Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
379 583 947 4
Connect ID #
379 583 947 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Panasonic DP-UB820

Panasonic DP-UB820 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB820-K

4.5 out of 5 stars
338 reviews
View this product
Panasonic no better than Sony

Dennis from APOPKA, FL on 2/2/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I received the Panasonic DP-UB820 bluray player for Christmas so I have used it now for about 5 weeks. In that time I have played about 20 UHD 4K movies. Of those two froze up temporarily during playback, but was able to get the disc to play after re-starting the disc chapter. Yesterday I played "Mission Impossible" 4K and it froze up several times at chapter 3 and in later chapters. It also pixelated and when play did resume, it had lost sound. This is the first time I had encountered this bad of a disc read problem. I called and talked to tech support at Crutchfield and they said to unplug the player and after a few minutes plug it back in and if that did not correct the problem then I can call Panasonic for one year warrantee service. Unfortunately, the "Mission Impossible" 4K disc continued to lock up, pixelate, and loose sound. The disc is new and clean so I tried it in my 4 year old Sony X800M2 Bluray player and it played flawlessly from beginning to end. Therefore the Panasonic player is not the great player I was expecting. The reason I got the new Panasonic player was it was said to not freeze up. My Sony player also freezes on some disc, but not as bad as the Panasonic has done. The Panasonic player is not as structurally sturdy or well built as the Sony player, which has a full sized metal case. The remote ia easier to use in the Sony player, as the Panasonic remote has an annoying positioned Netfix button that is too easy to accidentally touch. "

Pros: Excellent 4K and Blu-ray picture and sound Quiet operation Easy written instructions to set up (after disengaging the verbal instructions, which are of no help at all ) Remote range and power works well to bounce off projector screen and back to the player at back of room Boot up time is under 30 seconds Good on screen display info

Cons: Freezes up too many times, also pixelates, looses sound on one 4K disc that played fine on Sony player Remote is small, button layout is poor and not backlit Cost is more than comparable Sony 800M2

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Gregory from West Norriton, PA on 1/27/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A quality product that will enhance anyone's home theatre experience.

Pros: An array of outputs add to the flexibility of the unit.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Aiden from Louisville, OH on 1/9/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Too much plastic! Can I trade it for a P9000?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good machine

Michael from Black Earth, WI on 12/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great player and features for the price. I had been using my XboxS but I wanted Dolby Vision, ATMOS, and DTS-X capability. This brought it all in one package. The special pricing made it easy to buy. My C2 OLED doesn't do HDR10+ so Vision takes care of that. I backordered it and it only took a couple days to fulfill. The only reason for one star deduction is that most of the time when a new to the player disc is inserted, it says copyright violation. Ejecting the disc and returning it to the player gets rid of this message. I had one instance where it would only output 1080p but a complete power down of everything in the chain got it up and running. If the room is completely silent you can hear the transport but not while movies are playing. Picture quality is excellent even with standard DVD's so I let it handle the upscaling. There are a lot of menu options but the default settings take care most of it. I turned off the front panel display all the time since playing time is useless. The remote leaves a lot to be desired but functions fine. I don't use the streaming functions so no comment. I've been streaming for years with an ATV4k and thought that it was great. The picture from streaming is ok but the sound suffers. Playing The Matrix 4k, video bit rates are 80-100mb/s.

Pros: Solid picture, reasonable price, fast boot time and processing. Faster than an XboxS and adds Dolby Vision/ATMOS.

Cons: Copyright violation on new disc insertion, remote

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

R from Burton, MI on 12/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I knew that some DVD players were somewhat better than others.but this one was very surprising!! The picture was much clearer and incredibly sharp. Even the audio was enhanced far more than expected. It was very much worth the extra money and I am very happy to have made this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Best companion for a OLED TV

Joshua from San German, PR on 12/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This player is simply amazing. I had a Sony x700 before this and it froze, and had a few issues besides that. Also it didn't automatically switch between HDR and DV, this Panasonic does this and much more. DV movies look fantastic on my C3, HDR 10 content looks better than on the Sony. I have not had any problems with freezing like on the x700 so far. Regular Blu-rays and DVDs look fantastic as well. It does a very good job at upscaling then to 4k. Just be sure to properly set up your player depending on your current TV. Only "drawback" I can find with it is that it's a bit slow to read discs vs the x700, but it's not really noticeable once you get used to it. Also, the included controller is not that good, I find myself pressing the Netflix button frequently which stops the movie and takes me to the Netflix app. This is easily fixed by ordering a ub900 or ub9000 remote online which both work directly and have backlight.

Pros: Auto Switching to Dolby Vision Amazing upscaling for lower resolution content.

Cons: A bit slower than Sony x700 The controller is pretty bad

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Warren James from Rancho Cordova, CA on 12/23/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fast and perfect shape .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

John from Cincinnati, OH on 12/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Logic driven controls: turn off, door shuts, off. Makes regular DVDs slightly clearer on old TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Hard To Believe The Improvement!

Stephen from Palm Desert, CA on 12/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have 40 years under my belt inside the AV Industry, so I don't get "WOWED" too often anymore. Well, this BluRay Player has blown my mind! My 12 year old top of the line Marantz Player developed a glitch, fixed itself, but with that glitch in the back of my mind I started serious research into what players are made today. I fell in love with the Pana 9000, but I didn't want to spend that much. I read a great deal about this one, and with the Crutchfield beautiful Black Friday price, I took the plunge. I cannot believe how great the picture is, truly breathtaking, and I REALLY cannot believe the sound improvement, mind boggling. I have very fancy equipment and this player is just making my gear shine like never before. Absolutely phenomenal!!!

Pros: Everything except lightweight

Cons: Lightweight.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great blu-ray player

John from Williamsville, NY on 12/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Setup was a breeze. The player is connected through an Denon 4k a/v receiver. After the initial setup, the unit connected to my tv, detected all settings, and applied them for best performance. Upon inserting a 4k Blu-ray Disc, the television automatically turned on and switched to the correct input without the use of any remotes. Sound and picture quality are wonderful.

Pros: Super-easy setup Great picture and sound quality

Cons: No backlight on the remote.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worth it to me

Wayde Kenji from Auburn, WA on 12/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outright the best 4k/blu ray player I've bought, and best overall dvd, cd player I've had in years for under $500. Got it on a black Friday sale, so it was well worth it.

Pros: Functionality, style, quality build (for $500 and under), fast start up, picture quality.

Cons: Price is a bit steep at $500. If you can get it on a sale of some kind, it's well worth it. Remote doesn't light up (though you can buy one on Amazon that will work with it.)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great player, so far

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 12/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I needed an updated 4K Blu-ray player to go with a newly-purchased 4K television, so I read a lot of reviews. I have had experience with Panasonic Blu-ray players in the past (my primary Blu-ray player before this purchase was also a Panasonic). I've only had the DP-UB820 for a week or so but, so far, it performs beautifully. I'm very pleased with it. In the picture, the UB820 is hiding in the home theater cabinet (the glass door is normally closed, of course), sitting on top of another Blu-ray player (LG). Both players are connected to the receiver on the bottom shelf. The receiver is also new and replaced an older receiver that didn't support 4K video. On top of the cabinet sits the new 4K LG Oled TV which replaced an old plasma 1080p TV (Panasonic).

