Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Connect ID #
138 820 157 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio RD500/1

JL Audio RD500/1 Mono subwoofer amplifier — 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # 98618

5.0 out of 5 stars
63 reviews
View this product
Sub Amp

Stacey from Palm Bay, FL on 2/11/2024

2020 GMC Terrain

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excited. This amp is solid and of excellent quality.

Pros: Great price and even better quality.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just add it to your cart, its worth it!

Michael from San Francisco, CA on 2/5/2024

2021 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great amp! The sound is very clean and more powerful than I expected. I installed it myself with no issues and JL makes it very easy to tune. I recommend buying the remote bass control to go with it. I love this amp! I have it in a CX-5, powering the JL CP212-W0v3 ported box with 2 12"s. I'm using factory radio, tweets, and rear door speakers, but I did upgrade the front door speakers with some Focals.

Pros: Easy to tune, install, and exceptional sound. Inexpensive for what it is.

Cons: No cons with the product, but mad at myself for not buying sooner

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from PFLUGERVILLE, TX on 12/7/2023

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lifetime 5 channel amp user and decided to give JL Audio RD 500/1 a try, well I am blown away with this setup.

Pros: ease of install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Jeffery from Tracy, CA on 9/3/2023

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product arrived on on time great service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Wyatt from Santa Rosa, CA on 8/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super great definitely recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Chopa

Miguel from Oakland CA on 8/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excelente calidad. Excellent Quality .

Pros: Trabaja con cualquier tipo de Subwoofers. It works with any type of subwoofers.

Cons: ---

Crutchfield response on 8/8/2023
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales and Support team.

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Clark from Wichita, KS on 7/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful little amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Alex from Kingsland, GA on 7/16/2023

2019 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very solid piece of equipment. Love it in my truck and it's perfect for my 13tw5

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Marty from Griffith, IN on 6/6/2023

2017 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice unit. Running a line out converter to it. Still balancing the system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing amp

Jeremy from Waukesha, WI on 6/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Always love JL products have used them for over 30 yrs, this amp was easy to install and setup,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

William from Kinde, MI on 6/1/2023

2010 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amp. Simple set up, and plenty of power for my single 10" W3.

Pros: Simple set up.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High Quality

Daniel from LAS VEGAS, NV on 5/24/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the RD 500/1 mono amp as a companion to my RD 400/4 4ch amp. It will ll be responsible for powering my single 8" Polk DB SVC subwoofer. I've been impressed with both JL units which each offer plenty of power, features, fairly compact size all at a good value. Special features include the led display, gain adjustment led, routing options for bridging without y adapters and one sided connection design. I would have ordered two RD 400/4's but I wanted the option of a bass control knob so I got the 500/1 as the second amp an I ordered the knob separately. I took a risk on the scratch and dent and l'm glad I did the savings actually covered the cost of the bass knob controller. Scratch and dent was more like an open box. I couldn't find any issues or scratches except the JL logo was mounted upside down which I was able to rectify though it did require me to take the lid apart and re-assembly it to do it. As far as my system it's still under construction but I have completed the sub enclosure and dual level amp rack is nearly complete.

Pros: Nice size great power

Cons: Bass knob is sold separately for a

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

TL;DR - It's JL Audio.. nuff said

Andy from Memphis, TN on 4/11/2023

2017 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding amp. I'm running it on 2 10W0v3s wired to a 2ohm load and its more than they can handle at full power. I need to upgrade my subs to really get the most power out of this amp. Super easy to tune with the clipping indicator - I'm barely using any gain at all at 60hz and +5db on the bass boost. Also works great with the RBC-1 bass remote, which I highly recommend for adjusting on the fly. The amp is small and light enough to mount just about anywhere. I have it mounted on the back wall of my truck with Velcro tape against the OEM carpet (lol)... 10/10 WOULD BUY AGAIN

Pros: Everything

Cons: Literally Nothing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Jake from Somewhere, SC on 3/2/2023

2022 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp, is very strong, I have 2 -10 inch Memphis audio power reference subwoofers wired at 4 OHM for final 2 OHMs at the amp. those subs are 300 RMs and yet, by specs i am only pushing 250watts per sub, but The JL audio amp provides more power then its rated at, you can watch a youtube video on its brother RD1000/1 amp and you can clearly see that the JL audio amps are one of the best amongst everything there is!! This amp RD500/1 runs very efficient and cool.. after driving to work for an hour i was beating on the subwoofers and the amp stayed cool to touch.. Recommending this to everyone!!

