Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR Digital multimedia receiver (does not play discs)

MFR # DMX958XR

4.5 out of 5 stars
58 reviews
View this product
Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Brandon from Duluth, MN on 4/12/2024

2012 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it. Easy to use sounds amazing

Pros: Sound quality!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Premium Quality at a great Price

Timothy from Centreville, VA on 4/9/2024

2008 Dodge Magnum

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A great value. Multiple tuners and A/v connections for just about any installation. Superb audio sound quality, high definition, and very legible screen, combined with excellent controls. Well-organized user manual. Easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood for the win!

Jordan from New Braunfels, TX on 4/1/2024

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excillent! This kenwood has really surpassed my expectations!

Pros: Audio controls/eq are great! User interface was easy to figure out and manipulate, huge fan of Android auto!

Cons: Couldn't get the media slideshow to upload off of the kenwood app. I also couldnt get the weather display to work, but i didnt try too hard to figure out why it wasnt connecting. Only gripes

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent

Brian from ROSEVILLE, CA on 3/23/2024

2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Jeep Grand Cherokee 2015 upgrade easy (3 hour self install) with Crutchfield's packaged kit (794ADSMRR2, 794HUKEN1, 794KJGC1). Finally have a great wireless android auto experience, and retained all the functionality of my knobs/buttons, climate controls, etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it but it skips under CarPlay

Todd from Hayden, ID on 3/18/2024

2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed and I love the unit. However, under CarPlay, it's skipping as if it's losing communication with the iphone. It happens every 10 seconds +- when I'm driving in a congested area. In the open, it stops skipping. I may return it if it doesn't clear up. Checked for updates and there's no updates for the unit yet. Except for that issue, I really love it. Hope it fixes itself :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Leonardo from Hazlehurst, GA on 3/11/2024

1996 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazinggggg!!! Awesome clarity wow!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I expected things to be plug and play

Adam from HOLLAND, MI on 3/6/2024

2017 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No serious xm cables or anything to have that work also no hd radio inputs or any cables that come with anything I spent around 1600 on. I expected everything I needed was going to be in my rather large package for a very simple install but it didn't. I got a lot more stuff than I even needed to use and not the right stuff for what I needed. It states the radio and everything supports HD radio and XM radio and everything is plugged in and hooked up. In the pictures and info there were speaker wires ready to be hooked into my amp but nothing like that is here I have no clue where the factory speaker wires are there isn't even any page on what wire is what. For anything. Rather disappointing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/11/2024
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Adam to help with his receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX958XR Excelon Reference in the Camaro

Randy from Fresno, CA on 2/22/2024

2002 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It has been a couple of years since I first pondered installing an aftermarket radio in my 2002 Camaro convertible. I started checking out the multimedia players and, since I'm fond of Kenwood, went with the top dog DMX 958XR along with the Kenwood KCA-HD200 HDMI cable...both from Crutchfield. The shorter chassis was the perfect fit without any alterations to the radio support tray in the car. I wasn't crazy about the fit and finish of the Metra radio bezel, so I chose one from another company which fits and looks better in my opinion. I went with the Axxess ASWC-1 Steering Wheel Control interface after having difficulty with a PAC unit. I pulled up the back of the dash top and installed the GPS and Sirius antennas in the two metal pockets on either side of the dash. The cigarette lighter was removed and replaced it with a HDMI/USB dash panel mount. To install a backup camera, I fabricated a mount out of 1/8" abs plastic so I could move the license plate light rearward and installed a Rydeen Duo 3 camera. Camera wires run up the left side of the car. I replaced the original Delco monsoon amp with a Rockford TM400X4ad amplifier and mounted it in the stock location. A re-pinned Metra 70-2002 radio connector allowed me to tap into the stock speaker wires from the wire harness that connected to the amp. The main power cable runs from the battery back to the trunk along the right side of the car.

Pros: I love all the features and audio adjustability of this Kenwood. It is the perfect radio for me and the Camaro. I'm extremely happy with it. You can run the volume all the way up to its max of 40 and there won't be any clipping from the unit. There is still a lot to explore and learn with such a capable stereo, but I'll get there! Thanks to Crutchfield for all of the information provided and products they carry which make a do-it-yourselfer's life so much easier!

