Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit Fits select 1997-2001 Jeep Cherokee vehicles — double-DIN radios (Black)

MFR # 95-6554B

5.0 out of 5 stars
75 reviews
View this product
XJ Double DIN made easy

Robert from Painesville, OH on 12/26/2023

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Metra dash kit really help improve my old Jeep Cherokee. I never thought installing a double DIN radio would be possible until I discovered this kit. The kit could pass as OEM. Now my old Jeep is running Android Auto on the new head unit.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Cutting required

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Victor from Spokane, WA on 12/10/2023

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Douglas from Raleigh, NC on 12/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It fit my 2001 Jeep Cherokee XJ perfectly. I was curious how well it would center up my new HU in the space, but it's perfect. I did find that I had to use a round file to massage two holes on each bracket in order to use all four screws per side. I first put in 2 screws per side and checked the fit with the HU screwed into place and the dash installed. Since I now knew that the brackets were ok, I marked 2 more holes per side to adjust to fit in the remaining screws.

Pros: It's perfect.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Jamie from Bonneau, SC on 10/13/2023

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my Jeep XJ

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Carlos from CHAPEL HILL, NC on 7/26/2023

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect Fit on my 2001 Cherokee Sport. Impossible to tell the difference from the original part.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good as it can be

Reece from Gibson City, IL on 6/18/2023

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install was a little tricky but once its on it looks great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fits perfect

Tyler from Jacksonville, FL on 6/13/2023

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The directions was very helpful an I had no problems installing it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Kenneth from Riverview, FL on 6/5/2023

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a phenomenal kit for the XJ! Easy to install, great instructions, and I finally have a modern receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Curt from OCALA, FL on 1/31/2023

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit and looked great. Was a nice upgrade to the XJ.

Pros: Would definitely recomend.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Oscar Garcia from Yuma, AZ on 1/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent! very good product and fast shipping!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Jacob from Metuchen, NJ on 12/26/2022

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The instructions are clear. All that has to be done it removing the old vents and retaining clips from the bezel and install them on the new one. And to use the driver-side bracket you need to cut some of the plastic behind the dash. Overall very little work for a big improvement.

Pros: Easy Installation Clear Instructions Fits Double Din Alpine Radio Perfectly

Cons: Should come with more than one screw.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Jason from Elk Grove, CA on 10/3/2022

1997 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Kit fit extremely well. Looks great. Only complaint is that the radio section is a bit more "pronounced" over the A/C controls. But it's not enough to knock off a star or anything. It's likely necessary for the design to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Scotty from Buckeye, AZ on 8/3/2022

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

AWESOME PRODUCT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Dale from Potsdam, NY on 7/12/2022

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit was perfect, and I'm thrilled to bring my jeep into this decade with a Double Din capable of Android Auto... I paired it with the Kenwood DDX5707S and it sat perfectly in the pocket of the Dash. looking at some head units, it looks like they can sometimes stick out the front which I didn't want. If I had any gripe, it would be that from the drivers perspective, the top of the HVAC controls are a bit obscured from view. Totally worth it though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

James from Round Rock, TX on 6/9/2022

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice fit and finish

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Richard from Citra, FL on 6/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my 2000 Jeep Cherokee. Looks like it came from the factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great quality

Austin from Red Bluff, CA on 3/8/2022

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great looks great and is a perfect match for the color scheme.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Still requires cutting and modifications

Jonathan from Louisiana on 2/28/2022

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Doesn't allow for standard ISO DIN size radio to fit. Still requires cutting, but does make the overall job a little easier.

Pros: Makes fitment of new radio a little easier. Tape for HVAC cuts are provided

Cons: Does not fit standard DIN dimensions and still need to enlarge hole for radios at DIN ISO spec. Part of the reason for this is to eliminate unneeded cuts.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Jay from Greer, SC on 2/3/2022

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Complete kit that has everything you need to install a double DIN headunit. Keep in mind you will cut off one of the factory mounting points so there's no going back to a stock radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Dalton from Arlington, TX on 1/25/2022

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits good, looks stock

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent fit

Crutchfield customer from Anaconda, MT on 11/23/2021

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product matched up with all of the factory mounting holes. Seems like its very good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Whitehouse, TX on 10/3/2021

1997 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits real nice. Use youtube to see better how to cut out the inner dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lothian, MD on 9/7/2021

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very quality, little cutting needed to fit an aftermarket switch panel

Pros: Good fit

Cons: Small bit of cutting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from East Windsor, NJ on 8/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was look all over for this setup! I'm so thankful you guys our in business! Not only can you order online, but you can call in and talk to a tech that can help you for whatever you need. That's freaking awesome!!! Thanks guys Hector from New Jersey! Oh and the shipping in super so fast!