Pros: - great picture from 4K Blu-rays - unit has nice, clean appearance - responds faster to remote commands than my older Panasonic Blu-ray player - was easy, intuitive to set up and pair with the Denon receiver

Cons: - none yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Michael from The Villages, FL on 12/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

one of the few remaining with analog sound output, but with limited apps

Pros: analog output

Cons: limited apps

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Todd from Wyandotte, MI on 12/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Panasonic UB820 is awesome in every aspect. I immediately noticed a huge improvement in sound and picture and would recommend this product to everyone!

Pros: Great sound Great upscaling Easy to use interface

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Carmen from CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA on 12/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The 4K on this machine is out of this world. Not to mention the sound quality. I can't wait to watch all kinds of Holiday movies this season. 10/10 reccommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Al from Salem, OR on 12/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Plays beautifully, works as expected. There is a reason this is the primary 4K player you see recommended so often.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Keith from Cloverdale, IN on 12/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was extremely easy to connect. Also has options for the future. Typical Panasonic quality. After a week of use I find it as advertised. Now the big test, durability and longevity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Ron from P C Beach, FL on 12/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit exceeded my expectations. Match this player with a 4k tv and you will not be disappointed. We watched the first Avatar movie on a new Sony OLED tv with a regular blue ray disc and this unit upscaled it to 4k with no problem. The picture was incredible to say the least. This player loads fast, has great features, excellent sound and video, and as usual ordering from Crutchfield, you cant go wrong.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Best Option

Nick from Shelby Twp, MI on 12/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Since I already own this player, it was a no-brainer, not to purchase (on sale) this player again for my secondary room setup of a home theater system. I have the Bose V35 Lifestyle (5.1) which does not have a 4K pass-through but does have HDMI connections. The UB820 has a separate audio-out-only HDMI connection which easily connects to any of the Bose HDMI inputs for the player. Therefore, I use another high-speed HDMI connected to my Sony OLED. I utilize an optical connection for the cable programming. Although the Bose system is antiquated (10 years old), there is an improved signal through the use of HDMI resulting in excellent sound. In my opinion, the Panasonic UB820 surpasses any of the players made by Samsung or Sony (owned 4K players by both manufacturers). Many like to believe that you should use the same brand as the TV for the compatibility factor but my experience has taught me the contrary. This player has been the best 4K player I've ever owned. The picture and sound quality are superior. I like to thank Rhett of Crutchfield for his guidance and the early delivery date for this item was on back order.

Pros: Superior picture and sound quality of 4K signals.

Cons: Plastic housing not metal. The problem with registering the player with Panasonic for warrantee is still not registered.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Stunning.everthing described and more!

Christian from Tampa, FL on 12/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As expected, Crutchfield's review and recommendation was spot on! Upgraded from an entry level Sony 4K player to the DP-U820 to take better advantage of my Sony XB900 TV. Why did I wait so long!? After an intuitive and quick setup, the difference was immediate and stunning to say the least. Simply blown away by the difference in picture quality and color, not just with 4K but with my standard BluRay as well. It pulls out details, color and contrast with precision. Also enjoy the quick load time feature and the plethora of options with the settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Player, Noisy Drive

Crutchfield customer from SEATTLE, WA on 10/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The disc drive is loud, especially when playing 4k UHD discs. I sit 9 feet (~3m) from my player, and I can hear it in the background during quiet and moderate sections of the movie. This replaced a Sony UBP X800 based on the tone mapping, optical audio out, and automatic HDR mode switching. I'm tempted to go back to the Sony with it's older video processing just for some peace and quiet. I'm surprised that the Panasonic is so much louder, especially given the significant price difference. If Sony figure out how to automatically switch Dolby Vision on and off I'll probably pick up the X800M2. For now, this unit looks great and has all the features I'm looking for.

Pros: Video quality, HDR/Dolby Vision switching, 7.1 channel audio outputs.

Cons: Noisy disc drive, cheap remote

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

William from ROUND ROCK, TX on 9/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up great pic and sound

Pros: Easy set up great picture sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent performance at a palatable price

George from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 8/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beyond expectation, movie dialogue is crisp and clear and critical DVD listening exposed nuances that my Sony 850 never revealed. Thanks Zack for the suggestion Paired with Marantz 7015 and definitive technology Demand speakers

Pros: Dialogue Musical nuances

Cons: I didn't buy it sooner

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

excellent picture and sound

edwin from york haven pennsylvania on 8/21/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this panasonic it works very well the video is good and clear with nice audio output isexcellent so i would recommend it

Pros: all around is very good 4k player

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Nathan from Cleveland, TN on 8/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got it as a scratch and dent and couldn't find any flaws. Great picture quality as well as sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Impressive!!!

Vincent from CENTRAL, CA on 8/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I use it with a 4K pass through receiver (Onkyo TX-NR 7100) and my 4K UHD Sony 85in LED/LCD TV with AudioQuest Pearl 48 cables. I use it with just the default settings. The images are outstanding and the sound is superb!! This is the first 4K UHD Blu-Ray player I have ever used without freezing issues. I watched recently "Top Gun Maverick", "Shazam: Fury of the Gods" and "Ant-Man Wasp Quantumania" all in 4K UHD. I gave up on my Sony UBP-X800M2

Pros: It Works Well, fast loading

Cons: For the price, the remote could have back-lit buttons.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Jonathan from Bend, OR on 7/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

may have just been a faulty unit but i returned mine. the interface hada horrible lag mad it unusable. picture and sound menus all amazing. the lag was a dealbreaker though

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/1/2023
Jonathan contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Don from Bellingham, WA on 7/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great video and audio

Pros: outstanding taking blue rays and streaming like Netflix to four k

Cons: slow to boot

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for integrated amplifiers

Brad from Ashland, OH on 7/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This player is a good choice for those who use integrated amps or separates. Selectable multichannel analog outputs and dynamic range compression. Great sound and picture quality. The player does the heavy lifting that an integrated amp can't do, normally handled by an A/V receiver. Excellent service from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons: Player won't send audio through hdmi and rca outputs simultaneously. You have to choose one or the other.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing player, iffy packaging

Adam from Livermore, CA on 7/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Huge upgrade from watching 4K Blu-rays on an old Xbox One X. Video/audio quality are amazing, and set up was incredibly simple. Bought a scratch and dent unit which is in mostly okay shape, more scratches than I would've thought, but since it's in my entertainment unit it doesn't matter too much. Was a little surprised at the packaging though, Crutchfield clearly tried to reuse the original packaging, but for whatever reason the unit wasn't securely held in the styrofoam inserts, so the unit was flopping around inside it's own manufacturers box when I opened it. Nothing seems to be broken and the unit seems to work fine, but I will need to test it further to make sure nothing was damaged in shipping, so 4 out of 5 stars for that reason alone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Blu-ray Player

Crutchfield customer from Herriman, UT on 6/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We have only had this player for a short while but my wife and I have already noticed that the picture quality of older DVD's especially is much better with this player. Sound quality is better as well. Overall, we are very pleased with this purchase. We are especially pleased with how sharp the pictures are for night scenes or landscapes. We are getting older, but our eyes work just fine and this machine makes our older DVD's (we have about 400 DVD/Blu-ray discs) sharper and easier to watch. Well done Panasonic (and especially Crutchfield)!