Cons: I don't care for that warning that comes on when the radio is first turned on. Wish there was a way to eliminate it, but there isn't. A printed version of the Instruction Manual would be nice.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Seth from Ottumwa, IA on 2/21/2024

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install. Fit like a glove. Shallow mount makes it way easier to install. Lots of great features.

Pros: Operating interface is easy to use and very responsive. Lots of customizable features. Sounds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Rene from Pembroke Pines, FL on 2/18/2024

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

GREAT RADIO WOULD RECOMMEND

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Complete Upgrade!

Chris from North Liberty, IA on 2/11/2024

2014 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've only had it in for a week but so far it's exceeding my expectations. My one concern before pulling the trigger on this was how the Android Auto would would hold up. It's been exceptional. I'm using an older Galaxy S10e and it's great. No dropped calls and no Bluetooth lagging at all. My Grand Caravan is basic, no bells or whistles. Not even Uconnect. Adding the Maestro to this has given me tons of extras I didn't think were possible. Button configurations, backup camera, the ability to see tire pressures, HD radio, it's all outstanding. Not to mention the screen is amazing!

Pros: Screen! Sound quality! Android Auto! Customization!

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Keith from St Simons Is, GA on 2/4/2024

1998 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crystal clear screen definition. Easy to navigate the screen and CarPlay works perfect. Even my kids think it's great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Dexter from Sarasota, FL on 1/30/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well thought out user screens. Easy setup. Works great.

Pros: Easy to operate while driving. Quick setup.

Cons: User manual could be better detailed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Crutchfield Service

Chris from CONROE, TX on 1/23/2024

2021 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this head unit and all the recommended harnesses for my 2021 Nissan Frontier. Everything was pretty easy to install as all the wire connectors were unique plugs so they could not be mixed up. I did have to tap into two wires for the CAN system and did not do it correctly such that things were not working and I had to call tech support. First they answered right away and second my tech guy traced the problem back to these two wires such that when I redid the connection everything was perfect! I could not have been more pleased. This is top notch support from Crutchfield! All the Crutchfield manuals and instruction with pictures were so helpful and clear. I will definitely use Crutchfield in the future again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Mammoth Lakes (Tom's Place)

Francisco from Mammoth Lakes (Tom's Place) on 1/19/2024

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This radio worked fine for eight months, then it just quit. No audio output. While it worked, I was very happy with it. I sent it to the repair facility in Walnut ,California. Repairs take 3 to 4 weeks. Future buyers should be aware that if this happens to your radio, counting shipping time, you will be without a radio in your car for at least 5 weeks. For me, this is unacceptable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

great head unit

Stephen from Federalsburg, MD on 1/16/2024

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, instructions were easy to comprehend, display is crystal clear, love the customization options, and touchscreen is responsive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Raymond from New London, WI on 12/24/2023

2009 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well thought out and layed out only issue is the day night mode with Android Auto resets every time you turn off the car.

Pros: Size, customized directions, ease of install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield Service

Larry from Burnsville, MN on 12/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield is an excellent company to do business with. They are extremely helpful in insuring you get the best radio system for your car or truck. I purchased the Kenwood Excelon DMX958XR and could not be more happy with this unit. I purchased the Crutchfield pre-wired wire harness and it was basically a plug a play process. I would highly recommend you purchase the pre-made wire harness from Crutchfield. It made installing this radio extremely easy. And if you have any questions or issues installing your radio Crutchfield is right there to help you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Ron from Irwin, PA on 12/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great value and performance

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/18/2023

2007 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The stereo itself is awesome. So many features available unfortunately in my 2007 Honda Element most of them are available from the factory. Two things to be wary of. 1) DO NOT use the Metra 95-7863 Dask Kit if at all possible. If you can find an American International HON-K834 kit get it. You only have to use the faceplate from the kit and the factory stereo hardware for installation. 2) If you get the Ready Harness service and get the IDatalink Maestro SW there are connections you will have to make when you receive your order to ensure your steering wheel controls work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Works good EXCEPT for features NO longer supported.

James from YORKTOWN, VA on 12/17/2023

2014 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Many of the features are NO longer supported by Kenwood.

Pros: Sounds good

Cons: Many of the features are NO longer supported by Kenwood.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 15 found this helpful

Thoroughly pleased!

