch's than an upgrade. In the end I personally preferred the more dynamic RP-600M a little bit more. The 2 speakers were more alike to my ear than different so it didn't make sense to keep them. Also I thought the wood vinyl wrap didn't look quite as good in person as in pictures or videos. Big thanks to Crutchfield on a smooth return! Was happy to have the chance to try them out. I was just looking for something different sound wise than the R200. I ended up getting The Wharfedale Denton 85.

Pros: Good Bass Neutral Frequencies Instruments sounded realistic Good soundstage and imaging

Cons: I think at $750 they are a bit overpriced The wood vinyl wrap could be better Wasn't crazy about the look of the driver and tweeter but that's just personal preference

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Bookshelf awesomeness.

Alex from Arecibo, PR on 7/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great voice good percussion. Using Denon receiver. Female voices are clear not muddy specifically in jazz. Percussion hits solid. I recommend. Great buy.

Pros: All

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Richard from Kernersville, NC on 6/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding imaging, soundstage and able to complex deliver timbral qualities of difficult instruments, especially strings and bowed basses. But they won't break a sweat with Jimi Hendrix, Cream or The Allman Brothers...I thought I was mid front center at The Fillmore East until my wife asked me to go pick up some groceries. Mostly using them with an IotaVX SA-3 integrated amp (50 W per Ch.) or a 1976 Marantz 2275 (75 W per Ch.). The room is medium small, and not very live (carpeted with drapes and soft furniture). These speakers are very textured with a sweet top end and strong (but never wooly) bass extension. No need for a Subwoofer in my room! Sources have been NAD C546BEE CD Player and an NAD C558 turntable, plus some late night FM Jazz with the Marantz. Some Pro YouTube reviewers have mentioned toeing them in a bit, but I haven't found any need for this, and when I tried it the soundstage seemed to narrow. That will probably vary a lot by your room shape / size and furnishings. Again for my room, they don't need to be too far out from the wall :about 12 inches, or further, is fine. Closer and the bass will be less defined. The walnut vinyl is very well done, as are the magnetic grills. "Abbey Road" and "Kind Of Blue" got a workout last night ; )

Pros: Open, airy, and easy to listen for extended periods. Bass extension is really good for a bookshelf, so try them before you decide on a subwoofer. In this regard, they seem better than the spec sheet.

Cons: I didn't think that I was in the market for new speakers until I tried these ; )

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

My ears don't work with pinnacle ring radiators.

John from Lexington, KY on 6/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

#1 I love Crutchfield and Polk. Most of my electronics come from Crutchfield. My car speakers , TV audio, subwoofers and largest floor standing speakers the SDA2 are all Polk. I was very excited to order the very well regarded R200's. Especially because at Axpona they only showed the R200 connected my Crutchfield purchased Denon PMA1600NE (incredible amp) and my Denon SACD. How could I go wrong? I just didn't read between the lines in the reviews. I wanted the L800 or R700, so was trying out the R200 as a starting place since they share parts. Initially I was shocked at how bad the R200 sounded. The problem was I played a SACD-CD that is busy with hot live acoustic by Chesky, Paquita Rivera-Portraits of Cuba. Also I was running 44.1k coax input. It was physically painful. I could see why so many reviewers used LPs and tube DACs or tube amps paired for the reviews, I switched to all analog, source direct. I used the SACD DAC, amp built in DAC, dual built in DACs in a 1250NE deck, even a SONY DVD deck with 24 bit DAC.No luck. I tried another Dennon AVR. I tried a budget mini Fios amp. I waited days between tests. I use a switcher so I could flip between speakers easily without touching any control. I did my final analysis in pitch darkness. Speakers that were all better for midrange and treble: Polk SDA2, EmotivaB1+, Sony SSCS5,, ESS AMT1 and some small Denon bookshelf model. The R200 beat everything for fast tight bass. Note treble was OK if the speaker

Pros: Superior, magical, fast impact bass. Stylish, cute cabinet and grill. Great black finish. Nice binding posts.

