Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174 Excelon Series 6-1/2" 2-way car speakers

MFR # KFC-X174

5.0 out of 5 stars
80 reviews
View this product
Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Steve from Alto, MI on 1/9/2024

2011 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice speaker for price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Pat from Youngstown, OH on 12/24/2023

2018 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great value great quality. Sounds much better than stock I'd choose these again for my next project.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Craig from Land O Lakes, FL on 11/26/2023

2008 Jeep Commander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These went in the read doors of the sons '08 Jeep Commander. Again the factory cone and surround looked in good shape, but the voice coil was fried. That's it for the mids and highs, next comes yanking out that "Premium" BA amp and slapping in JL Audio's VX600/6i and it's mate the VX600/1i for the pair of 10's. All controlled by possibly best head unit I've ever played with, Alpines Halo9 iLX-F509. She's sounding better than the day she rolled of the production line, but you just wait. Just like the front door speakers, that factory BA amp is messing with the crossover frequency, have to get the spectrum analyzer out there to see what's it's high pass possibly band-pass filter is doing. My ears, yes they aren't what they used to be; tells me it's not letting anything above maybe 3,000 Hz? Not a peep from the tweeters. Had them on the bench and it's not the speakers, they exceeded their 21 kHz data-sheet specs. Bang for the buck, a fine speaker well matched for the piddle output power of the iLX-F509 at 15watts RMS and just perfect for the JL VX600/6i, 75 watts / channel. If you haven't had a chance to try JL VX series amps, give them a listen, the power of those DSP's and JL's TuN, you're missing out. They'll be no mistaking who's coming down the street, between that Hemi and this rocking sound system :) Happy Holliday's all! Thanks again Crutchfield.

Pros: Price Performance Fits with included adaptor like a glove

Cons: Can't think of anything.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value

Frank from Brighton, MI on 11/22/2023

2003 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got the 'blemished' deal, the box had a tear in it, speakers were new and uninstalled. Sound is clear and crisp, if you are looking for deep bass look elsewhere, though. Installation required some door panel cutout trimming ( remove the metal grate before that, easy to do). Speaker is a bit larger than the stock cutout. Not an issue, takes 5 min to do. Set came with plug and play connectors, quick and no fabrication needed. The mounting frame made it easy, instructions are straight forward. Overall much better than the busted old speakers (see picture), will upgrade all other speakers and the head unit as well. 4 stars due to the lack of deep bass and modifications needed ( is there ever a direct drop in for anything?)

Pros: Clean and crisp sound, complete installation kit, good instructions

Cons: None really ( besides the bit of modifications)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

William from West Point, VA on 11/12/2023

2020 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked for what I needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Gino from Staten Island, NY on 11/9/2023

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Needs a good amount of power to hear even properly. A head-unit of any kind would not be enough. You would need an amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/13/2023
Gino contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for different speakers. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

CHARLES from CENTURY, FL on 10/29/2023

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound great compared to my factory Bose. Running them through a new head unit into the small factory amp. Very happy with the sound.

Pros: Great for the money. Warm sound. Clear vocals

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Brian from Newport, TN on 7/23/2023

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really love the way they sound great set of speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great rear door speakers!

Jason from Milliken, CO on 7/11/2023

2014 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I run a sub for the lows, but these fill the midrange beautifully. Perfect complement to any system.

Pros: Clarity, price and overall sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

89 Bronco

Thomas from Nampa, ID on 7/3/2023

1989 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really nice sound and pretty easy install I had to drill new holes to mount this in the door of my 89 Bronco but glad I did paired well with the kenwood radio that was already in the truck

Pros: Good quality Great sound

Cons: Had to make new holes to mount to

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Speakers

Ian from Maribel, WI on 6/26/2023

2011 Chevrolet HHR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers sound great even on stock head unit with no amplification. I was actually surprised how clear and loud they get over the oe 6 1/2s that I took out

Pros: They come with quilty mounts and hardware

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Chris from Aubrey, TX on 6/26/2023

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought these to replace the 20 year old stock speakers in my Silverado. The quality of the fit and finish of these speakers is great and the sound is even better. You get a lot for the money with these bad boys right here. Crutchfield made the install super simple with their instructions and also by providing the proper wiring harness that makes things plug and play.