Pros: efficient, stays cool, slick design, strong, top shell terminals and controls

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL AUDIO FTW

JASON from shelton on 1/9/2023

2022 Ford F-250 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have this and the RD500/1 ....been a JL user since 1995 and I'm now 45. JL audio is always my go to. Just ordered all JL audio interior speakers for the 89 mustang which is my throw back build. Can't wait to dial it in.

Pros: Legendary brand

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Charles from Montgomery, IL on 5/15/2022

2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing amp, says 500 rms at 2ohms but this push 650 rms. It super easy to tune! I recommend this amp

Pros: Produces more watts at two ohms Easy to tune

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Tons of power compact easy tuning

Casey from Amarillo, TX on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amp hands down the easiest amp ive ever installed and tuning was a breeze with the clipping light made things smooth and no problems. I would most definitely recommend this amp to any1 who is not an expect installer. Great overall experience shopping with crutchfeield 1st time buying from y all and I can say I will b a life time costumer.

Pros: Compact power easy of installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500 powerful.

Christy from Zachary, LA on 2/16/2022

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The JL Audio RD500 has all the power needed to drive the 10" subs that we installed in my sons truck. The clipping light helps with setting the amp up properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pounding clear bass

Marquel W. from Albuquerque, NM on 12/2/2021

2020 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp is perfect for any subwoofer. Great power at a reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Ladson, SC on 10/20/2021

1991 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 7/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed it and it sounds great! Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL quality

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small foot print easy adjustment clean power

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Joplin, MO on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

it works good but sorry to say I need to return come to find out mine was not bad

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 5/16/2021

2019 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly, great amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Low bass

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i have been playing with the amp settings for weeks now with little to no results, i have very little sub output when set by the instructions set by JL and when set by ear it just distorts, i have checked and recheck all wires and everything is good togo, this is not my first set up and have had far cheaper amps and set ups that were better than this, so far im am not to happy, in will update this post if anything changes

Pros: connections on one side

Cons: small Allen keys for 4ga power, hard set up very hard to tune despite clipping led

Crutchfield response on 4/11/2021
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 10 found this helpful

For sound quality I definitely recomend.

Kenneth Wayne from Loretto, TN on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I upgraded my sub to a JL Audio HO112RG-W3v3 and needed a good amp. The RD500/1 was the perfect choice. I'm going for SQ and the RD series is the best for your money. I also have the RD400/4 (75 watts X 4 @ 4 ohm) and the two amps work perfectly together. Highly recommended. I have a Pioneer DMH-WT7600NEX for my head unit, JL audio C2 3 way 6x9 in front doors Memphis audio 6.5 2 way in back doors and a set of Alpine 1 inch 80 watt tweeters in my a post. Finally have my system in my 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee exactly as I want it. Highly recommended the JL Audio RD series amps.

Pros: Full rich sounding amp. Light to help setting gains, love the blue accent light.

Cons: Absolutely none.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Cntry Clb Hls, IL on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp is very strong for a sub woofer and was very easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio Does it

Crutchfield customer from Tulare, CA on 3/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice amp. Has a lot of little power and compact size

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Should have listened to my gut...Buy New

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This should be 5 stars...I know this is a great amp however non were in stock...still aren't as of this review. Covid? I learned but wasn't too excited when I discovered an 'opened box' special for 20 bucks off I think, so I reluctantly bought it. After running all the new cabling and metering it to verify all was good I began the hookup at the battery when "poof" both fuses gave up the ghost. I triple checked everything again this time I metered the "new but opened box" amp and found a dead short between the plus and minus on the 12vdc input. Crutchfield was more than awesome in understanding the issue and emailed me a prepaid postage bar code for UPS to scan. They offered a similar amp as a replacement...as of right now I opted to wait on JL to complete some more RD500's. When it ships new fuses will be included...then I will review again and most likely give it the 5 stars it deserves.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Downey, CA on 8/28/2020

2015 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't install yet as the order incomplete till September

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 8/26/2020

2009 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

JL Audio quality at a great price. The fit and finish is perfect. The power is clean and plentiful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Scotts Valley, CA on 8/24/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice construction and aesthetics. Fit easily under the front seat. I used 4ga pwr/gnd and had no issue with 10ga to the sub box. No drama setup, the gain light makes life easy. I did need to cut my front speaker wires and re-splice due to the gain setting procedure. Didn't want to blow them. Would be easier to disconnect and do the setup if all speakers were amplified. Powers a Kicker TRTP12 box well enough to get my non-deadened car rattling like crazy. I think the RBC-1 bass level remote is a necessary add-on as bass varies so much between songs and media sources.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 8/7/2020