Pros: -Very fast response times (from insert to play, etc. This is a tremendous pro in my opinion) -Hefty and well made (considering its mostly plastic) -Easy setup -Video and sound quality second to none! -Well worth the money -Plays all DVD's and Blu-ray discs without freezing (our old player froze on approx. one out of every 10 discs.)

Cons: Minor Complaints - The remote is small and slippery. I wish it was easier to hold onto (a bit rubbery) and a little larger. -Also, it would help if it was backlit. -The NetFlix button was smaller and in a different place. It is easy to push it when you don't want to.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Brian from Ketchikan, AK on 5/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent 4K Blu-ray player. Bought it to replace my UB420 which had been having issues with certain discs having horrible pixelization problems. This was able to play the exact same disc with no issues. On top of that, discs load up much more quickly than my old player, so there's no more waiting to start a movie. It uses the same remote as the UB420 - it would have been nice if they included the backlit remote their $1000 player comes with, but since I got this for under $400, it's not really a ding.

Pros: Loads discs quickly Has a front display Seems to be better at playing certain titles than lower end models

Cons: Same basic non backlit remote as lower end models.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Mr De Jesus from Puerto Rico on 5/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used before this player a Sony x800 4K player and the difference is noticeable i tryed movies that were dark like batman venegence and with this player it looked way better and vivid

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

John from Berkley, MI on 5/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great Blu-ray player

Pros: picture quality

Cons: remote flimsy, not backlit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

much-needed upgrade

Dan from Lynchburg, VA on 5/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced an early version of Panasonic's Blu-Ray player (about 15 years old); I haven't begun to take advantage of all the extras on this unit but the first Blu-Ray disc played was superb. I didn't realize what I had been missing. Looking forward to checking out the extras in the days/weeks ahead. A decided upgrade!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

SUPER 4K BLU-RAY DVD PLAYER

Jane C from Greenfield, MA on 2/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit gives a superior picture with very brilliant color and picture quality. It is the best DVD Player I have ever had and definitely the most expensive for home use. It is well worth the money if you are into watching movies. This unit can be used as an amplifier as well. and will play any music CD. I have a fantastic older amplifier I purchased from Crutchfield Electronics in 2013 that I am still using today and I have an exceptional surround sound system with 5 speakers and subwofer that is also many years old but still gives me superior sound. I highly recommend this DVD player to any one who loves the best

Pros: Superior quality for the money

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

"Top Gun"/Panasonic

Richard from Hudson, OH on 2/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Finally a 4K player that plays Top Gun Maverick all the way through. Thanks to Crutchfield's "Top Quality Employees ", I can sit back and enjoy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Darren from Drummond, WI on 2/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is a great player that supports all of the major sound settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great player

William from Greenville, SC on 2/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just received and wow what a picture. Certainly its only as good as what it's fed. Give it a good Blu Ray DVD and a nice 4K TV and you will get an amazing viewing experience. Very sleek and stylish. Recommended!

Pros: Superb resolution and player Quality feel Great fit and finish Small footprint

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Daniel from PHILADELPHIA, PA on 2/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this to replace an almost 6 year old Sony ubp-x800. The difference in image quality is immediately apparent. Ran the first 3 Mummy movies in 4k bluray and they have never looked or sounded better. Keep in mind I'm running this on an earlier Sony xbr55x850d. To get maximum value and performance i would advise to get a newer Tv as well which i will be doing next.Comes with a quick start manual. I advise downloading the full manual to avail yourself of the numerous configuration options. I've heard a few complaints about the remote. I have no real issue with it. People with big fingers might click on the Netflix when trying to hit the arrow up. I love how careful Crutchfield is with packing electronics. When you order from other retailers, they frequently mail electronics only in their original packaging, which means frequent damages and huge vulnerability to package theft. No such issue here. Plus with Crutchfield you have access to genuine informed and educated and friendly tech support. You certainly won't get that with other retail consultants, as they really do not know much if you try and hold a tech conversation with them. Had an other retail store associate 4 years ago rave about how good this Hitachi set was. I knew better. It was a TCL with the Hitachi name on it, but more expensive. More margin for them.Stick with Crutchfield. They will NEVER steer you wrong .

Pros: Image quality Numerous configuration options Wide TV and format compatibility Detailed full manual if you download it which I recommend doing.

Cons: No gamebreakers here. Remote could have been a little more sturdy and beefy. People with large fingers will find it annoying.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worth the premium price

Michael from Levittown, PA on 1/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Panasonic is worth the higher price than basic players. I first purchased the LG UBK90 which struggled with errors on some 3 layer 100 gig discs. The Shining was a clear example. This Panasonic plays everything flawlessly, which is the way it should be. If you've invested in a nice home theater, definitely don't skimp on the 4k blu ray player.

Pros: Plays all 4k discs without error. Actually has a front display. Great upconversion of 1080p discs.

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Joseph from Leland, NC on 1/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Top Gun Maverick is outstanding. Just installed the player, cardboard and plastic still all over the place and I am now preoccupied with watching the movie. So far the picture is beautiful and the ATMOS sound is amazing. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Christmas Gift

Christopher from Portland, OR on 12/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this for my 13 year old son to round out his basic 5.1 system and introduce him to a lifelong enjoyment of movies and music. The same upscaling chip for video as the flagship DP-UB9000 makes this player a great deal for movies especially when it periodically goes on sale. A downside to the player is the folding front panel that hides the tray looks and feels cheap and is likely to break over time.The build and feel of this player just feels low quality. I'm disappointed that the only options for physical media is either cheap or overpriced high end with nothing in a happy middle space. I miss the days when you could buy an exceptional Oppo for a very reasonable price.

