Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Reserve R400

Polk Audio Reserve R400 Center channel speaker (Midnight Black)

MFR # 300032-01-00-005

5.0 out of 5 stars
25 reviews
View this product
I love my Polk R400!

Michael from Creswell, OR on 4/6/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchasing the R400 center channel rounded out my front speakers perfectly. I don't have room for towers, but it works nicely with my R200s, XT90s and HTS12. Now I'm enjoying a 7.2.4 system and couldn't be happier. I've been a fan of Polk Audio since my military days in early 80's.

Pros: Great balance for a center speaker and really makes everything life like.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

R400

William from Spring Hill, FL on 1/29/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ordered this online its exactly what I dreamed it would be nice quality I highly recommend it .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

High quality product

Bryan from Mc Sherrystown, PA on 1/6/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Research into what's out there lead me to give a pair of these a shot at producing the quality sound I was wanting. Purchased an Emotiva Gen 3, 7 channel Amp to drive big 20yr old Cerin Vega 7series speakers an decided to go with new center units. These went up against 15" front,12" surround and 8" height speakers and hit the mark dead on. They blended in perfectly an produce the clear punch I was looking for. Make sure you have room for them, they're not little toys and put out big clear sound. I'd buy them again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

R400

Michael from Oak Grove, KY on 9/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

One of the best equipment I ever purchased. Almost makes the sound 3D.

Pros: The R400 really changes sound. It opens the sound another level. You can hear all the highs and lows.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Handles an array of sounds beautifully!

Douglas from TUCSON, AZ on 7/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Before I give this review, I have to give a Shout out to Crutchfield - from the beginning they answered all my questions about different Speakers, Receiver's - I chose a Polk Audio System (2) R200's (2) R900's Height Speakers (1) R400 Center Speaker (1) PSW10 Subwoofer (1) Yamaha RX-V6A Receiver. They shipped all the items and were delivered on Time!! And because they took such great care in packing everything (a couple of the boxes were damaged) no harm came to the products. The center speaker has an array of special effects assigned to it and this Speaker efficiently handles all of them. I'm currently Listening to Resident Evil 4K WoW!!! What a Great Center Speaker!!

Pros: extremely versatile

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R400

Jermaine from Poland, IN on 4/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

With the center channel being the most important in the home theater set up I chose the buy the best at polk Offered in the reserve series it brightened up the room with clarity ans bass coming from the same unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R400

Jeffery from Ormond Beach, FL on 4/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sounding center channel. It's way better watching movies with this speaker compared to my last one. It blends great with my R700s too. Just make sure you have the space to fit this bad boy before you order it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

BIG - Sounds great

Jeff from Northfield, OH on 12/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Make sure you check the dimensions on this big boy...I didn't, but I got lucky it it fits great in my setup. I'm very glad it did because it sounds very very nice. It replaced a smaller 20 year old Infinity CC-2 that I've grown accustomed to over that time. The CC-2 is good. The R400 is great. Noticeably warmer and fuller. It blends with my (also 20 years old) Polk R50s.

Pros: Fullness

Cons: size?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome center speaker

Mark from Rochester, PA on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This center speaker sounds fantastic. Two R700's are being delivered tomorrow. Can't wait to hear them together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R400

Don from St Peters, MO on 9/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound from this center channel is phenomenal

Pros: Excellent sound quality

Cons: Large in size

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

R400 Targets the High End

Jessica from HOCKESSIN, DE on 9/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My husband and I are avid audio enthusiasts, that span several years of product integration into our lives. Hands down, one of the most impressive dedicated center channel speakers money can buy. In most scenarios, including, but not limited to: uncompressed IMAX audio, bitstreamed DTS-X, Dolby Atmos, and spatial music; Polk's R400 meets or exceeds the performance of 1k-2k+ competitors. Easily integrates with even difficult to match ribbon tweeter towers. We utilize the speaker in a 7.2.4 system driven by Pioneer'a flagship AV LX series, and Emotiva's multi-channel amplifier. We suggest targeting 200Watt+ RMS for higher decibel demands under load. Especially content such as Bladerunner 2043. Where midrange, bass, and treble are well mixed for center channel frequency pushes. Minor adjustments were made after using MCACC/Dirac. Mainly targeting sub 50hz equalization. All speakers in our 7.2.4 reached an equal and sustained 75db with our decibel meter equipment. No further +db adjustments were needed to balance center channel volume above our towers. Outstanding craftsmanship inside and out. Highly recommend this product for even higher end enthusiasts, and much prefer 2-way to 3-way speakers for home theatre, as too many crossovers reduce fidelity and "punch".

