Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
788 670 235 4
Connect ID #
788 670 235 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1998-03 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and Nissan vehicles

MFR # 70-5517

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1998-03 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and Nissan vehicles

MFR # 70-5517

4.5 out of 5 stars
122 reviews
View this product

Options Open

Matthew from Tulsa, OK on 8/10/2023

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These harnesses allow me to disconnect at both the vehicle and receiver in the even I want to switch equipment out at a later time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Christopher from Titusville, FL on 12/11/2022

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works fine. A couple of the pins in the black connector were slightly bent which hindered plugging it in. A few tweaks with a pick bent them back into place and then it all fit together nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

wiring harness for ford radio

Robert from Orlando, FL on 7/12/2022

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

work grate wired in then plug in sale person was very helpful

Pros: fit like it should very little work

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Jason from Sioux City, IA on 5/17/2022

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Would highly suggest getting this. Helped with install immensely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Glenn from Roanoke, VA on 4/18/2022

2000 Lincoln Navigator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Robert from Mooresville, NC on 3/21/2022

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Makes connection to vehicle wiring harness very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 9/29/2021

2003 Ford Explorer Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Arvada, CO on 8/12/2021

2001 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to use and correct for my vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Cantonment, FL on 8/5/2021

2003 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really cut down my install time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Tappen, ND on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does as it should!

Crutchfield customer from Celina, OH on 4/5/2021

2002 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros: Works perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring Harness adapter is the ONY way to go!

Crutchfield customer from N TAZEWELL, VA on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wires are labeled and pre-stripped for easy connections and then just plug and play with the factory harness, and plug red RCA into either sub out or line out on new stereo (mine only had line outs) and you are ready to rock.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fast installation

Crutchfield customer from GUAYANILLA, PR on 12/15/2020

2002 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've tried this one for the first time, and doing it myself was pretty easy. His digital instructions were a great help and the installation was very quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Marion, MA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm glad I went this way. So much easier to have them do it than myself

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install instructions included.

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 12/6/2020

2001 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Used the harness service to have this and the vehicle harness completed before shipping. Great service that saves time for install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Perfect!

Crutchfield customer from Randolph , NJ on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works Perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Elon, NC on 9/11/2020

1998 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great quality

Pros: Plugged right in seamlessly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/20/2020

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I didn't really want satellite radio, but if I did, I could't figure out how to hook up that antenna.

Pros: plugs fits perfect, Wires match up fine.

Cons: I didn't really want satellite radio, but if I did, I could't figure out how to hook up that antenna.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Normandy Park, WA on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thanks for all the assistance! Crutchfield will always be my place to go for help! Thanks again to Michael who assisted me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plug and play

Crutchfield customer from Yucca Valley, CA on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Always order the wiring harnesses from Crutchfield. They know what they are doing.

Pros: Easy and precise

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Grand Bay, AL on 7/11/2019

1998 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

VERY EASY INSTRUCTIONS, I took my radio harness, and this Metra harness, went inside where it is air condition and spliced all together. Made hooking up the Radio really quick.

Pros: VERY easy to understand instructions

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Howell, MI on 5/22/2019

2001 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is very important to make sure the new radio connects to the car properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple

Keith from Waco Ky on 2/11/2019

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Came with prewired

Pros: All

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Kathleen, GA on 2/3/2019

2002 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ordered a harness for my 2002 Ford Expedition. This product plugged right in and was simple and easy to get my new stereo up and running

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 11/19/2018

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfect and fits properly. Easy instructions

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Yuma, AZ on 9/3/2018

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't believe how easy this was to install. Detailed instructions, fits like it was meant to and does exactly what it's supposed to. Not sure if it gets any better than that. Get online, tell them what I have (vehicle, stock audio receiver, etc.), tell them what I'm getting (new audio receiver), they work their magic and I get a package of exactly what I need to get the best install and sound from my new unit. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness for JVC to Ford

matthew from Stafford, TX on 8/12/2018

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very straight forward wiring. Just use the guide you get in your new radio, with the guide from the installation book, and you'll be wired up under an hr

Pros: Lots of wire to make proper connection

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What you need to hook up a radio

Dan from Waukesha, WI on 8/7/2018

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked well, easy to use, just match colors.