Cons: For my old ears-Ring tweeters shoot a pencil beam of painful hi frequency up to 50k. The transparency and imaging is worse in direct extensive comparison to 5 other speakers I have.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 25 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Rachel from Upper Marlboro, MD on 6/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful speakers. Outstanding sound. Great help from Chi Tel/Charles who recommended Crutchfield, and Goose who finalized the order.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds great

Michale from Langhorne, PA on 6/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound unbelievably good!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Big sound from small speaker

Kyle from Alexandria, VA on 6/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought these to increase audio in my new, much larger A/V room as surround speakers. These are awesome and can almost stand as fronts in the room (room is 25'x25'). Such a difference over my old Polk Signature S15s.

Pros: Clear, detailed audio even as surround speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Run. Do not walk. Way better than Triangle BR03, Elac, Kef, Klipsch

AR from San Ramon on 5/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Run. Do not walk to buy these speakers. I have tried Triangle BR03, Elance Debut Reference, KEF Q350, Klipsch RP-600M and even Polk slimp towers Polk Reserve R500. These speakers Polk Reserve R200 are way better than all of the above. Initially I had system Iotavx SA3 with Triangle BR03. Bought this combination after watching high recommended from a Youtube video. It's ok solution, but nothing sounds like Hi-FI audio. You can get similar sound from a decent soundbar. Thanks to always awesome Crutchfield service advisors, they guided me to fix the issue. First I replaced the Iotavx-SA3 with Yamaha A-S801. That itself made a big difference in the output and quality of the sound. After swapping Triangle BR03 with Polk Reserve R200, its another level. Initially I got Polk Reserve R500 slim towers, again after watching a Youtube review. They are nowhere close to Polk Reserve R200. If you are like me trying to decide between slim tower vs large bookshelf; go for bookshelf speakers. They sound amazingly better and take up much small footprint. My current system: Yamaha A-S801 Polk Reserve R200 Wiim Mini streamer. (I might upgrade this to Bluesound or something else later).

Pros: Amazong sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 5/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product, but I couldn't get them to settle down in my room. I didn't have as much space off the wall as these needed and I personally did not like the ring tweeter. Very industrial in appearance. I went through with the return. thanks Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Mint

Thomas from Colchester, VT on 4/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Scratch & Dent looks mint sounds great now need to update my system

Pros: sounds good

Cons: but needs speaker stands to get the best sound out of them (so speakers are at ear level)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

One of the best at this price range.

Jin from San Francisco, CA on 4/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Polk's got a winner here! Excellent tonality and bass extension, lush mids and non-fatiguing highs, all in a relatively affordable package. This pair of bookshelf speakers can even compete with speaker double its price. The wood vinyl finish is nicely done with no obvious visible seams. Magnetic grills are quite nice, but the tweeters/woofers are also beautiful. If you are cross shopping between speakers within the 600-800 price range, I implore you to consider these Polk speakers as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

William from New York, NY on 4/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic speakers! I had a pair of Elac Reference speakers that were great but in my opinion only sounded their best when played loud. At lower volume I was losing something. Contacted CRUTCHFIELD and spoke with LEE in sales. He was unbelievably perceptive. He listened to my concerns about Elac and recommended the Polks . I'm very happy that I took his advice. I'm just 60 days with these speakers and they keep knocking me out with each selection of music that l play. Precise and musical. Great powerful bass and excellent midrange. Brilliant ! If your on the fence about these speakers ..jump. I don't think you will be disappointed. Many thanks to Lee. Consistently impressed by CRUTCHFIELD and its wonderful employees.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Punch well above their price.

Thomas from Bethlehem, PA on 3/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've auditioned many speakers ranging from B&W, ELAC, Klipsch, Q Acoustics, Martin Logan and finally these Polk R200's to use in a near-field/desktop PC setup. The R200's blow each and every single one of those away in nearly every aspect. Clear highs, detailed mids and punchy bass. I have them paired with a Cambridge Audio AXR100 and an EVGA Nu Audio PC Soundcard (for DAC) and it's plenty, plenty of power to make these sing. Just be sure you have good stands to use with these. Nothing wobbly because these do have some weight to them. I'm using Kanto SP32PL stands, and they work just fine. I sincerely think these are probably some of the best passive bookshelf speakers for the price. If you're looking for bookshelf speakers under $1,000, definitely consider these on your short list.

