Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Jensen CAR1013

Jensen CAR1013 Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # CAR1013

4.5 out of 5 stars
34 reviews
View this product
Close, but not perfect

Nicholas from Gonzales, LA on 2/29/2024

1987 Ford Bronco II

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price, you're really getting a lot of functionality, even with the couple of little quirks. If you have AA hooked up and navigate to the home page to tweak settings, it times out pretty quickly and goes back to AA without prompting. Its pretty responsive and doesn't have much lag at all, which was my main concern from the previous generation's reviews. The screen quality is OK, but I expected the colors to be a little more true and the blacks to be less grey (I may be biased here since I'm comparing it to my Audi's screen). I'd also expect a little less blockiness to images for the supposed resolution. It's far from unusable, but some more refinement could have gone into the screen itself. Audio quality is pretty good straight out of the HU, but I haven't tried it out with an amp yet to check the low level outputs yet. I do really like that the screen height/tilt is adjustable on the fly, but time will tell if the screen gets wobbly going down the road. Right now its a pretty deliberate action to adjust it, and it doesn't seem to have wobble any more than one would expect. Oh and the screen is massive so it makes looking at maps a breeze

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'd buy adain in a minute

Russell from Tryon, NC on 2/26/2024

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The radio is great, really works well with apple. So much better than what was in the vehicle before. Perfect fit looks like it was OEM. Adapters and fill plate made it a pleasure to install. I did not have to splice a single wire, truly plug and play. Great job Crutchfield. The only place to upgrade your cars electronics.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

James from Marysville, OH on 2/22/2024

2013 Ford F-550

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Incredible value! I was very impressed with the quality and design of this radio. This was replacement for my Motorhome radio. The larger screen and Apple Car play integration is just what it needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Crutchfield customer from Perkiomenville, PA on 2/21/2024

2010 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I put it in my 2010 Ford Crown Victoria P7b, and it was an easy install. Navigating the menu is a little difficult at first, but it gets easier. So far I do love the look and feel of it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Really pleased with this.

Ammon from Mesa, AZ on 2/21/2024

2004 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid for the price. I would have liked a faster processor. It's way too big for my car, and I'm extremely pleased. I haven't tested video playback, but the Android Auto wireless works well. The 15° angle tilt is sweet, and the screen is glossy and beautiful. It is bright enough to work well in this Phoenix AZ sun.

Pros:

Cons: Processor is a tad slower than I'd expect.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

James Gregg from Floral City, FL on 2/20/2024

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit installed and fit perfectly in my 2003 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD. There were some integration issues inherent to Chevy's wiring harness but that is no fault of the product. Very satisfied with the product and the 10" makes navigation a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

GX470 Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from ARLINGTON, TX on 2/19/2024

2004 Lexus GX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio is a phenomenal and major upgrade from the stock radio on my GX470. My only gripe is for the Crutchfield installation instructions, I have installed many radios from y'all by paying for the instructions, pre wired harnesses, etc... this was one of the worst ones ever, and I ended up taking it into to a professional shop halfway through as the instructions provided from Crutchfield led to dead ends and missing steps. What a mess on that end and not thrilled about that at all.

Pros: -Big screen -Fast CarPlay loading -Improved sound

Cons: -Terrible Crutchfield install instructions

Crutchfield response on 2/21/2024
We're sorry you had issues installing your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surprised by Jensen

Christian from San Antonio, TX on 2/18/2024

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was replacing a Boss Audio double din system I put in my truck about 4 years ago. I wanted something affordable because my kids primarily drive the truck. I also wanted wireless car play and android auto and compatibility with the back-up camera I installed previously, features I knew would add cost. I initially looked at low-end Kenwood and JVC units, but the surprisingly good ratings on this unit caught my eye. I installed the unit 3 days ago and so far I am pleased with my choice. Installation was under 2 hours start to finish, and that includes the time wiring the harness to the factory stereo connection. Everything worked as it should the very first time. Even the steering wheel controls module, microphone, and back-up camera I installed previously work perfectly.

Pros: Components feel study and well made, not cheap and flimsy. Screen is bright and crisp. User interface is intuitive and responsive with easy to navigate menus. Screen size really is impressive and provides ample real estate to split the screen into audio and navigation displays.