Pros: Works great

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Prescott, AZ on 6/7/2018

2007 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Plug n Play ! Little bit of wiring together ... Time Saver!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Chris from Belleville, WI on 5/3/2018

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super easy to use. Had my new stereo wired and plugged into the factory Ford wiring harness in 10 minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 4/30/2018

2003 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Marion, IN on 2/4/2018

2003 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit my 2003 Ford Escape perfectly. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect match

Peter from Snohomish, WA on 12/28/2017

2000 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect match for my 2000 Ford Expedition

Pros: Perfect match to my older vehicle, easy to wire up, easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good receiver. Not so good wiring harness.

Brian from Augusta, GA on 12/17/2017

2001 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nope, Nope, Nope. After using the wiring harness that was sent with my car stereo, my power windows do not work. Want to know why? Because the same harness plug that is used for the stock CD changer ALSO shares the wiring for the power windows! I have enclosed a picture of the wiring harness that SHOULD be sent with the stereo receiver instead of the current harness Crutchfield supplies. Good luck to all future customers!

Pros: Easy to connect all of the wires.

Cons: VERY VAGUE installation sheet that you download from Crutchfield. It doesn't even show how to hook up the additional wiring harnesses that are sent. Not to mention the wiring harnesses are all wrong.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Shelbyville, TN on 11/5/2017

2010 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Omg makes installing aftermarket stereo so much easier. A must have when changing to aftermarket stereo. Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Sumter, SC on 5/24/2017

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Ready to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

kevin from Pennsylvania on 5/17/2017

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent good people

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, FL on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well and provides solid connection to vehicle wiring harness. Ended up having to make connections myself. Instructions were very helpful and easy to follow.

Pros: Great instructions and wiring guide.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made for easy installation.

Ray from Mattoon, il on 4/3/2017

2000 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Made installation easy.

Pros: Easy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pre-made Wiring Harness

James from Chino Hills, CA on 3/29/2017

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well done. Connections are very solid.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Ben from Red Bluff, CA on 2/15/2017

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I enjoy this product very much.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Must Have

Charles from Akron, OH on 10/30/2016

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The wiring harness is a must for aftermarket units. Makes the install almost seemless. I say almost because for Early model 2003 Expeditions with Premium Sound, Metra should include the 20-pin plug with at least the pinout at pin #14 for the steering wheel control. Even better, use the FRDN-DVD keeper and incorporate the SWC, so that people who have rear DVD can keep it's functionality.

Pros: Eliminates cutting and splicing vehicle wires and incorporates subwoofer.

Cons: Does not include 20-pin connector with pinout for Steering wheel interface.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Mike from Orchard Park, NY on 10/19/2016

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

All my items shipped fast, this wiring harness included. Radio was installed in minutes with the helpful instructions. Had little experience with car audio but Crutchfield was a great help to my upgraded audio system. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons: Looks hard until you read the directions. They help a lot! Good length in wire. Easy clip on harness, perfect fit. Audio sounds great with my radio installed with the metra receiver wiring harness.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sevice

Gotrek from Saraland, AL on 9/19/2016

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The first one I received in the kit did not fit. The plastic part lined up but the pins would not connect. I contacted Crutchfield while in the truck and had a great tech service helping with the issue. He sent me another one at no cost and it clicked together with no problems.

Pros: Crutchfield tech support was very good!

Cons: The adapter fit seems to hit or miss.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Brent from Hilo, HI on 8/17/2016

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to wire instructions simple hookup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesn't work with DVD and factory sub

Jared e from Pacific Beach, WA on 7/25/2016

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's easy to prewire, but you will lose your factory DVD sound and the sub.