Pros: -Highs, mids and bass. -Exciting. -Finish.

Cons: -None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Joseph from Houston, TX on 3/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful sound. Replaced my RTiA3's and could not be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

CW from Orchard Park, NY on 3/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Reserve R200s sound fantastic and are perfect for my needs (2-channel stereo in medium sized living room). I compared the 200s and 100s side-by-side, and they both sound excellent. But I appreciated the fuller sound and deeper bass from the 200s. The entire Crutchfield customer experience has been fantastic from helping me select an integrated amp (Rotel A12) and CD player as well as the R200s. Customer and technical support are extremely responsive and delivery is very fast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Give Polk a Try, You Won't be Sorry!

Kenneth from Milan, OH on 3/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the sound! Have them accompanying my Polk Legend 200 Book Shelf Speakers. Need to "Break" them in though. Already have the Atrium 6 Outdoor Speakers and the Polk Tsi 200 Bookshelf Speakers. Very happy with Polk for their price point and sound quality!

Pros: Great Sound, Looks & Value

Cons: None do far!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Real Deal

Fred from Port Townsend, WA on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Get these. I did, after an exhausting two week comparison with Wharfedale Diamond 12.2s and Elac Debut 2.0 B6.2s. The Polk R200s cost a little more but are capable of a lot more. Peel off a couple more Benjamins and enjoy the ride. If you audition them next to other speakers, here is a list of everyperson kind of material I discovered that's worth your listen: Simon & Garfunkel "The Boxer" Michael Jackson "Thriller" Donald Fagen "I.G.Y." Zac Brown Band w/Alan Jackson "As She's Walking Away" Bruno Mars "24K Magic" James Taylor "Our Town" (from the "Cars" soundtrack) Dvorak "New World Symphony" conducted by Zubin Mehta Norah Jones "Come Away With Me" Led Zeppelin "Over The Hills And Far Away" Honorable mention: The Elacs are the Honda Accord of speakers. Faithful, good. The Wharfedales are a speaker for today's world. Optimized for TV, movies and today's highly processed pop, country and rock...and they have this wonderful relationship with percussion, esp bongos, congas and snare drums.

Pros: Capable of restoring your faith in audio reproduction Everything sounds good through them If you can't fit a Steinway in your living room, these are the next best thing

Cons: Neighbors are gonna hate me

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Chas from Norfolk, VA on 3/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice Bass and clear vocals

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Audio Bliss

Gregory from Wixom, MI on 2/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Watched lots of online reviews, including the Polk team before squeezing the extra $$ to exchange my ES20s to Crutchfield on day 58 for these gems. No deal for me, full price but worth every penny. Sound is awesome and does not disappoint. There is less brightness than Klispsch, which is fine for me. I opened with Quadrophenia out of the box and these speakers handled "Real Me" perfectly. I have 100w/ch Onkyo with the Polk Sub and center channel for my basement exercise/music room. I listen to CD/Vinyl between 60-70db, and these have plenty of sound for my 400sq ft listening area. These were a great upgrade and there's nothing missing with these speakers. They're actually a bit smaller than the ES20s which is nice. Great job Polk team.

Pros: Clear clean sound. Easy install with the Crutchfield banana plugs. Sound quality is awesome.

Cons: Makes other music players and sound bars sound not worth listening to!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers

William G from Hays, KS on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these speakers after watching and reading several reviews which were overwhelmingly positive. I have had then for three weeks now and all I can say is they are incredible. I have listened to everything from hard rock to jazz and they handle all genres exceptionally well. I was hoping these were not too much speaker for my listening room (11' x 13') and they work well. No need for a sub-woofer as handle the low end with ease. At this price point I would certainly consider these on your list of speakers to try. By the way the equipment I am running into these is a Cambridge AXR-100 receiver, a Cambridge AXC35 CD player and a Fluance RT-84 turntable.

