Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
499 168 438 4
Connect ID #
499 168 438 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface

Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface Retains the factory amplifier in 2011-16 Hyundai and Kia vehicles

MFR # AX-HYKIA-SPDIF

4.0 out of 5 stars
12 reviews
View this product
Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface

Joseph from Lindenhurst, NY on 4/7/2024

2013 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface

Peter from Staten Island, NY on 8/17/2023

2014 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface

Jose from Canal Wnchstr, OH on 12/11/2022

2016 Hyundai Veloster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Work great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing support and products

Kenneth from Kissimmee, FL on 2/10/2022

2015 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick easy and simple install. Also amazing customer service hands down. Would continue to use them for my auto needs.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface

Crutchfield customer from Hillside, NJ on 6/27/2021

2012 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does work. Company advertised that the backup cam would work but it won't. This info was updated after the install. Also some of the steering wheel controls work. Not all. The call and hang up seems to act in a weird way. The volume does work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface

timothy from FAIRBORN, OH on 6/26/2021

2016 Hyundai Veloster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Plug and play into the harness I purchased, worked with my 2016 Hyundai Veloster. Harness itself had a adjustment to it that allowed me to adjust the low sound issue I had.

Pros: Works, plug and play

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bad Bad Bad

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 1/14/2021

2016 Hyundai Veloster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

How Metra thought this was a viable product to release? I don't know. This adapter is a hack at best. If your system requires this, and you want good sounding audio that gets as loud as factory and doesn't clip, you should start looking at dedicated multi-channel amplifiers instead. As far as I can tell, the adapter box does not interface with the OEM amplifier's volume control circuitry. Meaning, the amplifier stays at a constant volume, and the louder you turn up your aftermarket radio, the closer it gets to clipping the signal. Many people I've asked who have these installed have been reporting "scratchy" sounding audio when turning up their systems outputs past 75%, and overall low output volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/18/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface

Crutchfield customer from West Memphis, AR on 12/27/2020

2013 Hyundai Veloster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly and easy assemble.

Pros: very easy to assembla

Cons: with all the other wires hard to hide so radio can fit in

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tampa

Zachary from Tampa on 1/22/2020

2016 Hyundai Veloster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For those wondering, this does in fact work to retain the factory Dimension Audio amplifier in a 2016 Veloster Turbo. It outputs audio that is, but I'm sad to report the audio quality suffers considerably. It is particularly noticeable when the volume is raised beyond a certain threshold. For lack of better words, the speakers clip painfully between 75-100% max volume that sound like they are farting. Vocals become almost unintelligible. It gets even worse as you drive and the unit warms up. To put the nail in the coffin, 100% only peaks around 80dB. I've tried various configurations to isolate each component in my system and narrowed it down to this device. Will be returning it and using an aftermarket amplifier with RCAs to bypass this headache.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 9/23/2019

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great it does what it says it will

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-SPDIF Amplifier Interface

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 8/6/2018

2014 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Somehow this interface cannot accommodate the "fader" function in a car radio's balance/fade controls. At least not with my Kia Optima. No fade control in my car now. Seems kinda basic for car stereo performance, but not discovered until a complete installation of a new car radio/CD player. Pretty disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

A frustrating and necessary evil to keep the factory amp/speakers

Aaron from Sweet Briar, VA on 8/3/2018

2011 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

To use the factory amp and speakers in my 2011 Kia Optima with Infinity system, this unit is required. This is actually my second version of this unit having purchased the former model when I first installed my Alpine ILX-107 (wireless CarPlay). The first model had a nasty habit not handshaking with the amp all of the time meaning that you sometimes had to restart the car to reset everything if there was no audio. Once started it was fine, but it was a game of roulette sometimes. It also had an annoying habit of cutting off the first moment of audio in anything that started from silence. A perfect example is Siri saying "Arrived" in the nav system, but it coming out as "rived". After some months, the unit combined with its sister steering wheel interface began turning the audio down on me randomly (truly infuriating). All of my wiring is soldered and heat sealed. I replaced both units and had the same issues. I was about to replace the factory amp with a new model (and face the wiring hassles) to overcome the nonsense. I happened to check and found that this unit and the steering wheel controller had been revised. I've just installed it this evening and, thus far, I'm not having spurious volume changes or failed handshakes at start. Unfortunately, it might take some time to know if this is really resolved and I will post a followup if not. It does still annoyingly clip audio coming out of silence and now no longer has distinct rear channel left/right (combined

Pros: I can hear audio... most of the time

Cons: Clips off the first moment of audio coming out of silence. The jury is out as to whether it's as lousy as the previous model that frequently did not handshake at startup (no audio - restart car) and later began sending spurious volume down signals at random. It also appears to treat rear left/right as part of the front left/right, so setting the fader to rear just lowers the all speakers equally. No win with these units in either generation thus far.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Compare the sound