Pros: Easy to match wires

Cons: Your stereo has to have an RCA

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness

Chris H from Greenville, OH on 6/22/2016

2003 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hands down the easiest one I've done

Pros: Easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must for any install

Ray from Maywood, NJ on 4/24/2016

2002 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If your upgrading your audio system it make sense to use a wiring harness made for your vehicle for ease of installation and reduce the frustration.

Pros: Fit and worked perfectly.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Andrew K from indianapolis, IN on 2/16/2016

2003 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The harness made it extremely easy to install my radio; I was able to wire the harnesses together in the comfort of my living room instead of being elbow-deep in my dashboard!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

easy wireing

Crutchfield customer from oroville wash on 1/10/2016

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great no cons

Pros: easy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect fit

cbell from Michigan on 11/4/2015

2003 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit. So much easier to bench solder the harnesses together instead of working in the dash. Made my new receiver plug and play. Good documentation as always from Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

headache relief

TerryM from Indiana on 11/3/2015

1999 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Made the wiring absolutely easy and painless.

Pros: Absolutely a must to do a good installation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Pennsylvania on 10/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This harness worked perfectly in my 98 Explorer with the premium head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Makes wiring a breeze

SPINNASTER KA from RI on 9/5/2015

2000 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wires are clearly marked just connect them to the car stereo wires and plug In to the original car radio plug your done

Pros: Easy to wire clear instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Mike P from Alabama on 9/3/2015

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love that it was so simple. Just match wire colors, no cutting.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Could have been better

Black_Coffee from Maryland on 8/2/2015

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall worked well, however a few improvements would make it perfect. I know these kit service multiple vehicles, so I understand why decisions are made. This kit has two connectors and for my application, I had a 12V to 5V convertor (extra) for a rear OEM amp. The 12V to 5V convertor works between the two connectors supplied in this kit. The connections could have been a little cleaner (less work for me) if the adaptor already integrated the convertor and shared the power (RED) wire, power amp out, and ground connections. I had to do some stacked soldering because a steering wheel adaptor resulted in 5 ground wires soldered together.

Pros: Connectors fit, work as advertised, color coding matched receiver, good instruction. A little work, but easy.

Cons: I have a rear DVD which would be an AV input to the back of the receiver on my Expedition. Crutchfield advertises lose of this functionality, however you don't need to lose it. It all comes in on a third connector F20 (Male) which also contains the data wires for the remote commands (steering wheel and rear controls). If I had a connector that converted the output to RCA plugs, I could use the AV input on the back and retain the functionality. I will find a way to make this work in the future.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

wiring kit

Harry from Edinburg, PA on 6/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the fact that I didn't have to cut any wiring

Pros: Easy to read instructions Color coding matched exactly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thumbs up

B Whitaker from Selmer tn on 6/19/2015

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great

Pros: As advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

David B from Texas on 4/26/2015

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as expected. No issues.

Pros: Colors match factory.

Cons: Small plug had not catch. Had to hold together with tywrap.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 3/29/2015

2003 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nicely Fit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, Ohio on 3/26/2015

2001 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This made the job so much easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Mike C from Mechanicsville, va on 3/3/2015

2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small plug's wiring did not match my 2005 Ford truck. Had to splice another wire in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Duanebob418 from Pennsylvania on 12/31/2014

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my vehicle, makes for an easy, clean installation. Best of all...buy a head unit from Crutchfiled and all necessary parts, mountings, adapters are included N/C.!! Can't beat that.

Pros: Perfect Fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes installation quick and easy

Scott S from Spring Grove, IL on 12/15/2014

2000 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, makes installation quick and easy

Pros: Makes installation a snap

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big Help!

Mike from North Carolina on 12/11/2014

1999 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield is great to include this with the radio. Makes the install very easy.

