Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Connect ID #
899 118 857 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Kenwood Excelon X302-4 X Series 4-channel car amplifier — 50 watts RMS x 4

MFR # X302-4

5.0 out of 5 stars
37 reviews
View this product
Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Jonathan from Florence, KY on 2/28/2024

2011 Lexus GX460

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The X302-4 is a fantastic amplifier. I only got this model and Brand after a talk with a Crutchfield expert. Previously I have the Alpine Powerpack 450 and it was just severely underpowered and had issues. This has been stellar, clean crisp music, perfect amount of power! I can't believe the quality at the price point and size.

Pros: Clarity Size Price Tuning

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good amp

Robert from Bay Shore, NY on 2/20/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good amp sound great have it powering 2 door speakers and 2 tweeters

Pros: Small Powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Amp

Brant from Centerton, AR on 2/15/2024

1972 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice little amp. Puts out enough sound for what I'm doing. Head unit spec's is 300 watts but sound quality was poor, this amp took over and things are better now along with the Kenwood 6x9 speakers.

Pros: Compact, Easy to setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Garland from MERRILL, OR on 1/22/2024

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really liked this item

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality sound

Glenn from Pensacola, FL on 11/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amp is nice and warn. Easy to install. Blends nicely with the JL speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Joel from Cabot, AR on 11/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect amount of watts for average speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean power

Carlos from West Covina, CA on 11/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very compact and slim. Plenty of clean power and versatility for my three way (6.5"mid-bass, 2 1/2"upper midrange and 1" super tweeter) sub powered separately

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Justin from Shaw Afb, SC on 7/29/2023

1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great power for my 6.5 inch front speakers. Crystal clear sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood amplifier- a winner

Jim from Annapolis on 7/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this amplifier in a 1990 Bentley Continental convertible; we had already installed a head unit made by Continental, but the amplifiers in it were not powerful enough, even when turned all the way up. At the time we did the head install, we also installed Focal speakers, from Crutchfield. They sounded fine, but, again, the system wasn't loud enough to defeat wind noise, etc. Crutchfield recommended two amps- the Kenwood, which had excellent reviews, and an Alpine, which was not rated nearly as high. A follow up call to Crutchfield also involved my being told that I also needed to get an interface device (made by PAC0 to go between the speaker-level output of the had unit and the Kenwood amp. We decided to just wire the amp in, as it had a provision for speaker level input, and add the PAC device if needed. Wiring the amp in was a bit complex, because of how much previous poor-quality work had been done (not Kenwood's fault at all) but we got it wired in. The result was that the car audio sounds incredible- terrific clarity and punch, more than enough power- just amazing. The car now has audio to match is timeless, classic elegant looks. If Kenwood made a head unit that would look correct in an older Bentley, I'd buy it, but sadly, they don't. All the audio gear made for vintage cars isn't much good. I was fortunate to find a head unit that does look right in the car, and that now sounds as good as it look. Pics to follow, maybe.

Pros: excellent sound, very well made, easy to install

Cons: none to date

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Daryl from Ephrata, WA on 6/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works good for me small enough to fit under the seat and give you some power. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loud, Clean, Big Sound!

Eric from Phoenix, AZ on 3/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This little amp makes HUGE sound! Loud and clean as if it were an AB Class amp yet barely gets warm! Used it to push 4 6x9 speakers and the music was audiophile quality! Easy to mount if you have limited space. I highly, highly recommend this amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Alan from SOUTH DENNIS, MA on 2/25/2023

2015 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little amp for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Amplifier

Alan from Laguna Niguel, CA on 2/24/2023

1987 Mercedes-Benz 300SDL-T

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really clean and full sound.

Pros: Great power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Upgrade to stock system in 2014 Highlander

Michael from Layton, UT on 2/20/2023

2014 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up, hardest part is running all the wiring. The sound from my bridged rear Kicker speakers is fantastic. Special thanks to Bo for his tech support and suggestions to finish the install on my 2014 Toyota Highlander.

Pros: Easy set up and tuning. Bridged to 2 channels provided just the right amount of power for my rear Kicker speakers.

Cons: Could use some larger print for the instructions.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Glendale

Ashot from Glendale on 2/14/2023

2023 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A nice little amp that will help you a lot to upgrade your stock system and maybe add more speakers to it. If you want a good quality it's a very great amp.

Pros: High quality sound

Cons: Needs to be a little powerful

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Crutchfield customer from Pulaski, TN on 2/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit was a breeze to install, just plug in and play basically. I read the instructions, then fine tuned the amp and I was in biz! It's such a great addition to my 2010 Honda Civic as a mono 2 channel input that I'm actually considering adding another subwoofer as it supports 2 parallel outputs!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

David from Makawao, HI on 1/24/2023

2007 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A really clean sounding amp. 50 watts per channel doesn't sound like much on paper but it makes a huge difference. Especially if you added some decent speakers to your factory receiver

Pros: A great amp for the money

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Anthony from Mobile, AL on 1/9/2023

2001 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

dont rely on a receiver alone. a seperate amp takes it all to another level.very clean sound. class D so runs cool temp. driven by a kenwood excelon head. highly recommend.