Pros: Same video processing as flagship DP-UB9000

Cons: Cheap feel and look even at a lower price point. Folding front panel very cheesy and fragile.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Need to be connected to TV to listen to CDs

Scott from ALEXANDRIA, MN on 12/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Still have not used with TV. Probably going to work well. I was planning on using with headphones until I get the entertainment center, but can't use the RCA connectors to listen to CDs without being hooked up to TV to control what connections are working. Don't like the full front door you need to open to change disk, Blu-ray or CDs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

A great, heavy duty 4K HDR Blu Ray Player with very few downsides

Ian from WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA on 12/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a serious 4K Blu Ray player. It certainly fills the void that Oppo left in terms of image quality. (I highly recommend a calibration disc if you invest in this player and, I'd assume, a first-rate TV or projector to really get the most bang for your buck in terms of image.) Even right out of the box, you'll likely notice its improvement over your previous player-I did and I already had a pretty great 4K player (2019 Sony). Anyone familiar with Panasonic's Blu Ray players knows that there is a granular level of adjustability in terms of picture, sound, etc etc. This is admirable-they really put a lot of power in your hands that most companies seem to automate. It's also a little daunting and can be confusing given that many of these controls are also adjustable on your TV itself. (All the more reason to do some sort of calibration.) Disc loading is quick and once playing discs, you'll be truly impressed, whether with the upscaling or treatment of native 4K HDR discs. This player is a bit expensive but completely worth it.

Pros: Tremendous player with major processing power ; visuals-both upscaled and native 4K-are among the best I've seen at a consumer level ; easy setup and lots of customization

Cons: The remote could be designed better (the Netflix button is in a clumsy place) ; the streaming services (Netflix, Amazon, YouTube) are very limited-Panasonic could really expand these

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Todd from Puyallup, WA on 12/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing video from bluray to 4k.

Pros: May have over spent for my screen for now but this is amazing!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Robert from Brecksville, OH on 12/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

4K Video is wonderful. Analog audio output outstanding for DTS bluray discs and music dvds. I use the panasonic optical audio output to allow use of my MX135 A/V control center dolby digital output. The A/V center also has an output mode that creates an effect of a Night Club in surround that I use for jazz and blues cds and dvds. Also use with high resolution recordings via the usb input. Very happy with the audio performance.

Pros: Performs well. Price was fair.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Luis from BRADENTON, FL on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My previous player was an Oppo BDP-103; however, I sold it a few years ago when we moved into a new home. Ever since I sold it, I regretted my decision... well, until now! The DP-UB820 provides a fantastic 4k image! I don't have the Oppo to compare it to, but the image from this player does not disappoint and puts a smile on my face each and every time I spin up a disk! The menu system is relatively easy to navigate; however, to take full advantage of the image quality that this player can provide, there are various default settings that need to be changed as well as a couple of hidden options. I won't go through them here as there are various YouTube videos that you can follow, but once set, you will see the difference. I'm not a fan of the glossy finish and full length disk tray door, but most players have gone this route, so it's more of a general opinion than a con for this otherwise fantastic player. After spending several weeks with the DP-UB820, I have zero cons with the player itself... the audio / video quality the player provides is simply stellar! When on sale, don't wait... grab it before they are sold out! Highly recommended...

Pros: Fantastic image and sound, relatively easy to navigate menus.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

gteat 4k player

Lawrence from Dunedin, FL on 12/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great unit. picture and sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alf

Ahmal from Cntry Clb Hls, IL on 12/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced this player with the Oppo 203 it's an exceptional player I think better than the 203 on video does a really good job of up converting DVD , highly recommend this player.

Pros: Great price point got it on sale great up conversion of DVD great 4k video..

Cons: No zoom no sacd .

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

This player on a new Samsung 900a 8k TV

Thomas from Burlington, IN on 11/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Paired with my Samsung 900a I'd hoped for a better result. I have a 2016 Samsung curved 4k dvd player that was fantastic with the LG Oled but after multiple panel burnouts and a lot of money down the tube I switched to the Samsung 8k. It has a nice picture with cable and streaming but with this DVD player its subpar also. I've adjusted all the settings with little results. My recommendation would be to use this with an Oled if possible, I imagine it would be spectacular. Maybe there's something wrong with this new TV too, I got this on sale, would definitely buy now if you're going too. Also would like to say that the staff here at Crutchfield are excellent, been buying here almost 20 years and wouldn't go anywhere else. If anything new comes up with this problem I will definitely add the results here. Happy hunting!

Pros: Price, sturdy construction

Cons: Subpar picture on this television

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Patrick from Langley, WA on 11/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent video and audio works perfectly with my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beautiful and Easy

Dawn from Tucson, AZ on 11/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Set it up with a Sony 4K TV and an ordinary HDMI cable. Images are beautiful and set up was very easy. Highest quality remote I have held in years. I ordered a high quality and speed HDMI cable - can't imagine how it could improve. Some people complained about how slow the player is to start up. There is a "Quick Start" setting that is off by default. I turned it to on and found that the player starts fast enough for me. It does use more energy in standby/off with this setting, but since I turn off the power strip after each use, not an issue for me. But that also turns off the surge protector, which some may not want to do. We rarely have power surges or failures where I live, so I prefer to take the risk.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Slow as Molasses

Old School from Parker, CO on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Like many people, I bought this (2019) because Oppo players went away. I far as I can tell, the picture is great whether using Blu-Ray or 4K discs. My problem is that is as slow as molasses when you turn it on, open/close the disc drawer, etc. Even previous far less expensive Sony DVD and Blu-Ray players were faster. If I was buying anew, it wouldn't be this one.

Pros: great picture

Cons: amazingly slow

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Julia from Thornton, CO on 10/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic picture and sound with 4K UHD and blu-ray movies. A little noisy disc operation and looks and feels cheap for it's price. Will not play many older Blu-ray Discs that played perfectly on my Sony X-700M. Panasonic service may as well be nonexistent, nearly impossible to reach a human for assistance and once you do they know almost nothing about products other than what manual contains. They do not make it easy.

Pros: Best picture and sound when it works.

Cons: Poor build quality for the price. Fussy with discs it will play.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sorry I bought this unit

Jeffrey from DORCHESTR CTR, MA on 9/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Brought this to replace a 5 year Sony USony UBP-X800 ultra HD player which developed some software glitches. I had high hopes for this Panasonic. But, I found I am unable to view any Netflix content. I get the following message- "This content can not be displayed because your TV does not support HDCP 2.2." Now the Sony never had this problem. The Panasonic is connected to an Ultra high definition Denon surround sound system and connected for now to a Samsung 2k plasma (which I love but realize I will eventually have to replace-thus the 4k compatible equipment. Again, though the TV is 2k my other ultra HD player still displayed Netflix in 2K.

Pros: great sound and quality playing disks

Cons: says it streams Netflix, but will not for my setup and with no mention in the product discriptions

Crutchfield response on 9/27/2022
Jeffrey, we're sorry you're disappointed with your Blu-ray player. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 4 found this helpful

Super Blu-ray Player!

Paul from Yorktown Hts, NY on 9/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This machine plays just about any audio or video medium you can think of with the exception of SACD. It has more features than any Blu-ray player out there including a USB player for digital music files, access to most streaming sources and separate hdmi ports for audio/video or just audio. I would have given it five stars if it played SACD but that's the only drawback.

Pros: Versatile and easy to hook up.