Pros: Big help!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Donald Wright from Alabama on 12/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had music shop put in the radio and every wire harness they put in it didn't work properly and they didn't no what to do so I looked on Crutchfield web site and found what I needed and it still didn't work write so I called Crutchfield and they told me what to do and it works great now. Thanks for the help !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wires

Oldestgenxer from St Louis, MO on 10/2/2014

2001 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was the most difficult part of the installation, and the design of this made it easy. I was able to sit at the kitchen table with light and tools and connect the wires easily. Luckily I had connectors myself, because none come with it. I can see this being a real aggravation with people. You should really do something about that.

Pros: Easy to follow instructions, great help from Crutchfield Tech Support when I called.

Cons: No connectors included. People would be willing to pay for them if you offered them, I bet. Not only that, but I couldn't find my crimper so I had to use pliers. I bet a people would by a certified Crutchfield tool kit. Add that to your line of products.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Chris L from Texas on 8/29/2014

2003 Lincoln Navigator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, I finally got my stereo to work and sound right after purchasing this harness, especially after purchasing several others which claim they would work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

stereo harness

chadscougar from Des Moines, IA on 8/11/2014

1999 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy to install with replacement receiver

Pros: great wiring harness, easy to install, great install directions from crutchfield included with the order.

Cons: I wish I had more $ to upgrade all my stereos :)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent product........

wingrg from Carolina, PR on 8/6/2014

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product, just plug and play, so easy to install, out of the bag, connect the plug, in less than 15 min I have my new radio working.

Pros: Easy installation, don't have to work with wire cutter, professional installation.

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

retro meta harness

dennis from Kennesaw ga. on 6/9/2014

2001 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros: Easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

best product

Timothy W. from juliette ga on 3/17/2014

2003 Lincoln Navigator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield is awesome

Pros: Easy installation no problems!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked flawslessly

LeeG from Mars Hill,NC on 3/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked flawlessly & best part was FREE

Pros: Free

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Navarre, Fl. on 2/12/2014

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This does make for a cleaner more manageable connection. Had to get out all 3-4 wiring diagrams and go over them several time to make sure I had covered all the multiple wire connections. If not paying attention would have been easy to miss something.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Receiver Wire Harness

Pgh Bob from Pittsburgh, Pa on 2/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple. Easy. Plun'n'Play.... literally.

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

Judas from Riverside,ca on 2/10/2014

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good quality

Pros: Simply

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield Harnesses are perfect

Glenn from Cincinnati on 12/24/2013

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was my fourth time using a Crutchfield wire harness and they always work as expected. I crimp all my connections and make sure they are tight before committing the HU to the dashboard. The standardization of the color codes make things very easy. Be sure to have some wire stays to tie the wires into neat groups (one for speaker wires, another for power, ground, etc.).

Pros: Worked perfectly and made for a clean installation.

Cons: None.,

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple

AJM from NW Iowa on 11/5/2013

2003 Lincoln Aviator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Eases install

Sam L from Provo,Ut on 10/22/2013

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This harness made the install so much easier and faster. Took a little longer than I would have liked just because not all the wires were pre stripped and the strippers I have don't go that small, but not too big of a hassle.

Pros: Easy, fast

Cons: A little bulky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Saves time and your factory harness

Dominiator from Las Vegas, NV on 9/12/2013

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These adaptors save a lot of time and keep your factory harness intact. Worked perfectly and a factory pre-amp harness was also included even though I did not need it for my application.

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

worked

Phil from Spokane, WA on 8/25/2013

1999 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

installed on a 99 explorer, slightly confused on the grounding parts, but overall worked like a champ

Pros: harness attaches and your done

Cons: slightly confused on grounds, but got it figured out

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wire harness for 2002 Ford Explorer

GenoD from Glendale Hts., Il. on 6/26/2013

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything included to wire the unit in, including the harness for the factory sub.