Pros: Great sound at this price or any price Outstanding packing job

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

R200 Compared with

Crutchfield customer from Benton, AR on 1/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After extended listening: 1. Polk R200 deepest bass, most extended treble, most neutral. Good power handling. 1st order woofer crossover requires ear height to be between the woofer and tweeter to prevent cancellation. Best build quality. 2. Kef Q350 prominent British midrange sounds best on some tracks. Better musical texture than Polk in bass and midrange. 3. Elac Unifi 2.0 least efficient of these low-efficiency speakers. 100 watts minimum. The least amount of bass, could use some boundary reinforcement. Sounds rolled off past 10khz, eq would help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

R200

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 1/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought these because I have a pair of Polks in my garage. They sound great in there. These are fantastic. Sound is clean and sharp. I mounted these on speaker stands using , Command Strips. Six large size on each stand. They are holding tight. Can wait to add more of the "R Series " speakers to my system.

Pros: Size and sound

Cons: Mounting on stands

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Phil from Summerville, SC on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield - awesome service, fast delivery. Spoke with Seth on the phone who was just a pleasure and really helped me out. I am pretty new to A/V setups and did a ton of research before buying, but nothing helps more than hands on-experience... These speakers are built like tanks, very solid. The synthetic finish matches my walnut TV stand perfectly. The binding posts are quality pieces. The packaging was great, and the speakers grills are nicely finished magnetic units - I prefer them off. The sound...oh my. Bass for days, even on the Kanto SP26 stands I just bought. Mids are much better to me than the R100 ( reason for the switch). This speaker is super neutral, your sound source is key. Power...let's get this out of the way. My Denon S760H was not capable of delivering the goods. Without wanting to spend twice the price, I got a receiver with a real power supply: Onkyo TX-NR6100. I recommend at least a 100W/Ch receiver if you don't have a dedicated amp. Nothing in the price range lists 4ohm specs except the Onkyo's. These speakers dip to mid/high 3's. You need power and clean current. I am extremely happy with the setup I have now. The sound quality is outstanding. Listening and reading reviews/experiences for months, I'm convinced these are the best bookshelf speakers under 1k; and maybe above to $1500-ish. In that range you'll only find better materials, not better sound. Buy these with confidence. They are awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Polk really stepped it up this year, folks!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 12/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are absolutely phenomenal speakers for under a grand. Polk was with me from the beginning and I can't believe their mid-priced offering is as premium as this. Crystal clear, difficult to tell if there's any intermodulation distortion going on at all. they don't over-hype the upper mids, which can make it seem like they're not perfect for rock, but I like it that way. I like a flat response. I trust the mixing engineer, and if I want coloration I prefer for that to come from my choice of amp or EQ. Flawless. And they look real nice too :) I'd pay a grand for these. At least. Great job, Polk.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

The Little-Big bookshelf that could

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 12/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

WOW! I replaced my floor standing Signature Polk S55's with these R200's, and they are absolutely are a better speaker. Part of the reason, I believe, for that improvement is the the match in timbre with my new front speakers - the Reserve R600's. The solid cabinets and the new 1" Pinnacle tweeters seem to make so much of a difference! The 6 1/2" Turbine Cone accommodates pretty hefty bass for a speaker of this size. They are large by bookshelf standards, weighing in at a stout (nearly) 20lbs each and displacing 7.5 x 14.1 x 13.9 in, these won't "disappear" into the background. At least the cabinets in walnut are very attractive (IMHO). Great for music and for movies, you won't be disappointed in these speakers. They, along with the R600s do require a good amount of power. I am running my trusty Pioneer Elite VSX-90, and that seems to work just great (8 Ohms; 100W /2-channels driven), so you probably don't need anything too crazy in terms of power. Enjoy!