Pros: compact

Cons: zero

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sounding amp for the money!!!

Crutchfield customer from Magnolia, MS on 11/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only had it in for about a week, but it is a clean sounding amp with no hiss or buzz at all. No filters needed. It's also quite powerful for its physical size and rated power. More than plenty for me now that I don't do competitions anymore and just want clean sound. One thing I wish was different is a little more protection over the connection side of the amp to prevent inadvertent shorting as I have it under the seat. You will want to cover that with tape if you have it on the floor. The connections are fairly simple and straight forward. One last thing is the power and ground wiring recommends 8 gauge wire, but on the actual spec sheet it says the maximum amp draw is 20 amps and 10 gauge is fine for that. If you're running your system hard with subs you might need the bigger wire though. At the $200 price point it's a great little amp. Very pleased so far.

Pros: Price, Noise Free, Very Clean Sound, Small Size, Good Power, 2 ohm rated

Cons: Needs more protection around the power and speaker connections, It can get hot when you push it. The 8 gauge power and ground are a little overkill.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Manuel from Bronx, NY on 9/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very compact amplifier with great sound ...driving 6x9 cerwin Vega 100w rms This amp is four channels 50w rms each Channel with tune control directly from The amp , to sound better . Very happy !

Pros: Four channel

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome amp

Barry from Sunrise Beach, MO on 9/11/2022

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great price and pretty easy install. Unit looks great is nice and compact.

Pros: compact design, easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Martha from Manteca, CA on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound it's clean and crisp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

GREAT AMP

George from Spring, TX on 6/17/2022

2019 Polaris Slingshot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Amp! This amplifier replaced a cheap box store amplifier I had purchased in the interim. What a difference! Sound is perfect, no distortion or fuzziness. Speakers are now getting the correct power. This amp rocks!

Pros: Perfect Sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Thomas from Burlington, WI on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything I expected!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Antonio from Taylor, MI on 1/12/2022

2002 Dodge Neon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Its a good amp just wasn't powerful enough for my setup

Pros: Good small amp for someone. Who's looking for a up grade

Cons: Just wasn't powerful enough for me but might be perfect for someone else

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

First time running a 4 channel.

Max from West Paris Maine on 7/11/2021

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the first time I've run a 4 channel amplifier to my speakers, & I doubt I'll ever go back. This Kenwood takes my system to a whole new level. My speakers have never sounded so clear, crisp, & bright! I'm already planning to add one of these 4 channel amps to my 3rd Gen Ram, for the money you can't beat it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood amp in Harley

Crutchfield customer from Camp Hill, PA on 3/17/2021

2011 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crisp clear sound performs as rates and doesn't get hot, worked great in my HD saddlebag

Pros: Power & clarity

Cons: Recessed mounts difficult to get to

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great compact Amp

Crutchfield customer from Lake Jackson, TX on 3/8/2021

2008 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great compact amp 45 clean watts to 4 entry level component speakers. very clean sound, easy to adjust

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful crisp sound even at high volume as Kenwood has always delivered.

Pros: Small crisp clear but very powerful amplifier.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Crutchfield customer from Fleetwood, NC on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well made with lots of headroom. Totally satisfied and another quality, well engineered product from Kenwood.

Pros: Professionally engineered with lots of punch.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Crutchfield customer from Conyers, GA on 8/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Gives my kenwood excelon speakers alot of kick

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 7/21/2020

2004 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

NA

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Crutchfield customer from Rogers, AR on 7/13/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent compact 4ch amp fits perfectly under the front seat to power mids for front and rear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Crutchfield customer from Garfield, NJ on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So easy to install and what a blast of sound it gave my system.I would recommend this amp to anybody my age I am 55 but still love my music loud.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X302-4

Crutchfield customer from Caldwell, ID on 5/1/2020

2020 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

fits under passenger seat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid SQ upgrade

That guy from Knoxville, TN on 4/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little amp for a modest factory upgrade. If your looking for groundshaking SPL,keep looking,this amp is not for you. If your looking to improve the SQ of your stock head,and potentially upgraded speakers,this may suite you well. When sq tuned,it may increase volume a few db,but extend the dynamic range of your music greatly. No added noise,runs cool,(mine is tucked away with minimal air ciculation). Speaker level inputs work great with the open ended stock head,and when used wisely,and maturely,the bass boost can help overcome the bass roll off so common on many stock heads today. Again no SPL beater,but if enjoying your music with upgraded speakers,even catching all details of your hi res purchases,consider this solid little performer from Kenwood.

Pros: Solid build,auto turn on,use with open ended headunits,runs quite cool,no introduced noise.

Cons: none. provided you understand my review.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

15 of 16 found this helpful

Clear highs and bass like a nuke bomb

Memo from N.Hollywood on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely perfect, went thru several amps before finding this one, my focals sound crystal clear, super high resolution, totally recommend this little guy..

Pros: Perfection

Cons: None, I can't find the negative

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Compare the sound