Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Connect ID #
311 864 128 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter Allows you to connect the factory USB port on select 2010-up Toyota vehicles to a new car stereo

MFR # AX-TOYUSB-2

3.5 out of 5 stars
98 reviews
View this product
No brainer

Connor from Gainesville, FL on 3/21/2024

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super easy install, it's a big deal if you want to use your factory USB port. I personally think that if you plan to use your new stereo's USB ports without having someway of fastening them to look flush and like they're supposed to be there, then it can be a bit tacky. In those cases, this is a must. No reason not to, very cheap and easy to put in.

Pros: Use factory USB with new stereo Cheap Very easy install Clear instructions provided 2012 Tacoma plugin easy, just had to take out glove compartment to access MCU.

Cons: Plug-in location can vary based on model. Some seem they would be hard to reach (not a product problem, but worth considering).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Roy from Pittsfield, MA on 2/26/2024

2010 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Probably good but it doesn't fit my vehicle

Pros: Came undamaged

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/28/2024
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Luna, reached out to Roy to follow up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

2010 4runner , easy plugin bht hard to get too

Keith from Folsom, CA on 1/29/2024

2010 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked well. Not much to say except this is really hard to install on 2010 4Runner

Pros: Plugs in easily

Cons: Not really a knock on the product but hard to get to install on 2010 4Runner. Not really necessary if using CarPlay.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works, but terrible instructions

Ahmad from TYLER, TX on 8/30/2023

2010 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Like several reviews say, this item does work when installed but neither Crutchfield nor Metra have good instructions on how to install the unit. For my 2010 Sequoia, the only thing the official Metra instructions say where the connector's location is a vague: "Behind and Slightly to the Left of the Radio". In reality, it is attached to the back of the Multimedia Interface ECU. Which is neigh impossible to reach with only the factory radio removed. You will need to remove the front passenger glove box and panels in order to reach behind the Multimedia Interface ECU and remove the plug that you will connect this adapter to. Unfortunately, the provided Crutchfield Mastersheet does not cover the removal of this part of the vehicle. Crutchfield CS wasn't able to help much either since they only had the Metra instructions and some reviews for this product to go by. And since I didn't have a Techbook for the Sequoia; I had to go in blindly removing a bunch of screws hoping that I didn't screw anything up and loose a few screws in the process. Regretfully, this meant I left the airbag dangling dangerously as I was doing work. But I'm pretty sure I had disconnected the battery from what I recall. Afterwards with the front passenger glove box and trim still dissembled I was able feed the the USB adapter into the radio area and plug it directly into my Pioneer AVH-3500NEX. I was able to use Car Play and Android Auto flawlessly with the factory USB.

Pros: Functional adapter for those wanting to use Android Auto or Apple Carplay with the factory USB

Cons: Severe Lack of instructions makes installation very troublesome and took me a very long time to figure it out.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plug & play

Jeremy from Arapahoe, NC on 6/9/2023

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a must when retaining oem USB ports.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Mark from Athens, GA on 5/18/2023

2011 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this adapter to retain the factory usb port on a 2011 Toyota Avalon, it plugs in at the media module just below the radio when removing the factory. The USB cable allows charging and CarPlay/Android on the aftermarket radio using the factory port

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Melvin from Austin, TX on 4/15/2023

2011 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This part is recommended for my car and does not fit. Please re-evaluate this choice for other customers in the future. Still looking for a replacement

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/19/2023
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Susan, reached out to Melvin to follow up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Dion from Santa Cruz, CA on 4/14/2023

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Didn't fit my application, no instructions on how to possibly make it fit if I'm wrong and it could have worked somehow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/18/2023
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Thorin, reached out to Dion to follow up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Retained factory Aux/USB port

Douglas from DIXON, MO on 4/4/2023

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly to retain my factory AUX and USB ports. Also used to allow the use of corded Apple Car Play and Android Auto. Super easy install in my vehicle as well. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extremely difficult to install

Mark from CEDARBURG, WI on 3/4/2023

2011 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Part functions ok but install is very challenging luckily I had a tool to reach connection under my steering wheel

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good cable. Inaccurate instructions.