Pros: Great quality materials and sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KFC-X174 speakers

Mitchell from Vassar, MI on 6/16/2023

2006 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great set of speakers, replaced the OEM on my 2006 Impala SS and the sound is way better than stock! Crutchfield is awesome with support and free accessories to install, my go to place for equipment!!

Pros: Sound and price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Speakers

Debbie from Del Rio, TX on 5/8/2023

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not great sound, expected more

Pros:

Cons: Does not sound well, high pitch no bass or depth

Crutchfield response on 5/10/2023
Debbie, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Anthony from Montrose, MN on 4/21/2023

2020 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade. The sound is clear and strong

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

For the price - worth it

Michael from Pflugerville, TX on 3/13/2023

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

4.5 stars - crisp and clear little lacking on the bass but thats what the subwoofers are for. Definitely worth a try.

Pros: Clear concise articulate sounds. Cuts through my dual 15" subs so i still get hard bass and can hear the song.

Cons: Little airy and light in some songs

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing speakers

david from GOLDSMITH, TX on 2/12/2023

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers I paired with a kenwood head unit and they sound great very clear at all levels great highs and lows.

Pros: Great sound easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Spend a little more for a lot more speaker.

Robert from Hull, GA on 2/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have used them all, but eXcelon equipment is far superior. They do have a high frequency crackle with the head unit. If you use a nice amp properly you can achieve phenomenal sound from these.

Pros: Great sound. Comes with multi-use adapters.

Cons: Makes you want to buy more of them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Michael from Green Bay, WI on 12/2/2022

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Erick from WOODBRIDGE, VA on 11/22/2022

2000 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds great w/out amp

Brock from De Pere, WI on 10/24/2022

2011 Buick LaCrosse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely in love, can't wait till i finish hooking them up to the amp today!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Michael from Lake Wales, FL on 10/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good item fast delivery, . ease of installation with additional adapterss supplied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

KFC-X174 For 4Runner Worked Great

James Brett from RALEIGH, NC on 10/20/2022

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased two sets of these for my 2018 4Runner. I know Crutchfield says they won't fit, but I assure you they do! They sent mine with the Scosche SAT6 Speaker Mounting Brackets. Please be aware that bracket will not work. You will need to call and have them send the Metra 82-8148 Speaker Mounting Brackets instead. I assure you those will work, though Crutchfield's system says they won't. Install was a breeze with the proper Metra wiring harness. These are a superior upgrade over the flimsy factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

AWESOME

Cotton from Lexington, TN on 8/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

SOUNDS AWESOME

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love them

Jason from Lake Hopatcong, NJ on 8/9/2022

2022 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced factory speakers with these. Absolutely amazing sound. I'm guessing if I got an amp and did that it would improve, but honestly they sound great. Even fully cranked no distortion nice clean crisp sound.

Pros: Great sound great price

Cons: None as of yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers

Jason from Ballengee, WV on 6/25/2022

2007 Saturn ION 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install and sound excellent will definitely buy again

Pros: Sound great good price easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Copper and steel wool.

K.L. from Greeley, Colorado on 6/4/2022

2022 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased 2 pairs of these for my 2022 Soul Ex. The harness adapter and the speaker adapter's worked great. Easy install! I did an extensive listen test before I bought these speakers. Once installed with my amp and OFC input wiring and grounding cables, the system works great...no buzzing or alternator whine. However, I am not thrilled with the overall sound. These speakers are very bright and well...brassy sounding. Kind of a strange, metallic, tubular sound. The bass is well defined, for a 6 1/2 inch 2 way speaker, but the mids and highs are grainy and not smooth and rich sounding. To put it another way, think of listening to the tweeter thru a copper pipe placed near your ear and that pipe is full of steel wool and that steel wool is being pulled back and forth in the pipe, as the music plays. I know all of this may sound nuts but I've done my best to describe what I am hearing. In closing, I do want to extend a thank you to everyone at Crutchfield. My order arrived quickly and was very well packed. Five stars! Maybe these speakers will mellow with use and time. I'm willing to give it a fair shake. Thank you!

