Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
130 335 647 4
Connect ID #
130 335 647 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

JBL L82 Classic

JBL L82 Classic Bookshelf speakers (Blue Grilles)

MFR # JBLL82CLASSICBLU

5.0 out of 5 stars
22 reviews
View this product
JBL L82 Classic

Edward from Macon, GA on 2/18/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Consistent with the JBL sound I have enjoyed in bookshelf speakers before. Great treble. Quite heavy for their size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A concert hall!

John from CLEVELAND, OH on 1/24/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I finished setting up my JBL L82 speakers today and switched on my Yamaha receiver. For the next two hours, I was in a space flooded with incredible sounds! Although the speakers were in front of me, the instruments were spread around my living room, sending me to an amazing level of euphoria. Before my purchase, I was concerned that the 8-inch woofers would not provide me with the level of base that I prefer. There was no reason to be concerned. The level and quality of the base notes were perfect. I discovered that when I cranked up the volume a lot while listening to AC/DC's "Thunderstruck", that the sound didn't distort but rather seem to evolve into one from an ever-widening concert hall- a concert hall, where the sound engineers have made sure that the band sounded as good as when they were in the studio.

Pros: Exceptional sound quality and performance, bass was more than adequate coming from 8-inch woofers

Cons: I wish the cabinet was more high-quality looking. The grills are great, however.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL L82 Classic

J from Missoula, MT on 10/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great service Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

A good vintage/retro choice

Larry S from CHICAGO, IL on 6/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just unboxed these yesterday so this review is probably a tad premature as they will certainly need to break in. These are destined for my basement office as I await repair of my Technics SA 400. In the meantime, I swapped out my B&W CM5's for these in my surround system and drove them with my Rotel RSX 1562 AV receiver in Stereo mode. My audition choices were "Birds Of Fire" LP by Mahavishnu Orchestra and of course my Mobile Fidelity Ultradisc of Steely Dan's "Asia". Despite the fact that the L82's are a bit tight right now, I found myself playing and enjoying both recordings all the way through. Overall the dynamic range, sound stage, bass response, mid range and highs are great, will only get better and I will be happy with these as stand alone speakers in my office. These speakers lose a star when compared to my CM5's and for that matter my CM10's when it comes to cabinet fit and finish. The Walnut veneer cabinets look a bit cheesy in comparison and while i was going for the vintage look, the pegs attaching the grills are irritating to work with vs the precise magnets on my B&W speakers. I fear breakage. For the money, I'd expect better I guess. Overall I made the right choice and will be happy with these.

Pros: Dynamic range, sound stage, bass response.

Cons: Fit and finish: Veneer cabinets and pegged grills feel a tad cheap at this price point.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very Musical and Versatile

Guest from St Clair Shores, MI on 2/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been listening to these for about a month now and I am very satisfied. To me they are very musical with a nice open soundstage. I find them to be very accurate and put me in the room with the artist. They handle jazz, rock and vocal performances with equal finesse. Are there speakers out there that sound as good for half the money? Maybe. Conversely, do they sound as good as some costing twice as much? This too is certainly possible. Bottom line, I'm having no regrets and believe they represent real value.

Pros: Open soundstage Accurate Handle jazz, rock and vocals with finesses Tight bass Good value

Cons: Might like a little more efficiency Magnetic grills would be better

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Great looking and sounding!

Marin from Old Lyme, CT on 1/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great looking and sounding set of speakers. I am using them to listen to my turntable and they are just fantastic. Note that they are large and essentially require the stands.

Pros: Sound, look

Cons: Requires the stands given size

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Issaquah

Benjamin from Issaquah on 11/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great paired with my Technics Su-G700Mk2. Love the vintage inspired look.