Pros: Clear instructions.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver Wire Harness Installation

TerryM from Santa Maria, CA on 6/21/2013

1999 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using the supplied information, the integration of the receiver and automobile ('99 Ford Explorer) wiring went smoothly. This is the second installation for me and both have gone well. The first Rx was ripped-off leaving some damage to the dash plastic parts. I did not replace the damaged parts so the "firmness" of the mounting is less than desired but acceptible.

Pros: Spot-on directions Excellent fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ford wire harness

Rick from Veteran, Wyoming on 5/28/2013

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality, good instructions, fits and it works.

Pros: Works as advertized

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver Wire Harness

Eric from Salt Lake City, UT on 5/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as expected. Would be hard to do it with out it.

Pros: Makes it much easier to install into the vehicle. Pretty straight forward.

Cons: Would be nice if this harness could be pre-attached to your head unit when both are purchased at the same time. This would save time on installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fool Proof

Tom R from Apopka, Fl on 5/11/2013

2002 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit came with everything you need to convert to your new receiver. I had one question and the Crutchfield techs were on the horn in minutes to solve my problems and make sure the installion went off without a problem.

Pros: easy to install.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

explorer sport stereo harnesses

tarek from la, ca on 4/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

hooks up correctly and wires match receivers as they should

Pros: color schematic for wires is great considering ford doesnt include an explanation for the colors of their wiring. at least the guys at crutchfield got it figured out! thanks!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for 2003 Expedition!!!!!

Crutchfield customer from PacificNW on 4/7/2013

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This harness does NOT fit a 2003 Ford Expedition, you need the unit from a 2004+ Expedition. Giant waste of time soldering the harness to the new head unit's harness, then taking apart the dash only to find out that the harness is wrong.

Pros: Probably good if it fits your car

Cons: Doesn't fit 2003 Expedition

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Makes it so easy

Bobby c from Limerick, ME on 3/31/2013

2000 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's so simple to use, unplug your old radio, solder connections to new radio and plug in. Nothing to it!

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice!

Mako from Tallahassee FL on 1/25/2013

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was amazed at how well this worked with the factory sub. I was planning on upgrading the sub but now I don't need to. You won't be dissapointed!

Pros: Easy hookup!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wire Harness for 02 Ford Escape

Tomy from Paulding, OH on 10/6/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice gauge of wire used, nice quality plugs being used, standard, simple, but good harness for an 02 Escape

Pros: Good qaulity plugs and wires being used, simple instructions

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Installed in Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Robert from San Diego, Ca on 10/4/2012

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I Expected a jumper type set up with full plug and play. I have all the correct tools to do electrical work so no sweat with the splice job.

Pros: It works, instructions were good

Cons: manual splicing of the wire harness

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

kw76 from San Diego, CA on 5/30/2012

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Factory radio had three wire harnesses attached, but supplied kit only connected to to two of them. Directions for the 2 supplied harnesses were clear and easy to follow. Quality of the harnesses was good. Third factory harness had to be spliced into for steering wheel control module. A description of the wire functions in the third harness would have been useful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

receiver wiring harness

Pedro from Cidra P. R. on 4/2/2012

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very good item

Pros: convenience

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Captain Splatch from Lucas Ville Ohio on 3/19/2012

2001 Ford Explorer Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great adapter good-quality wiring

Pros: Free with order and good-quality wiring

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood KDC-X695 with Ford Harness

Mark C from Maitland, Fl. on 2/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

5 stars for connection but 0 stars in end due to issue somewhere between the radio, Crutchfield knowledge of Expedition and harness. Issue was when all connected the turn on for the subwoofer amplifier was close to blowing my subwoofer due to a huge spike of noise and then continuous noise from Sub. Excellent and 100% correct solution from technical support but required me to go to Radio Shack and build a IC based voltage regulator by attaching a IC chip to hobby box, soldering wires to IC chip and then connecting between radio and amp. Way beyond amateur level of install. One negative for not knowing about this issue and a second for not having any solution expect IC chip fabrication.