Zig from Denver, CO on 1/16/2023

2012 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The cable worked fine, however. the instructions were a bit off. The exploded view in the manual shows the location of the ECU. Unfortunately, the illustration does not show the many things in the way of getting to it. There is no access where there appears to be the diagram. I had to remove everything on the passenger side up to the glove box to access it. This was quite an undertaking and was the most challenging part of the stereo installation. There are no videos out there on how to remove the glovebox or access the ECU. A search for "2012 Toyota Sequoia remove dash" finally did the trick. There are a lot of parts to remove, including an airbag, and it's a little tricky, so make sure you watch some videos and know exactly what you're doing before you start. Also, because you're dealing with an airbag, I highly recommend removing the negative terminal from the battery for safety. It's not a terribly difficult thing to do, but it is much more complicated than the manual implies. You definitely want to have your ducks in a row before you begin. Also, don't start this an hour before sundown when it's about to start snowing like I did! I did call Crutchfield support for assistance. They were helpful, but were looking at the same manual and didn't have any advice on how to access the ECU.

Pros: Good cable.

Cons: Inaccurate instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Robert from Salem, WI on 11/21/2022

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I didn't use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Thomas from Pace, FL on 10/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice connector but directions on where to install it my 2012 tacoma was a bit weak but one call to tech support got it sorted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Springville, AL on 9/2/2022

2010 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a 2010 Toyota 4Runner and I just bought one of the boss radios that had wired in apple and android CarPlay. I can't seem to figure out where this port cable goes on my vehicle or where it even plugs into.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/6/2022
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product, Better service!

James from Harriman, TN on 8/24/2022

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfect. I had a small question about the usb cable for by vehicle and they got me squared away in a short phone call.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Jesse St from MOORE, OK on 8/11/2022

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I eventually figured out that you have to remove the passenger kick panel to install this near the media control unit, behind the glove compartment. After installing it, the OEM USB port would charge my phone very slowly but did not work with Android auto or CarPlay in my new headunit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Kevin from Buckeye, AZ on 6/16/2022

2012 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not the right one. Doesn't fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/21/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Kevin to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not the right adapter for me.

Elijah D from Manheim, PA on 6/6/2022

2010 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did not fit my 2010 Camry XLE because my USB port has an AUX port built into it, which gets power from the same plug as the USB, so this is not the right size to fit into the plug in the back. Can't seem to find the right one on here or Google.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/8/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Mike, reached out to Elijah to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Bradley from Independence , KS on 3/27/2022

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Would not work for my stereo. Have to have a USB port on the back of the stereo. Tech support told me it would work for my vehicle and the stereo I was installing. Wasted my money.

Pros: ?

Cons: Tech support

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Clifford from WARNER ROBINS, GA on 2/21/2022

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Appears to be functional

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does What It's Supposed To

Crutchfield customer from Yacolt, WA on 11/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This cable does what it's supposed to; integrates the factory USB port in the dash with the new aftermarket head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, LA on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had to research where this plugged in as Crutchfield directions did not indicate that other dash panels had to come off to access another audio component. Ultimately it did not work with my vehicle but not sure if the vehicle's audio component is working correctly or not

Pros: Simple if it worked for me

Cons: Directions not clear

Crutchfield response on 9/20/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

No instructions on where to connect it.

Crutchfield customer from Sunnyvale, CA on 6/28/2021

2011 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The instructions are not adequate for a 2011 Toyota Sienna. There's a blurry image of where the Media Interface is (which is where this cable should connect) - but no instructions on how to reach it, and even after taking off all the front panels (and installing a new radio of course) I could not find where it should connect, so couldn't use it. Phone support couldn't find it either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/12/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Do you really need this? Read radio specs forst.

Crutchfield customer from Sharpsburg, GA on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product but for putting into 2013 4runner SR5 without JBL, not necessary for the radio we picked to install. So we didn't use it as it is near impossible to get to the Media control unit without removing significant amounts of the passenger dashboard

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/15/2021
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support team reached out to issue this customer a refund.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from East Hampton, CT on 2/27/2021

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was not right for the tundra. Disappointed

Pros:

Cons: Too many options to choose from.

Crutchfield response on 3/16/2021
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Tiffany, reached out to this customer to follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

No worky

Crutchfield customer from Bethalto, IL on 1/16/2021

2012 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got a constant connect/disconnect using this adapter. Tried switching phone cables still same result. Ended up having to cut a slot and use the USB extender that came with the radio.

Pros:

Cons: Hard to find where to plug it in and not covered in instructions. Wasted my $.

Crutchfield response on 1/19/2021
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Case, reached out to this customer to follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what its supposed to if you find the correct location.