Billy from Bristol, TN on 12/4/2023

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver was part of a complete overhaul to my 2008 Ford F250 audio system (receiver, amp, powered sub, 4 speakers, backup cam). The shallow depth chassis made this a very simple install - I didn't have to fret about wire routing or storage issues. I'm using most every input on the device and they all work flawlessly. I particularly love the ability to fine tune speaker positions (delays), crossovers, and levels to create the sound field I want. It's like having a mini-digital signal processor on board. The operating system is fairly intuitive, though there is a small learning curve (like figuring out how to dim the screen when headlights are activated). And I'm a big fan of the wireless Apple CarPlay features (be sure to install the included GPS antenna or they won't work). I have nothing but the best to say about the feature set and the installation experience. As for the listening experience, upon completing my install and doing some minor tuning, I put on some music I have loved for over 40 years and just sat in the truck listening. For hours I kept noticing things I had never really heard before - vocalists' breaths, subtle guitar string slides, bass parts I had overlooked. Soft, loud, rock, jazz, classical... regardless of musical genre, I love it and cannot believe I waited so long to do this upgrade!

Pros: Easy installation Feature Rich Simple operation Fully compatible with Apple CarPlay Amazing sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great

Jamie from Churchville, NY on 11/20/2023

2023 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It blew me away, the sound quality of this stereo compared to the one that came with my 23 Toyota Tacoma. One additional thing that was a huge plus was disconnecting the amp feed for my subwoofer. The feed was coming off my front speakers. Now it is connected to the rear of the Kenwood with RCA Jack's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Joseph from Needville, TX on 11/20/2023

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything I order works great and easy to install if I need anything else will be getting from yall

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Zachary from SPRING, TX on 11/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not replacement for a burned out oem system, janky at best, like a crappy first gen android , camera lags, navigation makes no sense. I tried saving money, my fault, setting appt with ford today.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/21/2023
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Zachary to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 10 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

CHARLES E from CENTURY, FL on 10/23/2023

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tons of features and easy to install. Very user friendly interface. HD screen and capacitive touch are great. Has wireless Apple Carplay, HD Radio, SiriusXM ready, iDatalink ready, and multiple camera inputs; all features I was looking for. The provided microphone makes me come through loud and clear during calls. The integration with the Kenwood DRV-N520 dash cam is very intuitive and adds security and safety features. The use with the Kenwood CMOS-740HD rear camera makes for super clear back-up cam. The vehicle data and gauges interface is awesome too. The weather widgets are no longer supported which kind of sucks, but I'm sure I can find a replacement Carplay app. It has more audio controls then I know what to do with, but there's also easy to use presets and sound effects.

Pros: HD capacitive touchscreen, idatalink ready, Sirius XM/factory satellite radio ready, HD radio tuner, wireless Apple Carplay, every input/output you could want including 4 camera inputs, 3 way audio outputs, microphone in, GPS in, aux 3.5 jack in, usb c and hdmi in, WiFi and Bluetooth, remote available, physical volume buttons.

Cons: weather widgets no longer supported, volume buttons vs knob

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

John from Baton Rouge, LA on 10/17/2023

2016 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit that sounds great. The only issue I have is with bluetooth connection to the iPhone. In one area of town it drops the connection. This is repeatable and always happens in the same location. It's easily solved by plugging the iPhone into the USB port.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit lots of features

Allen from Cypress, TX on 10/16/2023

2019 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this because i wanted an Android Auto setup since my 2019 Tundra HU was slightly antiquated. Here is what I like, the display is 720p and looks very sharp and clear even with my factory rear camera. I like the touch screen and swipe function which works really well. Installation was not too bad, and Crutchfield was ready for support and always had an answer for my questions. The sound is fantastic although I had not had a chance to tune my aftermarket amp that is installed. I really like Android auto and having my apps at my control which makes it really convenient. Here is what I don't like. I did loose compass function, and street and speed limit display on the lcd display in my console. It is not a big deal I would have bought the radio anyway and I have compass on Android auto and with navigation get street names, but speed limit display would be nice. Now that I have the system installed it would have been nice to have a bigger screen. I was considering the DMX1037 or DMX1057 but could not justify spending $400 more. If you can afford it get the bigger screen. The last thing was since my system was not a cookie cutter setup it was unclear on what setup was needed for programming the Maesro module and a couple of wires needed to be connected but with Crutchfield support it was not problem at all. Still five stars. If you are undecided this HU has it all, Android Auto, HD radio, USB 3A charging, High res audio, HD display, and great integration wit

Pros: 1. Hi res audio which is step above other units at this price range. 2. 720P crystal clear display 3. Maestro integration well done. 4. HD radio works really well, 5. Android Auto allows use of phone and installed apps. 6. I like the xover, speaker setup makes it really convenient. 7. Installation kit fit well and looks good.