2018 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp goes perfect with my JL 12 now it sounds way better!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

So close to perfect

Paul from DEDEDO, GU on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good: Super clean power and zero distortion. I'm running it with a single 10w3 at 2Ohms in a custom sealed enclosure. It hits perfectly hard for my coupe. I had to turn the gain down a bit. The overload indicator is very helpful for setting the gain on the amp without using a scope. Could be better: The only thing that would make this Amp perfect is if the built in LP filter had an option to be defeated. I'm using a DSP with a finer control over filtering so the amp's built in LP is redundant. But don't let it stop you. Get this amp and get the remote gain control knob as well. I didn't think I would need it but I actually use it regularly depending on the music I am playing.

Pros: Clipping indicator

Cons: Built in filter cannot be defeated.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect buy

Lance from Fountain, CO on 7/14/2020

2009 Pontiac G8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great powerful amp. Can easily push my 12TW1. And as always outstanding shopping experience.

Pros: Powerful Compact Design Easy to setup Perfect Bass Control

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

10/10

Crutchfield customer from Delavan, WI on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very compact design, I attached it to the sub since it was such a tiny package. #Phrasing Very powerful and even at full power it is so efficient with power it doesn't dim anything electrical in the car. I did side by side with an older 500w and there's no comparison, this model will make your sub sing without distortion, without feedback from the car. It does it's job and it does it extremely well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Amp!

RYAN from BALDWIN PARK, CA on 6/21/2020

2004 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this with the help of an associate from Crutchfield. Using it to power my JL Audio W6V2. Both go hand in hand! Sounds great!

Pros: Worth the money!

Cons: No cons.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Woodhaven, NY on 5/19/2020

2007 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with this amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 5/14/2020

2020 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

One the best amps I have ever owned!!! Just cant say enough about the clean power I get from this amp!!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 5/3/2020

1995 Chevrolet Caprice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

clean sound. paired with a 10" JL subwoofer inside my jeep. sounds great, loving it thus far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Dracut, MA on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect match for my JL sub, quality product, easy, convenient set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

It's great

Crutchfield customer from Quebeck, TN on 8/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I paired this with the JL Audio 8" sub and boy do they sound incredible. The amp is super compact, fit under the passenger seat of my 2 Door Wrangler, stays cool and does an amazing job driving my sub.

Pros: It's great

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, MO on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sounds great with nice features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Big Power, Small Size

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 6/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Earlier this year I added bass to my daughter's IS250 and I selected this amp to power the 12. Now that I am redoing my own system I have once again chosen this amp to power my sub. It has plenty of power and a small footprint. The built-in crossover has the range that I want and I have added the optional remote bass control to both systems for adjustability on the go. Next for me is fabrication for my highs and a 4 channel JL RD400 to run them.

Pros: powerful, small, crossover, ample sized connections

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for a JL W6 10'

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 5/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome amp. Purchased this one because my 13 year old slash 500/1 decided to stop working properly. Small size,nice looking, nice power makes clean sound. It's pushing a 10' w6 pro wedge nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Nick from Missouri City, TX on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp rocks! More than enough power to power my 2 JL 12TW3's. The price point is incredible for the JL quality . The clip indicator helps and is easy to set.

Pros: Power, price, looks, clip indicator

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, KS on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp is amazing. Great power and sound for it being a 500. Im powering a JL 10 w6 and it makes it thump hard with the knob only at 1/2

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Newark, OH on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have not had a chance to get this beautiful amp installed yet...work too much! The purchase was easy and the delivery was super simple! I have also purchased the RC-b1 bass remote. once I get everything installed I will circle back with an update

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 9 found this helpful

10/10 will buy again

Crutchfield customer from Baltic, SD on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing quality, very crisp sound from the single 10" sub In my crew can. Definitely buying the RD1000 for my other set up.

Pros: Sleek design, easy install, easy customer service, fast shipping.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great amp

Mike from Canyon Country, CA on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I paired this amp with a stealth box like some other people have done and I am blown away by the sound it sounds perfect pushing one 10 shallow mount and it hits hard I'm very pleased

Pros: Awesome performance decent price and the jl warranty plus it's not big in size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Battle Creek, MI on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great AMP can't beat JL Audio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Jeremiah from Las Vegas, NV on 5/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfect with my Jl 10" shallow sunwoofer.