Pros: Fits like a pro

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Leland, NC on 8/14/2021

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install. Great quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from West Hartford, CT on 6/14/2021

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Dillon, CO on 6/10/2021

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfectly and the brackets are also a perfect fit. People who say otherwise didn't do it right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Trim great. Mounts not so much

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mary, FL on 5/25/2021

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Trim panel fit and looks great in my Jeep. The plastic mounts for the head unit aren't great. They warped when being tightened. Hopefully the will stay put.

Pros: Trim snapped right in

Cons: Head unit mounts flexible and weak

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 5/21/2021

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits like oem couldn't ask for any better! Made my xj like a new beast!

Pros: Very easy to install.. Instructions were AMAZING

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow??

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 5/7/2021

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow it got here fast?? & fits like a glove thank you so much

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome dash kit

Crutchfield customer from West Linn, OR on 4/17/2021

2004 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfect, looks great and I couldn't be more happy.

Pros: Fits double din head units nicely, easy instructions, good build quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product needs more packing peanuts

Grayson from HIGHLAND, CA on 4/16/2021

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits in my 99 XJ very well. Sadly was broken in shipping so I had to do some super glue repairs. Other than that it was easy peasy to install. You will need to trim some of the HVAC ducts to fit your double din install.

Pros: Fit and finish

Cons: Packaging.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Better than stock

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 4/10/2021

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfect for my 2001 Cherokee XJ. I think it looks better than stock. I was reluctant to cut into my duct work and did get extra tape to be sure, but the kit is great!

Pros: Good fit, looks great, and gives you better options.

Cons: Could use more duct tape

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, CO on 3/9/2021

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So happy metra finally made this. Snaps right into place. Color matches perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cary, IL on 3/8/2021

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This makes installing a double DIN look like it came from the factory !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 3/1/2021

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product! fit perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Must have

Crutchfield customer from Lansing, MI on 2/21/2021

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This really updated the look of my jeep. Very happy of the fit and finish.

Pros: All of it

Cons: You if you don't buy it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Stratton, NE on 2/6/2021

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great fit and look

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great kit!

Crutchfield customer from Redmond, OR on 2/6/2021

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit and finish are amazing. Instructions are easy to follow. While cutting the vent housing behind the dash was intimidating, the actual process is easy. Best of all, the ability to have a modern double din radio in my 2001 Cherokee is priceless!

Pros: Great fit and finish, easy to read instructions. All needed parts supplied. Looks great!

Cons: You need to cut the vents behind the dash to complete the installation. However, that is the only way the head unit will fit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

97-01 Jeep Cherokee double din kit

Crutchfield customer from Campbellsville, KY on 1/29/2021

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty good kit, looks great good figment, would 100% recommend it if you would want to put a double din in your 97-01 Jeep Cherokee, looks good made my interior look a whole lot better!!!

Pros: Secure, easy, leaves lots of room

Cons: Cutting required

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent fit and finish!

Crutchfield customer from Lake Elsinore, CA on 12/19/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Matches the original interior of my 2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport. Had it installed at B. Buy since they were doing free installation and it came out great. No panel gaps or anything. 100% would recommend.

Pros: Great fit, great finish, great price!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

'97 Jeep Cherokee 2DIN install

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, MD on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This surround worked perfectly in my Jeep XJ. Fit and finish are 1st rate. Only 4 stars because of the plastic mounting brackets. They work well but thinner stiffer metal parts would be a positive improvement and would earn that elusive 5th star. C Eader

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Raeford, NC on 12/7/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect look and fit. As factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Yuma, AZ on 12/5/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Went easily into place and looks factory correct!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product. Simple install

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, CT on 12/2/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely easy to install and looks great. 2din pioneer 1400nex fit in the dash with plenty of room to spare after using a drywall saw and shop vac to hack away the factory lower-left plastic stereo mount and some plastic at the upper-right. No need for precision, you're just removing plastic for clearance, this dash kit comes with new mounting brackets

Pros: Simple install. All the needed hardware included. Looks like a factory install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks Good

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, WV on 11/30/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice looking dash looks factory almost. Had to trim dash a little but a used an oscillating tool made it easy.