Crutchfield customer from Anadarko, OK on 12/16/2020

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was a little difficult to find the location of the multi media interface that this adapter fits in (not behind the stereo). Once I located it, installation was simple. 2010 Tundra non nav, JBL.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Almost returned it, but glad I didn't.

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 11/9/2020

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

At first I thought this wasn't going to work. There are no instructions that come with it so I thought it connected behind the usb port. Later I realized that you have to connect it at the media control module that is located behind the glove box, which is accessible by removing the kick plate on the passengers side. Once I plugged it in it worked great! Charge is slow, but CarPlay fires right up. ('13 Toyota Tundra)

Pros: Works great. Clean install.

Cons: No detailed directions on where to plug in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Tim from Phoenix, AZ on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The instructions are vague, you have to locate the multimedia box on the right side behind the glove box. Using this with a Kenwood deck won't support Apple car play. I decided to switch out the stock USB port with one online, which connects directly to the head unit to solve the car play problem.

Pros: Allows charging

Cons: Doesn't support Apple car play

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Waste of money cable

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/22/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Biggest waste of money this cable, aftermarket head unit comes with USB cable. Don't waste your money on this cable, you not going to need

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 9/3/2020

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Didn't work with 2011 Toyota Tundra non-JBL. 3 stars because Crutchfield fully refunded purchase price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Instructions were wrong for Tundra, but it does work once

STEVEN from VESTAVIA, AL on 8/26/2020

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ok so this does work but the instructions and location for my 2011 Tundra were WRONG and required taking out the glove compartment to get to this multimedia unit that they claimed was "behind factory radio and to the right". It's to the right alright, on the other side of the AC ducts and the only way to get to it is to take a bunch of stuff out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, VA on 8/2/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Ferndale, WA on 6/19/2020

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I didnt use even though the kit said i would need it for options on existing stock wiring

Pros:

Cons: Got sent 2 & now have to try to send back

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 5/25/2020

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I did no need this piece. The stereo came with a cord that I used.

Pros:

Cons: Did not have to buy this product. The Sony stereo came with its own cord.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from SC on 5/11/2020

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed a Kenwood DMX706S in a 2010 Tundra Platinum w/JBL. Happy to confirm this allows both Carplay and Android Auto from the dash oem USB port. Installation is a mystery with these, as there are so many variants. I found a youtube video with info that I needed. On my vehicle its the entertainment ecu, a small box that combines several sources like the oem mic and the dash usb. It was located to the left of the glove box. I removed the cover under the glove box and was just able to reach it. You unplug a brown cable from it, then plug that cable into this adapter. The usb side of this adapter then plugs in to the back of the new radio.

Pros: Works with Carplay and Android Auto

Cons: Plugs in to oem cable that is plugged in to entertainment ecu, must search web for its location on your particular vehicle

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 3/6/2020

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did not fit my 2010 Tundra SR5.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Guest from Bakersfield, Ca on 3/4/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2012 Tundra Crew Max, non-jbl, non-navigation. Alpine-ilx 207 Adapter works. The location of the plug is under the glovebox. Remove the blower motor cover and it is near the center console plugged into the entertainment system module(brown plug). Plug it into that and the back of the unit (usb slot) and it works.

Pros:

Cons: No instructions on location of plug.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wrong advice

Crutchfield customer from Grand Portage, MN on 1/12/2020

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

May be a good purchase if you need it. I did the chat online and was told this is the harness I needed for my application. Wrong! Didn't need one. Not worth my time and money to return it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from White Lake, MI on 1/2/2020

2011 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This did not work in my 2011 Toyota Camry hybrid. Oh yes, everything plugged in fine after difficulty getting to the mating connector on the factory ecu. Apple CarPlay would not be recognized with this connection. After a call to Crutchfield they recommended not using this adapter and just using the usb extension cable that came with the pioneer receiver. Would have saved me a lot of effort and cussing had I known this up front.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Magnolia, TX on 12/4/2019

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was told that Carplay might not work with this device but it works perfectly in my 2013 Tundra. I am able to use the factory USB plug and I love it.

Pros: Lets you use the factory USB and for me Carplay also works!

Cons: The instructions had plug location incorrect but I was able to find it with a little help from Google!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Matthew from RONKONKOMA, NY on 11/5/2019

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not where the manual said it would be in my 2011 Tundra. Ended up being behind and underneath my glove box and too much of a pain to get to. Opted to just deactivate my stock USB ports and put in new ones with the new head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Groton, CT on 8/22/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Correct adapter for using an oem USB in dash port.

