Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-1120 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-1120 Receiver Wiring Harness Connect a new car stereo in select 1988-95 Volvo vehicles

MFR # 70-1120

5.0 out of 5 stars
18 reviews
View this product
Makes for super easy install!

Seth from Fuquay Varina, NC on 4/9/2023

1993 Volvo 240 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This harness set fit my 1993 Volvo 240 sedan perfectly. I bypassed the stock amplifier behind the lower center console, and that's where the speaker harness plugged into; and without any modifications. The speakers are all working just like they should. And the nice thing is the radio adapter harness wire colors match this harness so it's super easy to match them up & solder them together without wondering if you got it right. The power harness adapter is just as good; the wire colors matched again, even the power antenna wire. Makes for a very simple, and easy to assemble harness without having to cut any wires at all!

Pros: Easy, simple, wire colors matched, connectors mated to the vehicle

Cons: Speaker wires were too long(!); just stuffed the excess behind the console near the old amp (removed)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesn't get any easier

Douglas from Mebane, NC on 2/27/2023

1993 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It doesn't get any easier. Everything connected easily, quickly, and without any trouble. There is some extra length on the wires as well which made it even easier.

Pros: Direct connect to the factory amp and radio wiring in the car Made for a very clean installation

Cons: None it worked perfectly

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Scott from Bethlehem, NH on 12/18/2022

1993 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Made the installation a breeze.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

33 year Old Harness still in stock.

Joe from Troy, NY on 5/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect wiring harness. Fit my '89 Volvo perfectly without the need for any modifications.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Free, with stereo purchase.

Kimi from Portland, OR on 2/2/2022

1993 Volvo 240 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Made the stereo install a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1120 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksbrg, VA on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Over my years of purchasing car audio from Crutchfield, I had little doubt about the quality of the harness adapter carried by them. Build quality is as expected, no trimming of edges to get plugs to fit, wires are good (the amount of wire within the insulation is satisfactory) and the adapter has an extra long pig tail to allow the end user to install properly. Instructions are clear and actually provide more information than needed.

Pros: Long pigtail Clear instructions

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1120 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, WA on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Working great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Alexander, NC on 9/10/2020

1991 Volvo 240 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my 1991 Volvo 240 (With stereo in the upper dash and amp behind lower console pocket). The location of the amp means that you have to remove the center console for access, so it's more of a job than a typical stereo swap-out. But there are some youtube tutorials that can take you through the job step by step.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1120 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Carson City, NV on 7/5/2020

1994 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works very well. Easy wiring.

Pros: Makes install super easy

Cons: Needs added instructions for tweeters but figured it out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect plug and play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1120 Receiver Wiring Harness

Alexander from Lovettsville, VA on 12/18/2017

1991 Volvo 240 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These adapters made wiring a new JVC far easier to fit into my 1991 Volvo 240. The paper describing what each wire was for was a God send.

Pros: Makes installation of a new radio far easier. Wires are listed according to purpose.

Cons: If you're completely bypassing the original amplifier in the 1991 240 then one of the harnesses will need to be completely cut and fit into whatever new radio you're installing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beware of inadequate instructions

jaromir from PA on 11/30/2016

1989 Volvo 740

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

There would be 5 stars should the installation instructions make it clear that: a) both harnesses must be used for 1989 Volvo 740T b) speaker wires on the shorter harness are to be ignored. c) all speakers are to be connected to the longer harness. d) all of the panels under the steering wheel must be removed to locate the factory installed amplifier to disconnect its harness and mate it with the longer one (the amplifier may be discarded now)

Pros: Works well once you figure out the connections

Cons: Lack of clear instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1120 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 11/21/2016

1993 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked well. Good information on the package and in the package. Make sure you understand where all of the wires go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Volvo harness

Pj from Oregon on 10/22/2015

1991 Volvo 940 SE Turbo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This ways a perfect fit for my 1991 Volvo she turbo wagon. Just a tip the long wires go from the old amp speakers and the short wire pigtail goes to the deck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-1120 receiver wiring harness

Jack L. from Louisiana on 10/4/2015

1991 Volvo 940 SE Turbo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to follow instructions. It made the installation very easy. I made the necessary connections on my bench then just walked over to the car and plugged it in.

Pros: Simple instructions very easy to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Everything you need

Lynn from North Carolina on 2/6/2015

1993 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this wiring harness in a 1993 Volvo 940 that had a factory external amplifier. The Metra 70-1120 includes everything you need to bypass that external amplifier without cutting into any OEM wiring. The kit includes two "pigtails": one for the plug immediately behind the radio and one with plenty of extra wire length to reach behind the instrument cluster to the stock amplifier position. Yes, the package was labeled for a 240, but a visual inspection and comparison with Volvo wiring guides on forums I confirmed that this was the correct kit for my 940 before installing. Note: I "piggybacked" the OEM dash speakers by splicing their wires into the left and right door speakers as appropriate. I know this isn't the best practice, but I wasn't going for show quality sound and now all six speakers work.

Pros: Complete wiring harness.

Cons: None noted.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Harness / Simple Install on '91 740

Chris from Newington, CT on 1/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great harness. I used it to install a new receiver in a 1991 Volvo 740 Wagon. The kit comes with a labled color chart to simplify installation / connecting to the receiver. There is plenty of length provided to bypass the factory amplifier under the dash. Very nice. Paired up with the receiver mounting bracket, everything looks factory fresh - nice and tidy! You cannot go wrong with this kit.

Pros: The kit allows you to easily swap out the new receiver and reinstall the factory receiver if you ever sell the car and keep the new receiver. Just unplug the new one and plug in the old one. High quality wires and connectors.

Cons: No cons as far as I can tell.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Volvo 940 radio wiring harness

Lou from Hartford, CT on 9/15/2014

1994 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was as easy as it gets. I made all my connections at my kitchen table and connected the three plugs and I was home. Armed with a wiring guide from the UK Volvo club web site and the information included with the harness it was a no-brainer.

Pros:

Cons: You have to be careful about which harness to buy, my car had the two rectangular connectors and the package is actually labelled for a 240.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Compare the sound