Pros: Full range across the spectrum Hefty, solid speaker Great highs from the Pinnacle tweeter Good mids and the upper ranges of bass Fantastic for movies and music

Cons: Hefty, solid speaker (get some good stands).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Crutchfield customer from Baldwinsville, NY on 12/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Crutchfield customer from Council Bluffs, IA on 12/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded from 20 year old Polk speakers with R200's and R100's. Very nice spatial sound, crisp highs but never harsh. Wonderful vocals and great depth on guitars and pianos. Bass is excellent. I have these paired with a new Polk subwoofer. Really enjoying the new sound. Spoke with Conrad before buying and he was an excellent resource and his information was right on the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Guest from Portland, OR on 12/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The reviews are true: These speakers are outstanding. I'm using a $70 class D amp (Loxjie A10) to drive them and they sound better than my Kef LS 50 set!

Pros: Awesome bass, midrange and highs.

Cons: For the price? None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk R200 or DBR 6.2 ?

Doug from Newark, NY on 12/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Like the reviewer before me, I have had 530s, 4.1s, 4.2s, DBR6.2s, 570s, Denton 80th 85th, Diamond 225, DFR 52, Klipsch 51m, DT SM65s, Diamond 11.3s. Only the 530s, 4.2s, and 85ths are in the class of the R200s. That review is spot on! I use a Marantz PM 8006 with the 11.3s and its so delicious you can scoop the sound up. The R200s hooked to a Yamaha 803n with a Cambridge Audio Minx 301. The 803N is warmer than most Yamahas. I was using The DBRs, after hearing these R200s, the Elacs were settling. The R200s sounded good but the vocals were recessed, and bass was okay. About 2 hrs in the bass blossomed and everything is improving since. I do not want to turn them off. A little bit of toe in some balance adjustment and locked dead center soundstage. These soundstage nearly as good as the 11.3 floorstanders. Compared to the DBR 6.2s the 803N drives them fine and its no powerhouse just good clean Yami. Maybe a little tougher than the 6.2s. But the bass is tighter stronger more detailed. A bit more height to the soundstage. Definitly not a bass box, good balance all around. They do rock a bit as you turn them up more than the DBRs. Music is so enjoyable on these almost like going back to the good old days. I loved my DeF Tech SM 65s but I looked for greener grass. The R200s are under the same umbrella ownership as Def Tech. These bring me back to the 65s with a touch of 530s. I bet the DT D11s are a close second to these. The R 200s are a must for music on the warm side.

Pros: Everything They will pound some bass with power

Cons: Did not have them sooner

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

A must try for $1,000 and under!

Bear Claw from Buffalo on 11/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

40 speakers in my house this year. These R200's are a stand out. Well balanced and respond well to EQ. The sound you get is very dependent on the rest of your audio components. A cheap receiver will likely = thick and muddy sound. Given a quality amp and DAC, they are sublime. Bass is fantastic, deep and defined but yet this is not an all bass all the time speaker. The mids are expansive, it feels like there is so much room for the sound to play out. You get that spacey 3D sound floating around your head with ease. I prefer to EQ the highs up a bit. The speaker is quite detailed without being fatiguing. They are better suited to music than home theater. The tweeter has somewhat narrow sweet spot. I have these in a near field set up 4ft directly to my sides -sounds amazing! The Emotiva T1+'s would make a much better HT speaker, but they do not touch these for music precision. I use these with Tidal, Schiit Eitr, Mimby, Loki+, Audiolab 6000A. Also tried an Onkyo A-9110 (good), Rotel A11 Tribute (better) but the 6000A really gets the best out of these R200's in all respects. It almost doesn't matter which song I play, the combo always seem to cast a spell over me. These Polks top anything Jamo, JBl Studio 530's, Emotiva B1+'s, Monitor 70's. The R200's also trade blows with the Focal Chora series offering more density and detail compared to the Chora's beauty, clarity and natural timbre. Go for the 200's vs 100's for can't miss bass performance. R200's, EQ and 6000a =

Pros: Well defined and ample bass Neutral character Never offend but yet precise Goldilocks character and huge value