Cons: 1. Lost speed limit and street display in LCD display in the console. It would be nice to know what is lost or how it is replaced. 2. Guide to which instructions to use. There were three sets so organize yourself prior to beginning the installation. This prompted a couple of calls to Crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Guest from knoxville, TN on 10/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great unit... flash drive support sucks.

Pros: great unit great sound

Cons: stillhave yet to get it to read a 128G flash dirve with all the folder correctly. yes it meets Kenwood folder sturcture. It works on all my other pinerr and cheap Kenwood head units, but It refuses to work on this ,... No im not buying 27 flash drives to see if one works >i mean this is 2023 samsung and sandisk are std in fllash dirves and a HU at this price wont read them?

Crutchfield response on 10/16/2023
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 7 found this helpful

Wish I would have pulled the trigger sooner!

Wesley from UNIONVILLE, MO on 10/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was really skeptical to switch from my old Pioneer flagship, but I'm glad I did. With the old Pioneer my focal mids and tweets were harsh in the highs and lacked depth in the mid-range but what a difference it made switching to this Kenwood unit. I originally thought I did not like my Focal components until they were paired with the Kenwood. The Kenwood totally brought them to life and now they sound like I had hoped they would. The only drawback was that I never could get a full 5 volts of power to my amplifiers but was able to get in the low fours on all three sets of outputs and I can live with that.

Pros: Sound quality!

Cons: A little less than the advertise 5 volts of preamp output

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Billy from Albany, TX on 10/3/2023

2003 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit you get what you pay for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

2008 Mazda MX5

Crutchfield customer from OAKLAND, CA on 9/10/2023

2008 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had BOSE radio in my 2008 MX5, and was not too happy with the sound. It is a noisy convertible, but sometimes I want to enjoy music. BOSE is OK with a bit of cloudy, muddy, muffled sound and it was hard to hear anything when the top is closed and open. I took careful time to install this unit, and it is amazing. There is a clarity and details in the sound, plus you can tweak it with enhancer. Now, I don't have to turn the volume all the way up to enjoy music. Carplay works flawlessly. I also added KENWOOD CMOS-740HD backup camera (routed wire under side shill, under trim panels, to the trunk through between trim panels in the back, through behind panels in the trunk, then through the rear light), and the image is great. I had to figure out how to get the image on backup camera, because it showed just black screen after the install, then went into the unit's setting to choose camera options. I tapped the Reverse Wire to the location Crutchfield specified with some effort (you need to unwrap the tape on the wire bundle), Speed Sensor wire is left unconnected since NC Miata has NO speed sensor. I Can now check the on coming traffic when pulling out of parking between big suvs. I did pay for the wire help, so all the connectors were attached and ready to install. There is a YouTube video of someone comparing this unit and another Kenwood unit, and she talks about the sound setting tips. I am very happy that I chose this unit, and glad that I bought from Crutchfield.

Pros: Wide range of sound setting and enhancers, clear view of screen, compact package

Cons: Price, so much in the setting and you can get lost

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice unit with good bass and adjustable features.

Boyd from Fairless Hills, PA on 8/22/2023

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good! Better sound through factory speakers. Setup was fairly easy although I have done this a few times before, but never with maestro. Did have a hiccup getting satellite to work until I realized u can't use the default icon on screen. Need to grab the satellite radio icon from menu and put it in speed rail for easy access. Issue with an old backup cam(that I never used with factory navigation unit cuz my dealer is a turd and would refresh head). Going to try a cheap trick setup and if it work, I will shop some hi grade ticket cams. Metra kit adds factory finish to dash, wife approved. Looking forward to miles of learning what this unit has to offer. Loving Waze in dash now instead of fumbling for phone!

Pros: Lots of quick bass tunes, equipment cam options

Cons: Wish it was a bit bigger to fill out dash. Satellite album art does not show, Is that my problem?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2014 f150 STX

Steven from Berkshires on 8/17/2023

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have only had it installed for a week so I'm still learning, but so far it's been a nice improvement. The sound is light years ahead of the stock unit. Very pleased overall.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Nothing so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Ivar from Naples, ME on 8/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit...tremendous sound quality, impressive UI, can tailor the sound in many ways, easy connect to Apple Carplay.

