Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Connect ID #
122 616 728 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-W4500NEX

4.0 out of 5 stars
186 reviews
View this product
Great until early death

Glen from Riverside, CA on 3/24/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed January 2020 worked excellent just died March 2024 after 10000 miles use in vehicle.

Pros: Worked and sounded great

Cons: STOPPED WORKING AT YEARS

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Michael from PLANO, TX on 3/20/2024

2008 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio, but at exactly the three year mark it died. Search the web for "Pioneer avh software error. Not looking forward to taking it apart to replace the card.

Pros: Sounds great. Good interface.

Cons: Poor software design for the SD card

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bad Purchase

Crutchfield customer from Fincastle, VA on 12/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit was purchased by my wife for me for Christmas November 2022. Fast forward to December 2023, and now unit has lost HD radio completely and also seems to cut off and turn back on randomly. Have already tried to troubleshoot with Crutchfield tech. It has been determined unit is bad. Waiting for Pioneer to respond with grace period for warranty, since unit is only a little over a year old. Sad to spend that much money for something that breaks that soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Joshua from Birmingham on 10/23/2023

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Has been a good unit but like many others, after 2 years its starting to die on me. Will have issues with booting and while driving it will reboot over and over. Replacing soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Ricky from Tiger, GA on 10/11/2023

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great products, Easy to install especially with the wired harness kit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Slow like an old computer

Patrick from AUSTIN, TX on 8/27/2023

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was a great product while it worked. I purchased it about 4 years ago for my Subaru. Was a dream until about a year ago. It started acting like an old computer (slow to respond) and stopped connecting wirelessly to my phone. I found a multi-step way to connect to my phone, but it's hit or miss if the unit will render CarPlay. I called Crutchfield a few times and the folks are great but can't do anything about the issue. I've been waiting on a firmware upgrade for years. It's a bummer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Matthew from Albuquerque, NM on 8/20/2023

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted to be able to use Apple Car Play and other things but still be able to play CD's. It works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No product support for new phones

Crutchfield customer from PHOENIX, AZ on 8/19/2023

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Needed something secure for my jeep when driving without roof and doors. This was the only detachable face plate unit that had all the features I wanted and fits my car. Even though it was pretty expensive, I've loved my Pioneer HU's in the past so thought this was the perfect choice. All worked great until upgraded to an iPhone 14. Wireless CarPlay no longer works unless you spend 5-10 minutes redoing the set up each time your start the car. It seems that iPhone has a newer version of bluetooth that the Pioneer unit will not auto connect to. I figured no problem, I'll just update the firmware. Well Pioneer has no firmware update available. Very surprised by the lack of support in this price point. Can wait until it's totally bricked because of the SD card issue... I'm done with Pioneer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Decent until it completely breaks. Avoid.

Jordan from Portland, OR on 8/14/2023

2014 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For being the highest rated head unit on Wirecutter I was expecting so much more. (1) the audio quality is relatively poor in comparison to the stock unit it replaced in my Honda CR-V, (2) the wireless android auto is super flaky, requiring multiple connection attempts and randomly disconnecting frequently, (3) and the absolute cherry on top: after about a year and a half the unit died on me before starting a 20 hour road trip. Turns out there is a very common issue with this unit where the SD card that contains the operating system needs to be replaced after about a year or two. Of course Pioneer doesn't offer these SD cards, you have to buy one on eBay for forty bucks. Oh, you have an SD card at home? Well the image isn't posted online, except for the W4400 image which doesn't have the correct touchscreen driver so the touchscreen will never work again. Of course, the replaced SD card means that Maestro will never work again because the unit has a different address, so forget your vehicle controls integration. This is my least favorite technology purchase I have made in a long time, and I regret buying this unit in the first place. Save your money and get something that is going to be more reliable.

Pros:

Cons: Wireless android auto is very flakey--drops out whenever you are in an area with lots of wifi, like literally any city. Crashes randomly.

Crutchfield response on 8/16/2023
Jordan, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy and the 1-year warranty, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 4 found this helpful

San Bernardino

Arnulfo from San Bernardino on 7/31/2023

2016 Scion iM

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bad product, very dissapointed with this product, too expensive for what you get, one year and a half with the unit and all of a sudden screen blinks black and white, tried reseting it but didn't work!! Don' buy this product!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/2/2023
Arnulfo, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Defective product - gets stuck in a boot up loop

Grant from SN LUIS OBISP, CA on 7/31/2023

2014 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm being generous with 2 stars because when working it's a good product. Key word, when. This product has been known to fail outside of the Pioneer warranty window (1 year). What happens is it glitches and gets stuck in a boot up loop. The screen pixelates, then the splash screen comes up (sometimes pixelated, sometimes normal), rinse repeat until it powers down. It will not boot even after a factory reset. Yes, I tried. I had to take this to a local car audio shop to be sent into Pioneer for repair, which will cost $300-$500 not including the shops fees/shipping and take about 2-4 weeks. Pioneer doesn't know why, but they know how to fix it. It sucks they don't stand behind their product and Crutchfield doesn't provide any additional support. Generally, I'm very happy with Crutchfield but they should be pushing Pioneer to resolve this and stand behind it. I know you want this deck as did I, but now I'm out a bunch of money. If you just want CarPlay, get a cheaper deck, this one ain't worth the headache.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay, really boosted the performance of my stock speakers, nice screen size, easy to install for a novice (in a 2014 Mazda CX5), DVD player is fun, can customize splash screen and background image

Cons: Technical issues that have no resolution, resulting in an expensive repair, setting interface looks dated

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

2001 Corvette pioneer upgrade

James from Millsboro, DE on 6/6/2023

2001 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very impressed with this unit it provides the best of modern features and the sound quality is amazing. I highly recommend upgrading your system with this Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Pros: Crutchfield provides a beyond easy plug and play conversion so installation is a success .

Cons: The new console dash kit is a perfect fit and good quality but you would think for the money and the specific application it would match the existing console color and not need to be painted.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not worth the price

Antonio from St. Paul, MN on 6/4/2023

2006 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I would steer people away from purchasing this receiver. We've had it in our vehicle for about 3 years now and about a year ago it has started to freeze randomly while driving, go black while driving and then the final straw now was recently it had entered a boot loop that it couldn't escape. I will also say for the price you pay it's not worth how slow it is to go from source to source. Not impressed with this receiver at all considering we're doing basic things like Sirius radio from the phone and google maps from the phone. This is actually a pretty common problem with this model number where the internal factory SD card will fail. I was able to write a new SD card with a 4400NEX img file and got it to at least play bluetooth audio but the touchscreen doesn't work at all now. Thank goodness I didn't throw out the remote since that is now the only way to switch sources. Considering what I paid back in 2019 and what it costs now?! Someone is running around with a lot of extra money in their pocket.