Pros: User freindly, easy to mount and wire up, doesn't get hot

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Chad from Dalhart, TX on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding amp and the instructions on setting the gain using the "clipping" LED makes it easy to set.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound from JL audio

Jason from Pearland, TX on 4/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm glad I went with the RD500 my Jeep Wrangler sounds amazing!

Pros: Its JL audio Great quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sexy and High Tech Amp

ToyoTech300 from Katy, TX on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Low profile, clean sound, stays cool it's powering my 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 with exceptional sound and SPL, does not need a remote wire if you choose from two of three turn on settings, and with JL rca adapter it does not need a line output converter , this makes for simple wiring and less bulk, at 2ohms it makes you feel like you have more than the mentioned power!

Pros: Simple wiring options, top of the line technology, stays cool, doesn't make lights dim, exceptional sound for the price, looks awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from New Rochelle, NY on 4/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Packs a punch. Nice small amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does what it says

Mario from Texas on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great JL amp, powering a JL HO 10 and boy does it make the sub sing.... It is juicing it up exactly as I thought it should so I'm happy with my purchase, no dimming lights when I turn up the boom and the amp is just lukewarm even after 2 hours of testing music. Easy installation and after coming from a JL Slash 500/1 which is probably a better amp, I actually cannot tell the difference in power. For the price the amp is phenomenal. In the nineties they used to say " a dollar per watt" and usually if you paid that much u knew you were getting a great amp. So I cannot believe at this price that this amp is so clean and powerful. Nice to know quality car audio has finally gone down in pricing. The small footprint almost fooled me but I was wonderfully surprised when my installer said step ito your vehicle.

Pros: Easy installation Low power draw, great big bass, knobs for all your tweaking needs Bass knob support (get one!) Small footprint

Cons: I really don't have any, it does everything I intended at this price it's phenomenal

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Compact Powerful Amp

Donald from Garner, NC on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this amplifier to drive a JL Audio Stealth Box in my 2017 Mustang GT. Sadly, the first one I received was defective but Crutchfield promptly sent out a replacement and I was up and running in no time. This is a really nice compact amplifier with more than enough power to drive my single 12" JL Subwoofer. The amplifier is capable of high level input but I an using an Audio Control processor to take the high level down to pre-amp level and the output from this amplifier is so clean you would never believe that you were listening to a factory driven system.

Pros: Small, Powerful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound

Rogelio from Aspers Pa. on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good products

Pros: Very good bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little amp

Keith from Columbus, OH on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amp. Looks really nice. Nice power. Killer blue light.

Pros: Looks nice. JL quality, nice simple industrial design

Cons: Wished hex screws were a little larger. I'm afraid I'm going to strip them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best amp I have owned

Matt from Memphis, TN on 10/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first time owning a JL product, and I am thoroughly impressed. The amp stays cool and has absolutely 0 trouble driving my current setup. I do not have access to a dyno, but I believe this amp does more than rated, which is always a huge plus. Also the tiny form factor allows it to fit in various places if your car is limited on space. One final plus about this amp is that adjustments are made by simply removing the top cover on the amp. Most brands have the adjustments on the side, which can make it tough to set up. This is the best amp I have owned. I cannot wait to put in my Memphis 12s I got from Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy Adjustment, Small form factor, excellent great dissipation, powerful.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

very happy

JJ from Dickinson, ND on 9/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this amp does exactly what it sells, Easy hook up to a OEM head unit. The remote turn-on from the signal input works very well and the line input sounds very clean for not having a line-in processor installed. I hooked this amp up to a JL Audio Stealthbox and it sounds excellent! The amp runs cool and it does not draw heavy on the electrical system. The LED bar is a nice feature, along with the cover that hides the controls. Having the connections all on one side also makes sense. The JL emblem comes unattached so no matter which way you mount the amp you can attach the emblem so it looks correct. I also recommend the remote dial for adjusting the level on the fly.

Pros: The RD500/1 does exactly what JL advertises.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good price, good amp

Chris from Phoenix, AZ on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought the amp to power a jl truck wedge CS110TG-TW3. More than enough power and was simple to set up. I was willing to try the new series of amps and was not disappointed.

Pros: Easy to connect and set up.

Cons: None for me. Worked great for my application.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Compare the sound