Cons: Needs good amplification to get it's best Top end needs some extra EQ but they do respond if asked. (Buy a Loki+) Not the best for home theater. Would need a very capable receiver to drive these well. Narrow dispersion from tweeter (~20 degrees) would limit seating options.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

very consistent for all types of sound

Crutchfield customer from Owens X Rds, AL on 10/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are fantastic and very consistent for all types of sound. You can turn up the volume to 90dB and hear no distortion for the music I tried it with (movie soundtracks, classical, electronic, rock). The grill on the front is magnetic which is very convenient. The speakers themselves are nice looking, though I know it would cost more, a wood veneer (instead of vinyl) would make these look even nicer, but I suppose that's what the L200s are for. Like my review on the R350, I recommend using the HTS-12 under the desk (right side) for the bass however, because it sounds weird with low bass coming from the left and right speakers, or above the TV. In my Denon AVR-X3700H I set my crossover frequency to 80Hz, and set all the speakers to be small speakers.

Pros: Best bookshelf speakers I could find the for price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

Very nice sounding speakers with superb highs and bass

George from Baton Rouge on 10/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I actually tested this vs some kef ls50 metas. They outshine the kefs in the bass/midbass area wile the kefs outshine them slightly in the midrange. These are less than half the price of the ls50's so it was a no-brainer to get these. Those tweeters really shine compared to the silk domes I've heard and doesn't have the occasional harshness of the ls50 metal domes tweeters. Detail is similar but slightly less than the ls50 but thats probably why it never gets harsh-sounding. Overall pretty neutral sound.

Pros: - Very nice overall tone to this set. - Nice lows for a speaker this size - Great bang for the buck - tweeters sound in between a soft dome tweeter and ribbon tweeter, so no harshness, and is definitely my preference - fairly neutral sound overall

Cons: - picky about tweeter placement. The sound can change quite a bit when you shift horizontal sitting position. Vertical position is not as bad but still a bit noticeable. - finish looks good(white) but, observing it up close, you can see it is only ok and they skimped a bit on it to save cost. The grill is nice looking too but the material is thin and flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 24 found this helpful

A Real Gem!

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 9/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These Polk R200 speakers sound fantastic! They offer a great neutral sound that works well with many genres. The bass is controlled and plentiful and these can easily stand on their own for lots of music without a sub. The ring radiator tweeters create a detailed and airy treble that is not fatiguing, and easily maintains composure when turned up loud. Highly recommend these for anyone shopping in the under $1000 price range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent Audio in my Office

Michael from Salt Lake City, UT on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I paired these with an Audiolab 6000A integrated amplifier. The quality of the audio from this pair is excellent, albeit warm. It took a few months for me to get used to the difference in sound between this pair and my old arrangement (a Yamaha A-S301 and pair of KEF Q100 speakers). Compared to the old set, this is less bright, has better midrange and bass extension, and fills my small room with much more *full* sound. I listen for long periods while working and enjoy fast genres like punk rock. These do an excellent job. If it's helpful, I mounted these really high on each of my office side walls, flipped them upside down!, toed them in, and pointed them down at my head so the tweeters aim right over a wide array of computer monitors. This is far from optimal placement in a dedicated "listening room", but I can report they sound excellent and I can still get work done while enjoying them.

Pros: Great bass extension for the size, sound fine mounted on side walls.

Cons: I'll bet floor standing speakers will rock a lot harder.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Cordova, CA on 9/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My set up is stereo listening only. I was using very good pair of center channel speakers because of shelf height limitations. Time to change so I rebuilt one shelf and called Crutchffield (Rodell) for advice because these had to be on a shelf and not on stands. We finally settled on these Polk R200's. This is my #2 music system with Schiit Audio amp, dac and preamp, and NAD spinner. Also I am using 2 SVS SB1000 subs, 1 paired with each speaker. Ok here we go. The R200's have about 25 hours on them now. I have yet to turn on the subs. The R200's are a complete musical speaker for me. I am so surprised especially about the bottom end. I do not like over kill bass. I like honest bass.I am finally happy that I can experience a speaker with a ring radiating tweeter. The music is complete. The separation of the instruments, the accuracy of the music and voice is very good. Nothing is overdone. I really really like these speakers. Thank you Rodell and Crutchfield. I will be back.

