Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

JBL HDI-1600

JBL HDI-1600 Bookshelf speaker (Satin Walnut)

MFR # JBLHDI1600WAL

5.0 out of 5 stars
18 reviews
View this product
JBL HDI-1600

John from Pasadena, CA on 4/12/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This pair of JBL HDI-1600 replaced a pair of B&W 607 2 speakers which were struggling a bit in a larger space than originally placed. Even before fully broken in, they shine. There is much more bass and an even better room-filling sound. They fill a large T-shaped listening area without straining at all without a sub. Individual instruments and vocals are very clear. I would recommend these speakers for an enjoyable listening experience, even without a sub.

Pros: Sound even with no sub. Clarity. Rich room-filling sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bigger isn't always better.

Curtis from Minot, ND on 4/12/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm excited to have the JBL HDI 1600 speakers. They are beefy but come in a small package, taking your time with placement will pay big dividends. Also great fit and finish and packed very carefully. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Good bass extension, clear mid-range, and highs. Nicely centered vocals.

Cons: Takes time to set up properly for best results.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Phenomenal Speakers

David from Conway, AR on 2/9/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Phenomenal speakers. Subtleties that were once unheard are now clear as day; these speakers breathe new life into my old albums.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL HDI 1600

Joshua from Centralia,Il on 11/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been considering these for quite some time. I also have a pair of GR Research XLS Encores that I built with top end crossover parts. I really the the XLS Encore, but they require a subwoofer and also do not do anything to mask issues in recordings. There are many good songs that I don't want to listen to with those because the recordings are not optimal. They tell the "truth" so to speak. (sometimes... you cant handle the truth haha) The JBL's are very different in this regard. They are quite detailed and have great tone, but are not so revealing that i cant listen to sub par recordings. The JBL's have a lot of weight to the sound. The bass is much stonger than i was expecting. These things really get with the program. I've not had any experience with compression drivers, but so far i am very pleased and satisfied with midrange and treble performance. If i could sum up in a few words I would say they are smooth with a thick bottom end. I have them paired with a Yamaha AS-801 and I think it is a perfect match. They will play at 11 all day long without any issues. If you are on the fence and are looking for something that will play loud with authority and not kill your ears with crazy highs you should pull the trigger. You will be impressed i think.

Pros: Great build quality Play very loud Solid low end punch Good sound stage Smooth top end

Cons: Really don't have any. I have found a speaker that i can rock out with. I personally do not feel the need for a sub with these guys. They are not full range so some may want a sub to capture the lowest frequencies. I would say you can set crossover on sub pretty low.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JBL HDI-1600

Don from WASHINGTON, DC on 6/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have several high end amps. Accuphase 380, Macintosh 352, Hegal 390, Pass labs 250. I also have several bookshelf speakers. Dynaudio s40, Buchardts 400 SE, Dali minuets se, Golden ear BRX,and NHT 3C. I like different presentations and all of my speakers do just that. I have never had any speakers with a horn and I heard good things about the JBL 1600. Right out the box, they sound very good. I would call these party speakers, in that they have very punchy bass and and like to be play loud. The sound is very rich with not a hint of brightness. Excellent sound stage that sounds tall and wide. Do they top my other bookshelf speakers? They all play a bit more refined, but the 1600 does some things the others cannot.The better the amp you use the better these speakers sound. Most speakers I have purchased took some time to sound their best. Since I am writing this review only one hour after removing the 1600 out of the box, it's possible they might sound even better than what I hear now. I don't think anyone would be unhappy with the JBL 1600. It certainly is a different presentation from my other speakers, so I will be adding them to my collection. My review is based on playing the JBL's with my Accuphase amp.

Pros: Wide soundstage Very good detail Strong bass Non fatiguing

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

JBL 1600 HDI

Jason from Wrightstown, WI on 3/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My first compression drivers & they are spectacular. True loudspeakers that are not brite like Klipsch . The bass is very big & tight with the live sound of those uppers via a waveguide. They do everything very well & Ill never go back to a tweeter . JBl is American music & movie sound complete. AC/DC to Miles these speakers are truly magical. Everything sounds live & natural with a delicate authority. No sub needed in my 30 ft by 16ft room with 15 foot ceilings. I push them with class A 160 watts in 4 ohms & they sound better as the sound increases. You need a quality amp 4ohms to open the 1600s up . They are fun & very dapper in their musical throw . At 1450.00 a pair with tax & delivered is a win for me . At the 2000-2500$ mark there are many speakers to compare , but none have compression drivers . These are my first JBL speakers Ive owned & they remind me of my previous dynaudio evoke 20s but more live feeling rather than the studio sterile composition of dynaudio . The open soundstage is accurate & very real . Everything sound live . JBL is my new love .