Cons: The only real criticism I have so far is that when connected wirelessly (Android auto and Apple car play) every few minutes the sound goes out for a fraction of a second. It has happened a few times and I will monitor in the coming weeks to decide if I want to return it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

This was a huge upgrade to my truck.

Crutchfield customer from GRAND JUNCTION, CO on 2/16/2024

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is for a 2006 Toyota Tundra. I upgraded from a JVC KW-M855BW that I originally bought so I could have Wireless Android Auto and backup camera in my older truck. The JVC was really the only cost effective option in 2020, and actually worked well for everything I needed, except it was really hard to see during the day, since I have a lighter colored tan interior. So I wanted a floating screen that I could angle toward my driving position to eliminate glare. This Jensen ticks most of the boxes that I wanted. The screen can be angled almost directly toward me, and it also adjusts up and down vertically. It has wireless AA and Car Play. And it has 2 camera inputs which is great when parallel parking. So far the sound has been better than my JVC, but this time I used a bypass harness to eliminate the factory amp, rather than the Axxess TYTO-01 Wiring Interface I used before. That, and bass blockers make the factory JBL speakers sound really good. Installation was easy because of the Crutchfield instructions. But since I had done this before, I labeled all the wires when I removed the JVC and it was just a matter of matching wires. The Metra dash kit worked ok, but because this receiver has 15 degrees of horizontal tilt, I had to space the receiver out from the dash approximately 1/2" so that the screen cleared the dash. I was able to modify it so it still looks good, but something to be aware of, since there is no built in adjustment for this as far as I know.

Pros: 15 deg side to side angle, 25 deg top to bottom angle, approx 2" up and down adjustment. Wireless Android Auto (or Car Play). 2 camera inputs. Built in equalizer. 3 year warranty.

Cons: In order to use the cameras for parallel parking, you have to go into the camera section of the OS and select the front camera. Then you put the vehicle in reverse and it will switch to the backup camera, then put it in drive and it will switch back to the front camera. My JVC would switch automatically, i.e. when I reversed it would switch to the rear camera, and when I went into drive it switched to the front camera (which would stay active for 30 seconds, or until you touched the screen.)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Houston from Imperial Beach, CA on 2/15/2024

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great head unit at a good price. The android auto/carplay connects very quickly. The screen is big and processing time is good. If your going to get this unit, get it from Crutchfield. With my purchase I got the dash mounting kit and wire harness. And for an extra fee they will splice all wires for you so it will be a quick and easy install.

Pros: The screen can adjust up and down as well as tilt up, down and side to side. Has wired and wireless andriod auto/apple carplay. Screen can be removed at any time for storage purposes. Crutchfield was very helpful and customer support responded to an issue I had about the back up camera with in a few minutes.

Cons: After first installing the unit, the imiage for my back up camera was flipped. Meaning, as I was backing up the screen showed an object on the right side, but in reality it was on the left. Customer support heled me with that.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Lee from Jay, FL on 2/14/2024

2005 Honda CRV SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great screen and Functionality.

Paul from Portland, OR on 2/13/2024

2002 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install was easy. Started right up out of the box. A couple of issues. 1. Conversion kit for the actual mounting provided no way to secure the unit in the adapter. I had to improvise. 2. There are some issues with Android Auto running specific aps, but that is probably an Android Auto problem.

Pros: Easy install (In my car) Beautiful Hi-Res Screen Volume knob and function buttons below screen. Great value for cost.

Cons: Dash adapter supplied with unit didn't allow any way to secure unit in slot. This is not an issue with the Jensen, but the separately produced adapter. Possible issues with Android Auto on some apps, I am still investigating.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Would recommend

Trent Owen from Lithia, FL on 2/13/2024

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instaleld in a 99 Jeep Cherokee. Incredibly easy install with the Crutchfield harness. Screen is bright and the functionality exceeds expectations. I definitley like the ability to remove the screen for security.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great screen, function and simplicity and Price!