Pros: Complete sprekers

Cons: Absolutely nothing

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Very Nice

Crutchfield customer from Holiday, FL on 8/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had them for about three weeks now and tried them with the Iota SA3/PA3 stack, Peachtree Nova 300 and in my 7.2.4 surround system Denon X6700H. I like the class A/B sound the best with these. More airy, spacious and separation. The sound of the tweeter is hard to define. It's bright but not fatiguing at all. Lots of clarity. I hate bright speakers and I am really enjoying these. If Polk had these tweeters in their LSiM 703's they might have the perfect speaker (for me). The bass is really good. In my 12x15 bedroom I could get away without a sub. Larger or open rooms could benefit using a sub with these for sure. If I had to nick pick, the mids are lacking a little but not enough to be totally dissatisfied. After all they are $700 speakers.

Pros: High clarity

Cons: Mids could be better but that's totally subjective

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

"Reserve" your seat for the concert!

Lamont from Brooklyn, NY on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I can't believe my ears. Polk has done it again with these inexpensive versions of their new Legend series speakers. These Reserve R200's are the bomb. The highs are crisp and brilliant where the vocals really stand out as well as guitars and cymbal crashes. The bass is tight and deep but not harsh to the ears. You almost don't need a subwoofer with these. Truly fantastic for music even in spite of their slightly heftier price compared to speakers in a $250 to $300 price range. If you can swing the money, you'll be extremely glad you did. They will not disappoint you at all. Reserve your seat for the show.

Pros: Phenomenal highs, Deep bass, overall well-balanced sound mixture especially for music where it does not sound like the sound is drowning or muddy.

Cons: Could have been more attractive.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Great Sound from and Affordable Speaker, Bass is Fantastic

Guest from Springfield, MA on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After owning a pair of Polk RTI A3 speakers I decided these should be may next set. The bass is tight and very controlled, I'd say personally it's enough to not need a subwoofer. Mids and vocals sound great and clean neutral never muddy or fatiguing, and highs shine, the treble is neither bright or harsh highs simply exists and are clear, detailed and sharp. I'm very impressed with the treble really. All together the speaker blends well and is very powerful. This speaker requires at least 4ohm. A 6ohm receiver will not efficiently drive these and will potentially overheat. I tried out a onkyo receiver rated 100Watt per channel 6-8ohm and within 5 minutes it was hot and really straining. A 4ohm stable amp or receiver should be more than enough for these. Im also sure the bass goes lower than 51hz it player around 39hz on my system and vibrates my floors and couch. So the 51hz must be reference levels. Overall this is the best speaker ive heard in this price range. If you're debating between the R100 or the R200 just get these. The upgraded driver size just produces such a better bass extension and midrange quality. Particularly at Higher volume levels. Only Fault I could find is the finish. Its just flat black and looks very basic. However the Grill is very nice curved and have very strong magnets. Also they really didn't need to place the Polk logo on the inside of the speaker as well as the Grill.

Pros: Bass, Mids, Treble, Dynamic, Clarity, Grill, Modern Design

Cons: Finish Could be Better, 4ohm Required to power these properly without risking speaker or amp damage, Sounds better on stands vs. on bookshelf. I'd say these are stand mount speakers due to bass.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Crutchfield customer from Yucaipa, CA on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and good looking

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R200

Crutchfield customer from Tremonton, UT on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Almost too much speaker to 'waste' on surrounds. Easily could drive a very nice system. Great sound with quite a bit of bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Bookshelf Bliss

Steven from SOUTHFIELD, MI on 4/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding bookshelf speakers. Have them set up in my bedroom. Amazed at the quality of the bass. Overall clean and full sound. Using an Emotiva BasX TA-100 receiver to power them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Compare the sound