Cons: Doesn't play SACD

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

R Joseph from Troy, MI on 9/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is pretty much plug & play. However, for 4k UHD video, you MUST use at least a 4k high speed HDMI cable. A standard HDMI cable will function, but the player will inform you that you will not have 4k UHD. If you're going to buy this player, don't skimp on the cable.

Pros: Plug & play

Cons: Small front display

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic DVD player

Steve from Athens, AL on 8/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The colors and clarity of the 4k dvds are stunning. It is very simple to set up and have the Dolby Atmos audio sent to the receiver. The test dvds so far have been outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

VERY GOOD PLAYER

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MA on 8/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this Blu-ray player to replace my OPPO 203 model. The picture quality in this unit is excellent, very sharp image with deep colors. The PANASONIC DP-UD 820 also has 6 different audio "digital tube sounds" settings to add to the surround sound settings, and the sound settings are very enjoyable. You really get a lot for your money and without compromise.

Pros: Small unit. Has everything you need and more to enjoy a movie at it's best.

Cons: None to speak of.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

very unhappy

Daniel from ASTORIA, NY on 7/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The menus are extremely clunky. There is no subtitle button on the remote to toggle them quickly (yes there is a CC button, but NO it does not toggle the subs on and off... I'm not sure what it does, there's a whole separate menu section for closed captions which seems to be entirely different from subs on bluray). The sound and video are sometimes out of sync, and the player provides no way to delay the video. If the video is ahead of the sound, you are screwed. I am most likely going to return it.

Pros: excellent video quality, switches to Dolby Vision mode automatically.

Cons: Terrible interface, audio sync issues

Crutchfield response on 7/19/2022
Daniel, we're sorry you're disappointed with your Blu-ray player. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Paul from Lancaster, OH on 7/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

it has very good sound and the picture is grate i have plade both cds and dvds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Annoying bugs

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood DE on 6/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a fine player. Since OPPO is no longer making players I went for it. Very satisfied with playback very unsatisfied with annoying bugs that an online search reveals have been around for years yet Panasonic can't be bothered. The worst is having the Control panel icon stuck on tv screen and/or remote functions like pop up menu not responding. This is beyond annoying. Research yourself before buying. Purchased April 2022.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great

Frank from Maywood, NJ on 5/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a great machine.I've noticed people that wrote reviews are complaining that the remote control doesn't have a button for subtitles but I found the button. It's called CC for closed caption. That's the subtitle button. This machine is the best 4K player on the market

Pros: Picture quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Quality player

Thomas from Cleveland, TN on 5/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This 4k player was easy to set up and performs well. So far, there have been no freezes or hiccups playing 4k discs. Having the automatic Dolby Vision feature made this an easy choice over the Sony players. The factory settings for audio and video seem to work just fine, although I did have to tweak the audio sync setting a bit. The build quality seems pretty good, although not Oppo quality. The number of apps available is very limited, but most folks will use an external box or smart TV. Other Panasonic products I own have had great reliability, so I expect this to be the same.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic

Matthew from Abingdon on 5/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best picture quality hands-down. I had an Oppo 203 and you saw artifacts always crawling across the screen, and elevated black levels. This thing rocks. I do wish it had a zoom feature like the 203 for older content. Other than that this is a real bargain at 500.

Pros: Outstanding picture and sound.

Cons: No zoom feature.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

James from Beaver Dam, WI on 4/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product is very easy to install and use. Also, it will read and play the old-school DVD's (80's and 90's movies) as well as the newest Ultra HD Blue-Ray's. Very nice and compact.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Paul from Pr Frederick, MD on 3/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade for my failing Sony N460 Blu Ray Player

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Bruce from Cedar Rapids, IA on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to setup, and the video match with OLED is fantastic.

Pros: Easy to setup.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty good so far.

Bill from Harriman, TN on 3/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good. I do like that it retains your spot on the DVD even when the power has been disconnected.

Pros: Easy to set up, great picture.

Cons: Haven't found any as of yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Kenneth from Tucson, AZ on 3/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

OMG, the 4K picture quality is amazing!! I had a Sony player without all of the HDR processing I can clearly see what I've been missing!!

Pros: So far, I'm loving everything!!

Cons: Nothing!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Leslie from Frisco, TX on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent quality and easy setup. Great addition to our media room setup

Pros: easy setup, quality of screen output

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Blu-Ray Player

Michael from Jacksonville, FL on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nothing bad to say. The picture is pristine. It does exactly what it says. Get it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Deeply Disappointing: High Tech but lacking basics

Crutchfield customer from TRABUCO CYN, CA on 3/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am deeply disappointed with this product and you may disagree with my reason. But here it is: it is missing one of the most basic and most used functions. You can't turn Subtitles on/off with one or two clicks on the remote while watching a movie. It requires to use 4 different button with like 8 clicks while watching in the dark. Take a look at the bottom of any Netflix or Prime Video streaming movie and will find Subtitles accessible with one/two clicks. My 10-year old Sony player can do it with on click. Subtitles is one of the most used functions by most users - by far. A total miss - Panasonic! It doesn't matter how high end a player is or how many unimaginably complex functions it offers, if it can't do the most basic and most used things easily then its worthless! This Player's Remote has advanced functions most users won't use in a million years, but no Subtitles. It's Like setting a very lavish wedding and just forgetting the wedding dress! Deeply disappointed with this product and lack of thought! I emailed Panasonic customer support asking about this and it took them 40 days to respond saying no. This is after spending frustrating weeks reading the manual trying to figure it out. Wish Crutchfield said something about it. Now I can't replace with a player that does better than this. 2 stars in my book. If you don't care about basics and care about rarely used mumbo-jumbo features and deep dives into complex menus, then it can be different for yo

Pros: High Tech; plays 4K well. A huge menu of features and functions.

Cons: Missing most basic features like Subtitles on/off. Remote is not back-lit. Menu complex to navigate. Pay for functions you'll never use. Expensive because of complexity not functions of value to user. Tinker with it and you're more likely to screw up the image than improve (complex). Scaling up some HD discs rendered weird images. Product not well thought-out!

Crutchfield response on

15 of 25 found this helpful

Excellent DVD Player

Frank from Williamsburg, VA on 3/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have an OLED 75" TV and I have been watching Game of thrones in Blu-ray ultra and this unit play it beautifully, it is almost like I can touch the mages. An excellent product highly recomended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfection achieved.

Jeff from Santa Monica, CA on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect price point. Excellent performance. Great customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far, so good with caveats

Joe from Brooklyn, NY on 2/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had it only one week and so far, so good (sound and picture quality). Takes a little time to boot up each time you turn it on, and the menu setup choices can be overwhelming. I wish it wasn't an either/or situation on the audio (HDMI vs. analog out); would be nice if you could hear Blu-Ray/DVD audio through the TV as well as stereo, but Panasonic forces you to make a choice with this model.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic dp-ub820

Irene from Columbia, SC on 2/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great player. Crisp detail. Easy setup

Pros: Great picture

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Reliable

Jeffrey from Honolulu, HI on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good, easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Brett from Racine, WI on 1/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great out of the box and it has played my Blu-rays perfectly fine. Not much to say when it does what you want it to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Upgraded to 4K and WOW!!