Pros: Capacitive Touch

Cons: Response speed, durability, how long it actually worked correctly before eventually crapping out.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Erik from ANAHEIM, CA on 5/22/2023

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was great when it worked. Purchased and installed Jan 2020 and it died about a month ago after glitching out and not booting up properly. Seems like this is a common problem with this unit. Tried getting a new SD card to work but doesn't work my iDataLink Maestro for some reason. For what I paid, I'd expect more from Pioneer than 3 years of use. No way I'd pay even more for this unit at this time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/24/2023
Erik, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy and the 1-year warranty, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Jonathan from LEXINGTON, SC on 5/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2.5 years later, and I am just done with this unit. It has NEVER worked properly. Android Auto is full of bugs. Can't adjust volume. Some apps won't play at all. I've been a loyal Pioneer user for DECADES, but the last two head units from them have been awful. It's time to seek something else.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Don't buy

Cory from FRENCHTOWN, MT on 3/13/2023

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pioneer receiver that broke weeks after warranty expired.

Pros: Great features

Cons: Large, expensive paperweight.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Steve from Greenwood, IN on 3/6/2023

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very glitchy and it stopped responding to my usb car play. It just reboots on it own. I will never buy a pioneer. Like all things now your just paying for the name

Pros:

Cons: Bad quality and pioneer doesn't care about their customers

Crutchfield response on 3/7/2023
Steve, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or give you information on the 1-year warranty on this deck. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 7 found this helpful

Will improve you stock sound.

Sean from SAN JOSE, CA on 2/23/2023

2015 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome sound! Made my stock speakers sound amazing, but they are being replaced anyway. Screen interaction is slow at times but not a deal breaker.

Pros: Easy to instal Awesome sound

Cons: Slowish interface.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good but has flaws

Tim from Fultonville, NY on 1/2/2023

2020 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I Like the system but I am not sure why it has separate USBs for Android auto and apple car play .. so now I have to set up a second USB extension cable and hide it someplace in my car. Not a very good system for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it

Kindra from Mannford, OK on 12/23/2022

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer

William from Madison, AL on 11/28/2022

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As always, pioneer comes through with a great head unit. Apple wireless air play makes this worth it alone.

Pros: High quality head unit

Cons: Price..roll back 2-3 years and this unit would've been 500-600 dollars. Beautiful inflation.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Columbus

Garen from Columbus on 11/23/2022

2010 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had a pioneer radio and it was great so when I upgraded to the avh 4500nex, I was more than happy but just a little shy of 2 years it started to glitch. I called pioneer about it and they said they're warranty was a year and that there's nothing they can do about it. So now I'm down a lot of money for a radio I've only had less than 2 years. That's unacceptable. From doing research, this seems to be common problem. PIONEER STAND BY YOUR PRODUCT! In all fairness, when it worked, it was great but now I have to buy a new radio. Never pioneer again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

22 of 23 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

David from Wichita, KS on 11/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like it,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

VERNAL

Lou from VERNAL on 9/27/2022

2014 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As far as features, both the W4500NEX and the W4400NEX are decent units. Unfortunately, both are huge steaming piles when it comes to reliability. Pioneer decided to cheap out and put the firmware on bottom-of-the-barrel internal SD cards that fail and cannot be replaced without opening up the unit. Complete pain. Not sure if this is related, but Android Auto also got really buggy over time and would disconnect constantly on longer trips. I initially used Apple Carplay for the first year, and don't recall having any issues. Android Auto also seemed to work OK for my second year of ownership...from what I remember. As time went on, Android Auto starting acting up. Maybe it was related to the unit just getting older, exposed to heat, etc. Maybe it was due to a firmware update that Pioneer pushed out. When the internal firmware SD card eventually gave out and bricked the unit, I did some Googling and found out other owners are opening these units up and installing new SD cards with freshly installed firmware. I pulled the unit out of my truck and did the same. Only problem is wireless Android Auto no longer worked when I reinstalled. My phone was having issues connecting to the unit's wifi. I pulled it out a 2nd time and installed the earliest firmware version, reinstalled the unit, then updated to the older of the 2 firmware updates Pioneer put out. That fixed the problem. I'll try Kenwood or Alpine next time.

Pros:

Cons: Junk

Crutchfield response on

22 of 22 found this helpful

Do your homework and then get something else

Erin from San Juan Capistrano on 9/11/2022

2014 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, not so good. Got this unit last week and had it professionally installed. I have a constant brake wire message and the android car feature leaves much to be desired. Now, perhaps it's the install (I don't think so) but getting my cell to connect UNTETHERED has been a big issue. Finally able to get that squared, then via Bluetooth, I was only able to listen through phone speaker? It's so frustrating esp for someone like me who does a ton of research and homework before a big purchase. I just expected things to work like they're supposed to. Now I will take it back to see that they connected everything properly and I am sure my error messages are just that and not any safety issues. Bummer for sure. I should have chosen the Alpine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

joe from Ft Worth, TX on 7/29/2022

2016 Nissan Frontier PRO-4X

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Don't buy this! Just do a search for this model and bootloop. Happened to me as well. In addition, Android Auto does not do a good job of staying connected. Always disconnects at the worst time and there are certain places on the road that it disconnects all the time. I think it is due to interference? Just a very buggy product. The previous generation (W4400NEX) had the same bootloop problem. Also, there have been NO firmware updates as Android and Android Auto have had software updates.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/2/2022
Joe, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or give you further information about the 1-year warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

11 of 11 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Martinsburg, WV on 7/23/2022

2001 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product has been installed and is working flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

4500 system upgrade

Ryan from Ridgefield, WA on 7/7/2022

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing head unit. Excellent sound and quality. Excellent options for adjustments in any vehicle. Currently pushing a RFT400.4 and four morel tempo ultra 572 component speakers in my 2000 f250 Xtra cab. Tweets mount perfectly in the A-pillar up front and hide behind the Xtra cab door panel in the rear.

Pros: Excellent sound options. Great screen.

Cons: Does not come with back up cam.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Boulder, CO on 6/22/2022

2017 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Too many issues to be worth it. I had this professionally installed in our car. My goal was to have Apple UI in the car - NOT worth it. This piece of junk has so many errors and glitches, it's a constant frustration. Recommend looking elsewhere for a functional product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Solid

Mathew from Philadelphia, PA on 6/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great, swapped this into my car with minimal effort, and it connect right to my phone immediately.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Alison from POLLOCK PINES, CA on 6/12/2022

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not worth it. Terrible radio connection, can't hear anything but muffled sounds. never had an issue with my stock. Hard to swap between phones and get it to connect with apple car play. Disappointed with purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/14/2022
Alison, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 1-year Pioneer warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Grand slam

William from MOORE, OK on 6/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Basically it does everything your phone does. Combined with wireless Android Auto/ Apple Car Play it makes short work of anything you want to do from texting to maps. This unit is especially good for me because it plays CD'S and DVD'S. I had an Avic 5200 NEX prior to this model. Night and day. It's just that good. Wish I had purchased earlier. Installed in a 2015 Camaro SS/RS with the idata maestro kit. Previously used the PAC kit.