Pros: Sound quality, customizability, connectivity

Cons: Buttons could be a bit larger

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood DMX958XR

Dan from Wildwood, MO on 8/3/2023

2017 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield sent instructions in an email before my shipment arrived. The 535 page document for the Maestro RR had two six page sections (pages 100-106 and 374-379) for my 2017 Highlander without JBL. I think 100-106 is for a radio without idatalink input. My Kenwood radio does have idatalink port, so I should have used the wire diagram on pages 374-379 so with help of Crutchfield tec support I did the install 2x. After flashing the Maestro, idatalink did provide the correct wire diagram but I assumed it was what I had already printed and didn't print again. The trim fit well but the hold in tab on the top right is slightly narrower than the factory radio trim tab so the tab didn't set. The AC vent goes over this and holds it, but I added a little tape before reinstalling the AC vent. I used the factory GPS antenna with iDatalink's ACC-SAT-TO2 adapter and seems to work ok. Not sure what all the GPS antenna is used for since NAV now comes from the cell phone GPS. Kenwood specs said factory mic wouldn't work so I installed the Kenwood MIC in the new radio trim and voice picks up great there.

Pros: TECH support and customer service both new my profile when I called or texted, I guess from my phone number, so I didn't have to explain the products I had and so help was quick and correct.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Enrico from Bonney Lake, WA on 7/26/2023

2018 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Camper Van

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything and more that I wanted for the upgrade in my sprinter van. Easy to install and a huge plus for the amount of cams I can utilize.

Pros: Easy to use unit and great fit and looks.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Dan from Queen Anne, MD on 7/5/2023

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with the Kenwood DMX958XR, upgrading my factory stereo on a 2013 Silverado! Do yourself a favor an get the custom wire harness for $25...money well spent!!!

Pros: Easy DIY installation, not full depth allowing room behind for wire bundles.

Cons: "Traffic by Inrix" is junk - does not work therefore weather app doesn't work. Not a big deal since I use CarPlay.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Erik from Steamboat Spr, CO on 6/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very intuitive U.I. Just what I was looking for!

Pros: 20 minute install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood reciever

Michael from Miami Beach, FL on 6/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best available receiver. Music improved my system 5x. High definition camera's are unmatched. Bluetooth connection is easy and quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice!

Jordan from Mesa, AZ on 6/21/2023

2021 Kia Rio

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome product in a compact frame!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No regrets

Kyle from Lake Jackson, TX on 6/20/2023

2010 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good so far. Sound quality is superb. Screen is high resolution. Simple to use. Boots up and connects to phone quickly, around the same amount of time it takes to back out of driveway.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Carlos from Toa Alta, PR on 6/19/2023

2007 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lo monte en mi corvett c6 2007 y quedo como de fábrica me encanta este Radio, buena compra.??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptional audio

Michael from Cincinnati Ohio on 6/8/2023

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had it installed for a week now and so far I have no regrets whatsoever. The wireless Apple CarPlay has been working flawlessly, which is what I bought the stereo for.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big upgrade from Stock Toyota Entune Unit

Gordon from River Ridge, LA on 5/26/2023

2017 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is a very big step up from the stock unit in my 2017 Highlander. I used the rr2 to connect features in my car, most of which work. I did lose the compass screen on my main dashboard.

Pros: Clean sound and a good bass thump even without an external Amp.

Cons: Lost the Compass on the dash and can't use the factory Mic and GPS antenna.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DMX958XR Stereo

Matthew from Seal Beach, CA on 5/6/2023

2008 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The install was pretty easy, the wiring guide Crutchfield included made it pretty easy. I did have difficulty with the steering wheel controls, but it was solved with a quick call to the Technical support line. Great tech support from Bradley. This stereo sounds so much better than my factory stereo, even with the old speakers, my Bose speakers were being sandbagged by the cheap factory radio. The wireless Android Auto is awesome; hands free phone, google maps, voice control, voice to text is near flawless for hands free text message replies, steering wheel controls work like factory, Pandora integration is great. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the Metra finishing panel/bezel that fits perfectly and blends well with the factory finish. And now I have my first backup camera with adaptive lines. I'm happy with the results. My old Mazda feels almost new. I just purchased a dash cam as well. One irritation, they indicate the factory LCD no longer functions. More accurately the vehicle clock will forever be wrong, unless I put the factory radio back in twice a year to reset the clock. The stereos built in clock is great though.

