Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter Allows you to connect the factory back-up camera on select 2014-20 Chevrolet and GMC vehicles to a new car stereo

MFR # BACKUPCAM-3

4.5 out of 5 stars
30 reviews
View this product
Works well

Andrew from LEES SUMMIT, MO on 12/10/2023

2016 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It worked.AFTER I figured out what connector to use. It's the gray connector plugged into the HMI.

Pros: Simple connection

Cons: CRAP directions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Thomas from Birmingham, AL on 11/29/2023

2015 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Helped me keep my backup camera with the new radio very helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Camera Adapter for GM Vehicles

William from Gun Barrel City, TX on 4/2/2023

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works camera in action

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Jeff from San Diego, CA on 2/26/2023

2016 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Didn't end up and need due to very low end stock system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Andrew from Dothan, AL on 11/30/2022

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This did not fit and my back up camera is not retained.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/30/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Andrew to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Doug from Columbia, TN on 6/6/2022

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great to keep factory camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Christopher from Warrenton, NC on 2/13/2022

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Came sooner than expected and works perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked Well

paul e. from Alamogordo, NM on 2/1/2022

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked as advertised!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Jordan from Ragland, AL on 1/22/2022

2015 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed and could not make the process any simpler

Pros: Works flawlessly completely plug-and-play

Cons: Only takes about five minutes to install start to finish drastically cutting down on time spent alone in the shop

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 12/12/2021

2017 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/13/2021

2016 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just plug and play work for my 16 colorado

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah, FL on 8/8/2021

2018 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Straight connection

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easiest Installation Ever

Crutchfield customer from Channelview, TX on 3/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you want to use the factory camera in the tail gate you need this. Quick and easy install after getting to the body module that the factory camera connects.

Pros: Quick

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Port Arthur, TX on 1/30/2021

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfectly and work great in my 2016 1500 Silverado LT Double cab

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Gonzalo from Edinburg on 10/24/2020

2016 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did not work on my 2016 Chevy Colorado with a Kenwood DMX 7706s head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 5/4/2020

2016 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my rear view camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backup cam adapter

Michael from Minooka on 3/14/2020

2016 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this item when I swapped out the stock 8 inch radio in my 2016 GMC Sierra 1500 SLE. Important to note (which I did not know) the plug for the backup camera is behind the lower glove box. You need to remove it and pull out the gray plug. Then insert that into the adapter and then run the RCA end into the stereo cavity. I know this because I had to call tech support and they got me through it.

Pros: Works great!

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Camera

Chris from Lawrenceville, GA on 11/9/2018

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hooked right up works great.

Pros: No wire cutting

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked perfect

Patrick from Kent, WA on 4/1/2018

2016 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly and was just what I needed to round out the GPS install in a Colorado WT trim package truck.

Pros: Worked great even though the Crutchfield application said not recommend for my truck.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Traverse City, MI on 1/27/2018

2017 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great. Simple plug and ply

Pros: No splicing

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Charles from Lake Charles, LA on 12/8/2017

2017 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install but doesn't show video

Bill from Fredericksburg, VA on 10/23/2017

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything wired up nicely in my 2015 Silverado 2500 HD with my Pioneer NEX AVIC-8100 radio but there is no video signal. The radio does recognize putting the truck in reverse and the screen shows the backup guides, but the screen is black. I've wired it and unwired it and rewired it twice.

Pros: Wires up easily with the instructions.

Cons: Doesn't show any video image on Pioneer NEX Avic-8100

Crutchfield response on 10/24/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Bill to help him further. We'll either help him get the backup camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Ruben from Texas on 10/9/2017

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had the adapter installed in my 2014 Chevy Silverado after replacing the factory stereo. Works great.

Pros: Saved money by not having to buy a new camera system.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Install

Arthur from Quincy, MI on 5/13/2017

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Made connecting the integrated backup camera on my wife's Silverado a pice of cake.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Dennis from Lebanon, CT on 2/5/2017

2016 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was not compatible with the base model 2500 HD. I was told it would work. The were great with a refund.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Backup Cam Adapter

Works from Janesville, WI on 5/21/2016

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Item works as it should but video on a pioneer head unit isn't that clear.

Pros: Saves time and prevents cutting wires.

Cons: Doesn't mention a place to get a reverse input you might need/want for an easier install. Also some trucks the plug is actually behind the glove box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Danny w from Clyde, TX on 4/18/2016

2014 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was a very easy install. Plug in play with my new after market install. Gave it 4 stars because the camera is very dark. Does not come up as bright as factory was.

Pros: Easy Plug n play

Cons: Camera comes out very dark but works

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked like a charm

Toughsox from New Jersey on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For my new Z71 Colorado, plugged in and it works. What more can you ask form.

Pros: Like I said, for the price, it sure beats trying to solder in your wires manually

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra BACKUPCAM-3 Camera Adapter for GM Vehicles

Ken J. from East Aurora, New York on 10/25/2015

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This adapter did not fit my 2015 Silverado 2500HD. I wanted it install a Clarion Stereo and keep my factory backup cam. My truck came equipped with a I03 and the plug is the wrong style.

Pros: N/A

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on 10/27/2015
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer to identify the wiring harness plug that connects to this adapter. We'll either help him get the adapter working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great cable fast shipping

Crutchfield customer from Houston, tx on 10/12/2015

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Plug and play cable worked out great no issues camera works perfect with my new radio

Pros: Long cable easy connection

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Compare the sound