Pros: Everything it offers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Grant from Tracy, CA on 6/1/2022

2005 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit, very easy to use. Installation instructions well done!!

Pros: Great EQ. Great functionality throughout.

Cons: Dash trim kit had to trimmed to prevent face from rubbing during tilt. No big deal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Jason from West Chester, OH on 5/18/2022

2014 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit. It has all the features I want, is very responsive, and sounds great. I think it is a little pricey, which is why it's not 5 stars. But they are all very pricey right now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 5/13/2022

2004 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased in September 2019. The unit worked as expected when new. A little glitchy if regularly connecting through Apple Car Play with more than one iPhone, but overall good. Unfortunately, after a little over 2 years, the SD card became corrupted and the unit inoperable. No screen, no functionality, no volume control, no Car Play, only a single radio station that had been on before the SD card became corrupted. When I contacted Pioneer, I was told that they do not have firmware updates to replace the corrupted SD card. I would need to remove the device, send it in, and have it repaired ($200). It's frustrating for this to occur on a device that is this expensive. So, if you expect to change out your pricey unit every couple of years, its a fine unit. If you expect expense to equate with quality and that equipment to have some endurance, I wouldn't select this unit.

Pros: Crutchfield tech support Unit works well until SD card failure

Cons: Expensive for limited life of unit. Lack of Pioneer support

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Fantastic, feature packed, easy install

James from Gastonia, NC on 4/27/2022

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow. I really wanted wireless Apple CarPlay in my 2017 Toyota Tacoma with non-JBL sound system. I was having trouble tracking down what I would need. Crutchfield chat was able to set me up with everything I would need. I am really picky and wanted my system to look as OEM as possible and this ticked all the boxes. I was able to keep my backup camera, steering wheel controls but get the added functionality of Apple CarPlay. The head unit offers a lot of features that I'm still learning about and the icing on the cake for me was the INCREDIBLE customer support staff at Crutchfield. They were able to help me work through some relatively complex issues on the phone! It was so incredible. All in all I love this system and I'm already looking into installing a similar system in my wife's Camry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Brookline

Kevin from Brookline on 4/19/2022

2017 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased in October of 2019 and has been glitchy and not consistent the entire time but still worked most of the time. Then now the screen glitches out and then goes black and now will not do anything! So it will have to be replaced entirely! Not worth the cost even when I first installed it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Overheats

Guest from Frederick, MD on 4/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overheats and doesn't work when outside temps reach the 70s. Would not purchase again. Works during the winter. April through October I gotta use headphone with my phone

Pros:

Cons: Overheats and doesn't work

Crutchfield response on 4/20/2022
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 1-year warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

A waste of money if you're buying it for the features.

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 3/26/2022

2016 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Even though it took me two days to install it, I'd rip it out in a heartbeat if I could return it. I've been using it for several months now to get used to it, and unfortunately, it still sucks. First off, if you don't want to have to click on a nag screen every time you start the car, you MUST hook up the GPS, even if you don't ever intend on using it. The only way the GPS comes in handy is if you want to watch your videos on the front screen. Neither of the other options work for telling this unit when it's safe to display video. I know the break signal is wired correctly because if I ever make the mistake of disengaging the parking break before starting the car, a nag screen will appear telling me I wired it up wrong. If the parking break is set upon power-up, it doesn't tell me it's wired up wrong, but it still wont acknowledge when it's set. If a DVD is in the player, it's going to play it, end of story. It doesn't matter if you hit the Stop button before turning off the car, or if you're listening to the radio, it immediately starts the DVD so the next time a passenger is in the back and actually wants to watch the DVD, you have to skip around to find where it should have stopped. And if your unit is hooked up to Android Auto, then you can't use the SD slot to show movies on the rear TV.

Pros: Crutchfield support

Cons: Requires GPS antenna installed No way to keep a DVD from playing if one's inserted Can't use the SD slot if you're using Android Auto

Crutchfield response on 3/29/2022
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great... until SD card fails

Tom from Centerville, UT on 2/22/2022

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had the unit installed in 2019 and it was a little tough to get everything working. The wiring harness was a tight fit and I kept getting interference in my speakers. I was able to reinstall the head unit and move the wires around. I suspect a cheap wiring harness was sensitive to any pressure and was picking up the electrical in the car. Fast forward 2 years later and I need a new phone. I connect the phone to the system but it doesn't ever remember the device. I try clearing settings, but that won't fix the issue. Turns out the built in SD card write function has failed because the cards were cheap. This is well documented online. So now I have a wireless CarPlay receiver that only works wired. Works well, but Pioneer seems to be going cheap on parts. The thing won't last.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

terrible

Joe from REDDING, CT on 2/11/2022

2018 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Terrible user interface Terrible radio reception Returning

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/14/2022
Joe contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another receiver. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Stay Away!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Chalmette, LA on 2/7/2022

2017 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

SD Card failed within 2 years. Replaced SD card and now none of the Maestro features work. Known issue when replacing it causing this to be useless in my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Avoid This Headunit

Justin from Charlottesville, VA on 1/16/2022

2013 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Honestly I think 1 star is too high for this headunit. When this receiver works without issue it is good. However, when it does not, it is beyond annoying, and a major headache. This headunit has a major issue in my opinion, and that is it has a tendency to randomly restart when using CarPlay via cable. When this happens the sound will go out while the headunit is still on. After a few seconds, it will then shut down, and the screen goes black. Sometimes you will be lucky and the connection will re-establish. Other times you will have to manually power off and restart the unit. When that doesn't work you are left with having to turn off, and restart the vehicle. This issue isn't consistent as to when it happens either. Sometimes it can be weeks or days before it happens again. When it does happen, you may get lucky that it only happens once. I have had it happen multiple times in one trip. I have also checked Pioneer's site for a firmware update. But one has not been released. Based on my experience, I cannot in good faith recommend this item. Maybe I am being a little too hard on it, as when it works properly it is fine. Personally, I feel the bad far outweighs the good.

Pros: Nothing.

Cons: Has a bug where the unit randomly restarts when connected to CarPlay.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 12/26/2021

2013 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well designed and integrated with my Honda

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Valley Center, KS on 12/1/2021

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo

Pros: wireless car play

Cons: if you remote start the vehicle car play doesn't like to connect when you get in

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

What an upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/1/2021

2017 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This replaced the AVH-4200nex so most of this will be comparing the w4500 to the 4200. The w4500nex is a much better-looking deck. The picture is clean and bright, Gui is better laid out and faster, some audio settings have been moved, and easier to access, all RCA connections are on a pigtail plug, this makes it much easier to get the head unit in the dash, you can plug in your amps, cameras, aux, etc... to the pigtail and then plug that into the head unit.

Pros: wireless android auto

Cons: no second camera trigger

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/1/2021

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install works good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

So many features!