Pros: Alive

Cons: Power hungry

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sounding speakers without colorzing the sound too much

Abhishek from Seattle, WA on 1/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I previously had the 306 Mkii Pro from JBL and was mostly happy with those neutral sounding speakers. Got these ones in good deal and the difference between the two is not noticable which is a great thing that these don't add too much color to your sound. They are a tad bit warmer and can go pretty low on the bass end, all of which I am enjoying. Also since these are non-powered as opposed to the previous ones, no electric hiss (never cared for a good power supply for the previous ones). So all in all definitely worth the upgrade!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Exceeded expectations

Max from Ridgecrest, CA on 1/14/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clear sound, crisp without being fatiguing. These JBLs have shown they can handle as much power as I want to push through them using a Schiit Vidar amplifier (rated at 200 watts per channel @ 4 ohms). Overall, these are a big improvement over the old Sony SA-VA3 system I had been using for over 30 years. I tried several other modern speakers (including Wharfedale 85th and Revel F206) before settling on these JBLs. I like the rounded cabinet and the retro walnut (real wood veneer, according to JBL, not vinyl -- looks and feels real). I was expecting the JBL design to be a bit harsh in the highs but they're not at all. If anything, these speakers have a little too much presence in the midrange, like just about every speaker in the market. The Revel F206 were particularly glaring/beaming in the midrange, literally making my ears hurt. I use Equalizer APO to dial back 1.5khz (Q0.5) by about -3.5 db, which makes the JBL HDI 1600 a joy to listen to at any volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Small but Mighty

Donald from Trussville , AL on 7/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers. I placed these on built-ins on each side of our fireplace. The small size satisfied the aesthetics for my wife but they delver stunning sound that fills our large great room. The presence of the highs is amazing and the bass is fantastic. Driving with a Yamaha amp that delivers about 80w at 8 ohms. Speakers are 4 ohm. Couldn't recommend more if you are looking for small speakers.

Pros: Incredible sound. Small size.

Cons: Small size.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL HDI-1600

Scott from Brewton, AL on 7/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced an older set of low end JBL bookshelf speakers with the HDI 1600s. Very impressed with how balanced and bright these speakers are. I've discovered new harmonies and tones from songs that I have listened to for decades.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Small speaker , big sound

Bob from Pine Bush, NY on 7/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have owned many JBL speakers over the years , L100s , L65s & pro series, just so you know I have a bias for their products and for good reason . I recently purchased a pair of the HDI 1600s for a small room with a10" JBL sub and powered it with a 100 watt marantz amp. I'm impressed with the quality of sound that this small speaker is capable of producing. Like most J B L products, they respond quite well with a powerful amp. Bob

Pros: Best sounding small speaker Ive owned.

Cons: None ,except price

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JBL HDI-1600

Crutchfield customer from Wadesboro, NC on 11/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was looking for a pair of superior speakers for the front speakers of my surround sound. I had limited space and the size of these was perfect. I primarily listen to music on my system so my front speakers needed to be the best. These speakers were perfect. The quality of sound is superb and the base is amazing for a speaker this small. I am very pleased with these all the way around.

Pros: Small size, base response, overall quality of sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Definitely worth the money.

Donald from CARLSBAD, CA on 8/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound clear and full. I turned up my Marantz NR1200 receiver to volume 70 and closed my eyes and it sounded like I had a 12 inch woofer in front of me not a 6.5 inch, The singer sounded like she was standing right in front of me singing. I heard a reviewer on u tube that said they could not do a bass drum right but the bass drum on Evanescence sounded great. It made my chest vibrate. The wall I was leaning against in my bedroom was vibrating.

Pros: Everything except the sensitivity.

Cons: Needs a higher powered amp stable at 4 ohms.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

HDI-1600 gloss black

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Valley, CA on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Vinyl renders beautifully, truly amazing. Now I'm eyeballing the entire Synthesis line. Highly recommended.

Pros: Sounds like their pro monitors, but beautifully refined

Cons: Not a con, be aware these need power to show their colors, & it is great.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

One of JBL's Best

ROBERT from BRADENTON on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've owned many JBL loudspeakers over the past 20 years and this is one of my favorites. I purchased the HDI-1600s in the walnut finish which looks great, especially given that all my other speakers have been finished in black. The sound reinforces my experience with previous JBLs - the bass weight and depth is very, very good, the midrange is lively and engaging and the treble is all there without being harsh. These speakers can be played impressively, and very cleanly loud, but need a good amplifier (I am using a good quality 2 channel receiver rated at 100 watts per side). Very highly recommended!

Pros: Great, clean bass Clear, dynamic midrange Good, fatigue-free, treble

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Stagger Lee

Guest from Glendale, CA on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

At first I thought these speakers were too much for my taste. After breaking in, they are wonderful. The bass is excellent for a bookshelf. The vocals have an immediacy and presence that is palpable. I would describe these speakers as detailed without harshness and they have an attention capturing presence that is very gratifying. I'm a vocal guy and I love female and male voices on these speakers. After kicking round in the under $1000. market I took the leap and was richly rewarded.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Buy these speakers!!!

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great bookshelf speakers!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 11 found this helpful

JBL HDI-1600

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers have a full sound that fills up my entire room. I got these and the Dynaudio Evo2.0 and these sounds better for a little lesser price range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Compare the sound