Eric from Pleasantville, IA on 1/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This replaced our Panasonic blu ray player that was several years old, we had purchased a 4K TV this past summer, but had not yet upgraded our blu ray player to 4K, Wow what a difference!! The dual outputs are nice, because we still need to upgrade our A/V receiver in the future, but trying to take it one step at a time.

Pros: Setup was seamless Dual outputs are really nice, so I don't need to upgrade my A/V receiver just yet.

Cons: Kind of pricey but that old saying, 'You get what you pay for" fits nicely here.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding Player

Douglas from Lowell, OH on 1/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was looking for a 4K/60p Blu-Ray DVD player that was backward compatible, and supported Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, and HDR10+. This player does it all and has performed flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for high end systems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Blu Ray Player 820 review

Henry from Brentwood, TN on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This blu ray player should come with a setup/user manual. Player needs a subtitle button on the remote. Some audio settings void many other setup options. Using is complex without a hard copy user manual. HDR settings cancelled by other settings. Settings for 4k limited.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Never thought I'd need another blu-ray player...

Kevin from Lakeway, TX on 1/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I never thought I'd need another blu-ray player until someone bought me No Time to Die on Blu-ray for Christmas and when I saw it included a 4K Ultra HD disc, I figured I had to do it justice and wasn't disappointed. Quality was better then the streaming version so now I'm looking at other Ultra HD movies to buy on Blu-ray.

Pros: Easy to setup Nice finish, looks great in AV rack Every connection you could imagine

Cons: RF remote or app control would be nice, although it does work with Amazon Echo and Google, which is a little clunky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wise purchase

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, PA on 1/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to use. Quite in use. No issues so far. Much more reliable than my Sony.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Hoschton, GA on 1/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

beautiful picture and great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic Blue-ray Player

Crutchfield customer from East Hampstead, NH on 12/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent Blue-ray Player ! I used easy set-up first, but looked on Crutchfield, YouTube and Panasonic web site for more set-up info. Wireless connection was no problem, but user manual could be better. Wireless set-up mentions pressing WPS button on Wireless Router to complete, had to call Crutchfield to find out what this was. This button was located on our wireless, and labeled Reset/WPS. One quick push on this button started blinking blue light on it(wireless), and stopped once Player was connected. Check your wireless router for info first, because you could Reset your wireless if you push Reset/WPS more than a few seconds !!Plenty of video/audio options that will keep you busy learning about. Out of the box video/audio was excellent. Checked for Software Updates, and there was one waiting. About 15 minutes to update Player. Thank you Crutchfield for tech support, fast shipping and price matching after my purchase !

Pros: Plenty of features, great picture, and a very solid machine.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Puts VHS to Shame.

Crutchfield customer from Dexter, MI on 12/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

.and any blu ray player I've had. Excellent paired with an 83" OLED. There is no better except if you purchase it's bigger brother. Versatile. Handles HDR10+ and Dolby Vision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This player was recommended by a Crutchfield representative. Works well, easy to set up. Features and fidelity is high, it was a good purchase. Some might laugh, but quality of the player is great for music CDs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, CA on 12/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgrading from a Panasonic DMP-BD35 (a great player in its day), and loving it. Amazing how much faster it is to load discs, and of course 4K looks stunning. Love this thing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing picture quality.

Crutchfield customer from White Plains, NY on 12/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picture quality is spectacular and the HDR optimizer works wonders. Really improves how HDR content is displayed on my TV. The player is also quite speedy as 4K Blu-Rays load very quickly. Highly recommend this player.

Pros: Fast loading for blu-rays Great sound and picture quality HDR optimizer

Cons: UI looks and feels dated

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Better than Sony

John from Fort Worth TX on 11/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I read other reviews prior to purchase....good and bad and after 2 weeks use I am ready to share my experience. I have a Sony 4k player and its performance has been hit or miss so I decided it was time for a upgrade. First thing I did out of the box was setup the network settings to update the firmware. The update took some time and I have no idea of the firmware revision history. The owners manual is sparse and this player has much more functionality than the manual tells you how to use. First off...the picture quality is head over heels better than my Sony unit. Many 4k discs I have are Dolby vision and this unit defaults to it over HDR if it is present on the disc. My Sony does not have DV. It also is great playing regular blu ray. My disc of ..The Internship ...looks like its 4k ! Only hitch I have had so far is playing my blu ray of Terminator 2....that disc has the blu ray live feature at the beginning of the disc and of course the studio no longer supports the website its trying to connect to so it kept hanging up trying to connect. After a few tries it finally got past the feature to actually to the main menu to play the movie. I have only played 1 DVD so far.....True Lies...which is a fav of mine and only available on DVD ..so far. I was hoping this player might extract a better picture from the disc as it has never been above a VHS quality picture. I was disappointed that the picture was actually worse when treated to HD scrutiny. So overall 2 thumbs up....so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great Piece of Equipment

Theodore from Azle, Texas on 11/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent so far; nice picture and good sound; totally easy setup; has played everything I have fed it with no issues; works sso seamlessly that it causes no stress or strain or comment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Top Tier Picture Quality

Crutchfield customer from Tamuning, GU on 11/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Gorgeous picture. Decent build quality. Menu system a little clunky. Can adjust font position and luminosity which is fantastic. No option yet to adjust font size from disc. Worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

a must buy from a great company

Crutchfield customer from Mc Alpin, FL on 10/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

the color is incredible, sound a must buyis great,easy operation, exceptional build quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great player for the money

Crutchfield customer from Urbanna, VA on 10/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. I wanted it because I upgraded to a 4K UHD television and I wanted to play 4K UHD movies. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 10/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

frantz from MINNEAPOLIS, MN on 8/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love it best picture quality ever

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Well designed, quiet player that exceeded expectations.

Crutchfield customer from Gunpowder, MD on 8/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As advertised, a well-specced 4K UHD player, the Panasonic UB820 boasts compatibility with every version of high dynamic range (HDR) available. In addition to HDR10, the Panny supports Dolby Vision, HDR10+, and Hybrid Log-Gamma (HLG). Highly recommended.

Pros: Works as advertised HDR compatible HDR10+ HLG

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Missoula, MT on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good product thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

One happy customer??

Crutchfield customer from Snowmass, CO on 7/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfields service center is awesome, they really are the best. For me the quality of the unit really comes through and its performance. I will check back in when I've used a player longer so I can speak specifically about some of play options but at this point I am extremely satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not An OPPO!