Pros: Significant amount of accurate frequency coverage, which provides ideal home theatre implementation.

Cons: The lighter toned grill may be a cosmetic peeve to those matching a "dark black" theme. It is more a charcoal gray. Albeit, quite nice against the cabinet.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R400

Marcin from San Antonio, TX on 9/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect match for the R600. Clear dialogue and great bass. Fit and finish is excellent too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Reserve R400

Papa from Indianapolis, IN on 9/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speaker looks great , sounds good and is well build. I have it only for a couple of weeks now therefore I couldn't give it 5 stars because I didn't have enough time to fully experience its abilities.

Pros: Looks and sounds great. Very good voice and bass reproduction.

Cons: Missing a dedicated midrange section for its price.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

reserve 400

Richard from Independence, KS on 9/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This speaker sounds great. Voice are clear and precise. The speaker is large and is heavy. Make sure you have the space for it

Pros: Great clarity and looks good to.

Cons: Large

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R400

Leeroy from Germantown, MD on 9/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very intelligible. Clear vocals on music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

So nice!

Jonathan from Cedar Park, TX on 7/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just got this hooked up - man, even the commercials sound good! And I really dislike commercials. Got the R200's to go with it - beats the old C-V towers I have by a long shot. Dialogue is SO much better than what I had. My friend always asked me to put on CC so she wouldn't miss what was going on. She loves the sound of this speaker. Me too!

Pros: Clear clean dialogue - great with music too!

Cons: Should've got it sooner!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Mind Blowing Clarity

Kyle Steven from Alexandria, VA on 7/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound clarity is fantastic. Amazing what a higher end center channel does for movie watching.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect with the R700's

Greg from West Chester, PA on 3/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this center channel speaker along with a set of R700's. Very nice speaker, voices are crystal clear and blends perfectly with the R700's. Would buy again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R400

William from Lewisburg, TN on 3/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have had exclusively polk for 2 decades now. Never heard better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R400

Alessandro from Elk Grove, CA on 1/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced a nice PSB Center Channel with this R400. I can definitely hear the difference. The R400 is a great Center channel for the price.

Pros: Great bass and clarity for a center channel speaker.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Finally, the dialogue is clear.

Bill from Eugene, OR on 1/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Arrived in two days and no damage to the carton or speaker. Sounds great as center speaker. Finally, the dialogue is clear and loud enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R400

Crutchfield customer from Powell, OH on 11/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound! Really happy with purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Powerful and clear

Matthew from NORTH POTOMAC, MD on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the first center channel speaker I've owned where I don't have to constantly fidget with speaker balance and the volume during a movie because I can't hear the dialogue and the rest of the movie is too loud! Vocals are clear and precise.

Pros: Clear, precise, powerful

Cons: Very large- make sure you have the space

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Incredibly good

Mike from Orlando, FL on 9/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced my Polk LSIM 704c center channel with this one, and all I can say is WOW! The clarity of dialogue on this center is really, really impressive! And the thing I liked most was how it handles male voices, especially deeper ones. It sounded completely natural and accurate at all times, and sibilance with s and sh were perfect. For the money, you can't do better.

Pros: Crystal clear dialogue Can get close up against the wall without getting too much bass in dialog

Cons: Don't much care for the grill, but took that off and it looks great

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Polk Audio Reserve R400

Crutchfield customer from Tremonton, UT on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a beast. I was surprised by how big it is. It fully delivers but wow.

Pros:

Cons: Save a large space for this

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound