Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Connect ID #
615 596 918 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.
Queens Village

Craig from Queens Village on 3/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amp. Installed in June of 2018 and lasted until Last week. No sound, went thru system check and realized amp was dead. Amp pushed 2 sets of xr1800p and 1 P-XRW1202WB. It sounded incredible until it died.

Pros: Great Amp

Cons: Longevity

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Absolute powerhouse

Josh D. from North Carolina on 3/8/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First of all, I want to say how beautiful this amp looks. It might be hard to tell in the pictures, but it is actually a very deep greenish color. I normally wouldn't want an amp with color, but it is very sophisticated looking. This amp replaces an old 2 channel Kenwood that still works perfectly. This new amp is about 30% smaller, about twice as heavy and puts out way more power. My sub now hits so hard, it can hurt my ears. I would say it's twice as powerful on the sub channel as the 2 channel amp was in bridged mode. In addition, it sports 4 extra channels for mid/tweets. I just cannot believe how small it is for the amount of power it produces. I watched a Youtube video from Williston Audio Labs testing Kenwood's lower priced, lower power version of this amp (and a Pioneer amp) and they confirmed the Kenwood produced more power than the ratings and that amp was 87% efficient, which should translate into less heat and less power draw from your car (those are my conclusions, they didn't say that). That was a different amp model, but this one seems to be a better version of that one, so it's probably even higher quality than the one tested. I haven't tested the amp in summertime yet, so I cannot comment on how well it handles hot summer days. I can't imagine this amp not being enough for anyone. It's compact and produces a surprising amount of power.

Pros: Massive power output Crystal clear audio Has a fan to assist cooling Easy to understand controls

Cons: No speaker level inputs

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid performer...

John from NASHVILLE, TN on 2/27/2024

2007 Toyota Yaris

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Given its size, I'm shocked at what this amp puts out! You WON'T be left wanting for power. I'm using it on two sets of components (4 ohms) on channels 1-4 and two subwoofers (2 ohms) on the fifth. It's so powerful I didn't even touch the gains, and the sound quality is excellent. Aesthetically, this is a pretty amp. It's black, but when light catches the anodized aluminum surface, it can look grayish (as you see in stock pictures). The build is solid, with hex-head set screws on all terminals. The aperture for the speakers inputs is narrow, so standard ferrules (>16 AWG) work but protrude beyond the 'cylinder' (see picture). However, the power and ground accept 4-AWG ferrules without issue. If you're a 'bare wire' installer, you'll be fine. Functionally... flawless. But this amp does get hot with prolonged use. It's pretty warm after 30 minutes and hot after 45 (perhaps cooler if running 4-ohms on the sub channel). There is an onboard fan that dissipates the heat well, but it sounds like soft white noise coming from the amp. You won't hear it over music, but it is audible if the amp's in the cabin with you. I also get a soft turn-on pop with this amp. I know this phenomenon can be system-dependent, but I've had other amplifiers in the same system not do that. Make what you will of that. Finally, be advised that this amp does NOT accept speaker-level inputs directly. You must purchase something to convert the output (e.g., RCAs that pigtail to your speaker wires).

Pros: Huge power in small package; sleek, brushed aluminum finish; excellent sound quality; hex-head screws on all terminals can crimp wire ferrules; bass knob included; Crutchfield sales and customer service are SPECTACULAR

Cons: Manual not particularly helpful (microscopic print difficult to read); speaker wire terminals too small to accept most ferrules; runs hot for a Class D amp; fan noise might be a turn-off for some; gain knobs a bit awkward to manipulate; adjustments on opposite side of amp; gentle turn-on pop possible; no direct speaker-level inputs

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great amp

RAYMOND from GERMANTOWN on 2/26/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good. This amp along with a JL TW3 sub really woke up my OEM Toyota Tundra system. Nice compact form factor for the power output and a clean chassis made for a pretty neat and stealthy installation. Having the remote bass knob is a game changer. First time I have had one. The only anomaly was that I had to crank the gains up very high to get the full amp output. Maybe due to the nature of using the line level outputs from my OEM system... IDK, first time IU have tried that,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

2017 Civic LX stereo upgrade

Thomas from BARSTOW, CA on 2/22/2024

2005 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Current have this installed in a 2017 Civic Lx with a Pioneer HU and Polk audio components up front with replacement sale panels from Honda. Along with Polk audio coax speakers for rear fill all running at 4ohms. The Sub channel is currently running at 4ohm with a JL Audio 12w3v3 at 4 ohms in prefab ported box at 400watts. The amp has a perfect balance of lows and Highs for my tastes. Now if I wanted to add more BASS I could just add another JL w3 4 ohm speaker and run the amp at 2 ohms for 600 watts and to be honest if I were younger I probably would. As for the highs this amp plays a lot of details in the music that I feel some of the cheaper amps just cannot play. Could be the speakers, the amp , the car or just the right combination of all 3

Pros: Great product at a great price point.

Cons: Wish the cable for the remote sub woofer knob was on the same side as the speaker connections. But that why Kenwood pays the engineers to figure that out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amp

Jody from Lanett, AL on 6/1/2023

2022 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little amp

Pros: Ken wood

Cons: Na

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

john from BONITA SPRINGS, FL on 3/31/2023

2005 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unbelievable power for the size and and price!! I am extremely happy with my purchase

Pros: Fits well in small areas , comes standard with base knob,

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great amplifier, solid feature set and appearance.

Charles from Sidney, NE on 11/14/2022

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice amplifier, stellar upgrade over the 27-year-old factory amplifier. I'm using it to replace the Infinity Gold amplifier in a 95 Grand Cherokee as well as a Kicker mono amplifier that was driving an MB Quart 12" sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Combo!

Dave from Miami, FL on 10/5/2022

2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very clean power. When you set the gains correctly it will do exactly what it was ment to do. Being a Professional audio producer It doesn't have to be loud...but it can, I enjoy listening to different types of music and pin point mixing styles and details and I feel that i've done a very good job by choosing this amp combined with Polk Audio speakers.

Pros: Clean sound

Cons: Non yet!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Andrew from Longview, WA on 6/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice compact size,and awesome sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Prospect Hts, IL on 12/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good amp with enough power to feed 4 speakers and a subwoofer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

great punch

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 12/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent amp I installed it in my tundra an sounds spectacular.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Newalla, OK on 4/8/2021

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice affordable power. This cleanly powers my Hertz components, Focal coaxials and JL Audio sub with room to spare. An easy install under the passenger seat (with one quick call to Crutchfield).

Pros: Plenty of power. Easy install. Low profile.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Modesto, CA on 1/19/2021

2006 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have installed this amp in my 2006 honda odyssey and i love the power it has. And the bass is really fablise I love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR 901-5 Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 1/17/2021

2013 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this amplifier to replace the previous model. It drives a set of Ke wood Excelon separates, a pair of Kenwood Excelon 2 ways and a JL Audio 10 inch sub. It sounds amazing! It also comes with a wired subwoofer control knob and is super clean. For the price, I don't think you will find a better sounding amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Prattville, AL on 12/1/2020

2011 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Powerful little workhorse of an amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

I love it.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 11/27/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the punch it packs with 5 channels and still being small enough to hide away it's impressive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 10/7/2020

2008 Lexus GX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Amplifier. Installation was easy and the setup intuitive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Richard from Beaumont, TX on 8/14/2020

2016 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amp. I was very surprised at the power and clarity of this thing!

Pros: Clarity and plenty of power. Slim design easily fits under passenger front seat.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 7/23/2020

2016 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great unit compact size

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, NY on 7/11/2020

2018 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the money, it's clean and runs cool

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Green Lane, PA on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Amp!! Plenty of power to my 2 6.5 and 2 6x9. Enough to push 2 10's. This little amp was worth it!

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Superb 5 channel amp!!

JB from California on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amp that produces enough power to my Kenwood XR 1700P fronts, Kenwood coaxials in the rear doors and rear hatch, and Kenwood 12 inch sealed sub enclosure. Fits with plenty of room under my front passenger seat in my 2018 Toyota 4Runner.

Pros: -Small form factor -More than enough power -Clean sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 14 found this helpful

Amazing 5 Channel

Louis from Puerto Rico on 10/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The XR901-5 is one amazing amplifier! It has everything you need in one small chassis and fits comfortably under the passenger seat. I upgraded from the excelon 700.5 in my 2009 Honda Accord because I wanted the speakers (Phoenix Gold R series components front and RX coaxials in the rear) to get even louder , this amp delivers! On the subwoofer side it has plenty of power to get very loud without being obnoxious. I'm running a Massive Audio Hippo 84 in a custom ported enclosure since the Hifonics XXV 12" with custom enclosure was just "too loud" for the setup. If you are on the fence about purchasing a high quality 5 channel amplifier I highly recommend you get this amplifier. .

Pros: Small chassis, clean power, great sound quality, aesthetically pleasing.

Cons: None, price maybe.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Awesome amp!

Bruce from Corpus Christi, TX on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I put one of these in my 2011 Subaru Outback, to replace the factory Harman Kardon amp under the passenger side seat. It fit perfectly in the factory location and has a ton more power. I am using it to drive the Infinity replacement speakers. Works wonderfully! Great choice for your car!

Pros: Loud, clear, adjustable, and quality! Everything you would expect from Kenwood!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

22 of 23 found this helpful

Compare the sound