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, TN on 11/30/2021

2002 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product, glad I wait for this to come available. Has already improved sound with no amps, looks great in the car and easy to use. Can't wait to build on to this system and experience the rest of the features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Has all the features

Crutchfield customer from Branson West, MO on 11/30/2021

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in an 06 Chevrolet Silverado. The Chassis on this unit is quite large. Required some cutting of the back of the dash opening to make it fit. Just plastic trimming. The metal support does not need cut. Fits well and looks good. I couldn't get screen mirroring to work with my Google Pixel 5 which apparently is the phones fault not the units, but that's a big reason I wanted it so that's disappointing. Other than that it does everything it's supposed to and does it well. The best part is the android wireless. It connects very quickly automatically every time. I was pleasantly surprised with how well it works. As far as unit boot up times, I drive a diesel so I have to turn the key on and wait for the glow plugs for a few seconds before starting the truck. I think this confuses the unit sometimes as when starting, it shuts off the radio after initially turning it on when key is turned on and it takes sometimes longer than normal to boot up. Overall I think that aside from android wireless (which is AWESOME) you can get all the features of this radio for a couple hundred less. You're paying extra for the wireless capability and IMO it's worth it but may not be for some. I just wish the screen mirroring worked with my phone. If that worked, then this would be the complete package with everything I wanted.

Pros: Tilt screen for taller users, android auto wireless is flawless, Backup camera image is very clear and comes on instantly, Sound quality is great and highly customizable, Independently customizable boot up splash screen and regular background with your own images

Cons: Space is tight behind the dash. LOTS of wiring connections, Unit chassis is quite large, Dimmer is aggressive, dims before it gets dark enough on auto mode hard to see the screen when this happens, OTA radio screen is not laid out well, doesn't look very good IMO, Screen resolution is not HD, screen mirroring doesn't work with my pixel 5, safe use and park brake warning messages are a bit much and annoying

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Mechanicsville

robert from Mechanicsville on 10/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

spoke with Dante -had a lot of questions about changing out my RV system and updating. He took his time and gave a lot of good ideas to fit my needs! EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not bad actually

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 10/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit that is very full featured. Could be a little better when it comes to ease of use for the end user especially regarding Bluetooth and tbh a bit overpriced imho.

Pros: Features, sound quality and aesthetics

Cons: Sometimes drops Bluetooth connection for speakerphone and a bit overpriced

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Strasburg, PA on 9/13/2021

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

To many safety features.. enough power to run factory speakers . Didn't work with my steering wheel phone feature

Pros: Enough power for factory speakers

Cons: No mute. No turn off display. Small display.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 9/12/2021

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

fit my vehicle very nice !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Manti, UT on 9/12/2021

2020 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an awesome head unit!! Easy to use. Sounds amazing. I would highly recommend or even buy again.

Pros: Wireless apple car play is great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Massapequa, NY on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome unit , plenty of options, very user-friendly, customer service is the best hands down..????

Pros: Wireless carplay and android auto, display, features, user-friendly, easy hookup, customer service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Travis from Cyrus, MN on 9/7/2021

2010 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well with Wireless CarPlay, which is what we purchased it for. Functions are seamless and relatively easy to use. The graphics are a little clunky to go through the main screens.Really enjoy the updated vehicle info screens.

Pros: Wireless connection with full functions Integrated car details

Cons: Clunky graphics on main interface screens

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overpriced and glitchy.

Drp from NJ on 9/6/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I can't get this stereo to work right. It was glitchy at first, weird error box constantly popping up in bottom left corner but not able to click on it for info, it would freeze up, steering wheel controls work on and off with the maestro rr installed. After weeks of frustration I call cs...8 hours troubleshooting this setup on Saturday on and off the phone with customer service who was super helpful but I still can't figure out why this isn't working. After connecting wires as I should have done things were better. I lost steering wheel controls but the stereo seemed to be working perfectly. After 2 days of driving my jeep I realize it's not working perfectly. Freezes up, still no steering wheel controls. Volume buttons beep sometimes when using them and other times they don't. I cant understand what's wrong. I have reset the radio multiple times as well as reflashed the maestro multiple times and still not working. I will be returning all of it including parts that I purchased because Crutchfield suggested they were needed...but they weren't. (Making install a little more confusing with unnecessary parts) $933.98 that I want to just smash with a baseball bat haha

Pros: Android auto wireless connection when it worked

Cons: No steering wheel controls, error messages, freezes up, buttons not working randomly, inconsistent overall, glitchy

Crutchfield response on 9/7/2021
DRP contacted our Tech Support team for help. They'll either help her get the receiver working correctly or help her return it for an exchange or refund. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Suwanee, GA on 8/10/2021

2004 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent, sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

100 percent satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Sprngfld Gdns, NY on 8/8/2021

2012 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing product! Easy installation and beautiful fitment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Morton, IL on 8/8/2021

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love it

Rick from CIRCLE PINES, MN on 8/1/2021

2020 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This deck does everything my 71000NEX does and more, plus it's way faster. Wireless airplay is cool but I hate how it kicks in on every message when im playing off USB. So I just use airplay when it's plugged in now. It plays all the videos that the 7100 had on it and I can send the videos to my rear screens. Im very happy with this deck

Pros: MP4 video playback send videos to rear screens apple car play wired and wireless

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonky.

Michael J from PASADENA, MD on 6/25/2021

2017 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This started off amazing. After a few months, the Sirius receiver completely died and I tried swapping out new antenna from Sirius that didn't help. Now, after a year and a half, looks like a software glitch has broken it some more and of course it's no longer in warranty so that'll cost another few hundred to fix I'm sure. Beyond that, I loved the wireless android auto feature. There were occasional glitches where my car wouldn't connect or the steering wheel controls wouldn't work, but a quick "turn off the car and try again" sometimes worked. A little frustrating.

Pros: Wireless Android Auto

Cons: Glitchy

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Common Issue With SD Card Failure / Boot Loop

Henry from San Francisco on 6/22/2021

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

To be clear, Crutchfield has been nothing but great in their tech support response. The issue is purely with Pioneer and the device. If you search online for "Pioneer NEX boot loop" you will realize it is unfortunately common for these units to brick around the ~1 year mark. The fix is to disassemble the unit to access and replace the factory sd card with a new image file. Unfortunately, before you can even undertake this moronic exercise, you need to source the image file. The least Pioneer could do is acknowledge the issue and provide an option to send you a replacement sd card which would circumvent the turnaround time for having them repair it themselves. Instead, people are resorting to paying some guy in Russia for a replacement sd card. Either way, there is no quick repair option for what is a simple external device / software issue. Perfect timing for this summer's road trip!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Seems to get worse over time

Crutchfield customer from Ft Riley, KS on 6/22/2021

2007 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing started out GREAT. However the Android Auto (wireless) has continued to get worse with each use. There's no way to shut power off to the unit without shutting my truck off and opening the door. The center button only puts the unit to sleep. I'm not sure what is interfering with the head unit connecting to my phone (Note 9+) but it just gets worse. Also if AA isn't connected and I open the menu in the bottom left , tap my phone, and try to connect it NEVER works. I also continuously get a pop up when I first start my truck saying GPS NOT CONNECTED. That's happened since day 1. I bought and plugged in a GPS puck for that radio and it still happens (which I could care less about other than the pop up because IF AA actually connects it uses my phone anyway). o The EQ is alright. Took some tinkering but I was able to make it sound good enough. o The external USB plug in never recognizes my IPOD no matter how many times I have tried. o The radio leave a bit to be desired. It had a hard time finding stations.