Pros: Simple plug in at the media control box.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 7/21/2019

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This cable works as designed, however finding where to use it is the trickier part. In my 2012 Toyota Tundra, I was able to remove the plastic cover underneath the glove box and then find the multimedia ECM to the left near the center of the truck. From there I was able to disconnect the brown adapter from the ECM and connect to this cable. I then ran the other end to the back of my new Kenwood receiver. After that, it worked without issue. The install for this small cable was frustrating due to lack of instructions. As good as Crutchfield is, this is one area where their knowledge was not complete.

Pros: Works well once installed.

Cons: Instructions for how to install were lacking. This injected some uncertainty into the job and slowed it down significantly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too short

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 6/28/2019

2012 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not long enough to reach interface

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple and effective, works great!

Mark from Howard, KS on 6/28/2019

2011 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple and effect at retaining factory USB. On my particular car, 2011 Toyota Avalon, the factory plug was in an "ECU" behind the factory receiver. Just unplug factory wire from the ECU, plug it into this adapter, then plug the USB into your new receiver. Easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Aliso Viejo, CA on 6/23/2019

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield tech cannot tell me where this plugs in, waste of money so I am sending it back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great option for retaining factory USB

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 5/23/2019

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit once you find out where it plugs into. On my Tundra it's on a module further in the dash in the passenger side and not the cable end that connects to the factory stereo.

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: Directions aren't great on where to plug it in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Brandon from Stuart, OK on 4/8/2019

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product

Pros:

Cons: Needs better instructions as per vehicle

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Cumberland, ME on 2/3/2019

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After finally finding the right place to plug this in, it worked as expected!

Pros: Easy hook up

Cons: Finding the right connection in the truck, no fault of the device.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Godfrey, IL on 1/23/2019

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Took me a while to figure out what this is, where it goes, and how it connects. Minus one star for vague instructions. Works fine though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Probably would have worked if it was the right thing.

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 1/21/2019

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This actually does not fit my tundra. The TRD package has usb and AUX together in a single wire so I bought a piece at the recommendation of an expert that I didn't need and couldn't use.

Pros: Came packaged in tons of packing peanuts so it was a very safe cable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/23/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the cable working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Bixby, OK on 12/27/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Clackamas, OR on 12/22/2018

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'll just say the product works, bit the instructions were lacking. It took quite a bit of research on the web to find where to plug this thing in on my 2013 Tundra. Once I found it (behind the passenger dash after remove the bottom trim panel and squeezing my hand up in there) it was relatively easy to weave the wire back up towards the new unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Sorin from San Francisco, CA on 12/17/2018

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As others have stated, it does fit (2011 Toyota 4Runner), the phone is being recognized as connected, but Android Auto will not work for my Samsung Galaxy S9 - Pioneer head unit combo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Kent, WA on 11/16/2018

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits correctly on my 2010 Toyota Tundra but didn't end up working. I wanted to hook up to an Android Auto receiver. It would recognize the phone as a USB device but I could never get it to work with this and the truck wiring for Android Auto. I ended up buying a different USB adapter that replaced a cigarette lighter and it worked perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

awful documentation nearly ruined the product

Kevin from Stamford, CT on 11/12/2018

2011 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was the last part I got working in my install. The instructions say to plug it into the multi-media interface ECU which it describes as "behind the head unit and to the right". The picture in the instructions is a joke, and does not accurate reflect my car at all. In reality, you do not plug it into the ECU, you instead take the existing cable out of the ECU and plug it into this. The ECU is in fact below and in front of the head unit in my vehicle (2011 Toyota Sienna), nowhere near where it is pictured in the instructions. I have not fully tested it, but it appears to work

Pros: works, I think fit perfectly when I finally found the cable just long enough to route around things and still reach the head unit with a little bit of slack

Cons: completely wrong documentation added hours of installation time to figure out what the documentation said was wrong, and the correct approach to take

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Jeffrey from Austin, TX on 9/25/2018

2011 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I would not buy this. I read quite a bit about it and decided it wasn't worth the effort. No one can say for sure that CarPlay works through it. I also read that the installation is difficult. So I'm returning it.