Pros: Sound great, vintage looks, perfect size for my room

Cons: Puppy thinks the grilles are tasty and has taken a chomp out of the foam on one of them :( Need to buy replacement grill lol

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JBL L82 Classic

James from Winston Salem, NC on 11/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound quality was good. However, JBL dropped the ball by using cheap veneer finish rather than wood veneer. It kills the throw back look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 14 found this helpful

Visual and Audio Flashback at a decent price

Peter from Minneapolis, MN on 10/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are replacing a pair of B&W 685s that were fine, but not quite right with my Vintage rig. I'm using them with a Pioneer TX9500mkII and TU9500mkII pair and they look (the orange grills nail the era) and sound perfect with that 70s silver gear. I listen to a lot of vinyl (Dual 1229) and my records now sound as they did way back when. CDs (Rotel 1072) sound great as well. Very good bass for a small cabinet speaker even at lower volume settings. I suspect they'll become even better with more use. Only "gripe" I have is that they really should be shipped separately as their combined weight, awkward size, and hand-hole-less outer carton is more than one person can handle. I'm an old person, but the UPS guy was young and strong and couldn't carry it; had to roll it like a bail of hay up the front walk stairs. I had to use a moving strap to carry them into my basement listening room. Needless to say, the outer carton is pretty beat up. Speaker are fine, but I was concerned.

Pros: Great vintage look and wonderful sound that you can listen to for hours without fatigue. And seriously, give the colored gills a try. If you were around in the 70s you'll recognize the hues; just looking at 'em will bring a smile.

Cons: I'm not kidding; you will need a moving strap or a helper if you don't want to unpack them on your door step.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL L82's Continue the Great LBL Legacy

Crutchfield customer from Robinson, IL on 10/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great compact speakers. Very dynamic and good bass for a smaller bookshelf speaker. Build quality is excellent. Owned the original JBL L100's years ago while they are not able to match a larger 3-way the sound reminds me of my L100's.

Pros: Build quality. Great response for a smaller book shelf speaker.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

JBL L82 Classic

Rich from Brea, CA on 10/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased new and still have the JBL Century 100 speakers. I have never tired of these speakers so when it came to the purchase of the JBL L82 speakers vs the KLH 5 or the Wharfdale Lintons the choice was a "no brainer." These speakers are spectacular for the size. The build quality is perfect. If you enjoy a "present" speaker which is smooth and non abrasive, these are for you. I am a jazz combo or jazz singer and classical listener and want to listen as if I am in the club for the jazz or at the symphony hall for the classical. Voice is imaged and the distinctive instruments are as recorded. I have listened over the years to the Century 100s and the sound is very similar. They are being driven by the Rotel RA1592MarkII...200 watts per channel (they are 88 db efficient so even a low power tube amp could drive them well). At the current price they are a steal. I have tried them with the SVS Pro sub and the sound is spectacular. I am playing with position as they are mirror opposites...placing the tweeter in or out may make a difference...however, that is to be determined.

Pros: Great build quality, distinctive JBL sound

Cons: Sub may be needed if listening to rock n roll type music...

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Perfect Match

Randal from Atlantic, IA on 9/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect set for my Macintosh, Totally brought out the sound I remembered this system made in the 70's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

JBL L82 Classic

Kahlil from Brighton, MA on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These have such a great sound. They provide an incredible sound stage and perform well at quite volumes as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JBL L82 Classic

Nicholas from New York, NY on 2/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good. Paired it with my Sonos amp and have been very happy with sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

JBL L82s

Michael from Tempe, AZ on 1/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got JBL L82s for Christmas. They are awesome and just get better as they burn in. Bass is ample but not overwhelming. I'm clearly hearing higher notes in old records that I didnt recall before. Adding the matching speaker stands two weeks after Christmas further improved the warmth of the sound.

Pros: Great all around

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Thank you JBL for the L82! Outstanding presence!

Frederick from Palo Alto on 12/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simply an OUTSTANDING speaker! Thank you JBL for getting out of bed and creating this speaker! I read the reviews, had L100's back in the day, and simply never got over the 1" titanium tweeters and their sound. The L82's and their 1" titanium tweeters capture that crisp clean sound. YES! The new technology used to create the L82's 8" woofer delivers more base than I expected from an 8"woofer, but as James B Lansing is reported to have said "to make sound you need to move air", so I added the JBL STAGE A100P 10" 300 watt powered subwoofer driven from the low-pass filtered dedicated subwoofer output (LFE) on my Marantz NR1200 network receiver. Ohoooo-HA! Moving air now and loving the JBL "Thud". The Marantz 75 watt per channel, ( 8-ohm, 20-20k, 0.08%THD) drives them nicely - a full rich sound from Bach to the Beach Boys. These speakers are capable of recreating the Memorex advertisement and will blow you away!