Kenneth from Hegins, PA on 7/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not what it's suppose to be! I wish I could return it, but I waited too long. Some 4K discs break up and pixelate on certain scenes. Now even a few Blu-Rays are doing it! I hesitated buying the Panasonic brand again because of quality issues many years ago. Lots of problems with Panasonic products so I stopped buying them swearing never again! With the glowing reviews on this model I thought I would give Panasonic another try. Mistake! A player for this price and the Panasonic blues once again! ALL of these discs play perfectly on my OPPO! I needed a second 4K for the bedroom. Too bad OPPO isn't doing what they did better than ANYONE else on the planet.

Pros: Sound is very good. Very customizable set-up for various reasons.

Cons: Picture breaks up on various movies.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 40 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Santa Ana, CA on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Receive DP UB820 very promptly Your rep suggested the cable which we needed The DVD was easy to install. We had an issue with an icon appearing on screen which your tech immediately instructed us how to remove. The entire process with your reps was extremely easy, and speedy plus they matched the big online retailer's price. Would definitely use Crutchfield for any future electronics purchases

Pros: Superior and helpful service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Huge difference between 4k bluray and streaming

Crutchfield customer from Crestwood, KY on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first 4k bluray player. I was blown away with it. It's hard to describe the quality difference if you have never seen it. Streaming 4k is just not the same. It's a night and day difference. The colors are magnificent. I hope this format continues to stay around for a long time and doesn't lose out to the ease of streaming. If you've never owned a UHD bluray player and are a fan of cinema, do yourself a favor and pick one of these up. You won't be disappointed.

Pros: Amazing colors, sound, speed, options

Cons: None that I've found

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Paul W from Waxhaw, NC on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Superior Audio and Video when using both HDMI outputs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

An awesome unit !

Crutchfield customer from Menasha, WI on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I spent alot of time researching this product before finalizing the purchase and boy am I glad I bought it. The DP-UB820 is a fantastic buy, AT ANY PRICE!

Pros: great price, beautiful picture.

Cons: wish the remote was backlit.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Impressive

Crutchfield customer from Fogelsville, PA on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My new Panasonic Blu ray player is fantastic! The audio and video are sooo much better than my old one. The sound from my CDs is great and better than that from streaming, played through my Sonos Arc.

Pros: Great audio and video Easy to set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

4k nice

Crutchfield customer from Suffern, NY on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good so far As an older person the initial connection did not go smoothly so then tried to connect the player to an alternate 4k tv that went fine and then switched it back to the original OLED source without any further issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great UHD 4K Player

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this player after extensive investigation and study. Most of my system is Sony, so first looked at the Sony UHD players, hoping that they would work well with other Sony items. However, the big draw back to the Sony players is you have to manually set HDR each time and this Panasonic switches automagically to the proper HDR (HRD+, HDR10, etc.). It up scales fantastically, overall a great player. I really was tempted by the Panasonic 9000 player, build quality, just screams sturdy. However couldn't bring myself to fork over $1000 for a Bluray player and the parts that matter (what's inside) are almost the same between the 820 and the 9000. Very happy with the purchase

Pros: Auto HDR

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best blue ray for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to play 4K and BluRay discs which it does quite well. If the disc has Dolby Vision then it looks super! Paired with AudioQuest Cinnamon HDMI cable also from Crutchfield takes it up a notch. I don't think I could have done any better.

Pros: Outstanding picture quality with 4K and Dolby Vision discs.

Cons: Web services section (youtube etc.) is clunky. But I don't use it, I have other devices for that.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Blu-ray without compromise

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After much research and reading the reviews on Crutchfield I opted to go with the Panasonic DP-UB820. Great features and movies come to life! Last component in the new home theatre. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Novi, MI on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this player to combine my DVD/BD and CD players in one device. In particular, I wanted something that sounded great with CD audio and this delivers. I'm very happy with the sound quality. It's great for video too but there are lots of other reviews that cover video here so I'll skip that. I have two small complaints with CD playback. First, doesn't display the CD track text and second, it doesn't play the audio when fast forwarding a CD. It mutes the audio which makes it harder to easily stop at the right spot. Both are minor but still annoying. Overall it delivers with excellent sound quality - just wish it had a few more small features.

Pros: Excellent sound with CDs

Cons: No CD track text capability, Mutes audio when fast forwarding a CD (hard to stop at the right spot)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Slick

Crutchfield customer from Marysville, CA on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with purchase. Works well. Great picture quality. Forgot it can be set to my OLED tv. That will be done soon. Operation is smooth and seamless. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Monroe Township, NJ on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent picture quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good player overall

Crutchfield customer from N Ridgeville, OH on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Panasonic DP-UB820 replaces my Oppo BD-103, since I just picked up a LG OLEDCX 55" television and wanted to play UHD discs. Without a doubt, the Oppo was a higher quality unit in terms of construction. The Panasonic is thinner, lighter and just feels cheap. I do like the front panel display, but a detachable power cord would have made it easier to install/remove from my audio cabinet. Fortunately the picture looks great. I'm still in the process of calibrating my TV, but my UHD HDR discs look awesomely clear and colorful with just basic settings. I do wish there was a way to see whether a UHD disc contained HDR10 or Dolby Vision metadata. The status menu shows me lots of info, but not the technology I'm watching. The "settings" menu could also use some work. The setting for specifying the TV is a OLED model was hard to find. The Pandora app background display is light gray and too bright. A dark mode or background color selection would be nice.

Pros: Great picture Front panel display 4K YouTube app

Cons: Fixed power cord Rear USB port Lacking settings

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from New London, WI on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Home, AR on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

LOVE IT. First test was the 4K Earth blu-ray. SPECTACULAR on my 65" Vizio (sorry Crutchfield) I'm into concert DVD's & blu-ray's. Nice upconversion on them & great audio. Nice sale price & FAST delivery from Crutchfield. 4K happy in Arkansas

Pros: Performance / Sale Price / set up. Professional Crutchfield advice

Cons: No included Panasonic operation manual.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great player

Crutchfield customer from Putney, VT on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I researched comparable products quite a lot before choosing this model. The conversation at the end with a Crutchfield person helped answer any additional questions. I love this device - recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy Camper

Crutchfield customer from Perry, GA on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have had this player a couple of weeks now and could not be happier with my purchase. Massive upgrade over my old Sony 700. 4K playback is breath taking on this thing, both video and audio. NO annoying skips, freezes or audio dropouts. That really plagued my former player. As impressive as the 4K output is, I'm possibly even more impressed with the upscaling capabilities of this player. 1080p playback has left my jaw on the floor at times while watching discs I've viewed several times previously (Gladiator for example). If you are in the market do NOT hesitate to own this player. Thanks to Gage in Tech support for helping out with a couple of setup questions. Crutchfield is the best.

Pros: Great video and audio playback from ALL sources.