Pros: Great sound Awesome hands free integration with Android Auto WIFI Easy to wire Good looking Metra surround/finishing bezel that matches the interior finish well Great tech support

Cons: Loss of control of factory clock. A bit pricey; $850 for stereo, $78 for the wiring interface with steering wheel module, $59 for backup camera, $16 for the finishing panel, and $200 for the dash camera.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

This thing rocks!

Zach from New Market on 4/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the one. After tangling with the Excelon DMX809S for about a week, it had some niggles that I just couldn't get past. Crutchfield took care of me, sent me a replacement unit (which had the same problems). I finally decided to bite the bullet and move up the product stack to the Excelon DMX958XR. Thank goodness I did! Sure, it's more expensive by a wide margin, but the enhancements are worth the price tag to me. Great screen, good sound, and I prefer the software on the DMX958XR over the DMX809S despite it being a bit older and flashier. The DMX958XR has a wider soundstage and more presence in the upper-mids compared to its little brother. Low-bass seems tighter as well. Currently driving the KFC710PS speakers with this unit.

Pros: - Options, customization, options. You can tweak literally everything - Vehicle integration with Maestro is awesome. Reads tire pressure and battery voltage - Wireless Android Auto/Apple Carplay is game-changing. Seems pretty stable too. - LDAC streaming

Cons: - It's expensive, but it's range-topping so it's expected - Marketing as "audiophile centerpiece" seems a bit dubious. It sounds good, but won't touch a quality dedicated amp (I wouldn't expect it would)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great unit

Gary from saint petersburg, fl on 3/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

beautiful unit, it fits perfect in my Mecedes CLK and works well with all the steering wheel controls. it's easy to use the various functions but the radio controls are a bit cluttered on the screen. I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

William from GALION, OH on 2/27/2023

2016 Chevrolet Tahoe LS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Bluetooth doesn't stay connected on Android wireless. My pioneer seem louder also Another thing Crutchfield is no help I wanted to get another radio . They don't even return your phone calls I shouldn't have to chase them all day and talk to them then lose the call and they don't call back they sure have change over the years I been a customer for 15 yrs

Pros: Nice pic

Cons: Poor android auto small screen should be louder than my pioneer with 5 v preout horrible sales support

Crutchfield response on

11 of 37 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Marcus from Prosper, TX on 2/27/2023

2012 Acura TSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit and Wireless CarPlay is awesome

Pros: Screen quality HDMI Inputs

Cons: HDMI input was difficult to install as the bracket that holds it requires a smaller collar around the HDMI cable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for Android Auto features

Seth from SACRAMENTO, CA on 2/26/2023

2017 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am really impressed with how well this unit integrates with my car's existing electronics. I have a 2017 Nissan Altima SV (7" display with nav, but not the Bose system). The gauges dashboard in my car has a small screen for displaying information about the car like TPMS pressures and such. It also displays the current radio station/song information. That radio/song information was retained with this unit combined with the Maestro RR. The small screen also would display turn instructions from my navigation, but that was not retained and I did not expect it to be. I believe if I'd gotten a unit with built in navigation it probably would have been retained. The surprise to me was last night I received a warning about a tire with low pressure. When the alert sounded, the head unit automatically switched to a view of the car status with the TPMS showing and the low one in red. I had seen TPMS information by going through various displays, but the fact that it automatically showed when my car alerted was nice surprise. I paid for professional installation and the installers were asking me about my Crutchfield purchase. They were impressed at how complete the installation kit was. They even said it was the first installation they didn't need wire cutters for. I've done self installs with Crutchfield kits before and I love how well thought out they are.

Pros: Excellent integration with the car's existing electronics Beautiful clear and easy to read display Physical buttons allow you to press-by-feel Android Auto setup was completely automatic just by plugging my Pixel 6 Pro into the cable. This even set up the AA wireless automatically.