Pros: JBL Sound - clean clear crisp Smaller foot print and less expensive that the L100's Equal high and midrange to the L100

Cons: Add the JBL 10" 300 watt powered subwoofer to get the L100 thud!

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Amazing first impression

Dan from Oklahoma City, OK on 8/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just got these delivered today after spending a month with another pair of stand-mount speakers close to this price range. My first reaction to the JBL L82 is - unbelievable. These really do not need a subwoofer. I've lived with stand-mount speakers for several years with dual subwoofers, and these really and truly don't need one (or two). I'll live with these for a while before I make a final call on keeping them, but wow. I suspect these are going to stay with me for a very long time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

JBL L82 Classic

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great classic JVL sound I remember from the 70s. Clear, defined, a little raw. Sounds like you're there. Driving them with a Yamaha as801.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Best speakers 2020!

Crutchfield customer from Medford, OR on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers and looks, the quality of construction is top notch, very big and powerful sounding. Tweater function adjusts perfectly.

Pros: Clear articulate powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Looking for a Classic? Try the JBL L82's

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I own a pair of JBL 82 since 1987 and I downsized when I moved. So the room is smaller and when I saw that JBL came out with the L82 classic, A smaller version of the L 100 and smaller than my old JBL 82s. I couldn't wait to try them out. I've had them for two weeks now and I'm pleasantly surprised how a smaller cabinet puts out more base and a cleaner mid range than the ones I've had since 1987. I've grown up with friends that had the original JBL1 00 monitors, so I knew what to expect. In fact I couldn't find any in the mid 70s and I bought a set of Pioneer HPM 100s in 1976 so I'm familiar with the rock 'n' roll sound. In case you didn't know Pioneer had hired a JBL engineer to design the HPM series of speakers in the 70s they sold almost as well as the JBL's did. I was very surprise that I was able to find something close to that sound. I sold my Pioneer HPM 100s and my SX-1250 receiver 10 years ago, so I've been looking for a good so called rock 'n' roll speaker in a smaller venue. Definitely would recommend these to anybody who is looking for the old rock 'n' roll sound in a smaller space. If the price bothers you I found an old ad online for JBL 100 Century monitors back in 1970 and they sold for $273 each, add for inflation and that puts you right in the ballpark for today's price of these new JBL classics.

Pros: Familiar rock 'n' roll sound. Surprisingly more bass out of a small cabinet. Clean high tones and mid range for a 2 way speaker.

Cons: The only downside is the walnut veneer looks too-vinyl like. If you remember these from the 70s like I did the cabinets looked more like real wood back then they do today but that won't affect the sound it's just a comment that I thought for the price they could have used a better quality veneer.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

Punching above their Weight Class

Crutchfield customer from Locust, NC on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These little guys sound amazing. Still breaking them in but they are warm and smooth at low volumes. The larger woofer than other bookshelves in range allow for better low end and effortless lower mids. Listen to a solo acoustic track, close your eyes and you have sense of a guy sitting on a stool in front of you, the resonance of the guitar body is uncanny. I can see why several reviews have named them speaker of the year 2020. Looking forward to many years with these.

Pros: Size Solid Build Awesome Retro Grilles

Cons: Grilles not Magnetic

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Blown away by my L82s!

Jon from Atlanta on 8/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound amazing. JBL really nailed it. They have true audiophile qualities - like excellent staging and imaging - but what makes them stand out is the meaty bass, which is also tight, controlled and balanced. Moreover, the speakers put out a well-defined mid-range that complements a terrific tweeter (the speakers render singers' voices really well). Most importantly, the speakers are musical and lively. In other words: fun. The sound is on the warm side, which is great for bright rooms like mine . and makes for hours of fatigue-free listening. And, true to JBL's legacy, you can adjust the tweeter tone to get things just right. You'll want an amp with some power to bring out the best in them. My 100W integrated makes them sing so I'd think anything in that wattage range would get the job done. These blow my previous speakers out of the water - and the older speakers were considerably more expensive! Plus, they look sharp and the Quadrex foam grilles never get old; my spouse even approves. Crutchfield delivered them quickly and was great to deal with, as always.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Compare the sound