Pros: o Android Auto Wireless o Bluetooth o Integrated with steering wheel controls for google assistant

Cons: o Android Auto Wireless connection is weak and sometimes nonexistent o External USB won't play IPOD

Crutchfield response on 7/6/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit. Easy to use, good quality. Great recommendation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Wimauma, FL on 6/7/2021

2015 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent Head unit, a great upgrade to the base radio. We now have all of the modern techs in a late model car.

Pros: Sounds great, Easy to install, Lots of modern tech

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Calvin from Morgan Hill, CA on 6/6/2021

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lasted less than 2 years. It was always giving me problems from the start with carplay. It would crash every time when using maps and now it won't even power on. Stay clear!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Wireless Android Auto

Crutchfield customer from Garfield, NJ on 6/3/2021

2009 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent radio. Works perfectly. Bought for wireless Android Auto. It switches on right away when me or my wife sit in the car. Install took a little bit doing it myself, but the end result is great! Installed with back up camera. Works as advertised. Would recommend!

Pros: Advanced features. Wireless Android Auto is awesome. No issues.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

The Best of the Best

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 6/3/2021

2004 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit does everything you could want and then some, with its multiple inputs and outputs it's highly customizable and one of the few on the market that still has HDMI input. Only 3 complaints: 1: Cannot pass HDMI through to rear seats 2: Does not allow separate rear and front seat audio (e.g. if you have rear displays only and audio running through the car speakers you can get separate front and rear audio) if your monitors have their own audio you can get around this issue. 3. You have to manually turn the backup lines on every time you put it in reverse. Otherwise a perfect unit.

Pros: Countless inputs and outputs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love the wireless carplay

Kevin from Mount Airy, MD on 6/2/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to use. Install took a while but the wireless CarPlay is what sold me. You won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Add another$100

Jon from Valrico, FL on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pioneer fail! Got stuck in boot loop after 15 months. Was told it was a corrupt internal SD card. Gonna have to be removed and disassembled to install new card. It is possible to do yourself but I gotta buy a card online for $50 or spend another $100 to get it from a pioneer retailer. Pretty sad for a pioneer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Broke after 14 months.

Stephen from NORRISTOWN on 4/25/2021

2016 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked well enough. Had connection issues at the same point on my drive to work every day and would drop android auto. Then after 14 months. It quite completely out of nowhere and just stopped functioning. There's no real fix now except buying another one.

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: Questionable manufacturing quality and reliability

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Eric K. from Delaware, OH on 4/19/2021

2007 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed this into my 2006 Acura RSX Type S and it came out amazing. Looks really good with the dash kit I also purchased from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

It works...sort of.

Crutchfield customer from HOLLAND, MI on 4/11/2021

2015 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a stock 2015 Subaru Outback stock head unit with this. We took a road trip from Michigan to Georgia looking forward to using the new stereo. It didn't go well. -The unit will randomly reboot itself. Particularly when using Android Auto. -The HD radio kicks in and out like crazy if the unit can't maintain a solid connection to the station. Extremely annoying when your music starts and stops. -The unit is extremely finnicky when switching from an Android phone to an iPhone via wireless. There were times when we were unable to switch between my wifes phone and my own. -The bluetooth connection worked...but only when the phone was within about 6 inches of the unit. Otherwise, it would occasionally pop up a poor connection warning. Keeping the phone in my pocket caused occasional issues. -I purchased the USB connection cord from Crutchfield to connect to the dual USB jacks in the center console of the Outback. These work for charging, but apparently you need a completely different wiring setup to get a hardwired connection to a phone. -The device does self dim when the headlights are turned on, but it really doesn't dim very much. It's still pretty bright when driving in the middle of nowhere with minimal outside light. I am planning on returning the Pioneer, and getting something that doesn't have HD so it doesn't jump between HD and analog, something that works better with the wired USB, and something that allows more bluetooth distanc

Pros: Maestro connection to steering wheel works well, and provides some nice vehicle info on the NEX screen Bright, easy to see screen

Cons: HD radio jumps back and forth to analog frequently Can't easily switch wirelessly from Android to iPhone Limited bluetooth range/connection issues Reboots randomly USB wired connection not working with Subaru Outback dual USB plug Dimming doesn't dim enough User interface seems overly complicated

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 3/31/2021

2008 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had it installed for about a week now, and I love it. I didn't see in the instructions that the GPS antenna has to be installed for carplay to work. After trying for a while, I figured it out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wireless connectivity

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 3/28/2021

2007 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my third Pioneer head unit that I have purchased from Crutchfield over the last 10 years. Each has been a step up and each one exceeded my expectations. The AVH-W4500NEX was everything I expected. The main selling point for me was the wireless connectivity with my phone. The only negative I have to say was that it requires Android OS 9.0 or higher. I called the help line and asked that specific question and was told that my S7 Active would work. It did work wired but I ended up calling the help line a second time and that was when i found I would have to update my phone

Pros: Wireless interface with Android is great

Cons: Be aware that you have to have an Android phone they is running OS 9.0 or higher. the S7 Active and not be upgraded

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Kutztown, pa on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Impressed, features, sq

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 3/25/2021

2006 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not bad for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Easthampton, MA on 3/16/2021

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using the android auto with my Samsung galaxy s20 ultra. Love it. Can use waze Google maps or the built in navigation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

3rd time's a charm?

Crutchfield customer from Colebrook, NH on 3/14/2021

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Time will tell. This is my 3rd pioneer unit. First one lasted 3ish years, 2nd one 2ish. Only explanation for my obvious insanity is switching it out is quick and easy. If this ones dead in 2 years I'm done, I promise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Camden, NC on 3/8/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfect in my 2013 Jeep, factory speaker sound great with this headset.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Quick arrival, looks good

Crutchfield customer from Potosi,%20MO on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Shipping is was very quick. Looks like a quality piece but won't know for at least 6 months

Pros: We'll see when it's installef

Cons: Should have come with a trim ring at least

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, RI on 3/8/2021

2004 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio overall. Occasionally has Bluetooth connectivity issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Gulf Shores, AL on 3/7/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgrade over Android based head unit. The radio is super easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Bryan from BIG LAKE, MN on 3/3/2021

2011 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great head unit! Love the wireless car play!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Summit Point, WV on 3/1/2021

2005 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with my new system. Will be happier once I figure out all the features. It is a HUGE upgrade over the standard system I had. Works flawlessly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic business

Crutchfield customer from River Vale, NJ on 2/26/2021

2003 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great customer service - very friendly. Fantastic range of products and the shipping was super fast. For me the icing on the cake is the follow up service - absolutely top class business

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo

Crutchfield customer from Los Alamos, NM on 2/21/2021

2018 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice stereo. Has wireless carplay. Plenty loud and quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 2/20/2021

2013 Hyundai Elantra GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice radio, really like the wireless Android Auto. Instructions a little vague but crutchfield helped.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

where is GPS?

Christopher from San Ramon, CA on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio receiver. Only wished it came with GPS mapping app. Providing the GPS antenna fooled me into thinking it came with GPS, and did not realize I have to use my phone GPS app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Guest from Brandon,MS on 2/5/2021

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a great product love the wireless CarPlay but don't like that the mirroring doesn't work for iPhone. ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 1/23/2021

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the head unit. Wireless CarPlay is a game changer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fort Riley, KS on 1/23/2021

2012 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything works great only thing I'm confused about is why it comes with a GPS antenna if it just uses the GPS function from your phone via CarPlay.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

James Alan from MINERAL SPRINGS, NC on 1/23/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well now. Crutchfield was 100% on helping me pick EXACTLY what I needed. This deck sounds amazing to the stock radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, OH on 1/22/2021

2018 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio, has alot of features. I got it for the Android auto, haven't had any issues with it at all. It's awesome having the maps and your phone right on the radio rather than fumbling around with phone holders trying to see the small screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield Rocks! Oh and the Stereo is AWESOME too!

Crutchfield customer from Kearney, NE on 1/13/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the life of me, I can't imagine why anyone would buy car audio products anywhere but Crutchfield. I received my product (with everything I needed for the installation because their website walks you through everything you need for your specific installation) and I have to say I'm impressed with both the product and the customer service. I had to call twice during my installation, both times were for reasons I should have been able to figure out on my own, but they were so gracious in their assistance. Never once did they make me feel even slightly incompetent for asking what I know now to be silly questions. The stereo is beautiful and intuitive. It has a ton of features and the wireless Carplay makes it worth every penny. The best thing is that it worked perfectly on the very first try. Buy with confidence. Even if you've never installed a stereo in your life, Crutchfield makes it possible for anyone. I couldn't be happier with the product or with Crutchfield.

Pros: Straight-forward installation and wireless Carplay.

Cons: It's not cheap but I'm a firm believer in getting what you pay for. I feel like this stereo stands up to its price tag.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Get this one

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/30/2020

2018 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is awesome.. flat out. Wireless Apple CarPlay works flawlessly and I haven't had any issues so far. I ordered the gloss black trim kit and the head unit almost looks factory. I opted to have everything installed by a professional due to the previous owner's wiring choices. All in all, if you're looking for a solid unit, look no further.

Pros: Solid unit, boots fast, Wireless CarPlay

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, IN on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good display and easy menus. Great buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cloverdale, VA on 12/16/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

received next day have not installed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Unimpressed

Guest from Charlestown, RI on 12/14/2020

2015 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you want to pay for features that you can not use then purchase this HU!! I purchased this unit for screen mirroring and to watch utube. I can not do either. If you are using a Maestro RR idatalink then you no longer have the option for screen mirroring due to the fact that you are using the rcas that are required for the hdmi adapter cable. The rca to hdmi adapter cable is something extra you need to mirror. The hdmi cable provided will only do sound but the hdmi icon stays greyed out even though the hdmi cable provided is plugged in. You use Iweblink in order to watch utube. Iweblink remains greyed out. The system itself has an awful lag time and the iphone takes longer than the stock radio to connect. You can hear almost a full verse in a song by the time it switches songs when you press skip. Overall quality of sound is worse than stock and it is drastically reduced when using Bluetooth. All other features work. The only Pro I received from this unit is that I now have Apple CarPlay. Installed in 2015 Tundra 1794 Ed w/ JBL. I haven't done a review on something in many years but felt the need to for this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cabo Rojo, PR on 12/13/2020

2000 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the second AVH I buy in the past three years but it is my thirtieth car radio...by far the best head unit I've ever had!

Pros: Still with the removable faceplate for theft protection.

Cons: Would like an additional dimming control for nightime use.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX in 2018 Highlander

Crutchfield customer from Willington, CT on 11/11/2020

2018 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love my new Pioneer car radio. Substantially better than the oem which came with my 2018 Highlander and the installed radio visually blends flawlessly with the dashboard. Installation went very smooth thanks to provided directions, UTube videos and a couple calls to Crutchfield tech support when I had questions. I now have Apple CarPlay and still maintain steering wheel controls.

Pros: Great sound, Apple CarPlay, visual dash integration and maintaining steering wheel controls and back up camera.

Cons: One thing I miss is the oem showed a compass in front of the dash and when using navigation, the next upcoming turn was displayed. This is the only shortcoming I miss.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fishkill, NY on 11/8/2020

2017 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice addition to my 2017 Accord. Has all the new bells and whistles I was looking for!

Pros: Fits perfect

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Practice makes perfect!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CA on 11/4/2020

2012 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installation was easy as advertised, but the initial setup for this unit seemed to be a little more of a headache than i thought. The radio is pretty straight forward but Android auto was somewhat of a nightmare to initialize. Im am no expert radio installer but this seemed to take a little longer than expected to pair device and the head unit menu is not as user friendly as i expected. Pioneer could of spent more time on the lay out and controls. What i mean is that you have to have owned a complicated radio before this unit to understand how to use it because the instructions make it seem more straight forward than it actually is. I would recommend buying this now that i am getting the hang of it.

Pros: Nice sound, ease of install

Cons: Menu layout needs work, initial setup not good!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Punta Gorda, FL on 11/3/2020

1995 Toyota T100

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product is Awesome! Still learning all the features relative to this device. This product was installed into a 1995 Toyota t100 ( with 320k ) , brought this old girl up to speed in this technical era. I love the option to remove the screen and secure it else where when you are not using it. Again this is Awesome!! A little pricey BUT you get what you pay for with this particular item. One thing I cannot answer is how long it will last, only time will tell.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wireless apple car play

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 11/1/2020

2014 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed and great value. Easy to set up, bought it for the wireless apple car play, and has been working flawlessly. Phone automatically connect when I get in the van, no issue with connection. Very nice screen, responsive and clear. Sound have been vastly improved over stock van radio.

Pros: Wireless apple CarPlay Beautiful clear screen Various options for sound

Cons: None sonfar

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dundee, IL on 10/29/2020

2010 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am enjoying the radio. There are a few ways that I would change the user interface (especially in a car) but that is always the way I am when I first use a new device. My only grip is that the radio only comes with a thin "quick start" manual rather than the complete 157 page instruction manual (only available as a PDF). I like to have a copy in the glove compartment.

Pros: Nice bright display. Good sound quality.

Cons: Can take several clicks to move from one function to another. Not good when driving!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Internal SD card fails.. beware!