Cons: Menu navigation for radio features isn't very intuitive. After 2 weeks, I'm still just kind of hunting for settings

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Lorne from Cedar Park, TX on 2/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice upgrade from my stock Toyota Tacoma 2016 radio. Great support from Crutchfield, Android Auto is a superior sound to bluetooth. Very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic Top of the Line Radio

Samuel from Shiner, TX on 1/31/2023

2009 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Initial impressions of this radio in my 2009 FA5 Civic Si are fantastic Android auto works wirelessly every time and connects super quickly to my Samsung A52 I would say just as fast as the bluetooth connects in the old single din JVC radio I have in my NA Miata which completely surpassed my expectations, the sound quality from the radio is excellent and you can tune it very easily to your liking once you dive in and understand what all the settings do, the screen is absolutely stunning and is pretty responsive, and to top it all off the short chassis made the install with all the idatalink stuff super easy. If budget is not an issue this radio is a great choice I also want to say that I was probably not an easy customer (changed out stuff and found defects in equipment etc) and despite that the Crutchfield customer service was simply the best customer service I have ever dealt with and I want to just say Thank You so much to the Crutchfield team you have a lifetime customer

Pros: Connectivity, Screen, Sound, Install, Menus, Configuration Options (pretty much everything)

Cons: I wish I could dim the screen a bit more for night driving

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon Reference DMX958XR

Crutchfield customer from Pflugerville, TX on 1/17/2023

2016 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall I like the feature set of this unit, but wish it was implemented just a little better. Features that need to be improved or added: brighter screen, option to switch screen to full brightness when panel light dimmer is set to full brightness and headlights are on (oem head unit works this way), faster processor (boot and camera switch times are long), cleaner internal amp (there is audible background hiss through the speakers which can be heard when engine is off), faster acquisition of HD FM stations, better quality companion apps and widgets (screen mirroring in particular doesn't actually work on Apple devices), usb hub and SD card support for cars with those as factory ports, built in recorder to record video inputs (ie rear camera), and speed sensitive volume control. For a brand new model of a premium product, this unit just feels a little dated out of the box. It doesn't really wow you, merely gets the job done. I'd expect the eXcelon Reference series to feel a little more top of the line, the DMX958XR is merely what average should be for 2023.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

26 of 30 found this helpful

Magnolia

William from Magnolia on 1/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

4 our of 5 stars...Why? -Overall a great unit with a large array of options and impressive audio customization. Integration with the Maestro RR is great. Unfortunately the Play store apps that are supposed to integrate with this unit are horrible. Constant crashes (thus the 1 star ratings for the apps) The Weather, gas price, and traffic app just removed the gas and weather functionality as of January 1st, making the weather widget useless. Overall the amount of widget for the main screen is severely lacking. That being said, the primary draw of the unit is the sheer amount of audio customization you can do, thus why it still receives 4 stars.

Pros: -Audio customization -Very responsive screen -Quick boot time -Lots of connectivity options

Cons: -Apps and widgets have horrible implementation

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

VERY COOL!

Chris from Helena, AL on 1/11/2023

1997 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very cool head unit! Wireless carplay and Bluetooth work flawlessly, the display looks amazing, it sounds great, tons of options. Crutchfield support was very helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great deck! Great sound! Great features!

Robert from Bloomington, IN on 1/9/2023

2014 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This deck sounds great! The touchscreen is very responsive, as is the eq. I am very pleased with all the features. This is replacing a failed 4 year old Pioneer AVH-W4400NEX, which caused me several problemsover its lifetime. Depending on the longevity of this Kenwood, I may never return to Pioneer.

Pros: Sound Equalizer Install

Cons: None to date.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great, but not an improvement.

Charles from New Orleans, LA on 1/3/2023

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio, but not an update over the 2018 cheaper version. I intended to upgrade from my Kenwood Excelon DMX905S to this 958XR. But there is no upgrade. The new 958 cost twice as much and has an HD screen, but you can't tell the difference between the two once installed. Kenwood did not change the UI to utilize the additional pixels. They didn't actually change an single button, graphic, background, speed, function, or anything else. From startup to shut down, its identical. Maybe if you watch movies in your car you could see some difference, but for normal use - i.e., sound, and android auto - it is impossible to see where the extra $400 in price went. If you need a new radio, this is a great one. The shorter depth is much easier for install. If you want to upgrade, wait for Kenwood to invest in a new system that modernizes its UI and takes advantage of the HD screen. Alpine and Sony seems to have gotten the message but i have never found their sound to match their snazzy packaging.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: UI is ok, at best. Dated overall design. Graphics still look less than HD despite the new display capability.

Crutchfield response on

22 of 23 found this helpful

Compare the sound