Pros: Quality construction, two year warranty.

Cons: Highs are brassy and textured.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

For the money? Perfectamundo !

Phillip from Austin, TX on 12/18/2021

2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Based upon reviews here (and elsewhere), I decided to give these speakers a go as a replacement for the original JBLs that came in my Toyota Highlander Hybrid Limited. I was not disappointed. Further, as someone who used to design and construct high-end home speakers, including crossovers to match the speaker components and enclosure characteristics I used, I tend to be fairly well-versed (and picky) in sound quality differentiation(s) . . . that also allowed an awareness for what quality raw components look and sound like. That all said, for the money these Kenwoods are light years ahead of the OEMs for increased top-end base, full mids and crisp highs. Sure, you can spend more and get a better sound, but you can also spend more and wouldn't be able to tell the difference. The installation (with Crutchfield supplied, no additional charge mounting accessories) was pretty much effortless. Full disclosure on that though . . . I had a money-making auto and boat stereo, CB and marine radio installation service when in high school, so there was really no way the install was going to get the better of my experiences. Finally, the free shipping had these guys in my hands in 2 days. Amazing. I'll be replacing my rear door speakers soon and now that I have gotten the sound I was looking for out of these Kenwoods, I see no reason not to go with them (and Crutchfield) again. Happy Holidays everyone!

Pros: As mentioned above

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

On point and well worth it!

Vernon from Redford, MI on 12/1/2021

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have them installed in my 2009 Pontiac Vibe 1.8L Base along with a Kenwood Excelon DMX706S head unit. Sound is excellent and on point. Can't really say anything else other than I'm pretty happy with them overall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, SC on 11/21/2021

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounds. Easy to install. All the right installation tools and info from crucified with the order

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Essex, MD on 7/25/2021

2007 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good clear and crisp sound.

Pros:

Cons: I thought the instructions for taking the old speakers out were very clear but not so much for installing the new ones.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great all the freaking above

Juan from El Paso, Tx on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When I got these speakers they made my truck soooo freaking good. I got great comments from everyone that I know and work with at my company. I honestly don't know how to thank this company, the sound I mean the sound is soo rich so smooth I'm so in love and will buy again and recommend to my friends in the army.

Pros: Great highs Great lows Handle bass wonderfully Nice finish Sturdy material

Cons: None it's amazing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sound great

gary from ONTARIO, CA on 5/7/2021

2018 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound great without an amp. I will install an amp soon and can't wait for the difference it will make. Great highs and ok bass. They sound way better than what I had.

Pros: sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, NH on 4/22/2021

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Finally quality sound from a kenwood speaker I have used many before and well gave this a shot and it was well worth it made me a believer of kenwood again the sound is full and clarity is on point soft and warming the mid bass hits how it should in a coaxial speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 3/16/2021

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speaker for the price

Pros: Great speaker for the price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sufficient. Overpriced.

Thad from Mattoon, IL on 1/17/2021

2011 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They are okay. I have them crossed over at 150hz and i have subwoofers to cover the low end. at 60 dollars they would be 5 stars. The 50 dollar skar speakers are just as good, but the skar door speakers can be a little boomy i guess. and these have no bass at all.

Pros: Sound okay.

Cons: Over priced. Zero low end.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 10 found this helpful

Sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, NJ on 1/16/2021

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great nice bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice Sounding Speakers for Dodge Challenger

Kevin from OFallon, MO on 1/14/2021

2018 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed these in the rear deck of a 2018 Dodge Challenger. They fit perfectly with the supplied speaker adapter even though the website says they don't fit. These replaced some 6.5 Infinity Reference Coaxial that were way too bright for my taste. The Kenwood's have much smoother sound and put out more bass.

