Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
499 168 438 4
Connect ID #
499 168 438 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

JBL L52 Classic

JBL L52 Classic Bookshelf speakers (Blue grilles)

MFR # JBLL52CLASSICBLU

5.0 out of 5 stars
25 reviews
View this product
JBL L52 Classic

Carlos from Lynwood, CA on 2/24/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely floored with the sound and look of these speakers. So far so good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Mighty Fine!

Steve from Shreveport, LA on 2/23/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This mighty little speaker puts the music out in JBL style! Very good Soundstage. Excellent punchy bass! Highs are wonderful! Love the iconic style with the orange grills! The wood veneer cabinets are beautiful! Driving these with my older Denon pma520 amp- no problem! After quite a bit of research for a smaller speaker, I'm glad I decided on these JBL beauties! Love em! Thank you Crutchfield for your excellent service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL L52

Jeff from INDIANAPOLIS, IN on 2/17/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well I did it again I bought more speakers oh well these are great studio monitors. Excellent bass for their size and treble is good after breakin . I don't toe in and seems the perfect setup. Wells made and look great would recommend.

Pros: Great bass for their size.

Cons: To get the most from them need a subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

Woon from Germantown, MD on 1/10/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just perfect ?? ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quincy

Mark from Quincy on 3/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using in our 40' RV Coach. These are awesome for all genres of music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

Mark from Chapin, SC on 1/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing sound and power for the size speaker I'm impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love these baby L100s!

Maurice from Los Altos, CA on 1/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The little JBL L52s have a surprisingly "big sound" for such a small speaker. Perfect for listening to your classic 70s rock music. Close your eyes and you'd think you were listening to L100s. Side-by-side, the L52s lack the really low end bass (not surprising given their size) and the imaging isn't quite as good as their big brother, but for everyday listening, they're good enough. I found that placement is critical. They're best around mid-wall level. They're cute and nostalgic, too. Love the classic JBL foam grill look. That's ultimately what sold me. They're like working scale models of the classic L100s. UPDATED 3/20/24: I've had the JBL L52s for a little over a year now. While I'm still happy with the sound of the speakers, I noticed that after a year, the blue foam grills faded and have a greenish tint to them. For me, this was rather disappointing since the visual appeal of the grill is what ultimately sold me on these speakers. The speakers sat on the shelf in my living room and were exposed to daylight but not direct sunlight. To JBL's/Harmon's credit, they (somewhat grudgingly) sent me a replacement set of grills. I've added photos of the old grills (left) next to the new grills. You can see the difference in the photos. If fading is a concern to you, I suggest spraying them with UV protectant.

Pros: (Most of) the L100 sound in a small package. Being much smaller, these "bookshelf speakers" actually fit on a bookshelf! (See photo for size comparison.) Love, love, love the iconic Quadrex foam grills!

Cons: Lacks low-end bass frequencies. Imaging not quite as good as L100s.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

L52 Classic your new bestest buddy

Bradly from Milwaukee, WI on 12/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When you first place these speakers as recommended and play your reference "new speaker" music you will instantly relieve the anxiety of your un-auditioned purchase. The L52s, small in size, present a very immersive sound stage and accurate imaging to the extent you are simply drawn into the music. But not that you are drawn into it, it is more you are engulfed like Donald Pleasance in Fantastic Voyage...albeit without the terror. I know you get that reference because that movie was still playing the late night horror movies on Friday and Saturday night when I was a kid and was aware of the L100s. The L52s are a very fun speaker. The last pair of speakers I had that imaged like these were the AR Holographic M1. The sound is presented as mixed and the better the mix and production the greater the reward. I think you know what I am saying here. Be prepared to frantically search out albums on Tidal and play MQA blue tracks for that reward. Keep in mind these are not deep speakers. But the bass is present and distinct, tight, not blooming or flappy. Everything feels and sounds accurate. Having mixed and mastered in recording studios I would choose these for near field home audio reference mix monitors. They are that good. I find they are excellent at showing the differences between DACs and amps as well...I would lean on reputable amps and dacs. These speaks will expose flaws in poorly implemented gear but conversely show off the capabilities of high value hifi kit.

Pros: Accurate, easy, small, big sound stage. Detailed imaging, displays recorded music with surprising detail and smoothness. Plays well with single ended tubes and toroids.

