Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
593 436 528 4
Connect ID #
593 436 528 4
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio VX1000/5i

JL Audio VX1000/5i 5-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 75 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 600 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # 98632

5.0 out of 5 stars
19 reviews
View this product
vx1000/5i

Tim from Fayetteville, GA on 10/23/2022

2022 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy install, great amp.

Pros: ease of install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

You get what you pay for.

Ken from Cleveland, GA on 6/20/2022

2022 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amplifier is everything I thought it would be and more. The build quality is outstanding. The cable management system is very well thought out. The power is superb and the TuN software is fantastic. There is a slight learning curve to get things dialed in. There are a number of videos on the JL Audio web site to help you understand how to get the amp set up properly. I've been doing car audio systems since the early days of Rockford Fosgate Punch and Orion HCCA amps. The technology in the JL is truly world class. The system in my Jeep Wrangler sounds amazing!

Pros: Build quality Clean power Cable management Amazing tuning software

Cons: None for me

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

A complete System treasure box!

ALEX from JACKSON, GA on 6/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a fantastic amp. It has everything you need to get a great sounding system. I added the controller knob so now I'm able to have a preset for when it's just me in the car, a preset for when my family is in my car and a preset for when I want to show off the system! I love that the DSP software is free and even has an app version, both of which you can try before you buy the amp, for Free! With the additional Bluetooth adapter I was able to tweak the sound to my liking, right from the driver seat. Overall this is a great buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Pricey, but worth it.

Jon from Westminster, MD on 5/23/2022

2016 Honda Pilot EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp is perfect for me. big power, small footprint and highly configurable. I'm running 4 x 2-way coaxial interiors and 1 subwoofer. It's perfect for my needs. One thing that I did not see anywhere in my research is that this has an Auto EQ feature. While it is not the easiest thing to figure out, the JL TuN software will allow you to Auto EQ your speakers to match a set response curve. This is a very powerful feature and not something I expected when I purchased the amp. All you need is a computer and an external microphone. I used the one that came with my home theatre receiver. Quick tune and this thing sounds amazing. Highly recommended! This juice is worth the squeeze. My only complaint is that for the price, it should come with the accessories, like a microphone for tuning, the remote bass knob, and it should have Bluetooth built in.

Pros: Highly configurable and tons of power in a very small package.

Cons: Expensive and the TuN software is not very intuitive. Once you get over the learning curve, it is very powerful. The price is alreadt high and then if you want Bluetooth or a bass knob it's more money. Seems like a money grab to me.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 9 found this helpful

This amp has it all. Definitely worth it.

Aaron from Jacksonville, FL on 5/22/2022

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing amp with a small footprint. JL Audio did it right with the connection cables and pigtails. The live monitoring and customization control with the Tün apps is amazing!! Definitely worth the outlay for such a quality amp. It does output the power it rates.

Pros: Control Customization Small footprint Pigtail connections for ease of install and clean look mounted

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Highky Recommend

Jeffery from Mint Hill, NC on 3/18/2022

2022 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amp with Built in DSP - what more can you ask for. Little bit of a learning curve with the TuN software but once you get how it works you have endless tuning capabilities. Used this amp to control (4) JL C3-650s and (2) 10TW3 woofers wires in 2 ohms. More than enough sound for the truck. Also using the preouts to control an MX280 amp pushing (2) C2 350X speakers in the dash. What's great is the VXi amp will let me TuN the C2s through a secondary amp. Highly recommend.

Pros: Small compact footprint with big power and lots of control options.

Cons: Not many - the amp is a little pricey but when you combine the cost of a DSP it's about the same. Alight learning curve on TuN software.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JL AUDIO VX1000/5i

Jessie M from Goodyear, AZ on 1/29/2022

2016 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amplifier is the best 5 channel amplifier by far. Running my Jl audio stealth box and two pairs of Jl audio C3 6 1/2

Pros: Best 5 channel amplifier with DSP

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Easiest amp ever (once you watch the videos)

ron from Atlanta, GA on 7/6/2021

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've owned a few amps. This one is by far the easiest amp to set up I've ever owned. The sound quality is spot on, and the JL classroom videos have been fantastic in regards to learning the PEQ, etc. The plug in connections make installing this amp easy to look clean. When you order this amp (and I know you will), watch JL Audio's Help Center videos on YouTube while you wait for your order to come in. It will pay off!