Aaron from Bunkerville, NV on 2/13/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm pleasantly pleased with this receiver. I was hesitant to purchase a budget brand, but for the price, function and options, I couldn't pass up trying it. I was going back and forth between a Kenwood model that was on sale, but was still three times the price. It's performed flawlessly since install. CarPlay connects right up without error. The adjustability of the screen height and angle is great. Makes it easy to get a good angle for viewing and limit glare. Also provides a great screen for backup camera. Menus are easy to maneuver and fairly intuitive. No issues with the sound quality. I've always had Kenwoods or Pioneer decks, but decide for the price, I'd take the "risk". Thus far it's been a home run. Time will tell how reliable it is. I replaced a pioneer deck that started being glitchy, especially connecting to an IPhone. This was installed in a 2011 Toyota RAV4. In the RAV4, at the lowest adjustment setting it still partially blocks the middle air vents, but only slightly.

Pros: Price Simplicity CarPlay (Wired or Wireless) Great screen

Cons: None have popped up yet. Time will tell, but as of right now no cons.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent product, easy install

Bryan from Manassas, VA on 2/12/2024

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We got this for my son's Toyota FJ Cruiser and we couldn't be happier. First, the shipment arrived well-packaged and quickly. It included the Jensen, the pre-wired/soldered harness service (worth every single penny - incredible value and highly recommended) and the Metra din kit. The install instructions were emailed to me after purchase and are clear and excellent. The finished product is really nice! The Jensen has fantastic sound and it partially rotates as it is mounted to the main radio/CPU. You can simply pull the monitor out and store it anytime you need to (think like a removable faceplate but bigger). The colors on the screen are rich and the sound is excellent. My son is very happy. If you have any experience working on vehicle electronics, this will be a breeze. We finished the entire project in under 2 hours (including interruptions). I have been using Crutchfield for many years and I've installed several car stereos. I won't go through any other vendor but Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

good but also bad

Crutchfield customer from SAN ANTONIO, TX on 2/11/2024

2014 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

GPS goes crazy inaccurate, back up camera is backwards, phone microphone doesn't work unless you yell, subwoofer connection didn't work, blue tooth looses connection, screen randomly (very seldom) goes blank, screen is crazy big and sweet, phone mirroring didn't work for some reason super sad about that one, I'm sure tech support would have helped but there were just too many deal breakers.

Pros: screen is awesome sound is good

Cons: screen is quite big and in the way if you don't have room back up camera is backwards gps goes crazy subwoofer wouldn't connect

Crutchfield response on 2/13/2024
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 2 found this helpful

GMC 1500 Sierra Jenson CAR1013

Roger from Sunnyvale, CA on 2/9/2024

2003 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product - One or two things. Remove the unassessable plastic "box tray" (See photos) that comes with the kit for a GMC Sierra 1500 extended cab, and provide a cover plate instead, as then there is room for the wiring. You can only use the 2nd expanded extension for this Jensen CAR1013 on a 1500 GMC truck; otherwise, you won't get the dashboard back in place. It's a tough job as it is. It is a tight fit. The harnesses were the best. Get them made up for you! My Bose now works perfectly.

Pros: Great Product. Excellent help from the support team.

Cons: It's a really tight fit to get the dash back in. I needed to remove the extra storage box to get all the wires to fit into the radio space. Gear shift will hit the video screen if extended too far.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

David from Kent, OH on 2/6/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like this receiver a lot! It's a nice big screen with a volume knob and the wireless Apple CarPlay is great! It picks up the CarPlay BEFORE I can even start driving!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great big screen receiver

Brian from Surprise, AZ on 1/30/2024

2016 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great value for the price. Nice screen, easy to see. Menus are easy to navigate. The sound quality is good. So far the wireless CarPlay works great. Love the screen size!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

David from Manassas, VA on 1/29/2024

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install. No complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Crutchfield customer from Sherman,TX on 1/24/2024

1995 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product if you have the c1500 like me you will not need the double din

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Charlie from Douglas, AZ on 1/21/2024

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wish you could have 2 Bluetooth devices paired and connected at the same rime

Pros: Love the large screen

Cons: Wish it had better Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great for my F750

Jacob from Kannapolis, NC on 1/19/2024

2006 Ford F-750

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great solution for getting Apple CarPlay in my 2006 F750 service truck. I'm looking forward to Bible podcasts with this. Between responding to boss, coworkers, and customers this radio has been very helpful.