Jason from La Verne, CA on 10/27/2020

2009 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Enjoyed this unit at first until it failed to boot up due to the cheap sd card pioneer decided to use! Had to repair myself for $50 or pay pioneer $200 as I was 6 months out of warranty.. regardless one would expect it to last longer than 1.5 years!

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: Cheap internal SD card fails!

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Manchaca, TX on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Paul D from BOSSIER CITY, LA on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good receiver, but should not be listed as a fit for Jeep Liberty. The screen needs to motor down to open, and as installed by instructions it fits flush in the dash and cannot open. So all of the functions that require the screen to open (CD, DVD, memory card, remove face) cannot be utilized.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Riverton, UT on 10/3/2020

2019 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super easy install! Took me a first time installer about 3 hrs and I love every minute of it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very pleased - GREAT radio

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 7/20/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am VERY pleased with the W4500NEX. My phone is sync'ed as soon as the radio comes on and CarPlay is ready to go. So much better than the hunk of junk Uconnect that came in my 2016 Jeep Wrangler. No issues at all with the radio, nor the cabling that came from Crutchfield.

Pros: Smooth operation, extremely fast connection to the iPhone

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Fantastic!

James from MADISON, AL on 7/14/2020

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome head unit! This does everything I hoped to do and then some. The display is very clear, looks like an ipad display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CA on 7/8/2020

2006 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This radio is awesome! Being able to mirror my Note 10+ to the screen so everyone can watch non-dvd movies is great. The detachable screen gives me peace of mind when parking in unknown areas where shady characters might not have any respect for other people's property. And Crutchfield put together an install and accessory package that's saved me quite a bit of money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Kellyville, OK on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect head unit! Just what I was looking for!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this radio based on key features and price. Wireless Android was a must. Once set up, it worked just like I expected. The SD card memory slot was also a key feature so I won't need to use CDs. Great idea. The sound is good. The Master Sheet needed some supplemental instructions and Nicole provided instructions that were spot on. Thank you Nicole. Great radio. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

So easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Centreville, VA on 6/16/2020

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great to a point. The wires were labeled clearly, hooking it up to the PAC RP4-MZ11 was really easy. The backup camera using the AXXESS AX-MAZCAM-6v was super easy and it worked without issue although the night camera is a bit grainy. The stereo works incredibly for what it is. There's an issue with Android auto and pixel phones working through the USB. We were able to get it to work wirelessly after updating the phone. Also, you can't mirror through iPhone or pixel, but that's a phone OS not working with mirrorlink. Also, some more info that I may have just missed when reading about it, it connects CarPlay/android auto through its own WiFi and it uses its own Bluetooth for text/call. That all being said, I love it!

Pros: Wires are well labeled, instructions are clear, everything worked perfectly with the correct harnesses

Cons: Has some limitations for certain phone brands

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bella Vista, AR on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a wonderful source unit! It has all the features I was looking for and many that I haven't thought of. Excellent sound and picture quality. I love the huge screen!

Pros: So many features!

Cons: A bit pricey, but you usually have to pay more for cool stuff!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 5/16/2020

2014 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound. A little difficult to maneuver, but very learnable. Remote control has many features not applicable.

Pros: Sound, features, wireless CarPlay.

Cons: Somewhat difficult to maneuver, remote control

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 4/29/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works good so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very impressed

Tad from Cleveland, NC on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had purchased a Kenwood unit of similar stature, and just unsatisfied with performance - crashing, lagging, etc. I was assured that it was not common for the unit (which I'm sure was true, Kenwood makes great products as well) but I ended up going with the Pioneer and couldn't be happier. Very intuitive and a lot of similarities to my old AVIC -D3 model. This unit is very responsive even when being pretty demanding through different sources. Handles my ipod classic just fine with no special cables - 6000+ flac tracks. Connects to android auto wirelessly with little to no issues, sound is very clear. Very happy. Crutchfield is an amazing company eager to stand behind their products and had this unit to me within 2 days. And gave me 14 days to return the Kenwood to make sure I was happy. You can't beat their customer service time and time again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

AVH-W4500NEX RESULT in 2011 CAMARO

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, OH on 4/20/2020

2011 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed this AVH-W4500NEX in the 2011 Camaro and the results are EXCELLENT. Pioneer and Crutchfield made the job extremely easy with the addition of the Master Sheet Installation instructions included with my purchase. The feature-rich receiver is and does more than I could have dreamed I needed. Added a back-up camera (also Pioneer) for a perfect combination of sound and sight.

Pros: Head unit installed easily into the RadioPro5 center plate and the back-up camera is nearly invisible. Installation was easy and only took a couple of hours with wires following stock pathway.

Cons: None...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 4/19/2020

2017 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

All stock buttons work and backup camera, Xbox in the glove box on HDMI, Movies on DVD, and wireless Apple Carplay, what more could you want! Ran the after market mic to the stock location and installed behind the stock trim! Perfect install super clean look!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer makes the best head units

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 4/2/2020

2007 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome stereo with everything you need for a great setup. six 4 volt preouts, 13 band eq, SD card slot, etc...

Pros: Great for people who want a nice stereo setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Terrible execution, lousy Android Auto experience

Nate from Tucson, AZ on 4/1/2020

2003 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've used a few Pioneers in my day, and this is one of the worst ever. From the top, the touchscreen is super slow to respond, if it does at all. And once it does, you often end up pressing something other than what you intended. Calibration is a joke. The screen does, thankfully, tilt upward if your deck is low in the car, but it only has a few customizable points. HD radio reception is pretty poor with given antenna. This split port business with Apple only working on one USB port and Android working only on port two is pathetic. Screen is detachable but such a PAIN to get it back on that it's not worth the time. My deck is recessed about ¼ inches in the dash and it's rather hard to line up. Android Auto is a whole different slew of problems. This deck insists on using wireless Android Auto, which does not play well with my S8 plus. Even if I tell it to forget the wifi network that the deck adds to your phone (without permission), it will come back and try to use it. I keep getting errors that the connection is not strong enough even with the phone 1 inch away from the deck. Checked for firmware updates but no such luck for this model. RIP. Avoid and go with a capacitive touch screen of another brand.

Pros: Screen size, good sound

Cons: Everything else. Terrible interface, poor touch screen, non-existent Android Auto

Crutchfield response on 4/6/2020
Nate, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

12 of 16 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 3/3/2020

2013 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Head unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Covington, VA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall great head unit. Why would you not get wireless Apple car play. Nav is overrated and with phones having that no brainer. Learning more short cuts, just a great unit. S/b in your mind when getting dd unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Pflugerville, TX on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Answered all my questions. Matched competitor price, arrived promptly, works great!!