Pros: Radio wiring was dead on.

Cons: Total system did not work as wired with extensive circuit modifications.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Rohnert Park, CA. on 2/4/2012

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to match to the factory harness and technical help was easy to contact and was very helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works perfect

Randy from Tampa Bay,FL on 2/3/2012

1998 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit just like the factory one. My car had the premium sound system at one time. But did not have it when i bought the car. So if you get the premium sound system wire harness, just disregard the small one with the RCA end on it. You wont need it if you are getting an after market head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

worked just right

Allan from Tucson az on 9/16/2011

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to use and worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does not fit 03' Expedition

Alex from Fontana, CA on 9/6/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have an 03' Expedition and Crutchfield sent me this one. It did not fit. So had to wait another week to finish installing my radio after waiting a week already. But in Crutchfields defense, they remedied it and sent me the right one free of charge.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 8/10/2011

1999 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I puzzled over two connectors to three connectors until I remembered that the trunk-mounted CD changer would be abandoned, I looked at the RCA plug for the auxiliary amplifier and so brainlocked on looking for a socket on my car that i did not read the instruction to plug the RCA into the new radio's aux. outputs. Five stars for the wiring harness; two stars for me. This is my first radio installation which has not involved soldering two dozen connections while jammed upside- down beneath a dash panel. I am stunned to have done all the soldering on a bench. I should have trusted the harness and instructions more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just what is needed for a clean install

Jim from Sunnyvale, CA on 3/27/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The wiring harness is exactly what is needed to have a clean install. Don't even think about starting the installation without it. The installer should measure the available space between the radio and the dash first as it may be necessary to cut the wiring short. Be sure to leave enough length to allow the pull out of the radio completely in case you need to have it removed. Car: 2001 Ford Sport Trac

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WIring Harness

Tim L from Hatboro, PA on 3/1/2011

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This came as part of my new head unit for my Ford Sports Track, When I first looked at it I became a "little overwhelmed" - had visions of cutting and spliceing,soldering and crimping - after a call to tech support - it all fell into place - I used the solder method and shrink tube - followed the diagram - just to make sure - did not want to botch it up took my time and all went well- any questions were answered by Crutchfield quickly and explained easly. thanks you. Tim L

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness

Bill from Illinois on 2/28/2011

2002 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The hardest part of the whole process. Putting the wires together. Not so hard as time consuming, but no sweat. Heck, even a cave man can do it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

As expected except for the POP with Fords

kbk from Hudson, WI on 2/10/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as expected but there should be an included converter to handle the sub wattage difference with Fords so you don't hear a POP when you turn on the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

its a snap

greg from St. louis, mo on 2/9/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

use butt connectors and it doesn't get easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Steve from Florida on 1/19/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

nice both plugs good. but I wish the kit had wire conectors, to connect the two togehter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Will from Houston Texas on 10/11/2010

1999 Lincoln Navigator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product fit perfectly. I would recommend purchasing vehicle specific wiring harness. The included instructions were accurate and easy to follow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great, couple of suggested tweaks

Bob from Cincinnati on 9/28/2010

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wireing harness worked as expected. I chose to solder the wires together and it was handy to do that outside of the dash board. And, of couse, everything just plugged right in and the Expedition master sheet that came with the radio was key to a simple install job. I have two suggestions to make this better for those of us that already have an OEM subwoofer and amp, which is probably getting more and more common. First, to keep the subwoofer from "popping" when the radio was turned on/off I needed to add a converter to convert the 12 V kick-wire from the radio to the 5V kick wire that ford uses on the stock subwoofer amp. The tech guys pointed me to this quickly, it is common in Fords (and some other makes), and there is also a Q&A on this with a picture on the website, so it was an easy fix, but seems like something simple that should be added to this kit, rather than having me make the call. The other suggestion is to include an RCA y-splitter as the radio had a left and right subwoofer out, but the wiring kit only had a single RCA plug. Again, the tech guys pointed this out quickly and it was a quick fix. I'd suggest adding this to the pack (or at a minimum, pointing it out when ordering as a suggested add-on to make a few more bucks).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Ryan G from Bowie, Md on 9/20/2010