Pros: Easy set up when you follow the directions. JL's virtual classroom videos are fantastic Support has be great Connections make for a clean installation PEQ!

Cons: Better integration with Room EQ Wizard would be awesome. Learning curve for setting up. This is not a traditional amp in the sense of gain knobs and crossovers. Be aware of that, do some research, watch some videos, and you'll be fine.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

12 of 12 found this helpful

JL Audio VX1000/5i

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amp with DSP all in one

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio VX1000/5i

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, RI on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything is quality, from the sound to the hardware. Can't go wrong with JL

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

quality

Crutchfield customer from Hawthorne, CA on 11/28/2020

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is bad!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

2019 F350 install: Operation OVERKILL!

Chris from CARSON CITY, NV on 4/14/2020

2019 Ford F-350 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this on a 2019 Ford F350 with the B&O OEM system and the pushbutton start. Defeating the OEM B&O DSP and getting good sound was the goal. Check your system before you order If yours looks like mine (P1) you can use the PAC or Maestro. I used JL Audio speakers and a JL Audio Stealth sub for the rear. Install required a PAC AMP-PRO AP4FD21 and I also used the PAC APHFD01 to avoid cutting the factory wiring. The PAC requires disassembly of the dash console just down to the radio, which is pretty easy. I installed the PAC under the center speaker. (P2) I used 1/4 ABS to make an amp rack. A 3 pair RCA signal wire was brought through the center of the truck from the dash to the rear; I had to take out the console and fish a wire under the carpet to the rear wall, adding hours to the install. (P3) I should have just bought a longer set of RCAs and ran it down the passenger side. If you do this install and have the options I have on your truck, make sure you also run the remote wire from the PAC to the amp. Although the JL amp is has signal sensing and DC switching, because of the truck's pushbutton start, this did not work (the amp never shut off). Secondary to this is that I used a Mac to tune the amp. The inability of the amp to fully power down caused connectivity problems between the Mac and the amp. After the comms problem was fixed, everything went well. JL does not provide the bolts to mount the amp to your board or vehicle so be prepared.

Pros: Excellent sound capabilities, small form factor, good quality. Tuning the amp is easy and you can create several different "projects" to test different tuning profiles without starting from scratch. I like "immersive sound" versus a "front sound stage" and Tun allows me to set timing and crossovers to do this easily. The amp will store several "presets" and you have to build these first on the laptop/pad and then transfer them over.

Cons: I'm not a fan of the plug system JL used for connecting to the amp. The plug design has a raised edge which restricts the use of large ferrules and heat shrink. Overall, the plugs are sexy but I would prefer a complete design that allows you to clip or screw the the connections to amp, especially the power plug. Odd that the line-in (screws) and line-out clip had this but the power and sub out do not.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

22 of 25 found this helpful

Great Amp!

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This app is simply awesome. Takes a bit to learn, but one you have a good grasp of the software, it's actually pretty intuitive. Jl could be a little more helpful in their articles, but there is plenty of non-official info online. It sounds amazing and uploads easily.

Pros: Very adaptable to any configuration. Sounds great.

Cons: Lack of "official" information for setup. Overly reliant on forums.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Steep curve for the uninitiated, but audio bliss once learned!

Curtis from CHARLOTTESVLE, VA on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have two of these, one each for the left and right, running 3-way front speakers in factory locations and a sub in the back. They sound fantastic! For those of us who have been serious about sound for several decades, modern automotive Digital Signal Processors are a game changing, god send. They allow you to correct the frequency response which changes drastically with all of the reflective surfaces in a car, send the right frequencies to the right speakers designed to play them, and account for the inevitable differences in distances between where you sit and where your speakers are located. This in turn creates a virtual 3D soundstage across the dash and hood of your vehicle, emulating a live performance. Being able to pinpoint singers and instruments in the space in front of you, and have a cello sound like a cello, are not just some audio-nerd-like-me's technobabble. It's finally true! During the last decade or so, DSPs were external boxes, making wiring more complex and increasing the possibility of noise creeping in. In that respect, these VXi amplifiers simplify system design by combining the DSP and amp, but learning how to correctly use all of a DSP's power requires a steep learning curve and extra equipment like a computer, calibrated high quality microphone, and free software like Room EQ Wizard. There are many websites and tutorials to help you learn, though and the effort to do it right is well worth it, in my opinion. Amazing is all I can say!

Pros: Flexibility to run an entire system from one amp, with DSP built in. Amazing life-like sound

Cons: Steep learning curve for newbies. This is why I docked a star off...

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

JL Audio VX1000/5i

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland,OH on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic sound quality Can power standard 4 channel & sub or active 2channel & sub with infinite xover points & slopes for all. TuN app required to setup properly Bluetooth dongle allows use of phone or tablet Laptops are usually wired & allow most advanced settings & disconnected after settings complete. TuN can store multiple system setup profiles available at your fingertips with Bluetooth. You can have your profile for late-night driving, audiophile sound, or kick ass Boom. With the built-in equalizers crossover points & slopes, Made my factory car speakers sound like a $600 pr speakers. (W6 helps) I know sound! My home speakers were $12,000pr when I first released. Five Stars Aren't Enough

Pros: With Control of all of the different parameters of your car speakers sound, you can make your existing car system sound better. I have ordered car speakers but the VX1000/5i is making me reconsider whether I really need them or not !

Cons: Be Prepared to spend some time learning how to use the TuN app there is a tutorial onLine that is very explanatory and easy to follow. With patience you will be rewarded with great sound sound

Crutchfield response on

11 of 14 found this helpful

One of the best amps for the money

Douglas from Baltimore, MD on 1/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had this amp in my truck since it was released. I have it powering my focal k2 in the front and focal flaxs in the rear with my Jl stealthbox. I came from the jl hd900/5 which sounded awesome. The sound is so much better coming from this amp. The infinite adjustments you can make with this amp makes it an audiophile dream. Also with the bluetooth dongle you can make adjustment with your iPad and or smartphone. I prefer using the iPad because you have more control over the functions of the amp. Also the knob is another great feature if this amp.

Pros: The infinite adjustment Built in DSP Toslink input

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

Super configurable, clean looking, clean sounding, Toslink!

Keith from Powell, OH on 11/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a fantastic piece.I am running Focals in my doors and a JL13T5 in the back. This thing handles all of it with no problem. I love that it has Toslink in/out as well which really cleans up the install. The Tun software is super simple to use and is endlessly configurable. No real complaints about it other than I wish it had built in blue tooth so I can use the mobile Tun software. I have to buy another piece to activate that.

Pros: Great sound/look/power/support.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great amp not an easy setup but worth the cost

Michael from Bremerton, WA on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So let me start by saying the amp itself in fantastic. I have and replaced a HD900 JL Audio for this. My issue is I asked several questions regarding this from tech support. My question were I have the fix 86 and the HD900 in my 2016 F150 Limited with the not so great Sony system. My fix is a year old and the TUN software was not included and the adjustments that can me made with your laptop are great like on this new version. The issues was you could power the door speakers using a splitter into rca as this amp has no direct way to wire in speakers. So I purchased three of those and only the doors worked apparently to power the sub you needed a converter or sound processor like I already had and wanted to eliminate with this amp. So I tried a LC7I Audio control still not what it was capable of. So in the end I reinstalled Fix 86 and it is truly amazing with all of the adjustments tuning etc and the bass out of my JL Audio stealthbox is way cleaner and much more bass the HD900 not sure why but it is. So long drawn out review is for my application I was unable to just have the VX1000/5I run my system as I was told I could. The TUN software unfortunately the tech support guys just haven't had their hands on it enough but were a great help trying to figure it out with me. Not for the timid but it will amaze you every time you turn it on. I have Focal 6 1/2 ES165 KX2 up front and EC165K in the rear and the JL Audio Stealthbox they say doesn't fit but JL sites does.

Pros: tons of adjustments and small footprint and expandability and great power

Cons: No support from Jl Audio on their own software required to make the amp even work and the cost but when you want the best it will cost you

Crutchfield response on

17 of 25 found this helpful

Amazing product

Crutchfield customer from Wheat Ridge, CO on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is pretty great. It's not a do it yourself install though. It has to plugged into a computer with the right program before it will turn on for the first time. The dsp is pretty good but have it programmed by a professional. It will save settings so if you want a few different sound stage settings you can get a three function bass knob to control the settings. It's powerful and super clean. Of course I'm running Focals and a 10" JL W3. I was the first to bring this in to car toys and they kept the car for two and half days to figure out all the features. It's super small and will literally fit anywhere. Great product JL. Spendy bit worth it. Crutchfield is also the easiest company to to buy from and very tech supportive.

Pros: Awesome versatility and function

Cons: Pricey but you get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Compare the sound