Cons: Remote is cumbersome.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Best 4K player

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great 4K DVD player. It does it all ... just name it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Medina, OH on 4/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this panasonic 4k player on sale so i saved 100.00 dollars but the build quality could be better for the price i paid, the case is all plastic i would have expected the case to be metal for that price the less expensive DP-ub420 has a metal case for half the price, which make it feel a lot more solid build, i purchased both of them and like them both but the420 feels more solidly built.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

silveradols98

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like that it has two HDMI jacks one for video one for audio that way your amp don't need to be 4k .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Felton,Ca on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have mixed feelings on the Panasonic DP-UB820. Let me begin by saying when the player is working well the picture quality is fabulous. After I received the player I only played brand new out of the box 4K movies for the first 3 weeks. I played about 20 movies and 3 of them froze on me. This tells me the problem is with the Panasonic and not the disc itself. This is a major problem. After 3 weeks I started playing Blu-Ray discs from Netflix and the upscaling quality was very good. The remote is marginal at best, but it does the job. All in all I would say this is a high quality item that will most likely give you a fair amount of disc freezing.

Pros: Very nice picture quality.

Cons: Has disc freezing problems.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Canyon Country, CA on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picture quality and sound, especially (Dolby Atmos) are superb.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best value in 4K players, buy for video and surround sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, IL on 4/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a fantastic 4k player. I settled on this mostly because it has the same picture quality as the high-end model but at less than half the cost. For playing 4k discs it has the same sound quality as the high end model as well. The main difference between this and the top of the line is that this model is missing some output connections, primarily for analog listening. I personally didn't need those, but if you do the step up is for you. The case is also plastic rather than aluminum, so it doesn't look as high end. Again, though, on sale it's less than half the cost. Regardless, it has an HDR optimizer which works absolutely amazingly. I also like that it does it automatically and well--you don't have to keep adjusting settings with each disc. It also has all current available forms/versions of HDR, which not all do. Outside of one single random shut down it has worked flawlessly, the remote is pretty good, the display is relatively small but easy to read. The main draw, again, is the picture quality and it delivers. The audio output for 4k discs is also excellent. If you are using a sound bar or TV speakers this won't matter, but if you have a surround sound system this is a big draw. I cannot emphasize this enough--the video and audio are both noticeably superior to the same content when streamed. I would highly recommend this player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Beverly Hills, FL on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

the best picture and ease of use, I was undecided about this player but now I am very happy.

Pros: ease of use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Dartmouth, MA on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent picture excellent sound I've only used it for one movie disc and Netflix so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best option out there right now

Crutchfield customer from Bridgewater, MA on 3/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Supports both DV and HDR10+ and automatically switches formats on/off depending on the content and downstream support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 3/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great player. Has all the bells and whistles. Really makes 4k HDR and Dolby Vision come alive. The sound output is perfect for those using Atmos receiver also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Lithia, FL on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound and video excellent Menus and overall interface was an afterthought

Pros: Sound quality brought my CDs back to life. Audio is open and vibrant Video is very good

Cons: Interface and menus were an afterthought

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good When it Works - But it Does not Always Work

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this 4K DVD player based on Crutchfield's online video review. I had previously purchased the Panasonic UB-9000 for my Home Theater system but wanted a 4K player for another TV without investing $1,000. This player works great until it doesn't. I have tried 4K Blu-ray DVDs as well as regular Blu-ray DVDs and the player will occasionally stop transmitting picture and sound. It acts like the player has run out of buffer and cannot process data until the buffer clears. I don't know if that can happen with a DVD player but that is how it acts. It is very frustrating. I haven't noticed this being a problem on the UB-9000 but I will make sure to pay special attention the next time I spin up a 4K DVD in that player.

Pros: Great Picture

Cons: Goes Blank During Playback

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Great Value and High Quality Blu Ray Player

Crutchfield customer from Bay City, MI on 3/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a great Blu Ray Player. Picture is fantastic, It actually beats my Oppo player and seems to even sound better with the Panasonic player. Great quality all around and received it just couple days after ordering.

Pros: Can't beat the Performance, Picture clarity, colors, sharpness and improved sound over other players.

Cons: Could have super audio and DVD audio capability to make it a perfect blu ray player.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's Ok

Norman from GILLETTE, WY on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice player, hold on to your Roku though , the streaming apps that come with this are limited. Not sure this was a worthy upgrade over the 250.00 Sony I had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful results and simple to use! I have a ps5 that I compared against, and I'm happy I decided to get a dedicated player. Dolby Vision looks fantastic and the auto tone mapping on HDR 10 is ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty disappointed

Robert from Alpine on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have had the player for several months now. Overall, pretty disappointed. The USB connection cannot recognize any type of file, whether picture, audio or video. It sees the drive, but says the drive is empty. Doesn't matter what type of drive or how it's formatted, doesn't matter what type of file. This is the second unit I got from Crutchfield, I returned the first one thinking it was defective. When the player is working, the picture and sound quality are outstanding. However, it has problems with about 50% of the 4k discs I watch. The picture goes to black for about 2-10 seconds multiple times. Watching 'V For Vendetta' the other night, this happened at least a dozen times. Very frustrating. One good trick I learned is that the player is extremely sensitive to fingerprints on the silver side of the disc. If you don't keep the disc completely polished, with the smallest fingerprint the player will skip sections or reject the disc as unreadable. Not sure if this is applicable to this particular player or all 4k players.

Pros: When it works, the picture and sound are outstanding.

Cons: USB connections don't work and the picture drops out to black fairly regularly.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome player, the tech's got it right with suggesting this one, amazing picture and sound

Pros:

Cons: pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

4K Blue-Ray upgrade with convenient features for music streaming

Gerard from Berkeley, CA on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Previous Blue-ray was HD, and failed. This is a good value for my new 4K Sony Bravia TV. It also allows me to add music streaming with the Pandora App while using my vintage Onkyo Integra analog amp. HDMI out connections will also let me use it with the Denon DRA-800H I am planning to finish my round of updates with.

Pros: A great value for me while it was on sale.

Cons: Could support more streaming Apps, such as Sirius XM

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Viola, ID on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

James from Cocoa, FL on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Panasonic DP-UB820 is best 4K blu-ray player I have ever had. It is the perfect player for my Sony XBR-55X950H TV. The picture is amazing with the Dolby Vision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Utica, NY on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had a top of the line samsung 3d blue ray player for a while now . I finaly upgraded to this player and I'm so happy I did . The picture is so much clearer and awsome . If your debating about buying it , just do it . You will love it ?

Pros: Makes me so happy

Cons: I waited to long to get it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic UB820

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Now that I've had more than ample time. I can give an opinion about said product. For the money spent, it's a superlative piece of equipment. Yes, I too wish it had more metal, like it's higher ranking sibling. But, for me if my choice is aesthetics, or performance, I'll choose performance every time! Simply put, if your a video fan with a great tv or projector. Don't hesitate to pick this thing up! I luckier than most. I'm able to pair this with the Panny JZ2000 OLED. A big thank you to my brother!

Pros: Sleek look. Strong performance.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful