Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
499 168 438 4
Connect ID #
499 168 438 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter Retain your factory backup camera in (or add an aftermarket camera to) select 2007-2015 Mazda vehicles

MFR # AX-MAZCAM-6V

3.5 out of 5 stars
40 reviews
View this product
2012 Mazda CX-9 Bose Premium w/out Navigation

Tyson from Sandy on 2/7/2023

2012 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Took one star off for poor details on what to wire where. For a 2012 Mazda CX-9 (Bose premium sound, NO navigation). You'll need to pull the pins from the factory harness, and then put them in the male adapter. The step down (12v to 6v) needs to go to the positive. It's a PITA, but you can get the factory camera to work. Also, wire the ground to the continuous chassis ground from the harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not work

Jorge from Cumming, GA on 12/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The back up camera never worked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/14/2022
Jorge contacted our Tech Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Luke from Sacramento, CA on 11/13/2022

2014 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just want to thank the other review that mentioned connecting the blue-white wire of the converter to ignition wire instead of the reverse signal. Until I saw that review I was plugging and unplugging and checking and measuring wiring, nothing was working and it was driving me nuts. Swapped the wires as mentioned and finally started working. Thank you other reviewer for saving me. This is for my 2014 Mazda 6.

Pros:

Cons: Instructions are wrong for 2014 Mazda 6.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does work with 2008 CX-9 with Nav

Eric from Wake Forest, NC on 7/18/2022

2008 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This harness WILL work with a 2008 CX-9 with the NAV radio with a bit of modification. First, the positive and negative video pins on the male end of the harness need to be reversed or you will not get any video. Second, I used the PAC RP4-MZ11 harness to be able to keep the factory amp with my new radio. The one thing PAC harness is missing is a pin for the reverse signal on the factory radio harness so it can never provide that signal to trigger and power the camera even though it has a wire on the PAC harness to do so. You will need to splice into the red/yellow stripe wire on the factory harness to get the 12V reverse signal.

Pros: Does make interfacing factory camera to aftermarket radio a bit easier.

Cons: Still requires some modification to the Axxess harness as well as splicing into the reverse signal wire on factory harness.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

DOES work for CX9 2010 w/o navigation with modifications

Guest from NY on 6/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought a new Bose radio with Apple Car to refresh my experience, and needed to connect in the OEM backup camera. Having read the reviews I knew this wouldn't work out of the box for my 2010 CX9 with no navigation. Fortunately using all data I was able to find the service specs for the harness' after some digging. Knowing this harness works with navigation gave me the blueprint for how to re-wire the non-navigation camera harness. You could splice directly as well, but what I ended up doing instead was taking the unused male harness from the ACMAZCAM, removing the pins, then removing the pins from the non-navigation factory harness and inserting them into the male harness. This made for a fairly clean install, though first time removing pins I found to be a pain. You still need to splice in the extra ground, but you have to splice the adapter ground in regardless so it wasn't a huge addition. I've attached a few photos of the old harness so you can see the wire colors. Along with the way the old harness is wired, and how you need to re-wire to make this work for. (look at the navigation harness in the service manual photo) B/L = ground = black/blue with silver dots, there's two W = power = white with silver dots, this will need to be reduced to 6V with included adapter W/L = video negative = white and blue W/R = video positive = white and red Hope this helps out other struggling with the lack of an OEM adapter for CX9 non-navigation. Overall good adapt

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works perfect

Bradley from Simpsonville, SC on 5/24/2022

2015 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does it's job.

Pros: Works great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Julio from Carolina, PR on 4/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Compra rápida segura, atención al cliente excelente y el paquete y llego antes de lo esperado más piezas de buena calidad o mejor dicho la mejor calidad.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Paul Scott from Prestonsburg, KY on 2/1/2022

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked as described!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect solution to maintain factory backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Pooler, GA on 1/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly in my 2015 Mazda CX5 to maintain the OEM backup camera with a Kenwood head unit so l unit so I could get Apple Carplay. I was skeptical based on what is seen on the internet to keep this camera working, but after Crutchfield support assured me it would work, I was comfortable. The instructions were easy to follow and it worked on the 1st try. Thanks, as always, Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfectly integrated Mazda camera with new Pioneer head unit

Crutchfield customer from Post Falls, ID on 1/3/2022

2012 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly.

Pros: Does exactly what it is supposed to do

Cons: Instructions don't make it clear that you are DO need to cut the harness in half, removing the opposite end of the wire harness that you aren't using for your use case.. Alot of interconnections for such a small piece of the full install, and very small wires in some cases.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

2014 Mazda CX-5

Rich from Northport, NY on 12/16/2021

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This harness and converter worked as we needed for my wife's 2014 Mazda CX-5. It was time to update her stereo and we wanted to keep the factory camera. Wiring was straight forward according to directions. I tapped into the rear hatch panel (driver side, 10 pin blue connector using the white wire with black stripe) to connect the reverse trigger and connected the yellow male RCA into the back of the aftermarket head unit. No cons for the adapter and converter, only con would be that I was unable to find a reverse signal up front but the routing to the back of the car was quick and easy. I ran a wire under through the back of the dash, under the steering wheel compartment to the driver side kick panel. Used the opening by the driver side fuse box to run the wire under the door trim driver and passenger, then under the hatch trim. Required removal of a few push-pins and 1 x 10mm bolt.

Pros: 12V to 6V converter was required to keep the factory camera and the installing was straight forward to the factory camera adapter and to the back of the aftermarket head unit.

Cons: Image quality is not high def but my wife claims it matches the video quality she was accustomed to from factory.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleased

Crutchfield customer from Poughkeepsie, NY on 11/11/2021

2012 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Allowed me to keep the OEM back up camera on my 2012 Mazda CX9. That saved a huge amount of work during the install of my head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Waynesboro, VA on 5/22/2021

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in a 2014 Mazda CX5 GT with Bose. I was replacing the factory radio with a JVC KW-M750BT and I wanted to retain the factory backup camera. After reading some of the reviews here and other places, I was not sure exactly how this install was going to go since there were many different CX5 experiences documented. I had previously tried a head unit that was designed for my exact car, but it had some defects upon arrival. The factory back up camera did work with it, so before I sent it back, I checked the voltage that was being applied to the camera. For mine it was supplying 6 volts. I knew that I would need the 12 to 6 volt step down so I decided to purchase this harness for my JVC install, despite Crutchfield's fit program telling me it did not fit my vehicle. The harness plug on this adapter fits the factory one perfectly. I followed the directions that came with this harness and the back up camera works great. It comes on when I put the car in reverse and goes off upon leaving reverse. The video quality is just as good as it was with the original head unit, which admittedly isn't great, but at least I don't have to run wires back to a new camera. The only complaint that I have is that i wish the harness came in two pieces instead of one. The other plug, for adding an after market back up cam to the factory head unit, was not needed but was attached to the harness i did need. Not a big deal, it just added more cable to manage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, IN on 5/16/2021

2010 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Brian from Bethesda, MD on 3/17/2021

2008 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Another CX-7 owner (2008 Grand Touring w/nav). The video +/- had to be flipped to get the camera to work. Clearly the CX-7 is wired different than other models. Had to buy a pin removal tool and swap pins in the harness. This was noted by another owner 4 years ago and should have been known by tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Straight forward

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Straight forward with Crutchfield's instructions I made a YouTube video showing the process. https://youtu.be/mVE8Lsval0M

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good kit, poor instructions

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The instructions are very basic and it is unclear if some wires and terminals should be used or not. The kit can be used for both the oem camera connected to an aftermarket audio unit and an aftermarket camera connected to the oem audio unit. That means it makes sense for some wires/terminals not to be in use in each application but better instructions or even better a diagram would make it much easier to understand how to connect the kit. I'm pretty sure Crutchfield staff can help with that and clear any questions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 12/21/2020

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A must needed item if you want to retain your OEM b/u camera. Simply follow the instructions of this wiring harness and your aftermarket stereo and you should be good to go. I had no issues so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works!