Pros: Look, Fit

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Newfield, NY on 11/2/2020

1997 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit perfect, well made, finish does not feel like plastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, KY on 10/22/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the new double din stereo in jeep it has changed everything

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Buda, TX on 10/4/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Highly recommend!

Pros: Shipped and received 4 days early and great quality! Highly recommend!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ada, MI on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit with small amount of trimming in my 99 Cherokee.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1999 Cherokee XJ with "factory installed" CarPlay!

Crutchfield customer from Fairview, TX on 9/25/2020

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow this is great! I was looking at a 1-DIN CarPlay radio that mechanically flips up to give a 2-Din display. Fortunately, I saw this 2-Din solution for my 1999 Jeep Cherokee XJ. First I saved a lot of money and 2nd it looks like a factory solution. It's a little bit scary, because some cutting is required the radio. Take it slow and the end result is fabulous. You really can't mess-up cutting, but I took off a little at a time until the radio fit perfectly. The front bezel, is perfect and will hide any cutting error. I just happen to be OCD, so my perfectionism made me go slow. Again, wow! 21-year old Cherokee XJ has "factory installed" 2-din CarPlay!

Pros: Much Lower cost to install 2-Din CarPlay

Cons: A little cutting required, but well worth the effort!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 9/23/2020

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Definitely the best mod part for xj!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dash looks so unique !

Brett from Lancaster , PA on 9/20/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit and function better then stock , detailed instructions on how to cut Subdash, very happy with install . Recommend a Dremel tool to cut subdash.

Pros: Fit and function amazing . Bezel has a nice matte texture to it that doesn't seem to scratch .

Cons: Cutting sub dash , detailed instruction but recommend patience , and a dremel tool.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

2000 Jeep Cherokee radio

Crutchfield customer from Wauconda, IL on 9/20/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works and looks great easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 9/7/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit in my 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport. Nice satin rubbery finish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit

Crutchfield customer from Evergreen, CO on 8/30/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit, Looks great

Pros: Fit Double din

Cons: Cutting required

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport

Warren J from Poulsbo, WA on 7/13/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit is a perfect fit for the dash piece it replaces and fits very well with a double DIN head unit. You do need to move the metal clips from the existing dash panel to the new Metra panel. For me, the color match was exact to my 2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport dash. The kit has different options for different head units that vary in shape. This is the challenging part. Take your time on figuring out what needs trimmed and how much. Also, how the brackets fit. It took nearly as long to figure out the proper screw mounting of the brackets as it did cutting out the dash ducting to make room for the double DIN. Don't rush this part.

Pros: Perfect fit Perfect color match for me Versatile for many different double DIN head units

Cons: You have to figure out what needs cut in the dash to fit your install application. The mounting brackets take a lot of time as they can work with many different setups.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Aftermarket Sound with OEM Look

Crutchfield customer from Roseland, NJ on 6/30/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you want a quality, professional looking installation, go no further than Metra. I installed a double-DIN Sony XAV-AX1000 in my 2000 Jeep Cherokee (which has a "DIN and a half" size opening). The Metra dash kit makes it looks like the Sony was installed at the factory.

Pros: Perfect fit and matched interior finish and color.

Cons: The chassis mounting brackets took some time to trim. Plastic could be a little thicker. Was worried that I'd ruin them when trimming.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Parkersburg, WV on 6/9/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Way better than the factory dash kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Selah

Christopher from Selah on 6/6/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This would be a great product if it actually met the ISO standard for double din width of 180mm. The height is fine but the actual opening is only 173.0375mm. It will require cutting to fit standard double din radios into it, which defeats the purpose of this product. If I wanted to cut a bigger opening I would have kept the old bezel.

Pros: Great fit for the vehicle

Cons: Does not work for intended purpose. You're still going to be cutting the damn hole out.

Crutchfield response on 6/10/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Christopher to help him further. We'll either help him get the kit installed correctly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Edgewater Park, NJ on 6/5/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's almost indistinguishable from the original. It protrudes just a bit more than the old one but it's a good fit, easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Grat fit!