Pros: Retains limited factory function

Cons: CarPlay not guaranteed, hard to install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from North Royalton, OH on 9/17/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This does not fit my 2012 Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Old Bridge, NJ on 9/10/2018

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product worked as advertised loving it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Difficult to find where it plugs in!

Dustin from Austin, TX on 8/11/2018

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This part took me forever to find where it plugs in, I thought Crutchfield sent me an incompatible part for me 2011 Tundra double cab with no JBL and no Navigation. For this part you must remove the glove box and panels below glove box. There is a metal box tucked back up in there near the center. The USB wire comes out of this box. Unplug the connector then plug it into the harness. Then the other end of this harness plugs into a USB port from your new head unit. Crutchfield should include special instructions for this part because it is difficult to find on your own. Once plugged in, it works fantastic.

Pros: Works as it should and makes great use of the factory USB input.

Cons: Very difficult to find where this part plugs in. It's hidden in the passenger side.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Product works; instructions are horrible

Bart from Springdale, AR on 8/4/2018

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product works and to my knowledge is required to maintain factory USB port. BEWARE: to access the unit to plug it into you have to remove the glove box! The instructions are not clear on this. Thankful for having a Chilton book on hand to help out.

Pros: Works

Cons: Increased install time by about 4 hrs from expected

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

All factory USB ports are working

JQ from Waialua, HI on 7/10/2018

2013 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product. Must pay attention to the instructions otherwise it will be difficult to install. 2013 4 runner connection location is behind the globe compartment . I wish the wire is at least 3 inches longer.

Pros: Factory wiring friendly

Cons: Little bit short

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2013 4Runner with MVH-2400NEX

JQ from Waialua, HI on 7/9/2018

2013 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly. Removing the globe compartment is a bit annoying but otherwise it's a very straight forward installation. Apple CarPlay is awesome after usb connection completed.

Pros: Works Flawlessly

Cons: Location of connection is hard to reach

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Queen Creek, AZ on 5/28/2018

2017 Ram Promaster City

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice pigtail

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Jason from Alpharetta, GA on 5/20/2018

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the cable that you need to have the factory USB work with the new radio. It was way more confusing to install that I expected. You would think this would simply plug into the back of the factory USB box and then straight into the new radio! NO! You have to find a separate box where the factory USB runs to, disconnect a wire there and then plug this into that box and then run it up to the new stereo! Took me hours to figure out how to do it on my 2011 Toyota Tundra CrewMax. I am having an issue where my phone and the new head unit drop when doing CarPlay and I can't tell if it's this cable, the new headunit that is dropping. There needs to be better directions for this cable on installation.

Pros: Keeps factory USB - clean look

Cons: Very confusing to install. It does not plug into the back of the factory USB and then to the back of the new headunit which is what you would expect. Signal/connection dropping from iPhone to new headunit (can't be sure if it's this cable or an issue with the new headunit)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works but not easy to find where to plug in

John from PA on 4/19/2018

2011 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

OK so the part works flawlessly once is plugged in right place. The tricky part is to actually locate the ECU. I have called Crutchfield. They did send me picture showing location. However there is nothing behind radio that even resembles anything to plug in to it. I did not give up and search for it. Its REALLY HARD to find it ,not in clear sight. You have to crawl under passenger dash, remove bottom panel with pry tool or screwdriver in three locations and then stick your hand close to center console above another module. Pull the brown connector from silver box (ECU ) and plug it in to AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Cable. I just drop the brown end of the connector from radio opening and reach to do it. Its not easy to see but is possible. Hope this will help next person !!!

Pros: Stock location of USB to remain. Plug and play

Cons: hard to find where to plug in. No real direction how to get to it

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 4/19/2018

2013 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Provided the part to my installer and he had no issues using it for my setup. It allowed me to keep the factory look where USB input was.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 4/10/2018

2010 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought it, didn't have a need for it, and received a refund for it. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beware Android Auto Users With USB C Equipped Phones

Bob from Cumming, GA on 11/8/2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This adapter works fine for standard setups, but you will have major issues and failures using Android Auto with this adapter, especially with phones equipped with a USB-C cable. I had to remove my adapter to get Android Auto to work and it all works great now without the adapter in place. If you use Apple CarPlay it will work fine. This is more a failure on Android Auto than the adapter.