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 11/9/2020

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as designed, allows the Mazda 6V factory camera to be used with other head units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Herriman, UT on 9/14/2020

2010 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great! Made the attachment of the rear camera so easy. The head unit was labeled and so was the harness. I got it all hooked up and looks great. Sometimes websites recommend extra unnecessary stuff, but this was definitely necessary. Without it, my rear camera wouldn't work anymore. So glad I bought the harness!

Pros: Super easy installation.

Cons: Admittedly have no idea what the blue wiring harness is for... the camera is working just fine with the yellow harness.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from HAGERSTOWN, MD on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Finally got it working properly in my 2015 Mazda 6 non-Bose the trick was connecting the blue-white wire of the converter to ignition wire rather than backup signal wire and displays the backup camera as it was before the aftermarket radio, the instructions are not right for this specific car but I made it work, I hope it help others having problems with it.

Pros: Nice product once everything is plugged right.

Cons: Instructions should be specific for each model.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Did not work as wired with my CX9

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IN on 7/21/2020

2008 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did not work. Crutchfield adviser noted that their ready harness team needed to update how they install this as the way mine was wired for CX9 would not provide enough power and likely fried the harness. The solution was for me to disconnect part of their wiring an run a new wire to the fuse panel area to provide power to the camera. The adviser who helped was amazing but I opted to return the entire stereo as the ultimate solution defeated the purpose of ready harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Doesn't work with all Mazdas

Crutchfield customer from Berlin, CT on 4/22/2020

2011 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm sure this is a great harness when it's just plug and play, but unfortunately it didn't work with my vehicle. If you have a 2011 Mazda 6 with Bose sound system but NO factory navigation, this likely won't work for you. Luckily, Crutchfield support was great and walked me through how to splice the wires with the existing connectors in my car and I was able to get everything working perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from The Woodlands, TX on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this product is still not working even tho several attempts at repairing it from over the phone.

Pros: very fast service

Cons: sending out untested or not working properly equipment

Crutchfield response on 3/25/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera connected and working properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 1/6/2020

2015 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfect with my factory rear camera (2015 Mazda CX-9)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple Plug and Play and Easy Install! Thank you Crutchfield!

Mathew from Lockbourne, Ohio on 12/26/2019

2012 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2012 Mazda CX9 with Bose, Nav - Replaced with Kenwood DDX396, PAC RP4 MZ11 and this backup camera harness all pre-wired by Curtchfield. This plugged right in with no problems and works great! I will never buy another aftermarket stereo without having Crutchfield wire up the harness. They did an excellent job and made my install so easy! The hardest part was figuring out the Double Din Dash Kit. Currently, I am trying to figure out how to wire my camera up to be always on rather than only working while in Reverse. I believe the Blue/Red Wire needs to be tied into the red wire from the radio wire harness but still doing research. Thanks Crutchfield for the great work and great customer service!

Pros: Very simple, just plug into vehicle harness and plug into back of stereo and put in reverse and WaLa! Backup camera picture appears! Highly recommend having Crutchfield do the wiring on all harnesses before having products delivered. Crutchfield made this install a breeze and very stress free.

Cons: No Cons here, this harness works great!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, IA on 7/22/2019

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Made install easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worthless and Bothersome

Crutchfield customer from Sunland, CA on 5/20/2019

2008 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worthless! Had to make modification for it to work. Seems like nobody at Crutchfield communicates well.