Cons: Bass extension to about 38-40 Hz. Might not be for people all about the da bass. Highlights deficiencies in amps and dacs. Maybe tiring with cheap Class D amps.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

Edgardo E. from CAGUAS, PR on 11/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent monitors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

Ron from St James City, FL on 11/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound for a small set of speakers. Perfect for my man cave/office.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

More of a novelty.

Steven from King City, CA on 11/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Feels cheap. Sound is ok. If it were 350 i would keep it. But there are better things out for its price. The grill is made of pretty cheap plastic that doesnt seem like it will last.

Pros: I liked the tweeter and the hf adjustment.

Cons: Price. Muddy midrange. Soundstage. Cheap grills.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

Matt from Sacramento, CA on 11/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got these as a speaker for my work from home desk system. Right out of the box, they sounded pretty good. After about 50 hours the woofers started to break in and the lower frequencies started to become more present. I have about 70 hours on them and they keep getting better. I am using an Exposure 3010s2 Integrated amp, Bluesound Node 2i and connected with MIT Cables Matrix series. Will be adding a DAC and turntable. Also adding in some room treatment and acoustic panels.

Pros: Great finish and great sound

Cons: Lacking low frequency (can't blame the speaker with only a 5-1/4" woofer). But had to mention.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

Andrew from COLORADO SPGS, CO on 10/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Old time JBL guy. Crisp highs nice lows for the size. Highly recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

Crutchfield customer from KALAMAZOO, MI on 9/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome speakers. I was between these and the Bowers and Wilkins 606. The BW are more sophisticated in their delivery, but the JBL are a lot more fun to listen to. Big sound, heavier on mids and lows and less presence on the highs. Get a good center channel and you're fine, but they also sound great without the center. You almost don't need a subwoofer with how much bass these deliver. The design is awesome - truly timeless. Quality construction. If you get these, you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Huge personality Bass heavy Punchy and fun to listen to

Cons: Not much presence on the highs

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

William from Huntsville, TX on 7/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Impressive Speakers for the Size

Caleb from WISE, VA on 7/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are impressive for their size. I am most impressed with the bass that comes from these little speakers. Don't let the size fool you they can pump out the bass and it's not sloppy! Bass hits are tight and percussive. All the while the mids and highs still manage to punch their way through in a way that is very pleasing. The price I feel is a little high, but they are fun speakers even for the price.

Pros: Great bass response Punchy mids and highs Fun speaker

Cons: A little pricey for what they are Leave a little to be desired when it comes to imaging Not the end all be all for sound stage

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Turntable Set Up - Solid

Dean from Denver, CO on 6/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I received these incredibly quick from Crutchfield, and I'm absolutely loving them so far! I'm using them with a Technics SA-500 for a turntable set up, and it's been a joy to sit back and listen to some vinyls through these. They're also a well built and great looking set of speakers. Definitely on the pricy end of the scale, but for those looking for a nice set of bookshelf speakers that both look and sound good, these are a great option.

Pros: Looks, Build quality, Sound for the size

Cons: Price, Not being able to swap out foam front panel should you want to. (JBL doesn't sell them separate.)

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great retro styled bookshelf speakers

William from Littleton, CO on 5/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am really enjoying the new JBL L52 classic bookshelf speakers. I last bought stereo equipment in the mid 1980's and I needed some new speakers. The room is about 15' square, and these speakers are just right for this space. The mids and highs are balanced by plenty of bass from these small speakers when listening to rock and blues. They are paired with a Yamaha A-S301 amp, Kenwood CD-404 carousel, Carver TX-2 tuner, a Realistic APM-500 audio power meter, and an Esinkin Bluetooth adapter- all in a Pangea Vulcan audio rack. The speakers are sitting on IKEA Lack floating shelves. Dealing with Crutchfield was easy and they were here in just a couple of days.

Pros: Classic retro look, great build quality, and excellent sound

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing sound

Bruce from Brewster, NY on 5/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers! The sound is amazing and I love the retro look. Like the other reviewers, I was very impressed with the bass from these, considering their size. I'm happy!