Pros: Allows use of factory USB connection

Cons: Will disable AUX jack in USB/Aux Jack combinations Unresolved issues with USB-C equipped phones and Android Auto (constant crashing of Android Auto)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, KY on 10/24/2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did not work for me. Still in the box. Routed USB ports to dash and made mount for them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/25/2017
We're sorry this cable didn't work out for you. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-TOYUSB-2

John from Oviedo, FL on 10/20/2017

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After spending several hours and taking my entire dash apart trying to find out where this adapter goes, it turns out that it doesn't allow data transfer for my new head unit. It just says device unsupported. It allows charging but nothing else. Ended up running another USB cable from the radio and removing one of the factory blanks from the climate control to use Android Auto and Car Play.

Pros: None

Cons: No clear directions Hard to find cable it plugs into No data transfer. Waste of time and money

Crutchfield response on 10/24/2017
Once we saw this review, Case, one of our Customer Support team members, reached out to issue this customer a refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Horrible product

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 7/15/2017

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No instructions so now it's sitting in the dump. Definitely not a plug and play device.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Didn't fit

Arthur from Phoenix, AZ on 6/16/2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Didn't fit 2012 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/21/2017
Arthur, we're sorry the cable didn't work out for you. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Pedro from Baton Rouge on 6/13/2017

2014 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does not fit and and no instruction For 2010 tundra

Pros:

Cons: Does not fit

Crutchfield response on 6/14/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Pedro to help him further. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

code2medic@gmail.com

Tom from Chicago, IL on 5/8/2017

2010 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

NO instruction of where it goes or anything This is going back with the other equipment purchased

Pros: Absolutely NONE

Cons: INSTRUCTIONS! How cheap have companies become. Crutchfield Im holding you personally responsible also because back in the day you have print outs for this stuff etc. I guess the good changes with the bad

Crutchfield response on 5/24/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Tom to issue an apology and help him further. We'll either help him get this working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Guest from Boynton Beach, FL on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great in my 2013 Scion FR-S

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfectly on 2013 4Runner

Butch from Richmond, VA on 2/22/2017

2013 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great on my 2013 4Runner with a Kenwood head unit.. The biggest issue was pulling the glove box to access the electronic box that this adapter plugs into.

Pros: Works and fits great.

Cons: Not the adapter's fault, but the glove box had to be pulled to access the electronic box that this adapter plugs into. Overall, though, it wasn't so bad.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2010 Tundra USB adapter

Brian from IL on 2/5/2017

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great, not exactly easy to find in 2010 Tundra, but left a video showing the connection

Pros: Works great to keep factory USB operational

Cons: No instructions with it, had to go looking under dash

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works good

Crutchfield customer from Biloxi, MS on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely required to make tundra oem USB port work. It does not plug directly into the USB. It adapts at the audio module. Do some research and it will be an easy job for you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Ross from San Antonio, TX on 12/10/2016

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product fits a brown USB connector that is located behind the glove box of various Toyota models. Not True Of The 2016 4Runner SR5 Premium. I ripped apart my entire dash trying to find this elusive plug. In my vehicle, the plug is gray and is plugged directly into the back of the stock head unit. This adapter does not fit that plug. The PAC-USB-TY1 is the part you need. I hope this info saves someone the 2 hours of my life that I spent trying to find a way to make this part fit my vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/19/2016
Thanks to this customer's review, Darren, our Car Integration Buyer, was able to identify the problem within our database and correct it. We apologize for the trouble this caused during this customer's installation.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 11/29/2016

2013 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked exactly as described!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, TX on 11/21/2016

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOYUSB-2 USB Port Adapter

David from California on 9/16/2016

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great! After Toyota installed an aftermarket Rosen navigation system in my Tundra the USB port didn't work anymore and Toyota failed to inform me of this and I didn't know until the installer told me. Wasn't happy but dealt with it. After finally getting rid of the Rosen unit and purchased the Pioneer NEC 8100 and seen this cable as a fix to use the OEM usb port. Worked great but getting to the connection is the trick. It's plugged into a module behind the glove box. Once you unplug take that plug and plug it into this cable then plug the USB into ur radio and it should work like a charm. Works for charging and data.

Pros: Keep OEM USB port.

Cons: Connecting to OEM plug.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Doesnt work on a 2012 Rock Warrior

Not all Tundra's from Salmon, ID on 6/30/2016

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Doesnt work on a 2012 Rock Warrior

Pros: N/A

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesnt work on a 2011 Rock Warrior.

Nathan from Georgetown Ky on 5/25/2016

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This adaptor was well packaged and looked to be well made but did not fit my application.