Pros: Great Sound Quality Fits Perfectly in Rear Deck

Cons: Crutchfield didn't include any speaker wiring adapters with my purchase.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Catlettsburg, KY on 12/26/2020

2005 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just got them installed and they sound great! Thanks for all the help from crutchfield support!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 12/23/2020

2015 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Olive Branch, MS on 12/10/2020

2007 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great pair of speakers to purchase to get into the aftermarket sound system with the price not being too high and good quality sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Palm Desert, CA on 12/2/2020

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They installed easily into my 2003 4runner and they sounds great. The provided new brackets and wire harnesses fit perfect with clear detailed instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

great sound

Joseph from LOS ANGELES, CA on 7/29/2020

2008 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i bouth my first kenwood excelon amp for my 08 accord, but i had stock speakers crapy i might say lol, i looked up kenwood speakers came across the excelon bouth them , made the best choice ever, the sound now is great, i am happy with my purchase, thanks crutchfield for the free speaker harness & spacers,

Pros: i would by speakers from crutchfield again.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Fredonia, WI on 7/22/2020

2020 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits front doors 2020 Silverado LT Comes with a bracket in packaging that will work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesomeness!

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, OH on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The best pair of Kenwood speakers that I've bought. Better than just the standard Kenwood ones. As good as my Infinity speakers. Amazing sound quality!

Pros: Exceptional sound

Cons: Nothing until they break

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Brookhaven, PA on 7/4/2020

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound quality is great! Definitely worth the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Castaic, CA on 7/1/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and the instructions made them a breeze installing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Diberville, MS on 6/28/2020

2002 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great and fit perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wow

Crutchfield customer from Casper, WY on 6/16/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have never bought kenwood before so was a bit hesitant. After getting them installed and some sound pumping thru them I was amazed. They are very clear sounding and could handle a good amount of bass. I will buy kenwood speakers from from here on out. I've been buying from crutchfield since 2002 and never have had an issue. The install was easy with the detailed instructions and free equipment.

Pros: Great sound all around

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, WA on 6/15/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound awesome, nice smooth notes. I only have them connected to a 75w amp but they have all the power I need. Way better then my stock speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 6/15/2020

1988 Honda CRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Look, and sound good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 6/14/2020

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Belleville, IL on 6/7/2020

2007 Pontiac Solstice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, solid quality, highly exceeded my expectations!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great sound qualities

Crutchfield customer from Culpeper, VA on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 4/14/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are a great replacement to the factory Toyota speakers. The sound is very crisp and clean. They also have decent bass for a 6.5" speaker. Installation was a breeze thanks to the included accessories from the Crutchfield team.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome

Samuel from Saint-Hubert,QC on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow these are amazing! Sounds clear, loud and smooth. Technically wasn't gonna fit in my 2015 jetta but using the adapter ring provided by kenwood plus adding a foam basket to improve the sound and push the speaker further out made it fit perfectly. Can't go wrong with those

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound and value.

Crutchfield customer from Leawood, KS on 3/12/2020

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are a very nice complement to the Kenwoood Excelon KFC-X6902C Compenent speakers for the front of my 2016 Toyota 4Runner with Entune Plus. I used two pairs of the KFC-X174. One pair in the rear doors and another in the rear hatch. The metra mounting brackets 82-8148 and harness 72-8104 provided by Crutchfield made the installation very easy and precise with no modifications to the factory panel or wiring. All that is required is a gasket between the brackets and the vehicle. Also some foam between the speaker and panel. I used a Stinger Road Kill Fasting Ring RKFR6 for the gasket and foam at the panel. All of these Kenwood Excelon drivers combined deliver a great sound stage and listening experience with the factory head unit.

Pros: Installation with Crutchfield provided bracket and harness was easy. Great sound in combination with the Excelon KFC-X6902C front components speakers which include a 2.75" mid/high range dash speaker not a small tweeter. This seems to keep the sound stage higher in the vehicle. I tried the tweeter route which sent the sound stage closer to the lower front door speakers which was too low for me. Also, the Kenwood 2 year warranty.