Pros: All the features you need! Easy to install. Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 2/20/2020

2013 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio, excellent functionality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Head Unit 9/10

Jason from Grovetown on 2/12/2020

2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really nice head unit that works great for Apple play. I'm having some issues getting the miracast to work but I will figure it out. I like being able to access all of my music, select apps, podcasts, and audiobooks on the radio. Installation was easy for me, but I'm familiar with electronics. I'm a little disappointed that I cannot add custom backgrounds to the stereo, an option my 10yr old factory Uconnect will do. I decided after installing that my factory speakers needs to to be upgraded. This pushes harder than factory so my old speaker cannot handle the oomph. Oh, get a socket style USB so you can do a clean install on the USB attachments for Android/Apple play

Pros: Apple Play

Cons: Non-customizable background

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great, but quirky

Crutchfield customer from Suwanee, GA on 2/12/2020

2012 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I primarily use the wireless Apple CarPlay feature with this unit, so I don't really have any opinion on the Pioneer-made interfaces on this unit. They seem fine. But this unit is quirky, and I don't know if it's Pioneer's fault or Apple's. First, about 2 minutes after booting, the screen goes black and displays a message saying "No paired phones found", then goes away all by itself, yet the wireless CarPlay continues to function properly (this is more of an annoyance than a problem). Second, the unit occasionally goes to a black screen while navigating through the Apple wireless CarPlay, and will not respond to any input at all. When that happens, the only way I have found to reset the unit is to shut off the engine, open the door, then close the door and restart the engine (this is because my car maintains power to the stereo even after the key is turned off and removed, until the door is opened). It is extremely annoying to have to do this a couple of times a week. As of yet, Pioneer has not offered any firmware updates to this model, but I've told them about it through email (with NO response from them, mind you). On the positive side, it was easy to install (with the Maestro RR and the MUS1 dashboard kit), the climate controls work great (courtesy again of the Maestro RR iDataLink), and it looks great in my 2012 Mustang. Overall I love it, despite its quirks. The wireless Apple CarPlay interface works fantastic. And oh yeah, it SOUNDS great!

Pros: Looks and sounds great. Wireless Apple CarPlay is fantastic, nice to not have to plug in a USB cable for CarPlay. Boots from a cold start in about 15 seconds. The ability to angle the screen is a big plus.

Cons: Annoying "No paired phones found" message 5 minutes after booting (even though wireless CarPlay continues to work just fine). More than occasional locking up on a black screen, necessitating a reset of the unit. Lackluster Pioneer email support. No firmware updates yet released for this unit (as of this writing 02/12/2020).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 12 found this helpful

Installed on JK 2018

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 2/9/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Head Unit, it has a lot of sources to play. Very easy to connect trought Wireless Apple Car play. Perfet fit for any car.

Pros:

Cons: Sometimes the Subwofer output is not working and need tho switch off the Head unit. Kind of reseting the unit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Clark, NJ on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding head unit! Wireless Apple Car Play works seamlessly! The addition of SiriusXM tuner was simple and works great! It's only been in the car for a week but proves to be awesome in every aspect.

Pros: Easy to navigate, wireless Apple Car Play as well as Android Auto, customizable colors to match your dashboard illumination, pigtails with RCA jacks instead of the RCA jacks on the frame of the unit helps to install all the wires! Crutchfield's excellent customer service and tech support proves time and time again why they're to go to company for so many years!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Deck

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/31/2019

2001 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Been installed for about a week. So far extrememly happy with it. It immediatly sounded better than my old Kenwood. Love the Apple Carplay integration. It works great with my iPhone 7. Installation was fairly easy with Crutchfield's Ready harness. The hardest part was running the mic cable and GPS unit through the dash back to the head unit. Overall very satisfied with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great All-around Unit

Crutchfield customer from Burnsville, MN on 12/29/2019

2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far it works well and operates as it should. Scrolling up and down within the menus can be bit slow and glitchy at times but overall it works very well. Android Auto interface isn't as clean as I was expecting but that is likely an Android thing more than a Pioneer thing. I have also noticed that the "shuffle" feature doesn't seem to be on the ball when rifling through some 4000+ songs on a USB flash drive. After about two weeks of casual listening it has hit the same hand full of artists several times while leaving others completely untouched and repeating the same song within 10 songs. This may be the fault of my USB flash drive but time will tell as I purchased a new flash drive and will be giving it a try soon. Long story short, this is a good unit for the money and so far I'm happy with it.

Pros: Lots of customization, easy to understand controls, intuitive menu layout

Cons: Screen a bit slow at times, Android Auto interface could use some improvement, USB flash drive "shuffle" that might not be up to the task of sorting through an entire library.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/28/2019

2011 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A solid and reasonably intuitive unit. Wireless Apple Car Play is a great feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great system

Crutchfield customer from Port Tobacco, MD on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very solid sound system and easy to install. Extremely pleased with the purchase and recommendation from crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not the quality I would expect from Pioneer

Kyle from Buda on 12/23/2019

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my 9th pioneer reciever and the only one would not recommend. Issues ive had with this receiver are finger prints bad on screen. screen mirroring will not work with galaxy s8 or s9+. Ive tried hdmi and usb. Overall user interface is not easy for a novice user.

Pros: None

Cons: Unable to get screen mirroring to work. Used multiple hdmi and usb cables and Galaxy s8 and s9. Android auto will not auto connect or stay connected half the time. User interface not easy for novice users. FM antenna not as good as my factory receiver. Hard to clean and keep screen clean due to finger prints.

Crutchfield response on 12/31/2019
Kyle, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

6 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from N Chesterfld, VA on 12/18/2019

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great in my 2016 Rav4.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/17/2019

2017 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo with all the features!

Pros: Detachable face, independent subwoofer volume control, HDMI input, DVD remote controls

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very exciting - serious upgrade in my listening experience

Crutchfield customer from Needham Heights, MA on 12/17/2019

2005 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice does everything I need, excellent display and fit my vehicle perfectly. Very happy. Pioneer is always a good choice. I've only just started to explore and experience this unit - I am concerned about reviews I have read that suggest the Android Auto does not work consistently. However I purchased this unit since the majority of reviews were very positive and I have confidence Crutchfield will stand by its products

Pros: Install was fairly basic and the Crutchfield support and directions were great. Price was solid and the touchscreen + double din size fit seemlessly in my old 2005 Honda CRV workhorse

Cons: Tentative Android Auto function - nothing else at the moment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 12/16/2019

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent unit, works well with multiple iPhones, easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5/5

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 12/15/2019

2018 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic head unit. It's great having wireless Apple car play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

New Pioneer

Crutchfield customer from Paint Lick, KY on 12/14/2019

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice multimedia head unit. Wireless CarPlay was worth the upgrade

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Odessa, TX on 12/13/2019

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really like this unit after using it for a few weeks the only negative thing I have to say is the location of the detachable face slider is too far beneath the unit. Mine is installed flush with the dash and this button is impossible to reach. Thankfully you can make the unit fold open to detach the face but the problem is you have to slide the button to reattach it also. I had to take a credit card and slide the button while trying to reattach it. Pain in the butt. Really defeats the purpose of having a detachable face. Mine is installed in a Jeep Wrangler

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 6 found this helpful