Pros:

Cons: Did not fit

Crutchfield response on 5/25/2016
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great on 2011 4Runner

Kasey from Colorado on 2/19/2015

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The adapter works great, once you find the plug to connect it to. It does not connect to the USB connector in the glove box, but rather to a plug that is connected to a box behind the glove box/knee air bag. It would be helpful if it was a bit longer, as I had to remove the wire wrap on the stock loom in order to get have enough length to reach the aftermarket stereo.

Pros: Does what it is intended to do.

Cons: Could be longer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits, works, but Clarion HU's do not like it.

Power from Michigan on 1/19/2015

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed this on a 2010 Tundra. This will work on any Tundra gen2 or newer. You do have to find where it plugs in. Another review said it would not connect, they were trying to plug it directly into the factory port and it actually plugs into the metal control box behind the lower pass dash/glove box/knee air bag area. With a Clarion NX604 the cable will not allow transfer of data directly. You have to connect this adapter to the provided cable from Clarion. The HU will then play files but it is slower and more glitchy with it. I will likely return this cable due to these glitches and lagginess with the Clarion HU. Seems to work fine with other HU's. And does function with the provided cable from Clarion, just not perfectly. Also I installed a Crux SW adapter and that itself has a factory usb/aux audio output via rca, just will lose control through any HU.

Pros: Works when you actually know where to connect it.

Cons: Have to figure out where to connect it, and in the case of the Clarion nx604 it is laggy. Also charging speed was reduced, likely due to many cables and connections between the Idevice and the actual HU.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worthless

Chris B from Oklahoma on 12/23/2014

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worthless on a 2011 Toyota 4Runner. It has to attach to the head unit and the computer interface behind the glove box. I could not gain access to the area behind the glove box. Called Crutchfield tech support and they could not find out how to gain access either. I ended up not using this adapter and just ran the USB cable provided with the head unit to the interior of the cab.

Pros: None

Cons: Could not install

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Didn't fit

unsure from Florida on 12/22/2014

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This part does not fit a 2011 toyota tundra double cab with a usb and aux in the same spot. im sure it's a great item and works well but it just does not fit the mentioned setup.

Pros:

Cons: does not fit my car like Crutchfield said it does. i couldn't install it

Crutchfield response on 12/24/2014
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

7065941962

7065941962 from Lagrange, GA on 8/17/2014

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Able to hook up the original usb in my truck

Cons: Instructions not real good

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works amazing in my 2013 Tundra

GeoffN from Phoenix, AZ on 5/29/2014

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was easy enough to install and works exactly as it should. I have tested this adapter with numerous USB devices and I have also used a Pioneer HU as well as a Kenwood HU and they both play nicely with this adapter. My only regret was not buying this sooner! If you have a Toyota with an aftermarket radio, BUY THIS

Pros: Easy install. Works as advertised. Cleaner dash. Retain factory functionality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2013 tundra

Jason from Virginia on 4/13/2014

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield lists this as "does not fit" for the tundra, however it works perfectly was able to retain my oem USB plug with the kenwood h/u

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2013 Tundra

Gary from Texas on 3/17/2014

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly to connect my existing factory usb port to the Kenwood stereo I bought. If you remove the access panel underneath the passenger side dash, you can reach the metal box that has the factory plug. Pull out the brown factory plug and connect to this adapter. From there you just fish it up to the radio and plug it in.

Pros: Works Perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nifty nifty

Martin from Atlanta on 2/2/2014

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Once I found out where to plug this, it worked perfectly! As long as you have a rear USB on your radio then you can keep the factory usb outlet on the dash. FYI: the brown part of this plugs into another brown connector behind the glove box, so you have to take that out. Nobody seemed to know that but its really very simple

Pros: works, easy to use,

Cons: took a while to figure out where to plug it in. I think its a new product so Crutchfield didn't seem to know much about it (they should now though)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product to retain factory USB

Mike from Phoenix, AZ on 1/7/2014

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This adapter makes using the factory USB port built with an aftermarket radio a breeze. Works as expected once you find the correct vehicle plug. Mine was buried deep under the dashboard.

Pros: Works as expected. Makes factory USB port work with aftermarket radios.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

USB adapter for 2013 4runner

Crutchfield customer from Va on 8/31/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Part did not fit. But crutchfield customer service was very prompt and gave no hassles to return the item.

Pros: Easy return No hassles or questions

Cons: Did not fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Compare the sound