Cons: These add more weight to the doors and hatch which you may notice while opening and closing. It is a matter of getting used to it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/30/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good sound and great fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Ontario, CA on 12/14/2019

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good Sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 11/20/2019

2011 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Strong improvement over OEM speakers. Very happy with quality and everything Crutchfield provided to install speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Christopher from DEVINE, TX on 10/10/2019

2018 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these from another retailer and they were fake. I purchased these from here and they are loud and look great and sound clear

Pros: Look nice, easy to install, sound great

Cons: can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good, solid speakers

Crutchfield customer from Crystal River, FL on 9/19/2019

2009 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers appear to be well built, are quite hefty and produce a nice, clear sound. Not quite as dynamic (thus 4 stars) as I had expected but they are still top notch and I'm happy with them. They come with their own mounting brackets that worked better for me in my Nissan 370Z than the free ones supplied by Crutchfield. I would recommend these speakers and buy them again.

Pros: Well made, perfect fit with brackets supplied, nice clean sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great for the RV.

Crutchfield customer from Villa Rica, GA on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Used these to replace the paper cone speakers in our 5th wheel RV. Perfect fit and great improvement in sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Replaced speakers in Bose 301 boxes

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had a pair of old Bose 301 Speakers which the woofers and tweeters were bad. I didn't want to spend a lot of money replacing them. I purchased these along with the ABS boards to fill in the hole size. The finished product sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers replaced the stock speakers in my 2007 Toyota Tacoma. There was no comparison in the sound, it was sharper, cleaner and much more enjoyable to listen to. Installation was easy with the adapter brackets. Great value for the price.

Pros: Easy installation, great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 8/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install with correct mounts and wiring

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Corsicana, TX on 6/4/2019

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 5/1/2019

2016 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, so much better than the stock speakers. You hear the entire audio frequency range over the stock muddy one's. Turn up the volume and these speakers get even better.

Pros: everything fit like a glove

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Terry from Cuba, MO on 3/13/2019

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What you would expect from Kenwood !!!! Awesome all around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great clarity

Don from Clinton Twp, MI on 10/7/2018

2008 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers and a great price. The brackets, wiring connector and Master Sheet for installation that Crutchfield included for free made the install quick and easy.

Pros: Great price, easy to install

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Marc from Taylorsville, UT on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice sound. Very happy. Just the ticket for my 57 Chevy Pickup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Bixby, OK on 7/24/2018

2017 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Theese went great into my 2017 F 150 Sony system Raptro. Great Quality and sensitivity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

BOOM!

Ryan from Portland, OR on 7/8/2018

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price, you can't beat the sound. I have a Kenwood Excel HU to a MTX 4CH giving shy of 75w per channel. These things are good! Pushing bass @ 80hz+ @ -12db and they hold very well. Previously had them with no amp and 55wx4 HU and did get some distortion at high volume 75% with a preset "ROCK" EQ. Once powered correctly, they just took off and never looked back!

Pros: Solid build.

Cons: Meh.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Great Sound

Rob from Tucson, AZ on 7/8/2018

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They fit perfectly in my 2006 Silverado regular cab, with some drilling required. Installation was very easy with the install kit. So far they sound great! I also purchased the Kenwood Excelon KFC-X463C

Pros: Easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

David B from Evansville, IN on 6/11/2018

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound quality and with the provided wire harnesses and mounting brackets by Crutchfield, made for a simple install.

Pros: Great sound, lots of bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Jason from Saint Louis, MO on 5/30/2018

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great factory replacement for my 2006 Silverado sound awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Ogden, UT on 5/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install. Sound is crisp bass is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood KFC-X174. Great speakers!

Bob from Missouri on 4/13/2018

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers replaced the factory Bose speakers in my Silverado 2500HD, and there is no comparison! These speakers are so much more clear and crisp than the ones I replaced. You may find these speakers for a better price, but the extra parts and mounting hardware that Crutchfield supplies makes this the best deal by far. (Not to mention their phone support. Best tech support that I have ever had the opportunity to work with!)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Dusty from Missouri on 3/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just replaced the factory speakers in the front door of my 2017 Hyundai Accent. Can NOT wait to get a second pair to replace the ones in the back door. I am amazed at the difference these speakers make to the sound quality of the factory stereo. The new Pioneer goes in tomorrow along with the subs so I'm really looking forward to how everything sounds together. I would highly recommend these speakers for sure!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Albert from Greensboro, NC on 3/1/2018

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Replaced ONE speakers, wow, what a difference. Well worth the investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 12 found this helpful

Compare the sound