Pros: Instructions are trash

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/22/2019
We were sorry to hear about this customer's experience and mix-up with Tech Support team. We're forwarding this on to our Tech Support supervisors, so they can look into it. We strive to provide the best service, before, during, and after your purchase, and it looks like we missed the mark this time. We hope he gives us another chance to prove we're the best in the business.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 5/7/2019

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to hook up and get running. No problems whatsoever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/21/2018

2014 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great and as expected. I would buy it again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/3/2018

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does not work for my 2016 Mazda 6. I called support and they wanted me to cut the wires near the crimps, strip the wires and test it with a multimeter. The product should just work. My back camera is now completely useless. I'll test the product again in a few weeks when I actually have time to. But the product should just work without having to dismantle to test it.

Pros: None

Cons: Doesn't work.

Crutchfield response on 12/4/2018
We're sorry you're having issues with your backup camera harness. If the problem continues once you test it, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Alberton, MT on 11/23/2018

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Items worked as they should, instructions were easy to follow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Read if you have a CX-5

Kirk from Salt Lake City, UT on 11/16/2018

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Vehicle install was on a 2014 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring. Instructions just DID NOT work. I installed exactly how the instructions stated and I did not receive any input from the factory camera. After some time with a multi-meter I've realized that the blue/black 12V to 6V step down is UNNECESSARY for my vehicle. My second problem, maybe not related to this item, was with the PAC harness. There was no signal coming from the reverse signal wire (checked via multi-meter). I had to splice the Axxess yellow wire into the reverse signal wire BEFORE the PAC harness, check online diagrams and with a multimeter to check for 12V (don't forget to shift into reverse and put the parking brake on!). Connect the black wire to another black, ground wire and the camera connection into the stereo's camera input. It now works great, turns on every time.

Pros: Once connected correctly it does work.

Cons: Instructions are generic and not specific for each vehicle.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Maple Valley, WA on 9/25/2018

2014 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Build seems ok, but its not functioning with my 2014 Mazda6 oem camera. I have tried a number of wiring variations, when I drop into reverse the screen goes black, but not able to get an image to display. I have checked all the voltages, and everything is how it should be according to everything I can find documentation wise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/26/2018
: Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 8/15/2018

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great in my 2015 Mazda CX-5 with my new Kenwood receiver. Wish I could access it when not in reverse but definitely not the end of the world for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/25/2018

2007 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Doesn't work with the factory camera on my 2007 Mazda CX9 (Bose and Nav). Crutchfield techs were never able to get the factory camera to output an image on the screen. Black screen is all I can get with this harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does the job, does it well.

Matthew from Florida on 12/27/2017

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does the job. I found the step-down voltage regulator to be unnecessary in my 2015 CX5 GT. Just connected the adapter to the camera connector, plugged the RCA end into my stereo, and wired yellow to reverse and black to ground. Seems to be working without issue.

Pros: Simple to wire up, allows you to keep the stock camera with an aftermarket radio, or use an aftermarket camera with the stock radio.

Cons: A bit sloppy on the wiring, because of it's dual-purpose application.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor Picture Quality

James from Hollywood, FL on 11/23/2017

2011 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this to connect my facotry mazda 6 camera to my new PIONEER AVH491. It techniclly works but the picture quality went from crystal clear with my factory stereo, to green and fuzzy on the Pioneer. Pretty crappy looking so I might just unplug it.

Pros: Helped me get my backup camera working on 2014 Mazda 6

Cons: Instructions are pretty bad. Camera Quality is HORRIBLE

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6v

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 11/5/2017

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed the JVC ILX107 in my 2013 Mazda CX-5. It took a while to figure out why the stock backup camera wasn't working.... then I tested the voltage, and found that it was dropping it down to 3 volts.... So the 6v part was completely unnecessary; I rewired it without the additional voltage converter and it worked correctly. (still just need to improve the ground, because the camera looks like crap occasionally). But apparently I could've saved money, though, by buying the adapter without the voltage converter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/16/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the backup camera working the way it should, or help him return the harness for an exchange or refund.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Cam Adapter

Bobby from Fredericksburg, VA on 9/14/2017

2007 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instructions are not written very well, I had to switch the video + and video - wires on the harness to make it work with my 2007 CX-7.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Compare the sound