Pros: Amazing sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

My JBL Classics

Gregory from West Seneca, NY on 4/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small but Super Impressive ! Don't let their little size fool you. I had recently purchased the JBL L82 version as a second set of speakers for my main sound system and was so impressed with the sound and build quality I decided to purchase a set of the L52's for a different system in another part of the house. I hooked them up, and knowing that they were brand new and would need a little break in time I wasn't expecting much. I was dead wrong, they were just unreal for their size right out of the box with no break in time. Awesome sounding, Great bass output, way more than I expected. These are fantastic sounding speakers that can fill a small room with crystal clear, high quality sound at all volume levels. Just like the L82 series, the construction and real wood veneer as well as the classic foam fronts make them worth every penny.

Pros: Adjustable tweeter in such a small speaker, Great bass output, real wood veneer, not a vinyl covered cabinet.

Cons: None, absolutely none...

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Classic JBL Sound in a small bookshelf form

Philip from Pt Pleasant, NJ on 4/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I received these speakers about two weeks ago and have been enjoying them ever since. They sound quite impressive and have a stunning design that mimics those nice big JBLs from the Maxell advert. I opted for these speakers because my listening room (my study) is on the small side. Out of the box, I was a little taken aback at the size of these speakers: they are little guys. Not too much bigger than a shoebox. But once I wired them in, any fear I had about the sound vanished. I was impressed right away by the wide sound stage and bass response; these might be smaller speakers but the bass is quite strong. I suppose the 4 ohm requirement comes into play here because these speakers move air. Put on Mahler's 6th and you can feel the giant hammer blows quite well, no need for a subwoofer. The wide range stereo effects of Daft Punk or Radiohead come across beautifully. Furthermore, they seem to not be picky about toe in or placement: they are dedicated left/right so I'm sure that helps, but I did not have to move them or play around much to get a quality stereo image. My only downsides are that they are quite 'bright' initially: I had to do some fiddling with my EQ to tone it down to where I wanted, and had to bump the bass a touch and cut the mids to make them more musical. Also, they are not the most refined: I've heard speakers that conveyed more detail. Regardless, the warm sound and classic look makes them a big winner for me and I am very happy.

Pros: Classic warm sound Great design Not picky about placement Ideal for a small space

Cons: Needs some break in, bright out of the box Not monitors, has a warm sound that I enjoy but might not be for everyone looking for high detail and flat response

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Solid sound no matter what the source

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 3/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The big sound coming out of these small boxes is impressive to say the least! Paired with a legacy Klipsch subwoofer and Yamaha Aventage receiver delivers a full-bodied wall of sound. Mine are used in my bedroom with a Samsung Frame TV and get the job done no matter the source. I am in love!

Pros: Classic, full sound you'd expect and then some.

Cons: Okay, the price. I wish they were a little bigger but once they start pumping, size is irrelevant.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

Barrett from Portland, OR on 2/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I paired this set with a pair of JBL control monitors . A perfect combo for all types of music. Very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL L52 Classic

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Terrific sound in a small package. The balanced sound spectrum is surprisingly good for such a small speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Small Box, Big Sound!

Billy from El Cajon, CA on 12/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I suspect many people (and not just me) can't decide between the myriad of speaker options. I wanted something compact and stand mounted so as to not overpower my new listening room. After going back and forth I finally decided to go with something JBL--bite the bullet and pay the money JBL demands. I thought the L82's would be too large so I ordered the little brother. Once they arrived I thought I made a big mistake--these were a lot smaller than I had envisioned. However they were here and were a lot cheaper than the L82's, so I unpacked and hooked them up. These speakers reek of high quality, the walnut veneer cabinets were impeccable and brought back memories of how real speakers used to look. Packaging was excellent as well, not a mark on anything. Mounted on stands, fired up my stereo (tube pre-amp, hybrid amp) and boy was I amazed--these little guys sound Big! I have always loved the JBL sound and the L52's don't disappoint. Sound is big and full--amazing what these small speakers can put out. I have an 8" powered sub and that really tops things off. Not sure you really need it, the JBL's deliver an impressive amount of bass, but I always like the extra lows it provides. To my ear, In addition to the surprising amount of bass--slightly forward mids and not-too-bright & articulate highs. After listening I felt I lucked out and did get the right speakers for my room, these have a small footprint and put out big sound--nice job JBL! 1 star ding for value.

Pros: Great build quality. Big and full sound. Beautiful retro look.

Cons: High price.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 19 found this helpful

Compare the sound