Crutchfield customer from Norman, OK on 6/2/2020

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great fit

Crutchfield customer from Camano Island, WA on 5/28/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits great dont be scared of cutting the dash it's easy with a dremel, although I did cut the dash I dont think you have to with the alpine ilx-w650 I put in I chose to still cut because I will be attaching the kta-450 amp behind the deck

Pros: Double din

Cons: Can never go back to stock or single din

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Necessary for a ice and easy install!

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/23/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This made it so simple to convert from the odd 1.5 din to a very nice 2-din!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Oslo, Norway on 5/14/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Will fir perfectly with a little adjustments. I use a Sony XAV3000 single din. Looks great. Wish they made a wood grain version though.

Pros: great fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great kit, great price when bundled with a head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 4/21/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Kit was very well protected inside the packaging. Had zero issues with the install process. Very straight forward once you swap the clips over using a flathead. Alpine ILX-W650 fits very well with minimal trimming required.

Pros: -Easy install -Great price with bundle

Cons: -Does not come with new holding tabs, but easy swap from old one with flathead screwdriver. -Not the same color, but fits in extremely well.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade for the XJ Cherokee

Gary from SPRING VALLEY, CA on 4/14/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really nice dash kit that looks factory. It allowed me to install a double din receiver in my 2001 Cherokee XJ. I now have Bluetooth. Apple CarPlay, and a backup camera which really updated my vehicle. The vent ducting on the sides of the head unit have to be trimmed which took the most time. The kit included aluminum tape to seal the cuts. Once trimmed, there is plenty of room behind the dash. The result is a very professional looking install.

Pros: Looks professional like a factory part. Allows you to install double din units

Cons: You have to cut into the vent system to make room for the head unit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Grand Junction, CO on 4/13/2020

1991 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits great, looks nice. Black isn't the same as factory. One of the vents was loose after install, had to put some black tape to return it to normal.

Pros: Looks nice, easy install. Didn't have to modify the stock piece.

Cons: Loose heater vent. Black is different then factory.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 3/23/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit, looks great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent for double din decks!

Crutchfield customer from Kerrville, TX on 3/15/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is exactly what you need if you're wanting to fit a double din in your XJ. I've got a 2000 XJ Sport and purchased the KENWOOD DMX706S to pair with the new bezel. There was minimal cutting to the a/c ducts to fit the deck because of the shallow depth of that particular deck. Took me about an hour of cutting and fitting and recutting and refitting and then taping up the ducts with the supplied aluminum tape to get things the way I wanted.. Im really OCD, and test fitted the deck about 20 times before I set all the screws... taking the bezel off and on making sure the deck was where I wanted it.. depth wise and angle wise. I can't say enough good things about this conversion kit. It's a perfect fit with the deck, a/c controls, and switches. The finish is nice. The only gripe is that you have to reuse the metal clips off your original bezel and they are a slight pain getting off. I could probably do it again in about 30 minutes knowing now where all you have to cut, and how the tape works when repairing the ducts. Don't hesitate buying this bezel! You won't be disappointed.

Pros: Easy to install. Looks good. Fits good.

Cons: Have to re-use original metal clips for bezel.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Adrian, MI on 3/15/2020

2001 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The dash kit for my 2001 jeep cherokee sport was a perfect fit and the new double din radio looks like it came from the factory. Well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Double Din time !!

Crutchfield customer from Syosset, NY on 3/12/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit and match to stock dash and opens up a world of double Din radios.

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, IN on 2/26/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This kit is what XJ people have been looking for!

Jeff from Mechanicsville, VA on 2/10/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit is what I've always wanted for my older Jeep Cherokee. I now have Android car play and a rear camera like on my newer vehicles. This kit makes it possible to bring the electronics up to current in this classic vehicle. Metra did an outstanding job on this kit. Install wasn't too difficult. Trimming of the Ducts behind the radio was the hardest part and I used a reciprocating saw for that. Metra supplies Duct Tape (silver metal sheets) to tape over the duct and reseal it.

Pros: Has space for Double Din, looks great, and appears factory for the most part. I would expect this to cost more than it does, great value.

Cons: Trimming the Vents can be difficult. Also watch out for the heat ducts after you turn it on for the first time. Small particles will blow out of the vents from the cutting.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Metra 95-6554B Dash Kit

Guest from Westminster, MD on 1/27/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It looks great! Not the easiest install but that's Chrysler's fault. It only took me about 45 minutes to install start to finish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Compare the sound