2003 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

hooks up easy. fast, free shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

GPL from Temperance, MI on 8/29/2010

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The harness & instructions were excellent and worked without any issues on my 2002 Explorer w/audiophile sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

2000 Grand Marquis wiring harness

Mark from Wallkill, NY on 5/22/2010

2000 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked as advertised, good, clear diagram. Extra amp connection not necessary in this application (wasn't exactly sure what it connected to on head unit).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2003 LINCOLN NAVIGATOR

ford power from JULIETTE GA. on 5/20/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

SUPER EASY AND GET THIS... I CAN STILL USE MY FACTORY AMP AND SUB THIS PRODUCT IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST .THANKS CRUTCHFIELD

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellence

Wayne from New Jersey on 5/18/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The harness was a perfect match with the color coding. I had no problems matching and installing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2000 Ford Expedition

Jarrell from Baltimore, MD on 5/4/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This wire harness kit is a good product. Along with the instruction sheet, it definitely makes the splice easy. I would like to have seen this product accompanied by a crimp tool and wire crimps, because I don't install radios for a living; consequently, I had to go out and purchase these things before getting started.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replacing your radio? Get This!!

Jamie from Charleston, WV on 3/16/2009

2001 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've installed several car stereos and I wish I would've had one of these every time. Following simple instructions and some easy slicing would have saved me hours of tracking down the right wires with a multi-meter. Each wire has a label printed on it telling you which wire on your stereo to splice it into. Then just plug both ends in and turn it on. That's it!! Took me about 30 minutes from opening the package to listening to my new stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring Harness is the Way to Go

Neil from Western Washington on 2/8/2009

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These wiring harnesses are the way to go. I have installed about a dozen car stereos in my time and this sure beats trying to round-up the stock car stereo wiring schematic and cutting the stock harness heads. Some of the wires were not explained and did not match-up on the new stereo, but with a quick call to Crutchfield, we diagnosed it rapidly and I was on my way. Most of the wire gauge is larger than that of the stereo wiring and had to do some creative crimping. It's in and working great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wireing was right on target.

adm4unix from NH on 9/12/2008

1998 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

EASY Just follow the instructions and it works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does What It Is Designed To Do

Kyle from Austin, TX on 8/21/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a nice setup. As mentioned in a previous review, the kit doesn't have that third plug, but that might be a good thing for most people. The only wire I used from that third plug was the speed sensor wire for my navigation unit and when you get to a having the amount of wires behind your deck needed to hook up everything for your navigation system, it can get a little tight so not having that extra plug didn't both me so much. It would probably make things easier, but for most applications, the buyer wouldn't need it. A couple of the connections could have been simplified somewhat by combining the two units, but I am sure there were reasons to leave them apart - maybe added flexibility or something.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

Brian from Garner, NC on 8/17/2008

2002 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pro: Fits most of the plugs behind the dash. I was grateful for the sub hookup. It came free with my order so I got what I paid for. Con: Doesn't have a plug for the third plug behind the dash so it's not really a "complete" kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-5517 Receiver Wiring Harness

pookiebear from fulton,ky on 1/29/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

awesome set and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

I love Crutchfield

Steve from Caribou, Maine on 6/5/2006

2000 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This wiring harness is awesome. I love that they were able to include the sub output as well as the main speaker wiring. This allowed me to utilize the factory subwoofer amplifier with the new system that I set up. This is the smaller connector with the red RCA connector. It also provided the remote turn-on for the amp. You will likely need a Y cable to merge the L/R subwoofer outputs of your head unit into the one sub. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

55 of 59 found this helpful

Compare the sound