Pros: Apple CarPlay (wireless) Two usb charging ports The screen moves Volume knob is nice Fairly fast and responsive

Cons: Small lag sometimes (very rare)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Gregory from Quarryville, PA on 1/13/2024

2005 Ford Focus ZX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This and one afternoon of labor turned my 2005 ford focus into a modern feeling car. Connected with Android flawlessly, screen is great. I'm considering purchasing another one for my other vehicle. No professional needed to install. Connected to a previously installed backup cam without issue.

Pros:

Cons: Could definitely use some more guidance on its features.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Tuner

Paul from Macon, GA on 1/12/2024

2009 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great tuner at a low price. It was pretty easy to install with the provided instructions. It might be a good idea for the less experienced installer to look up some YouTube videos on the subject. It helped me immensely. I did have one issue with the operation since I have a standard transmission, but with a call to the support line it was quickly resolved.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A gift

Chadwick from NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV on 1/12/2024

2017 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this for my wife's 2017 Kia Forte. She loves it. Android Auto starts up quickly with wireless connection.

Pros: Large display, easy user interface

Cons: While using Android Auto(wireless), steering wheel control for next song will exit out of Android Auto

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Charlotte from CORAM, NY on 1/9/2024

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice unit every thing works great. Highly recommend Crutchfield setting up the wiring harness makes life easier. 4 stars is because of no crossover.

Pros: Very nice unit

Cons: One con no crossover for mids and highs have to use amps or separate xover

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Paul from No prov RI on 1/7/2024

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed a day ago works great the dash mount kit could be better had to modify it . Over all works great sounds great

Pros: Great head unit

Cons: Dash kit for mounting Meh !

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy upgrade from 2008 to 2023 features

Timothy from Sequim, WA on 1/3/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Huge upgrade to a 2008 Tacoma. Easy self installation once I stripped out the previous aftermarket mess. In addition to great sound and video, improves safety with backup camera, wireless apple car play, GPS antenna for Navigation, hands free calling. Essentially brought my 2008 up to features of a 2023.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to use!

Manuel from Orlando, FL on 1/2/2024

2010 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very big screen. Easy to operate. It's a floating screen so you can change the angle of it! It is also easy to detach so you can bring it inside.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Chris from KINGS MTN, NC on 12/28/2023

2006 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So the Jensen car1013 in my opinion is a budget friendly radio the quality build wise is top notch the screen is sturdy and it's decent sized and good resolution the apple CarPlay is flawless it's just like the one on my wife's ford sync but I have it wirelessly and that is what really sells this unit The gps is accurate you only have navigation if you have apple CarPlay or android auto The radio comes with it's own gps sensor,mic etc now here's the cons I don't like the generic firmware this unit has aside from the CarPlay it seems very dated and a bit laggy for my preference Reminds me of when double din touch screen first come out at w-mart 08-10 years all and all if you want CarPlay and android auto at a decent price you can't beat this

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Greg from Grovetown, GA on 12/26/2023

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super simple install in my 2004 4Runner. Simple to use and good sound. Wireless and wired CarPlay work great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

CAR1013 installation

Earl from Alfonso, VA on 12/19/2023

2010 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The CAR1013 has a fantastic 10.1" screen and wireless Android Auto works great. The Wiring kit from crutchfield was great and simplified the installation. What was not included in the diagram, is where to connect the backup camera power wire. In my car, it connects to the reverse+ splice. This was intuitive to me, but may not be to someone else. Installation was straight forward and the final install looks like it came from the factory. I soldered the wires and used heat shrink to protect the solder connections. I would recommend this method if you are able to do it. Great work Crutchfield engineers and staff!

Pros: Large screen Intuitive menu Easy installation

Cons: Vent is right behind the display and must be angle away to prevent hot spots that may be bad for the display. The dash panels are largely disassembled and the connectors to the controls can be tricky to unlatch. The emergency brake made center console removal extremely challenging (2010 Ford Focus)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jensen CAR1013

Matthew from Sewell, NJ on 12/19/2023

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does everything it should looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Compare the sound